TrustRadius
Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager is a system monitoring and configuration management tool from Microsoft.https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/7K/ip/88TRTK83XF39.jpegGreat tool for enterprise IT teams, must have usage experience for all IT specialists.At my current and previous companies, I have used System Center Configuration Manager as one of the main tools to manage my IT infrastructure. From simple management of active directory users and computers to detailed inventorying of windows equipment (computers and server), software inventorying, software deployments and patch management. Also, it is used as a main endpoint protection solution that includes centrally managed Windows Defender and ATP. We use System Center Configuration Manager as one of the main monitoring tools to get reports of the Windows patching state, device availability and activity, to get information about what PCs users are using at a current time. Using as the only solution to capture and image new and existing workstations and servers. And, also SCCM is the main remote control/assistance tool for our help desk department.,We have mostly Windows environments, so SCCM provides us tons of monitoring options for computers and servers. SCCM saves a lot of time and money for our Help Desk team to provide remote assistance to end users. In a Windows 10 environment, SCCM provides pretty decent endpoint protection. Patch management: tons of options of management, deployment, and monitoring. Systems Imaging: deploying images to new PCs or servers, reimaging existed environment. And of course, systems inventorying (hardware and software).,Initial configuration is pretty much complex and requires some additional time for preparation and deployment. It would be awesome to have Patch management and endpoint security be moved to separate tabs in the SCCM management console. Imaging functionality is great but over-complicated, and sometimes simple processes take way longer compared to regular WDS services. Better reporting and monitoring services with customized charts. Better integration of SCCM patching services with Windows Updates services on Windows 10. Sometimes it is almost impossible to say if patches were installed on Windows 10 via SCCM deployment until you get that information within SCCM management console. Requires a lot of learning about the product for IT personnel.,9,In our current environment, this System Center Configuration Manager had replaced several standalone solutions for patching, imaging, remote assistance, reporting, etc. That saved a lot of time and resulted in money to manage the IT infrastructure. Once SCCM is deployed and fully configured, all agents are deployed and it is easy to automate a lot of processes and just control them from time to time to make sure that everything is working as supposed to be. SCCM + Windows 10: great built-in endpoint protection solution. As a result, there is no need to buy additional software for that purpose. The imaging process is better compared to WDS because you can modify deployment packages and apply patches to a newly imaged machine. This saves tons of time for new employees deployment.,McAfee ePolicy Orchestrator, ManageEngine AssetExplorer, ManageEngine Desktop Central and Symantec Client Management Suite,Azure Active Directory, G Suite, Microsoft Office 365, Microsoft Exchange, Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2), VMware ESXi, Windows Server, MS SharePoint, Google Hangouts, Skype for Business (formerly Lync), Microsoft Azure, Spiceworks, SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor, Proofpoint Essentials for Small Business, Five9 Virtual Contact Center, Microsoft IIS, Cisco ASA, Druva inSync, Airtable, Slack,8,5Microsoft's Enterprise Management SoftwareMy former company used System Center Configuration Manager for software deployment, Imaging, and Microsoft updates. It was used across the entire enterprise, but my department only used it for imaging and application deployment. Before SCCM we were using Landesk, which I preferred greatly. That being said, SCCM does work well, as long as it is configured correctly. I would recommend it, but it would not be my first choice for deployment or imaging software.,Imaging from PXE boot, and it can be configured for remote imaging. Any IT department that has ever imaged 100 or more workstations with a CD and external drive knows that this is a strength. Application deployment. Sccm can be configured with a software store where end users can install the software they need. Update deployment, updates can be deployed on a set schedule with SCCM.,Imaging. I know that I gave this as a plus, but this is also a drawback too. Images take much longer to deploy via SCCM than they do with FOG or Landesk. The system itself is a huge learning curve and takes a great deal of configuration to make it work correctly. Remote Desktop Tool -- Microsoft already has a remote desktop tool, so why include almost the exact same one in your VERY expensive management suite?,8,Imaging: the time saved in having to boot to a CD and then image off of an external drive is priceless. Application deployment: time saved is almost uncountable. Windows Updates: unnecessary updates can be avoided, saving time and bandwidth.,Ivanti Endpoint Manager (formerly LANDESK Management Suite), Symantec Ghost Solution Suite and ManageEngine Desktop Central,Apache Web Server, Ubuntu Linux, McAfee Endpoint Security, McAfee ePolicy Orchestrator,9,8SCCM provides our company with support that is not matched by any other software.System