TrustRadius
Microsoft Access is a database management system from Microsoft that combines the relational Microsoft Jet Database Engine with a graphical user interface and software-development tools.The best friend of people who are not IT professionals, but suddenly need a relational database to be mastered, designed and implemented by yesterday!I utilize Access databases frequently, ignoring 'weird looks' given to me by IT professionals who consider anything less than Oracle not a true database, but some sort of a 'toy'. However, Access fits the bill perfectly in some cases. Back in 1996, I had to resolve a problem very quickly, by creating a 'tool' to keep track of problems encounters by buyers from the procurement department in ordering certain parts, like parts for old designs and currently unavailable due to obsolescence, or parts having an unacceptable long lead time. The need was for a relatively simple and small database, allowing recording of such problems, recording of the progress made by the Component Engineering department in finding a solution and the recording of the solution itself, when one was found. I selected Microsoft Access as a platform, since it appeared relatively simple compared to more powerful databases, and my proficiency in other members of the Office suite making the learning curve shorter. And it worked very well. The implementation took only three weeks and the results were very much appreciated by its users. I believe this database it is still in use.,An Access database can be designed and put to use rather fast, in order to answer an immediate need, even if the design must be done by someone with no previous exposure to Access. It can be modified/improved later on, without much impact on the users. A relatively simple Access database does not require knowledge of any programming language. It can be implemented by using 'macros', which are of a 'point-and-click' type. If a more complex application is required, Access is fully compatible with Visual Basic for Applications language, which is a object-oriented, even-driven programming language, designed by Microsoft specifically for utilization by all modules belonging to the Office suite. Since the commonality of VBA across Office, Access databases can be made to interface with other Office applications, and in particular with Excel. Access is easy to master, cheap, and allows easily the construction of aesthetically pleasing interfaces with the user, while remaining quite powerful. Due to these reasons, it yields itself to be sometimes used for the design of non-database applications, but specialized calculators.,It cannot accommodate as many records or as many concurrent users an Oracle or similar database can. It is not as reliable as a database of 'industrial strength' is. It does not work fast, particularly when when large amount of code was used for its design or when a relatively many users attempt to utilize it simultaneously.,6,On my first experience with Microsoft Access, the database I created answered a very specific and urgent need: support to Purchasing Agents (Buyers) which often encountered difficulties in procuring certain parts, due to obsolescence. Since these parts were required in order to complete contracts signed with various clients, a lack of solutions meant inability to deliver goods, therefore loss of revenue. So, the impact of the database which I successfully designed and implemented was highly positive. An attempt initiated by me in order to prevent obsolescence by taking a proactive approach, as opposed to a reactive one, went not so good. My idea was approved and I designed and implemented the Access database required by my approach. However, no further progress was made, since beside the database, additional manpower was required on a daily basis. Since no funds to support this daily activity could be found, the project was abandoned. Therefore, it should be considered as having a negative impact, since my time spent in designing the database was a loss. A mini-project was fun, successful and highly appreciated by users. A certain department needed identifiers for reports written in Word, according to a certain scheme, involving date and serial number of the memo in that specific year. I was requested to design an Access application which will keep track of the identifiers, open programmatically every new memo submitted to me, generate and insert a new identifier as per the rule, save the Word document and return it to the originator. Here, the impact on the company measured against my time spent on the project was positive. The implementation in Access of a specialized calculator, designed to verify the match between the size of certain components, as recorded in my company's documentation, and the sizes indicated in the datasheets provided by actual manufacturers of the parts worked very well. I will consider it as having a positive impact. Again, it worked well and users were very satisfied. To conclude, I would say that the utilization of Microsoft Access was beneficial to my company at the time, as long as requirements were well defined and funding was provided adequately. I would add that most of the benefit was achieved when Access was used on 'small caliber' taskings, and not so successful when more ambitious results were anticipated.,,Microsoft Office 365, Microsoft Project, Adobe Acrobat DC, Adobe Photoshop,23,2,PPIR,Not Sure,7,No,5,Chronologically, the first integration was between ACCESS and WORD. My efforts in developing an ACCESS database as a tool used by Component Engineering were well known to my superior, which was also in charge of the Material and Processes department. This department needed some automation for the generation of memorandums, issued in WORD. I integrated ACCESS and EXCEL several times on different projects, since they blend very well together. ACCESS is a very efficient tool for the rapid construction of aesthetically pleasing 'screens' (or forms, as they are called by ACCESS itself), while EXCEL is very good for mathematical calculations. I integrated ACCESS with OFFICE itself several times, with ACCESS being the 'main engine', while OFFICE providing a folder/sub-folder repository for various items, such as engineering drawing or component specifications, stored as ADOBE files (.pdf).,8Microsoft Access Positive AspectsMicrosoft Access is being used only by a department of the company, which is responsible for working with the information databases. It has not presented problems,Ability to manage all information Tables to store data Consult to search and retrieve only the data you need Forms to view, add and update or analyze the internet data,Volume of data or users Among its biggest drawbacks are that it is not multiplatform,10,The access databases work very well with many of the programs for Windows-based software development. You can also use your tables in products such as Microsoft SQL Server and in others not based on Microsoft such as Oracle and Sybase. Easy to install and use: To create access databases, just install Microsoft Access and this is something that any database administrator can do in just a few minutes, leaving a fully functional relational database management system. Like many other Microsoft applications, Access contains wizards that guide you through every step of the way. The user interface is intuitive, speeding up data recovery. It can be placed online: Although it still has limitations on the number of users with simultaneous connection, when there is a need for remote users, it can give full control and functionality to an access database so that teleworking can become a viable option for database administrators.,Tableau Public,Tableau Public, Microsoft 365 Business, Google Drive,50,10,Use Access forms with Excel data. Reason Filtering, sorting and queries in Access are similar to Excel. 