MiCloud Connect

MiCloud Connect
Formerly ShoreTel

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 7.6 out of 100
MiCloud Connect

Overview

What is MiCloud Connect?

MiCloud Connect is a business communications solution for contact centers that includes features like IP PBX telephony service, desk phones, softphone, and collaboration tools. It is integrable with other business communication technology, including Microsoft Outlook and CRM software.
Read more

Recent Reviews

Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 16 features
  • Answering rules (24)
    9.0
    90%
  • Call park (26)
    8.7
    87%
  • Call recording (23)
    8.3
    83%
  • Directory of employee names (27)
    8.3
    83%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of MiCloud Connect, and make your voice heard!

Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Essentials

$20.99

On Premise
per user/per month

Premier

$26.59

On Premise
per user/per month

Elite

$38.49

On Premise
per user/per month

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services
Return to navigation

Product Demos

MiCloud Connect Client Demo
02:46
Return to navigation

Features Scorecard

Cloud PBX

8.2
82%

Call Management

8.6
86%

VoIP system collaboration

7.7
77%

Mobile apps

6.2
62%
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is MiCloud Connect?

MiCloud Connect (formerly ShoreTel) is a business communications solution that combines a distributed communications platform, intuitive user applications, IP phones, and an easy-to-use management system that integrates with leading business information systems. Voice Switches are purpose-built appliances providing VoIP telephony with reliability and availability. The appliances help extend system capabilities and secure access for remote IP phones and SIP service providers.

ShoreTel was acquired by Mitel in 2017; according to Mitel, they will continue to offer and support ShoreTel products, now under the name MiCloud Connect.

MiCloud Connect Screenshots

Screenshot of ShoreTel ConnectScreenshot of Mobile AndroidScreenshot of Mobile iosScreenshot of Teamwork Android

MiCloud Connect Video

MiCloud Connect Client Demo

MiCloud Connect Downloadables

MiCloud Connect Competitors

MiCloud Connect Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise
Operating SystemsWindows, Mac
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

MiCloud Connect is a business communications solution for contact centers that includes features like IP PBX telephony service, desk phones, softphone, and collaboration tools. It is integrable with other business communication technology, including Microsoft Outlook and CRM software.

NICE CXone, MondoTalk, and NetFortris are common alternatives for MiCloud Connect.

Reviewers rate Answering rules and Audio conferencing highest, with a score of 9.

The most common users of MiCloud Connect are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews

