Microsoft Access Reviews

619 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 81)

Che Odom | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2020

Access is wonderfully affordable and customizable, just be prepared to do some training.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used departmentally for our sales and marketing team to track our client and project history in lieu of previously using Salesforce. The business need that it addresses is creating an accurate and inexpensive database for that team to track our historical projects and clients, and track current pursuits and sales.
  • It is inexpensive compared to other database options.
  • It is versatile. You can create databases in almost any category, area, market sector, and industry.
  • It lets you customize it, and you are able to create custom input forms and reports.
  • Well, it requires a lot more training or research than other more "intuitive" Microsoft products.
  • The buildout of custom reports is highly complex, and I think that area, in particular, could be more intuitive.
  • Queries can be difficult to develop if you don't know the right language or terminology, and I think that those terms could be better visible in the ribbon.
It is best used when you want a database to track historical data with a lot of inputs and relationships. A great example is tracking information on construction projects: you can input all the information that you have about a particular historical project, about pursuits that you are tracking, etc. (the same could be said for any sales area actually), then easily pull specific types of historical information for current proposals and pursuits. That is what I use it for.
Read Che Odom's full review
Thairy Ollarves | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 03, 2020

Microsoft Access Positive Aspects

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Access is being used only by a department of the company, which is responsible for working with the information databases. It has not presented problems.
The grouping of data in an organized way adapts to the company designed a set of real strategies aimed at improving the profitability of the company. To date, the results have been positive because since they agreed it was implemented, the company's profit has improved.
Microsoft Access adapts well in departments where databases do not have much content, or where we do not have to have completed programs or require working with many variables.
It is a program that has all the work tools required by the organization to function properly and fulfill the planned tasks.
  • Ability to manage all information
  • Tables to store data
  • Consult to search and retrieve only the data you need
  • Forms to view, add and update or analyze the internet data
  • Volume of data or users
  • Among its biggest drawbacks are that it is not multiplatform
Access is graphical, so it takes full advantage of the graphical power of Windows, offering usual methods of access to data and provides simple and direct methods of working with information. It also facilitates the administration of data, since its possibilities of consultation and connection help you to quickly find the desired information, whatever its format or storage location. If you want a more robust database, for larger environments, although a little more complicated you can use MYSQL. It's free if it is for internal or personal systems, and with a small payment you can distribute it.
Read Thairy Ollarves's full review
Daren Anderson, MSIS | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 16, 2020

Microsoft Access Views

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use it to quickly work with data and pull out required information for our customers. it is being used across the whole organization as well as with particular customers.
  • Easy to work with.
  • Easy to learn.
  • Easy to convert to SQL if the need arises.
  • Would be nice to be able to work with larger databases.
  • Certain features have changed over the years - sometimes hard to follow.
If you are working with a small company with 20 or less workstations, it would be an excellent way to share data; but if you get to be over the 30 user mark, then you need to look at something higher end like SQL. If you are a small operation and need to quickly parse some data or change it in some way, Access is the way to go.
Read Daren Anderson, MSIS's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 29, 2019

Microsoft Access - Excellent tool for RAD but due for a significant overhaul.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We get data from a lot of different sources for reporting purposes. MS Access helps us bring the data files into a proper relational table structure, link it and output it for reporting purposes. In other cases, it is used as our query and reporting tool linked with our data warehouse kept in SQL Server. In such cases, MS Access is used as a middle layer of data manipulation before pushing it to Excel for data visualisation.
  • Imports data from almost every common data format. Custom import specification allows more flexibility.
  • Excellent forms and report writer together query designer. Complete collection of tools in one place.
  • VBA allows complex manipulation of data and automating it to cut down repetitive work.
  • Data in MS Access can be linked directly with MS Excel, combing the powers of data management in MS Access and data visualisation in MS Excel.
  • Overall capacity, such as file size (currently 2GB max) and the number of fields allowed (currently 255) needs to be increased.
  • Needs significant enhancement to address file bloating issues.
  • It's an excellent RAD tool. Haven't been overhauled in the last 10 years or so. It's about time that Microsoft commit more resources to this brilliant product

MS Access is excellent for setting up a small scale database or to simply import data and run VBA script to automate data manipulation tasks. It's also an excellent tool to link with enterprise-level data warehouses usually kept in Oracle or MS SQL Server. In such cases MS Access simple acts as a frontend tool that can query data. You can create professional reports for publishing data.