Center Configuration Manager (SCCM)is being used across the whole organization on all of our Windows computers and our dual booted Mac computers. SCCM addresses the problem of having to have more employees to be available for hands on installing and updating any software that SCCM allows the user to do without another employee finding time to do it for them.,SCCM allows our administrator to push updates remotely and does not require our staff to do anything to install software/updates etc. SCCM lets us control licenses to software by allowing our administrator to only push out software to staff members when requested instead of allowing all staff to choose software from a list. Prevents unauthorized usage of licenses to software. SCCM allows periodic software updates to be scheduled even when our staff are not at their computers, because it does not require staff actions.,SCCM takes a long time to install once a computer has been reimaged and sometimes it fails. When the SCCM server goes down, no one is able to install anything and causes staff to be frustrated. There isn't a communication tool that tells users that new software has finished installing. Staff have to keep checking for software they requested to be installed to verify it was installed.,9,SCCM has provided a positive impact on our hours our technology staff has to spend installing software and updates manually. SCCM is stable and has very few instances of the servers going down. This helps us run efficiently and smoothly and not waste tech staff time. Our business objectives is to allow our staff to do their jobs with the least amount of down time. SCCM allows our windows users to keep running and allowing updates and software installs to run silently in the background and doesn't interrupt the work our staff does.,,BeyondTrust Remote Support (Formerely Bomgar Remote Support), Jamf Pro, Ivanti Asset Tracker (formerly Heat Asset Tracker),9,9The best tool to put things in order if you have a large company and use remote workersI use this tool to connect with my team remotely, and it has allowed us to have all the necessary information in an organized way and to have the documents ready to share quickly and safely. This harnessing has allowed me to build a real and very useful database, and allows me to establish service level objectives, review them, and generate associated reports. In general, it has allowed me to automate some processes associated with personnel management.,It allows me to increase the response capacity to the requirements of the users to keep the information organized and accessible. It allows me to build a really reliable database. It allows me to automate processes and establish a single point of contact per user. It is a very good tool to generate follow-up reports.,It is not an easy tool to use, it has many functions and tends to confuse the naked eye. The implementation is a bit slow.,9,t has allowed us to be more efficient and improve our response times It has allowed to increase the levels of satisfaction of our clients It has allowed us to be a more organized company,Oracle PeopleSoft HCM, Talentia HCM, Workday Human Capital Management, Microsoft 365 Business, Microsoft Access, Google Ads (formerly AdWords), Microsoft Yammer, MS SharePoint, Trello, PeopleFluent Mirror Suite for Talent Management, Zoom, Skype for Business (formerly Lync), Google Hangouts, Google Forms, Workplace by Facebook, Adobe Illustrator CC,7,10SCCM is the ideal solution for a large Microsoft-centric global organizationWe use Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager (SCCM) globally across over 40 countries and over 15000 clients on Windows Operating Systems. It is our enterprise software deployment solution as well as software management for enterprise wide desktops and servers. We have previously used WSUS and Altaris but SCCM allowed us to combine them into a single seamless platform providing us with much greater scalability as well as better reporting of software deployment and management status.,Consistent deployment of software across the enterprise with coherent reporting tools for better management of software and patching delivery. Highly scale-able for large enterprises and/or geographically dispersed organizations. Great value added for large Microsoft-centric organizations that heavily leverage Microsoft systems and software. Minimal administration required to maintain the system over the years once deployed despite the complexity of initial setup.,Complexity of initial deployment requires 6 to 8 months of planning and preparation. This is one of those projects that will take a year to implement. Managing user roles in the system can be made easier with use of templates and a more robust role management tool. System and agent upgrades as well as patching the SCCM back-end systems should be easier. Offer a hybrid cloud-based solution with pre-built models and templates for faster deployment and appeal to mid-size enterprises.,7,Cuts down our software deployment and patch management time compared to our old tools. Better reporting capability to determine the success to fail ratio of a deployed software or patch and additional information provided to mitigate the failed deployment. Consistent tool usage across our global units with centralized reporting to monitor monthly patch and software deployment results.,,Epic Cadence Enterprise Scheduling, Primavera Unifier, AspenOne Supply Chain Management,9,8
Unspecified
Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager
114 Ratings
Score 8.1 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

