Microsoft Project Server Reviews

47 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-8 of 8)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
March 05, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses Microsoft Project mostly by department. We use this software for various projects such as strategic plans and it's great for creating interactive charts. It offers different views from calendar to diagram view. We share projects timelines among other team members and use it mainly around committee meetings. We use it for team management, project sharing, project status and keeping on time with projects and timelines.
  • Interactive gantt charts, you are able to customize, great for project management, planning. The diagram designs tool allows you to track progress.
  • Integrated project management tool, keep track of timelines, projects, share with others and track progress and easy way to manage projects
  • Streamlined project planning, sharing tools, ability to place files in shared drive.
  • Very attractive, user friendly software
  • Array of features from progress monitoring, risk issues, integration with SharePoint
  • So many tools, users could be overwhelmed and you need to be familiar with tools and it takes a while to adapt to the software. You may even need to be a semi experienced project manager to use the tools. There is a learning curve.
  • Sometimes custom fields are not able to be shared, integrated with SharePoint files
  • Expensive software for some businesses
  • Customer support is not always available
  • Limit to available licenses, may be an issue for organizations who require multiple users at a time
Microsoft Project Server I believe is best for any organization from small to large. As I mentioned, it is a little pricey so I would do research into alternative software and depending on your needs maybe look at all options, competing software. This is a tool with a learning curve and some may not be able to easily navigate this software. There isn't really great training, resources available for this tool however there are some free YouTube tutorial videos. This is great for cross company, department project management, sharing, managing of projects and timelines.
Read this authenticated review
December 18, 2018
Cristian Bodnarasec | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft Project Server for project planning: tasks assignment, project team management, resources allocation, project cost and tracking. In our organization it is used by the software development team. It provides us a unique place to manage all the software development projects and also enables the team members to update the progress of their tasks which reflects in the project plan.
  • Project planning: tasks assignments, resources allocation, progress and cost tracking. The Server version is the natural extension of the Microsoft Project standalone.
  • Provides one place to manage all projects, accessible by everyone in the team. This opens the plan updates to team members as well(on their tasks), as opposed to being done only by the project manager.
  • Reporting and visualization - resources utilization, timeline etc
  • The integration with the Microsoft Project standalone: if you don't like the web version, you can download the latest and work locally. When done just sync it back to the server.
  • In many cases the server or cloud version of any tool will have some limitations compared to the standalone version. It is the same here, however the existing integration between the two will help you work locally and upload changes to the server if you don't feel comfortable working on the web version.
  • The learning curve for both Microsoft Project and the server version tends to be steep for some users
  • Needs an Outlook integration
  • The cost for implementation and licensing needs improvement, it can be very expensive for some smaller companies.
You will be able to do the project management (scheduling, tasks assignment, resources allocation, cost tracking) for all your projects in one place, where the team members can contribute and keep the plans up to date. The web version does the main job right but if you find it more difficult to use you just use the standalone Microsoft Project and upload the changes back to the server.
Read Cristian Bodnarasec's full review
April 25, 2018
David Lean | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Project Server underpins our organization's delivery of software implementation projects. It is used to run individual projects, assigning resources and setting up delivery plans in Microsoft Project. The data that it realizes forms the basis of decision making, compliance, and governance by the PMO and upper management.
  • Ability to update project plans on the move in any location. Plans can even be updated offline and saved back to the server when the connection is reestablished.
  • Visibility of resource assignments across the company allows us to plan project start dates easily and effectively.
  • Being a Microsoft product, it is intuitive to administer and easy to configure to our individual requirements.
  • As with all software, Project Server is not without its bugs although generally, it is a very stable platform.
  • The GUI does need updating to a more modern look to bring it in line with the rest of the O365 suite.
Perhaps the greatest positive is the resource engagement and assignment, ensuring we are able to effectively plan the delivery of numerous projects, thus avoiding any duplicate bookings. On the flip side, once projects grow into very large plans with ultra-detailed assignments, it can become difficult to manage.
Read David Lean's full review
November 02, 2016
Kristin Page | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, Microsoft Project Server is being used by the more senior members of our organization and is a great tool for balancing resources and helping our project managers realize when our resources are being over-allocated.
  • Really helps with budget allocation.
  • Really helpful with assigning tasks and milestones.
  • Using the data we are able to publish reports affectively and in a timely manner.
  • Sometimes runs slower than I would like it too. Slow uploads as well.
  • Limited risk management and decision tools.
For project management it is very well suited, needs to figure out speed.
Read Kristin Page's full review
January 21, 2016
