TrustRadius
Microsoft Dynamics NAV is one of the ERP products in the Dynamics family. This is the Navision product acquired by Microsoft in 2002. This product is the best-selling Microsoft ERP platform, and is often used by companies in the manufacturing and distribution verticals.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/eb/xS/ITD7DKQQB28H.pngMicrosoft Dynamics NAV! the best tool on the market for financial and marketing management.We implemented Microsoft Dynamics NAV in our corporation to handle financial and marketing obligations. We have gained a lot ever since we implemented this platform. Personally, I incorporate this program to undertake some financial obligations such as tracking sales and invoices. For that reason, it is now simple to view invoices of several clients. I like this platform since it easily integrates with other Microsoft services such as Word, Excel, and PowerPoint. Additionally, this program is simple to install and set-up. Therefore, with just little training, the user is able to offer perfect results.,Financial Management: We are able to carry out some financial tasks such as invoicing and purchase. Human Resource Management: the HR department use this platform to track skills of employees. Sales and marketing: With Microsoft Dynamics NAV, it is now simple to track sales and marketing.,The cost estimation of getting a genuine Microsoft Dynamics NAV is extremely high. It would be better if they would reduce the total cost of subscription. Some templates available are outdated, hence this platform is less competitive on the market.,9,The payroll process is now simple since we are able to handle payroll calculations. For that reason, we do not encounter errors while processing payroll data. Inventory planning is also a negative impact that we are enjoying with implementation of Microsoft Dynamics NAV. Customer invoicing is also straightforward.,,Microsoft Dynamics 365 (formerly Microsoft Dynamics CRM)Powerful, robust and adaptiveThe organizations capacity to track leads, contact company, opportunity and make a productive business procedure to move a prospect through the channel. The organization understanding capacity inside the Company record has been inconceivably useful in social affair information we didn't have previously and consolidating it into the record. It's making it less important to leave the arrangement keeping in mind the end goal to find other unique information. With a portion of the new D365 usefulness as of late discharged, we will be ready to produce statements and solicitations through the framework utilizing one business process from initiation to culmination.,Sharing communications, leads, and opportunities Integration with MS Outlook and other Microsoft products Customization Integration with third-party applications,The user interface Pricing,9,Increase in sales Increase in customersGreat investmentWe use it as a full ERP solution. A place where they have been really helpful in our business is through the jobs module. We are a company that does a majority of our business as a service provider, and a vast majority of our business is done in this module. Jobs give us the tool to recognize income correctly and manage costs.,Easy to navigate Simple interface Works well with other Microsoft products,Faster posting of journal entries More in module help Printable tables,10,Easy to use Presents well The packaged reports fulfill our needs,Avalara AvaTax, Avalara Returns, Avalara CertCaptureNAV will help you NavigateWe are using Microsoft Dynamics to handle our operations and financial management. We have switched over from a more manual process of invoicing and tracking hours to using NAV. NAV streamlines our accounting process and helps us get invoices billed faster and perform more detailed accounting reports. We will be able to speed up the close process now with NAV.,Microsoft Dynamics NAV allows a copy and paste feature from Excel. This allows quicker input of data. Dynamics NAV connects to Microsoft OneNote which helps us organize pertinent information. Then, from within NAV we can access the documents/information saved in OneNote. Dynamics NAV is very intuitive to use especially if you are familiar with using Excel, Word and even Access on a consistent basis. Dynamics NAV allows easy customization of data organization and the columns that are displayed on various tabs within the program.,While Dynamics NAV has the copy paste feature it could have more options for importing data quickly (like the ones Microsoft Access has built in). Dynamics NAV could have some of its menu items consolidated and accessible from within one screen versus going out to another place in NAV. The dashboards within NAV could be improved and offer more detail.,10,The ROI has been good although we are still early in the process of using NAV. NAV has made it so much easier to track project details and assess overall performance. NAV has given more visibility on financials and a quicker way to assess financial objectives.,Infor ERP and Oracle ERP Cloud,Infor ERP, Oracle ERP Cloud, Thomson Reuters Accounting CSMicrosoft Dyanmics NAV is a great software to use for any organization's finance needsWe use Microsoft Dynamics NAV across our organization for our Finance software. Every department uses the software differently, but for the most part we all use it for budgeting, processing invoices, creating purchase orders, checking the status of check payments, and other finance services. We also use the software to track project grants, incoming payments from other organizations that we bill for services, and to track orders and invoice aging.,Microsoft Dynamics NAV is a really great software to use if you need to create and track purchase orders for your organization. The software is very easy to use and works well with most operating systems. The software is also a useful tool for tracking your budget because you can create reports to see exactly where your money is being spent. It even allows you to break down expenditures by the type, ie: