Microsoft Azure Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
675 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 78)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 29, 2021
Apurv Doshi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Azure is truly PaaS. It provides the platform with the best possible configuration around many services. However many services require improvement.
  • Automation templates are not much flexible. So for [doable] assets (which you want to up at the time of demo), you need to do [a] lot of work in prior. Sometimes it creates [a] negative impact on ROI.
  • We find it extremely useful and agile when you want to do quick prototyping or development on [the] scale for cognitive services. Truly worth of investment.
Read Apurv Doshi's full review
March 11, 2021
Valeri Karpov | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • For about 2 years we didn't have to do anything with our production VMs, the system ran without a hitch, which meant our engineers could focus on features rather than infrastructure.
  • DNS management was very easy in Azure, which made it easy to upgrade our cluster with zero downtime.
  • Azure Web UI was easy to work with and navigate, which meant our senior engineers and DevOps team could work with Azure without formal training.
Read Valeri Karpov's full review
March 11, 2021
João Almeida | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Brings down Capex to customers.
  • Some of the built-in security features of DDoS Basic protection that comes with VNET on Azure or even WAF on AGW brings huge advantages to customers.
  • Hybrid benefits for those who have software assurance can save even more costs by moving to Azure.
Read João Almeida's full review
March 08, 2021
Matt Varney | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It has taken a few years of planning and growth (which continue), but we've been able to successfully budget and plan for ever increased capacity by starting first with some Virtual Machines and factoring in on-prem maintenance vs cloud constant improvements. VM (server, compute, networking) costs even out quickly over time and will show savings very soon.
  • Because of Azure Application Gateways (which cost very little to set up and maintain), we were able to build a state of the art single-sign-on hub for all of our users and other enterprise platforms (mostly non-Microsoft and non Azure systems), reducing the amount of time to switch among these for workers and increasing overall productivity.
  • With Azure Active Directory, we do not need to maintain separate identity systems and can more easily integrate our organizations credentials into authorization for access to other systems.
Read Matt Varney's full review
April 29, 2021
Sandesh Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Our licensing fees were saved kind of while using Azure.
  • Admins were having a hard time dealing with issues.
  • Control panel being complicated.
  • These troubles opted us to use AWS instead.
Read Sandesh Singh's full review
April 28, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • User implementation and setup is faster and more efficient
  • "Bundling" via Azure much cheaper than outsourcing various vendors
  • Support training simplified and structured
Read this authenticated review
March 09, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Reduction in On-Prem datacenter footprint & costs
  • Lowered total cost of ownership (TCO)
  • Ability to scale up new environment (Regional & globally) in short timeframe
Read this authenticated review
March 14, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Decreased in-house hardware cost.
  • Decreased open firewall and security controls to accommodate directory-enabled authentication (better for our security posture).
  • Less overhead management and monitoring of internal resources, with better uptime.
Read this authenticated review
March 10, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Good costs are saved in resource maintenance.
  • Secure accessibility of virtual machines over the cloud.
  • Availability of all the environments for testing.
Read this authenticated review
April 28, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Cost is more as compared to some services
  • Good downtime and support system is very good
  • Support is only one time free then it is chargeable which is not [very] fair
Read this authenticated review
October 22, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Huge savings on Data Archiving, using 3rd party tools and Azure Storage Accounts.
  • Significant savings deploying temporary applications to Azure, instead of expanding the OnPrem environment.
  • Compliance/Security improvements, moving Windows 2008 R2 legacy servers to Azure and keeping extended support.
Read this authenticated review
March 05, 2020
Brandon Holbrook | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • As with any IaaS DO NOT lift and shift into Azure. Develop with the cloud model in mind. We were told to lift and shift into Azure with a crazy increase in operating costs.
  • Our development teams love it. Integration with Team City and Visual studio is one of the greatest time savers for our dev teams.
  • We thought we'd save on getting rid of some on premise appliances but we ended up needing the cloud version of the appliance because the features in Azure were just not mature enough yet.
Read Brandon Holbrook's full review
August 19, 2019
Justin Bongard | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We continue to move things to Azure because it's so flexible. If we were buying physical machines, at times they would be undersized, and other times, they would be very wasted. Azure allows us to scale things as needed. It has taken the responsibility of purchasing expensive equipment off our shoulders
  • It's much easier to keep archiving files to an SMB share on Azure than keep upgrading our NAS here. We don't hold back. If there's 1% chance we'll need a file but we don't want it around right now, we'll dump it up there.
  • It gives us better peace of mind for the security of systems to just get the service and not have to maintain all of the security patches for every OS to host those services.
Read Justin Bongard's full review
August 16, 2019
Alfred Brock | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We have seen reduced costs associated with purchasing, configuring and maintaining individual servers.
  • We have seen a drop in cost associated with sharing data while at the same time seen a general increase of many magnitudes with sharing that same data and more.
  • A negative impact has been the necessity of finally confronting the technical capabilities of the work force. It is a relief to finally reach this point but resistance from entrenched ideas, fears and lack of knowledge continues to be considerable.
Read Alfred Brock's full review
August 12, 2019
Adam Farrell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The implementation was surprisingly fast and issue-free.
  • We are able to quickly meet client demands by the ease of deployment of the assets.
  • The elastic scalability saves the otherwise redundant resources.
Read Adam Farrell's full review
August 11, 2019
Eddie Brady | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It allows us to run our infrastructure without capital.
  • It allows us to automate the provisioning of our infrastructure.
  • It allows us to automate the deployment of our software.
Read Eddie Brady's full review
August 11, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Better allocation of our financial resources by scaling up or down only when needed.
  • Easier to manage our infrastructure because you can do it from anywhere, even from your phone in a pinch. Required fewer dedicated or less-costly personnel.
  • Backup and storage are so cheap we can be in a better position to recover in case of any major issue.
Read this authenticated review
August 20, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It has had a positive impact as it has allowed us to very affordably replace legacy infrastructure.
  • It has had a positive impact as it has provided a much more robust infrastructure than we had in place before.
  • It has had a positive impact in that we now have the ability to rapidly scale to whatever demands we face without overly investing in fixed infrastructure.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Service-level Agreement (SLA) uptime (4)
8.0
Dynamic scaling (4)
5.5
Elastic load balancing (4)
6.9
Pre-configured templates (4)
6.1
Monitoring tools (4)
5.6
Pre-defined machine images (3)
5.2
Operating system support (4)
7.3
Security controls (4)
7.1
Automation (3)
4.9

