Microsoft Office 2016 Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
955 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 56)

Jacob Wall | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2020

Microsoft Office 2016: Full-featured, industry-standard, & does what you need it to!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire office uses the Microsoft Office 2016 suite on a daily basis as follows:
  • Outlook for all internal and a considerable amount of external communication
  • Word to create internal & external documentation
  • Excel to view, edit and manipulate data files, as well as other administrative tasks
  • Access to edit and manipulate data and prepare large amounts of data for import into our software
The four departments in our company use various applications from Microsoft Office 2016 daily for a variety of tasks.
  • Provide industry-standard software to create & edit the most common file types
  • Create visually appealing newsletters & documents
  • Maintain consistency across different tasks & projects
  • Create documents that are universally usable by nearly all computer users
  • It's sometimes too "idiot-proof". It tries to do everything for you, even if you don't want it done; e.g. Excel has an issue where it likes to trim leading zeros, which is seldom convenient.
  • Some new features are available only in the online version (Office 365); e.g. some productivity plugins for Outlook.
  • Locks files for use; kind of like point #1. Often, it would be nice to keep a file open while using it in another application, especially when the other application is only reading and not editing.
Microsoft Office 2016 is very well suited for an office where most work is done on desktop computers, and collaboration is done over shared drives or Sharepoint. If offers a full suite of office products that set the industry standard not only for the applications but also for file types, meaning you can count on anyone being able to open and use the files you use.

The suite would be less appropriate where more online collaboration is needed, with real-time collaborative editing of documents. An online office suite would likely be more suitable in that case. (I suspect people in their 20s may be more comfortable with this approach in any case.)
Read Jacob Wall's full review
Michael Kim | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 11, 2020

Office 2016 - Somewhat new look, some new features, required for the Office!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Office 2016 is being used across the whole organization. Within Legal, we use Microsoft Word to draft and negotiate agreements and other legal documents. Microsoft Office addresses many business problems, such as standardization of review internally, ease of transferability, secured tracking of changes, collaboration, presentations, tracking, reporting, etc. Many departments are using Microsoft Excel to track agreements, renewal dates, obligations, etc. Other departments also use Microsoft PowerPoint for internal or external business presentations.
  • The Microsoft suite is ubiquitous within any tech company and is used by a majority of our vendors. This makes negotiation on Microsoft Word smoother, and we don't need to worry about format issues between Open Office and Microsoft Office since our vendors are all on Microsoft Office.
  • Office 2016 does not crash as often as previous versions, and the autosave feature works very well. The new features and new look are great.
  • There should be auto-formatting so that when we paste from other documents, it formats outlines automatically. Sometimes, it's very difficult to format into a nice-looking document due to various spacing issues or hidden paragraphs.
  • There are frustrations when converting a PDF to Microsoft Word from Adobe Acrobat. A ton of spacing issues, incorrect text conversions, etc., which ends up in a lot of manual work. Microsoft Word should have a good conversion tool to turn PDFs into clean Word copies.
Office 2016 is well suited for companies and teams that frequently send documents, slide decks, and spreadsheets to each other and/or to their vendors. Some companies can make do with using the Google Suite (Google Docs, Sheets, and Slides), but it can get difficult to track the sharing of documents to maintain confidentiality with those. You can control the sharing/sending of documents through the Microsoft Office 2016 suite.
Read Michael Kim's full review
Jesse White | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2020

As a Mac user, some Office features are out of our reach, which is problematic

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft Office for word processing, spreadsheets, presentations, and emails. I have always been a Microsoft user and prefer Office products to Google Suite, mainly because I like having documents right on my computer instead of only existing in the cloud. Everyone in our company uses Office, and we try to use Office with as many of our clients as possible.
  • Word processing.
  • Spreadsheets.
  • Email management.
  • Pricing.
The areas where Microsoft Office shines, at least within our organization, are word processing and spreadsheets. We use Microsoft Word and Microsoft Excel on a regular basis for virtually all office tasks. Microsoft Word, in particular, is hands-down the best word processing software around, and we would never use anything else.
One area where Microsoft Office really needs to step up its innovation is with email management. We used Outlook for a long time, but have recently moved over to Canary Mail. The main problem is that we manage over a dozen email accounts for clients, and there is no way of looking at a unified inbox with some sort of color-coding or another unique identifier to easily see incoming mail. Like many creative-oriented companies, we use Macs exclusively, which means we are definitely missing out on substantial features that are only available on the PC version.
Read Jesse White's full review
Naveen Gabrani | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 21, 2020