3. Perform a mail merge or create labels Perform a mail merge or create labels,Anticipate that many users will work in the database and want robust options that securely handle data updates, such as record locking and conflict resolution. Anticipate the need to add more tables to a data set that originated as a flat or non-relational table. Want to execute complex queries. Want to create different reports or postal labels.,Create a database using a template Create a database without using a template Copy the data from another source into an Access table,10Access for Everyone!Microsoft Access is being used to run a wide variety of reports for both operations and accounting. There are numerous queries that have been set to help managers get data up to production and plant efficiency. It helps managers quickly analyze performance on the numerous jobs that are going on at one time.,Since Microsoft Access is a Microsoft product it is easy to use and relay data to and from Excel. With the tools inside Microsoft Access, you can quickly establish the relationships between tables. It is easy to view the relationships between tables. It is a robust tool that can handle large amounts of data without having to spend additional money on other reporting tools.,I would like to have within Microsoft Access a way to build dashboards without having to pull data into another program such as Excel. I would like to see Microsoft Access with more filtering/shading tools to differentiate data. It would be nice if it was a little easier to build report formats. Sometimes it is challenging getting boxes to line up and make the report better aesthetically.,10,Microsoft Access has had tremendous ROI because of the amount of data it can translate at minimal cost. Access has helped streamline operation reporting since it has much more flexibility with large datasets when compared to Excel. Using Microsoft Access has made the operation/accounting reporting more meaningful and helped cut down on time to prepare reports.,Apache OpenOffice, Airtable and Zoho Creator,Microsoft Dynamics NAV, OneDrive, Infor ERPEffective tool for a busy officeWe have multiple databases within the department. One of them has images that are stored with the data. When working on database management Microsoft Access is the easiest to use and sort out the information for clean-up and export for reporting. If you don't have a lot of time for database management Access makes it faster and easier than Filemaker, or several other interfaces. I like it as much or more so than Excel for larger database information and reporting. The downside is that people are intimidated by the program. I am the primary person using Access in my department.,Sorting for particular information. Exporting to Excel to create reports. Storing multiple types of data and media within a singular record.,Formatting could be better. If you are having any amount of data that is inconsistent it causes breaks in the system, sometimes. The interface makes people think they are using excel, and so do miss out some of the features.,10,Very cost effective tool/program. Training is easy to find for all types of learners. Interfaces with other programs effectively.Microsoft Access is an excellent and easy database tool for information management.Microsoft Access is used throughout the organization for the capture, management, and communication of data in a professional manner and for the administration of databases considering that it provides a series of easily accessible work tools that staff can quickly understand their tools and in this way, implement them in the tasks related to the process of organization of information in databases. The problems solved are basically based on the organization of information, and standardization of information for the analysis of data necessary for decision making to facilitate the growth and development of the company.,Facilitate the integration of databases provided by Windows-based development programs. It is compatible with widely used programs that are not necessarily from Microsoft such as Oracle and Sybase. You have the possibility of placing the information processed in the databases online. It is one of the programs that work with the most popular databases in the world, therefore, it does not require expenses in training activities or the hiring of very specialized personnel, thus being a saving for the company.,Microsoft Access should seek the option to increase its capacity to greater than 2GB so all the company can use it without a problem, currently, it's used by small and medium enterprises. I think they can expand the option of expanding the capacity of users allowed for large organizations to use. Microsoft Access is not the best database tool for immediate use but for long-term work. Among the tools that may hinder its use are that Access has a relatively low design compared to other programs. It is difficult to customize and adapt to the controls and forms at the beginning.,7,The impact has been positive because with the use of Microsoft Access it has been possible to optimize a series of processes that have favored in general line the work of the company. The systematization of the information in Access databases has prevented duplication of information, therefore, we have had the possibility of planning with real results and not assumptions of results that gave us tools such as Excel. The consolidation of the information provides us with data for the analysis of results, consequently, to identify the problems that we later wish to correct, and in this way, to avoid the loss of time and expenses of more personnel. The grouping of data in an organized manner allowed the company to design a set of real strategies aimed at improving the profitability of the company. to date, the results have been positive because since access was implemented, the profit of the company has improved.,LotusJump, Google Analytics and Microsoft BI,Google Data Studio, Microsoft Dynamics GP
Unspecified
Microsoft Access
517 Ratings
Score 7.4 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Microsoft Access Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Microsoft Access
517 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.4 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 517 vetted Microsoft Access reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 70)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Fred Abraham, P.Eng profile photo
December 20, 2018