(1-25 of 64)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Used it in our PoC/Dev environment for analysis to tackle a business requirement to take our call-center phone systems to the cloud for cost-effectiveness.
  • Contact center capabilities.
  • IP PBX phone services.
  • Softphone.
  • Microsoft Teams integrations.
  • Jira Integrations.
  • Salesforce integrations.
It is suited well for a contact-center environment to tackle customer calls at large volume. It is not suited for small-size business environments or residences.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Our institution uses Mitel to manage VoIP calls, handle advanced call routing, streamline common telephony functions, and enable users to become more independent of IT support. Users have many options for call routing, forwarding, automatic transfer, and management of voicemail within the Mitel shell that works in a familiar GUI-based setup. This has been a real boon in managing remote and back workflows.
  • Automatically route calls according to user specifications
  • Log and route voicemail
  • Integrate with Office calendars and scheduled events
  • Maintain contact lists
  • Some of the voicemail tracking features are dependent on user actions elsewhere, so deleting a voicemail from email or phone will remove the voicemail from Mitel.
  • Password saving and autologin are not consistent. Changing a password stored in Mitel to facilitate auto login can be labor intensive and frustrating.
  • Mitel doesn't do a good job of stacking auto startuo functions. So if using a VPN to access a network, Mitle will force itself to the front of the line before the remote VPN login. This creates error messages which can be confusing to newer users.
Mitel is excellent at allowing me as a user to setup up custom call routing in response to rapidly changing work flows. If I need to work from home for a period due to medical or other reasons, logging into Mitel and setting my office phone to ring through to my home or cell is quick and simple. Changing back is just as quick.
Sarah Jackson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Transferring calls and taking messages is a breeze. Simply making a few calls was all it took for me to develop a feel for the system, and switching between calls is really simple. As a matter of fact, I can't think of anything that I dislike about ShoreTel. It's a huge time-saver, especially during the busy days of the week. It's also convenient to be able to dial a coworker with a single click.
  • The administration interface makes it simple to control access and manage people.
  • The cloud-based service is simple to roll out to remote workers and brand-new workplaces.
  • The product has a simple and straightforward user interface.
  • There are persistent problems with the app's functionality on mobile devices.
  • At times, the web conferencing service may have delays. It appears to be less stable than competing approaches.
  • Using a headset instead of the microphone and speakers integrated into a desktop computer slows down the softphone's performance.
If your company has relied only on an on-premises system in the past, Mitel is a fantastic alternative. Mitel provides an excellent hosted option for businesses looking for scalability as they expand as well as ease of deployment for use by branch offices and remote employees. However, I would recommend caution if the company plans to utilize Mitel as its only communications platform because its conferencing solutions are not ready for prime time.
Casey Wright | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I wish all medium-sized offices utilized ShoreTel. Making transfers and answering calls is just so simple and easy. I only really needed to make one or two calls in order to get the hang of the system and it's also a breeze to move on from one call to the next. There's really not much I dislike about ShoreTel, to be honest. It makes my job (and life) just a lot easier especially during busier parts of the week. I also really appreciate having the ability to one-click a colleague in order to connect with them over the phone.
  • Its ability to connect to other members in the office is seamless.
  • Making interoffice and out-of-office transfers is very simple.
  • Logging in and out for breaks (lunch, personal, and otherwise), is really just two button clicks.
  • I wish it were easier to pull-up past calls in order to discern details shared in a conversation.
  • Accessing voicemail from the ShoreTel communicator isn't exactly as clear as making calls and transfers.
  • The labels in call history are a little bit confusing sometimes.
Medium to large-sized offices are what really benefit from this software. Small offices with less than 20 staff members don't really need to utilize this, I don't think. Offices that have a larger surface area or multiple locations also benefit from this, so again, smaller places I doubt would really reap the benefits of this.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We purchased Mitel MiCloud Connect intending to create a better unified communication plan. As a business, we continued to grow satellite offices, as well as number of employees who worked from home in various locations. We continued to find it challenging to deploy our previous phone system in remote locations (especially at work employees) without significant cost. As a whole, our intent was to allow us to have a phone system, but also a messaging platform, and conferencing solution, that would be elastic and grow with our business growth.
  • The admin portal is easy to use and manage users.
  • Deployment of new users is easy.
  • The cloud solution makes it easy to deploy in new offices or for at-home employees.
  • The user interface of the product is intuitive and easy to use.
  • The mobile app continually has issues operating as it is supposed to.
  • There is no "native" video conferencing solution.
  • The web conferencing solution has lag issues occasionally. It doesn't seem to be as stable as other solutions.
  • For whatever reason, the softphone on desktop struggles when using headsets instead of the computer's natively built in mic and speakers.
Mitel is a great option for businesses that have traditionally been using an on-prem only solution. If a business is trying to go to a hosted solution that is flexible with growth and easy to deploy with satellite offices and remote workers, Mitel has a great solution. However, if the business is intending to use Mitel for their full communications platform, I would exercise a level of caution as its conferencing solutions are not prime time solutions.
Joe DiCristofano | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We were originally M5 users and then became ShoreTel Sky users after the acquisition. ShoreTel Sky is used as our Telco provider where we leverage VoIP with Cisco 7XXX series phones at two main locations and for remote users too. The feature set and add-ons they offer suit our company very well. Direct dial, In-use, park and transfer are only a few of the options we leverage. We also use other features to train (listen in) and manage call logs/activity for our users. With the capability of PoE we can also leverage data use from the handset too.

