MediaFire Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
42 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-21 of 21)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
June 05, 2021
Rob Gokee | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MediaFire has created a simple yet robust file sharing and storage system that I've used regularly to send files to clients. I find it less intrusive than Dropbox, and easier to use. My entire business is built on file sharing - if I can't send audio to clients then I'm out of business. MediaFire aids in the success of my company.
  • Uploading and storing files.
  • Sharing files via link to multiple clients.
  • Fast uploading.
  • Mobile app could be a bit more robust.
  • Better PR.
Think of MediaFire as the Dropbox alternative - many of my clients don't use Dropbox, and it's nice to have an alternative to use when I have to send audio files for approval or deliver final versions. MediaFire is fast and painless. And there's more than enough storage to test it out if you're not ready to pull the trigger on a paid plan.
Read Rob Gokee's full review
June 05, 2021
🐿 Matthew Karsten | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MediaFire is a resource we came across as it offers 10GB for free, and easily allows cloud storage and file sharing. MediaFire connects with many private cloud storages that made it a no brainer to add to our tools. We tested the MediaFire beta on iOS and have been very pleased with the companies growth in adopting new offerings and applying feedback. Overall MediaFire is a nicely ranked new edition to our cloud storage and media sharing tools.
  • Integrates with other cloud storage well.
  • Offers a large free storage option.
  • Shares media easily across many platforms.
  • MediaFire is new and still relatively unknown.
  • MediaFire could offer more integrations like editing.
  • MediaFire is still new, though growing.
MediaFire is a great tool for content/creators to manage the overflow of content with the generous free storage offering. By sharing MediaFire with clients and coworkers you earn more free storage. This tool is a no brainer to add to the apps to manage content and share on any device.
Read 🐿 Matthew Karsten's full review
June 01, 2021
ashish gupta | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Presently, MediaFire is being used in our department. With outbreak of Covid certain features available (incl. sharing of files/ documents) with office desktop were not available at home. Our IT team advised to use mediafire free version for sharing/ saving documents with other team members. With MediaFire, we were able to share and save documents online with ease.
  • With MediaFire, user can save and share document easily
  • With free account, up to 10 GB data can be saved
  • 1 year old uploaded data is available and can also be easily accessed
  • Uploading of document is fast
  • Limit of 10GB data with free account can be a problem if you wish to share/ save heavy media files.
  • Certain feature are not accessible with free account
  • Several ads in free version
I have personally be using free account as such my requirement was completely fulfilled as I needed to share / save small sized files (rar, doc, pdf) and old data uploaded one year back also is accessible. I feel if one intends to share heavy media file the.n they have to either delete earlier uploaded data.
Read ashish gupta's full review
May 31, 2021
MD Rafsanjani Rahi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MediaFire [is] one of the known cloud storage services that [as] become popular to share big big office files. We use this for our whole organizations. There is some good packs for small and big company. Sometimes we have to share large files! We choose MediaFire. I use 1000gb packs and this is wonderful.
  • Start from 10 gb free storage.
  • Keeps it save.
  • Size of file is very big.
  • Price is low.
  • Lots of add here.
  • Design not user-friendly.
  • Only 3 or 4 feature here.
In a small and budgeted business we can use MediaFire. File, Image, video and all can be saved in a proper away. Just upload and then share! It's so easy and simple. For software farm you need to send zippfile! In MediaFire this is [a] popular option to share zippfile.
Read MD Rafsanjani Rahi's full review
May 30, 2021
Charu Bansal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using MediaFire in our department to upload files, share files and to collaborate on files. It is also used by some other departments of my organization.
  • File drop feature makes it easy to upload files.
  • Collaboration on files with colleagues is easy.
  • Sharing files using a link through email is also a very good feature.
  • Download page has a lot of ads.
  • Integration with Microsoft apps like Outlook is missing.
  • App does not work smoothly on Android.
Uploading and sharing files with MediaFire is very easy and convenient but integration with apps like Microsoft Outlook is missing which doesn't let MediaFire steal the first place in the list of cloud upload apps like OneDrive and Dropbox.
Read Charu Bansal's full review
June 01, 2021
Kunal Aggarwal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MediaFire helped me for uploading documents and others thinks like videos and photos and software's.

The best thing I like is that it can take so many folders within folders. This makes it easy for me to arrange my documents and other information. There is such an ease for me to sort and store data in categories.
It really helped in solving business problems by providing cloud storage and If we want to generate link for any media to download we can easily do that by using it.
  • Easy to Use interface
  • Users can download files without having a physical account
  • The website is so responsive and fast for both downloading and uploading files.
  • Have faced some down/uploading data rate fluctuations.
  • Can’t download more than one file at a time from a free account.
  • Ads on free downloads - becoming less common with competitors
  • Size limitations, It provides limited cloud space for free users.
MediaFire Did the great job by providing an amazing cloud services to the users without any hassle and easy to use.

