TrustRadius
Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager is a system monitoring and configuration management tool from Microsoft.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/7K/ip/88TRTK83XF39.jpegSCCM, When you know what you want to be when you grow up.We are a relatively small/medium company. I was fortunate enough to have enough influence to convince them to allow me to buy the Data Center version of both SCCM and SCOM. Having said that, we utilize SCCM within our IT Department to manage our IT inventory as well as push out critical updates and patches to our Microsoft Windows devices. Additionally, we utilize SCCM to track software licensing and usage across our organization. It has been a powerful tool for us as a company to enable not only the resource management functions, but leveraging the System Center Endpoint Protection (SCEP) product enables us to manage and take advantage Microsoft built in security products. The reporting is an extremely flexible and powerful tool that enables us to quickly visualize our inventory and assist with technology refreshes and forecasting our upgrades.,System Center Endpoint Protection (SCEP) product enables you to manage and take advantage Microsoft built in security products. Very simple to configure and maintain. Track software licensing and usage across your organization. Managing the ageing of our equipment and plan technical refreshes. Through reporting you can easily visualize your inventory and see basically any information needed to make informed decisions.,Configuration and setup of SCCM can be quite challenging if you have never performed this. Microsoft has very good documentation on this function and can guide a seasoned IT professional through the process. Keeping SCCM up to date can be challenging and I believe that this is a major opportunity for an area of improvement. There is a right-click tool kit that is separate that Microsoft should include in the console. Once you use them, you will understand why.,8,Positive Impact #1: Leveraging the Remote Access feature, we can simply remotely connect to a users workstation to assist with any issues they may encounter. We have multiple locations, so it is a huge time saver in troubleshooting end user issues. Positive Impact #2: ROI is different for everyone, but ours has been positive in that we dont have to travel back and fourth between building as often to assist users. This saves time, gas and ultimately money. Positive Impact #3: After you have deployed all the SCCM agents SCCM will start performing its magic. Inventory of your hardware and software is readily available in fully customizable reports that you can provide upper management for tech refreshes, etc. We also use the reports to ensure we have the right licensing installed vs. the licensing we have purchased.,,Veeam Backup & Replication, Veeam ONE, VMware vCenter Server, VMware ESXi, Graylog, Cisco Meraki Systems Manager, Cisco Meraki Wireless Access Point, System Center Operations Manager, WatchGuard NGFWSCCM is great for medium to large businesses but it's not for the faint of heart.We use MS SCCM in our organization to deploy and manage System Center Endpoint Protection. We also use it to deploy known good configurations of operating systems and programs for new machines to our network. We use SCCM to report and alert on the health status of servers and endpoints. We also use it to manage Windows and third party applications.,Patch Management OS Deployement Health Status Reporting Application Deployement,It can be a house of cards at times. If one little thing fails it seems like the whole thing comes crashing down. SCCM is NOT for the faint of heart. Setup is quite a chore. The setup process it NOT straight forward and relying on a third party walk-through is essential. Diagnosing what is wrong with SCCM can be a daunting task. Again... not for the faint of heart.,7,A positive impact we had when we implemented SCCM was that it streamlined OS Deployment. A positive impact was that it helped us get a handle on which clients were patched and which still needed their patches. When the patch management portion stopped working on our SCCM instance it caused us quite a headache and broke a lot of endpoints having them automatically upgrade to windows 10 without us being able to stop it.SCCM 2012 R2 ReviewMicrosoft System Center Configuration Manager is used by our whole IT department. Being part of a company that has multiple locations all across the world, SCCM is a must have tool for managing thousands of computers. SCCM is amazing for imaging, application deployment, and reporting. It allows you to save time and be very efficient.,SCCM has a very strong user community. One of SCCM's best feature would be the ability to push software through packages to multiple computers at once. What I like best about this release is the added powershell support.,Apart from the steep price, there is absolutely nothing to dislike about this product! Huge learning curve, requires a lot of training. Requires many prerequisites for installing SCCM on a Windows Server.,10,SCCM has basically made our whole IT department much more efficient with new hires and solving issues by simply re-imaging. Monitoring applications and infrastructure health. Being able to verify inventory and generate reports.,,Azure Active DirectoryMassive software package with massive results.We use SCCM throughout all of our hospital and clinics. We use it primarily for distributing software, remote desktop support, PC imaging and inventory management. The simplest and biggest time saver we employ is the remote session sharing feature. RDP steals the session and remote assistance shares the session. The nursing staff loves this feature because it allows us to jump on their PC with no permissions or software to download. We are fixing problems faster than ever before which is critical in healthcare.,Remote assistance. Quickly resolve problems with the customer. Software distribution. Quickly push out software updates, patches and new installs. Also has a self service app that lets users install software with no admin permissions required. Software inventory. It's nice to run a quick report and find out how many copies of Visio we have installed or how many servers have old versions of .Net.,Because it's such a huge piece of software it's easy to get lost in all the features and functionality and without proper knowledge you can unintentionally cause serious damage to your network. The reporting could use a little cleaning up and beautification. No web manager, still need an application install.,8,We were short staffed and this allowed us to install software and image machines where we needed 2 more FTEs. This was able to do that process with very little human interaction and reduced our need to hire more employees. Nurses and front line staff who were registering patients needed IT to very quickly remote into their machine and fix problems and the remote assistance to help us resolve problems faster than and remote assistance tool we found. There is an option to allow direct access with or without asking permission. Our staff didn't want the software to ask permission, they just wanted the problem fixed. Our EMR vendor releases patches all the time and we were going around to each PC installing the patches one by one. This allowed us to push out the software to all machines and get a detailed report on success and failure.,,Lansweeper, ParagonERP, MS SharePointSCCM - Essential for larger environmentsMicrosoft Systems Center Configuration Manager 2012 R2 is being used for: Deployment of Windows 7 and Windows 10 client desktop and laptop machinesDeployment of Windows Server 2012 R2 and 2016 Server machinesManagement of Windows updates for Windows servers and clientsApplying configuration and security baselines and ensuring complianceReporting and asset managementClient and server inventoriesSoftware deployment and updatesApplication deployment and compliance,Windows deployment is probably the biggest strength in my opinion. You can build and capture an operating system image, deploy it using as complex a task sequence as you want. The functionality can be combined with that of Microsoft Deployment Toolkit. A deployment can be Zero-Touch all the way to a fully managed sequence. Update management is very good combined with WSUS. The distributed model of SCCM makes it good for ensuring WAN links aren't overutilized.,Further work could be done on the software and application deployment side. The ability to view the logs from the same console would make a lot of sense.,9,Compliance with baselines has been made very clear. It is relatively easy to produce clear and well formatted reports. Assigning applications to users or groups makes management very easy.,Altiris,System Center Operations Manager, VMware vCenter Server, CommVault, Dell EMC Unity, EMC VNX, XtremIO Flash Storage, Microsoft Azure
Unspecified
Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager
89 Ratings
Score 8.0 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

