Meltwater Social (formerly Sysomos) Reviews

90 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 6.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 44)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
September 10, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sysomos was used by the prior agency I used to work at for social listening ad-hoc client requests, or tracking of mentions or conversations on a daily, weekly, or monthly basis. It helped provide insights on the volume of a certain conversation topic, about a brand, hashtags, crises, and more.
  • Social listening tracking and monitoring.
  • Sharing of voice analysis.
  • Brand voice analysis.
  • The user interface could be updated.
  • Ease of use - Overall, it's very hard to understand how to create new queries.
  • More webinars on uses for the tool.
I would say that this is a fine tool for standard social listening tracking or monitoring. I would not say that it's top of class by any means, but it is sufficient and it gets the job done. I would like to see the interface get updated and new functions included.
Read this authenticated review
August 11, 2017
Joshua P. Kennedy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sysomos Expion was the first social media moderation & marketing tool that we used after creating the Community and Social Media teams. The social media team used the program to plan/schedule marketing posts, but my team and I used it for social moderation and monitoring. Expion is meant to address companies' needs for more streamlined planning/scheduling of social posts and for much greater ease with moderation than compared to trying to use native sites, particularly if your company or organization has multiple accounts on each platform.
  • Expion was pretty customizable, though the tool we transitioned to has since made me realize how much more customizable other options can be. That said, Expion served us well and offered more customization than other tools we looked at.
  • Expion's best asset, really, is its support staff. Our account rep and the support agents were always responsive and reacted with appropriate levels of urgency. Though a lot of the problems we experienced were due to API limitations, the things they COULD address were resolved with relative speed.
  • I enjoyed the ability to approach our workload from either an inbox-style view or a more visual view with the workspaces and stacks. People with a more right-brained slant worked better in stacks than left-brained folks who seemed to appreciate the more linear, text-based style of the Single Stream moderation option.
  • Reporting is Expion's weakest component. Please bear in mind that I'm not referring to marketing stats or page analytics. I'm talking more about productivity metrics for moderators and quality reports (viewing outbound messages for quality purposes). Expion WILL work with you to get you what you need, but building new reports takes a lot of time, and what you get back isn't always exactly what you're looking for. The tool we moved to has dynamic reporting options that *I* can modify on the spot, so whereas this downside was a tad annoying before, I've come to weight it a bit more heavily because now I see just what can be achieved when you don't have to wait for someone else to build dashboards and widgets for you.
  • Locating additional posts from the same customer is a challenge. Although you can perform profile searches, viewing a complete history is frustrating. You can only see outbound messages in relation to each inbound message. The new tool we use allows for you to view the entire message thread all in one view, which is impossible in Expion.
  • Expion does not update live. If you have multiple moderators working simultaneously, then it is WAAAAAAAAAAAY too easy to step on each other's toes unless you have people divvying up work and filtering by message type or platform or date ranges. For example, if we're both looking at the same list of messages on different computers and I respond to a message or mark it as read, then that does NOT change on your work list until/unless the workspace, stack, or stream refreshes. (The tool we use now is almost immediately updated with changes you've made.)
  • This tool does not allow you to designate any kind of message properties for tracking purposes. This may not matter to companies with only one product line, but our company sells a massive catalog of products that extend across a wide variety of user markets. Being able to tag messages accordingly is a huge benefit, but it's one that Expion does not offer.
Sysomos Expion is best suited, in my opinion, to offices where either you have only one moderator/manager OR where multiple users plan to manage a specific channel. Without live updates, it gets far too complicated for multiple users to manage the exact same workload.
Read Joshua P. Kennedy's full review
April 14, 2016
Kristen Squire | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Sysomos MAP as a way to get quick insights and numbers for a broad overview of a topic or issue. It can give ideas for volume and what potential irrelevancies may come in without going through a full set up of a monitoring project. It can also provide really good insights on influencer and interrelated communities identification, if that is something that is of use to the client. The tool is used primarily for desk research.
  • Influencer and communities identification is definitely a strong suit for the tool.
  • Quick analytics.
  • Historical data back a year.
  • It does not provide a visual for volume over time.
  • The visuals aren't excellent, and would require an export to create better looking graphics.
  • The interface isn't intuitive and sometimes requires clicking around to find things that seem like they should be under a different title.
It is well suited to quick turn projects that require very little as far as specific data is concerned. If you're trying to dig into the mentions to garner insights, it can be difficult to view things and find the most relevant content. But if you're looking for broad overviews leveraging big data insights, it is excellent.
Read Kristen Squire's full review
March 10, 2016
Samantha Baier | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sysomos MAP is used across the whole organization to measure impact of social media campaigns on Twitter. It is also used to find social influencers.
  • Brand mentions
  • Most retweeted posts
  • Comparison of one Twitter account to another
  • Expanding to other platforms, namely Instagram
  • Being able to weed out media members/organizations to find social influencers
It is very well suited for Twitter campaigns. For Facebook and Instagram, you will have to measure manually.
Read Samantha Baier's full review
March 07, 2016
Alexander Liss | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sysomos is a very simple, easy to use product that returns social listening results within one year.

