MindManager Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
231 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 121)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
October 21, 2020
Robert Gates | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Excellent big picture overview with easy expansion and contraction of map
  • Detailed drill-down capability into separate line-items and notes
  • Publishing capability to share MindManager with other connected or interested parties
  • Convenient and easy to use hyperlink capability that can be launched within MindManager or in a separate window
  • Ability to link to and launch another MindManager from within current one
  • Excellent integration with Outlook
  • Drag and drop within the map sometimes is tricky, making placement, or rearrangement of items frustrating. Maybe a "snap to" type feature could help.
  • Photoshop integration would be great. Specifically, adding a quick insert button to add a Photoshop image and/or a video.
  • Microsoft Project integration would be very helpful.
Read Robert Gates's full review
January 05, 2021
Phil Fuster | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Brainstorming: Best tools for organizing ideas.
  • Business Plan/Strategic Plan development: Develop a full document by dropping in content.
  • Meeting Management: Great for capturing thoughts and tasks.
  • Product Development: Tasks, milestones, and ideas all in one map.
  • Could be improved with templates for things like proposals.
  • Direct integration into tasks on Outlook.
Read Phil Fuster's full review
August 31, 2020
Andrew Pike | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Familiar user interface made with Microsoft style sheets
  • Native support for cloud and local storage options
  • Provides pre-built templates to help users get started
  • Easily accessible help resources
  • No support for team-based project files. Multiple people can only edit simultaneously during pre-scheduled meetings.
  • A project file can be opened by 2 users at the same time, but when they try to save, a conflict is generated and the project file is duplicated with unmergeable changes.
  • Published projects should have some kind of queue on save to ask the owner if they want to also update their changes on the published version.
Read Andrew Pike's full review
December 02, 2020
Scott E. Miller | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Visualization - You must 'see it' to 'understand it'.
  • Organization - the ability to expand and contract tree branches is extremely important. You just want to show only the data that is relevant.
  • Sorting and Filtering - Being able to sort and filter content prevents 'information overload'.
  • Better integration with Microsoft Teams.
  • Having the ability to import your entire 'File Explorer' in Microsoft Windows so you can better visualize and organize your files.
Read Scott E. Miller's full review
November 18, 2020
Michael Howard | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Embedded files.
  • Flow chart.
  • Time Lines and Gantt Chart.
  • Process mapping.
  • The many bells and whistles in the note function are not intuitive enough to be used easily.
  • The color choices for concept are not as designer friendly as they could be.
  • Adding images to the background and maneuvering the whole mind map is a bit clunky.
Read Michael Howard's full review
September 30, 2020
Michael Graff | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • MindManager can help you put thought to screen much quicker than you ever thought possible. Others can view these ideas in a way that makes sense to others who aren't in your head.
  • Mind Manager's ability for complex topic mapping (utilizing icons, tags, embedding files) is extremely robust and useful.
  • The program gets out of the way of the having formatting take up precious time in brainstorming and gives you visually aesthetic diagrams that will be the envy of your colleagues.
  • The integration with Outlook could be improved. This is the least intuitive feature in my opinion but the has the most potential.
  • The SharePoint integration is not as clear to utilize as I'd hoped.
Read Michael Graff's full review
September 30, 2020
Robert Klein | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Tracks daily task and achievements.
  • I use it for objectives and key results.
  • I use it to prepare myself and others for more productive meetings.
  • I use it for historical records of what occurred in projects and meetings.
  • I used to use a program called MacProject which is no longer supported by Mac. It automatically changed the dates in the progress of project planning when you made adjustments to a scheduled.
Read Robert Klein's full review
September 20, 2020
Martin Steinbereithner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • For big projects, making sure we see all the ramifications of the timeline.
  • When we break down a paper/book, this allows us to outline all the chapters and sub-sections.
  • This is a better way to get a talk outline for a 50 min talk onto one page.
  • The integration with Powerpoint is still a bit clunky.
  • The maps work great - the other diagrams I find much less intuitive.
  • A bit more graphic flexibility with maps would be nice
Read Martin Steinbereithner's full review
September 19, 2020
Veronica Altemus | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Brainstorming and solutioning (especially "in the moment" during meetings).
  • Capturing processes or workflows, especially with complex relationships.