SCCM Reviews

SCCM
89 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 89 vetted SCCM reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-13 of 13)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Joe Spradlin profile photo
July 02, 2018

Review: "SCCM, When you know what you want to be when you grow up."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a relatively small/medium company. I was fortunate enough to have enough influence to convince them to allow me to buy the Data Center version of both SCCM and SCOM. Having said that, we utilize SCCM within our IT Department to manage our IT inventory as well as push out critical updates and patches to our Microsoft Windows devices. Additionally, we utilize SCCM to track software licensing and usage across our organization. It has been a powerful tool for us as a company to enable not only the resource management functions, but leveraging the System Center Endpoint Protection (SCEP) product enables us to manage and take advantage Microsoft built in security products. The reporting is an extremely flexible and powerful tool that enables us to quickly visualize our inventory and assist with technology refreshes and forecasting our upgrades.
  • System Center Endpoint Protection (SCEP) product enables you to manage and take advantage Microsoft built in security products. Very simple to configure and maintain.
  • Track software licensing and usage across your organization.
  • Managing the ageing of our equipment and plan technical refreshes. Through reporting you can easily visualize your inventory and see basically any information needed to make informed decisions.
  • Configuration and setup of SCCM can be quite challenging if you have never performed this. Microsoft has very good documentation on this function and can guide a seasoned IT professional through the process.
  • Keeping SCCM up to date can be challenging and I believe that this is a major opportunity for an area of improvement.
  • There is a right-click tool kit that is separate that Microsoft should include in the console. Once you use them, you will understand why.
While there are other products that can perform functions that SCCM provides, I would still recommend SCCM due to the vast array of features that it provides IT professionals. Most great products that I have used require some configuration to ensure they are a useful tool that we as administrators and managers can utilize to extract data relating to our environment. SCCM can do just that.
Read Joe Spradlin's full review
Brandon Holbrook profile photo
June 11, 2018

