TrustRadius
Yammer is used for private communication within organizations or between organizational members and pre-designated groups, making it an example of enterprise social software. It originally launched as an enterprise microblogging service and now has applications on several different operating systems and devices. The company was acquired by Microsoft in 2012.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/YL/nW/5I8IAH7AA4L4.JPEGExcellent collaboration techniques on a social private networkYammer is basically being used as a corporate Facebook company wide. It is being used for sharing important news, updates, project wins, milestones achieved by the organization, all at one place.Yammer provides an effective way to communicate to a large group of people at one time. It has brought our organization closer together.,High-level security and message and content tagging Integration with Microsoft Office 365 Private Messaging Can invite external members (e.g., clients and partners) to collaborate.,Customization are not enough It seems to be pretty public. Everyone in our organization can see what everyone posts. File sharing is limited - no level of classification,8,It has brought the employees closer to each other irrespective of their geographical localtion Drastically reduced the load on mail servers as Yammer is now the first tool to send updates & notifications Effective team communication and collaboration,,Skype for Business, Alemba vFire, Microsoft Power BIYammer - Easy collaboration for large and smallI use Microsoft Yammer as part of a non-profit technical consortium that our organization is a member of. It is used to collaborate between various working groups for users in many different similar organizations. Users can post questions in a variety of groups organized by topic, track responses, and get alerts to topics or threads of interest.,Organizing users into groups and providing tools to those groups Social networking with other users within the organization/network Excellent notification options (e-mail, etc) Clean, easy-to-understand user interface,Can be difficult to get phone support if there are questions Some of the tools are not quite as feature-rich as competitor products Integration with Office 365 suite can be a little confusing because there is feature overlap (for example, Yammer vs Teams, or Yammer vs Sharepoint),9,Yammer is typically included in the O365 suite of products so there is no additional financial commitment (depending on the subscription you purchase) Increases social collaboration and discovery outside of organizational and departmental silos Encourages interactions and improves morale, which has a positive impact on the bottom line.,IBM Connections,Microsoft Office 365, Power BI For Office 365, Sage PeopleYammer - Great communication toolWe are using as a social media page for internal teammates. to help express themselves. Something similar like FB but only within the company. Helps build relationships and rapport within the company, from CEO to the front-line teammate, we can communicate.,Great Social media front page Messaging tool is great Great update features and keeping everything up to speed,Can be an overload of updates, everything does pop and can be somewhat distracting if you are working and trying to be productive Better interface, not bad but does have the opportunity,6,Can be distracting, can bring down productivity if expectations are not set.,Facebook for Business,Upsafe Free Gmail BackupThe best social network to share jobs in the companyThe company uses Yammer as a social network only in some departments that are involved, to be able to share projects and among all the people involved to share the experience, solutions to problems if they arise or simply to give opinions about it.,It works to find solutions quickly to problems that arise in a project or work that is performed The people involved can comment and give opinions to projects and shared documents All the work team that is involved can be kept informed As it is very similar to the social networks that are currently used, it is very easy to use for all users It helps you reduce time in those meetings later and are not boring as the conversations are more interactive through Yammer,Without an internet connection, you can not have interaction with other co-workers Only used if you have Office 365 Many companies install it and do not use it because it seems unhelpful,8,It allows several teams of the company to work together and keep them organized We can share projects and topics that we are working on in real time You can create a group for each subject or for each department Select what to share and with whom The best thing is that it helps with the communication of the company employees and bosses since it is a communication in real time Increases productivity and satisfies employees and customers Helps us to reduce sent emails and printing in paper,Slack, Basecamp and eXo Platform,Dropbox, Google Data Studio, Adobe Acrobat DC, Google Maps API,You can view the information on your mobile devices and computers,You have to have an internet connection to be able to communicate,Yes,9Yammer: ideal program for corporate communication of top management.Microsoft Yammer is used for the general direction of communication, dissemination and information of the company. It is being used for the fulfillment of the following tasks: issuing of official communications to the staff, establishing communications between the executives of the company, organizing the logistics for the operation of business and personal events, publishing relevant and confidential information. Thanks to Yammer, the company has managed to strengthen the communication among the staff, obtaining favorable results through the optimization of the processes.,Transmit information in real time, and fluidly. Encourages the collaboration and spontaneous participation from all, because all users are able to contribute ideas and knowledge. Contributes to the cohesion of all personnel--personally I feel included in the decisions of the company, because my contributions are taken into account. Promotes the initiation of productive communications, the possibility of sharing knowledge and experiences and of creating work teams to meet particular situations.,I do not like the communications interface, I think they should improve the image, they should carry out a usability study in order to adapt the programs to different clients. It requires an excellent internet connection so that you can share documents, images or files with a lot of content, being in field work. Must offer a more creative and innovative image with aims that boost the creative sense of the staff.,8,The Microsoft Yammer application allowed us to significantly reduce the expenses allocated to the budget items of logistics, personnel mobilization and rental of premises, actions that have allowed the company to substantially improve its net income, and profits, being currently a more competitive company in the market. Now workers have greater benefits, a situation that motivates them to continue fulfilling and improving response times. The optimization of communication processes has resulted in improvements in construction results, understanding that we have a greater capacity to correctly transmit instruction, avoid duplication of efforts and specify tasks as initially established. The company has increased its performance and market value.,Google Hangouts,Asana, RapidMiner Studio, Odoo,Yes,Product Features Product Usability Product Reputation,I select yammer again because it provides the tools that the company requires to securely communicate the instructions, it contains project planning and administration tools, it contains a chat that provides a pleasant image that allows a fluid communication with another person. in short, it is a program that has brought excellent economic benefits. since we have substantially improved the performance of the tasks and income of the organization, increasing its profitability and value.
Unspecified
Microsoft Yammer
212 Ratings
Score 6.9 out of 101
TRScore