SCCM Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
SCCM
114 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 114 vetted SCCM reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-24 of 24)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Valery Mezentsau profile photo
March 14, 2019

SCCM Review: "Great tool for enterprise IT teams, must have usage experience for all IT specialists."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At my current and previous companies, I have used System Center Configuration Manager as one of the main tools to manage my IT infrastructure. From simple management of active directory users and computers to detailed inventorying of windows equipment (computers and server), software inventorying, software deployments and patch management. Also, it is used as a main endpoint protection solution that includes centrally managed Windows Defender and ATP. We use System Center Configuration Manager as one of the main monitoring tools to get reports of the Windows patching state, device availability and activity, to get information about what PCs users are using at a current time. Using as the only solution to capture and image new and existing workstations and servers. And, also SCCM is the main remote control/assistance tool for our help desk department.
  • We have mostly Windows environments, so SCCM provides us tons of monitoring options for computers and servers.
  • SCCM saves a lot of time and money for our Help Desk team to provide remote assistance to end users.
  • In a Windows 10 environment, SCCM provides pretty decent endpoint protection.
  • Patch management: tons of options of management, deployment, and monitoring.
  • Systems Imaging: deploying images to new PCs or servers, reimaging existed environment.
  • And of course, systems inventorying (hardware and software).
  • Initial configuration is pretty much complex and requires some additional time for preparation and deployment.
  • It would be awesome to have Patch management and endpoint security be moved to separate tabs in the SCCM management console.
  • Imaging functionality is great but over-complicated, and sometimes simple processes take way longer compared to regular WDS services.
  • Better reporting and monitoring services with customized charts.
  • Better integration of SCCM patching services with Windows Updates services on Windows 10. Sometimes it is almost impossible to say if patches were installed on Windows 10 via SCCM deployment until you get that information within SCCM management console.
  • Requires a lot of learning about the product for IT personnel.
This is a great work frame for managing your IT infrastructure. Tons of different options to configure systems, to manage software inventorying and deployments, patch management, systems imaging, etc. It is too hard to find a similar solution with the same number of features and options under the single management console. However, you still need to get third-party products to manage your network and Unix/Linix systems. And, of course, you need to be prepared before starting to use SCCM, it requires a lot of knowledge of the product and predeployment work to be done in advance.
Read Valery Mezentsau's full review
Michael Timms profile photo
March 07, 2019

SCCM Review: "Microsoft's Enterprise Management Software"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My former company used System Center Configuration Manager for software deployment, Imaging, and Microsoft updates. It was used across the entire enterprise, but my department only used it for imaging and application deployment. Before SCCM we were using Landesk, which I preferred greatly. That being said, SCCM does work well, as long as it is configured correctly. I would recommend it, but it would not be my first choice for deployment or imaging software.
  • Imaging from PXE boot, and it can be configured for remote imaging. Any IT department that has ever imaged 100 or more workstations with a CD and external drive knows that this is a strength.
  • Application deployment. Sccm can be configured with a software store where end users can install the software they need.
  • Update deployment, updates can be deployed on a set schedule with SCCM.
  • Imaging. I know that I gave this as a plus, but this is also a drawback too. Images take much longer to deploy via SCCM than they do with FOG or Landesk.
  • The system itself is a huge learning curve and takes a great deal of configuration to make it work correctly.
  • Remote Desktop Tool -- Microsoft already has a remote desktop tool, so why include almost the exact same one in your VERY expensive management suite?
Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager would be best suited in a large scale enterprise with multiple locations, and plenty of money to spread around. Also, you need an IT team that knows how to research to set it up and configure it correctly. It works well and you can make it do pretty much what you need it to do IF you are willing to put in the time and research to configure it correctly. If you are a smaller company, with say, one location though, there are much cheaper alternatives that have the same, if not more features.
Read Michael Timms's full review
Angel Swalve profile photo
March 20, 2019

Review: "SCCM provides our company with support that is not matched by any other software."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
System Center Configuration Manager (SCCM)is being used across the whole organization on all of our Windows computers and our dual booted Mac computers. SCCM addresses the problem of having to have more employees to be available for hands on installing and updating any software that SCCM allows the user to do without another employee finding time to do it for them.
  • SCCM allows our administrator to push updates remotely and does not require our staff to do anything to install software/updates etc.
  • SCCM lets us control licenses to software by allowing our administrator to only push out software to staff members when requested instead of allowing all staff to choose software from a list. Prevents unauthorized usage of licenses to software.
  • SCCM allows periodic software updates to be scheduled even when our staff are not at their computers, because it does not require staff actions.
  • SCCM takes a long time to install once a computer has been reimaged and sometimes it fails.
  • When the SCCM server goes down, no one is able to install anything and causes staff to be frustrated.
  • There isn't a communication tool that tells users that new software has finished installing. Staff have to keep checking for software they requested to be installed to verify it was installed.
SCCM provides our company a great support tool allowing our administrator to work behind the scenes and eliminates the staff it would take to touch each computer individually to install software and updates.
It is less appropriate for communication as it does not notify user once software has been updated or installed.
Read Angel Swalve's full review
Yamileth Cabrera Rendon profile photo
February 01, 2019