Its advantages are its ease of use, speed to return data, and unlimited number of queries.

Its disadvantages are its extremely simplistic analysis features. Pales in comparison to Crimson Hexagon for things like sentiment analysis, quality of visualizations, topic waves, topic clusters, etc etc etc. :) Number of users accounts is also limited so depending on your plan and how many people are using the tool you can get kicked out when other people log-in with the same credentials.

It has once NICE feature which is "Communities". This is a cluster analysis based on linguistic patterns. Frankly a GREAT feature, but the other features of the platform are so limited I can't recommend it.
  • Simple queries within 1 year
  • Quick to return data
  • Good at basic volume and sentiment
  • Low quality of visualizations
  • Poor filtering options for exploring drivers of positive / negative sentiment over time
  • Poor filtering options by platform / content source
  • Limited to 1 year of data
  • Limited number of concurrent users
If you need a very simple, quick, efficient, and ease to use tool it will suffice. For more complex historical social listening you are better off with BrandWatch, Crimson Hexagon, or NetBase.
Read Alexander Liss's full review
March 01, 2016
Johnny Spicer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I was consulting with a company that was involved in political polling and social media for political candidates and campaigns. I used Sysomos Map to query conversations regarding candidates, their campaigns and other wide varying subjects regarding climate change, alternative energy and traditional energy economic impacts. Sysomos Map gathers conversational data across the internet in detail from websites, forums, blogs and all major social media outlets. Sysomos Map is very effective at being able to reach backwards in time; which was very important and enlightening for my work.
  • It is particularly good at being able to look backwards in time at conversations.
  • The information generated from queries is rich, and comes off in real time.
  • The graphs generated along with data as spreadsheets is intensely rich with useful information.
  • Sysomos MAP does take some significant ramp up time to get a comfortable level of usability due its richness and sheer power of scraping from billions of conversations and web data.
  • Sysomos MAP needs better tutorials and tools to help users quickly become adept at using.
  • Sysomos should offer longer trial periods.
  • The entry price is quite [high] compared to other tools that are now offered.
  • The pricing structure is makes entry tough for many businesses and Sysomos could do better by offering alternative pricing and use possibilities.
I think purchasing or leasing Sysomos MAP is well suited for large media and advertising organizations.
Read Johnny Spicer's full review
December 13, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I was first introduced into Sysomos Expion through their listening solution, a tool considered to be one of the most powerful in the market and one that served our needs to perfection. Fast forward when Sysomos acquired Expion, and our team quickly adopted the new addition to our family of tools with ease. What makes Expion unique is their quite robust solutions, including publishing our content from a centralized location, team collaboration and content review, and analytics. We easily track content and campaigns by adding unique tags to group published content. But our favorite feature to date is competitor tracking, and keywords monitoring.
  • Keywords and competitor monitoring/tracking
  • Content planning and publishing
  • Community engagement
  • Analytics and reporting
  • The tool is so powerful and filled with features that some of our new users got scared and got lost while trying to master the basics. Would love it if they can develop a beginners onboarding plan where team admins can disable certain features for new joiners until they become accustomed to the platform.
We manage around 5 different brands, each with multiple channels on social media. Expion allowed us to not only manage them and plan our content with ease, but it also enabled our team to track the competition of each brand without much hassle. Our content planning and review were also elevated due to the powerful collaboration and planning available within the platform.
Read this authenticated review
July 21, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used Expion to streamline our content management across various verticals. Working in food, asset, and content management is a beast. We have a new menu and a new batch of assets every week, so asset discipline and organization is key. We're evaluating Expion as a tool to help us with that.
  • Asset organization
  • Content management
  • Content discovery
  • Better bulk upload
  • Content category analysis and tagging
Expion is well suited for mid to large organizations which manage complicated content calendars across verticals, using lots of assets.
Read this authenticated review
November 14, 2014
Sara Robertson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is primarily used by the firm marketing team for brand research. We also use it on a limited basis for client research. On the client side, we use it most frequently for share of voice research. That means when we are doing a RFP or something, we'll show a client how they stand in their competitive environment. Most clients at this phase aren't doing any social efforts (or poor ones), so the results can be quite startling.
  • It's good for major brands and research (especially consumer facing)
  • It's good for establishing share of voice
  • It's good for identifying trends over time - focusing in on what caused conversations spikes.