Microsoft Yammer Reviews

Microsoft Yammer
212 Ratings
Score 6.9 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 212 vetted Microsoft Yammer reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 32)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
August 30, 2018

Microsoft Yammer Review: "Excellent collaboration techniques on a social private network"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Yammer is basically being used as a corporate Facebook company wide. It is being used for sharing important news, updates, project wins, milestones achieved by the organization, all at one place.Yammer provides an effective way to communicate to a large group of people at one time. It has brought our organization closer together.


  • High-level security and message and content tagging
  • Integration with Microsoft Office 365
  • Private Messaging
  • Can invite external members (e.g., clients and partners) to collaborate.
  • Customization are not enough
  • It seems to be pretty public. Everyone in our organization can see what everyone posts.
  • File sharing is limited - no level of classification
We no longer need to send multiple messages when an urgent communication is needed- for example- an outage, a scheduled or unscheduled service disruption notice or any other important announcement.
We have not clearly defined the needs of this tool to the employees.
Older employees still stick to emails.
Read Nishant Arora's full review
July 18, 2018

Microsoft Yammer Review: "Yammer - Easy collaboration for large and small"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Microsoft Yammer as part of a non-profit technical consortium that our organization is a member of. It is used to collaborate between various working groups for users in many different similar organizations. Users can post questions in a variety of groups organized by topic, track responses, and get alerts to topics or threads of interest.
  • Organizing users into groups and providing tools to those groups
  • Social networking with other users within the organization/network
  • Excellent notification options (e-mail, etc)
  • Clean, easy-to-understand user interface
  • Can be difficult to get phone support if there are questions
  • Some of the tools are not quite as feature-rich as competitor products
  • Integration with Office 365 suite can be a little confusing because there is feature overlap (for example, Yammer vs Teams, or Yammer vs Sharepoint)
Yammer is easy to use and set up because it comes as part of the Office 365 suite of tools from Microsoft. It's possible to enable and set up within a few hours. The hardest part is to figure out how to use it within an organization with access to all of the other Office 365 tools provided by Microsoft. Organizations will need to devise a clear strategy and communicate to users so they know when to use Yammer and when to use other MS collaboration tools like Teams, Groups, or SharePoint.
Read Jeremiah Miller's full review
June 11, 2018

Microsoft Yammer Review: "Yammer - Great communication tool"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using as a social media page for internal teammates. to help express themselves. Something similar like FB but only within the company. Helps build relationships and rapport within the company, from CEO to the front-line teammate, we can communicate.
  • Great Social media front page
  • Messaging tool is great
  • Great update features and keeping everything up to speed
  • Can be an overload of updates, everything does pop and can be somewhat distracting if you are working and trying to be productive
  • Better interface, not bad but does have the opportunity
Great for rapport among teammates and organizations. Great communication from all levels of the company.
Read Roy Huron's full review
June 06, 2018