hardware, software, service contracts, etc. One of the best things that I like about the software is that it will not allow you to process duplicate invoices or write duplicate checks. If you trying putting in an invoice number that has already been processed then it will notify you immediately. It basically repeats the same functionality when creating checks for the payment of invoices. If you've already posted a check for a specific invoice then it will ask you a series of questions to ensure you're not creating a duplicate and actually need to print an additional check. Another function that I like about the software is that it's so easy to use. I never had to read a manual to learn how to operate the software or complete tasks. The software basically walks you step by step through each process and guides you along so there are few mistakes that you can make while using the software.,The version of software that we currently use isn't compatible with Windows 7, therefore we had to install it using the virtual computer under Windows XP. This created a few additional steps that the users had to go through in order to access the software which generated more calls to our IT Helpdesk. We did research how much it would cost to upgrade the software so that we could get a version compatible with Windows 7, but the cost was way too expensive for our organization. Also, when we need to make updates or changes to the software, there are very few consultants who are familiar with the software so we are limited in who we can use for consulting services. Since we are limited in choosing consultants who can make updates and changes to the software the fees are usually really expensive for their services. There is a .zup file that we constantly have to delete in order for the database to work properly and update. Users get a pop-up about once a week asking if they want to replace the .zup file and if the file is not deleted then the opening page for the software will not show up correctly and the database will not have the most up to date information.,8,It's been a very positive effect because the reports and notifications within the software ensure duplications aren't allowed and will provide us with all the information needed to stay on top of our budget and grants. We aren't overpaying vendors, sending duplicate payments, or forgetting to spend available grant money because the software system will notify us so that we can take the necessary action(s) needed. The only negative impact we've had in regards to the software is that we currently do not have it in our budget to upgrade and therefore have to use it via the virtual machine. Most of our users are not computer savvy and have issues when the virtual computer doesn't automatically open the software to the sign in page, so we get increased calls to our IT Helpdesk. If we had the funds to upgrade to the latest version of the software then we wouldn't have issues with compatibility or using the virtual computer to run the software.,great lakes,Adobe Acrobat DC, Ceridian Dayforce HCM, Visual Studio.NET, Adobe Photoshop, Adobe Flash, Microsoft Silverlight, Ceridian Dayforce HCM, Microsoft Dynamics NAV, Microsoft Visual Studio Team System, OneDrive, Dropbox, Microsoft Exchange, Microsoft Office 365, Microsoft Access, Microsoft Office 2016, Cisco Ethernet Switches, Cisco Enterprise Routers, Schneider Electric - APC Data Center Cooling System, Apple iCloud, Google Cloud Storage, Google Drive, Google Hangouts, Microsoft Yammer, Skype for Business, Skype, WhatsUp Gold, Symantec Client Management Suite, Symantec Backup Exec, Symantec Endpoint Protection, Symantec Endpoint Encryption, Symantec Advanced Threat Protection, McAfee, McAfee Total Protection for Endpoint, Eset Smart Security, Windows Server, Amazon Cloud Drive, Amazon Web Services, Flexera AdminStudio, TeamViewer, SolarWinds Log & Event Manager, SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager, VMware Site Recovery Manager, VMware vCenter Server, vSphere with Operations Management (VSOM), Blackbaud NetCommunity,50,5,The main function this software is used for is creating purchase orders. Each department has to order their own products instead of everything going through a central purchaser. Therefore, every department has an administrative assistant who uses the software to create PO's whenever they make purchases for their department. The only items that departments can't order on their own are IT products that they need. All IT product requests are forwarded to the IT Dept. and I place those orders. The 2nd biggest function this software is used for is to process invoices. All invoices must be processed through Microsoft Dynamics NAV so they can be tracked and easily accessible to our Finance Department. The 3rd most utilized function would be the budget tracker. All of our VP's use this software to keep track of their budget. It helps them break down costs by products so they know exactly where their money is being spent, how much they have left over, and where they can better utilize the funds in the future.,I honestly haven't heard of any innovative ways this software is being used. For the most part it's used for simple finance procedures that are performed daily. We are not using it for any functions outside of what it was created for. We do make customizations to the software, but it's only to allow our Finance Department to perform additional audit procedures and other finance services.,We wanted to track how many minority vendors were being used so we customized the software so that users could include this information when creating their PO's. Although the options are there, many users will not utilize the feature so we are not getting an accurate count of how many minority vendors we actually use and support. I hope the Finance Department pushes for more users to record this information so we can get a more accurate picture of how we're supporting minorities in the future.,10
Unspecified
Microsoft Dynamics NAV
111 Ratings
Score 7.9 out of 101
TRScore