MS Access tends to fall short while handling bigger datasets that have more than a few million records. The processing time, especially when run from a network drive can be very slow compared to running on your local machine. The file size in such cases is also a limitation. Although that limitation can be overcome using multiple backend data files it does require a bit of routine maintenance.

Read this authenticated review
Doreen Giles | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2019

MS Access: a hidden gem in database design

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Access is being used to organize data collected using Excel spreadsheets as well as through direct input using MS Access form features. I find the reporting feature of MS Access very useful in displaying the data in a professional and uniform way to communicate information and provide statistical data to colleagues including management, peers, and customers. I get the best performance when used in a client/server environment. I create input forms for users to easily input data and provide links to a dashboard to easily access reports and to run queries. Queries are excellent for filtering information and allowing the use of parameters to extract data. In addition, users can see real-time information because the information can be generated instantly.
  • Importing data from external sources such as MS Excel and creating tables for use in queries and reports.
  • Linking to external data sources so that users can use existing data entry tools and MS Access can pull that information to instantly query or generate reports.
  • Creating queries using wizards - allows even novice users to create desired results when running a query.
  • Reporting - made easy using the wizards and is easily edited using the built-in design tools.
  • Forms - creating dashboards to easily access different views of data including queries and reports.
  • Not as accurate with calculating numeric values using decimals - when dealing with financial data, it is not as accurate as MS Excel. I have to calculate in Excel and only use Access for generating the report.
  • When using wizards to design reports, it is difficult to remove some of the default properties easily.
  • I preferred the navigation panes in earlier versions of MS Access that had a straightforward view of tables, queries, etc. I find it difficult navigating to only see tables.
  • Access is very sluggish over a network and it gets bloated the more you open and close objects. It should have a way, or at least a setting , that automatically compacts to get rid of excess memory usage
  • Improve security to prevent data from being compromised. There should be a way to prevent users on the client-side from seeing the database objects and changing settings. Maybe prompt for a password or set the application to identify the owner/creator automatically.
More suited for a local area network. Performance degrades over a wide area network. It is very useful for quickly generating reports, designing specific queries and setting up different views. I would not recommend for use where you have a lot of users that need to touch the system. It is well suited if you want to use it as a tracking system or reporting system to maintain information such as inventory, contacts, daily reporting, etc. I am not as confident in its use for calculating complex numbers. Use Excel to do the calculating and then design your professional report linking to the Excel spreadsheet.
Read Doreen Giles's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 18, 2019

Robust, simple, and best of all, probably already there!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Access is used on a 1 by 1 basis, dependent upon the person, their department, and their work. Predominantly, the tool was used with Sales Ops or Marketing for territory analysis, sales insights, product penetration in new markets, and other market research use. We did not have a lot of "cool new" data tools to use because the organization was locked into enterprise-level agreements. Typically, Access came into play when the data needed for manipulation surpassed Excel's capabilities.
  • Intuitive tool for anyone comfortable within the Microsoft ecosystem.
  • Life saver when Excel kept crashing, but you'll need to understand databases first so beware.
  • Amazing tool within existing product suite at work, meaning no cumbersome management approvals needed to use!
  • This doesn't have to do with the core function, but I wish it felt better aesthetically to use. I saw a lot of people moving toward tools like Tableau simply because they looked cool even though the user essentially only used it for basic functionality that would be better serviced in Access.
  • Having in-app tutorials would be really nice, especially for further education and better use of the tool.
Great tool to use in a traditional organization where life is lived through the Microsoft ecosystem. It's a fast way to natively create depth in a platform such as Excel and set yourself up to glean better insights. Nice to not have to deal with API, custom build integrations, etc. It's just there. I love the tool, but if it weren't just there with each Microsoft Suite set-up, I'm not sure I wouldn't quickly switch to more cutting edge tools on the market today.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2019