Microsoft Office: Most popular software in the world

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft Office within some of the teams to make/read documents, presentations and spreadsheets.
Many of our clients share Office documents to share project requirements. We use Office to read these documents. We also use Office to create status documents, quotes and other business specific documents. We also share documents prepared using Office within the company.
  • Microsoft Word's formatting of documents is very powerful.
  • No other product comes close to the feature set of Office. Very comprehensive.
  • Office is a heavy software. At times it can be slow to load, especially if the machine is not very high-end, or if many applications are running.
Microsoft Office is the industry leader in document editing software. All the products are very powerful, and industry standard. The feature set of the products is very vast. Microsoft PowerPoint is well suited to make client presentations. Excel's formula editor is very powerful. The most popular office tool is Microsoft Word. It is suitable for making different type of documents across industries across different business sizes. Many other tools are able to read documents generated by Microsoft Office.

It is less suited for very simple documents. Cheaper/free alternatives are available, if your requirements are for very basic document development.
Read Naveen Gabrani's full review
Stéfano Bellote | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2020

MS Office is the Suite to answer nearly all your office needs!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The whole suite of Microsoft Office 2016 is available for use all across the company I work for, we have access to the main apps (Word, Excel, Powerpoint, Outlook and OneNote) and all is integrated through the OneDrive cloud and Sharepoint connectivity, making it possible to instantly share files and cooperate with other users simultaneously on folders and also on the same file. This addresses many of the needs we have regarding documentation, data sheets, presentation, and taking notes and sharing information all through the organization.
  • Friendly and intuitive interface, easy to use, the help function is also useful to find out what to do or how to do something when encountering a problem.
  • Lots of tools available for nearly every need you have creating documents, whether formatting text, images or graphics, creating tables, plotting graphs, etc.
  • Having so many tools can sometimes be overwhelming, maybe if MS could still offer them -- of course they are useful -- but make them hidden in an expandable drawer of tools for example. Maybe having the most-used tools visible and the rest hidden like that.
  • Formatting with Word can sometimes be confusing, while formatting the text and space between lines, paragraphs and other things, the instructions to find and getting the format you want could be clearer.
The whole suite of Microsoft Office 2016 is definitely a great all-around solution for your business, offering a wide range of tools for nearly every need you could encounter, from creating text documents, publications, data analysis, plotting graphs, making presentations, sharing files all through the organization, communicating with your colleagues and people outside the company, and even managing tasks and projects. Whatever you have to do, name it, MS Office can help you with that, and even though the cost is high it has continually improved itself in newer versions, incorporating functions that users expressed a need for. All of this puts Microsoft Office top-of-mind when thinking of office apps to recommend.
Read Stéfano Bellote's full review
Robbie Speers | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2019

Office 2016 still works great

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used by almost all users across our organization. It addresses the business problems such as various bugs with Office 2013 (or Office 2011 for Mac). Specifically with Outlook, I've noticed an improvement in performance. We utilize an Exchange Server with 2FA turned on, and Office 2016 works best with this. So we needed to get every updated to this version. For Macs, it solves a problem with Outlook 2011 not being user-friendly and users had to use Mac Mail or our web client. Now they can use Outlook 2016 and see shared mailboxes (something not available in Mac Mail).
  • Improved Outlook for PC and Mac.
  • Faster.
  • Have experienced bugs with saving to OneDrive that were a pain to work around.
  • Sometimes Outlook just freezes up for no reason when clicking between emails.
While not perfect, it's ideal for a big business. If you have a lot of users you can get a business/educational license and possibly get discounts. It works best for an Exchange server with 2FA turned on. If you plan to utilize OneDrive on Mac for Office 2016 there are still some bugs to be worked out but there are ways around them.
Read Robbie Speers's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2020

