Microsoft Endpoint Manager (Microsoft Intune + SCCM) Reviews

175 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 39)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
January 22, 2021
Sam Othman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are in the process of transitioning from Group Policy over to Microsoft Endpoint Manager. We are using it for controlling our policies and setting up our standard operating environment. as well as application deployment. It allows us to standardize what we are doing and automate IT functions, freeing up valuable resources to be better spent elsewhere.
  • Policy Management
  • Application Deployment
  • Cloud Management
  • Pricing
  • Steep Learning Curve
I would implement Microsoft Endpoint Manager without a doubt in a new startup. Between this and Azure Active Directory, there is limited need for on-prem Group Policy & Active Directory. This would allow full cloud management of the enterprise and less need for on-prem services.

It can be tricky to migrate from on-prem to Microsoft Endpoint Manager within a larger organisation as each individual policy item would need to be implemented one by one and tested thoroughly - but well worth the effort to do this.
Read Sam Othman's full review
January 22, 2021
Dmitry Malafeev | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use MS Intune and SCCM with our Azure cloud solution for all of our offices.
It is great tools to control and monitoring our security, servers and applications.
Manage mobile devices is highly important now days, so now we can manage our phones and tablets in modern way with modern approach.
  • We can add and assign mobile apps to user groups and devices
  • Manage access on personal devices by restricting actions users can do or not
  • Wipe or removing organization data from apps
  • Reporting should be improved
  • Better integration with AV software
  • AI integration with alert notification about unusual user behavior
It is good for mid or ent business. Good interfaces and integration with other MS applications and services.
Nowadays lots of companies use BYOD devices and try to manage them with Systems Center Configuration Manager, which bring some security issues and unconvinced. MS Intune may improve this situation and bring lots of benefits.
For small business it is less appropriate because require licenses and IT professionals to manage.
Read Dmitry Malafeev's full review
September 24, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Intune is used to provide corporate data access via email app and other mobile apps on the mobile device of an employee. Intune enables the use of a personal mobile device to access emails and other official data in a secure environment where the IT team has full control over the flow of information. It is used throughout the organization where employees are eligible for email access via mobile. The business does not have to worry about data leakage and it provide 24/7 access to emails to employees.
  • Device management.
  • Complete control over the flow of information on the mobile device.
  • Allows secure data access on BYOD.
  • Compliance and policy enforcement on the Office apps in mobile.
  • Dashboard customization can be improved.
  • Privacy between personal and office data as i don't want that my company control my phone.
  • Location service could be improved.
  • Enhanced security and integration with other apps.
Intune is suitable for scenarios to manage endpoints such as laptop, desktop, and mobile devices. It allows administrators to set up office email and other apps on the personal mobile device of the employees so that they access corporate data all the time. Administrators have full control of the information flow and they have the option to remotely wipe all the data in case of any compromise. Suitable for providing enterprise mobility and secure access to corporate resources. Not sure about less appropriate scenarios.
Being a Microsoft product, support was good. Out interaction was limited to our in-house IT team which was installing the Intune app in our mobile device. The installation was smooth and we haven't faced any difficulties with the app while using it. Provides a smooth and secure access to all Office 365 apps in mobile while separating the personal and professional data.
Read this authenticated review
February 18, 2020
Randy MacFarland | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for monthly Windows updates, image deployment to workstations, server and application deployment. It's being used in all departments to:
  • Quickly patch/deploy applications all laptops, desktops.
  • Push down new, updated Windows 10 OS versions.
  • OS imaging and deployment via BOOTP across various locations through North America
  • Patch management across various locations through North America
  • Easier to find where something is inside the application.
  • Faster results after patching has been completed, and it takes hours some time to see if a server was patched or something failed to install.
Big companies. Companies over different locations. For less, I would say for small companies it's overkill. A lot of initial setup, expense — Windows Server license, DB server license, Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager (SCCM) license.
I have never used Microsoft support. I took training, and if I can't get something to work, I Google for the error issue.
Read Randy MacFarland's full review
January 25, 2020
Kurt Ferguson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SCCM for application and Windows desktop, laptop, and server patching. We accompany it with the PatchMyPC addons, so we can update the majority of applications we use for end-users.