Microsoft Dynamics NAV Reviews

Microsoft Dynamics NAV
111 Ratings
Score 7.9 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 111 vetted Microsoft Dynamics NAV reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-14 of 14)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Johnn Karanja profile photo
August 21, 2018

Review: "Microsoft Dynamics NAV! the best tool on the market for financial and marketing management."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implemented Microsoft Dynamics NAV in our corporation to handle financial and marketing obligations. We have gained a lot ever since we implemented this platform. Personally, I incorporate this program to undertake some financial obligations such as tracking sales and invoices. For that reason, it is now simple to view invoices of several clients. I like this platform since it easily integrates with other Microsoft services such as Word, Excel, and PowerPoint. Additionally, this program is simple to install and set-up. Therefore, with just little training, the user is able to offer perfect results.
  • Financial Management: We are able to carry out some financial tasks such as invoicing and purchase.
  • Human Resource Management: the HR department use this platform to track skills of employees.
  • Sales and marketing: With Microsoft Dynamics NAV, it is now simple to track sales and marketing.
  • The cost estimation of getting a genuine Microsoft Dynamics NAV is extremely high. It would be better if they would reduce the total cost of subscription.
  • Some templates available are outdated, hence this platform is less competitive on the market.
Microsoft Dynamics NAV best suit the needs in area such as supply chain management, business intelligence, and project management.
Read Johnn Karanja's full review
Peter Kanyi profile photo
June 15, 2018

Microsoft Dynamics NAV Review: "Powerful, robust and adaptive"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The organizations capacity to track leads, contact company, opportunity and make a productive business procedure to move a prospect through the channel. The organization understanding capacity inside the Company record has been inconceivably useful in social affair information we didn't have previously and consolidating it into the record. It's making it less important to leave the arrangement keeping in mind the end goal to find other unique information. With a portion of the new D365 usefulness as of late discharged, we will be ready to produce statements and solicitations through the framework utilizing one business process from initiation to culmination.
  • Sharing communications, leads, and opportunities
  • Integration with MS Outlook and other Microsoft products
  • Customization
  • Integration with third-party applications
  • The user interface
  • Pricing
Microsoft Dynamics crm is suited for medium and large organizations but would not be suitable for small businesses.
Read Peter Kanyi's full review
Mykel Scott, CPA profile photo
May 24, 2018

Microsoft Dynamics NAV Review: "Great investment"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it as a full ERP solution. A place where they have been really helpful in our business is through the jobs module. We are a company that does a majority of our business as a service provider, and a vast majority of our business is done in this module. Jobs give us the tool to recognize income correctly and manage costs.
  • Easy to navigate
  • Simple interface
  • Works well with other Microsoft products
  • Faster posting of journal entries
  • More in module help
  • Printable tables
Simple to use and navigate for someone new to the program. However, one issue we have had with Dynamics Nav is with tax exemptions. Many times our customers use one time transaction specific exemptions. The system does not allow exemptions to be applied on a transaction specific basis and only on the customer level.
Read Mykel Scott, CPA's full review
Lukas Sundahl, MBA profile photo
April 25, 2018

