TrustRadius
Microsoft Visual Studio Team System (VSTS) is an agile development product that is an extension of the Microsoft Visual Studio architecture. VSTS includes software development, collaboration, and reporting capabilities.Best IDE -->Visual StudioWe are using Microsoft VS (2010,2013,2017) with the integration of Team Foundation Server(TFS) with it. We are using it to keep track of the whole software development life cycle. Each developer regularly checks code changes with the addition of Visual Studio to the TFS. As for the integration side, we are using it to clean , build, and deploy the code changes to different servers to upgrade them to the latest version.,Visual Studio supports many languages like C#,HTML.C++ and many others. We can also make Visual Studio to support other different languages with the help of plugins, like for Java, Python, etc. We are using TFS with the VS, so it makes it easy to track the code and project changes, and if required we can also track the code of every single line to see what it means, by whom this code is written, and for which problem. A unique work item change order number is assigned to the changes that you are making, apart from your shelveset creation We can create the build definition through which we can automate the deployment and upgrade processes. It provides a lot of menus and options/templates through which we can make our computer application for enterprise or for non-enterprise We can easily integrate our customized/required menu in the VS through registry files or through deployment of the code,Need to make the changes so that it doesn't occupy most of the CPU utilization and memory Execution of Bulky SQl Queries leads to either the SQl being out of exception or the VS being unresponsive Integration with Microsoft products is easy, but with non-Microsoft products it is more difficult, and you have to make a lot of configuration changes to integrate With every upgrade of the Visual Studio, like from VS 2010 to VS 2013 , we need to upgrade our hardware/machine, as the VS hardware requirement also increases If code is getting compiled in one visual studio, like in VS 2010, that the same code could possibly give an error when compiled in VS 2013, due to certain changes in keyword, data format, etc., with the VS upgrade,8,It provides a great IDE to make things easier, clear, and compact. It has always been a positive ROI It's worth the money. I don't think any other software could replace the VS. It has helped us a lot to making things ready on time The only thing I dislike is that it takes a lot of memory space when in an idle state,,Microsoft SQL ServerVSTS the best for Microsoft buildsVSTS is currently being used by one department at work but was I brought it into the company about six years ago. We currently use VSTS as a building and testing tool. We set up the builds and create tests to run after a build is successful. When I first started with VSTS I set it up to run on a daily basis and then had the developers correct the problems that were shown by the tests. This works very well and the developers like using it since they did not have to keep on integrating their changes together.,VSTS has a wonderful integration with Team Foundation Source control and Git. This is good because these were two source control systems that we used. VSTS can be scheduled to run its builds and test at various times of the day. This means it can in the middle of the night and be ready for the developers when they get in in the morning. VSTS handles Microsoft builds very easily. Building a .Net application can be set up with almost no work. You just have to use the Visual Studio solution that was used by the developers to create the application.,VSTS is very Microsoft centric. If the application you want to build is not based on Microsoft items such as C#, or Visual Basic it is very difficult to use. If you are using the latest version of VSTS then you will find a documentation problem. It can be very hard to find methods and help trying to get something running. Passing data between VSTS build steps is not easy. It can be done, but it is not a normal thing that you would Microsoft would have put into their product.,7,When I first VSTS it was with a team of developers who always work on their own. This project was the first one at the company that used six developers all work on the same product at the same time. Integrating someone else code into the system was an unknown entity. VSTS really helped move this new collaboration forward. The staff who were on this team then moved on work together on other teams because they knew how to handle this type of work. The learning curve on VSTS is quite large so make sure you have some of your best starting anew VSTS project. They will fail a few times but after a few mistakes they will get how to do things and your build, tests and deployments will all be automated. The user integration into VSTS is very good. As long as you developers can use Team Foundation Server source control, either Microsoft's or git, then they already have the permission to have VSTS access source control. This is very good.,Jenkins,Jenkins, Netwrix Auditor, NetsparkerVSTS will save you time/moneyMicrosoft Visual Studio Team System (VSTS) is being used currently only by IT and a few select people in the business unit. The main goal of using VSTS from the business perspective was to improve communication, work item management, improve planning and increase visibility into product management. For the developers in IT, it was imperative to have more integration between business requirement and code, moreover, it also expedited development workflow (code reviews, etc).,Work item management is fantastic and easy to use. It can be used as simply just tracking tasks, or as complex as tracing work items from multiple projects being assigned to a single developer. Work items can be customized easily to meet the needs of your organization as well, and it isn't difficult to manage the customization. Source code management is excellent and tied directly into VSTS. You have a choice of TFVC or GIT management options - we've switched to git and have not looked back. It is fully featured and commits can be tied directly to a work item using # tags. Metrics/dashboard - being able to write simple queries and move them to a dashboard in a few minutes is great. It enables team managers a quick board to review the