Microsoft Azure Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
668 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 77)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 29, 2021
Apurv Doshi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Microsoft Azure for cognitive services like natural language processing, computer vision, and machine learning services for built-in open-[source] frameworks like Tensorflow, MXNet, Keras, etc. It is used based on customers' needs, as we are in the service industry. It helps with scaling, security, and reliability.
Read Apurv Doshi's full review
March 30, 2021
Sean Patterson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use [Microsoft] Azure internally for some applications as well as help clients implement Azure solutions of various sizes and configurations within their organization. We also use [Microsoft] Azure as a "test environment" to try out some of the latest cloud / IoT products as a means of better informing future clients on what will work best for them.
Read Sean Patterson's full review
March 11, 2021
Valeri Karpov | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Azure is Microsoft's equivalent to Amazon Web Services, Google Cloud Platform, Oracle Cloud, IBM Cloud, etc. From a technical perspective, these providers are largely interchangeable in my experience. We primarily used Azure Compute, which let us spin up VMs in the cloud, to host our production and development Kubernetes clusters. We also used Azure VMs to host our production database - MongoDB.
Read Valeri Karpov's full review
March 11, 2021
João Almeida | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Microsoft Azure is being used across the entire organization at this time. It is being customized for use with individual departments. We use it at my non-profit and I also operate it at a large, regional, mid-western electric and gas utility.

[Microsoft] Azure has allowed us to quickly and reliably connect to information across our network in a seamless fashion. We are able to share links and data very quickly. It also allows us the advantage to use PowerBI to access data from many different departments because they are all in one place.
Read João Almeida's full review
March 08, 2021
Matt Varney | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

[Microsoft] Azure has a large amount of services and capabilities, but we're using it primarily for Identity (Azure Active Directory), Networking (Application Gateways, ExpressRoute), as well as some basic Compute (Virtual Machines) and some web and storage. Also, as big Office 365 customers, we use [Microsoft] Azure in conjunction with some of these services such as storage (backups) and some media services (videos). Additionally, some Azure AI and security services are used in conjunction with some of the O365 services for DLP (digital loss protection) and other security services. Of course, we also use the Azure Portal to manage all of this. All in all it is a very nice and integrated (and expandable) solution for a total and cohesive set of common business problems like we just described. We flat out could not do much of what we do now without Azure AD (MUCH better than on-premises Active Directory). There are some learning curves and potentially some cost barriers, but again, since the "total" Azure solution can be implemented in parts and expand as needed, it still makes an excellent way to address immediate problems (whatever you feel is most important) while simultaneously positioning your business to succeed in the future as you are able to add on services and shift older legacy solutions to the cloud.
Read Matt Varney's full review
April 29, 2021
Sandesh Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Microsoft Azure is a great platform for a startup to a full-fledged business that wants to deploy their apps and infrastructure to the cloud or just to increase their market presence by going online. We used Microsoft Azure for the VM instances and CI/CD DevOps. We also used Azure to deploy our VPN but had to transfer it to other providers like AWS for pricing and scalability. Using Azure for high bandwidth use case scenario is for me just a waste of money as the data transfer fees are way too high, we got a bill of $3000+ for just the bandwidth, and was still higher than all the Instances and SQL servers cost running combined.
Read Sandesh Singh's full review
April 21, 2021
Paola Lucía Campos | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have been using Microsoft Azure to automate the process. And to work in the cloud Azure is one of the most secure and support cloud. We use to save data for out clients, to manage processes, we can integrate with other programs and it is intuitive to use. Microsoft gives us all that we could ask for in a technological company.
Read Paola Lucía Campos's full review
April 28, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our company (200+) recently transitioned over to [Microsoft] Azure to alleviate the "clutter". We were outsourcing various functions, causing confusion and conflict. Having changed over to 1 concise platform containing all of our needs, has cleared the bottleneck we have been fighting for years. It has been a smooth transition as well with minimal to zero impact.
Read this authenticated review
March 09, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We leverage multiple Microsoft Azure cloud services / platform with in our organization. IOT Product suite is heavily used in vehicle connectivity part of the organization. In addition we leverage Power BI, Cloud components such as virtual machines, Cosmo / SQL databases, DNS services for prototyping & production instances. [Microsoft] Azure helps us to solve vehicle telematics and its associated use cases.
Read this authenticated review
March 08, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our company used Azure for the launch of the process automation platform. We later added a number of complementary services i.e. authentication, storage, telemetry, monitoring, Azure SQL and PowerBI. While this virtual platform was supported by a small team, it supported the whole organization. Our Azure stack was used as a virtual infrastructure in the IaaS and SaaS capacities.
Read this authenticated review
March 14, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We provisioned/synchronized users and managed user lifecycle in Azure to help organizations utilize Microsoft’s cloud portfolio of applications and services.
Read this authenticated review
March 10, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The whole organization uses Microsoft Azure for various reasons. The main reason is to run our product in the service fabric environment. The other reasons include creating virtual machines, classic cloud service, and SQL databases. Microsoft Azure helps us to avoid having physical servers [in] the environment which are high in maintenance.
Read this authenticated review
April 28, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