Microsoft Yammer Review: "The best social network to share jobs in the company"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The company uses Yammer as a social network only in some departments that are involved, to be able to share projects and among all the people involved to share the experience, solutions to problems if they arise or simply to give opinions about it.
  • It works to find solutions quickly to problems that arise in a project or work that is performed
  • The people involved can comment and give opinions to projects and shared documents
  • All the work team that is involved can be kept informed
  • As it is very similar to the social networks that are currently used, it is very easy to use for all users
  • It helps you reduce time in those meetings later and are not boring as the conversations are more interactive through Yammer
  • Without an internet connection, you can not have interaction with other co-workers
  • Only used if you have Office 365
  • Many companies install it and do not use it because it seems unhelpful
Read Jennifer Lamas's full review
September 19, 2018

Microsoft Yammer: "Yammer: ideal program for corporate communication of top management."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Yammer is used for the general direction of communication, dissemination and information of the company.

It is being used for the fulfillment of the following tasks: issuing of official communications to the staff, establishing communications between the executives of the company, organizing the logistics for the operation of business and personal events, publishing relevant and confidential information. Thanks to Yammer, the company has managed to strengthen the communication among the staff, obtaining favorable results through the optimization of the processes.
  • Transmit information in real time, and fluidly.
  • Encourages the collaboration and spontaneous participation from all, because all users are able to contribute ideas and knowledge.
  • Contributes to the cohesion of all personnel--personally I feel included in the decisions of the company, because my contributions are taken into account.
  • Promotes the initiation of productive communications, the possibility of sharing knowledge and experiences and of creating work teams to meet particular situations.
  • I do not like the communications interface, I think they should improve the image, they should carry out a usability study in order to adapt the programs to different clients.
  • It requires an excellent internet connection so that you can share documents, images or files with a lot of content, being in field work.
  • Must offer a more creative and innovative image with aims that boost the creative sense of the staff.
It adapts very well in companies that want to maintain a privileged and secure communication, which allows the transmission of confidential information. It adapts very well as a means of corporate communication because it provides ideal job options for the presentation of results or communications in a simple way. It adapts very well as a means of communication for the organization of major events, and to establish communication at a distance in a fluid way.

It is not well adapted for the exclusive use of an exclusively personal communication network, considering that it is a work tool.
Read FRANCO PIÑERO's full review
May 01, 2018

Microsoft Yammer Review: "Yammer is a fantastic alternative to email blasting"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses Yammer to broadcast team updates, news, and content over traditional email blasting. Occasionally, Yammer is often used for company announcements over posts on SharePoint and email.
  • Very easy to use interface that allows nontechnical and technical users to communicate and collaborate.
  • Breaks out team groups for sub threads very well.
  • Allows for an effective interface to see recent updates from people you follow and or updates from groups you are in.
  • It seems that Yammer and MS Teams could be integrated as both platforms overlap in many areas.
  • Yammer seems to try to copy a lot of other social network platforms with buttons to like content. This seems irrelevant in the corporate world.
Providing real-time updates around a certain scenario such as an outage of 'the phones' for example. Yammer is much better suited to see a timestamp from a leader on the team responsible for updating the company when the phones are expected to be online. Yammer can display this information that is easier to view from all teams and does not add to the endless thread of email traffic.
Read Steve Vogt's full review
April 26, 2018

Microsoft Yammer Review: "Reduces email load"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft Yammer as an informal social network in which we share all those news and industry developments that are "kind of relevant" but not super important and/or urgent. There is also a fun component in it. Microsoft Yammer is used across the entire organization but there is an insular component in a sense that different teams have their own channels and create rooms for their own communication needs
  • Safe, secure, social network for employees to share relevant content
  • Declutter email
  • A dedicated avenue with well understood tools (likes, comments, etc)
  • One more feed to consume
  • Needs to reach critical mass to be useful
  • Only as good as its content
Microsoft Yammer should shine in organizations where the disparity between the different teams is big (lots of different types of employees with different backgrounds and skillsets) because it lowers the barriers to achieve efficient team communication, and reduce email load. However, in more homogeneous teams other tools that are more modern (such as Slack or Asana)
Read Daniel Blazquez's full review
August 02, 2018

Microsoft Yammer Review: "Yappin on Yammer"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used it as a tool to help our department keep up to date with ongoing daily operations. It replaced the daily stand up for us predominately, and also served as a great way to quickly get out information to a large group of people.
  • Sharing Office365 content with others
  • Communicating with others in our group
  • Communicating with the entire organization
  • More powerful search/filtering would be nice
It served as a great benefit as a corporate social network. It made daily stand ups near obsolete and we were able to always keep a constant line of communication open with the team.
Read this authenticated review
March 28, 2018