Review: "SCCM is great for medium to large businesses but it's not for the faint of heart."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use MS SCCM in our organization to deploy and manage System Center Endpoint Protection. We also use it to deploy known good configurations of operating systems and programs for new machines to our network. We use SCCM to report and alert on the health status of servers and endpoints. We also use it to manage Windows and third party applications.
  • Patch Management
  • OS Deployement
  • Health Status Reporting
  • Application Deployement
  • It can be a house of cards at times. If one little thing fails it seems like the whole thing comes crashing down. SCCM is NOT for the faint of heart.
  • Setup is quite a chore. The setup process it NOT straight forward and relying on a third party walk-through is essential.
  • Diagnosing what is wrong with SCCM can be a daunting task. Again... not for the faint of heart.
If you are a small company with only a handful of endpoints and servers SCCM is not for you. SCCM would create far more problems than it would solve. If you are a medium to large company spread out over multiple sites SCCM would be the answer to your configuration management problems.
Read Brandon Holbrook's full review
No photo available
November 30, 2018

"SCCM 2012 R2 Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager is used by our whole IT department. Being part of a company that has multiple locations all across the world, SCCM is a must have tool for managing thousands of computers. SCCM is amazing for imaging, application deployment, and reporting. It allows you to save time and be very efficient.
  • SCCM has a very strong user community.
  • One of SCCM's best feature would be the ability to push software through packages to multiple computers at once.
  • What I like best about this release is the added powershell support.
  • Apart from the steep price, there is absolutely nothing to dislike about this product!
  • Huge learning curve, requires a lot of training.
  • Requires many prerequisites for installing SCCM on a Windows Server.
This software will greatly improve your organization and save you countless hours. If your company is still using Acronis or other small solutions, do them a favor by recommending them SCCM. SCCM is simply the greatest deployment solution on the market. I would highly recommend taking courses to obtain the best performance on the system.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 18, 2018

SCCM Review: "Massive software package with massive results."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SCCM throughout all of our hospital and clinics. We use it primarily for distributing software, remote desktop support, PC imaging and inventory management. The simplest and biggest time saver we employ is the remote session sharing feature. RDP steals the session and remote assistance shares the session. The nursing staff loves this feature because it allows us to jump on their PC with no permissions or software to download. We are fixing problems faster than ever before which is critical in healthcare.
  • Remote assistance. Quickly resolve problems with the customer.
  • Software distribution. Quickly push out software updates, patches and new installs. Also has a self service app that lets users install software with no admin permissions required.
  • Software inventory. It's nice to run a quick report and find out how many copies of Visio we have installed or how many servers have old versions of .Net.
  • Because it's such a huge piece of software it's easy to get lost in all the features and functionality and without proper knowledge you can unintentionally cause serious damage to your network.
  • The reporting could use a little cleaning up and beautification.
  • No web manager, still need an application install.
This is a great product for any environment with Windows machines. We don't use this feature but there are ways to manage Android and Apple devices as well as Mac computers. If you are short staffed, this tool can really replace a few technicians.
Read this authenticated review
Muhammad Mulla profile photo
January 29, 2018

Review: "SCCM - Essential for larger environments"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Systems Center Configuration Manager 2012 R2 is being used for:

  • Deployment of Windows 7 and Windows 10 client desktop and laptop machines
  • Deployment of Windows Server 2012 R2 and 2016 Server machines
  • Management of Windows updates for Windows servers and clients
  • Applying configuration and security baselines and ensuring compliance
  • Reporting and asset management
  • Client and server inventories
  • Software deployment and updates
  • Application deployment and compliance
  • Windows deployment is probably the biggest strength in my opinion. You can build and capture an operating system image, deploy it using as complex a task sequence as you want. The functionality can be combined with that of Microsoft Deployment Toolkit. A deployment can be Zero-Touch all the way to a fully managed sequence.
  • Update management is very good combined with WSUS.
  • The distributed model of SCCM makes it good for ensuring WAN links aren't overutilized.
  • Further work could be done on the software and application deployment side.
  • The ability to view the logs from the same console would make a lot of sense.
Config Manager is particularly well suited to larger environments where the flexibility and power of the product can be fully realised. It is one of those products that would benefit from a dedicated staff resource.