  • Their influencer/klout score algorithm is worthless - it caps out at 10 so the New York Times and Jo Schmo gamer dude and Justin Bieber all have the same score.
  • The Boolean builder can be frustrating, it will tell you there is an error, but gives you no indication of where. In a complex string it can take forever to figure out what you messed up.
  • Twitter listening only goes back one year. If you ever need to compare something year over year, without anticipating the need in advance and downloading reports, you're screwed.
Sysomos is not very helpful for brands that don't have a high number of mentions and aren't consumer facing. We're a B2B firm, so our traction on social is pretty minor. If you are in a bigger arena with a lot of major mentions and campaigns to analyze, this tool would be a lot more useful.
Read Sara Robertson's full review
October 28, 2014
Kelly Cates | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Expion is being used across eight of the Hanesbrands brands.
Expion is our go-to vendor for Social Media Platform. Each of our brands has multiple agencies and the Expion Platform allows one central area for all agencies to manage their posts, and gives management oversight into what each brand/agency is posting, performance, schedule and benchmark the data.
Several of our agencies use the library to share social assets. Each brand/agency can only see the brand for which they are responsible and mgmt can see everything.
Expion helps ensure best practices are being implemented across brands.
  • The calendar view of posts is a plus for managing multiple social pages.
  • The ability to monitor competitive brands in the advanced analytics section has been very informative.
  • The Library is a great place to share assets amongst teams or cross-functional agencies.
  • The ability to post in different languages and utilize globally.
  • We use the App builder regularly, and I'd like to see more flexibility in some aspects of the current templates.
  • For example: Some times we do not want email selection to be mandatory and in some templates there is no option to change.
Even for our small brands I cannot walk away from the robust reporting and easy to use posting process.
Read Kelly Cates's full review
June 03, 2015
Brooke Hébert | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • I love the different templates that you can select for Craigslist. This makes the listing stand out. Sometimes we have special promotions like "waived pet fee" and I love to use the dogs and cats template for this.
  • I have used other social media management software that make you do 3 to 5 different steps to post on Craigslist, Expion is the fastest. The one we use currently make use puts in the current price and fix come up with new ad headlines every week. It's terrible.
  • I love the photo options when posting to Craigslist, we were using the same 3 photos for every Ad until someone showed me how to change the photos to customize each listing.
  • After posting the Ad, an acknowledgment link is sent to your e-mail before the Ad can truely be listed. I always forget to hit the acknowledgement link.
No much to debate on this question. We are currently using Elite Renting and we are all very disatisfied with the product. The daily rents are never correctly converted into the Ads and constantly need to be corrected. There are only "3 easy steps" but the 3 step is editing 4 different screens of information, very time consuming. Expion was a much better product.
Read Brooke Hébert's full review
January 21, 2015
Daniele Federico | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Expion is used to manage 9 brands by the same team. Mostly on the Facebook pages but also other social networks.
  • Collaboration
  • Organizing different accounts
  • As most of the tools dealing with Social Networks the biggest issues come when you spend more time executing an action than doing your job. This comes from the difficulties of bringing any feature and function from the front end social network to the Social Media Management Tool.
  • When the tech team does some improvement there are some issues and this has not been effectively communicated.
Expion is better for global brands focused on publishing and less on reacting. The tool can slow down the whole engagement and the team may need to check the front office to make sure all messages were answered.
Read Daniele Federico's full review
September 15, 2014
Stefania Accardo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At my company, the Insights team uses Sysomos MAP on a daily basis for many different clients; from CPG to financial brands and many more. The tool is reliable and we mostly use it for real-time monitoring, tracking what people are saying on different digital channels (social media, forums and blogs) about a specific brand or campaign.
  • Identify most retweeted and most authoritative tweets. This helps us understand why and how conversations go viral and who is influencing the overall sentiment.
  • Show volume trend and popularity. A snapshot overview on how conversations are evolving throughout a specific date range. This helps us analyze relevant spikes and predict future analysis.
  • Build queries and analyze everything and anything. Within Sysomos, we can build infinite queries and also analyze competitive share of voice.
  • Sentiment. The sentiment analysis in Sysomos is not as accurate as it is in other third party tools where you can apply/modify sentiment manually.
  • Any link of content analyzed within Sysomos should open on a different tab.
Sysomos is well suited for real-time monitoring, social campaign awareness tracking (especially the ones using hashtags), media news influence, competitive analysis and corporate communications narratives.