We also use it to deploy security software.
  • Windows and Office patching: SCCM does this really well. It is efficient, reliable, and easy to schedule. It's quite simple to keep machines updated once they've been registered.
  • Application Deployment: SCCM very effectively deploys application and application updates. We use it very effectively to reinstall our security software if it gets uninstalled or needs to be updated.
  • Reporting: The SQL Reporting Services oriented user-interface is really not particularly user-friendly.
  • Inventory: The inventory function is overly basic and difficult to search. If this were improved to be a legitimate asset management tool, it would tremendously increase the value of SCCM to organizations.
SCCM is awesome for patching and great for application deployment as well. If you use powerful add-ons like PatchMyPC and use Microsoft Azure integration to extend its reach to remote machines, it is truly indispensable.

It may be less so if you don't have the money for those additions. If you already have an effective patching solution that also handles third-party and remote patching, SCCM may not be worth the effort.
Microsoft's support for SCCM is excellent. Premium support is worth it, especially if organizations are managing their SCCM installations with very limited staff.
Read Kurt Ferguson's full review
October 18, 2019
Junie Johwa | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by two departments, enterprise services (e.g Infrastructure Administration, Email, Sharepoint, etc) and Help Desk.
  • Patching lots of computers (in my case 400+) without leaving your seat!! Less administrative overheads.
  • Deploying new machines with a standard image that is the same across the organisation and no one has a different set of image and therefore consistancy within the organsation.
  • Provide a comprehensive inventory of the organisation's computer assets.
  • Provide security auditors with patching compliance reports within the organisation.
  • Driver portals for different PC/Laptop manufactures.
  • There is no dashboard for the executive summary of the organisation's patch levels.
  • Being able to see the downloaded patches (labeled with KB numbers) according to their names on the SCCM server.
Well suited where you have a vulnerability and just push the needed patch without going around each and every computer and addresses issues where the patch was released out of band. This saves valuable time and definitely frees administrators to do other tasks. You can push applications to users without them requiring administrators privileges and therefore still not having to be present!

It's less appropriate when it comes to third-party software patching e.g Winrar, 7Zip, Google Chrome, Firefox and these are not covered by SCCM. I would love for them to be able to extend their patch management to other vendors.
It has made our lives easier and has reduced a substantial amount of time we spend on patching, new machine/laptop provisioning, out of band patches, manually having to go one by one counting our computer assets. It has reduced our travel bill and our remote users get remote assistance from the Help Desk team.
Read Junie Johwa's full review
August 31, 2019
Adam Martin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SCCM is used across our entire organization. We use it for zero-day remediations, as well as large scale package deployments. It saves the company an immense amount of hours wasted for on-site support team members having to manually install packages. We can also pull reports of software versions across our environment and deploy patches accordingly for any PC that's out of compliance.
  • It allows users to install packages from a Self-servicing application via an app called Software Center.
  • It allows for fast remediation of vulnerabilities across your organization.
  • Provides reports for high-level visibility of your environment for upper management.
  • Building a collection and deployment takes some time to learn. It isn't very user intuitive.
  • Getting up to date reports on a deployment isn't a one-click process. It requires triggering multiple events and waiting about 10-15 minutes
  • I wish there was a dashboard feature built into SCCM. I manage the JAMF platform in my environment as well, and this is one of the key features I rely on every day. When I need to pull a report in System Center Configuration Manager it is just clunky.
Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager is needed for any business with 300 or more PCs. It helps maintain application and security patch compliance. I use it for app deployments mostly, but it is also used for monthly security patch deployments by others on my team. The Software Center app is a nice bonus for end-users.
Microsoft support is very quick in assisting with large scale or even smaller-scale issues. They are available 24/7/365 (depending on your support tier contract), which is really nice if your system goes sideways. I've used them a handful of times when something goes wrong. They are always friendly and helpful.
Read Adam Martin's full review
July 29, 2019
Mark Fitzgerald | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SCCM for a number of different use cases including imaging, OS and software deployments, inventory and desktop management. Its primary function is to push new software to the fleet. The benefit is being able to time when and what gets deployed and make it done in an automated fashion. We also use it to manage to patch existing software packages (in conjunction with a product called Ninite).