Aug 2019 Update: We are still leveraging our Cisco 79XX series phones and have the same great functionality with Mitel. The platform has been updated a bit but as Administrators we have the same controls we did before. We will begin to visit the new offerings that Mitel will push out but for now we remain stable. The options I mentioned above are all still in place and our Phone Assistant still remains strong. I along with a number of users have a Cisco device at home and at work. We all can log on both back and forth from the office and home with no issue.
  • Call quality is very good. Dedicated circuit for QoS is helpful. Even leveraging the Mitel Cloud service over our own ISP has been problem free. The disadvantage to that is the owned and operated router from Mitel where they control more connectivity issues and troubleshoot them as well.
  • Support is also very good. Receive US based support staff when calling in. Issues resolved quickly.
  • They are continuously growing in support and service.
  • Issue with fail over. Determination has to be made to fail-over to DR site. This could take an additional 45 mins to 1 hr. when decision is made. You can be down for some time already before they flip.
  • As of Aug 2019 we have had much less issues in connectivity and fail-over. The Mitel platform appears to be stable.
  • Looking for better choices of handsets/easier programming for off-net phones. After comparing a number of vendors we've not been able to compare the specific feature sets that Mitel provides.
There are other vendors out there that are plug and play with just an Internet connection. You have to compare feature sets that you need (not so much want) especially when it comes to management of users. The ShoreTel Sky management interface has improved over the last quarter and is easier to use.

Update moving them up a notch! Service and call clarity are really good.
They are easy to reach, have several ways to create tickets and are very supportive. Usually you are assigned a specific technician and can follow up with that individual. Response times are good.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Four digit extension dialing between branches and being able to transfer calls between branches works great.
  • Customer service is always very helpful with any problems.
  • The Phone Assistant is very easy to use and has a lot of features.
  • The Shoretel Mobility app for iPhone does not work very well and is not very intuitive in my experience.
  • We have had many intermittent instances of employees reporting that call quality is bad, sounds like the caller is garbled and underwater.
  • I deployed Shoretel Sky to eleven branches in four states over a 6 month period and experiences were not very consistent. Had issues with not enough power bricks being sent with the phones, some phones not having the the face sticker showing messages, directories, etc., user guides (quick start guides) not getting shipped with the phones at some branches, and phones being programmed incorrectly. This made it very difficult to plan my trips to train employees and install these at the various locations.
Shoretel Sky is well suited for our company due to being flexible to the unique configurations at each of our branches. Each branch has different call flows set up that are easily manageable using the portal. This is not a canned system that everyone has to adapt to which makes it very easy to work with.
ShoreTel's customer service reps are fast to respond to any problems and follow up to make sure the problem is fixed.
September 12, 2019

Eye on the ball...

Khozaim Basrai | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
ShoreTel Sky is being used across the whole organization and it takes care of portability and easy access to the telephone system.
  • Quick tech support with 611 dials.
  • Telephone backup and DSR becomes simple with ShoreTel Sky.
  • Setting up new offices is very simple.
  • Configurating telephones and portal capabilitis are very easy to use.
  • Mobile app is very handy and manageable.
  • Better pricing
It's very easy to set up home offices.
Joshua Franklin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
MiCloud Connect is used with our Mitel (formerly Shoretel) hosted voice system. We use it to supplement our physical phones. It is used to edit and set statuses (away, vacation, meeting), record greetings, and as a softphone. It also is used to manage voicemails in Outlook.

Edit/Set Status/Record Greeting: The setting of status works well and generally easily once the users remember to use the app. The editing is very powerful, and while presented fine, that sheer complexity available baffles many users. In particular, it's edited under Settings, Call Routing. This isn't where most users are expected to find status/record greetings.

Softphone: This works very well and easily. We use this a lot for when a user has a work at home day, particularly if they have to call internationally. The only issue we've had here is when people forget to switch back off, and wonder why their desk phone is lit up orange and not taking calls.