Microsoft Access Review: "The best friend of people who are not IT professionals, but suddenly need a relational database to be mastered, designed and implemented by yesterday!"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source



I utilize Access databases frequently,
ignoring 'weird looks' given to me by IT professionals who consider anything
less than Oracle not a true database, but some sort of a 'toy'. However, Access
fits the bill perfectly in some cases. Back in 1996, I had to resolve a problem
very quickly, by creating a 'tool' to keep track of problems encounters by
buyers from the procurement department in ordering certain parts, like parts
for old designs and currently unavailable due to obsolescence, or parts having
an unacceptable long lead time. The need was for a relatively simple and small
database, allowing recording of such problems, recording of the progress made
by the Component Engineering department in finding a solution and the recording
of the solution itself, when one was found. I selected Microsoft Access as a
platform, since it appeared relatively simple compared to more powerful
databases, and my proficiency in other members of the Office suite making the
learning curve shorter. And it worked very well. The implementation took only
three weeks and the results were very much appreciated by its users. I believe
this database it is still in use.



  • An Access database can be designed and put to use rather fast, in order to answer an immediate need, even if the design must be done by someone with no previous exposure to Access. It can be modified/improved later on, without much impact on the users.
  • A relatively simple Access database does not require knowledge of any programming language. It can be implemented by using 'macros', which are of a 'point-and-click' type.
  • If a more complex application is required, Access is fully compatible with Visual Basic for Applications language, which is a object-oriented, even-driven programming language, designed by Microsoft specifically for utilization by all modules belonging to the Office suite.
  • Since the commonality of VBA across Office, Access databases can be made to interface with other Office applications, and in particular with Excel.
  • Access is easy to master, cheap, and allows easily the construction of aesthetically pleasing interfaces with the user, while remaining quite powerful. Due to these reasons, it yields itself to be sometimes used for the design of non-database applications, but specialized calculators.
  • It cannot accommodate as many records or as many concurrent users an Oracle or similar database can.
  • It is not as reliable as a database of 'industrial strength' is.
  • It does not work fast, particularly when when large amount of code was used for its design or when a relatively many users attempt to utilize it simultaneously.

Microsoft Access is very suitable whenever the objective of the project is a database where:
1. The timeframe of the project must be short and the start of the project must be immediate.
2. Specialised personnel from IT department is not available, due to their own prioritization scheme.
3. The designer tasked with the design, implementation and deployment of the database, is a technically-oriented person in general, but having no previous knowledge of Access in particular.
4. The size of the envisaged database is relatively small, both in the number of records to be stored in it, as well in the number of concurrent users.
Microsoft Access is not suitable when:
1. The requirements are for an 'Enterprise' type of database, expected to acummulate over time a very large number of records (large manufacturing company, storing many parts numbers over the years).
2. The database is expected to be access by a very large number of users concurrently (e.g., a bank, accessed by numerous customers simultaneously).
3. The time taken by the execution for each transaction must be as small as possible.
4. The database must be of 'industrial strength', meaning very reliable, with no crushes and no corrupted records.

Read Fred Abraham, P.Eng's full review
Thairy Ollarves profile photo
January 22, 2019

User Review: "Microsoft Access Positive Aspects"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Access is being used only by a department of the company, which is responsible for working with the information databases. It has not presented problems
  • Ability to manage all information
  • Tables to store data
  • Consult to search and retrieve only the data you need
  • Forms to view, add and update or analyze the internet data
  • Volume of data or users
  • Among its biggest drawbacks are that it is not multiplatform
Access is graphical, so it takes full advantage of the graphical power of Windows, offering usual methods of access to data and provides simple and direct methods of working with information. It also facilitates the administration of data, since its possibilities of consultation and connection help you to quickly find the desired information, whatever its format or storage location. If you want a more robust database, for larger environments, although a little more complicated you can use MYSQL. It's free if it is for internal or personal systems, and with a small payment you can distribute it.
Read Thairy Ollarves's full review
Lukas Sundahl, MBA profile photo
January 07, 2019