What is Microsoft Azure?

Microsoft Azure is a cloud computing service from Microsoft. With Azure, businesses and organizations can build, manage, and deploy applications on Microsoft’s global networking, using customizable tools and frameworks.

Azure supports any tool, language, or framework, providing access to 100+ services to provide a comprehensive cloud computing platform. Azure has as broad set of hybrid computing capabilities, with support for working in the cloud or on-premises.

According to Microsoft, Windows Server, SQL Server PaaS, and SQL Server IaaS are significantly more affordable alternatives to other software in their categories. Users can lower costs if they have existing licenses, reserve resources in advance, or move specific workloads to Azure, all dependent on the particular organization’s situation.

An example of some of the service areas Azure covers:

  • AI + Machine Learning

  • Analytics

  • Blockchain

  • Computing

  • Containers

  • Databases

  • Developer Tools

  • DevOps

  • Identity

  • Integration

  • Internet of Things

  • Management

  • Media

  • Stack

  • Migration

  • Mixed Reality

  • Mobile

  • Networking

  • Security

  • Storage

  • Web

  • Windows Virtual Desktop

Microsoft Azure Integrations

Stackify, APM+

Microsoft Azure Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Microsoft Azure?

Microsoft Azure is a cloud computing platform and infrastructure for building, deploying, and managing applications and services through a global network of Microsoft-managed datacenters.

What is Microsoft Azure's best feature?

Reviewers rate Service-level Agreement (SLA) uptime highest, with a score of 8.

Who uses Microsoft Azure?

The most common users of Microsoft Azure are from Enterprises and the Information Technology & Services industry.