Microsoft Yammer Review: "Weird Name, Great Tool!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Yammer across the whole organization. It's a great tool used by a variety of teams, departments and niche interest groups to share information and build company culture. One of the great problems it solves for us is knowledge retention and sharing across the globe. If someone reads a great article or watches an impactful webinar, they are able to share it for all to see. When working on specific teams, Yammer is a great way to communicate with team members and collaborate on project work or overall team objectives.
  • Content sharing (across all media types)
  • User notifications and private messaging
  • Group collaboration and social elements (likes, shares, conversation threads, etc.)
  • Some of the GIF functionality is slow, but this is not a heavily used feature in our company.
  • Discovering new groups or conversation threads can be a challenge unless you know exactly what you are looking for. "Browsing" can be difficult.
Yammer is a great tool for sharing content and knowledge across the organization in a way that captures and retains knowledge for all to see. A thread can happen between two colleagues and anyone interested or needing similar knowledge or information can follow the thread and stay informed.
Read this authenticated review
May 18, 2018

Microsoft Yammer Review: "Okay for keeping in touch, but unsure what effect it's had on the business"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Yammer throughout the entire company. It's used to 'spread the word' about various happenings in different departments and help us stay connected despite being in different locations.
  • Helps employees stay connected without physically seeing each other
  • Allows me to quickly find contact info for any employee
  • Allows me to stay up to date with company announcements
  • No place to write office hours
  • Email notifications can get annoying
Good for medium and large companies, but probably wouldn't be needed at small companies and startups.
Read this authenticated review
March 21, 2018

Microsoft Yammer: "Review for Yammer"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Yammer is used at organization level. We use this tool to socialize, collaborate, celebrate, share personal/company event with people in other offices. It's widely accepted and used within our organization that it almost feels like a Facebook page for Elekta. I always start my day with reading the Yammer page as people across company share lots of content around the globe.
  • It provides the functionality of creating groups and accessing private or publicly
  • It provides access to private content
  • It allows posting of media and content. Whoever has access to the posted content can like, share and comment on the post.
  • Yammer could have a more fancy UI.
This tool works perfectly well for collaboration within company who has distributed offices and remote employees. Updates can be posted to right groups and the subscribed employees get update. Employee can subscribe to different group based on their interest to get updates particularly for that a particular area. Recently used Yammer to co-ordinate and organize a company wide event so that all employees will have same experience and it really turned out to be great success.
Read Jaya Bhardwaj's full review
December 21, 2017

Microsoft Yammer Review: "YAMMER - alone in the market ."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Yes, we in Nokia use Yammer as a centralized tool for discussions. Since it also provides the cloud storage, you can access from laptop/Mobile while you are traveling and be connected to all the staff you are in the loop with. GREAT tool and innovation from Microsoft.
  • Cloud Storage
  • Access from anywhere
  • Outlook Integration, important for Calenders
  • Centralized management
  • Visibility
  • Improvement in the user interface
  • Need to do out of the box
Discussions within the company. Yammer allows employees to have an internal public discussion which may sometimes violate the internal policies of an organization. It offers cloud-based discussion which means you are always connected no matter where you are in the world. Need to get attention from the public since there are many players already in the market doing the same.
Read TARUN GUPTA's full review
February 27, 2018

Microsoft Yammer Review: "Decent product for small group use."

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Yammer is a good platform, however I find it difficult to navigate through all of the areas in it. Creating some channels are easy, but keeping information pinned to the top of your thread can be a challenge. We currently use Microsoft Yammer to communicate ideas and threads for our apparel company.
  • Microsoft Yammer allows us to spread communication with many people all at the same time.
  • Microsoft Yammer also allows us to look up old information that was shared previously.
  • Adding images to threads is very simple.
  • Adding an option to allow pinning of threads to the top of the feed easily would be an improvement.
  • Managing users and removing yourself from a group can be improved.
  • The basic layout of Yammer can sometimes give a cluttered feel.
Microsoft Yammer works well for small groups of four to five groups where information needs to be shared and can be recalled later on. It offers a good platform for adding images and allowing users to comment on specific threads.
Read this authenticated review
March 16, 2018

Microsoft Yammer Review: "Yammer is OK for after work get togethers"