Microsoft Dynamics NAV Review: "NAV will help you Navigate"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Microsoft Dynamics to handle our operations and financial management. We have switched over from a more manual process of invoicing and tracking hours to using NAV. NAV streamlines our accounting process and helps us get invoices billed faster and perform more detailed accounting reports. We will be able to speed up the close process now with NAV.
  • Microsoft Dynamics NAV allows a copy and paste feature from Excel. This allows quicker input of data.
  • Dynamics NAV connects to Microsoft OneNote which helps us organize pertinent information. Then, from within NAV we can access the documents/information saved in OneNote.
  • Dynamics NAV is very intuitive to use especially if you are familiar with using Excel, Word and even Access on a consistent basis.
  • Dynamics NAV allows easy customization of data organization and the columns that are displayed on various tabs within the program.
  • While Dynamics NAV has the copy paste feature it could have more options for importing data quickly (like the ones Microsoft Access has built in).
  • Dynamics NAV could have some of its menu items consolidated and accessible from within one screen versus going out to another place in NAV.
  • The dashboards within NAV could be improved and offer more detail.
Dynamics NAV is well suited for organizations that want to be able to customize their ERP system. The software has many features that can be added and adjusted as needed. Plus, with PowerBI companies have the option to connect NAV to PowerBI for more robust reporting of data. NAV is well suited for businesses because so many people are already familiar with other Microsoft products.
Read Lukas Sundahl, MBA's full review
Roberta Jones profile photo
March 15, 2017

Microsoft Dynamics NAV Review: "Microsoft Dyanmics NAV is a great software to use for any organization's finance needs"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft Dynamics NAV across our organization for our Finance software. Every department uses the software differently, but for the most part we all use it for budgeting, processing invoices, creating purchase orders, checking the status of check payments, and other finance services. We also use the software to track project grants, incoming payments from other organizations that we bill for services, and to track orders and invoice aging.
  • Microsoft Dynamics NAV is a really great software to use if you need to create and track purchase orders for your organization. The software is very easy to use and works well with most operating systems. The software is also a useful tool for tracking your budget because you can create reports to see exactly where your money is being spent. It even allows you to break down expenditures by the type, ie: hardware, software, service contracts, etc.
  • One of the best things that I like about the software is that it will not allow you to process duplicate invoices or write duplicate checks. If you trying putting in an invoice number that has already been processed then it will notify you immediately. It basically repeats the same functionality when creating checks for the payment of invoices. If you've already posted a check for a specific invoice then it will ask you a series of questions to ensure you're not creating a duplicate and actually need to print an additional check.
  • Another function that I like about the software is that it's so easy to use. I never had to read a manual to learn how to operate the software or complete tasks. The software basically walks you step by step through each process and guides you along so there are few mistakes that you can make while using the software.
  • The version of software that we currently use isn't compatible with Windows 7, therefore we had to install it using the virtual computer under Windows XP. This created a few additional steps that the users had to go through in order to access the software which generated more calls to our IT Helpdesk.
  • We did research how much it would cost to upgrade the software so that we could get a version compatible with Windows 7, but the cost was way too expensive for our organization. Also, when we need to make updates or changes to the software, there are very few consultants who are familiar with the software so we are limited in who we can use for consulting services. Since we are limited in choosing consultants who can make updates and changes to the software the fees are usually really expensive for their services.
  • There is a .zup file that we constantly have to delete in order for the database to work properly and update. Users get a pop-up about once a week asking if they want to replace the .zup file and if the file is not deleted then the opening page for the software will not show up correctly and the database will not have the most up to date information.
I would recommend other companies to use Microsoft Dynamics NAV because it's very easy to install and use. The only concern I have is the cost of maintaining it and the cost of upgrading the software if it's needed. If a company has the funds to maintain the software so it stays up to date then they will find Microsoft Dynamics NAV to be a very useful software to manage budget and finance services for their organization.
Read Roberta Jones's full review
Gene Fagelson profile photo
November 23, 2016