  • You are able to create queries to identify almost any combination of computers needed.
  • Its direct tie to active directory.
  • It fully leverages Windows functionality.
  • Its mac integrations, though improving, are really not much more than inventory.
  • It could benefit from an enterprise remote control solution more similar to Bomgar or LogMeIn.
  • Its web interface for reporting is very dated.
It is an enterprise. You have to have some level of scale to make this product feasible. It isn't just something you throw into the environment to make your life easier. When you are managing thousands of computers, the equation changes and it is incredibly valuable. It is complex and if not done correctly, it potentially can cause a lot of damage, so make sure you fully understand what you are doing before you press the button.
Read Mark Fitzgerald's full review
November 23, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used both across the whole organization and at the department levels. It is centrally managed by the main IT group in the organization, and then individual departments have their own instance of SCCM to be able to use to manage resources/deploy software, etc. It addresses the business problem of having a central Systems Management solution that can pretty much do most everything, including managing all hardware endpoints, managing software, monitoring, asset management, managing antimalware and firewall policies, etc. in an organization.
  • It has nice GUI's built-in for many of the functions throughout the program. This helps to make it easier for the IT Administrator to be able to utilize certain features/functions when using SCCM.
  • It doesn't use a lot of system resources when running, or even if left open on the server. This is good, as it enables those that work with the program to still be productive with being able to run other programs/software on the server.
  • It has really good remote assistance options built-in. This is particularly helpful for the IT Admin being able to assist end-users over a remote session or to remotely connect to computers. This is also a benefit for organizations that don't have a commercial remote assistance product in place.
  • The program itself can be challenging to use, especially if there hasn't been any formal training on the use of the product. Either training/reviewing documentation is recommended prior to using SCCM.
  • At times, it can be difficult to try and find out why a certain machine that's listed in SCCM says that the endpoint has the SCCM client and shows as Active, but in fact, it's not. It's also difficult at times to try and figure out why the client can't be pushed down to the endpoint.
  • Even though the remote assistance features in SCCM are really good, it can be challenging at times when the remote options don't work for a particular endpoint, even though the machine is active, online, etc.
It is well suited in organizations that are looking for an all-in-one Systems Management solution, that is well-known in the industry, and comes from a vendor that is also well-known, and that offers good support for this kind of product. It is less suited for organizations that want to use something right away, without a whole lot of setup/management on the back-end. This also wouldn't be suited for organizations that don't have funding for their IT folks to get formal training in the use of the product or have the time to read through the documentation, etc.
We have not needed to seek support for this product in the time that we have used it thus far. It's been working really well, and have not had any major issues. Being that it's a Microsoft product, it goes without saying that there will be many support options available if needed. This includes phone, web, forums, KB articles, etc. There is even comprehensive documentation that is available on the web through Microsoft's website for use of the product.
Read this authenticated review
August 02, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
System Center Configuration Manager was used as a solution for OS deployment, remote troubleshooting, and patch management for Windows PCs in our organization. The plan was to use it to manage close to a thousand PCs in total. As the product required an excessive number of man-hours to implement and support, its use was dropped after a year, and an alternative selected. The main goal was to improve OS deployment and replace WDS.
  • Remote Control works well and does not require a lot of configuration. It must be understood that the Remote Control feature of System Center Configuration Manager is different from RDP, as it does not establish a separate user session and allows a tech to troubleshoot issues in a way visible to a user.
  • It is easy to add client devices for management, and multiple options are available (push, Active Directory, etc.)
  • It's modular and extensible. For example, a third-party company, Parallels, makes a System Center Configuration Manager plugin to manage Macs from the same console.
  • Installation is very laborious and complicated. The number of things to manually configure during the installation is incredible.
  • OS deployment is hard to configure and troubleshoot. The Microsoft article on deploying Windows 10 via System Center Configuration Manager in a test environment takes 44 minutes to read (Microsoft's estimate, not mine -- check here: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/deployment/windows-10-poc-sc-config-mgr). If something goes wrong, there are multiple log locations to check on both the server and client, making troubleshooting difficult.
