Microsoft Teams Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
422 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 123)

Karen Zelzer | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2019

Microsoft Teams, connecting employees both in and out of the office

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Lets employees know who is online and makes it easy to contact them for questions.
  • Able to see if someone is busy and should not be disturbed which helps save time in trying to contact them or hunt them down.
  • Allows specific groups to be created where we can share ideas and brainstorm without having to interrupt other employees in the office.
  • Wish there way a better way to organize who you see on the side bar, right now I only know of chats being organized by Recent or by Contacts.
  • Wish you could zoom out on the calendar, I like seeing multiple weeks and even the whole month so I know when meetings are coming up. Right now you can only view the calendar in Day, Work Week, or Week mode.
Read Karen Zelzer's full review
Hilary Hobbs | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 25, 2020

Microsoft Teams for Teams is A++

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The ability to have a private chat with one person or a group message with everyone in your department.
  • All of our important documents are held in the 'wiki' portion of teams, which allows things to be easily accessed and all in one place.
  • I like that you can use GIFs right in the messenger. It adds a little fun to your usual chats.
  • Teams will randomly close for no particular reason throughout the day on my computer. It's a bit of an annoyance.
  • The activity portion confuses me time to time on which chat it is notifying me since I have private chats with the same people in group chats. Causes a little confusion.
  • It took me a while to realize that there is a sidebar for the wiki portion. I was only seeing one file when I knew there was more but couldn't find them.
Read Hilary Hobbs's full review
Gabriela Band | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2020

Great for big businesses

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Integrated with all of Microsoft's suite of products
  • Great mobile functionality
  • Upon opening a Skype invitation, it does not automatically open in Teams. Not very user-friendly on that.
  • You can't delete a sent message on the chat tab.
Read Gabriela Band's full review
Shanti Sharma | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2020

The undefined truth

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The best part of Microsoft Teams is that they keep all records of conversation within the meetings. So there is no need to use any screen recorders or any other application to record the chats, whether you are one on one or you are with a group.
  • The command box which is used to search anything within Microsoft Teams is very useful. You don't need to navigate all chats, you just have to search for the name in the command box and it will show you that.
  • It doesn't have a group calendar option, which is pretty annoying.
  • I have found that the permission settings are pretty confusing.
Read Shanti Sharma's full review
Charles R. Coggins III | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2020

MS Teams a wonderful small business application

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Teams is excellent for a business where employees in the company are not located in the same building and need to communicate with each other.
  • Team's does Video and Audio calling really well. We have not experienced any issues with quality as of yet.
  • The biggest downfall with Teams is some users experience slowness with this product. I personally have not had an issue, but I am the IT person who goes around and fixes issues in-house and I sometimes see Teams causing huge CPU and Memory spikes and watch the software lag on peoples PC's for no reason.
  • I also don't like the way it stores attachments. If you add an attachment to a message it will store it in a folder and sometimes that folder is really hard to find.
Read Charles R. Coggins III's full review
Zack Uzzle, ITIL, ATD Master Trainer | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 21, 2020

Teams: A robust collaboration suite that helps you get things done!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Voice and video quality
  • System integrations
  • There are a lot of different functions within Teams, so there's a bit of a learning curve.
  • It would be nice if there were different color themes to choose from (a dark theme would be excellent).
Read Zack Uzzle, ITIL, ATD Master Trainer's full review
Chris Carpenter | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 21, 2020

Microsoft Teams is the robust and integrated collaboration platform I have been waiting for.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It handles meetings really well--both video and audio.
  • The mobile client is a very nice value add.
  • The ad-hoc SharePoint that can be used in Teams is not integrated under the governance of existing enterprise versions, so users can get confused about what they are using.
  • Integration of Office 365 tools is not fully functional like their standalone instances.
Read Chris Carpenter's full review
Quentin Goin | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 21, 2020

Communicate quickly and efficiently.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Voice quality is typically really good.
  • Sharing your screen or application works well.
  • Needing a lighter plug-in for customers who don't have Teams and need to download it to join your meeting.
  • If joining over voice and sharing screen, bandwidth requirements seem to go up more than other tools. I could be wrong on this or there are other factors going on here.
Read Quentin Goin's full review
Stephanie Majeran | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2020