Microsoft Dynamics NAV Review: "Dynamics-NAV from a developer's viewpoint"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
I personally have used, consulted, developed and installed NAV for over 22 years, going back to the original character based product. I have used NAV across a wide spectrum of businesses and assisted hundreds of companies with their implementations. I describe the software as a full featured ERP system that conforms to your industry and business rules rather than forcing you to conform to the software. As the product has matured, the feature rich environment has improved and stayed current with the needs of the business world. There are very few companies that are able to use an ERP system right out-of-the-box and NAV has solved this problem by providing the end-user with an almost unlimited ability to customize their environment. Add to this the availability of source code and there is almost no problem or process that cannot be addressed.
  • All of the Dynamics ERP systems are fully integrated with the full family of their Office products (Word, Excel, etc.) but the true power behind Dynamics-NAV is that it comes with complete access to the source code. Although most ERP packages provide some type of a development environment, it is always a third-party software package and requires an additional expense. NAV comes with full source code access and devolvement tools out-of-the-box and requires no additional purchase. The user is able to modify pages, reports and even add additional fields to the standard tables. If your company has an internal development staff you have the ability to purchase the same full development license that the VAR has, allowing you to handle all system customizations and support in-house. The sum total of this high flexibility is that you are able to make NAV conform to your business rather than you conforming to the software.
  • In addition to the available source code, NAV provides the user with an unlimited ability to modify and build within the rich environment of C/AL code. In over 20 years of modifying the NAV product I have never had a client ask for a modification or custom functionality that I was not able to provide. Add to this the fact that NAV now includes many development points that allow the user to place their custom code inside of the system without impacting the base code. This makes the upgrade process quick and easy and avoids the common occurrence of being version locked.
  • The user interface of Dynamics NAV has been well thought out and provides a very easy to learn and use package. Master records (Customer, Vendor, Items, etc.) have been laid out in a standard format. Once you learn where fields are located on one record you have learned them all. The forms (called Pages in NAV) have a very similar structure and, by design, are uncluttered and easily customized by the user without impacting the base code. This allows each user to configure the Page to the way they work, easing the learning process and speeding up daily work and data entry.
  • The NAV environment has grown to be very feature rich in the functionality offered and provides the user with almost everything they need with the purchase of the base product. Advanced features can be added if required as can a large number of third party add-ons made exclusively for the NAV environment. Additionally, user licenses are sold as concurrent and not as named. Concurrent licenses control the number of users allowed into the system at any one time meaning that anyone can be provided with the ability to log into the system. This allows the company to setup an unlimited number of users with the ability to access the system at any given time. This allows the occasional user to share a license with other users who only need to access the system to enter a small amount of data or run a few reports. This functionality is a plus for the company with a large sales staff or outside workers who only need limited access to the system. Named licenses would require that you purchase an access license for every person who needs to access the system.
  • As with most ERP packages, the Jobs functionality within NAV is somewhat limited in functions. It has been primarily designed for large projects such as building a house or large piece of equipment where the process is set from the start and has little change. Small job shops where each project is custom find the package very restrictive and inflexible to use. The WIP calculation has been greatly improved with the last couple of releases but still does not allow the user to a great amount of flexibility or provide you with the ability to post in detail to the general ledger.
  • The item reservation process is very restrictive in the way it was written. NAV does allow you to reserve inventory against sales and projects but is very unforgiving if the need arises to change or release those goods. It is possible but requires that the user jump through multiple hoops to accomplish the task.
  • Security within NAV is very good but requires that you build custom user roles as the standard roles provided by the package do not lend themselves well to the normal company environment. The standard permission roles tend to either provide too much access or too little and are often hard to follow and understand. However, NAV has provided a new tool that makes the creation of custom roles quick and easy but still requires that they be created. Additionally, NAV still does not provide field-level security, only record level. It is possible to modify the code to control this or purchase an add-on but is not available out-of-the-box.
Needless to say I am a very big believer in Dynamics NAV but do understand that there are times when other ERP offerings are better suited. I feel that if the company looking at purchasing an ERP system can use the package right out-of-the-box they are better suited to go with Dynamics GP or SL. Both packages are very feature rich and offer a great amount of standard functionality. However, if you require a system that needs to conform to your work environment there is no better package in Dynamics NAV. Additionally, if you are in an industry that is very unique and/or specialized, an industry specific package may be better suited. Dynamics NAV can be made to fit any industry or requirement, the determining factor is, as always, cost.
Read Gene Fagelson's full review
Ronald Swank profile photo
February 27, 2017

Microsoft Dynamics NAV Review: "NAV is a real winner!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
NAV is being used throughout our entire company. We use it in production, accounting, AP, AR, virtually every aspect of our business.
  • Information... So much availability to any and everything you could want.
  • NAV can be customized so much, sometimes it can be overwhelming the amount you can modify it.
NAV works for any operation. We manufacture and it works wonders linking together the manufacturing aspects with the accounting and sales aspects of our needs.
Read Ronald Swank's full review
Josep Coves Barreiro profile photo
September 07, 2016