  • The management console looks old, and its performance isn't great. It is often hard to find settings in the console, and it refreshes slowly. The old name for System Center Configuration Manager, SMS, comes to mind often. "Slowly Moving Software."
I know many people have a great experience with System Center Configuration Manager, but it is not suitable for organizations that cannot commit a significant amount of time to configuration and deployment. For example, my organization uses Jamf Pro for Mac management. It took me a couple of days to configure every setting needed for an adequate Mac deployment. System Center Configuration Manager took way longer. Most MSPs in our area do not want to deal with it due to its complexity either. A big organization will find the product more suitable, as configuration tasks are the same whether an organization has 1000 or 10,000 computers, the installation will be more useful with scale. In my case, trying to deploy System Center Configuration Manager as a personal project while doing other tasks was not a success.
Our organization does not pay for Microsoft support, so it was not used in regards to System Center Configuration Manager. Microsoft documentation for the product is good, but there is a lot to read, as it has a large number of features. Organizations with access to Microsoft support will have a better experience with the product than I did.
Read this authenticated review
January 17, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for mobile device management, mobile application management, Mac OS management, and Windows 10 management. I have also converted GPO to Intune Policies for Windows 10 devices. The Bitlocker key is also being managed by Intune. I set up the company portal for self-services application installs.
  • Software deployment.
  • Device wipe.
  • Reporting.
  • User notification for patching/rebooting.
It is well suited if you are an Office 365 shop. The ecosystem and security cannot be matched. Securing data and DLP is built-in or works together. It is a really cost-effective solution for MDM, MAM, and endpoint management.
It is easy to support as an admin, and Microsoft support is very helpful. Also, there is plenty of 3rd party vendors that have support knowledge.
Read this authenticated review
November 21, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We needed to deploy a point of sale on mobile devices and we wanted to have a clear control over what the device could do, so we looked for an MDM.
  • Enrollment process.
  • Application deployment.
  • Many security features.
  • VPN deployment.
  • Device searches.
  • In the tagging of devices by project.
If you need to have control of your mobile or desktop devices to comply with compliance policies and facilitate mass management, this product is for you.
It is an excellent tool that allows you to facilitate the management and raise the level of security, it is great.
Read this authenticated review
July 23, 2019
Eduardo Viero | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, we're using Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager to manage all our Windows assets, from PCs to laptops. Considering we use it across all organization, and we have a dozen of remote sites, some of them with distribution points, I can safely say that we solve basically 2 big business problem: We can manage all of those assets from a single pane of glass, delivering software with software-central feature, managing and keeping a eye on the status of those updates and also saving bandwidth at the same time, because we can deploy those software and updates from that distribution point, avoiding to have every single PC/laptop to download from the Internet itself.
  • You can run an inventory of your assets, from PCs to laptops, grouping them by location, type, department, all tight to your own Active Directory. That saves a lot of time when you need to report the status of hardware and software. You can even manage alerts to inform you when some hardware change has happened, which could possibly lead to a robbery.
  • You can centralize software distribution, controlling what kind of software is available for your organization, and here's the most important part: you can give end-users the power to install/remove that software by themselves. That way, you can avoid a ticket to your service desk and potentially save money on those tickets too.
  • Also, due to the distributed architecture of the product, you can deploy a component of the system in each remote site you have. Thanks to that, you can avoid using the bandwidth of the remote site, which usually is already limited, to download software/updates to each PC locally. You just need to download once for the distribution point it will deliver locally. You can also avoid the risk of having your local WAN to be contested by some unexpected outdated PC that was just connected to your network.
  • The licenses can be expensive if you are a small organization. Make sure you have a good deal with your Microsoft partner.
  • Deal with collections can be a little hard sometimes. Collections are the say the product classify or organize the groups. As the concept is a little different from what we're used to, like Active Directory Organizational Units or Security Groups, etc., it's best if you spend some time studying this before you deploy the product in your organization, especially if your organization has severy business or business units and remote sites.