Outlook Integration: This mostly just causes confusion, and we often disable it. We usually have to disable the synching contacts, and even the add-in that puts emails in Outlook often gets disabled because 1) it often defaults to playing the attached voicemails to the desk phone, which means users are usually left thinking it doesn't work because they are using Outlook to listen to voicemails because they are not at their desk and they have no idea the desk phone is playing their voicemail attachment 2) it doesn't send the voicemails to their email so that their cell phone/other devices get it. So we had to enable that (vm to email) separately, and the outlook add-in just makes it redundant. Literally two copies of VM in Outlook, one able to be seen on all devices, but it's status (read/unread/deleted) doesn't sync back to the phone system and another copy from the add-in that can only be seen on the outlook PC but its status does sync back.

So the softphone works great, the changing status works great. The editing is a bit complicated and hard for users to find. The Outlook add-in is usually removed as it's worthless to us.

We do not use it for instant messaging, video, or events, though it has those capabilities.
  • The softphone is easy to use and works well
  • Changing availability status is easy
  • It pushes updates automatically and usually without issue
  • Editing voicemail status is hidden in call routing and is overly complicated for most of our users' needs
  • Outlook add-in is more of a burden than a help
  • The mobile app version doesn't get hunt group calls
Well suited:
For replacing a deskphone with a softphone.
Enabling users to fix their holiday status after they left the office as they usually do..
Justin Zipprich, Freelance Writer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We currently use MiCloud Connect to handle the call and email volume at our company. It is through this program that we get our calls for customer service, retention, and sales. We also use it on our email team and with our ticketing system so that our email agents can respond to customer inquiries quicker.
  • Without MiCloud, we would not have a proper system for handling the many customer calls that we get every hour. It is a great management system for that purpose.
  • It is very easy to use. Simple navigation with easy to use features and not too much guesswork.
  • Great handling for email distribution.
  • Minor glitches from time to time. For instance, it does not always open automatically when I start my computer.
  • Maybe some improvement with menu and information location. Fewer clicks to get to call history, for example.
I believe it is handy for many applications, whether for a lone user or for a company with many employees. It is great in a call center environment as it is ideal for handling incoming calls and emails and distributing them as needed. Also, a great program for tracking missed calls, call durations, scheduling, etc.
February 01, 2019