status of a project and quickly act on any issues cropping up. Build and release management - if you don't have this... you'll want it. The integration is magic, the interface is easy, and to setup an automated build using the hosted agent was a breeze. We did have to purchase an additional license because of the number of builds we had, but it was worth it.,VSTS has a log of flexibility... almost too much. It's hard to actually decide how best to use it until you just set it up and try it out. Currently getting a list of work items on the main home page is messy. There's no hierarchy so it can sometimes be just a blast of work without any sorting or prioritization settings. There's a simple work-around to simply create a query for yourself and enable "search across multiple projects". That works alright, but it would be a better experience if the home page had this already covered. Teams management could be better. It's a little confusing, and not easy to setup. Our specific use case of having some teams able to only see their backlog and nothing else was not achievable in the current implementation of VSTS. As a result, whenever we have to contract out work, we end up creating a new Team Project. It's not all bad, because team project contents can be easily migrated to another project, but it's still a bit annoying.,10,Via acquisition, we had some Atlassian tools including Jira, bitbucket, and confluence licenses. Total cost for 25 users was close to $5000. Migrating the team to VSTS would net savings of close to $2500. If you're running TFS, you can save costs on: server licenses (you'll have at least 2 - one TFS, one build server). Save time on maintenance and upgrades of TFS.,JIRA Software, Atlassian Confluence, Bitbucket and Bamboo,Atlassian Confluence, JIRA Software, Bitbucket, Visual Studio IDE, Microsoft SQL Server, Fiorano ESBMicrosoft Team System a way for developers to work at the same time on a project without any hassle.Microsoft Visual Studio Team System is being used by the dev team in the organization. As every developer is a part of a project, every developer has to access the TFS (team foundation server) in order to contribute to the project. MVSTS is solving some major business problems. For example, it allows version control of a file as the whole team is working on the project. TFS provides each developer a local copy of the file, as well as the server version. Developers can make the changes to their local file and test it and if everything goes well, then they can update it on the server for the customer.,Version control of the files: each developer has access to the server and regularly gets the latest server changes in his local box. The local file is maintained and also remains updated with the server version. The program also provides a different copy of a file so that it can be recovered in case of a failure from any individual developer box. Some features like shelveset creation, work item monitoring, and publishing the project database. I can access any developer's local box and see what changes he is doing if he has shared the shelveset with me. Applying any new changes and undoing them using the pending changes feature.,Once, I added a PDF file to my shelveset so that I could share my changes with my team, but they were unable to unshelve my changes. This is because PDFs cannot be opened in more than one box, and it was locked on my box. So, I had to undo it from my box, and even then it was only accessible to one person at a time. It was problematic. They should at least be able to open it in read-only mode. Lots of settings are necessary. However, if you accidentally uninstall one, instead of having to install it again, there should be a backup kind of thing for my profile settings in Visual Studio. The default compare and merge tool provided by Visual Studio does not fill our needs, and we need to install other products like Delta Walker or Araxis Merge.,8,Positive impact:- They have good features that are very crucial for the organization's development and reporting team. Positive impact:- Every developer is already familiar with Visual Studio's features, so in this sense return of investment is also good. Negative impact:- This technology is becoming obsolete and more advanced technologies are coming onto the market.,GitHub,Google Drive, Dropbox, Dropbox Business, OneDrive, Google Cloud Storage, Joomla!, Jabber, Evernote, Skype, Skype for BusinessVisual Studio Team Services The Best IDE for developersVSTS is being used in our organization as the IDE standard of the development team, allowed thanks to its provision team foundation a better organization and delegation of functions in the work team. Visual Studio has allowed an efficient and effective organization and delegation of the work assigned to the development department, which has triggered a significant diversification in the market occupied by the company I represent.,It allows you to incorporate different languages, or written code in different encoding to the workflow without affecting the development to which it is oriented By using the Entity Framework you can establish the database design of the system in a correctly standardized and highly efficient way The debugging options allow you to have control of the code that is being made, in addition to having a large amount of plugins that allow to use this feature in different languages,There are few things that we can say in a negative way because a pending issue was the license and Visual Studio has a lite option that although it does not have all the features of the full version, allows you to fulfill the work planned The download size of the full version is usually very long and can take a long time to get it In case of applying the entity framework in non-standardized tables (already existing projects) it generates inconveniences in the creation of the entities,10,The management of the development department of the organization has improved considerably It has allowed programmers to grow professionally which is reflected in improvements in terms of the quality of the staff that works in the organization As a negative point, licensing costs are high, however, being more efficient as an organization allows for a greater number of challenges,Eclipse and NetBeans,Microsoft SQL Server, Microsoft Office 2016, Microsoft Azure
Unspecified
Microsoft Visual Studio Team System
190 Ratings
Score 8.0 out of 101
TRScore