It is very affordable if you are going for a Paid Plan.
The ad-supported free service lets you upload files up to 4GB in size, which is also generous, and automatically scans files for viruses, a feature not every file syncing service offers.

You can share file links on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Tumblr, and Blogger and generate a one-time download link

Read Kunal Aggarwal's full review
June 01, 2021
Mostafa Awad | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MediaFire is used sometimes to download/share files with our clients and it's one of the most common file-sharing and cloud storage software in the current decade.
  • Good download speed
  • Lot of free space
  • Affordable price
  • Free download jammed ads
  • Size limits
MediaFire is pretty well from a single home user to students working on a project or a business sharing files and space with colleagues/clients. I cannot see a scenario that MediaFire cannot fit in, especially since everything can be transferred digitally nowadays.
Read Mostafa Awad's full review
June 01, 2021
vishal chaudhary | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MediaFire is like a hosting and cloud storage service to sharing and store the large data files.Its have a limited amount of privacy and capabilities as in cloud service. They provide as a 10GB of storage to keep our data storage. We can storage a very large file as we can just depend upon the storage we have. In a organisation we are used to store our file and shared with the other team members
  • Free Data storage upto 10GB
  • We can shared as much as large file just depend upon the data storage we have.
  • We can arrange our document with the information so the team member can easily access them
  • Provide the sharing details the other to use our data
  • A lot of ads displayed on the screen
  • Don't have any file encryption
  • The interface and layout is not as much the software level
  • Sometime customer service are not provide the exact solution
I can recommend this because we can shared the document, photos, video in a single software like the Google Drive. It store and upload the data much faster than the others. The team member can access the data that store in the software by using the links and also they can download the files.
Read vishal chaudhary's full review
May 30, 2021
Tanay Arora | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MediaFire is used by me, my company and my friends to download files over [the] server and to upload files, It is easy to use and to serve data over media fire as for users, it is easy to download files just by clicking on the download button and didn't have to struggle or find more to download the file.
  • Easy to use
  • Easily share large files
  • Instantly recover deleted files
  • Customer support is not much responsive
Its recommended to use it when you have to share large files over [the] network but it did not support downloading multiple files at a time, further, it cost you too much data to share files, it would be better to share larger files via different platforms, software or via [an] offline medium.
Read Tanay Arora's full review
May 29, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used to store and archive files in the cloud, sync files across various tools and file sharing apps built in house. It is being used at the department level for few users who require to access certain data which is excluded from other areas of the organization and need privacy and IP protection. The backup and restores are very important and hence Mediafire is used.
  • Has a very data size and helps eliminate limitations that some vendors have.
  • Ease to use the app and transfer files.
  • Easy to sync files and keep versions up to date.
  • Lack of desktop app which increases user penetration.
  • Limitations in terms where the files can be uploaded.
  • Poor speeds to upload at times give large files that it offers.
It is well suited for large file sharing and file syncing. Easy to collaborate the files and provide access. File encryption, some features are pretty limited like the ease of use on front end as well. Customer support can be better and improve customer loyalty. Design can be improved for easier navigation and use.
Read this authenticated review
June 01, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MediaFire has been in the market for quite a while and predates well known competitors such as Dropbox. It's strengths are the ability for you to upload and store large files. We use this service's 10GB free storage on an adhoc basis for files that we may need access to for the short to medium term.
  • Ability to work with large files
  • Decent 10Gb free storage limit
  • Length of time in the market a bonus for ensuring your files may not disappear
  • the design is a bit 90s
  • less adverts would be welcome
  • not encrypted
Good cloud storage option for large files such as iso images as there's a 20Gb file limit. This doesn't feel like an Enterprise grade file storage option, with competitors offering a slicker UI and features. A good backup option if you are taking advantage of various providers free storage options.
Read this authenticated review
June 09, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mediafire is used by our organization as a cloud storage platform to share big data between students and faculty members. It is really a great platform for sharing presentation, lectures and related softwares among students. Students can have access to the required document/file anywhere, anytime at their ease simply by copy/pasting link and downloading required file.
  • It performed well in data storage.
  • It performed well in data sharing simply by using a link.
  • It performed well managing files and is really user friendly.
  • There is a room for improvement regarding data security.
  • There should be a two factor authentication feature.
  • There should be a restricted feature for file sharing to specific persons.
Mediafire is well suited for reliable and user friendly data sharing. Easily accessible. There is a room for improvement regarding security. Also, you also require an internet connection for accessing any specific document. But, its a great too for data sharing whether you have a small document or large application/software.
Read this authenticated review
June 01, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used as an individual user. Found great for sharing of large files. Even the free version provides 10gb allowance for file sharing. The speed and ease with which sharing could be done were commendable. Mobile interface is good, however desktop client if available would also have been good for better syncing of files.
  • Fast and easy file sharing
  • Large file size allowed
  • Mobile app is there providing better accessibility
  • Ads in free version are too much
  • File encryption/permission options can be explored
  • Customer support can be ramped up
For quick and easy sharing of large sized files that too for free or for reasonable pricing, it is best suited. However if you wish to later sync those file to your desktop it would be difficult. Ads in the free version are also very distracting. But overall a reasonable offering.
Read this authenticated review
November 26, 2018
john ritchie | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My usage of MediaFire has been mainly of a personal nature over the years. I met MediaFire several years ago and I always used it to share some files within some groups and forums (mainly photos and videos). With the passage of time and perhaps a more mature use, I started using MediaFire as a storage system for files and documents since unfortunately at some point I lost all the information on my PC product of a virus, and from there I decided to use it as a of backup of sensitive personal files. At present I still use it to store and share some files, mainly for the ease and speed to upload a file, as well as the ease and speed to download without a limit.