Microsoft Access Review: "Access for Everyone!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Access is being used to run a wide variety of reports for both operations and accounting. There are numerous queries that have been set to help managers get data up to production and plant efficiency. It helps managers quickly analyze performance on the numerous jobs that are going on at one time.
  • Since Microsoft Access is a Microsoft product it is easy to use and relay data to and from Excel.
  • With the tools inside Microsoft Access, you can quickly establish the relationships between tables. It is easy to view the relationships between tables.
  • It is a robust tool that can handle large amounts of data without having to spend additional money on other reporting tools.
  • I would like to have within Microsoft Access a way to build dashboards without having to pull data into another program such as Excel.
  • I would like to see Microsoft Access with more filtering/shading tools to differentiate data.
  • It would be nice if it was a little easier to build report formats. Sometimes it is challenging getting boxes to line up and make the report better aesthetically.
It is well suited to build queries to pull meaningful data from various tables. It is very useful that you can visually build the relationships between tables. Access allows you to quickly copy existing queries and then modify them to get different views from the same data.
Read Lukas Sundahl, MBA's full review
Katie Savacool profile photo
January 02, 2019

Microsoft Access Review: "Effective tool for a busy office"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have multiple databases within the department. One of them has images that are stored with the data. When working on database management Microsoft Access is the easiest to use and sort out the information for clean-up and export for reporting. If you don't have a lot of time for database management Access makes it faster and easier than Filemaker, or several other interfaces. I like it as much or more so than Excel for larger database information and reporting.

The downside is that people are intimidated by the program.

I am the primary person using Access in my department.
  • Sorting for particular information.
  • Exporting to Excel to create reports.
  • Storing multiple types of data and media within a singular record.
  • Formatting could be better.
  • If you are having any amount of data that is inconsistent it causes breaks in the system, sometimes.
  • The interface makes people think they are using excel, and so do miss out some of the features.
Well suited for:

  • A database that contains multiple forms of media.
  • Easier to use for large amounts of data.
  • Pulling reports into other programs is fairly easy.
Read Katie Savacool's full review
Andres Meza profile photo
October 19, 2018

Review: "Microsoft Access is an excellent and easy database tool for information management."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Access is used throughout the organization for the capture, management, and communication of data in a professional manner and for the administration of databases considering that it provides a series of easily accessible work tools that staff can quickly understand their tools and in this way, implement them in the tasks related to the process of organization of information in databases. The problems solved are basically based on the organization of information, and standardization of information for the analysis of data necessary for decision making to facilitate the growth and development of the company.
  • Facilitate the integration of databases provided by Windows-based development programs.
  • It is compatible with widely used programs that are not necessarily from Microsoft such as Oracle and Sybase.
  • You have the possibility of placing the information processed in the databases online.
  • It is one of the programs that work with the most popular databases in the world, therefore, it does not require expenses in training activities or the hiring of very specialized personnel, thus being a saving for the company.
  • Microsoft Access should seek the option to increase its capacity to greater than 2GB so all the company can use it without a problem, currently, it's used by small and medium enterprises.
  • I think they can expand the option of expanding the capacity of users allowed for large organizations to use.
  • Microsoft Access is not the best database tool for immediate use but for long-term work.
  • Among the tools that may hinder its use are that Access has a relatively low design compared to other programs. It is difficult to customize and adapt to the controls and forms at the beginning.
  • Microsoft Access adapts well in departments where databases do not have much content, or where you do not have to perform complex programming or require working with many variables.
  • Microsoft Access does not adapt well in organizations that require the management of large information content or where many variables must be included, or large companies that require the continuous management of results.
Read Andres Meza's full review
Anthony Macadino profile photo
October 10, 2018

"Microsoft Access review"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is the back end of an ERP system that we are using at our company. The ERP system keeps track of our inventory, sales orders, production, and invoices.
  • It is relatively easy to use. It behaves much like Microsoft Excel.
  • It is very powerful in that it has a lot of capability.
  • The user interface has not been updated in 10 years, when I used it for the first time. Given other products the user interface is awkward. It feels like you need to make many mouse clicks to perform tasks.
  • Setting up forms for the screen and for printing is hard to set up.
It is not well suited for people who are not computer savvy.
Read Anthony Macadino's full review
No photo available
November 19, 2018

Review: "Microsoft Access: Empowering the Masses"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Access is a vital tool for people in our organization who have programming needs but do not have the background, the software, or the workstation security settings to use more complex tools such as VB.NET. It is used across the organization by employees such as me, maybe who have had programming experience in the past.

