Microsoft 365 (formerly Office 365) Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
2530 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 138)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
June 03, 2021
Mallori Barg | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The Microsoft 365 suite brings together a lot of the familiar programs into one location where you can quickly get what you need done. For office work, it is just the next evolution of the Microsoft products we have all been familiar with.
Read Mallori Barg's full review
June 01, 2021
Nathan Morimitsu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Google Workspace (formerly G Suite)
Even though we get the full suite of Google office applications with our Google Workplace account, Microsoft 365 is still the standard for business, so we use it to create documents that are used to communicate with other businesses.
Read Nathan Morimitsu's full review
May 26, 2021
Marquis C. Brantley | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Keynote Systems (Discontinued) and Dropbox
I have used a few other products similar to Microsoft 365. I used to use Dropbox as a file storage, cloud based solution for storing documents and data. I was introduced to Microsoft 365 a few years after using Dropbox, and I prefer Microsoft because of the entire suite that compliments the storage center. Everything in the suite works together so seamlessly.
Read Marquis C. Brantley's full review
May 20, 2021
Gareth Beer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft 365 provides the end-to-end collaboration tool that enables businesses and organisations to run seamlessly. In an organisation as large as the University it’s key to have enterprise-level solutions to enable delivery and collaboration of a large scale.
Read Gareth Beer's full review
May 11, 2021
Heather Hicks | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft 365 is a complete package. If your work is business more than creative than it 100% suits your needs. The pieces it offers, the desk top apps available on demand, and the integrations are far reaching and hard to match with other products. It's clear they've been used by businesses as they have a [tool] for pretty much every need.
Read Heather Hicks's full review
May 04, 2021
Kevin Staley | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Please consider our consideration of alternatives dates back seven years ago, so the alternative offerings today are likely to be rather different.

We did consider continuing with Exchange on site, but deemed the increasing cost and complexity to justify adopting [Microsoft 365 (formerly Office 365)].

We did not seriously consider WordPerfect Office, but did briefly review its cost and features. The prevalence of Office, the need to ensure an alternative that would provide compatibility with it, and the familiarity of our employees with MS Office, made the decision to remain with MS Office a very easy one.
Read Kevin Staley's full review
April 29, 2021
Michael Kerzner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Google Workspace (formerly G Suite)
I think the closest offering to Microsoft 365 on the market is Google Workspace. They have a pretty robust ecosystem as well. I don't think they measure up to Office 365 though. This year alone, we have helped 16 companies migrate from Google Workspaces to Microsoft 365.
Read Michael Kerzner's full review
April 28, 2021
Philip Schmitz, CIC | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Google Workspace is good on the cloud side but did not integrate with our CMS and lacked desktop apps which we find more full-featured. Apache OpenOffice and Libre integrate with our CMS but are not cloud-based and not near as many features/capabilities.
Read Philip Schmitz, CIC's full review
April 28, 2021
Dan Nichols | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Significantly cheaper and easier than maintaining and licensing an Exchange server locally and basically zero labor time with upkeep outside of account management is a massive time saver.
  • I've never been a big fan of G-Suite. Their email works but often is clunky to administer and license compared to Microsoft 365 and while Google productivity software like sheets has come a long way, being web-based is actually a negative for most users and the apps still are not feature comparable to the office suite. G-Suite is cheaper, but the savings aren't worth the training and support issues.
Read Dan Nichols's full review
April 14, 2021
Mark Goodman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Thought about using Teams in certain situations, but have been concerned about universal access to content. Often feel that third party applications that are not aligned to a specific format are better. Users are not favored if [there] are Google or Microsoft or Apple people.

Also, I have looked at Microsoft rewards. Not sure how it works, so basically ignore it.
Read Mark Goodman's full review
April 12, 2021
Michelle Wright | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We have only used Microsoft Outlook before but Microsoft 365 offered more which is why we switched to Microsoft 365.
Read Michelle Wright's full review
April 12, 2021
John Argenzia | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We use Microsoft 365 [(formerly Office 365)] and it has met all of our needs. There was no further need to research it. It does all of the things that we need, excluding the patient/case manager software that use daily.

