McGraw-Hill Connect Reviews

16 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 6.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-10 of 10)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
July 28, 2020
Nat Zorach, AICP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used McGraw-Hill Connect as an e-learning platform for a graduate-level/professional course. This consisted of MH's "eBook," which isn't really an eBook but rather a series of web pages, and a number of graded exercises to complete.
  • The login process is reasonably stable.
  • It may have some dynamic abilities for instructions and types of lessons. Maybe.
  • The ebook is not a real ebook, it's really just a web page, or a series of webpages. It can only be accessed through MH Connect, therefore, when logging into the system. A real eBook would be able to be accessed as such-- on a Kindle or other e-Reader, or on a desktop eBook reader. The interface for this is also not very dynamic, just kind of obnoxious and Web 1.0.
  • Limited learning tools beyond simple exercises, at least from what I saw.
  • Terrible customer service. Long wait times with representatives who do not seem to understand their own product and cannot seem to answer very basic questions.
  • Hard to get resolution for basic problems.
If you want a prepackaged option for learning that requires minimal instructor input, comes with no support, and offers a limited number of options as far as a dynamic and engaging learning experience, then this is probably the right option for you. If, on the other hand, you want a product that does a lot of different things, has excellent customer service, dynamically engages and challenges the user in a number of different activities and learning exercises, then, uh, please look elsewhere.
Tech support has extremely limited technical and cultural competency and didn't seem able to understand any of my questions or how to answer them. Hold times are extremely long, as individual support representatives are not necessarily able to answer very basic questions themselves and have to seek out answers from supervisors or elsewhere.
Read Nat Zorach, AICP's full review
October 24, 2019
Rita Wheeler | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
McGraw-Hill Connect is being used by several departments on our campus including, business, accounting, health, and science. Connect gives us a virtual assignment solution as well as eBook delivery for our courses. Our Connect accounts are built into Canvas and used by instructors through an integration interface. The experience is seamless for students and instructors.
  • Integration with Canvas is seamless and easy to use.
  • Assignment completion, for students, is straightforward and easy to use.
  • The SmartBook allows students to read as they are tested with questions and this helps them learn the material easily without having first trying to read, memorize a chapter and then answer questions.
  • We have a trust relationship with another college and the Canvas integration doesn't always work well for them.
  • Offline access to the ebook would be nice.
  • A process with fewer clicks to "relink" assignments from previous semesters.
McGraw-Hill Connect is well suited for the disciplines that we use it for; business, accounting, some sciences and communications. It would also work well for non-math disciplines like psychology and history. We have yet to find a solution that works in our math department.
Support staff and our sales representative are very helpful. Chat or phone support has little to no wait time. If an issue is more in-depth, escalation happens quickly and resolution does not take long.
Read Rita Wheeler's full review
January 17, 2020
Ben Westby | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using McGraw-Hill Connect to connect our iPad distribution with in-class learning through literacy and math apps. We have also used Wonders curriculum that pairs with McGraw-Hill to blend the digital learning.
  • Literacy apps are quick and intuitive.
  • The math apps are paired with our learning standards.
  • Some of the apps are not yet smooth to operate, laggy.
  • The Connect feature for online courses can be slow to load (e.g., teacher resource books).
McGraw-Hill Connect is well suited for creating an online suite for our digital learning needs. We can use the digital curriculum on our iPads to help save on textbook costs.
From having online coaching sessions to workshop presenters, we've had great support from McGraw-Hill Connect. Their resources are always available.
Read Ben Westby's full review
February 13, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
McGraw-Hill Connect allows for incorporating technology in my classroom. I love using ALEKS because it differentiates instruction and meets students at their current levels, allowing them to have everyone in the classroom engaged at the same time. McGraw-Hill Connect also easily connects to LAUSD's Learning Management System (Schoology), which makes incorporating it into the daily classroom routine effortless.
  • Differentiate instruction.
  • User-friendly.
  • Connection to Schoology grade book (currently unavailable).
  • Question variety for some topics.
McGraw-Hill Connect is most suitable for a classroom where students have been taught to work independently, and are motivated to improve their math skills. It is less appropriate for classrooms where students' levels are very low, and where students are generally discouraged and have given up. Despite being an overall independent program, McGraw-Hill Connect requires some support from adults to get each student started.
Personally, I did not encounter McGraw-Hill support. However, I worked with colleagues who needed support and were able to receive in a timely manner. Overall, McGraw Hill Connect is user-friendly (at least from teacher interface) and easy to navigate, which minimizes the need to reach out for support. The help button is useful and provides plenty of immediate support.
Read this authenticated review
May 20, 2019
Mario Sanchez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it across our whole campus. It helps the teacher to have the teacher edition of Texas Treasure in their laptop.
  • Easy to use.
  • Plenty of resources.
  • Up to date information.
  • Faster navigation.
  • Easier UI.
  • No need to get multiple keys to get student and teacher edition.
The online software has plenty of resources to facilitate student's learning. They have interactive vocabulary cards and if needed, they can have the software read the story for you.
Read Mario Sanchez's full review
February 26, 2019
Kyle Moninger | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
McGraw-Hill Connect is being used across our department to teach the undergraduate and graduate level Business Statistics courses. Since adopting it, we have greatly reduced the number of Graduate Assistant hours needed for the course, because the content is auto-graded. We have also realized higher exam and quiz scores, and better retention rates in the college.
  • Custom Question Building.
  • Reporting and Insights.
  • SmartBook 2.0.
  • Implementation.
  • Support.
  • Integration between SmartBook and Connect homework.
  • Assigning Multiple assignments at once.
  • Live homework edit feature.
  • Print exam and assignment option.
If you are teaching Business Statistics at any sized university of college, I would highly recommend using Connect. The SmartBook feature is unique and dynamic to encourage students to read the textbook. The online homework is an excellent way to implement auto-graded assignments to allow instructors time for research and class prep.
Read Kyle Moninger's full review
December 31, 2018
Rebecca Vold Preston | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use McGraw-Hill Connect in our Kindergarten through Second grade classes within the organization. It is being used for daily instruction, group activities, and summative assessments of student's understanding of concepts. Additionally, the McGraw Hill Connect allows the teachers to work along with the students in their workbooks to help foster understanding of the concepts that are being taught to the students.
  • Digital pages for students to view on the board while they are working in their workbooks
  • Can use for multiple grade levels - students are used to the same layout
  • Detailed word problems for real-world math examples
  • Difficult navigation upon sign-in
  • Too many choices per chapter - difficult to know which part to select to walk through assignments with students
McGraw-Hill Connect does a great job of explaining how to teach the basics of math to students at entry-levels. It allows teachers to display on the board what students are seeing in their workbooks. Allows for great learning and example-showing.