I do not think that Systems Center Configuration Manager is a good product to recommend to smaller business (e.g. those in single offices with fewer than 400 devices).
Read Muhammad Mulla's full review
Andrey Perepelitsyn profile photo
December 13, 2017

SCCM Review: "Swiss Army Knife for IT Pros"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft SCCM is used for applications and configuration management in our company. It has allowed driving updates and PowerShell DSC without any issues for years. It was a huge problem in the past, we had to use several different tools to keep our environment up to date. Now we are able to replace all of these with only Microsoft SCCM.
  • Configuration Management
  • Software dployment automation
  • Updates management
  • Looks a bit complex for new users
We are able to manage configurations, software updates, monitor software usage and deployment of desktop operating systems with a single tool and a single team of admins.
Read Andrey Perepelitsyn's full review
No photo available
January 16, 2018

User Review: "SCCM - Is it worth it?"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SCCM is being used to deploy new workstations, maintain workstation inventory, and apply patches and updates to operating systems and software. Our primary use is new workstation deployment and patching. We also use CM to deploy and manage Microsoft Endpoint Protection on our workstations. This software was purchased to optimize our hire on process.
  • Integration with active directory.
  • Integration with Windows workstations
  • Cumbersome and difficult to configure and manage.
  • Very few ways to manually process tasks; constantly waiting for CM to assess a system and determine if an update is necessary.
  • Requires far too much effort from a technician perspective compared to alternatives. Updating deployment packages, etc.
Large organization where you have enough technicians and can dedicate serious time to managing the system and keeping packages up to date.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 16, 2018

"SCCM 2012 Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SCCM for image deployment, windows update management, anti virus management with endpoint protection and as a backup remote management tool. Only the IT help desk is using this currently.

We got this in our origination, because Microsoft wanted to assist us in upgrading all of our machines to Windows 10, to move away from Windows 7. We are currently only licensed for workstations and do not actively use it on servers currently, but I believe we will in the future.
  • Anti-virus management. Deploying, managing and removing end point protection is simple. Compared to other products like Symantec, Webroot, Vipre and Trend Micro, threat protection was good and updates were easy. When it was time to remove, it was simple and did not require additional tools to remove the product.
  • Patch management was good. Works well with WSUS and reporting was decent and helped us get caught up on patching that we were lacking.
  • Image management. We have Windows 7 and 10 deployments set up and use SCCM to configure everything for capture and deployment.
  • I would like to see better training and explanation for configuring SCCM to import existing images that have been stood up. While I did manage to get it working, the documentation from Microsoft itself is lacking. I've found that I have to spend a lot of time researching from 3rd parties that have stumbled through it.
  • Remote access to workstations. SCCM remotes in to a machine via the IP and we have found that in an environment where there is wireless and wired and sometimes machines flop back and forth, we cannot always remote in to a machine. If they were able to use the SCCM agent or go by system name, we would be able to remote in to a PC easily and replace the 3rd party tool we have with Dameware.
  • Access restrictions. Doesn't provide an awesome way to lock down what a user can and cannot do within SCCM. We have some level 1 techs that we need to be able to modify a task sequence, but we don't want them to have full admin access.
Really good for internal IT. Would never work for a company that would use it to manage clients. Unless they stood it up per each client and maintained it, this works best for an IT department to manage itself.
Read this authenticated review
Felix Adusei Tuffour profile photo
November 27, 2017

"MIcrosoft SCCM Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft SCCM is used to manage all workstations either active or inactive found within the company's network domain. It is also used to deploy other resources to these workstations including, windows update, antivirus, and other applications. SCCM is currently being used actively by the IT department and occasionally used by the IT Auditors. The deployment of an antivirus application and other software applications on client machines was a major challenge as this was done on individual client machines which took a long time. With the introduction of Microsoft SCCM, deployment of such activity is done within a shorter period for batches or all machines at once.
  • Deployment of software applications to workstations within the network domain with ease
  • Monitoring of Client machine performance through dashboard activities
  • Ability to customize reports and also an adequate standard report preview
  • Not easily navigable when no proper training has been undergone
Microsoft SCCM is suitable for deploying all corporate software applications to either individual client machines or to a group of client machines.
Read Felix Adusei Tuffour's full review
Lawrence S. Patterson profile photo
October 13, 2017