SCCM Review: "The best tool to put things in order if you have a large company and use remote workers"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use this tool to connect with my team remotely, and it has allowed us to have all the necessary information in an organized way and to have the documents ready to share quickly and safely. This harnessing has allowed me to build a real and very useful database, and allows me to establish service level objectives, review them, and generate associated reports.
In general, it has allowed me to automate some processes associated with personnel management.
  • It allows me to increase the response capacity to the requirements of the users to keep the information organized and accessible.
  • It allows me to build a really reliable database.
  • It allows me to automate processes and establish a single point of contact per user.
  • It is a very good tool to generate follow-up reports.
  • It is not an easy tool to use, it has many functions and tends to confuse the naked eye.
  • The implementation is a bit slow.
I recommend it for:
  • As a business management tool for large corporations with teams in different locations or places or doing remote work.
  • Following up on requests and generating reports of satisfaction.
  • If you need to organize and automate your processes.
I do not recommend it for:
  • If they need a quick implementation.
  • A small company with few work roles.
Read Yamileth Cabrera Rendon's full review
No photo available
March 18, 2019

Review: "SCCM is the ideal solution for a large Microsoft-centric global organization"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager (SCCM) globally across over 40 countries and over 15000 clients on Windows Operating Systems. It is our enterprise software deployment solution as well as software management for enterprise wide desktops and servers. We have previously used WSUS and Altaris but SCCM allowed us to combine them into a single seamless platform providing us with much greater scalability as well as better reporting of software deployment and management status.
  • Consistent deployment of software across the enterprise with coherent reporting tools for better management of software and patching delivery.
  • Highly scale-able for large enterprises and/or geographically dispersed organizations.
  • Great value added for large Microsoft-centric organizations that heavily leverage Microsoft systems and software.
  • Minimal administration required to maintain the system over the years once deployed despite the complexity of initial setup.
  • Complexity of initial deployment requires 6 to 8 months of planning and preparation. This is one of those projects that will take a year to implement.
  • Managing user roles in the system can be made easier with use of templates and a more robust role management tool.
  • System and agent upgrades as well as patching the SCCM back-end systems should be easier.
  • Offer a hybrid cloud-based solution with pre-built models and templates for faster deployment and appeal to mid-size enterprises.
SCCM is great for large global organizations with over 10,000 devices to manage or more. It is an excellent choice for a Microsoft-centric environment and pretty much the gold standard to for software deployment and patch management for Microsoft operating system devices. If you have a more mixed environment with Linux and Mac OS X, you may want to look at Altiris or WSUS, but keep in mind those products are less scalable.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 28, 2019

SCCM Review: "Asset Management, Software Deployment and Patch Management Solution"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager is used by our IT Operations department to create, deploy software packages for homegrown applications, commonly used software and windows update on desktop, laptops, and servers. It provides IT Asset Management capabilities as well as software inventory and auditing. The remote control feature is used by PC support for remote access and support solution.
  • Managing Windows Environments for patching, software deployment, and Inventory.
  • Automation of software deployment.
  • Imaging of devices.
  • Asset reporting.
  • The SCCM console is a bit outdated. Needs an improvement.
  • Better reporting, we have to rely on other monitoring tools for software and hardware inventory.
  • Configuration and setup of SCCM can be quite challenging if you have never performed this.
Well Suited:
  • System Center Endpoint Protection (SCEP) product enables you to manage and take advantage of Microsoft's built-in security products.
  • For our Desktop Support team, using the remote client to log in to PCs to troubleshoot Issue.
  • Easy for patch management and package deployment. Easy to create packages/collections and create dynamic groups for software deployment.
Less Appropriate:
  • Reporting.
  • Documentation and Training. Software and Licensing of the product are cheap, professional services are not.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 01, 2019

SCCM Review: "Good tool, specifically for big organizations"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization is basically using SCCM to deploy some applications remotely, keep a record of each machine we have deployed to users, which is a must have to any organization and also for patching endpoint computers. This last feature would be perfect if it worked consistently, but there are a few complaints.
  • Software deployment - SCCM allow you to silently deploy software to your users without leaving your desk.
  • You can keep track of each machine you deployed.
  • Even though is not perfect, the patching feature is still very helpful.
  • Patching with SCCM is now 100% guaranteed. Sometimes it gets stuck with some patches, other times the patches simply won't show up, but this is just for approximately 10-20% of the devices.
  • For some other features, they could make the path more straight forward, sometimes you need to spend some time in order to find what you want.
  • Sometimes it takes longer for the software you deploy to show up to the user's machine, but that is not an issue, it's kind of 1 in 50 deployments and it just takes a little more time but works.
Well, in my opinion, SCCM is a good tool for any kind of scenario, but if I had to choose I would say it's great mostly for big companies that have hundreds of employees. I wouldn't say SCCM is really needed for small companies with just a few employees where you can do deployments and upgrades manually.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 01, 2019