It is less appropriate when the teacher has to read all of the problems to the students. The problems are very wordy - which is difficult for younger students because they cannot accomplish it independently.
Read Rebecca Vold Preston's full review
March 07, 2017
Connor Dieckman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
McGraw-Hill connect is being used as an educational training course to better understand accounting. The course is used to improve accounting skills and concepts across the entire organization. The business problems it addresses is improving efficiency by giving individuals access to an easily comprehensible training course.
  • McGraw-Hill Connect does a good job of being user-friendly and easy to understand. If you struggle with a concept the site will allow you to click right into the appropriate part of the text to read up on concepts.
  • In some circumstances, Connect allows the user to watch a walk-through video of some concepts in order to better understand why certain decisions are made.
  • Connect does a great job of giving feedback on incorrect responses and allows you to go back and see reports on previous assignments.
  • McGraw-Hill Connect could do a better job of staying current and making sure all of its videos and references to real-scenarios are up to date.
  • It can do a better job of immediate explanation or advice when an answer is incorrect.
  • It can improve upon its ability to autosave assignments. If an internet connection gets buggy and kicks the user out of the system, sometimes the assignment progress will be lost. This is because to save the assignment, it takes you out of the assignment and doesn't just autosave.
McGraw-Hill is best suited for scenarios in which the user needs a brief reminder or warm-up on certain concepts. It should not be used for learning the concept from the beginning as a text book or instructor would do that better. Use it for practice on concepts that have already been taught or learned.
Read Connor Dieckman's full review
May 04, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
McGraw-Hill Connect was used by a team of faculty teaching an introductory psychology class to approximately 1600 students. It was utilized by a small group within our department. It was supposed to allow us to use adaptive quizzing and other resources associated with the text book.
  • McGraw-Hill has very responsive customer support for students and faculty.
  • McGraw-Hill has a large number of resources available.
  • The program should integrate with your department's learning management system (LMS).
  • The integration with Blackboard was somewhat clunky and not very smooth.
  • The adaptive quizzing portion did not function fully when we adopted it, causing us massive issues with student grades.
I think McGraw-Hill Connect could be very useful for online and hybrid courses with large online components. The program allows students access to a large number of resources. In fully face-to-face courses it may not be as appropriate. I would also make sure to verify the complete successful functionality of the product before adopting it again.
Read this authenticated review
September 28, 2015
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use McGraw-Hill Connect for an online course that has students across the country. The interactive material allows students of all levels of expertise to learn effectively, providing me with more time for interaction with the students.
  • Provides techniques that are effective for various learning styles.
  • Access to up-to-date resources at your fingertips.
  • Excellent interactive assignment options.
  • Intuitive, easy to use.
  • I have found that there is an occasion where the course matrix may not be completely up to date, there are still plenty of materials, but it can be disappointing if you are searching for something without an explanation.
I have only used McGraw-Hill Connect for this specific course and it works perfectly.
Read this authenticated review

McGraw-Hill Connect Scorecard Summary

What is McGraw-Hill Connect?

McGraw-Hill Connect is an e-learning platform offered by McGraw-Hill Education. Features include course and assignment creation, grading, learning aides, e-books, and student portals.
Categories:  Assessment

McGraw-Hill Connect Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No