Best standalone Office suite available

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Office 2016 is being used both at the organization level and also the departmental level. It is mainly used by those that cannot/choose not to run a subscription Office product (such as Office 365). This is also used in cases where there are shared computers (such as a kiosk), where the subscription-based Office will not work. It addresses the business problem of having an Office application suite that would be best for the situations mentioned above.
  • One thing is does well is it offers live/real-time collaboration. This is especially helpful when there are multiple users working on documents, etc. and changes can be made in real-time, without having to close files.
  • Another benefit with Office 2016 is it's integrated with the cloud. This makes it beneficial to users, in that they can store and share files from the cloud (with applications such as OneDrive, Sharepoint, etc.), and can work with these files even in offline mode
  • One area for improvement is in the upfront expense of licensing. Since the licensing is a one-time purchase (and is not subscription-based), the cost of a license is pretty expensive. The cost of licensing should be cheaper, especially given the fact that this Office 2016 may be used by those that don't need the full functionality of a subscription-based product such as Office 365.
  • The support options are lacking, as compared to a subscription-based product such as Office 365. Support is only available when installing Office 2016. Given the expensive upfront cost of licensing, support should be extended somewhat past the install stage
Microsoft Office 2016 is well suited for companies/organizations that want the Office products, and either don't have a need to have a subscription-based product or don't want to pay the ongoing costs for a license subscription. It is less suited for organizations that want an Office product that will get the latest software updates/patches/feature upgrades, as Office 2016 is not geared for that. It is a one-time purchase, and for users to upgrade to the next version, they would have to buy a license for that.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2020

The joys of Microsoft Office 2016

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Office 2016 is used by all the users with the company. The majority of users have been using this for a long period of time and have found Office 2016 a great tool and a great way of working with office tools. Office allows users to use Powerpoint, Excel and a wide range of Microsoft applications.
  • The range of products that are provided!
  • The products are easy to use!
  • The products provided work well together.
  • Installation can be annoying sometimes.
  • Some applications take an extremely long time to update.
  • Skype for business shouldn't be used anymore.
Microsoft Office 2016 has always allowed us to use Microsoft applications, and it can be used by everyone within the organization. It has provided us with all of the Microsoft applications and all users on Apple or Windows have been able to use it without any issues. The implementation of Microsoft Teams has allowed us to be able to use and incorporate a wider range of Microsoft products.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2020

Microsoft Office 2016 - gets work done!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Office 2016 is being used across our organization. We use Microsoft Word 2016 to draft documents and Microsoft Excel 2016 for simple spreadsheets containing tabular data, as well as for more complex VBA code, pivot tables, and data analysis. We also use Microsoft PowerPoint 2016 to prepare presentations and Microsoft Outlook 2016 as our primary email client. Since Microsoft Office 2016 is a suite of applications, it helps to support a variety of business-critical functions.
  • Clean and simple interface shared across applications.
  • Application is locally installed but able to integrate well with cloud storage.
  • Microsoft Excel 2016 can struggle when parsing lots of data and with lookups and custom sorts applied.
  • Subscription/License levels means not all applications in suite are available to all.
Microsoft Office 2016 is well suited for a general office environment. It runs on Microsoft Windows and macOS operating systems, but it not available on Linux. It is lightweight and has a very friendly user interface. Sometimes the help sections can get unnecessarily intrusive. Lots of online templates can make work easier to get done. Microsoft PowerPoint 2016 allows free form slides.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 30, 2019

MS Office 2016 - new features below expectations but still a wonderful product

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Like any other big organisation Microsoft Office 2016 is a suite of core applications that are used from managing email in Outlook to writing documents in MS Word, creating complex worksheets in MS Excel to presenting your work in visual style using Power Point. Using MS Access to data management and automation is also extremely valuable among data analysts. For a company like us there's no alternative to MS Office in the market.
  • Microsoft Word is the best available software to write from simple to complex documents.
  • Microsoft Excel is best available software to create complex calculations worksheets, data visualisation and dashboards.
  • There are still some compatibility issue between MS Windows and MS Office 2016 especially, 64bit version. Quite a few errors occur when power users push the productivity a little by using MS Office scripting language (VBA) and Macros . Also, the data connectivity between MS Access and Excel is quite unreliable. Work needs to be done to make the connectivity between different components of MS Office 2016 seamless.
  • MS Excel is severely lacking behind in the current age of data science. Its static charts with very limited interactivity is seriously lagging behind in data visualisation features when competing with products like Tableau, Spotfire, etc.
Currently, there are no alternatives that offer the same or even half of the level of productivity that MS Office 2016 does. It is by far the most used software for work-related tasks. There are some open source products that try to match MS Office but they have yet to gain any space in the corporate workplace.

MS Office is being used in the corporate world since 1995. It has almost 25 years of user base that have grown with time. It's an ideal product to manage modern-day work tasks such as email and appointment management, creating documents, managing data both in worksheet (MS Excel) and database (MS Access) environments. Its integration with cloud (One Drive) is also proving to be a big selling point for its users.