Microsoft Dynamics NAV Review: "An affordable ERP for small to mid-size companies"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used across the whole organization, it adresses from budget to customer invoice management. It's also the tool used for finances, product management and also used as an small CRM solution to track customers. Since it's a water company most customers ar fix and it's odd they vary. It has also some custom developments in order to provide functionality at certain areas.
  • Financials
  • Budget management
  • User concurrency
  • User interface is quite old fashioned, it should migrate to a modern web responsive interface
  • Reporting should be improved
Small to mid-size companies which need an ERP solution which is affordable and works under Windows environments
Read Josep Coves Barreiro's full review
Brian Sanders profile photo
March 16, 2016

Review: "Microsoft Dynamics NAV - Experienced User/Developer"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Dynamics NAV is being used by our entire organization. Our company consists of three business divisions - wholesale, e-commerce and direct-to-consumer. As a fully-integrated ERP system, Microsoft Dynamics NAV handles all aspects of our business, including sales, purchasing, inventory control, order fulfillment, receivables, payables and financial reporting. Through a combination of base modules, add-on modules and customized code, Microsoft Dynamics NAV handles the demanding needs of our business well.
  • Microsoft Dynamics NAV is highly customizable. Many ERP systems provide similar functionality, however, they can be difficult (or costly) to customize to meet your companies' specific needs.
  • Microsoft Dynamics NAV has a relatively-low cost of entry, for its feature set. Other similar ERP systems, can cost substantially more.
  • Microsoft Dynamics NAV provides a fully-integrated system, for running your business. With it, there is no need to have separate warehouse, EDI or accounting systems, for example. Everything is in one place and access to the information, can be restricted by user role.
  • Microsoft Dynamics NAV allows you to easily "navigate" or "drill-down" into the underlying data, for things such as inventory or customer balance. There is no need to launch a separate window or form, to find related information,
  • Microsoft Dynamics NAV has extensive filtering capabilities, which allows you to look at only the data you are interested in seeing.
  • There are not a lot of "out of the box" automation processes, for Microsoft Dynamics NAV. Different versions of NAV, have had various job scheduling functionality. However, each process that is automated, must be confirmed that it will function correctly, in an automatic mode. In our installation, most of the automation processes have been custom-developed.
  • Microsoft Dynamics NAV could have better documentation. Much of the documentation is original, from multiple versions ago. There is generally no step-by-step instructions, on performing various functions. Instead, most help is context-sensitive, obtained by pressing F1, on a particular field.
  • Older versions of Microsoft Dynamics NAV had a built-in WYSIWYG report builder, which made designing reports fairly straight-forward. Later versions (2013 and forward) rely exclusively on Visual Studio and SQL Reporting Services, which require a greater technical level of expertise, to use.
When working with a Microsoft Dynamics NAV partner, during the selection process, be sure to identify what is "base product" and what would require customization. As Microsoft Dynamics NAV is so highly customizable, it is easy for a partner to say "sure, it can do that". However, the devil is in the details, in determining the level of effort that would be required, to make it happen. This can also apply to add-on providers, as add-ons are typically designed to blend into the base product, seamlessly.
Read Brian Sanders's full review
Joe Florio profile photo
March 22, 2016

Microsoft Dynamics NAV Review: "Dynamics Nav is a great ERP system for Small to midsize companies looking to do warehousing and manufacturing!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

At Enzo Life Sciences we used Microsoft Dynamics Nav across the entire organization. We used NAV as a full scale ERP system ranging from accounting, sales, purchasing, manufacturing inventory control, shipping and receiving. It addresses the issues a lot of smaller to mid size companies face. It integrates all areas of the business to support a robust and comprehensive reporting structure.

The company I was with had 13 different companies both USD and foreign currencies were exchanged. The system was flexible in the ability to modify or tailor it to the business needs. Enzo was a manufacturing company. It allowed for accurate inventory costing and financial integrity. I strongly recommend small to mis size companies use this ERP system in place of larger more robust and EXPENSIVE applications on the market. This implementation for our company was cost effective and delivered on all of our corporate needs.