Microsoft Visual Studio Team System Reviews

Microsoft Visual Studio Team System
190 Ratings
Score 8.0 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 190 vetted Microsoft Visual Studio Team System reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 27)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
AMANDEEP KUNDRAO profile photo
October 12, 2018

Microsoft Visual Studio Team System Review: "Best IDE -->Visual Studio"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Microsoft VS (2010,2013,2017) with the integration of Team Foundation Server(TFS) with it. We are using it to keep track of the whole software development life cycle. Each developer regularly checks code changes with the addition of Visual Studio to the TFS. As for the integration side, we are using it to clean , build, and deploy the code changes to different servers to upgrade them to the latest version.
  • Visual Studio supports many languages like C#,HTML.C++ and many others. We can also make Visual Studio to support other different languages with the help of plugins, like for Java, Python, etc.
  • We are using TFS with the VS, so it makes it easy to track the code and project changes, and if required we can also track the code of every single line to see what it means, by whom this code is written, and for which problem.
  • A unique work item change order number is assigned to the changes that you are making, apart from your shelveset creation
  • We can create the build definition through which we can automate the deployment and upgrade processes.
  • It provides a lot of menus and options/templates through which we can make our computer application for enterprise or for non-enterprise
  • We can easily integrate our customized/required menu in the VS through registry files or through deployment of the code
  • Need to make the changes so that it doesn't occupy most of the CPU utilization and memory
  • Execution of Bulky SQl Queries leads to either the SQl being out of exception or the VS being unresponsive
  • Integration with Microsoft products is easy, but with non-Microsoft products it is more difficult, and you have to make a lot of configuration changes to integrate
  • With every upgrade of the Visual Studio, like from VS 2010 to VS 2013 , we need to upgrade our hardware/machine, as the VS hardware requirement also increases
  • If code is getting compiled in one visual studio, like in VS 2010, that the same code could possibly give an error when compiled in VS 2013, due to certain changes in keyword, data format, etc., with the VS upgrade
It has been a great tool when comes to code compilation. As a developer, it helps a lot for us to find issues in the code, as Microsoft Visual Studio Team System has the best debugging tools. We can also check the code line by line to find the exact line where the error is. Developers can also place their important code at their shelveset and can easily get it from there when they need to. As for integration, it helps us to compile large code and deploy the changes with a single GO.
Read AMANDEEP KUNDRAO's full review
Glenn Jones profile photo
June 06, 2018

Microsoft Visual Studio Team System Review: "VSTS the best for Microsoft builds"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VSTS is currently being used by one department at work but was I brought it into the company about six years ago. We currently use VSTS as a building and testing tool. We set up the builds and create tests to run after a build is successful. When I first started with VSTS I set it up to run on a daily basis and then had the developers correct the problems that were shown by the tests. This works very well and the developers like using it since they did not have to keep on integrating their changes together.
  • VSTS has a wonderful integration with Team Foundation Source control and Git. This is good because these were two source control systems that we used.
  • VSTS can be scheduled to run its builds and test at various times of the day. This means it can in the middle of the night and be ready for the developers when they get in in the morning.
  • VSTS handles Microsoft builds very easily. Building a .Net application can be set up with almost no work. You just have to use the Visual Studio solution that was used by the developers to create the application.
  • VSTS is very Microsoft centric. If the application you want to build is not based on Microsoft items such as C#, or Visual Basic it is very difficult to use.
  • If you are using the latest version of VSTS then you will find a documentation problem. It can be very hard to find methods and help trying to get something running.
  • Passing data between VSTS build steps is not easy. It can be done, but it is not a normal thing that you would Microsoft would have put into their product.
If you are building a build system for a Microsoft product that doesn't have a lot of steps, VSTS is something that should be looked at. If you want to deploy your application to Azure it is even better. Running Visual Studio to build, run tests and perform load and performance tests works very well. Just be prepared to have your initial setup take some time.
Read Glenn Jones's full review
Gordon Lo profile photo
June 05, 2018

Microsoft Visual Studio Team System Review: "VSTS will save you time/money"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Visual Studio Team System (VSTS) is being used currently only by IT and a few select people in the business unit. The main goal of using VSTS from the business perspective was to improve communication, work item management, improve planning and increase visibility into product management. For the developers in IT, it was imperative to have more integration between business requirement and code, moreover, it also expedited development workflow (code reviews, etc).
  • Work item management is fantastic and easy to use. It can be used as simply just tracking tasks, or as complex as tracing work items from multiple projects being assigned to a single developer. Work items can be customized easily to meet the needs of your organization as well, and it isn't difficult to manage the customization.
  • Source code management is excellent and tied directly into VSTS. You have a choice of TFVC or GIT management options - we've switched to git and have not looked back. It is fully featured and commits can be tied directly to a work item using # tags.
  • Metrics/dashboard - being able to write simple queries and move them to a dashboard in a few minutes is great. It enables team managers a quick board to review the status of a project and quickly act on any issues cropping up.
  • Build and release management - if you don't have this... you'll want it. The integration is magic, the interface is easy, and to setup an automated build using the hosted agent was a breeze. We did have to purchase an additional license because of the number of builds we had, but it was worth it.
  • VSTS has a log of flexibility... almost too much. It's hard to actually decide how best to use it until you just set it up and try it out.
  • Currently getting a list of work items on the main home page is messy. There's no hierarchy so it can sometimes be just a blast of work without any sorting or prioritization settings. There's a simple work-around to simply create a query for yourself and enable "search across multiple projects". That works alright, but it would be a better experience if the home page had this already covered.
  • Teams management could be better. It's a little confusing, and not easy to setup. Our specific use case of having some teams able to only see their backlog and nothing else was not achievable in the current implementation of VSTS. As a result, whenever we have to contract out work, we end up creating a new Team Project. It's not all bad, because team project contents can be easily migrated to another project, but it's still a bit annoying.
Anyone who is currently using TFS should migrate to VSTS immediately. Having maintained TFS servers in the past, this is substantially easier. Additionally, the web interface has gotten easier to use and features to move work items between projects has improved greatly. We're also in the process of migrating away from our Atlassian toolset - so it gives you an idea of how versatile the product really is.
Read Gordon Lo's full review
Rahul Kumar Singh profile photo
August 31, 2018