MiCloud Connect Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We have been using MiCloud Connect across the whole organization, spanning multiple sites. We use it as a phone system and unified communications. We use work groups for several teams and a good portion of our staff uses the connect desktop software.
  • Phone system.
  • Call handling.
  • Instant message/conferencing.
  • Would like a traditional call forward option.
  • Greater analog ports on-premise gear.
Great for small to medium-sized business, scales well. Fine for larger organizations too but may want the enterprise contact center.
Justin Stumpf | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • It's easily upgraded when a new version is released.
  • ShoreTel is great with expansion.
  • The SDK was key in deciding on a VoIP solution.
  • Newer versions are slightly behind the times in supporting things like Office, and 64bit OS.
  • Self-taught
Solve my issues quickly and professionally.
Jay Moore | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Shoretel is implemented as our phone and uc system.
  • Easy to configure
  • Easy to maintain
  • Easy for End Users
  • Integration into other apps, CRM, etc
Well suited for most organizations with over 20+ users. We do not have any remote users yet, but this solution would work well for remote/road warrior employees.
Erik Ross | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
It is being utilized across the whole organization. The system makes it easy to be contacted and opens up voicemail access with the ability to "sign in" to your phone from any Shoretel handset in our organization. The paging system works better (and is cheaper than the installation of) on ceiling speaker systems by utilizing the phones. Instant Message feature is useful for interoffice communications and takes a load off of the e-mail server as well.
  • Instant Messaging system built into the ShoreTel Communicator that installs on the desktop, allows you to see call history, dial out, listen to voicemails, send IMs - all without added stress on Exchange Server.
  • The handsets are intuitive for use, with plenty of programmable features.
  • Server set up is simple, intuitive and easy to maintain over time.
  • Over 6 years we had two issues that were resolved through ShoreTel's adding ability, the company is highly responsive to suggestions and critiques. At this time there are noticeable shortfalls in the tech or the software.
I have seen this system in very small businesses (<10 personnel) and in ours which is roughly 150 employees, and I have heard from colleagues about much larger enterprises that utilize the same software and hardware with no issues or regrets.
Jeremy Bond | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
ShoreTel provides voice over IP phone services for our entire company. ShoreTel allows us to place inner office phone calls and provides a company directory as well as instant messaging between users and teams.
  • ShoreTel has instant message capabilities that allow users to communicate without interruptions.
  • ShoreTel has been around for years and the company is stable.
  • It just works, we've had zero service interruptions that can be directly attributed to ShoreTel.
  • The user interface looks like something straight out of the 90s.
Shoretel is a great mid-sized business phone solution that just simply works. The older 100 megabit phones are competitively priced and very reliable. With some quick notes on how to configure accounts and extensions the system can be easily managed.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
ShoreTel is being used at my previous work place by the whole organization, it is being used for internal communication between the employees and also for external communication by marketing and support staff. As for my personal usage of ShoreTel, I had to interact with it in a very minimal manner considering that I was a software engineer seated right next to the whole software team, I only had to use it to either contact IT support or HR, so I would describe my usage as inter departmental. From personal knowledge, I do know that it was much more widely used by people who used to work in the marketing/customer support divisions which was of real value to the company unlike with the software department where it was used occasionally.
  • I can strongly say that the communication channels were always very clear and there was no breakdown of any kind throughout my 6 month work period.
  • Since ShoreTel associates your profile with the phone it feels like the experience is very personalized.
  • For internal communication purposes it is not necessary to dial a huge number, this makes it quick and efficient.
  • I don't think that ShoreTel is of much value to teams that are more closely located in the work space. I do believe that extending functionality in ways like integrating meetings schedule and reminders might make it more useful.
  • It is a wired device which restricts movement, adding a wireless device to the collection might be a good idea.
  • It does not have a specific feature to group people under a single name, I would have liked to have seen a feature that allows users to group a set of people under one particular tag and be able to send them voicemails and as so on.
I think the best suited scenarios are places where there is a lot of inter departmental communication, for example HR contacting employees regarding various issues, and also for external communication like marketing and technical support departments.
A less appropriate scenario is to use it in a team which is seated in the same room, I can relate to this example. However, if it is being used organization wide then it does serve its purpose to such teams as well, since people from other departments can contact them for a lot of various purposes. I am sure that it can be made more useful for inter team communication as well by adding features considering inter team communication as a usecase.
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Cloud based PBX - Phone from anywhere.
  • Excellent Customer Service and Support
  • Redundant / Backup System not fully implemented.
We have been Shoretel customers for several years on their Sky platform. The first 6 months of service was shaky, but Shoretel improved and everything was great.

Starting sometime last year (early 2016), we noticed that it was taking a much longer time to reach a support agent; hold times going from less than two minutes to well over 30 minutes. We didn't think much of this, as the service worked great and we rarely had to call. When we did mention our frustrations at long hold times, we were assured that the problem was only temporary while they trained all of the new employees they hired.

In January we were sold on changing the Sky service to Shoretel's Connect platform, as we were told the CRM integration was more robust and there were hundreds of additional reports we could run for metrics. We made the change in April, and it has been non-stop problems since then. For the first 7 weeks on the "Connect" platform, there were backend database synchronization issues going on that kept locking users out of the queue, portal, and their phones. Finally after discovering the problem, we were told that it would be another month before the fix was implemented.

Even after the fix, the problems did not go away. Daily we have users that are unable to log in, users that get kicked out of phone queues, phones that get logged out/disconnected, mobility applications that don't work, softphones that fail to see USB headsets.

Shoretel's support, during all this, sadly did not improve; but got worse. Every call I have made, has resulted in a minimum of 30 minutes on hold before getting a rep on the phone. During a recent issue, we called in and were told we were 132nd in line; after 30 minutes we were 123rd in line.