  • Financial Reporting.
  • Inventory Control.
  • Ease of order to cash process - Shipping.
  • Ease of purchase to pay process - Receiving.
  • They could use improvement on inter-company eliminations in the consolidations module.
  • They could use improvement with regard to scaling down the user security - it is complex and robust.
Microsoft Dynamics NAV is well suited in the manufacturing and assembly business. The project business may struggle without any add-ons.
Read Joe Florio's full review
James Yeates profile photo
February 24, 2016

Microsoft Dynamics NAV Review: "NAV provided easy user experience with great warehousing capabilities!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Dynamics NAV (NAV) is being used primarily by customer service and finance. Customer service inputs all sales orders, processes them, and then invoices the orders. Finance uses NAV to house all data regarding customers, costs and vendors.
  • Its EDI function allows for an easy way to process orders. When there are several hundreds of orders, this is extremely efficient.
  • NAV can pull historical data.
  • NAV can be great when needed to know how certain customers handle their credit terms.
  • With multiple users, it gets slow, especially if working offline from a VPN.
  • One has to be very careful in making sure they do not hit a wrong button by mistake. Not enough safeguards.
  • NAV should be able to limit access to certain licensees so that information can not be improperly used.
Microsoft Dynamics NAV is well suited for dealing with retail clients as well as exporting any type of data to Excel. It is not great for giving you historical data in an easily readable way.
Read James Yeates's full review
Peter Stockemer profile photo
May 30, 2015

Microsoft Dynamics NAV Review: "Why NAV?"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using NAV 2009 R2 Classic Client across our entire organization for operations and financials.
  • Configurable/Customizable
  • User-Friendly
  • Solid Finacials
  • Reporting is very limited out of the box
  • Not scalable
  • Unclear error messaging
Microsoft Dynamics NAV is good for a SMB with simple manufacturing needs.
Read Peter Stockemer's full review
Mary Bricco profile photo
April 08, 2015

User Review: "Microsoft Dynamics Nav"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Sikich LLP is a Microsoft Dynamics Nav reseller. My position is a Sr. Technical consultant.
  • Easy to learn and use.
  • Highly customizable
  • Easy to integrate
  • Warehouse item tracking is lacking
Microsoft Dynamics NAV can be customized for most any business.
Read Mary Bricco's full review
No photo available
April 01, 2016