Microsoft Visual Studio Team System Review: "Microsoft Team System a way for developers to work at the same time on a project without any hassle."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Visual Studio Team System is being used by the dev team in the organization. As every developer is a part of a project, every developer has to access the TFS (team foundation server) in order to contribute to the project. MVSTS is solving some major business problems. For example, it allows version control of a file as the whole team is working on the project. TFS provides each developer a local copy of the file, as well as the server version. Developers can make the changes to their local file and test it and if everything goes well, then they can update it on the server for the customer.
  • Version control of the files: each developer has access to the server and regularly gets the latest server changes in his local box. The local file is maintained and also remains updated with the server version. The program also provides a different copy of a file so that it can be recovered in case of a failure from any individual developer box.
  • Some features like shelveset creation, work item monitoring, and publishing the project database.
  • I can access any developer's local box and see what changes he is doing if he has shared the shelveset with me.
  • Applying any new changes and undoing them using the pending changes feature.
  • Once, I added a PDF file to my shelveset so that I could share my changes with my team, but they were unable to unshelve my changes. This is because PDFs cannot be opened in more than one box, and it was locked on my box. So, I had to undo it from my box, and even then it was only accessible to one person at a time. It was problematic. They should at least be able to open it in read-only mode.
  • Lots of settings are necessary. However, if you accidentally uninstall one, instead of having to install it again, there should be a backup kind of thing for my profile settings in Visual Studio.
  • The default compare and merge tool provided by Visual Studio does not fill our needs, and we need to install other products like Delta Walker or Araxis Merge.
For large project or a large team, the product is well suited when this technology is already implemented, because nowadays for version control there are products like GitHub. For a company who is concerned about security, this is a way to make their projects accessible from their TFS, and no one can use it for personal use. This is also useful for maintaining a site that a group of developers are working on, where their work items need to change, like peer test, peer review etc.
Read Rahul Kumar Singh's full review
Carlos Alberto Pedron Espinett profile photo
June 26, 2018

Microsoft Visual Studio Team System Review: "Visual Studio Team Services The Best IDE for developers"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VSTS is being used in our organization as the IDE standard of the development team, allowed thanks to its provision team foundation a better organization and delegation of functions in the work team. Visual Studio has allowed an efficient and effective organization and delegation of the work assigned to the development department, which has triggered a significant diversification in the market occupied by the company I represent.
  • It allows you to incorporate different languages, or written code in different encoding to the workflow without affecting the development to which it is oriented
  • By using the Entity Framework you can establish the database design of the system in a correctly standardized and highly efficient way
  • The debugging options allow you to have control of the code that is being made, in addition to having a large amount of plugins that allow to use this feature in different languages
  • There are few things that we can say in a negative way because a pending issue was the license and Visual Studio has a lite option that although it does not have all the features of the full version, allows you to fulfill the work planned
  • The download size of the full version is usually very long and can take a long time to get it
  • In case of applying the entity framework in non-standardized tables (already existing projects) it generates inconveniences in the creation of the entities
VSTS is a software that can be used by advanced programmers, and it is also an excellent option in a team of developers that begin to train and become familiar with an IDE. It can be used in large development teams or in particular developments is perfectly adapted to the needs of the developer.
Read Carlos Alberto Pedron Espinett's full review
No photo available
November 12, 2018

Microsoft Visual Studio Team System Review: "VSTS is a great tool - but just for development teams"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used and maintained by our engineering team for development work. Product management accesses VSTS to see project statuses and write user stories.
  • Writing detailed use stories
  • Assigning people to tasks
  • Allowing for attachments
  • It has nice tools for gathering data for reporting purposes.
  • Having a more modern user interface which doesn't feel outdated.
  • VSTS is very development team-centric. Development teams are working very closely with product management, who sets their tasks and priorities. There is no way in VSTS for product managers to develop product roadmaps based on product strategies and trickle that down to user stories for developers. The link between product management and development is missing.
  • Tools like Estimably or something similar for pointing stories in an agile development setting would be very useful, as they are used daily by agile teams.
  • More built-in visual reporting functionality that could be customized would be a huge asset.
Great for development teams that don't work closely with a product management team.
Not suited for an organization where product management develops and prioritizes development work.
Read this authenticated review
Jarod Bonino profile photo
May 14, 2018