  • Creating decision trees for key decisions.
  • Capturing configuration/solution decisions.
  • Conversion of process maps to Visio.
  • Ability to allow non-licensed users to contribute to a 'published' map.
  • Ability to set your own shortcuts (my new laptop lacks an "insert" key so I can no longer use that shortcut).
  • Plug-ins for Google Drive/Microsoft Office, etc
Read Veronica Altemus's full review
December 27, 2020
Clint Rankin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Cost effective
  • Works well
  • Intuitive
  • Cost in some scenarios can add up.
  • Fast support can sometimes be a negative experience.
  • Updates sometimes create new issues.
Read Clint Rankin's full review
August 24, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • I like the look and feel of the graphics provided by MindManager, especially compared to Visio.
  • The list of templates provides a very good set of accelerators to get a user started quickly.
  • Easy to use, intuitive user interface, without unnecessary gadgets and frills
  • Integration with MS Office products other than Word would help.
  • Ability to export process flows to Visio format, since many corporations use MS products and I would like to avoid having to recreate process flows.
  • More icons would be also beneficial.
  • An online library where a user can search for images, icons, etc. would also help.
Read this authenticated review
December 13, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Structuring problem symptoms into actionable groups
  • Gaining messaging clarity
  • Taking notes on the fly
  • Please turn off the spam asking me to upgrade once a week. This is very irritating and I love this product
Read this authenticated review
December 02, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • SWOT analysis.
  • Gap analysis.
  • Customer retention strategy analysis.
  • Make it easier to cut and paste items from one branch to another.
  • Make it easier to reformat many branches simultaneously.
  • Easier to send out versions that people can with edit or make up.
  • Increase the flexibility of the Org Charts.
Read this authenticated review
November 10, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Works great across Windows and Mac OSs.
  • Visually appealing and user friendly.
  • Several great features for project planning and visualizations.
  • While the visuals are engaging, some of the graphics can feel overwhelming. Simplification of project maps would be great.
  • Continue update support on Macs more regularly.
Read this authenticated review
November 05, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • As a suppository of ideas
  • Move information from one theme to another very easily
  • Getting organized
  • I liked it when it was more interactive (online). For me, it is difficult to collaborate with others with MindManager (who have never used it before)
Read this authenticated review
October 30, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to manage and use links to pertinent files (Google Drive worksheets, Gantt Charts, Process & Procedure Documentation, Contact Logs, etc.)
  • Visual clarity of viable candidate status
  • Simple filtering based on a variety of inputs (Team Member, Partner Status, Check List Items completed, etc.)
  • Not experiencing any shortcomings at this time
  • I would like to set up a shortcut to invoke a power filter and/or a macro--not sure how
Read this authenticated review
September 30, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Fast collection of info - allows quick grouping of info without having to scroll.
  • Exports to MS Word - saves huge amounts of time by exporting to document for clean up.
  • Can be shared with non-license holders - allows sharing with all participants without worrying about license issues.
  • Options of map organization - would like to be able to lock in locations of items in the map, i.e. always show this item above that item.
  • Standard formats for certain levels, i.e. make all first-level items of a certain font size.
Read this authenticated review
September 25, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Integration with Office is very strong and growing since 2002.
  • Mobile experience is improving.
  • Cloud Storage options are adequate.
  • Richer mobile experience would be appreciated.
  • Mobile sync capabilities could be better.
Read this authenticated review
September 25, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It makes organizing projects a cinch.
  • It is great at keeping track of who is doing what.
  • It really helps as far as keeping deadlines.
  • It did take some getting used to.
Read this authenticated review
September 24, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Allowing free-form creative thinking
  • Not worrying about formatting information as that is taken care of automatically
  • The task and project management aspects
  • Multiple users working on one document collaboratively (like Google Docs)
  • Removing the reliance on Internet Explorer for publishing features
Read this authenticated review
September 16, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to use/User friendly
  • Aesthetically pleasing layout looks like it was built in this century.
  • Easy to share with colleagues
  • I haven't noticed anything yet.
Read this authenticated review
August 13, 2019