Although MS Office 2016 is an excellent product, it does lack significantly when it comes to syncing your work between a PC and a mobile device. Same issue comes when a worksheet or a document needs to be worked by multiple users at the same time. For such tasks some cloud services offer better alternatives.

Data visualisation using MS Excel is also very outdated when comparing with software which specialise in data science and visualisation.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 29, 2019

Excellent for document creation

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Office 2016 is being used across the whole organization to support document development with Word, Excel, PowerPoint, and OneNote. A live, collaborative platform is usually preferred but when it cannot be used like in the instance of external teams these tools are sufficient. It addresses the issue of sharing documents in a consistent way for external teams. It allows for document creation, robust formatting, and sharing.
  • Document creation.
  • Formatting (Word).
  • Formatting (when exported from Google Docs).
  • Formatting (when fonts are not available in Word).
Microsoft Office 2016 (Word, Excel, PowerPoint, and OneNote) is well suited for creating documents. With Word, it is well suited to create professional-looking documents and proposals. Excel is great to create robust equations. Microsoft Office 2016 (Word, Excel, PowerPoint, and OneNote) is less appropriate when creating documents that you want to collaborate on. In this instance, a user would have to save, share and then resave any additional changes made. Version control is challenging, time-consuming and inefficient.

Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2020

MS Office 2016 Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Office 2016 is being used for reporting, analysis, and tracking purposes. As well as this, we are using Office for presentations and documenting processes.
  • Presentations - PowerPoint
  • Reporting - Excel
  • Visio - better BPMN 2 capabilities
  • Allow more IF functions within Excel
Microsoft Office 2016 has some excellent points. The reporting and analysis capabilities, along with the ability to present the finding using PowerPoint are the areas best suited to my role.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2020

Office: A Staple of the Global Office

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft Office 2016 to create training materials across the organization. MS Office is versatile and allows us to collaborate and share content with employees across our global offices.
  • Creating training material (guides, decks, etc)
  • Data analysis
  • Compatibility across devices and platforms (PC to Mac to Mobile)
  • Creating and supporting macros
Microsoft Office 2016 is incredibly versatile and will work in any organization. While there are countless different software packages out there, there is a reason Microsoft Office is a staple software in businesses across the globe.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2019

Microsoft Office 2016 and Payroll

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Office is being heavily used by accounting and payroll/hr. It is also used across the whole organization for basic Excel and Word capabilities. And our entire organization uses Outlook as our email program. We have facilities all over the world, and these programs make it easy to communicate with each other.
  • Outlook is a great email program -- easy to use and find emails that are in history.
  • Excel is needed by payroll and accounting for numerous downloads, uploads and interfaces to our HCM software.
  • Word is a great basic word processing tool -- easy to use and share.
  • Some formulas in Excel are difficult to use.
  • Help in Excel is not always clear and concise.
We use excel to download and upload information into our HCM system. It is well suited for this, as it saves lots of data entry and excess work. We have numerous occasions where teammates in a location will have an earning or deduction that needs to be entered into our payroll system for taxability, and uploading an excel spreadsheet is an efficient way to do this.
Read this authenticated review
Scott Herring | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 29, 2019

MS Office - Still the standard, but for how long?

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Office 2016 is being used throughout our entire organization as the main software for executing daily office tasks. The most used applications within the product would be Outlook, Word, Excel, and PowerPoint. There is a small group within the school that have very specific data manipulation needs that utilize Access, but they generally use it on an as-needed basis and not day-to-day.
  • Data manipulation. Excel takes the raw data we receive and allows us to digest it in ways that are useful to our business processes.
  • Communication. Outlook serves as our primary means of communication and setting up appointments.
  • Documentation. Word is the default standard when it comes to using a word processor and we are no different in this regard. Nearly every user has to use the application on a regular basis in order to accomplish their work.
  • Too many features. This sounds like an odd statement, but there are classifications of workers. You have your casual users, regular users, and power users. The majority of our staff do not fit into the power users group that utilizes many of the features. The hardest issue to support is the user finding what it is that they are looking for.
  • Cost. As products from Google and other services gain traction it is harder in our facility to not make the transition to services such as G Suite for education. Our teachers are familiar with the product as it is being used during the class delivery with their students. They don't want to use more products than necessary. We are certainly seeing a divide between the instructional staff and the administrative and support staff in the use of their products.
  • End-user help. There will always be a need to train users on software, however as support resources get stretched thinner, it becomes more important that the end-user be able to find the solutions on their own. This is an endless process, and one that will not fit every type of user, but should be considered when building future versions of the product.
I think that Microsoft Office 2016 really is best in class when it comes to needing an office suite but if I was being asked to make a recommendation for a user, I would lean heavily towards Office, but would also take into account the person's needs and budget as well. There are some use cases where it is just not necessary to have a full-scale product.
Read Scott Herring's full review
Andrew Shannon | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 25, 2019