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Yammer as a localized social network for outside of work activities: volunteering, buying/selling home items, hobbies, etc.
  • Very useful for selling items. I've listed lots of home goods.
  • I had difficulty deleting posts after a sale was completed. The original picture and description still showed up in my personal feed. not sure if it was removed from the world at large or not, but it was a minor hassle just to wonder that.
Anything where you want to collaborate with people socially outside of work it's pretty easy to set up and use.
Read this authenticated review
October 13, 2017

Microsoft Yammer Review: "Great collaboration tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Yammer is used for the whole organisation as our enterprise social tool. It is used for collaboration among the teams, cross BUs, internal communication & collaboration with partners in external networks.
  • Mobile app has great UX
  • What's new feature is great to keep up
  • Recommendations for relevant groups & call conversions
  • Nothing I see as a problem
Most appropriate for internal communication & collaboration among teams. Not relevant for small teams, for that other tools like Microsoft teams is better suited.
Read this authenticated review
September 11, 2017

Microsoft Yammer Review: "Yammer on Yammer"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Yammer is being used by a small startup company that I freelance for as a way for all of us to engage and communicate with an easy to follow user interface system that drastically reduces communication errors.
  • The ability to more easily share and connect with colleagues.
  • Being able to join select groups helps streamline communication.
  • It was very user-friendly and felt like I could easily translate skills attained from Facebook to understand Yammer.
  • Unfortunately, Yammer has been a bit of a distraction at work as it resembles the social media sites that have been blocked.
  • My inbox gets clogged with notifications.
  • Sometimes the group chats get off topic and it is hard to get back on track.
This is incredibly well suited if you are working on multiple projects with multiple triads or diads of people and have to have a conversation style record of what is happening. It would be less appropriate if you are not in a setting that requires and benefits from increased communication flow with colleagues.
Read Samantha Bearman, MPH's full review
August 16, 2017

Microsoft Yammer Review: "Interesting Platform for Project Sharing & Updating"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our organization, we use it mainly for project sharing and all project updates are shared on Yammer. Other members in the organization are also allowed to make comments, share ideas regarding that particular project or have access to the project they are following. It is like a real time social media site of the project where everything is updated at a fast pace. Yammer is like a social media platform but for working purposes.
  • Project sharing and updates: status updates now can be shared easier and faster than ever. No more email writing and attachments with formal writings. It is now as easy as it is to update your Facebook status.
  • Interactive platform: members across our organization can interact and share their updates regarding to a particular project or issue that has a high impact / effect on the organization.
  • Alternative way to communicate: Our organization has an additional way to communicate in case email does not work as it should be. This will prevent any delay in communication.
  • Looking for files that you have posted is harder and must be used with Microsoft Sharepoint.
  • Mobile app is not friendly for new users; it has a complex interface that should not be there for a social app
  • Email notifications from Yammer are annoying sometimes without clear instructions on how to turn that off
Yammer does not really have a high impact on performance at this moment and in order to maximize all of it features, it is highly recommended that you use Yammer together with Outlook & Skype for Business to ensure communication are easier. Although there are a lots of convenience using Yammer, always make sure you send the confidential files through emails since if you upload it on Yammer, everyone can see and have access to the file.
Read Tony Phan's full review
August 14, 2017

Microsoft Yammer Review: "Yammer - A Good Communication Tool for Low Volume Needs"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We using Yammer as a corporate version of internal social media. Employees are able to share articles of interest, celebrations, industry information and our various departments are able to share information relevant to their goal and accomplishments.
  • Easy to use/user-friendly
  • Integrates with SharePoint and allows us to feature our Yammer feed on our SharePoint homepage
  • Would love to see new posts somehow highlighted or called out in the feed. At present they get buried in with posts that people like or comment on so I feel as though I must read through everything to ensure not missing a post, even if it's a post I've already read and someone new simply likes.
  • I use the Yammer app and see Yammer on our company SharePoint homepage and without difficulty. But I tried to utilize the desktop notification and it is both cumbersome and I cannot identify a way to minimize it so it is always blocking a portion of my screen.
We are a small-midsize company so our Yammer newsfeed is manageable. However if we were much larger, even with utilizing closed groups, I would envision the newsfeed would be too cumbersome.
Read this authenticated review
August 04, 2017

Microsoft Yammer Review: "Yammer - Business use evaluation"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Whole business used Microsoft Yammer to address the most effective way to manage communications in the business and to also act as a central data access point.
  • Great way to manage an internal contact directory.
  • Permissioned access to sensitive information/groups.
  • Great comms tool with discussions threads and social interaction interface which is user friendly.
  • Useful central storage solution for document sharing.
  • Mobile app not very user friendly.
See value use cases ["Pros"] in relation to centralised comms, restricted access and file sharing.
Read this authenticated review
January 11, 2017

