MiCloud Connect (formerly ShoreTel) Reviews

110 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 6.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 42)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
March 23, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Mitel has a great phone service product. The user interface for phone service, and the admin portal is extremely easy to use. Ultimately, it was presented that the conferencing solutions in a unified communication plan were more capable then reality. In comparison to other phone systems, Mitel is definitely a step ahead of the pack in both functionality and professional user interface. However, in context of conferencing solutions, Mitel is a several steps behind the pack.
Read this authenticated review
September 17, 2019
Joe DiCristofano | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We've recently did a full comparison of the top 6 to 8 VoIP companies including on-site testing as well. For the cost to switch over - losing the investment we have - we feel that ShoreTel can provide us the same, if not better, benefit that the other competition can,
Read Joe DiCristofano's full review
February 14, 2019
Justin Zipprich, Freelance Writer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

This is the first program of its type that we have used at this company but I would highly suggest it as it is the backbone of our call center. The way it manages calls and emails is paramount to our success.
Read Justin Zipprich, Freelance Writer's full review
February 01, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • MiCloud Connect (formerly ShoreTel) and Cisco Unified Communications Manager (Call Manager)
Cost and ease of management are primary benefits over Cisco UCS. Much easier to train up admin staff in creating a new site and deploying gear for MiCloud vs Cisco. Reporting is also simple to run and schedule, enhanced by Brightmetrics.
Read this authenticated review
March 14, 2018
Jay Moore | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We looked at some cloud based hosted systems, but in the end, these would cost more over time than an on premise system.
Read Jay Moore's full review
October 05, 2017
Jeremy Bond | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

ShoreTel was one of the earlier VOIP solutions available. They established themselves as a leader early on but lack a lot of innovation that newer VOIP companies bring to the market. Everything comes at a cost, want a conference bridge, you're going to need a license. Want Video Conferencing, going to need a license. Want instant message features, going to need a license. Want the ShoreTel Mobile app, going to need a license. A lot of competitors have these as base features. If there's a licensing issue you have 60 days to resolve the issue or the entire ShoreTel server will lock, once its locked you have to pay a fee and then correct the licensing issue. At the end of the day its a VOIP solution that is well established and the system just works.
Read Jeremy Bond's full review
June 26, 2017
Gary Lamontagne | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

When evaluating phone systems, we looked at Cisco VoIP in addition to ShoreTel. Cisco was more money, had a higher learning curve, and we received a bad review from a local business who was using it. In the ShoreTel demo, the engineer brought their equipment and set up a demo in our conference room. He was able to get a phone system up and running in a matter of minutes. The biggest selling point was when he turned the phone server off and the phone system continued to work, minus the voicemail and Communicator software.
Read Gary Lamontagne's full review
June 07, 2017
John Thompson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We looked at packet8 and decided they would be more of a headach to implement. Although, I do think their monthly service is cheaper, I guess you get what you pay for. There is very little comparesion between shortel sky and the alaoge box we had before. I think we paid 10K for the old system and had 4-5 phone lines, it was not nearly enough.
Read John Thompson's full review
April 03, 2017
Jay Brackman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Polycom phones work fine, but they are a bit hard to learn how to use. There are a lot of "open" buttons that seem rather nebulous. ShoreTel's GUI interface really makes learning how to use the platform easy, even for a child to use. Plus ShoreTel designs and builds all of its hardware, and Polycom just makes phones and uses other technologies on the back end to run the system.
Read Jay Brackman's full review
November 18, 2016
Josh Novak | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We have also used allworx and when it worked it worked great, however there were a few times where the system would be down for a few days because of clock issues within an update.
Read Josh Novak's full review
January 18, 2017
Ryan Graven | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Mitel and Toshiba for on-premises telephony. RingCentral and 8x8 for hosted. All of them have their strengths and weaknesses. For on-premises, there is no better solution than ShoreTel in my opinion. There are elements of the other hosted product I do appreciate like integration capabilities and reduced price per seat with comparable features. We have developed a great guide for those that are interested in looking at the differences between ShoreTel, RingCentral, and 8x8:

http://www.mtrx.com/blogs/shoretel_8x8_ringcentral_cloud_phone_comparison
Read Ryan Graven's full review
May 03, 2016
Greg Golding | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Similar overall goals, but ShoreTel is easier to use from both a user standpoint as well as administrative standpoint. ShoreTel easily can be supported internally whereas Mitel would require more pro services
Read Greg Golding's full review
August 10, 2016
Matthew Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Shoretel is not what they used to be. They are now a fee based organization with poor customer service and tons of corporate red tape. We are locked into a contract and look forward to switching to a different company when that expires
Read Matthew Smith's full review
November 16, 2016
Nick Cox | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The system was great compared to other systems I've used. Easy to learn. Easy to use. Easy to implement. Easy to use on the go. Easy to make heavy call volume.
Read Nick Cox's full review
April 08, 2015
Bruce Fyfe | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We implemented Shoretel in early 2008 (currently 6 years ago). At the time we did an extensive RFP which included proposals from Cisco, Mitel and others. We looked at costs, features and management and ShoreTel was a winner across the board for our environment and needs.
Read Bruce Fyfe's full review
February 25, 2015
David Maxwell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We also evaluated Cisco VOIP and Avaya. Avaya wasn't as advanced and Cisco seemed similar. We watched 3 presentations and staff collectively voted for ShoreTel.
Read David Maxwell's full review
December 18, 2014
Lawrence Garner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

One thing I like about ShoreTel is that each upgrade is compatible with hardware used in previous versions. And Shoretel is still using Microsoft servers.
Read Lawrence Garner's full review
July 05, 2014
Wayne Morse | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

ShoreTel Sky scores big on customer services and compared to the competition (XO, Avaya, etc...) they are very accessible which is huge, especially in regards to getting problems fixed. Cost wise they are very, very competitive and they beat everyone else's prices we looked at. I can't say the reliability is there for a call center environment, but they are getting better. They take suggestions for their apps and software. Overall I am pleased with them, they are a young services with plenty of growing to do, but I would recommend them to most.
Read Wayne Morse's full review
June 20, 2014
Jeremy Garver | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

ShoreTel is a much better solution than Cisco. They are not only more cost effective, but they are not as overly complex as the Cisco solution. ShoreTel is easier to implement and administer.
Read Jeremy Garver's full review
June 17, 2014
Rob Lepre | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Shoretel was in the VOIP business from the beginning. They have mature development processes and their software is stable. They did not just lump products from other acquisitions and slap a new brand on their product. I have used open source systems (Asterisk) to 3COM VCX platform with their integrated network switching platform. The difference is, Shoretel has had the end to end software and monitoring visibility to ensure the product is working efficiently. From using the Shoreware Director to view network statistics to the ECC Monitoring of agent calls and activity. The Reporting uses Crystal Reports and was an easy transition for our teams who already had this skillset. Testing was a huge sucess over the other products. The ability to test the trunk you are working in the Test Trunk Tool. Not having to be physically in the location to test the PRI's when needed. Other systems have this too, but they are not as easy to use in my opinion. Lastly the licensing model is straight forward and not expensive. They are competitive with the market.
Read Rob Lepre's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Hosted PBX (13)
8.6
Multi-level Interactive Voice Response (IVR) (12)
8.7
User templates (13)
8.8
Call reports (18)
8.1
Directory of employee names (24)
7.1
Answering rules (21)
9.4
Call recording (20)
9.5
Call park (23)
9.2
Call screening (19)
7.4
Message alerts (20)
7.6
Video conferencing (6)
4.5
Audio conferencing (20)
8.9
Video screen sharing (2)
6.6
Instant messaging (2)
9.0
Mobile app for iOS (12)
6.1
Mobile app for Android (10)
6.1

What is MiCloud Connect (formerly ShoreTel)?

MiCloud Connect (formerly ShoreTel) is a business communications solution that combines a distributed communications platform, intuitive user applications, IP phones, and an easy-to-use management system that integrates with leading business information systems. Voice Switches are purpose-built appliances providing VoIP telephony with reliability and availability. The appliances help extend system capabilities and secure access for remote IP phones and SIP service providers.

ShoreTel was acquired by Mitel in 2017; according to Mitel, they will continue to offer and support ShoreTel products, now under the name MiCloud Connect.

MiCloud Connect (formerly ShoreTel) Screenshots

MiCloud Connect (formerly ShoreTel) Video

Watch ShoreTel Demos

MiCloud Connect (formerly ShoreTel) Downloadables

MiCloud Connect (formerly ShoreTel) Competitors

MiCloud Connect (formerly ShoreTel) Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Essentials20.99per user/per month
Premier26.59per user/per month
Elite38.49per user/per month

MiCloud Connect (formerly ShoreTel) Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Mac
Mobile Application:No