"Microsoft SCCM Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SCCM is being used to manage users and computers. In coordination with Active Directory, software deployments, updates, device creations and deletions, user account creation, OU management, policy management are some of the activities performed through SCCM. SCCM is being used across the organization for application deployment and reimaging desktops when necessary. Multiple software installations can be performed by creating collections of computers and pushing the installations through the network. Other business problems include inventory of devices and remote connection to resolve troubleshooting matters.
  • Inventory reports can be created for specific O/S, microprocessors or connected monitors can be accomplished for annual computer refreshes.
  • Collections can be created to manage changes to multiple desktops.
  • Policies can be applied to user group for security and other purposes.
  • SCCM doesn't have some of the options that Active Directory provided for managing users or computers. It does have a great deal of flexibility and accessibility.
SCCM is a great tool for managing the application, computer and end-user environment. In coordination with Microsoft Active Directory, LANDESK and SQLServer most tasks are covered and easily accomplished.
Read Lawrence S. Patterson's full review
Scott Strader profile photo
August 31, 2017

User Review: "Microsoft SCCM"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SCCM allows us to manage and deploy machines on our network. This is a nice tool to have in order to centralize things for updates and deployment. We also use this for imagining new computers as they come in from Dell. We use it across the whole organization to manage the systems on the network.
  • Image computers from a standpoint of having everything in a centralized location for deployment
  • Deployment control of updates managed by IT system admins
  • Overall Management of computers in the network
  • Deploying Software seems to be a challenge and has a low rate of success when pushing through SCCM
  • Imaging can be cumbersome and depend on updates and current status of the machine there can be many roadblocks in the imaging process adding several hours to the process. It also takes a decent amount of time to keep the image up to date with current standards.
  • Having the machine join as a client does not work consistently. Have to manually check each machine after the image to ensure that this task has been completed successfully.
The whole idea of SCCM is great. Just wish that the features that it has actually work seamlessly. It seems we are always having systems fall off from being a client and/or they are not able to be updated. I am yet to have any success in deploying software and having it actually make it to the host machine.
Read Scott Strader's full review
No photo available
April 03, 2017

SCCM Review: "Software Deployment made easy and so many client details"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SCCM to deploy software packages and images, manage anti-virus solutions and track individual clients on the network. The IT department manages SCCM but all of the clients in the organization are connected and managed through the system. We were able to build some solutions that allowed tech support to instantly pull up information on a client and see vital stats at a glance. This makes software and hardware troubleshooting easier for the techs that have thousands of clients to support.
  • Deploy Images
  • Monitor network and system health
  • Deploy software packages based on user permissions
  • Imaging takes longer than it did with previous solution.
  • The client-side setup takes a long time to establish a connection after an image, delays software deployment
The amount of details we can gather about individual clients is pretty incredible. We know when the last virus scan happened and what items were flagged as suspicious. We can specify what users get access to which applications based on where their computer resides in the organization. We can connect to clients remotely to help troubleshoot issues.
Read this authenticated review
Ben Tusa profile photo
May 04, 2016

User Review: "SCCM makes my life harder"

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am not part of the team that owns SCCM rather I am impacted by SCCM on the servers and desktops that I do manage. We use SCCM as our primary means of patch/audit/software deployment solution for our desktops and servers.
  • SCCM doesn't do anything particularly well that I know of.
  • SCCM could be improved everywhere. IF you manage to get your patch collections configured it does seem to patch servers most of the time.
It's pretty bad in a VDI environment. If you are using 20 year old IT techniques I guess it wouldn't seem so bad. If it's primary purpose is to make managing systems easier it completely fails at the make things easier part. It just seems to introduce complexity at every turn.
Read Ben Tusa's full review

SCCM Scorecard Summary

About SCCM

Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager is a system monitoring and configuration management tool from Microsoft.

SCCM Integrations

SCCM Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No