  • You don't have as much product specialists as you have for other Microsoft products like MS Exchange, for example. So, make sure you hire a partner that have the skills needed to help you during the deploy of the product. Indeed, it is a complex product and it demands attention to details to avoid frustration in the future. People tend to save money on the implementation phase and that leads to frustration and, in some cases, projects cancellation due to underestimation of the requirements of the product.
Seems obvious, but if your organization's assets are all based on Microsoft Windows, this is the right product for you. If you have mixed environments, with most of the computers running Linux or Mac, I don't think you'll have the same results. Unfortunately, I can't say much about that, because my experience is only based on a full Windows environment, and honestly, I didn't waste to much time paying attention to other operating systems.
Read Eduardo Viero's full review
March 14, 2019
Valery Mezentsau | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At my current and previous companies, I have used System Center Configuration Manager as one of the main tools to manage my IT infrastructure. From simple management of active directory users and computers to detailed inventorying of windows equipment (computers and server), software inventorying, software deployments and patch management. Also, it is used as a main endpoint protection solution that includes centrally managed Windows Defender and ATP. We use System Center Configuration Manager as one of the main monitoring tools to get reports of the Windows patching state, device availability and activity, to get information about what PCs users are using at a current time. Using as the only solution to capture and image new and existing workstations and servers. And, also SCCM is the main remote control/assistance tool for our help desk department.
  • We have mostly Windows environments, so SCCM provides us tons of monitoring options for computers and servers.
  • SCCM saves a lot of time and money for our Help Desk team to provide remote assistance to end users.
  • In a Windows 10 environment, SCCM provides pretty decent endpoint protection.
  • Patch management: tons of options of management, deployment, and monitoring.
  • Systems Imaging: deploying images to new PCs or servers, reimaging existed environment.
  • And of course, systems inventorying (hardware and software).
  • Initial configuration is pretty much complex and requires some additional time for preparation and deployment.
  • It would be awesome to have Patch management and endpoint security be moved to separate tabs in the SCCM management console.
  • Imaging functionality is great but over-complicated, and sometimes simple processes take way longer compared to regular WDS services.
  • Better reporting and monitoring services with customized charts.
  • Better integration of SCCM patching services with Windows Updates services on Windows 10. Sometimes it is almost impossible to say if patches were installed on Windows 10 via SCCM deployment until you get that information within SCCM management console.
  • Requires a lot of learning about the product for IT personnel.
This is a great work frame for managing your IT infrastructure. Tons of different options to configure systems, to manage software inventorying and deployments, patch management, systems imaging, etc. It is too hard to find a similar solution with the same number of features and options under the single management console. However, you still need to get third-party products to manage your network and Unix/Linix systems. And, of course, you need to be prepared before starting to use SCCM, it requires a lot of knowledge of the product and predeployment work to be done in advance.
Read Valery Mezentsau's full review
March 07, 2019
Michael Timms | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My former company used System Center Configuration Manager for software deployment, Imaging, and Microsoft updates. It was used across the entire enterprise, but my department only used it for imaging and application deployment. Before SCCM we were using Landesk, which I preferred greatly. That being said, SCCM does work well, as long as it is configured correctly. I would recommend it, but it would not be my first choice for deployment or imaging software.
  • Imaging from PXE boot, and it can be configured for remote imaging. Any IT department that has ever imaged 100 or more workstations with a CD and external drive knows that this is a strength.
  • Application deployment. Sccm can be configured with a software store where end users can install the software they need.
  • Update deployment, updates can be deployed on a set schedule with SCCM.
  • Imaging. I know that I gave this as a plus, but this is also a drawback too. Images take much longer to deploy via SCCM than they do with FOG or Landesk.
  • The system itself is a huge learning curve and takes a great deal of configuration to make it work correctly.
  • Remote Desktop Tool -- Microsoft already has a remote desktop tool, so why include almost the exact same one in your VERY expensive management suite?
Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager would be best suited in a large scale enterprise with multiple locations, and plenty of money to spread around. Also, you need an IT team that knows how to research to set it up and configure it correctly. It works well and you can make it do pretty much what you need it to do IF you are willing to put in the time and research to configure it correctly. If you are a smaller company, with say, one location though, there are much cheaper alternatives that have the same, if not more features.