Review: "Microsoft Dynamics NAV is flexible, solid and scalable"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynamics NAV is used throughout the organization for all aspects of the company other than HR & payroll. We are a manufacturing company and are currently in the process of deploying Dynamics NAV to our subsidiaries.
  • Data integrity is paramount and in 18+ years of using Dynamics NAV with both the original native database as well as SQL, we have never lost any data.
  • Dynamics NAV has all of the functionality that small to medium sized businesses need to operate in an efficient and effective manner.
  • The ability to customize Dynamics NAV allows it to be adapted to practically any environment.
  • Report generation has always been somewhat below what would be expected. We rely on third-party tools to produce our reports.
  • User documentation, although better than previous versions still needs a lot of improvement.
Works very well in a manufacturing environment. Very flexible.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pay calculation (6)
9.4
Benefit plan administration (4)
9.4
Direct deposit files (5)
9.8
Salary revision and increment management (4)
9.8
Reimbursement management (4)
9.8
API for custom integration (11)
9.2
Plug-ins (11)
9.7
Single sign-on capability (11)
10.0
Role-based user permissions (13)
9.6
Dashboards (11)
9.2
Standard reports (14)
9.6
Custom reports (13)
9.8
Accounts payable (14)
9.4
Accounts receivable (14)
9.8
Global Financial Support (4)
9.2
Primary and Secondary Ledgers (3)
9.7
Intercompany Accounting (4)
10.0
Localizations (4)
9.5
Journals and Reconciliations (4)
9.5
Enterprise Accounting (4)
9.5
Configurable Accounting (4)
9.8
Centralized Rules Framework (4)
10.0
Standardized Processes (4)
10.0
Inventory tracking (12)
9.1
Automatic reordering (7)
10.0
Location management (10)
9.4
Manufacturing module (12)
9.6
Pricing (12)
9.1
Order entry (13)
9.6
Credit card processing (9)
9.2
Cost of goods sold (13)
9.7
Order Orchestration (2)
10.0
End-to-end order visibility (3)
10.0
Order exception Resolution (3)
10.0
Automated Invoice Processing (3)
9.7
Shared Services Payments (3)
9.7
Billings Management (4)
9.8
Customer Receipt Applications (4)
10.0
Customer Collections (4)
9.7
Revenue Recognition (4)
9.7
Cash Management (4)
9.7
Asset Management (4)
10.0
Travel & Expense Management (3)
10.0
Budgetary Control & Encumbrance Accounting (4)
10.0
Period Close (4)
9.8
Transactions Tax (3)
10.0
Subledger Reconciliations (4)
9.8
3rd Party Accounting Systems (3)
9.7
Budgeting and Forecasting (4)
9.7
Project Costing (4)
9.5
Cost Capture (4)
9.7
Capital Project Management (4)
10.0
Customer Invoicing (4)
10.0
Customer Contract Compliance (4)
10.0
Project Revenue Recognition (3)
10.0
Project Financial Performance Analysis (4)
9.8
Project Financials Dashboard (4)
9.3
Real-time Financial Reporting (4)
9.7
Embedded Business Intelligence (4)
9.3
Project Planning Collaboration (3)
10.0
Project Planning and Scheduling (3)
9.7
Project Manager Dashboard (3)
10.0
Resource Manager Dashboard (3)
9.7
Task Insight for Project Managers (3)
9.7
Project Manager Mobile Functionality (3)
9.7
Team Member Task Collaboration (4)
10.0
Team Member Mobile Functionality (3)
9.3
Project Candidate Search (3)
9.7
Project Candidate Comparison and Analysis (3)
9.7
Defineable Resource Pools (3)
10.0
Defineable Resource Pools (3)
9.3
Talent Profiles (3)
9.3
Real-Time Project Reporting (3)
9.7
Absence Management (3)
9.3
Product Lifecycle Management (3)
9.7
Award Lifecycle Management (3)
10.0
Spending Control (3)
10.0
Indirect Cost Management (2)
10.0
Billing (3)
9.3
Sourcing Team Collaboration (3)
10.0
Sourcing Analysis (3)
9.7
Bids Analyzed and Compared (3)
9.7
Catalog Shopping E-Commerce for Employees (3)
9.3
Contract Authoring (3)
9.3
Contract Compliance Management (3)
9.3
Contract History (3)
9.7
Contract Renewal Automation (3)
9.7
Contract Repository (3)
9.3
Contract Standardization and Enforcement (3)
10.0
Electronic Signatures (3)
9.7
Invoice Automated Matching (3)
9.7
Purchasing Risk and Compliance Management (3)
9.3
Requisitions-to-Purchase Orders Integrated (3)
9.7
Spend Compliance Management (3)
9.7
Supplier Assessment (3)
9.3
Supplier Communication and Collaboration (3)
9.7
Supplier Management (3)
9.7
Supplier Portal (3)
10.0
Risk Repository (3)
9.7
Control Management (4)
9.7
Control Mapping (4)
9.7
Control Efficiency Assessments (3)
9.3
Automated Control Assessments (3)
9.3
Assessment Capture (3)
9.7
Issue Detection (4)
9.8
Automatic Notification (3)
9.7
Remediation and Certification (3)
9.3
Transportation Planning and Optimization (2)
9.0
Transportation Sourcing Management (2)
9.5
Transportation Process Integration (2)
9.5
Transportation Execution Management (2)
9.0
Freight Payment Automation (2)
9.5
Trade Management (2)
9.5
Trade Regulatory Compliance Management (2)
9.5
Customs Entry Management (2)
9.5
Customs Document Management (1)
9
Customs Document Collaboration (2)
9.0
Fulfillment Management (2)
9.5
Inventory Visibility (2)
9.5
Warehouse Workforce Management (2)
9.5
Production Process Design (1)
10
Supply Chain Business Flows (1)
10
Production Management (1)
9
Contracted Manufacturing Management (1)
9
Configuration Management (1)
9
Work Definition (1)
9
Work Execution (1)
9
Advanced Fulfillment (1)
9
Manufacturing Costs (1)
10
Forecasting (1)
10
Inventory Planning (1)
10
Multi-tier Supply Chain Planning (1)
10
Performance Monitoring (1)
10
Ideation Management (1)
9
Requirements Management (1)
10
Proposal Management (1)
9
Innovation Portfolio Management (1)
9
Product Master Data Management (1)
9
Vendor Portal (1)
10
Project Portfolio Management (1)
10

About Microsoft Dynamics NAV

Microsoft Dynamics NAV is one of the ERP products in the Dynamics family.

This is the Navision product acquired by Microsoft in 2002. This product is the best-selling Microsoft ERP platform, and is often used by companies in the manufacturing and distribution verticals.

Microsoft Dynamics NAV Integrations

Microsoft Dynamics NAV Competitors

Microsoft Dynamics NAV Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No