MicroStrategy Analytics Reviews

230 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 27)

Davide Moraschi | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 04, 2016

From zero to hero.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
In the BI category it's the most feature rich and complete solution. Other software may be cheaper but falls short in one area or another. MicroStrategy allows greater control on the way the SQL is generated and has a complete set of tools to publish and distribute reports and dashboards to the users. Email subscriptions, iPad push, web embedding are among the several techniques available to distribute content. Portlets for the most common content management portals are included at no cost.
Read Davide Moraschi's full review
Randy Kirschner | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 01, 2016

MicroStrategy Reviewed from the Trenches

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

8
MicroStrategy is deeply engrained in the daily reporting. They are also constantly updating and making the product better. There would have to be a viable alternative that has features so beneficial it would make the investment to switch worth it.
Read Randy Kirschner's full review
Frank Bluemke | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 01, 2016

MicroStrategy - Retail made easy

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
I cannot imagine using a different reporting/data management solution other than Microstrategy. The system is scalable, fast and efficient and allows for users of multiple skill levels to get quick information from the system. Ad Hoc queries can be built very quickly to answer simple questions, while more complicated reports can be designed, scheduled and automated saving time and providing detailed information to manage our business.
Microstrategy is the basis for most of the business decisions we make - how we buy and manage inventory, reacting to sales trends, improving customer service at the store level - the list is endless!
The system is quick and efficient at returning results which is a key factor in any reporting solution.
Read Frank Bluemke's full review
Mario Ferrer | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 17, 2015

MicroStrategy 10 - the best in BI

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
MicroStrategy is one of the "legacy" BI vendors, but they have managed to keep up with the new entrants and even innovate. I believe this is the best BI technology, and unless they came up with ridiculous pricing, we should renew.
Read Mario Ferrer's full review
Paul Campbell | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 08, 2015

Ground level perspective of MicroStrategy

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
I would always choose to renew MicroStrategy as long as they lead the market in features, functionality and price. The support of MicroStrategy is timely and professional, I frequently get answers to my questions within 24 hours and normally have solutions within 48 hours. Training available for MicroStrategy completely covers everything required to be able to expertly use MicroStrategy and understand data warehousing.
Read Paul Campbell's full review
Jonathon Frampton | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 11, 2015

"Enterprise" BI in Microstrategy

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
In addition to previously noted points Microstrategy has become the "single version of truth" for our organizational performance reporting outside of Accounting. In addition to the cost barrier of converting to a different system, the new versions of MS coming soon (at least to us) will help to answer many concerns around more advanced visualizations and additional (non-structured and standard) data sources.
Read Jonathon Frampton's full review
Wm. Dexter Jones | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 29, 2015

Microstrategy is 'great enough' for business.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

8
MicroStrategy is the best analytics tool on the market. From database preparation to dashboard development, the suite of products is the most flexible and complete. Some of the product offerings feel disjointed as if they were developed by different consulting firms, but, for the most part, the product offers everything. A common phrase in our shop is that 'MicroStrategy makes the hard things easy and the easy things hard', but the more recent releases seem to be addressing much of this. Support is pretty good and the MicroStrategy community is very involved with the development of the product as a whole.
Read Wm. Dexter Jones's full review
Lara Rasner | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2014

MicroStrategy - Great for some, overkill for most.

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

2
MicroStrategy, for the use by our company, was WAY overkill for their needs, both in functionality and price. It can be a great tool, but their licensing scheme is frustratingly painful and expensive for the quality of software they provide. If your company does not want to pay a DBA or DB Developer to write optimized T-SQL or queries, then by all means MicroStrategy may be your answer. For the price, you could pay an employee who knows your data and writes much more optimized T-SQL, and utilize the great features of MSFT Excel to slice and dice your data - this would work for 90% or more of the companies who want a great data warehouse. As far as the current implementation of the data warehouse, so much investment and time went into rolling out MicroStrategy that, unless there was a major data structure change, it does not make sense to recreate all the reports in Excel.
Read Lara Rasner's full review
Justin Sharifipour | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 25, 2015

Microstrategy is not a walk in the park

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

5
There are other tools out there that are more nimble and less costly. It is a robust product but not for those with small IT organizations or dedicated report developers. It's analytic components are available but seem to be a little less mature than other products on the market. Visualizations have gotten better with some new modules but the base product is a little lacking in this area (look to Tableau instead).
Read Justin Sharifipour's full review
Toreyan Clarke | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 16, 2013

MicroStrategy Review (Version 9)