Access is great for a quick fix to a problem that is not too complicated, or for brainstorming and prototyping possible solutions for those problems.
  • Microsoft Access is great at cranking out quick solutions for simple programming problems
  • Once Access has been learned, the same concepts are readily transferable to create more complex VBA macros in Excel, Word, and other Microsoft Office products.
  • It is easy to integrate with most other Windows-based back-end databases such as SQL and Oracle.
  • It can be placed on websites to allow remote users to access the data
  • Sharing an Access database with users of mixed Windows operating systems can lead to data integrity problems.
  • Security is only basic, so for sensitive data, a more robust back-end should be implemented.
  • Files can grow to an ungainly size, so periodic database compaction is necessary. The larger the files grow, naturally performance suffers.
Microsoft Access is great for integrating with .NET for both stand-alone and web-based solutions. Since it is so widely-used, it is fairly easy to find people in your existing work pool who can use it, and also easier to find new applicants who can hit the ground running with this technology. It is terrific for small businesses or small departments within larger organizations who want to be in control of their own simple projects and prototyping. It is well-suited for environments where security is locked down but employees still need to accomplish simple programming tasks.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 01, 2019

Review: "Microsoft Access - good for small scaled data"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by the whole organization for:
  • Database of customers.
  • Contact information.
  • Products and services purchases.
  • Other detailed information.
  • Marketing lists.
  • Run queries. Prepare reports.
  • Analyze and quantify data.
  • De-duplicate contacts.
  • Slow when large amounts of data are being queried.
  • The dashboard could be better styled.
  • Not user-friendly. Training needed.
Good for simpler databases and tasks. For very large databases, I'm sure a SQL solution would be better.

Not good across multiple platforms. If other users have inconsistent data then there could be a problem integrating.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 15, 2019

User Review: "Microsoft Access: The Real World"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Access is being used as a personal database in a couple of departments in our organization. It is being used to import data from other data sources in our organization. We are able to use data in an excel spreadsheet as well as text files. It has addressed the problem of being able to report on data without having to use a real business intelligence solution.
  • Cross tab reports. Allows a different look at the data.
  • Joins. Allows left, right as well as inner and outer joins.
  • Simple reports. Having the capability to run simple reports.
  • Graphical look. Having a more graphical user-friendly interface.
  • Ad-hoc reporting. It is a stretch but is would be nice.
  • Cross platform connections
It is well suited for my purpose because we really don't have a real developer solution. The ability to run simple import, exports and reports gives us the feel of ad-hoc reporting. I have not used it on a larger scale for database analytics so I do not know if it would work as well.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 29, 2018

Review: "Microsoft Access - opinions from a new user."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Microsoft Access as a database to keep contacts organized. It is being used only by me to address the many different sales and physician contacts I make on a regular basis.
  • User friendly - it doesn't take much work to begin using Microsoft Access
  • Keeps track of my contacts - If I need to quickly find a contact, it saves the information without having to be prompted every time. I always hit 'save' at the end of the day just to be sure, but I have never lost any information I have entered.
  • Easy to access - I can access on my desktop at work or on an app on my phone.
  • Rudimentary - it's a pretty basic software, which means when you open it up for the first time there doesn't seem to be a lot offered from the start, but once you decide your application for use, and implement it, it is pretty dependable.
  • Saving confusion - I was confused in the beginning about how to save information that I had just entered into the system. There is nothing that indicates that what you have entered in the database would be saved, but I have never lost information once it has been entered.
Access is a great tool for organizing contacts. It would work great for a marketing situation, or just to keep track of contacts you deal with on a regular basis. It would be great if you could add a picture of a business card or something as well, but I have not explored enough to see if that is an option.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 16, 2018

Microsoft Access Review: "The Easy Way To Manage Your Data."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I've been using Access for managing Receivables and Payables account databases where as it is being used by my organization for managing databases of almost all kinds as well as for generating reports (monthly and annual) to provide insight regarding the workings and operations.
  • Find and analyze needed data and information at ease.
  • Integrates with MS Office.
  • Helps in database management by organising data into simplified forms made from basic templates.
  • Limited storage capacity.
  • Requires the user to know VBA when using it for object-oriented programming.
  • Often crashes and ends up corrupting the whole database.
It is really well suited for small and medium enterprises as it is simple, user friendly and manages data in an efficient and effective way.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 28, 2018

Microsoft Access Review: "MS Access - Accessible to the Masses"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MS Access is used as a data export repository for our manufacturing software, Camstar MES. When I am required to analyze process values, specific lot data, or make an assessment on the efficiency of our process flow, I create an export into Access to capture a snapshot of the data and I am able to filter the results into meaningful reports.
  • User Friendly
  • Low Cost
  • Compatible with other software
  • Basic
  • One-size fits all
  • Not an enterprise tool
MS Access is great for analyzing and creating personal databases for individual contributors. I don't think Access is valuable to high level employees that prefer that their data is automatically sorted and summarized. I wouldn't recommend this tool for large corporations, either, since it may not save time/money versus a better applied tool. This tool is best suited for small business and/or individuals.
Read this authenticated review
Angad Singh profile photo
August 17, 2018