I love Microsoft Access

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Access is used throughout the organization. Microsoft Access is ideal for the easy creation of databases that help with organization and efficiency.
  • Access is user-friendly.
  • The interface allows for creativity and Microsoft provides a range of templates that can be easily edited for a specific use.
  • There are many YouTube videos and resources available for use if you get stuck.
  • Access may not be ideal for larger databases.
Access is well suited for creating databases of agencies and programs offered by that agency. Access also has options to personalize reports and forms based on an organization's needs. I believe large amounts of data may not be well suited for another program with a larger capacity. Also, I'm not sure if the Access database can be published online for multiple users to use at the same time.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 18, 2019

An old RDBMS

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Access is used by one of my clients to manage a simple ticketing system. Each user who manages the practice tracks daily the motivations of the call, the current state of practice, and progress of this ticket passing between multiple and different states of analysis.
  • Management of data between related tables
  • Development of simple and essential masks
  • User side masks are easy to use
  • it is now an old-fashioned rdbms
  • a bit cumbersome to handle
  • limited functions
I sincerely do not recommend Access except to begin to take a minimum of confidence with an RDBMS. Since it's an old system, I would not develop it in business circles, but it is often present in companies that have started with this system and have not yet migrated to more complex systems.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 14, 2019

Dated Software, But Low Barrier to Entry and Easy to Manage

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Access is still used by many governmental organizations with historical databases, and as a result, when we consult with them, we occasionally need to turn in deliverables through Microsoft Access. The tool is somewhat dated, but it functions as a database and can create queries, forms, and reports. Clients often use Microsoft Access to store data on buildings, equipment, and other real estate infrastructure. For consulting projects, we occasionally create forms where data collectors can fill in the information they collected.

That data is then spun into bespoke reports for clients.
  • Well established software with a strong history.
  • Data tables are simple and functional.
  • Queries can be written in SQL or there is a query writing tool for users without SQL knowledge.
  • Dated software that does not get used very much anymore.
  • Cannot handle large amounts of data or "big" data.
  • Does not work on the cloud so collaboration is difficult.
Microsoft Access is suited for projects where the database is already established as Microsoft Access. It is useful for one-off, low-budget projects where a small database is useful and no one has the time or budget to build another database from scratch. For a small team who can access the file in a shared location, it is a possible solution.

However, there are many other database tools out there these days that are more efficient and user-friendly, and Microsoft Access is not used too commonly anymore.
Read this authenticated review
Scott Herring | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 23, 2019

Solid product for most average database users

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Microsoft Access as a front end to some of our databases that are in other formats and link the tables. This allows us to create queries and reports in a simple interface that many of our staff can use with some training and once the ODBC connections have been set up. There are times when we want to cross-reference data between different data sources, and Access allows us the ability to link/import multiple sources to achieve our analysis goals.

We also currently use Access throughout the workforce when there are specific departmental needs for collecting data.
  • Links to existing data sources
  • Allows for importing of data from different data sources
  • Lets you create queries and reports without having to know proprietary database syntax
  • For the average user, better assistance with table relations
  • Some sort of prompt when creating reports and queries that they should be based off of queries as to provide more flexibility rather than from tables
  • More advanced reporting tools
Microsoft Access is best suited as a front end to other databases as well as for small to medium databases where the user determines that they have gone beyond the design and function capabilities of Excel. Microsoft Access is less suited when there is a need for heavy database use and complex data queries. All in all, for the average Office user who needs a database program, Access is a solid choice.
Read Scott Herring's full review
Fred Abraham, P.Eng | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2018

The best friend of people who are not IT professionals, but suddenly need a relational database to be mastered, designed and implemented by yesterday!

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source



I utilize Access databases frequently, ignoring 'weird looks' given to me by IT professionals who consider anything less than Oracle not a true database, but some sort of a 'toy'. However, Access fits the bill perfectly in some cases. Back in 1996, I had to resolve a problem very quickly, by creating a 'tool' to keep track of problems encounters by buyers from the procurement department in ordering certain parts, like parts for old designs and currently unavailable due to obsolescence, or parts having an unacceptable long lead time. The need was for a relatively simple and small database, allowing recording of such problems, recording of the progress made by the Component Engineering department in finding a solution and the recording of the solution itself, when one was found. I selected Microsoft Access as a platform, since it appeared relatively simple compared to more powerful databases, and my proficiency in other members of the Office suite making the learning curve shorter. And it worked very well. The implementation took only three weeks and the results were very much appreciated by its users. I believe this database it is still in use.