Microsoft Visual Studio Team System Review: "VSTS - Great for sprint planning and execution"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Visual Studio Team System is used at my organization for engineer team backlog management, weekly (sprint) task planning, and day-to-day progress reporting.
  • If the backlog is well maintained, it provides a great "at a glance" view of forecasting/projections.
  • It provides a nice visual for committed tasks that is sequestered from the larger group of "future" work.
  • It allows for linking among backlog items that are related or dependent on each other.
  • It can be tricky to figure out the best way to use Iteration paths.
  • It isn't easy to differentiate iterations for certain execution cadences (sprints 1 - 6 repeated every 6 weeks).
  • There is not a great way to denote "code ownership" within the product (we use an external system to figure out who should be assigned what bug based on where the bug is in the code - not the UI).
I love using VSTS for sprint planning and daily task execution. It provides a central hub for viewing all new features and bug fix work that a team has committed to in a given iteration.
Read Jarod Bonino's full review
Devin Rodriguez profile photo
April 12, 2018

Microsoft Visual Studio Team System Review: "VSTS makes building and releasing applications a breeze"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The team I work on uses Microsoft Visual Studio Team (VSTS) for code storage and versioning, as well as utilizing their build and release systems. This resolves multiple issues including removing the need for us to manage a local repository and helps automate the process of building and releasing new versions of our application by leveraging automatic processes triggered when branch is pushed to the remote server.
  • Code repository
  • Automatic Build & Release
  • User management
VSTS is well suited for just about any coding project that can be built and deployed on a Windows platform. Building platform-specific languages is not as easy to build on their cloud server, but private agents can also be set up on target systems to allow for building in just about any environment.
Read Devin Rodriguez's full review
Andy Turner profile photo
March 06, 2018

Microsoft Visual Studio Team System Review: "Visual Studio Team Services - an agile workflow and CD/CI toolchain."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Using VSTS in an agile fashion, we are using the change management features like view history, view changesets, compare, create shelvesets, and to create work items. We optionally could use VSTS for continuous integration/delivery to Azure, but the expense far outweighs AWS. VSTS has made us into a .net shop that is useful for checking in artifacts from Example Author, Microsoft Office/365, or other third party vendors.
  • Change management
  • Continuous integration/delivery, automate application deployment
  • Code reviews, conduct a design review
  • VSTS online code editor
  • Complete Azure integration
  • Distributed workflow
  • Cost
  • More robust API
  • More straightforward comparison tool
Well suited for .net shops, distributed/offshore outsourcing, or small scale development. Less suitable for isolated or modular component development. Although the API is suitable, the licensing cost may be prohibitive for open source projects. VSTS is an end to end change management and collaboration tool that has a robust feature set for the enterprise. A VS Code-like analog companion similar to VSTS for no charge would be excellent.
Read Andy Turner's full review
Fred Sookiasian profile photo
March 01, 2018

Microsoft Visual Studio Team System Review: "Visual Studio Team Services Quick Outlook"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Visual Studio Team System is being used in our organization for development and testing activities across multiple domains and multiple architectures of multiple products. The biggest business problem it addresses is disparity in branches and trunks of the applications that are being developed. Since the company is merging two vast platforms into one coming from TFS, the independent units working on shared libraries of the framework will eventually migrate everything to one unified WPF framework. Couple this with segregated API automation libraries, the global availability of shared resources with very good version controlling solves endless issues that can result in haphazard application delivery.
  • Global availability as opposed to having everything done in silos when teams are dispersed all over the world.
  • Configuration and administration that reaches out to more people and has overall less impact than having to do spotted administration.
  • Agile project management is easier to deal with in conjunction with some third-party SCRUM/Agile tools.
  • Test Automation endeavors can be quickly ramped up as opposed to using other third party solutions that require greater technical resource overhead.
  • Possibly some test management and ALM desires that are left out.
  • Some performance issues not related directly to internal network performance bottlenecks.
  • It may be pricey from an initial outlook (for larger distributed teams) and that may throw off some companies with challenged budgets.
In larger distributed teams or even smaller local teams, MVST is a big contender in application/architecture delivery. In areas where there might be a finite amount of resources or the development can be done more out of a "shrink wrapped" solution, without the need for large configuration of an IDE, it may be suited to stay simpler and do something else besides MVST.
Read Fred Sookiasian's full review
Swagata Bhattacharyya profile photo
January 15, 2018

Microsoft Visual Studio Team System Review: "All under one umbrella"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across the organization. We use it for tracking tasks as well as for CICD.
  • Task management
  • Capacity Management
  • CICD
  • Once you add a new sprint, it does not automatically reflect in the left panel of work items. You have to select the iteration under default teams settings. This is a bit confusing and difficult to figure out if you don't know.
  • When a task is marked as Resolved, the remaining time does not become 0 like it happens when you close the task. It may be a good idea to reset it to 0 for resolved tasks as well.
  • The system allows you to close a user story which has open tasks under it. A warning mentioning this while closing the user story will be good.
I believe it can be used in all projects, big or small. All projects are broken down into subtasks and VSTS is a great tool to manage subtasks and capacity.
Read Swagata Bhattacharyya's full review
No photo available
April 10, 2018