Microsoft Teams works well for smaller, globally based teams

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Great combination of communication avenues
  • Notification of relevant posts to email, in case you're not logged in
  • It is not overly intuitive. When I first jumped in, with no training, it took some time for me to get the hang of where everything lived.
  • Opening other Microsoft apps FROM Teams is ugly
Read Stephanie Majeran's full review
Melissa Rances, PMP | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2020

Microsoft Teams Review

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Collaboration with others inside and outside your organization
  • Ability to access Microsoft Teams on any mobile device
  • Limitations to what and how apps can be added to your team when you add a tab; for example, you cannot add an existing project from Planner to your team. You have to create the project from Planner once you add it as a tab in Teams
  • I just created a team from scratch and for some reason, it keeps disappearing from my dashboard.
Read Melissa Rances, PMP's full review
Cindy Arco | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2020

Helps Make a Winning Team

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Great Layout - Microsoft Teams has a great layout/interface.
  • App Integration - Microsoft Teams allows integration for several other apps/programs, including those from Microsoft and other developers.
  • Team Management - anyone can create a team, so if there is no direction from upper management about how to best use the app and who should be leading. Its integration within an individual department or team, you could quickly end up with more than one "Team" on the app.
  • Replication - some of the functions, like the chat feature, replicate the functionality of other popular apps many companies already use, like the chat feature and Skype. So you could end up with multiple chats going on the same project that aren't all within the Teams app.
Read Cindy Arco's full review
Matt Varney | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2020

Microsoft Teams - A lot to it!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It allows for "in the moment" or "in the flow" collaboration. For instance, you can share a document while chatting about it. The chat and document are always connected and it is easy to see the surrounding context of comments and how they relate to portions of a document.
  • The Teams mobile client is excellent. Far superior to the Skype mobile client.
  • The name "Teams" can be confusing, particularly if your organization has used SharePoint team sites much in the past. Also, it is a plural noun name, so it can be grammatically awkward as an IT person to suggest to a group that they "may want to try a new Teams".
  • There is a lot to the Teams experience. The communications portions (chatting and Teams meetings) can be fairly straightforward to understand on a basic level, but when you start combining that with ongoing work for standing groups (i.e. real-world teams), then Teams can get overwhelming to think about how that team works. It isn't a technology capability problem - it is an issue of making sure the work (and processes) fits the technology.
Read Matt Varney's full review
Taylor Martz | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2020

Teams at a glance

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Allows for "groups" to be formed to help segment and organize chats and communication for projects, teams, departments, etc.
  • Allows file sharing and storage within the platform.
  • I feel the user interface is a little clunky and could be more modern/smooth.
  • The "call" and "video chat" feature does not work well with overseas counterparts.
Read Taylor Martz's full review
Heather Robinette, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2020

Collaboration and Communication Tool for All Teams

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to use platform - It is easy to set up and it is easy for users to learn how to use it.
  • Integrations with other Microsoft Products - I like that it integrates with SharePoint and Outlook. I'm able to easily schedule meetings and share files.
  • It is continuing to evolve - It seems like every few months there is something new.
  • Lacks the ability to make one screen the main screen during a video call, it would be nice to pick a primary one if you have one main presenter and multiple people on the call. We use it to show our white board.
  • I wish the button to take notes for a meeting were more obvious. You have to join the chat to start the notes, which took me a while to figure out.
  • I wish the file structure integrated a little better with SharePoint and new folders weren't necessarily created.
Read Heather Robinette, MBA's full review
Eddie Moncayo, MBA, SWP, RACR | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 28, 2019

Microsoft Teams Makes Collaboration and Communication Easy

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Document loading and sharing is a game-changer for instant collaboration, especially with multiple individuals.
  • Chat functionality easily rivals Slack and the integration of chat with Teams other powerful functions makes it a must-have for communication.
  • Calendar and voice functions are also integrated into the tool and essential.
  • More third party apps are needed.
  • When transitioning from Skype to Teams, some quirky things occurred when identifying user statuses.
Read Eddie Moncayo, MBA, SWP, RACR's full review
Sierra Schubach | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 15, 2019