  • An Access database can be designed and put to use rather fast, in order to answer an immediate need, even if the design must be done by someone with no previous exposure to Access. It can be modified/improved later on, without much impact on the users.
  • A relatively simple Access database does not require knowledge of any programming language. It can be implemented by using 'macros', which are of a 'point-and-click' type.
  • If a more complex application is required, Access is fully compatible with Visual Basic for Applications language, which is a object-oriented, even-driven programming language, designed by Microsoft specifically for utilization by all modules belonging to the Office suite.
  • Since the commonality of VBA across Office, Access databases can be made to interface with other Office applications, and in particular with Excel.
  • Access is easy to master, cheap, and allows easily the construction of aesthetically pleasing interfaces with the user, while remaining quite powerful. Due to these reasons, it yields itself to be sometimes used for the design of non-database applications, but specialized calculators.
  • It cannot accommodate as many records or as many concurrent users an Oracle or similar database can.
  • It is not as reliable as a database of 'industrial strength' is.
  • It does not work fast, particularly when when large amount of code was used for its design or when a relatively many users attempt to utilize it simultaneously.

Microsoft Access is very suitable whenever the objective of the project is a database where:
1. The timeframe of the project must be short and the start of the project must be immediate.
2. Specialised personnel from IT department is not available, due to their own prioritization scheme.
3. The designer tasked with the design, implementation and deployment of the database, is a technically-oriented person in general, but having no previous knowledge of Access in particular.
4. The size of the envisaged database is relatively small, both in the number of records to be stored in it, as well in the number of concurrent users.
Microsoft Access is not suitable when:
1. The requirements are for an 'Enterprise' type of database, expected to acummulate over time a very large number of records (large manufacturing company, storing many parts numbers over the years).
2. The database is expected to be access by a very large number of users concurrently (e.g., a bank, accessed by numerous customers simultaneously).
3. The time taken by the execution for each transaction must be as small as possible.
4. The database must be of 'industrial strength', meaning very reliable, with no crushes and no corrupted records.

Read Fred Abraham, P.Eng's full review
Lukas Sundahl, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 07, 2019

Access for Everyone!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Access is being used to run a wide variety of reports for both operations and accounting. There are numerous queries that have been set to help managers get data up to production and plant efficiency. It helps managers quickly analyze performance on the numerous jobs that are going on at one time.
  • Since Microsoft Access is a Microsoft product it is easy to use and relay data to and from Excel.
  • With the tools inside Microsoft Access, you can quickly establish the relationships between tables. It is easy to view the relationships between tables.
  • It is a robust tool that can handle large amounts of data without having to spend additional money on other reporting tools.
  • I would like to have within Microsoft Access a way to build dashboards without having to pull data into another program such as Excel.
  • I would like to see Microsoft Access with more filtering/shading tools to differentiate data.
  • It would be nice if it was a little easier to build report formats. Sometimes it is challenging getting boxes to line up and make the report better aesthetically.
It is well suited to build queries to pull meaningful data from various tables. It is very useful that you can visually build the relationships between tables. Access allows you to quickly copy existing queries and then modify them to get different views from the same data.
Read Lukas Sundahl, MBA's full review
Katie Savacool | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 02, 2019

Effective tool for a busy office

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have multiple databases within the department. One of them has images that are stored with the data. When working on database management Microsoft Access is the easiest to use and sort out the information for clean-up and export for reporting. If you don't have a lot of time for database management Access makes it faster and easier than Filemaker, or several other interfaces. I like it as much or more so than Excel for larger database information and reporting.

The downside is that people are intimidated by the program.

I am the primary person using Access in my department.
  • Sorting for particular information.
  • Exporting to Excel to create reports.
  • Storing multiple types of data and media within a singular record.
  • Formatting could be better.
  • If you are having any amount of data that is inconsistent it causes breaks in the system, sometimes.
  • The interface makes people think they are using excel, and so do miss out some of the features.
Well suited for:

  • A database that contains multiple forms of media.
  • Easier to use for large amounts of data.
  • Pulling reports into other programs is fairly easy.
Read Katie Savacool's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 01, 2019