Read Michael Timms's full review
March 20, 2019
Angel Swalve | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
System Center Configuration Manager (SCCM)is being used across the whole organization on all of our Windows computers and our dual booted Mac computers. SCCM addresses the problem of having to have more employees to be available for hands on installing and updating any software that SCCM allows the user to do without another employee finding time to do it for them.
  • SCCM allows our administrator to push updates remotely and does not require our staff to do anything to install software/updates etc.
  • SCCM lets us control licenses to software by allowing our administrator to only push out software to staff members when requested instead of allowing all staff to choose software from a list. Prevents unauthorized usage of licenses to software.
  • SCCM allows periodic software updates to be scheduled even when our staff are not at their computers, because it does not require staff actions.
  • SCCM takes a long time to install once a computer has been reimaged and sometimes it fails.
  • When the SCCM server goes down, no one is able to install anything and causes staff to be frustrated.
  • There isn't a communication tool that tells users that new software has finished installing. Staff have to keep checking for software they requested to be installed to verify it was installed.
SCCM provides our company a great support tool allowing our administrator to work behind the scenes and eliminates the staff it would take to touch each computer individually to install software and updates.
It is less appropriate for communication as it does not notify user once software has been updated or installed.
Read Angel Swalve's full review
February 01, 2019
Yamileth Cabrera Rendon | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use this tool to connect with my team remotely, and it has allowed us to have all the necessary information in an organized way and to have the documents ready to share quickly and safely. This harnessing has allowed me to build a real and very useful database, and allows me to establish service level objectives, review them, and generate associated reports.
In general, it has allowed me to automate some processes associated with personnel management.
  • It allows me to increase the response capacity to the requirements of the users to keep the information organized and accessible.
  • It allows me to build a really reliable database.
  • It allows me to automate processes and establish a single point of contact per user.
  • It is a very good tool to generate follow-up reports.
  • It is not an easy tool to use, it has many functions and tends to confuse the naked eye.
  • The implementation is a bit slow.
I recommend it for:
  • As a business management tool for large corporations with teams in different locations or places or doing remote work.
  • Following up on requests and generating reports of satisfaction.
  • If you need to organize and automate your processes.
I do not recommend it for:
  • If they need a quick implementation.
  • A small company with few work roles.
Read Yamileth Cabrera Rendon's full review
July 25, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Across all of IT, SCCM is used for deployment of software as well as Windows patching. It is used for both server patches as well as workstation patches—both laptop and desktop—on a monthly basis. It handles the patch process much more efficiently than its predecessor here—WSUS.
  • It's easy to group machines into separate categories, such as servers and workstations, or more in-depth categories, such as location X workstations and location Y servers, to easily target them for patches.
  • Sending software to a workstation through SCCM is simple!
  • Patching can be handled with bandwidth restrictions in mind, letting only X% of the wire be used for patching and even allowing the patches to go to a specific downstream server at a location to let all local workstations leech from there instead of the web or WAN.
  • It takes time to implement SCCM. Take advantage of an integration company whenever possible.
  • Its capabilities are broad and can go so deep that it takes a while to understand just a portion of it. Get training whenever possible.
  • Reporting is useful but could be expanded to more of a Power BI capability.
Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager is great for companies of all sizes, national or international. Its scalability and pinpoint accuracy can be used in all scenarios. However, use downstream servers as distribution points to save on bandwidth and ensure timely updates and easier deployment of individual software packages.
Read this authenticated review
March 18, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager (SCCM) globally across over 40 countries and over 15000 clients on Windows Operating Systems. It is our enterprise software deployment solution as well as software management for enterprise wide desktops and servers. We have previously used WSUS and Altaris but SCCM allowed us to combine them into a single seamless platform providing us with much greater scalability as well as better reporting of software deployment and management status.
  • Consistent deployment of software across the enterprise with coherent reporting tools for better management of software and patching delivery.
  • Highly scale-able for large enterprises and/or geographically dispersed organizations.
  • Great value added for large Microsoft-centric organizations that heavily leverage Microsoft systems and software.
  • Minimal administration required to maintain the system over the years once deployed despite the complexity of initial setup.
  • Complexity of initial deployment requires 6 to 8 months of planning and preparation. This is one of those projects that will take a year to implement.