Overall we wish we had not migrated from Sky to Connect, especially since there is no reverse migration available. Had we know how bad Connect was, and how unimportant we would be treated, we would have never switched. I suppose it is possible to not have a bad experience with Shoretel, as there as several good reviews out there. My question to anyone that asks is, do you really want to take the chance?
ShoreTel Sky's support is amazing. The only reason why I didn't give it a 10 is that we still need to contact them for stuff that we should be able to do, for ourselves, within the management portal. I know their portal is being worked on, so hopefully they will get the "little things" included for self-management.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
ShoreTel VOIP and the applications are easy to use and cost effective. We use the service across multiple sites and in a few call centers and have very few problems.
  • Shoretel is cost effective. I am a Cisco fan. I love Cisco VOIP and their products, however, working for a non-profit, we didn't have the budget to deploy a full Cisco VOIP system.
  • Call Clarity. The call clarity with ShoreTel is nice. Like all VOIP systems, it does require some adjustments with the settings, but once you are done, it sounds great.
  • Their phones feel cheap. They feel like they were made with cheap plastic, and we have probably replaced almost 40% of their phones because they quit working or had issues. Their warranty covered the replacements of these phones.
If you can afford a Cisco VOIP solution, I would recommend that. But, if your budget is tight and you need a nice solution that is easy to manage, I would recommend ShoreTel.
July 03, 2017

User Friendly

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use shoreTel for sourcing, sales, meetings and remotely. It is being used by the entire organization. It fast and convenient, I can make phone calls using the computer instead of using the actual phone. Sometimes we do have issues like if the internet is down then we would be able to place or make phone calls but other than that one issue ShoreTel is great.
  • When the system is down, it quickly gets back up and running.
  • Works well with our database we use
  • It is user friendly
  • Sometimes it slow - maybe it should keep updating itself
  • Maybe more texting features
  • Clearer calls
I like how when I am working on my computer with my head set on and i receive a call, I don't have to like at the phone caller ID to see who is calling me. It pops up on my screen, I am able to answer it with at click of the mouse or transfer the call with a click as well. Also send a text, however the text feature could use a higher character limit 135 is not enough some times.
June 26, 2017

ShoreTel VoIP PBX

Gary Lamontagne | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use ShoreTel IP phones, ShoreTel communicator software, and switches deployed across our entire organization which consists of five offices. We are able to stay in touch with our remote offices via four digit extensions versus dialing the local phone number. Our customers can get transferred to the appropriate party regardless of which office they call.
  • Setup is quick and painless
  • Management of the phone system is web browser based
  • Is the only phone system that we looked at that continued to run if the server went down
  • Integrates with Microsoft Outlook
  • Customizable
  • Updates to the system are cumbersome.
  • Better support for Bluetooth headsets would be nice
ShoreTel is well suited in companies ranging from small to large and in most industries. The true value is in the ShoreTel Communicator software that is installed on the users' computers. It works in conjunction with their phone. Transferring calls, conferencing, placing on hold, listening to voicemail, can all be done via the software.
Kevin Staley | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use ShoreTel across our entire organization which includes two branch locations and a home office employee. We needed a solution to manage phones and call routing across our organization, and utilize data networks to reduce call costs too. We also needed a solution that could be managed fairly easily by in-house IT staff. We wanted a way to evenly distribute calls to an inside sales team and ShoreTel accommodated that need too.
  • Ease of phone management - easy to deploy; easy to relocate; and, easy to reassign extensions.
  • Ease of overall system management - one pane of glass for all our switches, phones, users, call routing etc.
  • Regular product updates and feature additions and/or refinements - listens to their customer base and provides clear upgrade paths.
  • Encourages third-party enhancements and affords ease of integration to broaden the range of their already robust IP telephony solution.
  • While very good reporting is offered via a third-party, it would be nice to have more report offerings baked in to the boxed solution.
Being a very reasonably priced solution compared to its competitors, ShoreTel would be well-suited to small, medium and large organizations. The recent cloud offerings afford deployments with minimal capital outlay for equipment. The solution makes management of an IP telephony solution much easier and centralized if so desired. Other than a very small organization conducting business without a physical facility, I think ShoreTel is capable of being successfully deployed in most organizations.
John Thompson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We started using ShoreTel Sky about 3 years ago. We were in the process of moving buildings and ShoreTel Sky made moving easier as we could keep some staff up and running in the old location and start using the new building with the rest of the staff. It worked like we were still all in the same location. We have grown to 30+ phones now and it has been great for adding and changing employees. We don't have to have anyone come in or need any experts to make changes. It's easy to just use the portal.
  • Adding and changing employees is very easy and only takes a minute.
  • Setting up call flows is not too challenging. We have specific ring groups and settings.
  • Moving the phone to different locations is a breeze, just needs a POE Ethernet connection.
  • Call flow could be easier and more streamlined.
  • The iphone app never worked for us. It should be reworked to copy the Cisco phones.
  • The monthly expense for adding features adds up. If they included all the features, they would be fantastic.
Are you a constantly changing company? If you are making changes to your phones and office staff more than a few times a year then ShoreTel Sky will save a lot of money in the long run. Do you have remote staff? We use several phones in remote locations, they just need a good internet connection and a power brick to run the phone.
May 18, 2017