Great Database Software from Microsoft

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Access is used for multiple databases throughout the organization. One main use is the bill of materials for projects. We use it to manage revisions of the bill of materials. Each revision has a table within the bill of material and we are able to run a comparison between revisions and produce a cover sheet which shows the differences. This is very useful in tracking changes and maintaining up to date documents. This also helps with processing document changes and it makes revising the bill of materials quick and easy. Also, Microsoft Access is used for our parts catalog in AutoCAD Electrical. There are multiple tables within the database and this is where we put part numbers and descriptions for these parts. This is used when a bill of materials report is run on a circuit diagram.
  • One good aspect of Microsoft Access is how the software can be customized for different applications. This is very useful because we are able to use this software for multiple applications, which makes it cost-friendly.
  • Another strong point of Microsoft Access is the skill required to customize, the amount of programming required is less than most other database programs. This is good for a beginner looking to get into database management.
  • Microsoft Access is one of the more cost-friendly database applications, and most of the time it comes with Microsoft Office. Other database programs can be expensive and not as easy to use.
  • One downfall of Access is some of the bugs I have encountered using this software. Sometimes our database becomes corrupt and we have to restore from a backup. This can be time-consuming and the worst part is sometimes work is lost if the database is not backed up for a couple of days.
  • Another issue I have encountered with Access is sometimes the database will think someone has it opened and it then becomes read-only. This causes issues if someone has to make a modification and it thinks someone else is working on it. It will tell you the last person who had it opened, but sometimes it is not correct.
  • Access also has some issues with performance on larger databases, it can take a little bit to open databases with a lot of data. It sometimes also freezes while loading some items.
Microsoft Access is very useful for multiple applications but it is most useful in my case for managing bill of materials, and part databases for electrical components. It definitely makes managing and updating databases quick and easy.
Access has some issues, and I believe if you have very large databases, it can sometimes slow down and not be the best choice. Also, if you have very custom databases, with many macros running, it can be a bit slow.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 28, 2019

MS Access is a Great Way to Cut Your Teeth into Relational Databases

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
End users use Microsoft Access for simple single-user interfaces to input data, store data, join data, and report. The data used is generally specific to one person's job (or sometimes a small group) but it is NOT used for data that is delivered enterprise-wide or even when it leaves a department. As this is a desktop application, it does not handle multi-user access very well. It is generally used to essentially modify data held in spreadsheets, although there is some direct ODBC access to data in Oracle, SQL Server, etc.
  • Quickly use simple database features to join tables.
  • Provides a GUI to perform tasks that can usually only be done with SQL code.
  • Runs a database on a personal computer, without having to have a server installation.
  • Provides a GUI to input data to tables.
  • Table data (or views) can easily be put into simple reports and delivered to end-users.
  • Does not work well for multiple concurrent users. It is a single-user application.
  • There is obviously no point-in-time recovery of the data, as would be provided with enterprise-grade databases.
  • Part of the Microsoft Office Suite, which is a mixed blessing. It has a similar interface to other Office products, which I find cumbersome. Others might like that.
For quick, single-user data, nothing beats Access. It runs light on a personal computer and can be a great place to keep relational data, provided that data recoverability, availability, and security are not a concern. It's essentially like having inter-related spreadsheets. If an end user in Human Resources just wants to join his EMPLOYEE table with his ADDRESS table, Access is fantastic.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 29, 2019

A one-stop-shop for databases and reporting

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our team is involved in many asset management projects, particularly projects that deal with physical assets. We manage multiple databases and portfolio with single clients and Microsoft Access solves the problem of not being able to keep up and maintain all the databases at once. This program is used among the whole organization for a number of other projects as well.
  • No internet connection needed to make any database.
  • Importing into images, spreadsheets, & documents is easy.
  • Quick and easy tool to create databases, don't have to use SQL.
  • Great for storing large amounts of information.
  • Limited storage.
  • Wish there was a way that macros from Excel can be imported.
  • Loads a bit slow.
It's a great program for certain house projects and can help automate workflow. It's great for repetitive tasks to be automated. It's great to use when your end deliverable to clients will be a physical report because it's easy to export it. We use it to conduct our analysis, and it's easy and quick to export a report!
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 01, 2019

Microsoft Access - good for small scaled data

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by the whole organization for:
  • Database of customers.
  • Contact information.
  • Products and services purchases.
  • Other detailed information.
  • Marketing lists.
  • Run queries. Prepare reports.
  • Analyze and quantify data.
  • De-duplicate contacts.
  • Slow when large amounts of data are being queried.
  • The dashboard could be better styled.
  • Not user-friendly. Training needed.
Good for simpler databases and tasks. For very large databases, I'm sure a SQL solution would be better.