Microsoft Visual Studio Team System: "Visual Studio Team Services Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Visual Studio Team Services (VSTS) is being used by our client's organization, therefore, we didn't pick it ourselves. It is used by our project manager to manage the project and the various features we are developing. With VSTS, it is easy to implement the software development lifecycle using agile principles. Our client is huge on agile and VSTS is a good solution for that method of project management.
  • It's easy to see the work that you are assigned. VSTS also encourages the use of its additional details so features don't get confusing
  • You can track progress of a particular sprint so you can see how far ahead or behind you are during a certain sprint
  • Integration with git is excellent so viewing difference in files, previous commits, etc. are easy with VSTS
  • The Query functionality is hard to use. I understand that its supposed to let users get more control of what they want to see, but its not easy
  • It's hard to see total hours spent on a project. I mentioned in the pro that you can track progress, but it's hard to track how much effort was already spent
  • Build scripts can be confusing to use. Sometimes builds fail for random reasons, but to re-run a build can be confusing
VSTS is best used in an environment or company where everyone is sold on the idea of agile. In a highly competitive landscape, agile is important and VSTS is a tool that aids this ideology. If your organization is still using waterfall and doesn't plan on changing, I would look elsewhere.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 20, 2017

Microsoft Visual Studio Team System Review: "Good experiences of VSTS in test automation"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VSTS is used across the whole organization. It is the backbone of the software development process in our company. Agile testing activities are planned and implemented with it.
  • Easy to implement continuous integration and build automation.
  • Easy to take in use and learn usage.
  • Offered in cloud environment, so it can be used everywhere.
  • TFS based build environment is a bit unstable.
  • Builds could have more e.g. Bamboo style configuration options.
[It's an] Excellent tool for our QA team and is used to automate regression tests of our cloud solution portfolio.
Read this authenticated review
Mauro Bennici profile photo
November 14, 2017

Microsoft Visual Studio Team System Review: "VSTS as development team companion"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use VSTS as source repository for all the web projects. We also manage and assign the tasks of the development team.
The continuous integration and the continuous deployment are provided with a mix of on premise installations and Azure instances.
The project management monitor the projects advancement with customized reports.
  • Easy to install.
  • Full integrated: source control, task management, report tools.
  • Plugin for VS, Eclipse, Rider and many others.
  • Backup and restore is really slow.
VSTS is recommended in a scenario where a very lot of projects have to be managed on premise. The possibility to mix the on premise version with the online version allows to create customized scenario to easily adapt to every teams and technologies.
The task management integrated in the IDE is a plus.
Read Mauro Bennici's full review
Clay Horste profile photo
October 17, 2017

Microsoft Visual Studio Team System Review: "New guy on the VSTS block."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are moving our entire code base from on-prem TFS to Visual Studio Team System(VSTS) with GIT repositories. We are taking the opportunity to move to a complete continuous integration solution. We also feel that moving to GIT will improve code quality with the way that branches are lightweight and how code reviews are a fundamental part of the way you do things in GIT.
  • Integration with Visual Studio
  • Option to use GIT or TFS repositories.
  • Plugins galore.
  • I think the documentation lags too far behind the actual product.
  • Troubleshooting could be easier.
  • There are some glaring pieces missing or are just obscure to use. The way you publish a built website is pretty bizarre.
I think it is a great place for a Microsoft shop to move to. If you are already on a TFS based system, there are a lot of tools to move your code base to Visual Studio Team System. I think it is overkill fone-mane man band. Just use GIT and set up build agents locally if that is the case.
Read Clay Horste's full review
John Courtade profile photo
September 22, 2017

Microsoft Visual Studio Team System Review: "VSTS for Agile Dev Shops"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Visual Studio Team System (VSTS) is currently being used by Development, QA, Support, Production Operations, Development Operations, and is being slowly rolled into our business unit that practices Agile for business. We are using it to track epics, bugs, feature requests, and tasks. VSTS has greatly improved our workflows, tracking, metrics gathering, and reporting.
  • Bug, Feature Request and User Story Tracking
  • Reporting
  • Workflow planning
  • Integration with ZenDesk could be improved and expanded. Especially the ability to create VSTS ticket from ZenDesk using custom fields.
  • Ability to add custom workflows steps to the completed column could be added.
This is an ideal tool for Scrum software shops.
Read John Courtade's full review
Christopher Belanger profile photo
September 12, 2017

Microsoft Visual Studio Team System Review: "A Solid Tracking and Deployment System"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VSTS is used across the organization for the full breadth of its features. It is used for bug and feature tracking, continuous integration builds, deploys, and automated testing. Every portion of development uses it, developers, quality assurance, product owners, etc. Everyone is in the system multiple times throughout the day to manage their workflows.
  • Integration of version control/pull requests to bug tracking.
  • Multiple views of team work - lists, kanban boards, etc
  • Supports the full product lifecycle from planning to deployment
  • The website has a tendency to log out, and the sign-in is a popup that bypasses password managers.
  • All instances look the same. If you need to use multiple versions, it can be hard to tell which you are in.
  • The security/permission system is strange and is not simply the sum of your roles.
VSTS is good for any feature tracking. The build and deploys are platform independent, but as this is a Microsoft product the integrations are better for Microsoft products. If you are using entirely non-Microsoft, this is probably not the best tool for you. If you are a pure or mostly Microsoft shop, this will give you many integrations out of the box that you would need to install or build for a competing product.
Read Christopher Belanger's full review
Carl Law profile photo
October 23, 2017

Microsoft Visual Studio Team System Review: "VSTS just keeps on giving!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VSTS is our ALM tool of choice, we use it to plan, collaborate and test.