Microsoft Teams gets the job done!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Outlook integration
  • Outlook calendar integration
  • Creating different teams for communication
  • It isn't as intuitive as I would like, I find myself clicking around a lot when I am looking for a certain task
  • Notifications are limited and don't always work
  • Settings are limited
Read Sierra Schubach's full review
Matthew Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 09, 2019

Microsoft Teams for Project Management

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • A place to collaborate.
  • Native workspace to bring in other MS products, and even other web-based sites, and resources.
  • Increases efficiency between multiple MS products and features.
  • Wish you could share/send a channel between other groups.
  • Would like to see better web support for viewing Excel files, or other websites.
  • Can be a bit time consuming when managing the Wiki data, especially when removing old channels from OneDrive.
Read Matthew Smith's full review
Melinda Saternis | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 17, 2019

An Effective & Fun Way to Communicate

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It's fast with very few issues revolving around connectivity
  • It's significantly updated compared to some other chat programs that we also use.
  • There are more features making it more enjoyable to use.
  • I actually haven't come across any true issues with it yet. It's been able to meet all our needs and then some.
Read Melinda Saternis's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

The Right Fit for a Microsoft Heavy Workplace

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Filesharing
  • GIFs and other fun aspects of a chat software
  • "(name) is typing" display.
  • Interfacing with Microsoft Suite programs
  • Drawing contacts from Outlook
  • A taskbar widget that allows replies from right clicking the taskbar icon.
  • more GIF engines beyond GIPHY, or a native GIPHY interface complete with mood categories.
  • Recent Chats column collapsible to bubbles with initial before disappearing when narrowing the window, similar to Apple iMessage on Mac software.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2020

Microsoft Teams needs a serious UI/UX overhaul, and for now there are better options out there

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It allows all of the documents for a project to be stored on the cloud and updated in real time, instead of on a network drive where changes are more difficult to track.
  • It allows teams to keep their communication and project files centralized, instead of in disparate places.
  • Navigation within a document set is clunky. For example, clicking "back" never takes you back to the previous screen or one level up, like you'd expect. It takes you back to the main document set. This causes clicking in circles if you are trying to edit multiple documents in a folder.
  • Moving documents from one place to another is also clunky and not intuitive. You cannot move an entire folder, but only a single document at a time. This wastes time.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (29)
7.4
Gantt Charts (11)
5.7
Scheduling (23)
7.1
Workflow Automation (14)
6.9
Mobile Access (34)
8.5
Search (31)
7.5
Visual planning tools (20)
6.3
Chat (39)
8.9
Notifications (38)
8.1
Discussions (37)
8.6
Surveys (13)
7.5
Internal knowledgebase (15)
7.2
Integrates with GoToMeeting (5)
6.6
Integrates with Gmail and Google Hangouts (5)
6.2
Integrates with Outlook (33)
8.9
Versioning (23)
8.0
Video files (26)
8.2
Audio files (26)
8.3
Document collaboration (35)
8.2
Access control (29)
7.7
Advanced security features (21)
7.4
Integrates with Google Drive (7)
8.1
Device sync (20)
8.6

About Microsoft Teams

Microsoft Teams combines video conferencing software with team collaboration tools. The communications platform allows MS Office users to conduct conference calls and share files via SharePoint, and join or initiate a group chat.

Microsoft Teams features three tiers of pricing. The first is a subscription-less, free option that offers the same features as the other two tiers but does not offer administration tools like analytics and access to on-premise servers, or support features like 24/7 phone and web support. The second and third tiers are based on the size of your business and its conferencing needs. Its “Office 365 Business Premium” option starts at $12.50 a month per user, with a required annual commitment, and its “Office 365 E3” option for enterprises starts at $20 a month per user, also with a required annual commitment.

Key Features
Meetings: Meet with teams of 10 or 10,000. Host audio, video, and web conferences with anyone inside or outside your organization or go big with live events.

Calling: Its Phone System feature enables PBX capabilities including call control in Office 365 and replaces on-premises PBX. Its calling features are customizable to fit your organization’s unique needs.


Microsoft Teams Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No