Office 2016 is a must have tool for business professionals

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Office 2016 mainly for Outlook 2016, Excel, and Word 2016. We have an in-house exchange server and the best email client for connecting to an exchange server is Outlook 2016, it has the calendar features and schedule that makes life a lot easier. Also our ERP system exports to Excel quickly and easily, and its the easiest platform for my users to clean out a report for sharing with our clients, it's easy enough that I can teach any user how to use it in under an hour.
  • Connects to an Exchange 2016 server seamlessly.
  • Opens exported reports in either Excel format or CSV format.
  • Gives users access to PowerPoint for making presentations easily.
  • Office 2016 professional edition can be priced for a single user license, it would be nice to see a drop in the pricing.
  • Office 2016 home edition is a better price but does not include outlook 2016, so it is not a good fit for the workplace environments.
  • Office 2016 can run slowly on older systems, so you need to make sure you have a machine that is 4 years old or less for it to run smoothly.
Office 2016 is best suited for a business environment where users have either an exchange server or connect to a cloud email service and need to work on excel reports or word documents with others.

Office 2016 is not as well suited for home users where there are several free options available like Google Sheets and Google Docs that can do a lot of the same functionality as office 2016 and the cost is free.
Read Andrew Shannon's full review
Ricardo G Lopes | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 24, 2019

Office 2016 excellent for mid to power users; scary for novices.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have a network of Freelance translators where we interact with each other frequently by sharing documents for mutual updates.
Our Professionals network is worldwide and has no specific timezone. So, we have updates anytime.
Clients mostly sent Word documents for translations, while PDF and PowerPoint come second but not close.
Excel is mostly used for intra-network invoices and in some cases to bill a final client.
Office products like OneNote and Publisher are hardly used by translators for information sharing.
If Skype for business would ever be marketed as a tool for communication within freelance networks, having many tools to interchange files, it could really be a hit, but nowadays, the team relies on WhatsApp groups for simple and fast communications.
  • Consistent functionality across the several Office components. This consistency is a great advantage for adoptions of other unused Office components. For example, if you want to publish a book that you have done with Word, you don't need to relearn new menu positions, new file-related actions, new reviewing procedures, etc.
  • Functionality extensions with Add-ins. This has always been a nameplate for Microsoft and Office keeps its tradition. I remember the renowned Bill Gates phrase when Visual Basic has been presented to him, he said: "Make it extensible". So, for example, I use Grammarly to improve my translations and there are thousands of Add-ins that you can purchase to increase your productivity.
  • Continuous improvement of online Office 365 allows for comprehensive usage from any platform, like Apple or Android tablets, Mac or Windows, cell phones and more. Every day and regular user's functions are there. And if you need extensive reviewing capabilities or programming, you can always rely on the desktop version.
  • Spelling and translate for multiple languages are now included in the online version. I should indeed rely more on the online version.
  • Copy and paste between different Office components have been the same for decades. This functionality is simply not user-friendly as it uses the tech lingo, and it says absolutely nothing about the actual output. For example: What is the meaning of HTML format or Formatted text (RTF) or Device Independent Bitmap? IF you are not born in India, you will not get it. A better approach is used by Excel when it says Copy Values and Number formatting. So, please revisit this mold function and help the mortal end user.
  • Office tables in Word are maybe the slower and frustrating functionality in Office. Many Power users and MVP, already highlighted that a bigger (not immense) Word table, can take several minutes to get updated for any single action like inserting a column or changing borders or shades. The issue is so infuriating, that most times I need to shut down the application in order to start later when the machine is idle and I have nothing else to deliver. Even worse is the CPU usage, which constantly absorbs around 28-30%.
  • The VBA object model for Word table should resemble the most efficient and better conceptualized Excel object model for tables. This would dramatically increase the productivity of many VBA developers that develop in both products and it would also be able to develop in new office components without a significant learning curve.
There are hundreds of scenarios that Office 2016 would be well suited, but I want to emphasize one least seen from senior management. It is the VBA automation done by IT professionals, not by Power Users.
Office 2016 allows a fast track to automate many business processes that are small enough to grant resources from the IT Portfolio management guys, but big enough to significantly impact staff members. For example, generate repetitive Excel summary reports, where there is plenty of copy and paste plus reformatting, and new dates and new products. Then, copy the results to PowerPoint or Word and more. If you sit down with the IT folks and let them know that the cost of this project only includes labor, no new licenses, no new servers, no new network components, no new security checklists, they may give you resources to do it.
Read Ricardo G Lopes's full review
Pamela Dalton | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 10, 2019