Microsoft Yammer Review: "Be Social. Join Yammer!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sonoco's Yammer network is a great way to connect with fellow associates, exchange ideas and stay updated on current news and events taking place throughout Sonoco's global network.
  • Employees from around the globe get to follow, share and discuss a myriad of business topics on Yammer, our business social network. They get to start conversations, collaborate on files and organize projects so one can go further, faster. Plus the ease of asking questions, finding expertise and offer feedback on a topic without leaving the application you’re in saves time and keeps employees engaged.
  • When one works with teammates in Yammer groups, ideas fly! Do you have an important message to share with the rest of the community? We utilize Yammer to reach who you want within the company when you want, so no one misses a thing. Yammer brings the global conversation straight to you.
  • Although the social enterprise network works very well, there is room for some slight improvement - such as the ability to attract users. By being part of the Microsoft Office Suite, it is offered as an "add-on" and many overlook it and see it as unnecessary at first. It would be smart for Microsoft to sell it as its own product so it could gather more popularity as a "social network".
  • Giving an option to filter results could be better as well as giving an option to turn off the "recent activity" bar on the home page.
We've had associated set up groups on a variety of topics like business technology, flexible packaging, Office 365 and SharePoint, protective solutions, public speaking, wellness, diversity and more! In fact, Sonoco associates from around the world who participated in our recent #WearPinkDay shared their photos on Yammer. This is one of the best positives scenarios!
Read Marcos Sola's full review
December 14, 2015

Microsoft Yammer Review: "If you've used Facebook, you know how to use Yammer"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Yammer is implemented across our entire company, and is used as a communication tool between our on-the-go sales agents and staff. Our agents are able to quickly update staff on upcoming listings and purchases through Yammer, share photos of interesting properties from broker tours and open homes. Our staff uses Yammer to make announcements and share weekly digests of sell and purchase status updates.
  • No one likes getting a long thread of reply-alls. With Yammer announcements and updates can be shared — without cluttering your inbox.
  • Yammer's mobile apps are great for our on-the-go sales team to stay in touch with our office staff.
  • Yammer's social aspect makes it incredibly easy to use, even for our less tech savvy teammates. If you've used Facebook, learning Yammer will be a cinch.
  • Editing functionality would be warmly welcomed by my team. There's currently no way to edit posts in Yammer once they've been posted. If a typo is bothering you, you'll have to delete your post and re-post with the edited text.
  • Yammer's design leaves something to be desired. Document editing is not great.
  • No obvious way to sort/organize files uploaded to Yammer. If files from a certain user are needed, you'll have to go to their profile and sift through their uploaded files.
Microsoft Yammer is not well suited for private messaging. My team still uses Google Chat/Google Hangouts for internal instant messaging. Microsoft Yammer is great for announcements, updates, events, and polls. If your message is longer than a short paragraph, send it via email.
Read Kyle Legg's full review
August 19, 2015

Microsoft Yammer Review: "Yammer is the way to go!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Yammer is being used throughout our entire company.

Yammer gives us the ability to break down communication silos throughout our organizations and allow everyone to have a 'voice' whether you are in upper management or on the production floor. Yammer also gives us the ability to collaborate anytime, anywhere through their easy to use mobile apps.
  • Yammer offers a mobile app. This gives our employees an opportunity to review documents and collaborate on those documents anywhere at anytime.
  • Yammer provides a user interface that is very easy to use. Not only is the interface easy to use, but it is very similar to Facebook. Therefore, there is very little training that needs to occur with the user population.
  • Yammer offers an excellent user community called the YCN (Yammer Community Network). Once you become a member of this network, you can ask any question and a response is delivered within minutes. This is especially valuable when you may not understand certain features/functionality that Microsoft has delivered. The community has experts that are extremely helpful.
  • An area of opportunity is within the Yammer analytics. Yammer does offer a dashboard type view for basic analytics, but this needs to be improved upon in order for companies to obtain better usage statistics.
  • Another opportunity for improvement is with the mobile apps. While Microsoft is continuing to make improvements within the mobile environment, certain functionality can only be performed within the browser.
I can't think of a specific scenario where Yammer would not be beneficial. In order to be successful in deploying Yammer, one recommendation would be to utilize Microsoft's CSM (Customer Service Managers). They were instrumental in their valuable advice/suggestions and rollout of Yammer on a global basis. The CSM's were willing to work with our core team on a bi-weekly basis and perform site visits on specific occasions in order to make sure our implementation was a success.
Read Vivian Thacker's full review
November 26, 2014

Microsoft Yammer Review: "WhYammer?"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We currently use Yammer as the main platform for internal communication and collaboration in one country. The most common ways to use Yammer are to share information and ask for input from colleagues. Yammer has erased both geographical and departmental silos within some business units. However, not all business units has adopted Yammer yet, and there are still work to be done to break down the silos between business units.