Not good across multiple platforms. If other users have inconsistent data then there could be a problem integrating.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 23, 2019

Best thing on the market for what it does

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across the whole organization as a database tool to host and store data. Each department decides for itself how to use it. It is generally used for more internal tools or if the client specifically asks for it. Normally, a better database tool is used like SQL Server.
  • Can create a clean user interface
  • Strong ability to customize
  • Easy to setup data table relationships within a database
  • Customization options are not intuitive to find
  • Needs more pre-loaded features for very common tasks while building forms
  • The program is slow even for small data tables
Microsoft Access is well suited if you need to make forms for people to fill out and load their answers into a database over the intranet and secured on your own network. It is used to collect data. It is less appropriate for manipulating large data tables that already exist.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2019

Microsoft Access: The Real World

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Access is being used as a personal database in a couple of departments in our organization. It is being used to import data from other data sources in our organization. We are able to use data in an excel spreadsheet as well as text files. It has addressed the problem of being able to report on data without having to use a real business intelligence solution.
  • Cross tab reports. Allows a different look at the data.
  • Joins. Allows left, right as well as inner and outer joins.
  • Simple reports. Having the capability to run simple reports.
  • Graphical look. Having a more graphical user-friendly interface.
  • Ad-hoc reporting. It is a stretch but is would be nice.
  • Cross platform connections
It is well suited for my purpose because we really don't have a real developer solution. The ability to run simple import, exports and reports gives us the feel of ad-hoc reporting. I have not used it on a larger scale for database analytics so I do not know if it would work as well.
Read this authenticated review
Andres Meza | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 19, 2018

Microsoft Access is an excellent and easy database tool for information management.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Access is used throughout the organization for the capture, management, and communication of data in a professional manner and for the administration of databases considering that it provides a series of easily accessible work tools that staff can quickly understand their tools and in this way, implement them in the tasks related to the process of organization of information in databases. The problems solved are basically based on the organization of information, and standardization of information for the analysis of data necessary for decision making to facilitate the growth and development of the company.
  • Facilitate the integration of databases provided by Windows-based development programs.
  • It is compatible with widely used programs that are not necessarily from Microsoft such as Oracle and Sybase.
  • You have the possibility of placing the information processed in the databases online.
  • It is one of the programs that work with the most popular databases in the world, therefore, it does not require expenses in training activities or the hiring of very specialized personnel, thus being a saving for the company.
  • Microsoft Access should seek the option to increase its capacity to greater than 2GB so all the company can use it without a problem, currently, it's used by small and medium enterprises.
  • I think they can expand the option of expanding the capacity of users allowed for large organizations to use.
  • Microsoft Access is not the best database tool for immediate use but for long-term work.
  • Among the tools that may hinder its use are that Access has a relatively low design compared to other programs. It is difficult to customize and adapt to the controls and forms at the beginning.
  • Microsoft Access adapts well in departments where databases do not have much content, or where you do not have to perform complex programming or require working with many variables.
  • Microsoft Access does not adapt well in organizations that require the management of large information content or where many variables must be included, or large companies that require the continuous management of results.
Read Andres Meza's full review
Angad Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 17, 2018

Microsoft Access Summary

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Access is used as a tool to fulfill the role of a back-end relational database when one is needed. Access is available enterprise-wide as it is available in the Microsoft Office bundle, but it is used more heavily by the data and analytics departments. We use it for things such as accounting systems, customer transaction tracking, and high volume data processing. Access serves as a more powerful database than Microsoft Excel or traditional client-server based databases and has capabilities for migration that make it useful.
  • Access has a simple user interface and is intuitive enough for more people to use without much confusion. While this may seem to imply that it has fewer functionalities than other software, that is not true.
  • Good performance for small personal applications. For example, when reporting about a small company, its performance is great.
  • Access is a popular program which means more people have knowledge of it and it is included on the expectation of most people hired for data positions.
  • Access has slow performance when dealing with tens and hundreds of thousands of records. As an enterprise we have millions of customers and assets and Access doesn't seem to be equipped to handle such volumes.
  • Access is not really ideal for bigger companies because of limited space and allowed number of users
Microsoft Access is well suited for small data sets with a single user. As the size of data and users increase, it becomes less suitable. I would recommend for small to medium sized businesses.
Read Angad Singh's full review
Anthony Macadino | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 10, 2018