MS Office for EVERY office

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company currently uses MS Office 2016 in select departments. Currently, all accounting and accounts payable employees use this version exclusively. We have found this to be beneficial for performing various functions on a daily basis, including the creation and manipulation of Excel spreadsheets, MS Outlook email, and calendars, creating PowerPoint presentations and Word documents. We use Excel frequently as this program allows us to perform numerous functions, including formulas, pivot tables, macros and v-lookups that we need in our daily invoice entries, journal entries and our weekly and monthly reports.
  • Excel pivot tables: We have to use these daily to allocate expenses charged on one invoice across 23 different companies. The speed and accuracy of this function is excellent in MS Excel 2016, calculating every line completely accurately.
  • Outlook calendar: I love that we are able to create numerous calendars that can be shared with select users. I have a part-time employee who is on a flexible schedule and she and I can update her daily schedule and share it with my supervisor so everyone knows when and where this employee will be on a daily basis.
  • Outlook calendar/meeting creation: This function in Outlook is wonderful and easy to use. I am able to schedule a meeting, select participants, select meeting area and give details regarding purpose and am able to attach necessary documents pertaining to the meeting.
  • MS Word: I don't like the factory defaults created my Microsoft. I've spent a good amount of time "fine tuning" everything from spacing, margins, tabs and bullet points. Ideally the program should easily allow the user to reset and save these default preferences, but I have yet to discover a way to do this.
  • MS Word: I am not a fan of the offered templates. They tend to be confusing and are not easy to modify.
  • MS Outlook: Searching within the program for a particular topic or name results in a very large return, especially if the search item is vague or incomplete. It would be nice if this program easily allowed a "wild card" search or allowed for multiple definers in the search bar.
This program is well suited for every office environment, large and small. There are numerous sub-programs that are necessary for most business departments and can be easily utilized with minimal skill. For highly defined presentations, reports or documents, the end-user would likely need greater training as some of the functions and modules are quite challenging and the online help menu is rather unaccommodating.
Read Pamela Dalton's full review
Lynn DeLaurentis | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 17, 2019

Microsoft Office, easy to use from day 1!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Office is used individually and across the whole organization. It is the software we use to create PowerPoint presentations to do in-house teachings as well as teaching to the public in both a free and fee-based seminars. It is easy to use, share and modify between employees and takes little training to teach the basics. The spreadsheet and document modules allow our employees to create and share integral tools and pieces of communication used within our company.
  • Microsoft Office easily allows us to create new presentations using a variety of modalities, including spreadsheets, video links, and drawings.
  • Microsoft Office has products everyone is already familiar with through their prior schooling which makes training time minimal to non-existent.
  • Microsoft Office has tutorials that are easy to use, to learn beyond the basics and increase usability.
  • Microsoft Office could improve their import functions, when bringing in a file that was created on a different platform.
  • It would be nice to see an 'add to dictionary' function when a word not in it's dictionary comes up repeated times when creating a new work.
Microsoft Office is well suited when there are Word documents that need to be created and modified regularly as well as PowerPoint presentations and spreadsheets, especially when there is a desire to integrate these among each other. It also has good functionality in doing mail merges for documents and labels, a nice option when you need a 'form letter' or looking to mail to a large group.
Read Lynn DeLaurentis's full review
Tyler Grudowski | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 14, 2019