Over the years we have slowly rolled access out further to stakeholders and developers alike to ensure everyone is working from one tool which has ultimately resulted in shipping products much faster than before.
  • Source control - this is the primary reason we moved from in-house TFS to the online offering. It's fast and robust.
  • Feature rich - there are a lot of useful features in VSTS that have become our go to tools. Test manager for bug reporting being a key one outside of the source control functionality.
  • User Interface isn't that intuitive - I think more could be done to make the User Experience much better. We have lost countless hours trying to do the simplest of things such as creating new iterations and making them visible in the UI.
VSTS has grown at a rate of knots over the years and it truly is becoming a one stop solution for full Application Lifetime Management.
Read Carl Law's full review
No photo available
October 06, 2017

Microsoft Visual Studio Team System Review: "VSTS - a polished project management tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Visual Studio Team System was used to manage projects by my team for easy access to the health status of the entire project. It was used for issue tracking, version control, build status and statistics, code analysis and planning delivery.
  • It shows the health status of the entire software development pipeline with easy access to information.
  • Work items templates are customizable as needed.
  • The work items can be moved around from one type to another easily if needed.
  • 255 character path limitation.
  • Dependency on the internet means source control needs to be off when offline.
  • Agile support is not good and hard to maintain.
We can create customizable dashboards and they are very easy to create. Work items are customizable too so that no relevant information is left out. We can also get Excel reports from it for the overall health status of the pipeline.
Read this authenticated review
Eric Wu profile photo
May 08, 2017

Microsoft Visual Studio Team System Review: "VSTS brings your codebase to life!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across the development team department and is responsible for integrating, managing and deploying code bases to our companies' systems. The fact that our codebase is available outside our company boundaries via VSTS' servers, running independently of physical problems that could afflict our local servers bring us another level of comfort since most of the issues are actually solved from home.
  • Has a very low cost for micro (free up to 5 users) teams.
  • Integrates flawlessly with TFS, bringing all its known features together with a minimum level of expertise.
  • Is available online, everywhere.
  • The Agile support in the VSTS dashboards is cumbersome, not-so-easy to deploy, and not easy to maintain
  • Older versions of Visual Studio may suffer from older bugs, such as the 255 character path-limitation.
  • The fact that it is served online means that, in the (very rare) occasions when it goes offline, it means your entire team must plug the source control off, and wait for its return to reunite the changes made.
If you want a quickly-deployable, almost-zero-configuration-needed, highly-mantainable, low-cost source control to keep track of your changes, as well as providing a (somewhat) effective Agile management to your team, especially if your code is being written in Visual Studio, look no further. VSTS will provide you with all the tooling needed.
Read Eric Wu's full review
Yaron Lavi profile photo
November 21, 2016

Microsoft Visual Studio Team System: "TFS review as ALM solution"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[Microsoft Visual Studio Team System is] Used as source control, and complete continuous integration solution and ALM product.
  • Agile ALM with ease.
  • Flexible work item types.
  • Great query engine, large API set.
  • Team dashboards not in par with others like JIRA.
  • Quite expensive.
[Microsoft Visual Studio Team System is] Less appropriate when Java is mainly used.
Read Yaron Lavi's full review
No photo available
February 17, 2017

Microsoft Visual Studio Team System: "Easily integrated source control for Visual Studio"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use VSTS for software development for source control and issue tracking.
  • Source control
  • Issue tracking
  • Test automation
  • Customization
  • Permissions difficult to configure
If you're using Visual Studio as your IDE, the integration is easy. If you have MSDN, it's included. No servers to maintain, no worrying about upgrades, patches, backups, etc..
Read this authenticated review
Brian Arsenault profile photo
October 05, 2016

Microsoft Visual Studio Team System Review: "Visual Studio for database management"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Visual Studio is heavily used by our organization. We perform data maintenance on millions of data lists, and Visual Studio makes it very easy to do that. Data files of various formats can be imported into Visual FoxPro. SQL is then used for queries on the data set.
  • Easy to use. I began my career as a data analyst without any prior knowledge of Visual Studio, and with very little training, I am a completely independent worker.
  • In the business of database management, it is important to have a software that can handle millions of records effectively.
  • My company uses Microsoft Visual FoxPro for database management for clients. It would be helpful if FoxPro fully supported SQL. It currently accepts some SQL commands, but it is not fully compliant.
This software is well suited for database management. It allows the analyst to easily add to and modify the list, no matter what size.
Read Brian Arsenault's full review
Jake Smith profile photo
July 30, 2015

