Remote Desktop Services Reviews

57 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-13 of 13)

Nathan Alandt | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 20, 2019

Remote Desktop Services is something that just works

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Remote Desktop Services is being used by many different departments, between direct desktop access or access to a remote terminal server.
Remote Desktop Services addresses software that does not tolerate being run over a WAN connection. Some of the Vendors we use for software requires direct contact to SQL, so we secure that and only allow local access.
Read Nathan Alandt's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 31, 2019

Remote Desktop Services -- powerful, capable, flexible, but also costly and complicated

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

My organization uses Windows Remote Desktop Services in several ways:
  • Admin remote access to physical servers.
  • Admin access to cloud-hosted servers.
  • User access to a single desktop from multiple devices. This allows users to connect from any computer across many sites to a single desktop. With this, a physical computer becomes a workstation that is simply displaying content from a remote server.
  • User access to published RemoteApp programs. This allows users to open a program on their device, which is actually hosted on a remote server.
Read this authenticated review
Ho'omana Nathan Horton | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 01, 2019

Remote Desktop Services is by far the best solution for onsite remote access

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Remote Desktop Services to access servers ourselves, provide remote support to users across campus, provide access to servers for end-users, and provide access to RemoteApps for users. For going from Windows to Windows on a local network, this is by far the best solution for remote access that we have found.
Read Ho'omana Nathan Horton's full review
Paul Li | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 06, 2018

Remote Desktop Services Makes The Connection

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We as an entire company started using Remote Desktop Services about 6 years ago. We wanted to provide a way for multiple staff working outside the office to have access to data files on the network. The simplest method we came up with was to setup Remote Desktop Services with Microsoft Terminal Services. All the applications would be installed on a single server. This server also has all our network drives mapped providing access to all network data files. Our staff then can remote into this server using Remote Desktop Services. The server now acts like a terminal giving our staff full use of the applications like Microsoft Office and Adobe Creative Suites to work on the data files located on the network drives.
Read Paul Li's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 21, 2018

Best essential software to connect to remote Desktop

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Remote Desktop Services is being used by our entire organization. It solves the purpose of connecting to production systems through our local desktop. I also connect to my PC at the office from my home if I have to login from home.
I connect to production systems using Remote Desktop to start, stop and deploy applications on the production system. It works seamlessly.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 17, 2018

Connect in the Cloud

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Remote Desktop Services is being used across our whole organization. It helps users be able to access documents in a shared folder or access our operating system from a remote location.
Read this authenticated review
Luigi Vecchione | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2017

RDS: A Fast & Furios Connection to far "friends"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It's used by the whole organization. We are mainly using it to allow us the possibility of connecting to a remote server on which are standing the Data Warehouse we are managing. Sometimes we also use it to connect to our servers while we are standing inside the customer organization.
Read Luigi Vecchione's full review
Satish Kumar | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 25, 2016

Remote Desktop services - MyView

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Initially we started using Desktop services on a Virtual Desktop Infrastructure (VDI), Desktop as a Service architectural level. Subsequently we implemented Direct Remote Desktop Protocol (RDP) consoles of Windows server 2012 with terminal services and profile based usage to end users. Security was definitely an issue initially, but we had a quota system to ensure security level for each user to maintain isolation between users. This worked for about 30 users on 2 baremetals, deployed in-house. We later went on to dupe the system on the VMware virtual machines, which is the currently deployed solution which is working well in our test environment.
Read Satish Kumar's full review
Nathan Ziehnert | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 06, 2015

Microsoft RDS - Relatively Decent Solution...

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are currently hosting three separate farms across approximately 20 servers. One farm dedicated to a published shared remote desktop (RDSH), one farm dedicated to hosing a number of RemoteApps (HEAT, Exchange Management Console, etc), and a dedicated RemoteApp farm for Elite Enterprise. In conjunction with the Remote Desktop Gateway server, Remote Desktop Connection Broker, and Remote Desktop Web Access server, we give users the ability to do their work from wherever they are most comfortable and ease the upgrade burden on our staff when it comes to upgrading particularly cumbersome software like Elite Enterprise. The applications available to our users via our RDS platform cover about 30-50% of our employees with plans to potentially expand that further as budget and time dictate.
Read Nathan Ziehnert's full review
Will Smothers | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 12, 2015

To RDS or Not to RDS? That is the question!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We currently use Microsoft's Windows 2008 R2 Remote Desktop Services to provide a centralized interface from which to access data in our data center. The entire company uses this to access our accounting and project management software. This keeps us from having duplicate systems in different locations from which disparaged information must be combined. Additionally, since the Remote Desktop Services is in the same data center and network segment as the backend systems, access to data is much faster and more reliable.
Read Will Smothers's full review
Jeremy Travis | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 07, 2015

A World Driven By RemoteApp

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Remote Desktop Services (RDS) is used to help publish a line of business applications to nearly every device. We use it across the entire organization and even with a few support vendors. RDS helps solves issues by simplifying the IT infrastructure and reducing network traffic. Software maintenances and Windows updates are more controlled. I only have to upgrade a few servers versus the entire enterprise of remote desktop, laptop, and tablets.
Read Jeremy Travis's full review

About Remote Desktop Services

Remote Desktop Services from Microsoft is virtual desktop and remote user session technology.

Remote Desktop Services Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No