Microsoft Office - the best word processing software, no question

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft Office on a daily basis for all kinds of things. There are many different reports and papers that we need to write for proposals and applications to get our start-up off the ground. Word helps us write everything faster and then be able to copy and paste what we need to into the applications online. We can also edit all of them in real-time even if we are not in the same place at the same time.
  • I really like how Word has templates for all different kinds of documents, like resumes and job descriptions. They are very convenient, especially if you are having a hard time writing one of these documents.
  • Having the ability to quickly write and edit text documents without needing to be connected to the internet is very convenient.
  • PowerPoint allows us to make professional, yet effective, presentations when we need to pitch our company to potential investors.
  • Sometimes, when we are trying to accurately format a document, the Word software spazzes out and has a hard time making it look correct.
  • The collaborative tools could stand to be a bit better. The commenting features are very complicated and are hard to get rid of after someone leaves feedback on your document.
  • I wish that some of the transitions on PowerPoint were a little more professional. Some of them are more gimmicky than professional.
If you have literally anything to write at all for your company, Microsoft Office is the way too! Every single piece of software is fantastic. There is not a company out there that should not own the Microsoft Office Suite because it is great for pretty much any scenario: writing documents, doing presentations, making marketing materials, and even sending emails.
Read Tyler Grudowski's full review
George Bynum | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 07, 2019

Their installation requirements are a hindrance to use

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I only use Word and Excel. Word is used for document creation. Some of that, in particular, requires a working tables function which does not work in open office which I now otherwise prefer. Excel is used for many functions, timesheet creation, records or jobs, expense records, random math needs. It is reliable. I used Office 2000 for many years, and I prefer it. It was much easier to use than Office 2016. A Windows 10 update broke it so I had to find this. I despise Microsoft requiring a Microsoft account to install it; I bought 2 copies, intending to use both, but one machine on which I wanted to use it has no internet connection and never will. Microsoft's software as a service does not fit my needs as a mostly retired, 70-year-old technical support specialist.
  • The Word tables function allows proper pasting of data pasted from Windaq. Otherwise, it is much harder to use than earlier versions.
  • Otherwise, I think it does nothing particularly well and except for that need, wouldn't use it.
  • Be available for sale.
  • Be installable without a Microsoft account.
  • Be installable from a local storage device without an internet connection.
Tables work in Word. Everything else does too, although with much more effort than with earlier versions. It required an internet connection which makes it useless for 2 of my systems. Excel is Excel. I've used spreadsheets since VisiCalc and SuperCalc. Excel has more features, sophisticated math and plotting, which are useful. 2016 made it harder to use.
Read George Bynum's full review
Laura Gillenwater | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 01, 2019

The Gold Standard of Office Suites!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Office 2016 is the standard version of Office used throughout our company. Different areas use different "pieces" of it with different amounts of frequency and depths of feature use. For example, I'm in Learning and Development, so I use PowerPoint and Word frequently and deeply, Excel and OneNote frequently, but not that deeply, and I only rarely touch Access, Visio, and Publisher (and Project, but I'm not sure if that's technically part of Office) --in fact, I don't know that I've used any of those since we migrated to the 2016 version.
  • In the past couple of years, I've learned a slew of really cool, helpful things I can do in PowerPoint, to such an extent that it has now become my primary image editor, even for graphics that I'm not planning to use within a PowerPoint deck! The ability to remove the background in photos is just one of many examples of this. I also have Adobe Presenter, a plug-in that allows me to turn a PowerPoint deck into the polished narrated presentation (even adding a few quiz questions, when I need to). I also love the animation painter feature and the selection pane is a game-changer for PowerPoint!
  • Word also has a plethora of useful features -- in fact, I often prefer to use a table in Word to organize data than to use Excel, because I find it easier to manipulate. For example, I can use Alt+Shift+up arrow or Alt+Shift+down arrow to quickly and easily move rows up or down in the table - not sure why I can't do that in Excel! There's really very little in the way of word processing that one can't do in Word!
  • For Excel, I like the "intelligence" behind it. For example, I like that I can start a column with series of dates (say, every other Tuesday) and, by using the drag-down handle, it will fill in additional rows following that pattern. I also like that it adjusts formulas as you add or remove rows.
  • While I've been quite impressed with all of the image manipulations that I can do in PowerPoint, I would love it if I could do even more, like set more than one transparent color, and I'm sometimes frustrated by the limited recoloring options. Also, I'm still very unhappy that they did away with the whole library of built-in royalty-free clip art and other types of images -- there's no free library available at all anymore - it sends you out to Bing, but then you have to try and find images you can legally use there (and that are in a format that allows you to ungroup and manipulate). I really, really miss the old image library, even if some of the images were old and tired.
  • I also wish that I could change the default layout for new decks and not be forced to start with a title slide. Very often, I'm using PowerPoint to store and manipulate images and, for that, I prefer a blank slide. I also find that I sometimes have problems with color themes when bringing a slide from one deck into another one -- sometimes I can fix those problems but, other times, I find that I can't. I also wish it would allow me to use SVG images and convert other vector images into SVGs.
  • The thing that annoys me most in Word is that I can't change the default indentation for bullet and number lists - in older versions, I had it set so that the bullets were not indented (as part of the Normal template settings), but, in 2016, it forces an indent and I have to manually undo the indent using the thingies on the ruler. I think this may be because Word is trying to be more HTML-friendly, and I don't object to it having that default indented style out of the box, but users should be able to override that by updating their Normal template.
  • I also find it harder to find features that I've been using for years in the ribbons than I did with the old cascading menus.
  • My biggest issue with Excel is just trying to figure out how to use some of the non-basic features, but I think that's largely because I don't use it as often and could probably use some training on Excel.
If you need a full-featured office suite, then I think that Microsoft Office 2016 is the best offering out there. However, it's not inexpensive, so, for folks who generally only use the basic features, getting a less expensive, or even free, option might make more sense. The cost is the main reason why I gave it an NPS of 8, instead of 9 or 10.
Read Laura Gillenwater's full review
Jeanette Gass | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 25, 2019