At our organisation we are using Microsoft Azure for hosting the website and storage purposes. We are using Compute engine for running the website. We love to use it because of up time. There is near to zero downtime in that service and it provides good analytical support so we can get the compute, memory and bandwidth usage.
Read this authenticated review
October 22, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We're using Microsft Azure services on multiple regions from our organization and for several types of workloads. It is our current Global standard for Cloud usage, following a global contract with Microsoft. In my region, we're using Computing services (running some Dev/PreProd environments on Azure). We also recently migrated Windows 2008 servers from legacy applications to Azure, in order to keep extended support. We're also using Storage Accounts both for Data archiving (through 3rd party Archiving tools) and Backup to Cloud.

As with many companies, it is addressing the 'elastic' demands, specially for Dev/PreProd environments... Many times we need to deploy temporary environments for some applications and we don't have enough time to purchase an expansion on our OnPrem environment. Cloud is a great escape for this situation.
Also, It addresses the need of retaining Archived files and Backups for long term. We were able to bring great savings with Data Archiving solution in place today.
Read this authenticated review
March 05, 2020
Brandon Holbrook | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our organization is spread across the globe. Putting our servers in Azure has enabled us to offer high availability to our customers and development department.
Read Brandon Holbrook's full review
August 19, 2019
Justin Bongard | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use our Azure storage accounts for blob storage and SMB shares. They don't work on all ISP providers or hotspots. They work on Verizon fiber and cellular hotspots but not one of our local ISPs. We use the SQL server and database services. I really like how easy it is to scale them up and down, live.
We also have a website app meant for internal use and use the SendGrid account connector. It is really nice to have easy white-listing for everything: websites, databases, etc. that we can trust. We host everything here instead of making servers VPN into our office.
Additionally, we have a site-to-site VPN between our offices and Azure. That works well and enabled us to turn off much of our public access.
We use the built-in VM backup tools and those have been really easy to use right there on Azure. Also, the snapshots automatically built into databases we have used several times. It creates a new database from a snapshot from every few hours from up to almost 30 days ago and then you just copy over whatever data you need.
.
Read Justin Bongard's full review
August 16, 2019
Neil Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Microsoft Azure is one of the best IaaS cloud platforms that we have used ever. You can quickly set up most Windows server applications with a high availability. My experience with Azure is overall good and would definitely recommend this to others. Microsoft has a very responsible customer support.
Read Neil Johnson's full review
August 16, 2019
Alfred Brock | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Microsoft Azure is being used across the entire organization at this time. It is being customized for use with individual departments. We use it at my non-profit and I also operate it at a large, regional, mid-western electric and gas utility.