If you are looking for a monthly reporting tool, you don't need Sysomos. This is a tool you want to use everyday to understand what people online are saying on a daily basis.
Read Stefania Accardo's full review
February 19, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sysomos is an exceptional social media management tool! It has exceptional page analytics, copy and social media post management, and so much more! Additionally, they put on really impressive summits including the New York City one that is coming up https://sysomos.com/summit-newyork/

I would strongly recommend the sysomos and expion tools to anyone!
  • Strong Customer Service
  • Strong Social Media Management
  • Strong Social Media Analytics
  • Analytics are strong but more is always better
  • Would like to see Instagram usage increase
  • Competetive needs work
I came to my current job and immediately went to work in implementing a new social media management tool. Sysomos was a great fit.
Read this authenticated review
December 17, 2014
Michelle LeBlanc | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sysomos MAP is a fantastic intelligence gathering tool. At my previous employer, I frequently used this product for two reasons:
- Tracking success of a social media or PR campaign by looking at the growing number of mentions of a company name, hashtag or topic over time
- Doing new business research by discovering strengths and weaknesses of an organization based on social media chatter around their products or services or discovering trends in their industry
In both occasions, I found Sysomos MAP to be incredibly helpful. Being able to save searches and return to them over time was great, though I did wish for the ability to get a regular update mailed to me with new hits/data. The interface isn't the most user-friendly/visual in this space, but the quality of the data and speed of the product made that worthwhile for me. Their customer service is also top-notch: very helpful, friendly and quick to respond.
  • Huge amounts of data available across multiple channels (blogs, social. web, etc)
  • Price was not too expensive for my agency's needs
  • Speed of being able to quickly run searches and produce answers
  • Email alerts of recurring reports would be helpful
  • Speed in adding new social networks is sometimes slow
  • Visuals were lacking (downloadable reports weren't easy to read or print, graphics needed to be re-created by our designers to be client-friendly)
If you are an agency that is interested in gathering social media data about your clients then Sysomos MAP is a great product. If you're looking for more of a social management tool then this isn't for you, though Sysomos does offer a different product for that.
Read Michelle LeBlanc's full review
December 01, 2014
Ryan Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for 3 functions. Monitoring, measurement, and insight development.
  • Quickly allows us to pull basic data.
  • Very easy to use if you know how to construct Boolean queries.
  • Flexibility to quickly update keywords / queries.
  • Customer service.
  • Needs more and faster growth for shared / owned channel analysis.
  • It is twitter heavy. Pulling from more social sources would be ideal.
Overall the ease of use, flexibility, and speed of the product makes it VERY useful for us.
  • Online training
  • Self-taught
Doesn't require much support for us, but the overall customer service experience has been very positive even through a sales rep change.
Read Ryan Smith's full review
January 29, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sysomos MAP is typically used by the social team to provide initial listening into volume, trends, sentiment and authority around a conversation among social audiences. This includes research for new business efforts, competitive auditing, always-on social channel maintenance and internal comms. Different users access different functions within MAP and collectively, our team takes full advantage of the software's offerings.
  • Influencer bio search - detailed assessment of Twitter profiles
  • Authority scoring - filters out search results to identify influencers talking about a trend or brand
  • Facebook page analysis - fan insights, sentiment and top followers
  • Sentiment scoring could be more qualitative - typically the majority of sentiment is categorized as neutral
  • Logo search - searching social content by brand icons helps filter out irrelevant content
  • Context around negative sentiment - some words are categorized as negative when they are actually positive
Sysomos Map is well suited for higher level social listening and gaining a sense of a competitive landscape, opportunities for brands to optimize their social messaging and identifying influencers discussing a particular product or trend.