User Review: "Microsoft Access Summary"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Access is used as a tool to fulfill the role of a back-end relational database when one is needed. Access is available enterprise-wide as it is available in the Microsoft Office bundle, but it is used more heavily by the data and analytics departments. We use it for things such as accounting systems, customer transaction tracking, and high volume data processing. Access serves as a more powerful database than Microsoft Excel or traditional client-server based databases and has capabilities for migration that make it useful.
  • Access has a simple user interface and is intuitive enough for more people to use without much confusion. While this may seem to imply that it has fewer functionalities than other software, that is not true.
  • Good performance for small personal applications. For example, when reporting about a small company, its performance is great.
  • Access is a popular program which means more people have knowledge of it and it is included on the expectation of most people hired for data positions.
  • Access has slow performance when dealing with tens and hundreds of thousands of records. As an enterprise we have millions of customers and assets and Access doesn't seem to be equipped to handle such volumes.
  • Access is not really ideal for bigger companies because of limited space and allowed number of users
Microsoft Access is well suited for small data sets with a single user. As the size of data and users increase, it becomes less suitable. I would recommend for small to medium sized businesses.
Read Angad Singh's full review
Ryan Husbands, MBA, CPA profile photo
April 18, 2018

User Review: "Microsoft Access in a nutshell"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Use of Microsoft Access is pretty much restricted to the Finance Department of my organization. We use it as a database that both stores information, and also transmits selected data on a daily basis to related peripheral systems. It is not used very often throughout the day, nevertheless it's role is integral to operations.
  • Microsoft Access is fast performing software, which is always a plus. I also appreciate that it connects seamlessly to Microsoft software, among other products. It is easy to troubleshoot just by googling solutions.
  • Critics might say that the software is simple when compared to similar other products, but I would argue that the simplicity of Access is an advantage. It is easy to learn and it rarely malfunctions, even when communicating with other systems.
  • Microsoft Access does have its limits in terms of performance. Our use for it does not mean we've reached this point yet, but we are a relatively small organization. For a larger company, I'm not sure how well Access would suit the needs of high data usage, or multiple users in the tens or hundreds.
  • The front end interface could be viewed as fairly simplistic (it's not the newest software out there in this category as far as I know). I don't necessarily mind this fact, but I could see it being viewed as a negative in certain situations.
It's easy to integrate into existing operations. Because it's a Microsoft product, many users can learn it quite quickly, something which saves on hidden training fees. Our IT department never seems to have a problem dealing with glitches, not that we really ever have any with this software. I know that price wise, it's very competitive for smaller organizations.
Read Ryan Husbands, MBA, CPA's full review
Jennifer Lamas profile photo
May 21, 2018

Microsoft Access Review: "Access to organize the data"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Access is used in the company as a database to manage the information we use, and any of our consultants can refer to tables, queries, forms, and reports simultaneously. It has a user-friendly interface and we can migrate the data from Excel to Access. You can create an Access table and show it in the Data Sheet view (which looks like an Excel spreadsheet).
  • You can make many Tables to store data
  • Forms to view, add and update the data in the tables
  • You can store the data once in a table and view it from several places
  • I can consult for and recover the data that only I need
  • Access works with Visual Basic so that applications can offer greater functionality
  • Has a great competence of databases
  • Has very little capacity, should expand more
  • If your database needs to be protected by extensive database security protocols, then Access may not be the best option
  • It limits the options to choose and use the data since all the information in your database is saved in a single file
  • Has a limit of users, which does not work very well or for large companies
Microsoft Access database is perfectly adapted for small or medium companies that have disorderly information and want to have it organized in an easy and fast way at your fingertips. It is very easy to install and use for any database administrator. It can be done in just a few minutes, leaving the database management system fully functional, although it still has limitations on the number of users with simultaneous connection. When there is a need for remote users, it can give you full control and functionality to Access so that teleworking can become a viable option for database administrators. It helps save you money and makes it very easy to import data.
Read Jennifer Lamas's full review
Kyle Moninger profile photo
April 26, 2018

Microsoft Access Review: "Good Value for the Price"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Microsoft Access as an individual user for my own organizational needs within the workplace, not as a company. The database requirements I need (organizing student data, class assignments, etc) can be easily handled by Access. I used to use this database set up in a large Excel spreadsheet, but I eventually grew out of that and Excel couldn't handle the amount of data I was processing. Access was the next step up.
  • Easy to use as an "intro level" database tool
  • Intuitive design
  • Familiarity if users are current Excel or Word users
  • Updated interface
  • More connection options (both live and static)
  • Potentially higher processing power
I think it is perfect for a small-scope project or database. It is easy to get started with and will feel familiar if users are regular Excel and Word users. Therefore the learning-curve will be very small. However, if you think your project will be growing, you may soon outgrow Microsoft Access and need a bigger, higher-powered database management system.
Read Kyle Moninger's full review
Greg Goss profile photo
April 06, 2018

