Microsoft Power BI Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
651 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 91)

James Anderson | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 10, 2020

Microsoft Power BI - The good is getting better

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Power BI in our Medical Economics department to help visualize the contracts that we negotiate with the health insurance companies. We use it to understand how those negotiated rates perform over time. We compare the insurance companies' rates to each other in various ways with different metrics.
Read James Anderson's full review
Richard Crane | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 30, 2019

Power BI is So Easy and So Good

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We started using Power BI a few years ago to spin up some simple reports from various sources. The great thing about the reporting is the automation. As long as I know where the data is coming from, and the source is something I can use for Power BI, I can create excellent, professional reporting that helps us make daily business decisions. It's also very reliable. Most often if there's a problem with our reports, it's due to the data source, not Power BI or its connectors.
Read Richard Crane's full review
Rick Botha | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2019

Beautiful Reports and Useful Data, but configuration is not easy!

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Microsoft Power BI is used primarily by the Project Management department at the company to keep track of all the project metrics within the whole company, covering everything from capital expenditure projects, to customer orders, and product development projects.The different departments that aren't authoring the data and reports have access to the reports to use within their planning and departmental reports. The problem that Microsoft Power BI addresses is that everyone has clear and easy access to well displayed dashboards that display key metrics on a per project basis.
Read Rick Botha's full review
Steffany Winkelmann | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 25, 2019

Power BI - Excel on Steroids and So Much More

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Previously, we had no real business intelligence. We had all sorts of data in our database, but we had no way to make sense of it aside of downloading and manipulating it in Excel, but this proved difficult to process many hundreds of thousands of rows of data. Microsoft Power BI has helped us make this process so much easier by connecting to our database directly and run queries directly in the system and make beautiful charts based on that data, to make sense of what's going on.
Read Steffany Winkelmann's full review
Marco De Angelis | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 30, 2019

Power BI: powerful and easy tool to build complex data model

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Microsoft Power BI is used by the entire IT department and by other users with personal objectives, like Excel. Power BI is used on top of other software to create business models where the software standard reports do not cover our needs and to integrate diverse data source coming from diverse software.
Read Marco De Angelis's full review
Nishant Arora | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2019

A highly efficient data visualization tool from Microsoft

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I work as an information and communication technology specialist and my role requires me to work on support tickets created through ITSM. I use Power BI for visualizations based on the tickets data which includes information related to per user resolutions, region-wise sorting, most common issues, top performers, etc.
Read Nishant Arora's full review
Shreshthi Mehta, PMP®, PHR® | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2019

Simplified metrics using Power BI

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Power BI is being used by HR and IT departments. We use it typically to run weekly and monthly reports and for data analytics. It is hugely helpful in saving time as we can build in formats within the tool and schedule the metrics to run weekly/monthly. Weekly/ monthly data cuts are not required.
Read Shreshthi Mehta, PMP®, PHR®'s full review
Guillermo Villamizar | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 15, 2019

Power BI: Great solution for reporting and dashboards!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Power BI is actually being used by our entire organization. Each type of user has access to different views or reports, and they don't have to manually make the reports on another tool such as Excel, although later they can export it to Excel so they can manipulate the information or send them to another person.
Read Guillermo Villamizar's full review
Chris Widner | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 13, 2019

Look like a genius with your reports with PowerBI

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

As we are trying to understand the overall health of the organization there are various metrics around revenues, costs, etc that we want to be able to slice and dice. We have some contracts that are such severe outliers (both positive and negative) that they can greatly skew our numbers. We use PowerBI to better understand our metrics and quickly manipulate the inputs into our reports.
Read Chris Widner's full review
Thomas Young | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2019

Decent, but far from awesome

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Power BI is used for 2 main reasons. First, the software is used for data visualization. Second, the software is used for analytics, including some minor advanced analytics. The software helps provide real-time information on time series and other data to ease the process of making decisions. It is also used for communicating data with colleagues.
Read Thomas Young's full review
Che Odom | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

Power BI is a great reporting tool, particularly for leadership teams that don't want to dive deep, but want accurate and timely information presented to them to make choices

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Microsoft Power BI to gather data and present it from our project management software Procore. It is used by two people in our organization to present data to our upper management. It helps to let our leadership have a real up to date high level overview of where each of our projects stand in terms of budget, schedule and many other metrics.
Read Che Odom's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 21, 2020

Power BI: Best BI tool for companies that use Microsoft products.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Microsoft Power BI is used across the whole organization. In my department, I developed a Power BI based solution to better visualize the workload allocation for the engineering team in Brazil.
There is also a dashboard for observing the ongoing projects status and stages. Every department uses Power BI with different data sources but all solutions are targeting data visualization and ease of implementation.
Microsoft Power BI is a quick-to-implement software that makes it easier to deal with large datasets and create relationships between different data sources.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 09, 2019

A great tool for the analyst's toolbox and for sharing reporting within a team or department.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have three BI solutions within our business, Power BI, Qlik View and Qlik Sense. Primary management reporting, dashboards and report distribution are done with Sense, basic marketing views are done through View and most power analytics and ad-hoc analytical work is done via Power BI. We find Power BI is best when data resides in several places and mostly spreadsheets. Using Power BI to connect directly into source systems (even Microsoft branded products Azure SQL Server) cause the app to time out. So company-wide we use sense, and functional analysts across all departments have Power BI to dig deeper than Sense can go.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 15, 2019