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

3
I think there are better tools available than MicroStrategy such as Tableau based simply on the ease of manipulating data sets and how quickly you can churn through data sets. The amount of time it takes to train people on MicroStrategy is a bit frustrating as well. I think MicroStrategy has great potential, but could be a better product overall.
Read Toreyan Clarke's full review
Toni (Snyder) Neff | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 10, 2013

Micromanage your Business with Microstrategy

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
We have built a significant data warehouse within this system allowing us to serve our business effectively. Continuing to utilize this tool and build on data will only continue to help strengthen our platform for use. I do not know of any other product that would better serve us in this area than MicroStrategy
Read Toni (Snyder) Neff's full review
Sid Haas | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2013

Reporting and Analysis for the Non-Techie

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
We're heavily invested (time and money) in Microstrategy. It meets all of our reporting needs -- there are still many things it can do that we haven't utilized. Microstrategy still provides the "wow" factor even after using it for several years.
Read Sid Haas's full review
Matt Silvy | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 05, 2013

Need a BI tool? MSTR is for you!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
1. It works!
2. Once it is setup, it keeps running... and running...
3. Power to the people!
4. Once end users try it, they are hooked on it.
5. Clients are very happy with the end product- a BI tool which is easy to use, easy to work with, easy to export their data.
Read Matt Silvy's full review
Alex Uher | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 18, 2013

Solid enterprise level reporting & BI with a cost (difficult to integrate new data sets)

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
I would see Business Objects as the main competitor to MSTR in the way we used the tool. I wouldn't see a reason to go through a change considering the level of effort the lack of significant differences between the two tools. For a smaller implementation I would strongly consider Tableau, however.
Read Alex Uher's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 13, 2015

May not be suitable for all audience!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

6
There are other BI tools out there that definitely overcome some of the shortcomings of MSTR and we have been testing them to see how they meet our needs.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2014

Empower your Sales Teams and boost ROI!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
We compared Microstrategy vs many other vendors, and based on the price-value ratio there was no vendor even close. The implementation was the smoothest out of 4 BI tools that I have been a part of onboarding. If you are using this from a financial reporting or sales playbook format, no other product can provide the cross platform linkages needed to tell a complete story of business/advertiser performance.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (21)
7.5
Customizable dashboards (21)
8.7
Report Formatting Templates (22)
7.5
Drill-down analysis (20)
8.3
Formatting capabilities (22)
8.0
Integration with R or other statistical packages (14)
7.0
Report sharing and collaboration (21)
7.2
Publish to Web (20)
7.7
Publish to PDF (20)
8.9
Report Versioning (18)
7.3
Report Delivery Scheduling (20)
7.7
Delivery to Remote Servers (3)
5.0
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (18)
7.7
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (16)
8.9
Predictive Analytics (17)
7.5
Multi-User Support (named login) (17)
8.2
Role-Based Security Model (18)
8.7
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (18)
8.2
Single Sign-On (SSO) (7)
8.4
Responsive Design for Web Access (17)
7.3
Dedicated iOS Application (13)
9.0
Dedicated Android Application (11)
8.5
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (17)
6.7
REST API (3)
9.0
Javascript API (5)
8.3
iFrames (3)
8.5
Java API (2)
9.0
Themeable User Interface (UI) (4)
7.7
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (4)
8.5

About MicroStrategy Analytics

The MicroStrategy platform differs somewhat from competing platforms in that it does not include a data warehouse.

The platform integrates with a wide range of third-party data warehouses however. MicroStrategy also built a free discovery/visualization tool called MicroStrategy Analytics Desktop, which is not completely integrated with the rest of the platform. MicroStrategy has strong mobile and cloud capabilities which are differentiators for the platform. MicroStrategy's cloud offerings are unique in that they host the software in their own data centers and allow customers to keep their data on-premise to alleviate security concerns. Analytics is a platform for Business Intelligence (BI) and self-service analytics. It enables organizations worldwide to analyze the vast amounts of data stored across their enterprises to make better business decisions.

MicroStrategy currently has 3 versions:

  • MicroStrategy Analytics Enterprise: Enterprise-grade business intelligence
  • MicroStrategy Analytics Desktop: Free self-service visual analytics
  • MicroStrategy Analytics Express: Free cloud-based self-service visual analytics

MicroStrategy Analytics Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
On-premise EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Desktop$600per named user
SaaS EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Web$600per named user
Web$300,000per CPU core
Mobile$600per named user
Mobile$300,000per CPU core

MicroStrategy Analytics Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Mac
Mobile Application:No