Sysomos Map does not provide much value when looking into paid media activity, user emotion or channel activity beyond Twitter and Facebook.
Read this authenticated review
August 29, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We enable distributed use by users around our global business, though primary use is centered on key brand and PR users. Our priority is monitoring the impact of our brand in the marketplace, including through share of voice on strategic area of focus.
  • Ad-hoc research. During planning phase of a campaign it is a helpful tool to understand the marketplace, key influencers and topics that engage a target demographic.
  • Post-event hashtag analysis. Rapid generation of reporting on efficacy of a campaign, key voices, topics that resonated, viral reach and more.
  • User interface. Friendly and accessible enough to minimize training needs and enable decentralized access, though we have found some hand-holding is still required to get the most out of the platform.
  • Limited API access to some networks. Though this is hardly unique to Sysomos, the limited APIs provided by closed-networks like LinkedIn and Facebook, and others like Instagram, often disappoint our users, who may have unrealistic expectations as to what we can report on. In reality, Sysomos MAP is highly focused on Twitter, which is often not our core channel. Though Sysomos is bound by the limitations of the APIs provided, perhaps some creative innovation would enable limited but interesting observations. Identifying LinkedIn statuses that were simultaneously pushed to Twitter, for example, gives a window into that otherwise private world. Scraping of LinkedIn's trending topics might be revealing.
  • Sentiment analysis is automated and therefore only moderately accurate. Some advanced customization might enable us to get better results, perhaps by uploading custom dictionaries of positive, negative or neutral terms. For example to a loss-adjuster or insurer, many terms like flood, bankruptcy, damage, fraud risk etc may in fact be used positively as part of a marketing proposition or work undertaken ("X company insurance saved us from awful disaster"). Automated systems will always struggle with these. I wish I could make mass-edits to such inbound comments that would learn and persist.
Highly effective to measure a Twitter campaign post-event or campaign, where there is a defined period of time and a pre-defined hashtag (or hashtags) to be measured.