  • Speed and ease to upload and download files.
  • Available for iPhone, Android, OSX, Windows, and Web.
  • Has no limit of downloads.
  • Give you a considerably large size of space within your servers.
  • In free accounts you can only manage files of little megabytes (200), which could be improved since currently file sizes are higher.
Usually MediaFire is quite adequate in all contexts that can be used, because if you want to share a file it is a good idea to be able to do it from there, anyway, if you want to make a backup it is a good idea (due to its speed and ease of use), and even if you want to download something from the web usually MediaFire links work very well even when they are old. Now, if you need it for a more formal use, maybe for companies or serious jobs, its use may not be as adequate because it is not a well known platform and is more related to shared files in forums or web pages.
Read john ritchie's full review
July 25, 2018
Daryl Wise Jr. | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
With my business VGSoundtrackGuy Music, I hire musicians to help me with various projects. And most of the time, the files I send them are over 1GB. So I first started to use Mediafire to do this. Creating a free account was simple and so was uploading. This is great as using regular Gmail or Yahoo mail isn't as secure.
  • Fast Uploads. Uploading is quite fast and it doesn't take extremely long.
  • 10GB Overall File Storage Limit. With a Free Account, you can upload up to 10GB of files.
  • Account Never Expires. We let a full year pass where we never logged into Mediafire at one point. And our files were still there!
  • The 10GB Overall File Storage Limit. I really don't like this and I wish it were a 10GB limit per file. But I understand Mediafire wants to have some sort of limit with the Free accounts.
The ease of uploading small files quickly with Mediafire is nice. We actually still have small files we have linked to in our YouTube videos for public use and download and it's nice to have this without having to pay.
Read Daryl Wise Jr.'s full review
November 18, 2016
Vinicius Lima | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use MediaFire in our small team. When we are working together on projects that require file storage and sharing, MediaFire is essential. Our demand is just for text and presentation files (generally small size) so the free accounts are suitable for us. We can easily upload files through a browser and generate a link to anyone to download it. This is much better than sending tons of emails with documents attached making our documents much more organized.
  • FileDrop feature. This is an amazing functionality that increases collaboration among our team. People can drop files in a specific folder related to a project and we can keep it organized.
  • Mobile Apps for Android and iOS. The apps works pretty well and you can carry your files everywhere.
  • Regular and Instant Uploads - MediaFire checks for the exact same file in the cloud. If it finds it, the upload will be instant. Otherwise, it proceeds with regular upload.
  • Multiple Upload Types - Basic, Flash and HTML5
  • Download Page - When you generate a link to download some files it redirects users to a specific page where they can download the file. The page is sometimes confusing and with a lot of ads which can be a little bit annoying.
  • Customization Option - you can find a customization section in "Settings", but there are just a few things that you can really customize. Maybe improving this would be nice to allow you personalize your environment (for companies, for instance).
  • Blocked options for the free version - There are a lot of interesting options that are available just for business and pro versions. If you could at least test it before upgrading your version it would help users decide.
  • Lack of PC sync client - Would be great if you could install a PC client that would synchronize your files.
  • Problems when refreshing your files list in the browser. Sometimes it gets slow and you have to refresh the entire page to continue.
MediaFire is suitable for individual users that want to store and maybe share files. It has a good initial space in the free version that can be enough for most users. The same applies for small teams that want to store documents (text, presentations) and share it between members (FileDrop features can help increase collaboration and productivity). If you have a big team or want to store big files you have to upgrade to the business or pro version (the price is interesting).
Read Vinicius Lima's full review
June 02, 2016
Cesare Arienti | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MediaFire is used sometimes to download files which our clients send us. It's really useful and fast is one of the [most] common file sharing services.
  • A lot of free space
  • Fast downloads
  • Good prices
  • Ads in the free version
  • Size limitations per single file
It's well suited for backups, temporary file sharing and long term storage. It's not well integrated like Google Drive or Dropbox.
Read Cesare Arienti's full review
May 31, 2016
Kyle Farago | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MediaFire being one of the more long standing Cloud Storage options has good security, and an easy to use interface with high upload and download performance. It give you the ability to publicly share files or folders or just share with other MediaFire users which allow for collab work or to make a place for many users to contribute files to from things such as a wedding or a project. I personally and professionally use these features to provide my clients access to any relevant data ( documents, pictures, etc ) that I have for them for a specific job, or share pictures with friends.