Ved Mishra | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Project Server (MSPS) is being used by our company in IT department across various divisions. It is used for business case, portfolio and project management, financials, schedule and reporting. MSPS is easy to setup and get started. There are many features that were leveraged out of the box to get the process running.
  • Project schedule is one of the key features we use. Project professional can be used to do bulk task updates, manage resources, find critical paths of project tasks very easily.
  • A lot of extension capabilities are available when it comes to reporting. You can create SSRS reports or integrate with SQL database in the back-end to create OLAP cubes for Power Pivot and other BI reports
  • Workflows and Project Detail Pages (PDP) are very easy to configure. You can also control which field(s) to display on a particular phase or PDP.
  • There is no cost structure available out of the box other than resource driven scheduling
  • Performance (page load time in general) can be improved
  • There is no program level construct. Program/portfolio is just a group of projects underneath
Considering what new versions of project server (especially project online) provides out of the box and its smoother integration with Office 365, I would highly recommend exploring option of project server 2013 (or online). End of the day, whatever complex tools you use; you will end up doing something in office applications :). And project online being in the same office ecosystem (Office 365, Office applications, SharePoint) helps. Microsoft is aligned with mobile first and cloud first approach and this will ensure that your project online system remains up-to-date without any additional cost.
Read Ved Mishra's full review
January 26, 2016
Amanda Bourdeaux | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft Project Server to track project information on a large scale (several hundred projects across many different organizations). Although each department uses Microsoft Project Server in different ways, it is incredibly useful to us because it allows for accurate, up to date, information to be available to the numerous people who interact with different projects. Project managers and team members are able to collaborate more effectively and make changes in real time. Managers are then able to easily run reports to view these changes, or see projects across the board with out having to open projects individually.
  • Creates a single source of truth for all projects - All users interacting with the project can view the most recent copy.
  • Visibility - Project Managers are able to see all their projects at once, Managers/Admins are able to view all project information without having to open each project individually.
  • Customization - Easy to customize project attributes/fields.
  • Backup - If someone accidentally publishes something incorrectly, past publishes can be restored.
  • Speed - It can be slow at times, but this varies depending on how many projects/users/etc you have.
  • Workflows - there are more intuitive solutions available.
  • Costs/Resource structure could have more flexibility.
  • More customization at the program level.
I think Microsoft Project server is probably better for larger companies - if you're only tracking a handful of projects, the cost may not be worth it if you have a faster/more cost efficient way of tracking project information. However, when you're trying to track many different projects across many different departments, then I think Microsoft Project server is very helpful. Same thing if you only have one person responsible for project information - it might be more cost efficient to track information another way. If you have many people collaborating on projects then Microsoft Project Server is great for having a unified source to pull project information.
Read Amanda Bourdeaux's full review
October 14, 2015
Ross Ghiasi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Project Online internally and implement it as a solution for clients.
We use it as a complete PPM solution to help us with our project, resource management and time sheet needs.
  • Integration with other MS suite
  • Low cost licensing
  • PowerBI Integration
  • Larger user and support community
  • App market
  • Premier Microsoft Support
  • Portfolio Analysis (What-if)
  • The online version can be a little faster (access time over the internet sometimes slow)
  • It needs to have its own MCTS track for certifications, i.e. Certified Project Technology Specialist
  • The ability to insert graphics into project plan online
It is well suited for any type of project portfolio management scenario.
Read Ross Ghiasi's full review
April 25, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Project Server is used as a forecasting and scheduling tool within my organization. The software is intermittently used across the whole organization in addition to other more complex scheduling tools. Microsoft Project Server works well for our simpler forecasting and scheduling needs. It is more user-friendly than other software, therefore allowing people with little or no experience to jump right in.
  • User-friendly in managing simple schedules
  • Allows for scheduling, resourcing and budgeting collaboration
  • Good tool for someone with no scheduling experience
  • Resource loading and leveling extremely complicated within the tool
  • Software makes incorrect assumptions and changes without user knowledge
  • Inconsistencies within the tool make it hard to predict & troubleshoot
Microsoft Project Server has proved to be well suited when managing simple projects without a ton of interdependencies and resourcing needs. It works well with managing forecast and baseline dates. The software is less appropriate when the scheduling needs are more complex. Although it does allow for collaboration amongst scheduling, budgeting, resourcing and risk analysis, it is probably not the best tool when those needs are complex.
Read this authenticated review

What is Microsoft Project Server?

Microsoft Project Server is a project portfolio management option.

Microsoft Project Server Video

Microsoft Project Server Training - Microsoft Project Server Demonstration

Microsoft Project Server Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Microsoft Project Server?

Microsoft Project Server is a project portfolio management option.

Who uses Microsoft Project Server?

The most common users of Microsoft Project Server are from Enterprises and the Information Technology & Services industry.