Zoom is what we have been using for clients or patients but I have been pushing users to use Zoom less for in house meetings.
Read John Argenzia's full review
May 25, 2021
Wajeeh Rehman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

As I mentioned earlier in the review, Microsoft is a well-known and reliable vendor. All the products of Microsoft 365 are used all around the world and it is easier for anyone to share stuff with it. Unlike other apps, you have to get training, and also their file formats are not supported by everyone.
Read Wajeeh Rehman's full review
May 24, 2021
Justin Giffin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Google Workspace (formerly G Suite)
Because of the ability to connect applications, Microsoft 365 seems to be more robust on the communication platform. Google Workspace has a few other benefits of the automatic Google drive synchronization, but outside of that, Microsoft easily makes it easier to choose with its selection of applications for the everyday worker.
Read Justin Giffin's full review
May 13, 2021
Randy MacFarland | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We tried Google Cloud services in a beta test with random users. Google Sheets, Google Doc aren't the same as Excel and Word. Compatibility issues. Some Microsoft services aren't even available in Google service.
Read Randy MacFarland's full review
May 12, 2021
Tim Rempel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have used Apache's OpenOffice and Google's document software for many years due to the high cost of obtaining licensed copies of MS Office in the past. While those options worked, I was never fully satisfied with the reduced feature set that they offered. In addition, and likely the no. 1 reason why I switched back to original Microsoft software was the lack of 100% compatibility with standard office products that are used by the majority of businesses and customers. With OpenOffice or Google documents, the product never appeared 100% the same as what I created when opened by different software. It was crucial for me to know that what I sent to suppliers and clients was viewed exactly as I intended.
Read Tim Rempel's full review
April 14, 2021
Indy Gill | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Skype is a similar communication tool to Microsoft Teams, however Microsoft is more commonly used in our business so it's easier to use a product that communicates and works with the other products you have
Read Indy Gill's full review
April 13, 2021
Patrice Tanguay | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Google has a large suite of applications that offers comparable services to Office 365. However, the challenge is the working experience with those tools. Most employees or candidates that apply have extensive experience with the Office suite. The change management was too extreme for us to consider Google.
Read Patrice Tanguay's full review

What is Microsoft 365 (formerly Office 365)?

Microsoft 365 (formerly Office 365) is more than just Word, Excel, PowerPoint, and Outlook. It provides business-class email, online storage, and teamwork solutions that users can access from anywhere.

The vendor says key benefits include:
  • Bring teams and resources together with solutions like Microsoft Teams and Skype for Business that make working together more productive and enjoyable regardless of where participants are located.
  • Easily implement security and privacy controls to help protect business data and devices against malicious threats and help you meet your compliance obligations.
  • Automatic updates ensure your employees will always have the latest features and security updates.
Categories:  Office Suites

Microsoft 365 (formerly Office 365) Competitors

Google Workspace (formerly G Suite), Microsoft 365, Office Perpetual

Microsoft 365 (formerly Office 365) Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Individual$5.84*Per Month
Business Basic$5.00Per User Per Month
Business Standard$12.50Per User Per Month
Business Premium$20.00Per User Per Month
Business - Apps$8.25Per User Per Month
Enterprise - E3$32.00Per User Per Month
Enterprise - E5$57.00Per User Per Month
Enterprise - F3$10.00Per User Per Month

*When billed annually.

Microsoft 365 (formerly Office 365) Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Microsoft 365 (formerly Office 365)?

Microsoft 365 (formerly Office 365) is a Microsoft Cloud subscription service that includes Microsoft Office products (Word, Excel, PowerPoint, OneNote, Outlook, Publisher, and Access). The software can be installed across multiple devices and ensures that users always have the most up-to-date version of the included Office applications.

What is Microsoft 365 (formerly Office 365)'s best feature?

Reviewers rate Usability highest, with a score of 9.5.

Who uses Microsoft 365 (formerly Office 365)?

The most common users of Microsoft 365 (formerly Office 365) are from Mid-size Companies and the Information Technology & Services industry.