Useful office software that meets all your business needs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Office is used across my whole organization. It is excellent for all basic business functions but especially helps with database management (Access) and Project Management (Project). It also helps us easily and quickly create brochures and flyers (Publisher) and write and format reports (Word). There are so many uses for Excel when it comes to budgeting and finance. All around, it's a great suite of products.
  • Produces high-quality publications.
  • Performs complex budget functions with Excel.
  • Excellent word processing with Word.
  • Saved signatures in the desktop version of Outlook appearing in the online version would be a great improvement.
  • Easier formatting in Word-- sometimes small changes can cause big issues in Word documents.
  • More help tools available for Excel.
MS Office is well-suited for virtually any business environment. The variety of programs and tools available is outstanding and there are no other platforms like this one. Google docs are the closest comparison, but there aren't nearly as many programs available and the formatting doesn't always match. The reverse compatibility for previous versions is also invaluable.
Read Jeanette Gass's full review
Cameron Steele | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 24, 2019

Office 2016 is the tool that your business needs.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Office 2016 is being used across our entire company for multiple purposes. We are utilizing Excel for spreadsheet creation and analysis, as well as Word for simple documents like memos and sign-up sheets. The simplicity of its use allows our entire staff, no matter how seasoned or technically savvy, to fully engage in leadership and management of systems and procedures.
  • Simple editing and formatting. Standardizing your documents with your own brand goes a long way.
  • Implementation of multiple files. It seems like you can work with almost any type of document in Office 2016.
  • The industry standard. Whether you're presenting among your peers, or traveling to speak to like-minded individuals, you can count on your presentation integrating seamlessly.
  • Building on previous versions. It seems like there has not been a major change since 2012.
  • Clippy! Where is the help when you need it?
  • Add a design element. For the price, I am sure you could manage to add a simple design and photo editing program to the package that adds value to your customers and meets the needs of social media users.
The most important documents for your business are generated through Office 2016. From memos to press releases, you have the tools that you need to address the day-to-day activity of your business. However, I do not feel that Office has truly been improved upon in the last 7-9 years. Perhaps adding a graphic design or photo-editing software with more advanced capabilities would make it fit in with its users in a more significant way.
Read Cameron Steele's full review
Jerome Pierce | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 21, 2019

Microsoft Office 2016 Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Office 2016 is a standard application that we utilize at our institute. We use it for both PC and Mac platforms and is a staple that fits our document editing and creation needs.
  • Works well with other Office versions of documents
  • Integrates well with Mac & PC Operating Systems
  • Many Tools for Word, Excel and Powerpoint
  • Some features from the previous versions of PowerPoint were removed causing a little pain with some of our power users
  • The sign in feature can become annoying each time you launch a product
  • The licensing feature sometimes loses its registration, therefore, you receive a message from time to time that your product is unregistered
Works well with previous Office document versions but it could be overkill if your users only utilize one of the three apps. Due to the cost and licensing, we only deploy Office 2016 upon request of the user. Otherwise, they use Google Sheets, Docs & Slides.
Read Jerome Pierce's full review

About Microsoft Office 2016

Microsoft Office 2016 is the familiar suite of Office products including applications such as Word, Excel, and PowerPoint for use on a single PC or Mac. The Office 2016 package is a one-time purchase. The applications are not automatically updated; to get the latest version, you must purchase Office again when the new version becomes available.
Categories:  Office Suites

Microsoft Office 2016 Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No