Review: "Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager is great for medium sized businesses and up"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is very effective for simple tasks such as pushing out Windows updates, Defender updates, and a large array of other software. We have also started using it for servicing Windows 10 computers. With the modern life cycle of Windows 10 being more aggressive then past versions, it has been extremely handy to use Windows 10 servicing to keep our computers running the latest builds of Windows 10.
  • Windows 10 servicing.
  • Endpoint protection policies and updates.
  • Reporting.
  • Surface Driver updates seem flaky.
  • Sometimes needs some TLC to keep Microsoft SCCM and WSUS happy.
  • Menu structure sometimes gets a little confusing.
Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager isn't too useful for smaller companies. But with businesses of 100+ users and PCs, it is very handy. It allows you to report on and manage all of those PCs. I can easily push out new software to certain PCs. and ensure they are always fresh with either the latest updates or latest builds of Windows.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 14, 2019

User Review: "SCCM FTW!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using SCCM across our entire company for software distribution, update/patching of workstations & servers, compliance settings for various items as well as reporting. It allows us to ensure our software and operating systems are up to date as well as ensures we are meeting certain requirements for baseline configurations.
  • Operating system deployments via SCCM are fantastic. They allow for robust settings in various formats and allows us to easily deploy new computers.
  • OS patching made easy. The patching process for our environment is a breeze when using SCCM. We're able to easily roll out patches to test environments and subsequently apply them to production
  • Software Deployments. There are so many options for deploying software that it's hard to find a replacement for SCCM. The ability to deploy to a user or computer is a wonderful feature. Not to mention having the ability to create a catalog where users can request/get software as needed.
  • Currently, we have no complaints with regards to SCCM.
The features and benefits of using SCCM are too hard to describe in detail but at a high-level overview the reporting, inventory, patching, management, and software/OSD options make this a wonderful investment. With regards to reporting, specifically finding out all hardware information for a group of computers, is vital to operations when planning for hardware refresh cycles. And having the ability to PXE boot a computer, give it a name, start the imaging process, and have it complete all the steps on its own saves hours of time.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 07, 2019

SCCM Review: "System Center Configuration Manager: Your New Patching Buddy"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Across all of IT, SCCM is used for deployment of software as well as Windows patching. It is used for both server patches as well as workstation patches—both laptop and desktop—on a monthly basis. It handles the patch process much more efficiently than its predecessor here—WSUS.
  • It's easy to group machines into separate categories, such as servers and workstations, or more in-depth categories, such as location X workstations and location Y servers, to easily target them for patches.
  • Sending software to a workstation through SCCM is simple!
  • Patching can be handled with bandwidth restrictions in mind, letting only X% of the wire be used for patching and even allowing the patches to go to a specific downstream server at a location to let all local workstations leech from there instead of the web or WAN.
  • It takes time to implement SCCM. Take advantage of an integration company whenever possible.
  • Its capabilities are broad and can go so deep that it takes a while to understand just a portion of it. Get training whenever possible.
  • Reporting is useful but could be expanded to more of a Power BI capability.
Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager is great for companies of all sizes, national or international. Its scalability and pinpoint accuracy can be used in all scenarios. However, use downstream servers as distribution points to save on bandwidth and ensure timely updates and easier deployment of individual software packages.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 22, 2019

User Review: "Microsoft SCCM is the answer"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Excellent tool for centralized and standardized configurations and software distribution. This tool is based on AD authentication like the rest of the Microsoft products and makes sending enterprise-wide updates automatically or manually a breeze. Metered usage for software, as well as built-in reporting, is excellent as well. Due to the popularity of the tool, there are enough resources online to get help on most issues.
  • We are using it for software distribution.
  • AD based user access.
  • Web-based.
  • Allow custom icons.
  • Reboot notifications.
  • Better reporting.
It well suited for most organizations where standardization is a need. The learning curve can be steep at times, but once it's fully implemented, it's well worth the effort. Ongoing premier support might be expensive for smaller companies. The baseline implementation has to be done right from the ground up.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 30, 2018