I also have referred multiple clients to use MediaFire within their own systems, whether it be personal or professional. Their paid licenses are affordable depending on your needs and can be billed annually at a discount or monthly at full price for Pro, or Quarterly / Monthly for the Business class license.

The mobile app is easy to use and allows you to quickly back up or restore files to, from, and across your mobile devices and computers and works on all license types.
  • Free Accounts with 10GB storage
  • Fast Uploads and Downloads (your connection speed dependant)
  • Long standing operation and record
  • Easy to Use interface
  • Collaboration options
  • No PC client
  • Free space is on the lower end compared to competators
  • Ads on free downloads - becoming less common with competitors
MediaFire is pretty well rounded overall in terms of usability and application from a single home user to students working on a project or a business sharing files and space with its workers, especially if they travel. About the only situation I can think of where MediaFire may not be well suited is in a medical environment and HIPAA laws as I am unsure whether its security protocols fall in line with their requirements.
Read Kyle Farago's full review
August 05, 2016
Colin Hong | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My society (small part of the organization) uploads documents and presentations to MediaFire for students to download. It is convenient and fast. However, it has limited third party integration.
  • Quick and simple file hosting for fast sharing of files in the organization
  • Users can download files without having a physical account
  • Size limitations... :/
  • Distracting ads in the free version of MediaFire
It is good for quick and small file hosting and sharing but not very good when you are trying to share huge files which are common in large organizations. MediaFire has ads on the free version so it may be distracting for users.
Read Colin Hong's full review
April 27, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have been using Mediafire personally for several years. Since I joined my company we have been using MediaFire in our product management team. We are around 12 people and our manager regularly collects all product documentation and amendment documents in one compressed file. Then he uploads it to our MediaFire account to be shared with all of the team. Since we found this solution beneficial, we are requesting a professional account to get more space and features. We have already consumed around 7 GB out of the 10 free GB.
  • Free 10 GB space which does its job pretty well.
  • The website is so responsive and fast for both downloading and uploading files.
  • Cheaper than others if you want to upgrade.
  • Create links to send it to others.
  • Easy to use and manage all files.
  • Customer support isn't very responsive.
  • Can’t download more than one file at a time from a free account.
  • No live chat nor phone support.
Very suitable and convenient for a small team as we have been using it for ourselves. Uploading is very fast (We have 100 MB upload speed ). Their server supports high speeds regarding both upload and download.
Read this authenticated review
March 28, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MediaFire is being used by my team of 10 only, but is a great service. It's helped us have a common solution for file-sharing and document collaboration primarily.
  • It is dependable in my opinion.
  • Much more affordable compared to other services with similar capacities.
  • There is a certain level of trust I have with MediaFire for the fact that it has been around a long time since launching its web-hosting services years ago.
  • Some hiccups in the MediaFire folder sync between my computer and the web.
  • Have faced some down/uploading data rate fluctuations.
I would recommend this product if you're looking for a no hassle, affordable, simple, easy to use cloud storage service. I have no experience using their services at an enterprise level but on a personal use level it's, the right one for me.
Read this authenticated review

MediaFire Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Versioning (11)
8.1
Video files (20)
7.8
Audio files (20)
7.7
Document collaboration (13)
7.8
Access control (15)
7.1
File search (21)
7.7
Device sync (18)
7.1
User and role management (12)
7.9
File organization (20)
8.1
Device management (13)
8.2
Performance (21)
7.9
Reliability (21)
7.5
Storage Reports (15)
7.8

What is MediaFire?

MediaFire is a simple file sharing and storage platform. It allows users to store, share, and view media files within the MediaFire online, desktop, or mobile app interface. The vendor says MediaFire's file storage system is private and secure.

In terms of collaboration, users can invite friends to share files via Facebook, Google, Twitter, or email. MediaFire's collaboration features include folder and file sharing, and controls for who can view and/or edit particular files. MediaFire supports 200+ file types, including photo, video, songs, and documents.
Categories:  Collaboration,  Cloud Storage

MediaFire Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is MediaFire's best feature?

Reviewers rate Device management highest, with a score of 8.2.

Who uses MediaFire?

The most common users of MediaFire are from Small Businesses and the Information Technology & Services industry.