Besides collaboration in, for example product development, we use Yammer to find sales leads, creating marketing material, e.g. social media content, and newsletters and to some extent also share best practices. Yammer enables us to collaborate better and faster, makes us more productive, unlocks more business opportunities, drives innovation and make employees more engaged and feel more involved and part of the company's longterm journey.

We aim to start unlocking more business value by starting the Social Journey, which is Yammer's way of working to convert vision and strategy to tactical Use Cases that focuses on solving or improving the company "pains". We have not appointed a Community Manager so far, but as Customer Success Manager (CSM), I am promoting that we do.

Yammer is a great way to change the way management communicate internally; from sending out long monthly corporate newsletters to more frequent bits of information that is both more personal and focusing more on creating a dialogue with the employees. However, to get both top and middle management to write themselves, be personal, to post more often, to be brief, and to participate in dialogues, are proven to be more difficult than I have anticipated. Management understands the value that Yammer can create, and they are committed to use it. However, they need to really understand that they lead the employees by setting the example (walk the talk), and thus must face their own fear of making themselves visible to other people via a digital medium that is not email. As CSM I see that the most important Use Case to focus on, will be to get inspire and teach management how to use Yammer the wight way. The second most important Use Case will be to focus on Yammer Champions, the evangelist in the organization that can help us nudge the laggards to adopt Yammer. When these Use Cases have reached enough effect, we can start looking at other Use Cases, such as driving innovation, breaking down silos between business units, making more people involved in our social media marketing work etc.
  • Yammer is user friendly and (to many of us) intuitive enough to get started using without training. There are many collaboration platforms out there, but the web interface is really great and the device apps are ok as well.
  • Yammer is multitenant and evolves constantly by making well-tested and small incremental changes. I feel assured that Yammer will be an even better solution in the future, thus a secure investment.
  • Yammer is the hub for creating a social intranet together with Sharepoint. Finally we can make the intranet worth the investment by making people wanting to use it on a daily basis. The integration today is somewhat slim, with the Web App, SSO etc,. However, it's one of Microsoft's highest priorities to make the integration deeper.
  • Yammer is a great platform to create Customer Networks that really drive customer engagement. The user experience is great and the way employees can connect with customers is creating much value.
  • Security. The data is stored in the USA, and with the current NSA debate, this makes our European customers a bit concerned. However, the European Commission, who overseas the data security within EU, uses Yammer.
  • Device app functionality. Many of us only use login to their social media accounts, e.g. Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, on our smartphones or tablets. This is relevant for our work tools as well. However, you cannot yet edit Notes or see current #-tags in the apps.
  • Sharepoint integration. This is so important for our customers that the current level of integration must be considered as a weakness even though Microsoft has it as one of their top priorities.
  • Outlook integration. Many of us use Outlook for email, calendar and contacts. To break the habits of sending emails, Yammer and other ESN-tools face the challenge of having people switching from Outlook to Yammer to send a message. However, Yammer is working on an integration to Office and Outlook to bring the ESN-experience closer to the productivity tools.
Yammer is really great to drive productivity, engagement and innovation.

Yammer enables personal cross-communication on all levels within the company which is great to make the management more connected to the rest of the organization and it also gives everyone their own voice. Thus, by getting more in touch with what's going on within the company, and by being able to share your own thoughts, ideas and work, Yammer increases employee engagement. Additionally, by making the conversations and information visible and searchable to everyone, Yammer enables the possibility for serendipity, which outside of an ESN is almost impossible. And within an organization, serendipity is something that really drives innovation and business value.

Yammer is not well-suited for many things, for example project management, CRM or writing private notes. However, it can be integrated to such apps that it is therefore not necessary to be a Swiss Army Knife.