"SCCM 2012 R2 Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager is used by our whole IT department. Being part of a company that has multiple locations all across the world, SCCM is a must have tool for managing thousands of computers. SCCM is amazing for imaging, application deployment, and reporting. It allows you to save time and be very efficient.
  • SCCM has a very strong user community.
  • One of SCCM's best feature would be the ability to push software through packages to multiple computers at once.
  • What I like best about this release is the added powershell support.
  • Apart from the steep price, there is absolutely nothing to dislike about this product!
  • Huge learning curve, requires a lot of training.
  • Requires many prerequisites for installing SCCM on a Windows Server.
This software will greatly improve your organization and save you countless hours. If your company is still using Acronis or other small solutions, do them a favor by recommending them SCCM. SCCM is simply the greatest deployment solution on the market. I would highly recommend taking courses to obtain the best performance on the system.
Read this authenticated review
Joe Spradlin profile photo
July 02, 2018

Review: "SCCM, When you know what you want to be when you grow up."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a relatively small/medium company. I was fortunate enough to have enough influence to convince them to allow me to buy the Data Center version of both SCCM and SCOM. Having said that, we utilize SCCM within our IT Department to manage our IT inventory as well as push out critical updates and patches to our Microsoft Windows devices. Additionally, we utilize SCCM to track software licensing and usage across our organization. It has been a powerful tool for us as a company to enable not only the resource management functions, but leveraging the System Center Endpoint Protection (SCEP) product enables us to manage and take advantage Microsoft built in security products. The reporting is an extremely flexible and powerful tool that enables us to quickly visualize our inventory and assist with technology refreshes and forecasting our upgrades.
  • System Center Endpoint Protection (SCEP) product enables you to manage and take advantage Microsoft built in security products. Very simple to configure and maintain.
  • Track software licensing and usage across your organization.
  • Managing the ageing of our equipment and plan technical refreshes. Through reporting you can easily visualize your inventory and see basically any information needed to make informed decisions.
  • Configuration and setup of SCCM can be quite challenging if you have never performed this. Microsoft has very good documentation on this function and can guide a seasoned IT professional through the process.
  • Keeping SCCM up to date can be challenging and I believe that this is a major opportunity for an area of improvement.
  • There is a right-click tool kit that is separate that Microsoft should include in the console. Once you use them, you will understand why.
While there are other products that can perform functions that SCCM provides, I would still recommend SCCM due to the vast array of features that it provides IT professionals. Most great products that I have used require some configuration to ensure they are a useful tool that we as administrators and managers can utilize to extract data relating to our environment. SCCM can do just that.
Read Joe Spradlin's full review
Brandon Holbrook profile photo
June 11, 2018

Review: "SCCM is great for medium to large businesses but it's not for the faint of heart."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use MS SCCM in our organization to deploy and manage System Center Endpoint Protection. We also use it to deploy known good configurations of operating systems and programs for new machines to our network. We use SCCM to report and alert on the health status of servers and endpoints. We also use it to manage Windows and third party applications.
  • Patch Management
  • OS Deployement
  • Health Status Reporting
  • Application Deployement
  • It can be a house of cards at times. If one little thing fails it seems like the whole thing comes crashing down. SCCM is NOT for the faint of heart.
  • Setup is quite a chore. The setup process it NOT straight forward and relying on a third party walk-through is essential.
  • Diagnosing what is wrong with SCCM can be a daunting task. Again... not for the faint of heart.
If you are a small company with only a handful of endpoints and servers SCCM is not for you. SCCM would create far more problems than it would solve. If you are a medium to large company spread out over multiple sites SCCM would be the answer to your configuration management problems.
Read Brandon Holbrook's full review
No photo available
September 18, 2018

SCCM Review: "Massive software package with massive results."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SCCM throughout all of our hospital and clinics. We use it primarily for distributing software, remote desktop support, PC imaging and inventory management. The simplest and biggest time saver we employ is the remote session sharing feature. RDP steals the session and remote assistance shares the session. The nursing staff loves this feature because it allows us to jump on their PC with no permissions or software to download. We are fixing problems faster than ever before which is critical in healthcare.
  • Remote assistance. Quickly resolve problems with the customer.
  • Software distribution. Quickly push out software updates, patches and new installs. Also has a self service app that lets users install software with no admin permissions required.
  • Software inventory. It's nice to run a quick report and find out how many copies of Visio we have installed or how many servers have old versions of .Net.
  • Because it's such a huge piece of software it's easy to get lost in all the features and functionality and without proper knowledge you can unintentionally cause serious damage to your network.
  • The reporting could use a little cleaning up and beautification.
  • No web manager, still need an application install.
This is a great product for any environment with Windows machines. We don't use this feature but there are ways to manage Android and Apple devices as well as Mac computers. If you are short staffed, this tool can really replace a few technicians.
Read this authenticated review
Muhammad Mulla profile photo
January 29, 2018

