Microsoft Office 2016 Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
972 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 44)

Jacob Wall | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2020

Microsoft Office 2016: Full-featured, industry-standard, & does what you need it to!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

LibreOffice is a free software suite that fills some holes left in Microsoft Office, e.g., a "Draw" program that allows for easy creation of charts & diagrams. LibreOffice will save files in Microsoft formats, but sometimes the formatting is off when opened in Microsoft's suite; this is always improving. Otherwise, Microsoft Office 2016 sets the standards, and others seem to follow.

Google G-Suite is great for the current direction collaboration and document creation / management is moving. It is not yet as widely used, and not all our clients would have the tools to open a Google Docs document, for example; I suspect it might also give a less formal impression than sending a Word doc. (I also suspect this will change over the next decade or so.) Some of the applications have fewer tools than the Office equivalents. Depending on your needs, this could be a plus or a minus.
Read Jacob Wall's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2020

Best standalone Office suite available

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

For certain situations there is a benefit to the "standalone" package of Office 2106, vs. a subscription-based product like Office 365. Especially in the case where there are shared computers, or computers that are used as a kiosk, Microsoft Office 2016 would be one of the few options to use in order to run the Office suite. In these situations, there may not be a need for a subscription-based product.
Read this authenticated review
Scott Herring | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 29, 2019

MS Office - Still the standard, but for how long?

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Google's suite of products is a compelling choice when putting it up against Office 2016. Microsoft Office is still the standard to meet and beat. The simplicity of Google's products works well for many of the users who don't need advanced features. Office 2016 for my use as a power user is the only real choice.
Read Scott Herring's full review
Michael Kim | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 11, 2020

Office 2016 - Somewhat new look, some new features, required for the Office!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We did not evaluate other products. The company already had an enterprise license with Microsoft for the Office Suite, and we were able to get a license and installation of our product by using our company email address. The other option was using free tools, which I know from experience are quite horrible.
Read Michael Kim's full review
Jesse White | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2020

As a Mac user, some Office features are out of our reach, which is problematic

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We switched from Outlook to Canary Mail for Mac about two months ago and our experiences have been quite positive. The one big feature we enjoy that wasn't an option on Microsoft Office 2016 is read receipt email tracking. This feature allows us to know when a client has read an email, which is an extremely useful tool.
Read Jesse White's full review
Naveen Gabrani | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 21, 2020

Microsoft Office: Most popular software in the world

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Office is more powerful than all its competitors. It is also perhaps most expensive. However its feature set is vast: much higher than other similar products. The other benefit is that it is very popular in the industry. It is used by many of our clients as well.
Read Naveen Gabrani's full review
Stéfano Bellote | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2020

MS Office is the Suite to answer nearly all your office needs!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The Microsoft Office Suite not only offers much more tools and resources if comparing the main apps like Word/Docs, Excel/Sheets, Powerpoint/Slides, but it also can give you more power and options when taking notes through OneNote (against Keep), communication is easy through Skype, and Outlook has great mail management options over Gmail, and in my opinion the interface is more friendly also.
Read Stéfano Bellote's full review
Pamela Dalton | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 10, 2019

MS Office for EVERY office

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have always used MS Office products due to the reliability and ease of use. I feel this is the best program for office use regardless of the size or skill level of the employees. There are educational opportunities for mastery of each program, but for the typical novice, they are easy to use for basic needs.
Read Pamela Dalton's full review
Robbie Speers | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2019

Office 2016 still works great

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

While OpenOffice is nice for a free word processing application, Office 2016 has more features and is more user-friendly to use and update. We have an educational license that can be used with an online portal as well, whereas Open Office is free but is limited in what we can do with it.
Read Robbie Speers's full review
Lynn DeLaurentis | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 17, 2019

Microsoft Office, easy to use from day 1!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Office has more flexibility and functionality than OpenOffice. OpenOffice isn't able to translate documents from other programs as easily and has more limitations in keystroke options for editing documents. OpenOffice is free, which can be a factor for some companies, but their are limitations that come with that. The tutorials and training offered through Microsoft are also a big benefit compared to OpenOffice.
Read Lynn DeLaurentis's full review
Tyler Grudowski | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 14, 2019