Limited at measuring closed networks such as Facebook and LinkedIn.
Read this authenticated review
September 13, 2014
Princee Jain | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am using it at a client where it's being used across the organisation.
  • Manual possibility to enter Boolean syntax unlike Radian6.
  • Most retweeted tweets feature.
  • Nice influencer graphs using Gephi.
  • Sentiment Analysis has a definite scope for improvement.
  • Word cloud should have the ability to deep dive into conversations rather than mentioning account names in big sizes.
  • Would be great if language translator could work on Word Cloud.
Sysomos Heartbeat is well suited for organisations with a huge Twitter structure. It is not well suited for finding meaning in the conversations or deep diving to unearth essence of consumer thinking.
Read Princee Jain's full review
October 10, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sysomos is used to track online trends and conversation in the industry. It helps all business units keep up with current issues or events pertaining to their department.
  • Tracking online trends and conversations
  • Removing noise to only see relevant content
  • Analytics to track trends overtime and see changes
  • Expand forum capabilities, make those posts easier to read and track in platform
  • Expand Facebook capabilities - pull in more data from public pages
Sysomos is well suited to understand trends and conversations online that are happening in real-time and in the past. It is useful for tracking campaign success online as well as competitor actions.
Read this authenticated review
April 03, 2014
Andrea Dobek | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Expion is a tool our company (Schnucks Markets) uses to make monitoring local store Facebook pages easier. Each Facebook Administrator has a login to access the Publishing Calendar for their location, and they can consult data collected by the dashboard, such as fan interaction with their page and/or specific posts; they can view posts from other stores to learn what their fans like or dislike; they can also reply to public comments or private messages sent by Facebook users.
  • Scheduling posts is incredibly easy, especially with the week-at-a-glance calendar. Simply click on a time on the calendar to create a post for the future; from there you can attach any media you wish, add the message text, etc. A live preview on the right side of the page shows you exactly how your post will appear on Facebook.
  • The Quick Post option works much the same way, and is especially useful if you’re using their mobile app. You have all the same options available to you as with the publishing calendar.
  • If you want to see how your fans are reacting to your page, you can do so with a click on the “Fan Conversations” tab on the Dashboard. From there, you can see a timeline of all fan comments, beginning with the newest first. This is conveniently separate from posts made to your page by you or ones that were made company-wide.
  • Unfortunately, one of the biggest complaints I have is in connection with the management of media. (Note: I have not had trouble with photos when using Quick Post or the calendar.) If I wish to change the cover photo for my page, I must email the photo to a colleague of mine at corporate, and they change it for me at headquarters. When I first began using Expion around 9 months ago, the uploading of photos to the media albums (for later use, or company-wide sharing) was completely non-functional. This HAS been improved, however.
  • Another complaint I have, that I would love to see addressed, is the overwhelming depth of information regarding analysis of page statistics. This is a double-edged sword, as the wealth of information provided by Expion is astounding. But one thing the dashboard lacks is graphs. I would love to see a graph showing the growth of my likes, rather than crunch a bunch of numbers to compare. It is also somewhat difficult to know the difference between sets of numbers, just by looking at them. This is one area where I feel creating/managing a page strictly through Facebook would be preferable, as Facebook’s dashboard is more intuitive and has graphs in addition to the numbers.
  • Something I noticed while scrolling through fan comments to my page was private messages are not separated clearly enough. The envelope icon, signifying a private message to me as the administrator, is easily missed amid the others; I was nearly two weeks late in replying to a customer request about a product.
  • Replying to fan comments and/or private messages isn’t as smooth as it could be. Clicking the Expion logo on the right side of the page (when looking at a table of comments/messages) brings up several options: Assign Task, Reply, Like (for fan comments) and [Mark as] Read. Unfortunately, these don’t always work properly, as there are several messages I know I have read, but their status still reads “Unread”.
I love Expion for its Publishing Calendar. I can log in, upload a photo and schedule a post very quickly. However, I cannot give the software a complete 10 out of 10 because of its issues with analytics. The incorporation of graphs and tools to compare numbers would increase its utility greatly. Until then, I must say Facebook’s own tools for managing a page are superior in that area. If you are looking to use such software, be sure you or whomever will be its primary user are comfortable with lots of numbers!
Read Andrea Dobek's full review
October 29, 2013
Kristen O'Neill | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Utilizes Boolean queries which enables user to build very specific, complex searches.
  • Returns search results in near real-time (vs. several hours or days like competitor products).
  • Easy-to-understand, intuitive platform. Easy to navigate through listening results.
  • Fairly expensive.
  • Customer service response time can be inconsistent.
For those new to listening products and/or Boolean queries, it would be smart to ask what kind of service level they could expect. And also to get a certain number of hours or predetermined number of training sessions in writing as part of the contract. With all listening tools, there is a learning curve. If your business or agency doesn't have knowledgeable people in house, you'll want some training beyond what's available in the FAQs section.
Read Kristen O'Neill's full review
November 09, 2013
Matthew Garcia | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Makes publishing to many pages and platforms easy
  • Expion's Analysis tool is very helpful for reporting
  • Representatives have been helpful when it comes to resolving issues quickly
  • Post failures can be frustrating, but many times they are caused by the Facebook API, which is beyond their control
  • Expion sometimes freezes and has random errors which can be frustrating
  • A lot of clicks go into creating posts, could be a little easier
I would ask what exactly you will need the tool for. It's helpful for managing many Facebook pages like my particular client, but manual posting for one page may be easier if your brand is smaller. Overall, I'm very likely to recommend Expion to a colleague.
Read Matthew Garcia's full review
October 25, 2013
Matthew Wurst | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Spectacular customer service: We conducted a through, investigative RFP and found that no solution could service a global agency such as ours, though Expion was the closest. They worked patiently to ensure that our wish list became a priority on their internal roadmap.
  • Versatility: No matter the size or scope of a client's social community needs - from publishing, workflow, moderation or analytics, Expion does it all and does it better than its competition. Other competitors nickel and dime us for every feature, every community or user added. None of that drama here.
  • Hunger: Their team has a drive to be the best, and it shows in their work. They don't rest, they don't settle and they strive to be the leaders in the space.
  • Integration with paid media tools, that's honestly it.
Push them to customize the tool for your needs. They'll do it.
Read Matthew Wurst's full review
January 24, 2014
Casey Munck | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Sysomos for reputation management and to gauge our share of digital voice, competition analysis, sentiment rating and authority ranking. Sysomos is used by our team's communications and social media editor, e-marketing specialist, myself the manager and interns and the information is shared throughout our organization and globally to audit and analyze our social base and the competition.
  • Ease of use
  • Dashboard views are nice
  • Easy reporting of main points
  • Detailed info on authority ranking needs work
  • Insight into your social base is lacking
  • Seems almost to regurgitate already existing info in social platforms, nothing new
  • Account management is poor -- no contact or consult with our account team.
Ask to see the specific dashboards of what you're looking for demoed. Lack of useful knowledge, very baseline info. However, reports come out nice of general information with nice graphics.
Read Casey Munck's full review