Review: "SCCM - Essential for larger environments"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Systems Center Configuration Manager 2012 R2 is being used for:

  • Deployment of Windows 7 and Windows 10 client desktop and laptop machines
  • Deployment of Windows Server 2012 R2 and 2016 Server machines
  • Management of Windows updates for Windows servers and clients
  • Applying configuration and security baselines and ensuring compliance
  • Reporting and asset management
  • Client and server inventories
  • Software deployment and updates
  • Application deployment and compliance
  • Windows deployment is probably the biggest strength in my opinion. You can build and capture an operating system image, deploy it using as complex a task sequence as you want. The functionality can be combined with that of Microsoft Deployment Toolkit. A deployment can be Zero-Touch all the way to a fully managed sequence.
  • Update management is very good combined with WSUS.
  • The distributed model of SCCM makes it good for ensuring WAN links aren't overutilized.
  • Further work could be done on the software and application deployment side.
  • The ability to view the logs from the same console would make a lot of sense.
Config Manager is particularly well suited to larger environments where the flexibility and power of the product can be fully realised. It is one of those products that would benefit from a dedicated staff resource.

I do not think that Systems Center Configuration Manager is a good product to recommend to smaller business (e.g. those in single offices with fewer than 400 devices).
Read Muhammad Mulla's full review
Andrey Perepelitsyn profile photo
December 13, 2017

SCCM Review: "Swiss Army Knife for IT Pros"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft SCCM is used for applications and configuration management in our company. It has allowed driving updates and PowerShell DSC without any issues for years. It was a huge problem in the past, we had to use several different tools to keep our environment up to date. Now we are able to replace all of these with only Microsoft SCCM.
  • Configuration Management
  • Software dployment automation
  • Updates management
  • Looks a bit complex for new users
We are able to manage configurations, software updates, monitor software usage and deployment of desktop operating systems with a single tool and a single team of admins.
Read Andrey Perepelitsyn's full review
Felix Adusei Tuffour profile photo
November 27, 2017

"MIcrosoft SCCM Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft SCCM is used to manage all workstations either active or inactive found within the company's network domain. It is also used to deploy other resources to these workstations including, windows update, antivirus, and other applications. SCCM is currently being used actively by the IT department and occasionally used by the IT Auditors. The deployment of an antivirus application and other software applications on client machines was a major challenge as this was done on individual client machines which took a long time. With the introduction of Microsoft SCCM, deployment of such activity is done within a shorter period for batches or all machines at once.
  • Deployment of software applications to workstations within the network domain with ease
  • Monitoring of Client machine performance through dashboard activities
  • Ability to customize reports and also an adequate standard report preview
  • Not easily navigable when no proper training has been undergone
Microsoft SCCM is suitable for deploying all corporate software applications to either individual client machines or to a group of client machines.
Read Felix Adusei Tuffour's full review
No photo available
January 16, 2018

User Review: "SCCM - Is it worth it?"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SCCM is being used to deploy new workstations, maintain workstation inventory, and apply patches and updates to operating systems and software. Our primary use is new workstation deployment and patching. We also use CM to deploy and manage Microsoft Endpoint Protection on our workstations. This software was purchased to optimize our hire on process.
  • Integration with active directory.
  • Integration with Windows workstations
  • Cumbersome and difficult to configure and manage.
  • Very few ways to manually process tasks; constantly waiting for CM to assess a system and determine if an update is necessary.
  • Requires far too much effort from a technician perspective compared to alternatives. Updating deployment packages, etc.
Large organization where you have enough technicians and can dedicate serious time to managing the system and keeping packages up to date.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 16, 2018

"SCCM 2012 Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SCCM for image deployment, windows update management, anti virus management with endpoint protection and as a backup remote management tool. Only the IT help desk is using this currently.

We got this in our origination, because Microsoft wanted to assist us in upgrading all of our machines to Windows 10, to move away from Windows 7. We are currently only licensed for workstations and do not actively use it on servers currently, but I believe we will in the future.
  • Anti-virus management. Deploying, managing and removing end point protection is simple. Compared to other products like Symantec, Webroot, Vipre and Trend Micro, threat protection was good and updates were easy. When it was time to remove, it was simple and did not require additional tools to remove the product.
  • Patch management was good. Works well with WSUS and reporting was decent and helped us get caught up on patching that we were lacking.
  • Image management. We have Windows 7 and 10 deployments set up and use SCCM to configure everything for capture and deployment.
  • I would like to see better training and explanation for configuring SCCM to import existing images that have been stood up. While I did manage to get it working, the documentation from Microsoft itself is lacking. I've found that I have to spend a lot of time researching from 3rd parties that have stumbled through it.
  • Remote access to workstations. SCCM remotes in to a machine via the IP and we have found that in an environment where there is wireless and wired and sometimes machines flop back and forth, we cannot always remote in to a machine. If they were able to use the SCCM agent or go by system name, we would be able to remote in to a PC easily and replace the 3rd party tool we have with Dameware.
  • Access restrictions. Doesn't provide an awesome way to lock down what a user can and cannot do within SCCM. We have some level 1 techs that we need to be able to modify a task sequence, but we don't want them to have full admin access.
Really good for internal IT. Would never work for a company that would use it to manage clients. Unless they stood it up per each client and maintained it, this works best for an IT department to manage itself.
Read this authenticated review
Lawrence S. Patterson profile photo
October 13, 2017