Azure has allowed us to quickly and reliably connect to information across our network in a seamless fashion. We are able to share links and data very quickly. It also allows us the advantage to use PowerBI to access data from many different departments because they are all in one place.
Read Alfred Brock's full review
August 12, 2019
Stephen Groat | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Microsoft Azure is being use to connect with Azure specific customers and to optimize Microsoft workloads. While competing clouds have strong Microsoft options, the complete feature set and performance tuning of Azure for Microsoft workloads still wins also. Also, with the new pricing structure announcement, Azure becomes more cost competitive for those Microsoft workloads as well.
Read Stephen Groat's full review
August 12, 2019
Adam Farrell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Microsoft Azure has been our platform of choice since 2015. We initially implemented a backup solution but grew into the environment as we required more and more resources. Now we take advantage of the ecosystem consisting of websites, SQL servers, virtual machines just to name a few.
Read Adam Farrell's full review
August 11, 2019
Eddie Brady | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Azure across our entire business and it solves all of our infrastructure and hosting needs. We use it for:
1) Software development: We build software using App Services, AKS, Azure Functions, Event Grid, Sql Server
2) Running our internal programs: We use Logic apps and AKS to run our custom production apps.
3) Hosting SaaS products for our customers: We build products for our customers and run them in AKS and monitor using Microsoft Azure monitor / app insights.
Read Eddie Brady's full review
August 16, 2019
Daniel Cauley | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use it for spinning up virtual environments and hosting software for clients. We use cold and hot storage for client's servers and backups with Azure as they offer some of the best storage rates as compared to AWS. We can also spin up virtual domain and active directories for our clients to remove the heat and maintenance from small facilities on the edge of their environment that might not have a dedicated space for IT. This allows us to offsite not only IT but also the infrastructure.
Read Daniel Cauley's full review
August 11, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Microsoft Azure both divisionally and corporately. We have a partner-agreement with Microsoft and a significant investment in order to migrate as much of our server infrastructure into the cloud as we can. This allows us to be more flexible in hiring since servers a not on-prem and location-based, and given us access to tools we never had before. The centralized billing is a huge asset.
Read this authenticated review
August 20, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Azure is being used in many aspects of our organization. It is being used across all departments of the organization. It helps address the seamless scale-out of our growing infrastructure needs.
Read this authenticated review
August 20, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I have used Microsoft Azure previously to run some machine learning algorithms that processed a large amount of data and made predictions. This allowed us to improve someone's performance.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Service-level Agreement (SLA) uptime (4)
8.0
Dynamic scaling (3)
7.0
Elastic load balancing (3)
7.5
Pre-configured templates (3)
7.5
Monitoring tools (3)
7.5
Pre-defined machine images (2)
5.0
Operating system support (3)
8.0
Security controls (3)
8.5
Automation (2)
6.5

What is Microsoft Azure?

Microsoft Azure is a cloud computing service from Microsoft. With Azure, businesses and organizations can build, manage, and deploy applications on Microsoft’s global networking, using customizable tools and frameworks.

Azure supports any tool, language, or framework, providing access to 100+ services to provide a comprehensive cloud computing platform. Azure has as broad set of hybrid computing capabilities, with support for working in the cloud or on-premises.

According to Microsoft, Windows Server, SQL Server PaaS, and SQL Server IaaS are significantly more affordable alternatives to other software in their categories. Users can lower costs if they have existing licenses, reserve resources in advance, or move specific workloads to Azure, all dependent on the particular organization’s situation.

An example of some of the service areas Azure covers:

  • AI + Machine Learning

  • Analytics

  • Blockchain

  • Computing

  • Containers

  • Databases

  • Developer Tools

  • DevOps

  • Identity

  • Integration

  • Internet of Things

  • Management

  • Media

  • Stack

  • Migration

  • Mixed Reality

  • Mobile

  • Networking

  • Security

  • Storage

  • Web

  • Windows Virtual Desktop

Microsoft Azure Integrations

Stackify, APM+

Microsoft Azure Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Microsoft Azure?

Microsoft Azure is a cloud computing platform and infrastructure for building, deploying, and managing applications and services through a global network of Microsoft-managed datacenters.

What is Microsoft Azure's best feature?

Reviewers rate Security controls highest, with a score of 8.5.

Who uses Microsoft Azure?

The most common users of Microsoft Azure are from Enterprises and the Information Technology & Services industry.