To create real and relevant business value of any ESN, including Yammer, you should hire a skilled Community Manager (CM) who can work with management and the organization to make sense of not only Yammer, but the whole Employee Work Life: People + Business Processes + Technology. All three aspects of the Employee Work Life are connected and employees need help to make sense of when to use the right tool and they need to understand what possibilities each tool or infrastructure (ESN) can create. The CM's role will also be keep the community healthy and growing, and to help driving the right leadership and to develop the corporate culture.
Read Joakim Berg's full review
February 05, 2014

Microsoft Yammer Review: "Yammer to improve team collaboration across regions"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Yammer for team collaboration and document sharing. Being an international company spread over 4 regions, communication in different time zones is always a challenge. Yammer helps us making teams be in contact, collaborate on writing and reviewing documents, inform team members about news and project progress. We use groups a lot, both public and private. Groups are typically project-based or product-based. Some groups live for the duration of the project and then are archived. Other product oriented groups are open all the time as the product develops. Very useful functionality is the possibility to notify people in other groups of changes to a project or product that may impact others.
  • Document reviewing: We use a lot the functionality of versioning documents and adding comments.
  • Notification: Notify only relevant people about news and project progress, this is critical to us and it reduces clutter in our own inbox but still keeps people informed.
  • Tagging: Files and posts can be tagged and categorized for a better searchability. Over time we have built a fully structure taxonomy of tags that allows us to find information very quickly in the system.
  • Document editing is still poor. The rich text editor is far from being rich, compared to other online editors in the market.
  • Import/export of data is limited. Often we are challenged with the need for importing a massive repository of documents, from file system or SharePoint for example. When closing a group, we also need to archive all posts and documents contained.
  • Layout personalization: Very little can be changed to the layout of a Yammer site. We'd like to introduce more advanced branding of the site and increase the portal identity.
1) Is Yammer a replacement of SharePoint for enterprise collaboration and document sharing, or can the two platforms work together, and how?
2) Can I do full editing, versioning and reviewing of documents directly on Yammer, or do I still need Office-like applications for editing?
3) How robust and complete is the mobile offering?
Read Stefano Tempesta's full review
February 07, 2014

Microsoft Yammer: "Review of Yammer in a recruiting firm"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Parallel HR used Yammer in two primary ways. First, it was used as a platform for maintaining and promoting an open and collaborative culture via fostering discussion and sharing relevant news. Second, we used it as an information management platform, storing and collaborating on documents about our clients. We would store "client procedure documents" that our recruiters would use to get up to speed quickly on the individual recruiting/interviewing processes used by our clients.
  • Internal microblogging. It is very easy for employees to post relevant information to keep each other up to date on whatever they want/need to share.
  • Document sharing/collaboration. It did this fairly well, although the document update process needed to be embedded in the web app, instead of uploading and swapping out.
  • Yammer has several different notification options including text/email for a lot of different activities on the platform. I found the wide range of options in this regard pretty helpful.
  • Document sharing/collaboration wasn't as fluid as it could have been.
  • Viewing multiple pictures was kind of clunky, there was no preview that you could scroll through.
Yammer is a solid information management platform in cases where the information in question is relatively straightforward and in some kind of MS Office format. I am not sure it quite has the features to handle collaboration more sophisticated than that, unless you happen to have access to a specific application integration.
Read Chuck Hudgins's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (13)
6.4
Gantt Charts (8)
5.9
Scheduling (10)
5.2
Workflow Automation (9)
5.7
Mobile Access (20)
8.1
Search (20)
7.4
Visual planning tools (11)
5.9
Chat (20)
8.1
Notifications (22)
8.1
Discussions (21)
8.7
Surveys (17)
7.1
Internal knowledgebase (16)
7.5
Integrates with GoToMeeting (6)
7.3
Integrates with Gmail and Google Hangouts (5)
8.2
Integrates with Outlook (16)
8.5
Versioning (16)
7.5
Video files (16)
8.0
Audio files (15)
8.2
Document collaboration (17)
8.1
Access control (17)
8.1
Advanced security features (14)
7.2
Integrates with Google Drive (7)
7.2
Device sync (13)
8.0

About Microsoft Yammer

Yammer is used for private communication within organizations or between organizational members and pre-designated groups, making it an example of enterprise social software. It originally launched as an enterprise microblogging service and now has applications on several different operating systems and devices. The company was acquired by Microsoft in 2012.
Categories:  Collaboration

Microsoft Yammer Integrations

Microsoft Yammer Competitors

Microsoft Yammer Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No