"Microsoft SCCM Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SCCM is being used to manage users and computers. In coordination with Active Directory, software deployments, updates, device creations and deletions, user account creation, OU management, policy management are some of the activities performed through SCCM. SCCM is being used across the organization for application deployment and reimaging desktops when necessary. Multiple software installations can be performed by creating collections of computers and pushing the installations through the network. Other business problems include inventory of devices and remote connection to resolve troubleshooting matters.
  • Inventory reports can be created for specific O/S, microprocessors or connected monitors can be accomplished for annual computer refreshes.
  • Collections can be created to manage changes to multiple desktops.
  • Policies can be applied to user group for security and other purposes.
  • SCCM doesn't have some of the options that Active Directory provided for managing users or computers. It does have a great deal of flexibility and accessibility.
SCCM is a great tool for managing the application, computer and end-user environment. In coordination with Microsoft Active Directory, LANDESK and SQLServer most tasks are covered and easily accomplished.
Read Lawrence S. Patterson's full review
Scott Strader profile photo
August 31, 2017

User Review: "Microsoft SCCM"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SCCM allows us to manage and deploy machines on our network. This is a nice tool to have in order to centralize things for updates and deployment. We also use this for imagining new computers as they come in from Dell. We use it across the whole organization to manage the systems on the network.
  • Image computers from a standpoint of having everything in a centralized location for deployment
  • Deployment control of updates managed by IT system admins
  • Overall Management of computers in the network
  • Deploying Software seems to be a challenge and has a low rate of success when pushing through SCCM
  • Imaging can be cumbersome and depend on updates and current status of the machine there can be many roadblocks in the imaging process adding several hours to the process. It also takes a decent amount of time to keep the image up to date with current standards.
  • Having the machine join as a client does not work consistently. Have to manually check each machine after the image to ensure that this task has been completed successfully.
The whole idea of SCCM is great. Just wish that the features that it has actually work seamlessly. It seems we are always having systems fall off from being a client and/or they are not able to be updated. I am yet to have any success in deploying software and having it actually make it to the host machine.
Read Scott Strader's full review
Ben Tusa profile photo
May 04, 2016

User Review: "SCCM makes my life harder"

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am not part of the team that owns SCCM rather I am impacted by SCCM on the servers and desktops that I do manage. We use SCCM as our primary means of patch/audit/software deployment solution for our desktops and servers.
  • SCCM doesn't do anything particularly well that I know of.
  • SCCM could be improved everywhere. IF you manage to get your patch collections configured it does seem to patch servers most of the time.
It's pretty bad in a VDI environment. If you are using 20 year old IT techniques I guess it wouldn't seem so bad. If it's primary purpose is to make managing systems easier it completely fails at the make things easier part. It just seems to introduce complexity at every turn.
Read Ben Tusa's full review
No photo available
April 03, 2017

SCCM Review: "Software Deployment made easy and so many client details"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SCCM to deploy software packages and images, manage anti-virus solutions and track individual clients on the network. The IT department manages SCCM but all of the clients in the organization are connected and managed through the system. We were able to build some solutions that allowed tech support to instantly pull up information on a client and see vital stats at a glance. This makes software and hardware troubleshooting easier for the techs that have thousands of clients to support.
  • Deploy Images
  • Monitor network and system health
  • Deploy software packages based on user permissions
  • Imaging takes longer than it did with previous solution.
  • The client-side setup takes a long time to establish a connection after an image, delays software deployment
The amount of details we can gather about individual clients is pretty incredible. We know when the last virus scan happened and what items were flagged as suspicious. We can specify what users get access to which applications based on where their computer resides in the organization. We can connect to clients remotely to help troubleshoot issues.
Read this authenticated review

About SCCM

Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager is a system monitoring and configuration management tool from Microsoft.

SCCM Integrations

SCCM Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No