Microsoft Access Review: "Solid software for smaller, non-critical data sets"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our users use Access to create forms that view and manipulate the smaller sets of data we keep. For example, rather than purchasing a full-fledged lab/test system, they created their own using Access. Other operations departments create the same types of content. There are many Access apps being used throughout our organization but they generally do not contain critical data.
  • The interface is simple enough where entry-level users can build a way to consume the data they need without much effort or training. Advanced users can create fairly robust apps for their teams to use.
  • The wizards are particularly easy for users to begin consuming data. In most cases, I don't have to get involved in developing Access applications unless they want specific data from one of our SQL databases that needs to be exposed.
  • In addition to being self contained data stores, Access has the ability to read external data as well. In many cases, all I have to do is write a view in one of our SQL databases and users can get the data they need without me having to constantly write sql queries or design reports for them.
  • Being that I also manage terabytes of actual SQL databases, I find that Access isn't great and accessing large amounts of data. Sometimes users ask for data sets that Access just doesn't deal with very well. I run in to performance issues and sometimes corruption issues with large data sets and complex apps.
  • This one isn't really the fault of Access, but it's something to consider from an IT standpoint...as a DBA, I'm by default, spoken and unspoken, I'm expected to be responsible for the safety of all the data in our organization. That includes these Access apps that are so easy for users to create and then neglect to place in a location that gets backed up. I have been chastised for not being able to protect data that I didn't know existed. So if you have data that is critical to the business, even if it's a small but volatile data set, then you might want to consider a full-fledged database solution.
  • It lacks the security features of more advanced database systems. Again, not a direct fault with Access, but users tend to feel they can put whatever data they want in these Access apps and don't pay attention to the fact that they could potentially expose data that doesn't need to be exposed.
Access is well suited to small, non-critical data sets. For large and for data that the business couldn't do without, I would highly recommend spending the money on an enterprise class solution. Access is good for a single-user scenario, but is not very good as a shared app. There is more risk of corruption maintaining a shared-app due to potential version differences,etc. If you're short on development resources, this is a good way for users to build something quickly without having to wait for IT to buy or build something. So, Access is good at filling immediate/intermediate needs. For long term solutions, I'd prefer an enterprise class product.
Read Greg Goss's full review
Nicole Kuhn profile photo
March 20, 2018

Microsoft Access Review: "Access is good if you use it for its strengths"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Microsoft Access to do analytics on SAS datasets or smaller datasets that we would prefer to not use pivot tables or its too much volume. Usually volume is what drives us to use Access, for the volume that we need Access works just fine. A feature that we have realized is very useful within Access is sharing data across teams. The ability to export a dataset and have another team import that dataset with such ease is very useful.
  • Sharing datasets across teams or individuals. When we have a scenario where storing a dataset in an actual centralized database is not practical its great to be able to quickly just put a dataset out on a shared drive that anyone on the team can pull in.
  • Access is a great stepping stone for someone that is just getting involved in datasets and does not have the resources to create centralized databases
  • The ability to import pretty much any file into an access dataset
  • The user interface is a little bit cumbersome
  • Volume within an access dataset can be a problem if you get too large and exporting the data can take a lot of time
  • This tool is for quick fast creation and manipulation of data this is not for larger datasets.
If you realize what Access is and not try and overpower the product it can be very useful. This is a great tool to quickly import an Excel file, do a large set of grouping or data manipulation that would be to large for Excel and then export and share the data to other team members for reference is useful. We use this product as reference data stores also.
Read Nicole Kuhn's full review
Nikkii Kashub profile photo
March 18, 2018

Microsoft Access Review: "Assessing Access"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Microsoft Access to keep track of clients and prospects who were interested in participating in our boot camp. It helped us manage contact information, if they had filled out the necessary paperwork, how many session each person had participated in, emergency contact information, any health concerns a client wanted us to be aware of, starting measurements, etc.
  • It is highly customizable, so if you have access to someone who understands how to build the system you can do so many things with it.
  • It can be intimidating and difficult to learn. Not for someone who is impatient or not technical.
  • I wish Microsoft Access had better support resources. I always felt like I was on my own when I had to resolve issues.
  • It's very easy for user errors to throw everything off.
Microsoft Access isn't built for any one specific industry. This is a blessing and a curse. It's great because you can make it into something specific for your needs, but that's a challenge because you also need to reinvent the wheel. If there is a database that is specific to your industry, it's better to go with that option over Microsoft Access. If you have time to play around to build a home grown solution, and you plan to help that business use that home grown solution for a long time, Microsoft Access could be a good band-aid solution.
Read Nikkii Kashub's full review
Emily Sullivan profile photo
February 28, 2018

Microsoft Access Review: "perfect crosses"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Access across the whole organization for all of our program data. Our program data includes referrals from our 160+ partners throughout the entire state. It also includes evaluation data from all of our programs and events.
  • MS Access provides perfect and flexible solution for small/medium organization.
  • It is very easy to implement.
  • It is easy to use. Coding skill is not required. However, it does provide the capacity for advanced features if you can code.
  • Please make saved imports editable.
  • More form layout templates please.
  • Please be more specific with error message.
It is perfect for small/medium size organization who need standalone database. It is cost effective. Doesn't require professional implementation.