Microsoft Office - the best word processing software, no question

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Office has all the features of software like G Suite or Apple's slate of word-editing software. It takes all the positives about these two platforms and then has even more features than either of them to make office work ridiculously easy. G Suite requires an internet connection to work, and Apple's suite is just too complicated to use.
Read Tyler Grudowski's full review
Laura Gillenwater | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 01, 2019

The Gold Standard of Office Suites!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I've been using the various incarnations of Microsoft Office for about 20 years now (maybe longer) -- prior to that, we used WordPerfect and WordPerfect Graphics. We probably used Lotus 123 for our spreadsheet software, but can't remember if that was just at home or what we used at the office. At home, my husband runs a Linux machine and uses Open Office, which, as I mentioned previously, is the kind of software package that could do just fine for casual users.
Read Laura Gillenwater's full review
Cameron Steele | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 24, 2019

Office 2016 is the tool that your business needs.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

There is no substitute. It is not only the standard in our industry, but the standard across the globe. If you are not utilizing Office, then you are not going to be integrated into any system that you share with your peers. It only makes sense to use this software. It is as complete a package as you can find for all your business needs.
Read Cameron Steele's full review
Özgür Erkek, MSc, PRINCE2® | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 17, 2019

As robust as you can imagine, comprehensive office tool for your needs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Well, first of all Microsoft Office is a prestigious product against the rivals.Secondly, it is regularly being patched or updated against security risks. Third, has more features than the rivals. Has wider usage in the business world/market when compared to open office software. Operates more properly and does not cause inefficiency due to crashes or other problems.
Read Özgür Erkek, MSc, PRINCE2®'s full review
Niladri Chatterjee | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 16, 2019

Office is a useful software, but the pricing should be considered.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

There are a lot of alternatives to MS office 2016 such as Google Suite, LibreOffice or Zoho. Among them, the closest competitor to MS Office is the Google Suite. Each of the G suite products such as Docs, Sheets or Slides are free when used separately. But, using them separately gets pretty annoying. Buying the full suite would have made sense if it was less costly. Also, it doesn't work offline natively as MS Office does. Hence, we use Microsoft Office 2016 for our operations.
Read Niladri Chatterjee's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 21, 2019

Last Office standing? New editions may be less popular.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

There are free alternatives to MS Office 2016. The problem is most of the people are hire are rather familiar and use Office. That means most of the time it's the way to work on files. I used Libre when working on MacOS, and compatibility for simple files was okay. But even though the same Excel or Word files could be open with LibreOffice and OpenOffice, if you use advanced formatting and macros you need to work on the same software because it may not work the same. There won't be issues with compatibility and formatting inside the files if you use MS Office on different platforms and the same files.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2020

Microsoft Office 2016 - gets work done!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We selected Microsoft Office 2016 due to its ease of use. It is also compatible with our client, Microsoft Operating systems. The common user interface across all the applications in Microsoft Office 2016 makes it easy (and familiar) to perform everyday tasks. It is also very familiar to our existing users who have used previous versions of the Microsoft Office Suite, and so onboarding is straightforward.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 30, 2019

MS Office 2016 - new features below expectations but still a wonderful product

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

MS Office 2016 offers far more features than its alternatives. The ability to write complex scripts using VBA in MS Excel and MS Access can increase work productivity manyfold. Other MS Office 2016 like products don't offer such features.

MS Office 2016 offers cloud storage in the form of One Drive making it easier to share your work across multiple organisations. If you opt for other MS Office-like products and want to store your documents in the cloud, you'll have to piece together your own system.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 29, 2019

Excellent for document creation

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Office 2016 (Word, Excel, PowerPoint, and OneNote) does not match up to a live, collaborative platform such as Google documents, Google Sheets, or Google Slides.
Read this authenticated review

About Microsoft Office 2016

Microsoft Office 2016 is the familiar suite of Office products including applications such as Word, Excel, and PowerPoint for use on a single PC or Mac. The Office 2016 package is a one-time purchase. The applications are not automatically updated; to get the latest version, you must purchase Office again when the new version becomes available.
Categories:  Office Suites

Microsoft Office 2016 Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No