ShoretelSky Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • ShoreTel Sky's customer support is among the best that I've seen while in the industry.
  • Though I generally enjoy ShoreTel's Customer Support a few features that are supposed to work whenever we add a new user stopped working, and I constantly have to call to have support manually do it for me. I keep getting told that it is supposed to be automatic but they apparently can't figure this one out.
n/a
Troy Thompson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
We use Shoretel IP PBX across our organization, plus our customers as well.
  • The Shoretel Communicator client is extremely convenient and efficient for our business needs. The Outlook synchronization works particularly well along with the quick dialer. Being able to type in a partial name or phone number and then click on a name to call a contact directly is very useful. It automatically adds all of my new contacts and their numbers, email, etc.
  • Voice quality and QoS is excellent. We never have any issues of latency, dropped packets, static, etc. DSCP QoS tagging works out of the box as long as you enable it on your network.
  • Shoreware Director, the administration portal is very user friendly, and doesn't require the end user to be very tech savvy. Everything in there is pretty self-explanatory.
  • Creating users, changing numbers and extensions, MAC work are all very simple with minimum training.
  • There are some minor issues with software bugs on new build releases.
  • Quality control with the phones could be better. They have about a 3% failure rate in our experience, but the RMA process is quick and painless.
Is your organization ready for VOIP and Unified Communications? If you already have a solid Cat5e/Cat5 network in place and PoE switches making the transition is easy. Also, if you are moving into a new facility that needs cabling you can save yourself some money by going VOIP instead of installing separate wires for analog phones.
Adam Jones | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We are using ShoreTel across our whole organization. We have two locations, one in Cleveland, OH and one in Davie, FL. We are using an MPLS and the users are able to reach other using 4 digit extension to extension dialing with great clarity. We used to have two systems separate and it took a lot of admin work to get them to work nice together but now everything is seamless and works great.
  • Administration is a breeze. We are able to add extensions and users very quickly.
  • We are able to assign phones quickly. Plug it into the network, and we are up and going within minutes.
  • Love the softphone features with the desktop application. I can quickly look at voicemails and select the important ones without needing to weed through a bunch of non mission critical information.
  • The admin panel does not work with browsers other than IE. I would love to see added browser support.
  • We sometimes need to re-use extensions when people move departments. It would be lovely to have a feature to reset a user account VM quickly. Currently, we have to set the user to extension only and then back to extension and VM to have it reset.
Great for medium sized businesses with lots of users. It deploys very easy. You can hand a phone to a user and have everything configured for when they plug it in. Desk moves are super simple. The user does not have to take the phone, they can simply be swapped quickly to a different handset.
Return to navigation