Microsoft Access review

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is the back end of an ERP system that we are using at our company. The ERP system keeps track of our inventory, sales orders, production, and invoices.
  • It is relatively easy to use. It behaves much like Microsoft Excel.
  • It is very powerful in that it has a lot of capability.
  • The user interface has not been updated in 10 years, when I used it for the first time. Given other products the user interface is awkward. It feels like you need to make many mouse clicks to perform tasks.
  • Setting up forms for the screen and for printing is hard to set up.
It is not well suited for people who are not computer savvy.
Read Anthony Macadino's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2018

Microsoft Access: Empowering the Masses

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Access is a vital tool for people in our organization who have programming needs but do not have the background, the software, or the workstation security settings to use more complex tools such as VB.NET. It is used across the organization by employees such as me, maybe who have had programming experience in the past.

Access is great for a quick fix to a problem that is not too complicated, or for brainstorming and prototyping possible solutions for those problems.
  • Microsoft Access is great at cranking out quick solutions for simple programming problems
  • Once Access has been learned, the same concepts are readily transferable to create more complex VBA macros in Excel, Word, and other Microsoft Office products.
  • It is easy to integrate with most other Windows-based back-end databases such as SQL and Oracle.
  • It can be placed on websites to allow remote users to access the data
  • Sharing an Access database with users of mixed Windows operating systems can lead to data integrity problems.
  • Security is only basic, so for sensitive data, a more robust back-end should be implemented.
  • Files can grow to an ungainly size, so periodic database compaction is necessary. The larger the files grow, naturally performance suffers.
Microsoft Access is great for integrating with .NET for both stand-alone and web-based solutions. Since it is so widely-used, it is fairly easy to find people in your existing work pool who can use it, and also easier to find new applicants who can hit the ground running with this technology. It is terrific for small businesses or small departments within larger organizations who want to be in control of their own simple projects and prototyping. It is well-suited for environments where security is locked down but employees still need to accomplish simple programming tasks.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 29, 2018

Microsoft Access - opinions from a new user.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Microsoft Access as a database to keep contacts organized. It is being used only by me to address the many different sales and physician contacts I make on a regular basis.
  • User friendly - it doesn't take much work to begin using Microsoft Access
  • Keeps track of my contacts - If I need to quickly find a contact, it saves the information without having to be prompted every time. I always hit 'save' at the end of the day just to be sure, but I have never lost any information I have entered.
  • Easy to access - I can access on my desktop at work or on an app on my phone.
  • Rudimentary - it's a pretty basic software, which means when you open it up for the first time there doesn't seem to be a lot offered from the start, but once you decide your application for use, and implement it, it is pretty dependable.
  • Saving confusion - I was confused in the beginning about how to save information that I had just entered into the system. There is nothing that indicates that what you have entered in the database would be saved, but I have never lost information once it has been entered.
Access is a great tool for organizing contacts. It would work great for a marketing situation, or just to keep track of contacts you deal with on a regular basis. It would be great if you could add a picture of a business card or something as well, but I have not explored enough to see if that is an option.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 22, 2018

MS Access Easy to Use

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use MS Access for databases such as company-wide skill sets and certifications that we then link to our internal social media platform (Jive), in order to publicly display this information company-wide so that if a person is looking for someone with a particular skill set, they are easily able to identify who might have it.
  • Databases
  • Communication with CRM
  • Communication with Jive
  • Ease of use
  • Platform is dated
  • Could use a refresh
  • Better help with coding
MS Access is very well suited for a situation where you have a bunch of information that you might want to get out to your internal staff. We use a living database that automatically populates to an internally public facing website that the whole company can see and use with ease.
Read this authenticated review

About Microsoft Access

Microsoft Access is a database management system from Microsoft that combines the relational Microsoft Jet Database Engine with a graphical user interface and software-development tools.
Categories:  Relational Databases

Microsoft Access Competitors

Microsoft Access Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No