  • Managing user roles in the system can be made easier with use of templates and a more robust role management tool.
  • System and agent upgrades as well as patching the SCCM back-end systems should be easier.
  • Offer a hybrid cloud-based solution with pre-built models and templates for faster deployment and appeal to mid-size enterprises.
SCCM is great for large global organizations with over 10,000 devices to manage or more. It is an excellent choice for a Microsoft-centric environment and pretty much the gold standard to for software deployment and patch management for Microsoft operating system devices. If you have a more mixed environment with Linux and Mac OS X, you may want to look at Altiris or WSUS, but keep in mind those products are less scalable.
Read this authenticated review
February 28, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager is used by our IT Operations department to create, deploy software packages for homegrown applications, commonly used software and windows update on desktop, laptops, and servers. It provides IT Asset Management capabilities as well as software inventory and auditing. The remote control feature is used by PC support for remote access and support solution.
  • Managing Windows Environments for patching, software deployment, and Inventory.
  • Automation of software deployment.
  • Imaging of devices.
  • Asset reporting.
  • The SCCM console is a bit outdated. Needs an improvement.
  • Better reporting, we have to rely on other monitoring tools for software and hardware inventory.
  • Configuration and setup of SCCM can be quite challenging if you have never performed this.
Well Suited:
  • System Center Endpoint Protection (SCEP) product enables you to manage and take advantage of Microsoft's built-in security products.
  • For our Desktop Support team, using the remote client to log in to PCs to troubleshoot Issue.
  • Easy for patch management and package deployment. Easy to create packages/collections and create dynamic groups for software deployment.
Less Appropriate:
  • Reporting.
  • Documentation and Training. Software and Licensing of the product are cheap, professional services are not.
Support is good and gets the work done.
Read this authenticated review
June 19, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager is used for imaging our computers, but it is also used to deploy policies and software packages to specific users or groups.

By utilizing Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager, the IT admins spend less time manually installing applications for our end users. It allows us to centrally manage what is being deployed to the computers in our environment and run reports on the computers and what is installed on them.
  • Centrally managing applications, configuration settings and policies makes it easier to deploy. So when someone requests an application or is missing the application, I can jump on the Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager console and add them to the software deployment and generally within the hour, the application is installed on their computer. It can be manually forced to pull the change as well if you don't want to wait up to an hour.
  • Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager does take a lot of time to learn and manage. There are a lot of bits and pieces to keep up to date (software packages, drivers, OS builds, computer model packages). It is not something that you can easily pickup and start configuring. And with automation, making a mistake can cause the scripts to take days instead of hours.
  • There are frequently update failures. I understand many of these are configuration problems on our end or that the state of the computer is such that the updates cannot be pushed to it. But I feel like it happens a bit much.
I think it works well enough and helps a lot for a number of scenarios in IT. However, make sure you understand the task ahead and how many hours it will take to maintain. The trade off might not be as good as you think.
Read this authenticated review
February 01, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization is basically using SCCM to deploy some applications remotely, keep a record of each machine we have deployed to users, which is a must have to any organization and also for patching endpoint computers. This last feature would be perfect if it worked consistently, but there are a few complaints.
  • Software deployment - SCCM allow you to silently deploy software to your users without leaving your desk.
  • You can keep track of each machine you deployed.
  • Even though is not perfect, the patching feature is still very helpful.
  • Patching with SCCM is now 100% guaranteed. Sometimes it gets stuck with some patches, other times the patches simply won't show up, but this is just for approximately 10-20% of the devices.
  • For some other features, they could make the path more straight forward, sometimes you need to spend some time in order to find what you want.
  • Sometimes it takes longer for the software you deploy to show up to the user's machine, but that is not an issue, it's kind of 1 in 50 deployments and it just takes a little more time but works.
Well, in my opinion, SCCM is a good tool for any kind of scenario, but if I had to choose I would say it's great mostly for big companies that have hundreds of employees. I wouldn't say SCCM is really needed for small companies with just a few employees where you can do deployments and upgrades manually.