Nice dashboards and easy to adapt when you know Excel.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I have used Microsoft Power BI to create automated reports, dashboards for our clients finance department. The reports were consisting of financial targets, actual and forecasts. Along with the reports, we used formula generation functionalities and made auto calculations. It is a good reporting dashboard when it comes to display most current values along with auto calculations. Before Power BI, excel reports or ppt presentations would be distributed within the organization. With Power BI, the dashboards and data visualization became more professional looking.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 01, 2019

Great software for data visualization

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is currently used for reporting and expected to replaced all the copy-paste jobs and cleaning data. User can create dashboards with data sources and the refresh data whenever needed. Much more efficient and faster to generate same reports every month/quarter. Many trainings available and it's free for standard users. So it's great for colleagues to try it and learn it at no cost upfront.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 15, 2019

King of Self Service Business Intelligence

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have about 25 years of data. Microsoft Power BI is being used across the organization by various departments. Our accounts payables team uses it to monitor vendor activity, identify duplicate invoices, and ensure vendor compliance. Our internal audit team runs several reports to identify anomalies.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 15, 2019

Really Great!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Power BI in our IT dept, but the information and analytics gained are then provided company-wide to those who need it or could be helped by the information. It helps us easily visualize and conceptualize the data that we've always had. Insights gained are really quite valuable.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 14, 2019

Strengths and Weaknesses of Microsoft Power BI

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

1. It is used for Executive reviews for visualization and dashboards to provide insight in the business operations, marketing, finance. My organisation is using this because it comes free with Microsoft Office license. It provides similar services as other tools in the same field.
2. It is being used in my departmen,t but other functions are starting to explore this BI tool.
3. Visualization, dashboards, scorecards, easy to understand huge datasets through graphs and charts, flexible for users to connect withEexcel

Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 13, 2019

PowerBI is a great tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We work on understanding consumer behavior and usage patterns. Traditionally Excel was used heavily and then the charts were built and published on PPT. However, with Power BI, the jump to interactive dashboards is much easier. Many people started using it and then they started connecting with other data sets and from different databases. They move towards visualizing the data, sharing with executives. We also use the map feature in there and publish online.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2019

Microsoft Power BI - Easy Analytics

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Microsoft Power BI has enabled people at all levels to have easy access to data and analytics across the organization. It increases visibility to live and historic data and helps people make better decisions
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 13, 2019

Microsoft is one of the best tools for Data Analysis

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

A lot of Packages are available to represent the data. Predictive and Visualization representations are very useful. A lot of users are implementing new packages and share the same with other users which helps to find a quick solution to our requirements. The open Source community provides help in case of any issues or solutions needed. Such as issues with finding a central repository to find out the implementation of packages. More searches are needed for finding the details of any package, for example, any package needs to search a lot to find out the details. Recommendations to others considering the product are much needed in the understanding of our language to proceed with the tool. Data Representation, Analysis, Visualization, Detailing, Training purpose as well.
Read this authenticated review
Gabriel Oliveira | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 06, 2019

Microsoft Power BI review: A way to optimize and improve visualization

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Power BI is being used to create dashboards and company data reports. Currently, it is used in the financial and IT areas. We are working on planning to have a vision of what is to come, planning everything about the company through the visual representation of these sensitive data. And with it, the tool can generate great visualizations that we can take to meetings.
Read Gabriel Oliveira's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (77)
8.1
Customizable dashboards (91)
8.6
Report Formatting Templates (83)
8.4
Drill-down analysis (91)
8.6
Formatting capabilities (90)
8.4
Integration with R or other statistical packages (65)
8.4
Report sharing and collaboration (88)
8.8
Publish to Web (84)
9.0
Publish to PDF (75)
8.5
Report Versioning (63)
8.5
Report Delivery Scheduling (62)
8.6
Delivery to Remote Servers (43)
8.2
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (84)
8.6
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (77)
8.5
Predictive Analytics (64)
8.0
Multi-User Support (named login) (75)
8.6
Role-Based Security Model (62)
8.4
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (68)
8.6
Single Sign-On (SSO) (48)
9.0
Responsive Design for Web Access (73)
8.4
Dedicated iOS Application (55)
8.2
Dedicated Android Application (59)
8.3
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (73)
8.3
REST API (41)
8.3
Javascript API (32)
8.5
iFrames (33)
8.1
Java API (27)
8.0
Themeable User Interface (UI) (36)
8.4
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (26)
8.3

About Microsoft Power BI

Microsoft Power BI is a business analytics service from Microsoft. It allows users to convert data into visuals and graphics, visually explore and analyze data, collaborate on interactive dashboards and reports, and scale across their organization with built-in governance and security.

Key features

  • Free initial setup with no required training
  • Connectivity with Excel spreadsheets, cloud services, streaming data, on-premise databases, and more
  • Dashboards that update in real-time
  • Natural language processing for data visualization tools
  • Shareable reports and datasets
  • Collaborative framework
  • Remote accessibility
  • Integrates with most applications and services using REST API
  • Publish data directly from service with publish-to-web feature

Microsoft Power BI Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No