Microsoft Visual Studio Team System: "Visual Studio Review from a UI / UX Designer and Front-end Developer"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The bulk of our development is written using Visual Studio. I have used Visual Studio for my personal business as well as my current contract at a large company. We use it with SVN to manage our codebase. It has the options for each developer to customize it to fit their development preferences.
  • Organization of Codebase.
  • Works with other technologies for good development collaboration.
  • Customization.
  • The large amount of features can make it feel like overkill and loses elegance.
  • When using with other technologies the ease that it integrates.
  • More front-end and UI features would be very helpful for me.
It works well for large full stack projects with multiple developers. It's not as great for simple projects that don't utilize all it offers. Microsoft Visual Studio Team is a workhorse application that gets a lot done but sometimes runs over the elegance and ease of use.
Read Jake Smith's full review
Raylene Wall, PMP profile photo
August 24, 2014

Microsoft Visual Studio Team System Review: "VSTS - It's Not Your Mother's SDLC Management Tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Visual Studio Team System (VSTS) is used as a software development lifecycle (SDLC) management tool for our entire company. All projects use VSTS/TFS version 2010 at this point and we are looking at upgrading to 2012, too. As a Capability Maturity Model Integration (CMMI) Level 3 company, VSTS/TFS provides the MSF structure for Process (which also allows tailoring of our processes) and VSTS allows us to create work items to track our requirements, change requests, tasks, test cases, burn down of work, conduct meetings, and capture artifacts related to following our processes as well as providing proof that we follow those processes. We can create queries to help us find data/information related to requirements and their area paths, bug rates and resolution time periods, build status, etc. VSTS/TFS has a SharePoint module that allows us to store/link documents to work items as well, which makes it an excellent tool for SDLC management as it helps us plan, execute, monitor, track, and deliver our products consistently and with quality.
  • The Excel reports provided within VSTS 2010 help provide visual information in the form of Excel pivot tables and charts that are easily tailored and modified to provide valuable feedback on burn-down slope for development, bug rates that tie to milestones, build status and quality, and other Project Management activities such as unplanned work, requirements development/progress, and backlog development.
  • We use Work Item Templates within the SharePoint server, so that we create consistent/correct work items such as Requirements, Change Requests, or Bugs that take our process requirements into account and ensure that the work items meet quality standards. We embed the text of our process within these Templates to help me (and others on the Team) make sure that our Work Items aren't missing any information, that artifacts are correctly captured, and there is accuracy in the information captured, presented, and used by the Team when reviewing, validating, baselining (with our customer), and then triaging work into an iteration.
  • The Team Project Portal allows a Project Manager (or any other Team Member) the ability to create customizable dashboards using the Excel Reports and the charts created when pulling in VSTS/TFS data related to an iteration, a build, the issues or risks associated with a project. These dashboards are fairly easy to create and provide a wide variety of widgets that can be used to present pictures, charts, lists, links, whatever you need to help the team establish a focal point for finding status, learning about milestones, sharing issues, etc. I particularly found this module useful when I was a Project Manager for several Teams and could use the dashboard to present information on our burn-down, bugs, and risks to management just by creating a useful dashboard.
  • Creating SQL Queries is very easy too, once you learn how to structure a SQL query. VSTS/TFS is essentially a database of work items that document the work planned, work in progress, what was delivered and when. You can filter the data by dates, by who the work item was assigned to, who created it, the state changes that occurred and when, and on and on. I have found the query ability enormously useful when combing through the data to find answers I need related to creating requirements, tracking tasks, determining when bugs were resolved and fixed, etc.
  • Lastly, I really like being able to export the information (in the form of Work Items) provided within a TFS database query to MS Project or MS Excel where I can filter the information, view hours assigned to each developer (to help with capacity/velocity planning), create other excel reports/charts, or plan an iteration using MS project using the tasks and hours to determine the timebox of a particular iteration.
  • I don't have any recommendations for improvement myself as I use the tool for specific reasons and for all my own uses, it works very well. However, I AM looking forward to the upgrade to the 2012 version because I'm excited about improved graphics tools and improvements in reports, etc.
If you're part of a project that needs the ability manage tasks, requirements, or change requests as well as provide reports, then Visual Studio Team System (VSTS) is well suited to that environment. It is an excellent SDLC management tool as it provides a database to house work items, a SharePoint interface to store documents, and a reports function to gain reports and information based on the database of work items. It also has source control, the ability to monitor builds, and manage the team members security settings very easily. You can also set up iterations and area paths for a product, and the various work items can be linked to show their relationships - this is especially useful when proving bidirectional requirements traceability!
Read Raylene Wall, PMP's full review

Microsoft Visual Studio Team System Scorecard Summary

About Microsoft Visual Studio Team System

Microsoft Visual Studio Team System (VSTS) is an agile development product that is an extension of the Microsoft Visual Studio architecture. VSTS includes software development, collaboration, and reporting capabilities.

Microsoft Visual Studio Team System Competitors

CA Agile Central (formerly Rally)

Microsoft Visual Studio Team System Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No