It is not ideal to support multi-users applications.

Read Emily Sullivan's full review
Julio A Rivas profile photo
March 16, 2018

Microsoft Access Review: "Flexible programming to solve database issues"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use microsoft access as a base software that allows us to create a database of construction materials, employee costs and probable profits, all in a suitable package in the cost department of the organization, and delivers our budgets to our clients on our proposals. The business we are in is civil engineering related, I mean construction, inspection and project development; this is every day job for us.
  • Create a database
  • Actualize the database
  • Create entry forms
  • Create output forms
  • It only works with computers
  • Sometimes it has some troubles of code validation
  • The steps of programming are really small
Well suited for the creation of a database and for a small company for budgets proposal. On the other hand, when you try to give some independence to the database that works for itself, Access is less appropriate
Read Julio A Rivas's full review
No photo available
July 22, 2018

Microsoft Access Review: "MS Access Easy to Use"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use MS Access for databases such as company-wide skill sets and certifications that we then link to our internal social media platform (Jive), in order to publicly display this information company-wide so that if a person is looking for someone with a particular skill set, they are easily able to identify who might have it.
  • Databases
  • Communication with CRM
  • Communication with Jive
  • Ease of use
  • Platform is dated
  • Could use a refresh
  • Better help with coding
MS Access is very well suited for a situation where you have a bunch of information that you might want to get out to your internal staff. We use a living database that automatically populates to an internally public facing website that the whole company can see and use with ease.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 02, 2018

User Review: "Microsoft Access"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently we use Access in our IT department to manage our various hardware resources. I have used Access in the past to implement a medium sized application for a Logistics company. Access is an excellent tool to both learn and implement database applications. I've often thought that after word processors and spreadsheets that database apps would be the app learned by the majority of computer users. That has not been the case for a variety of reasons, but if it were, Access would set the standard for easy relational database implementation.
  • The visual query builder is the best query tool I have ever used. I have not found a better implementation of a relational DB query builder.
  • Edit data almost like a a word document
  • The import tool is very good. Very good.
  • Compile access apps to EXE
  • I wish you could use some other language vesides VBA
  • I'm not sure if this is still true but if it is it's a real problem: The Jet engine did page locking which meant that in multi-user situations random records used by other users would be blocked. Very bad.
  1. Analyzing data
  2. Small database apps
  3. Learning Relational Database concepts
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 19, 2018

Review: "The wonderful product that is Microsoft Access"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My department uses Microsoft Access to help students understand the basics of database building, connections, etc. They will give assignments through the program that helps familiarize students to the program and how to look into and manipulate, build, and create queries, lists, and entities. They also use this in the department themselves to keep track of smaller things like student groups and the number of students within them. This program helps us address the problem of experience for students in the database side of understanding what their future job prospects might need experience in.
  • Ease of use.
  • Great teaching tool for experience purposes.
  • The query creation wizard is perfect for helping students understand the workings of queries.
  • This is usually the basic product of this type, there are more that allows for more flexibility and freedom.
  • Could be more powerful in its dynamics.
  • List building can be a pain for first time users.
It's a great teaching product and helps with experience in database building. This product is very useful in many aspects for teaching and understanding but can be less powerful than most of its other competitors. It also lacks the freedom and usefulness of other competitors as well. This is an all-around great starter product.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 21, 2018

Microsoft Access Review: "Access is suitable for small organizations"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use MS Access for small data warehousing. Our data came from multiple sources. Access is included in our software set and it's an alternative to bigger database software. The software is used through our data departments.
  • Data table preview, you can view the result data quickly for a relatively smaller result set.
  • Great compatibility with Excel, import tables/queries to excel flawlessly.
  • slow performance in a relatively large dataset.
  • old Microsoft syntax for SQL language. Some basic syntax needs to be learned to write SQL in access.
  • multiple users cannot work together at the same time in one database.
For an organization that has a small dataset and few analysts, Access is great. For larger dataset, Access might suffer from slow performance and lack of multiple user environment.
Read this authenticated review

About Microsoft Access

Microsoft Access is a database management system from Microsoft that combines the relational Microsoft Jet Database Engine with a graphical user interface and software-development tools.
Categories:  Relational Databases

Microsoft Access Competitors

Microsoft Access Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No