John Griffith | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • I am lazy (and ADD) - I don't like to re-enter tasks, concepts or plans. By using MM I am able to capture my ideas and plans on the fly - and then return at a later date to refine, focus and organize my thoughts into a more coherent logical "item"... all without being forced to retype any of my original thoughts unless I care to.
  • I use the sort and filter features extensively to 1) Set importance (Must do, important to do, should do, etc) and 2) When (Today, soon, this week, this month). I also use the color coding of items to draw my attention. I also set key project names/categories for each item (no more than 7).
  • The sort and filter then let me quickly identify the items that I must focus on "now" - a "shortlist".
  • In my consulting days, and now with the several non-profit boards that I work with, I use a modified "PowerPoint" version of MM to get my ideas across and to "brainstorm" with my audience (action items, strategies, priorities).
  • For my literary non-fiction writing, I use MM to cast "islands" (random brainstorming), and no less than 3 days later to coalesce these "islands" into "continents", and then to drag the continents into the "proper" order. For my freelance newspaper work, the process is similar - but the organization changes to identifying and featuring the lede.
  • My current "ToDo" file is about 3 MB. I would like to be able to trust that when I send a large "chunk" of work to a linked map that I will not lose that link with LOTS of notification. The loss of the link is my problem (constantly moving large blocks) - but for whatever reason, I'm not being warned enough that I am breaking the link and therefore potentially losing the connection of the thoughts.
  • Nested filtering - that is filtering and fine-tuning and already filtered list does not always work for me. Sometimes it filters only the filtered items, other times, it filters and presents the entire list. With the size of my file- this is a bit of a pain.
  • It would be great to be able to "catch" thoughts, issues, to-do's and brainstorms on the fly - e.g. on my smartphone. I have tried a number of the MM smartphone apps to complete disappointment.
Read John Griffith's full review
August 07, 2019
Fred Greco | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • MindManager allows me to see the big picture while not losing the details.
  • MindManager is a great brain storming tool, allowing participation by a group in strategic planning.
  • MindManager is a great outlining tool, for writing articles and sermons.
  • MindManager could have a more robust and easier to use tablet app
Read Fred Greco's full review
August 07, 2019
David Lenef | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Super easy keyboard-only entry and navigation.
  • Rearrange elements in one click with the "Balance Design" function.
  • Export outlines to Word.
  • Save to PDF would be nice.
  • Show theme preview on mouse hover of available themes.
  • Offer a simple UI option for quick 'n dirty brainstorming when all the advanced features are just noise.
Read David Lenef's full review
July 24, 2019
Willem Kymmell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The ability to apply it to almost any situation that requires the organization of ideas, concepts and/or facts.
  • The ease with which a map can be changed, almost totally if necessary, without the loss of any content.
  • The ease with which the tool is implemented to its full conceptual power.
  • The ease with which ideas are communicated to others who did not do the map building themselves.
  • The potential for collaborative efforts in developing thoughts, plans, etc.
  • It is still not easy (possible) to really schedule with MindManager and have a task develop in multiple sub-tasks and then bring these separate lines back to a main task downstream (in time).
  • Some of the aesthetic (graphic) improvements to a specific map are sometimes difficult to find and somewhat limited.
  • It would be nice to add graphics in the 'notes' field for a particular entry.
Read Willem Kymmell's full review

What is MindManager?

MindManager aims to bring clarity and structure to plans, projects, and processes.

With it, the vendor says users can transform scattered ideas and information into dynamic visual mind maps, flowcharts, concept maps, matrices and other diagrams. They state users can also take control of their work, synthesize vast amounts of data, collaborate and communicate more effectively, and boost productivity to gain a competitive edge.

MindManager is presented as a suite of intuitive visualization products that helps individuals and teams think more clearly, make better decisions, and get on the path to personal and organizational success.

MindManager Features

Additional Features
Has featureInformation Visualization
Has featureBrainstorming
Has featureProblem Solving
Has featureCollaboration
Has featureKnowledge Management
Has featureProcess Design & Documentation
Has featureProject Management
Has featureStrategic Planning
Has featureTask Management
Has featureWorkflow Management

MindManager Screenshots

MindManager Video

MindManager Downloadables

MindManager Integrations

Zapier, MS SharePoint, Microsoft Teams, MS Outlook, MS Word, MS Excel

MindManager Competitors

Xmind, iMindMap, iThoughts

MindManager Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
One-Time Cost$349per perpetual license
Annual Subscription$169per year
OrganizationsContact sales team

MindManager Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

MindManager Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Languages: English, French, German, Japanese, Russian, Chinese