Read this authenticated review
May 01, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is very effective for simple tasks such as pushing out Windows updates, Defender updates, and a large array of other software. We have also started using it for servicing Windows 10 computers. With the modern life cycle of Windows 10 being more aggressive then past versions, it has been extremely handy to use Windows 10 servicing to keep our computers running the latest builds of Windows 10.
  • Windows 10 servicing.
  • Endpoint protection policies and updates.
  • Reporting.
  • Surface Driver updates seem flaky.
  • Sometimes needs some TLC to keep Microsoft SCCM and WSUS happy.
  • Menu structure sometimes gets a little confusing.
Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager isn't too useful for smaller companies. But with businesses of 100+ users and PCs, it is very handy. It allows you to report on and manage all of those PCs. I can easily push out new software to certain PCs. and ensure they are always fresh with either the latest updates or latest builds of Windows.
Read this authenticated review
March 14, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using SCCM across our entire company for software distribution, update/patching of workstations & servers, compliance settings for various items as well as reporting. It allows us to ensure our software and operating systems are up to date as well as ensures we are meeting certain requirements for baseline configurations.
  • Operating system deployments via SCCM are fantastic. They allow for robust settings in various formats and allows us to easily deploy new computers.
  • OS patching made easy. The patching process for our environment is a breeze when using SCCM. We're able to easily roll out patches to test environments and subsequently apply them to production
  • Software Deployments. There are so many options for deploying software that it's hard to find a replacement for SCCM. The ability to deploy to a user or computer is a wonderful feature. Not to mention having the ability to create a catalog where users can request/get software as needed.
  • Currently, we have no complaints with regards to SCCM.
The features and benefits of using SCCM are too hard to describe in detail but at a high-level overview the reporting, inventory, patching, management, and software/OSD options make this a wonderful investment. With regards to reporting, specifically finding out all hardware information for a group of computers, is vital to operations when planning for hardware refresh cycles. And having the ability to PXE boot a computer, give it a name, start the imaging process, and have it complete all the steps on its own saves hours of time.
Read this authenticated review
February 22, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Excellent tool for centralized and standardized configurations and software distribution. This tool is based on AD authentication like the rest of the Microsoft products and makes sending enterprise-wide updates automatically or manually a breeze. Metered usage for software, as well as built-in reporting, is excellent as well. Due to the popularity of the tool, there are enough resources online to get help on most issues.
  • We are using it for software distribution.
  • AD based user access.
  • Web-based.
  • Allow custom icons.
  • Reboot notifications.
  • Better reporting.
It well suited for most organizations where standardization is a need. The learning curve can be steep at times, but once it's fully implemented, it's well worth the effort. Ongoing premier support might be expensive for smaller companies. The baseline implementation has to be done right from the ground up.
Read this authenticated review

What is Microsoft Endpoint Manager (Microsoft Intune + SCCM)?

Microsoft Endpoint Manager, combining the capabilities of the former Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager, SCCM or ConfigMgr with the mobile device management application Microsoft Intune, is presented as a unified endpoint management option.

The former Microsoft Intune is an endpoint management solution for mobile devices, an MDM solution that allows the user to securely manage iOS, Android, Windows, and macOS devices with a single endpoint management solution.

The component Endpoint Configuration Manager (the former SCCM) is a system monitoring and management platform that can be deployed as an agent, via the cloud, or on-premises. It can manage systems across OS types (Windows, Mac, Linux), as well as multiple environments, including servers, virtual environments, and mobile devices from a single management console, and supports scaling capabilities, such as future application delivery.

The platform includes a customizable reporting tool to inform future business software decisions. It also enables endpoint protection from malware and vulnerability identification within the monitored systems and infrastructure.

Microsoft Endpoint Manager (Microsoft Intune + SCCM) Integrations

Microsoft Endpoint Manager (Microsoft Intune + SCCM) Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Microsoft 365 For Families9.99per month
Microsoft 365 For Individuals6.99per month
Microsoft 365 Business Basic$5per user/per month
Microsoft 365 Business Standard12.50per user/per month
Microsoft 365 Business Premium$15per user/per month
Microsoft 365 Apps8.25per user/per month

Microsoft Endpoint Manager (Microsoft Intune + SCCM) Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No