Microsoft Exchange Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
464 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 44)

Mark Metz | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 18, 2019

An Administrator's General Guide to the Pros and Cons of Exchange.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It provides a means for interfacing with other applications such as trouble ticketing systems or other third-party applications.
  • There really is no other tool that allows for near-instant communications between users with all the options available for managing them.
  • The only negative that would be the fact that there really is not fallback in place. Once everyone is using the Exchange, you really have not options to consider other alternatives down the road. Where that really becomes a problem is you are at the mercy of Microsoft when they make changes they may or may not be beneficial. There are many times they deploy updates or patches that you must deploy but find they have not been fully vetted.
Read Mark Metz's full review
Andrew Shannon | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2020

Exchange on Premise good for companys with 75+ employees

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • On the positive side, the ROI of exchange has helped reduce our email hosting costs, while allowing my users to have very large inboxes, which would have cost us lots of money in a hosted environment.
  • On the positive side, of ROI, being able to control our spam filter and blocking rules has probably saved us from being hacked and spammed countless times.
  • On the negative side of ROI, upgrading can be costly because you are supposed to buy a whole new server every time you want to use the next version of Exchange that comes out, which can be costly, and usually happens every 3 years. We usually only upgrade every 6 years.
Read Andrew Shannon's full review
Zakarieya Abderoef | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 20, 2019

My Experience with MS Exchange Server

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The company saved lots of money by running MS Exchange on-premise since adding mailboxes was easy and at no additional cost.
  • Supporting MS Exchange is not that difficult as there are many courses available both onsite at formal training institutions and online. Also due to its popularity there are tons of forums and support sites where information can be found to assist administrators in resolving issues.
  • Integrating MS Exchange with 3rd-party tools was quite simple saving the company time and money to implement spam filters and antivirus software designed for MS Exchange
Read Zakarieya Abderoef's full review
Jane Updegraff | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2019

MS Exchange is still the gold standard on-premise email server

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We've experienced extremely low ongoing costs associated with handling email because we bought our on-prem Exchange servers and paid for the hardware and licensing upfront. We own it and it has run effectively and well for many years with no additional costs other than electricity and maintenance. It's still a cost-effective model. it just requires that you buy everything upfront.
  • We spend very little time managing Exchange because we utilize a third-party spam filter/email defense product that filters out most of the garbage before it ever even reaches Exchange. So it's one of those products that, for us, is just always there and just working in the background without us having to do much other than routine patching. Anything that just works as it should is an unexpected pleasure.
Read Jane Updegraff's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2019

MS Exchange on-prem. The real deal.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Search engine capabilities. Being able to search for an email in your inbox since the day you started your job, is essential to fast and efficient business needs.
  • Reliable email delivery and meeting bookings.
  • Zero downtime for maintenance. Customers come to rely on the fact that our Exchange system has not been down since its implementation.
Read this authenticated review
Christopher Kaldenberg | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 26, 2019

Microsoft Exchange - "Best of the Best" Mail Server

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We are actively using and consuming the Exchange mail server platform and our user and mail volume scale is a moving target. The ROI is a break-even scenario to get the job done.
  • We might see a bigger return if we had more mobile users, but that's just not how we are structured.
  • Our setup is premise-based, so we have very little external work-from-home users that would increase our benefits of Exchange's mobility tools.
Read Christopher Kaldenberg's full review
Matt Graf | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 26, 2019

Microsoft Exchange is a great storage solution.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Microsoft Exchange has been great because we can store files where they can be accessed and shared easily.
  • Allows us to have more security with our files and helps prevent file loss.
  • It has been a great ROI because we are able to store all our files and access them easily at a reasonable cost.
Read Matt Graf's full review
Ian Hansen | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 26, 2019

Exchange is Powerful and Useful

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Increased visibility to important communication (and less clutter)
  • Meetings are scheduled and organized centrally
  • Time has been saved due to complex filtering and mail transport rules
Read Ian Hansen's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 10, 2019

A Great Product But It's Being Left Behind by the Cloud

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • There have been hiccups and downtime with our on-premise installation but overall the local installation has saved us money in the long run versus paying a monthly fee for ~125 mailboxes.
  • Our internet service likes to take mid-day breaks every so often. Having a local Exchange server allows us to continue to communicate internally and manage meetings, presentation, and other events at our site.
  • Despite the overall good that Exchange has provided our organization it is a time suck. Managing the server, spam appliance, backups, and storage space is a constant battle and has taken away from some of our other initiatives. This is not specific to Exchange but any on-premise email server.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 03, 2019

Excellent email solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Improved process agility
  • Manage emails more secure and more easy
  • Improved costumer relations
  • Possibility to work remote
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Anti-malware (22)
6.2
Cusomizability (25)
7.4
Data Loss Protection (21)
7.8
Threat Detection (23)
6.6
Sandboxing (13)
5.4
End-to-End Encryption (19)
6.5
Management Tools (26)
8.0

About Microsoft Exchange

Microsoft Exchange is a secure email / messaging gateway with file archiving and encryption / data loss capability, available as a hosted service (Exchange Online) or installed (Exchange Server).

Microsoft Exchange Integrations

NovaBACKUP, Turbonomic (formerly VMTurbo)

Microsoft Exchange Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No