What is Meltwater Social (formerly Sysomos)?

Meltwater Social (formerly Sysomos) is a social media management solution that is designed to deliver content discovery, planning, publishing, moderation, and analytics in a single, easy-to-navigate screen. According to the vendor, it’s a platform that can manage social enterprises, no matter how large or complex. The solution aims to make content planning a snap with a simple drag-and-drop content calendar, and workflow that’s easy to track and review, across even the largest enterprises. With this solution, users will know who to speak to; when to engage in conversation and can even integrate with customer care centers.

Additionally, the vendor says with their solution, users will see the best performing content from all of their social media presences and their competitors’ pages, all within one view. Users can share it with brands or markets across their organizations to inspire creative thinking. The vendor’s value proposition is this solution enables marketers to manage their reputation and benchmark their performance at the same time.

Meltwater Social (formerly Sysomos) Screenshots

Meltwater Social (formerly Sysomos) Downloadables

Meltwater Social (formerly Sysomos) Competitors

Meltwater Social (formerly Sysomos) Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Sysomos$1,000.00Per Month

Meltwater Social (formerly Sysomos) Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Languages: English, Chinese, Japanese

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Meltwater Social (formerly Sysomos)'s best feature?

Reviewers rate Implementation Rating highest, with a score of 10.

Who uses Meltwater Social (formerly Sysomos)?

The most common users of Meltwater Social (formerly Sysomos) are Mid-size Companies from the Marketing & Advertising industry.