MIP Fund Accounting

MIP Fund Accounting

Customer Verified
Top Rated
TRUE
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.3 out of 100
Top Rated
TRUE
MIP Fund Accounting

Overview

Recent Reviews

MIP Love!

8 out of 10
May 25, 2022
We use MIP for all of our accounting needs; accounts payable, accounts receivable, allocations, payroll, HR, bank reconciliation, and all …
Continue reading

MIPleased!

8 out of 10
May 14, 2022
We use MIP Fund Accounting for our HR and Accounting functions. We run a lot of reports using the MIP Fund Account. Sometimes the reports …
Continue reading

Abilia for nonprofits

10 out of 10
May 12, 2022
We use the product to track all financial activities in the nonprofit. We use accounts payable, accounts receivable, and the general …
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2022
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2021
TrustRadius Best of Award, Best Of Feature Set 2021

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of MIP Fund Accounting, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.mip.com/request…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Starting price (does not include set up fee)

  • $249 per month

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is MIP Fund Accounting?

MIP Fund Accounting is a configurable fund accounting solution that allows users to report and track finances, streamline processes, and scale and grow based on your unique needs. MIP is the accounting software of choice, with cloud or on-premises deployment options, and designed to meet and handle the complex accounting needs of nonprofit financial management.

MIP's integrated software solution suite provides general ledger, accounts payable and receivable, budgeting, payroll, human resources, allocations management, procurement, fixed assets, grant management, and advanced security functionality. The solution enables users to manage and report on multiple cost centers at the general ledger level including multiple organizations, funds, projects, grants, programs, departments, locations, etc.

MIP Fund Accounting exclusively serves the financial management and fund accounting needs for nonprofits and government agencies with its complete, end-to-end suite of functionality and multi-segmented chart of accounts. The company states that with the right fund accounting platform and expert guidance, users can track unlimited funds, manage complex reporting requirements, streamline productivity, and make the right data-driven business decisions for an organization.

MIP Fund Accounting Screenshots

MIP Advance™ Dashboards with drilldownMIP™ Transactions WorkflowMIP DashboardsMIP DashboardsMIP Dashboard drilldownMIP TransactionsMIP Budget WorksheetMIP ReportingMIP Audit Trail  and SecurityMIP PortalMIP Fund Accounting

MIP Fund Accounting Competitors

MIP Fund Accounting Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, SaaS
Operating SystemsWindows
Mobile ApplicationNo

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is MIP Fund Accounting?

MIP Fund Accounting™ is a configurable fund accounting solution. The solution includes functionality for fund accounting, procurement, budgeting, payroll, human resources, timekeeping, fixed asset management, grant management, and dashboards for nonprofits and government agencies.

How much does MIP Fund Accounting cost?

MIP Fund Accounting starts at $249.

What is MIP Fund Accounting's best feature?

Reviewers rate Product Scalability highest, with a score of 10.

Who uses MIP Fund Accounting?

The most common users of MIP Fund Accounting are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees) and the Non-profit Organization Management industry.

Reviews

(1-25 of 91)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Joanne Jenkins | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I was given little to no training on the system and was able to navigate it quite easily. I was able to learn on the fly, figure out how to build reports and enter in data. This is a huge deal for any organization really. Training is often one of the lowest ranking operations in most companies (at least in my experience) and when you hire the right people, you can be assured they will get this program easily.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I don't know what it would be like in the for-profit arena, but for the non-profit arena, it is an excellent product. I love how you don't actually have to close years and are able to get information that spans over the year-end. And the grant tracking is excellent too. It is just an excellent accounting system.
October 08, 2021

Simple and User Friendly

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The desktop MIP was very user friendly. There were two or three ways to get somewhere. The side and top panels had different ways of getting you to the same place. This allowed for different navigational and thinking patterns for different people.

The Cloud version is still great. It eliminated one of the navigational ways and removed the option to have multiple screens and reports open side by side simultaneously.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Navigation is the biggest issue. The on-site MIP had multiple routes to get to the same place. It allowed multiple tabs to be open simultaneously. A trial balance report could be open and there was an option to drill down right there instead of exiting the report and opening the GL. Similarly, when doing payables, the yellow truck button which allowed vendor additions and edits did not make it to the new version. To do these things, you have to save and exit the payable batch and go to a new screen.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I find MIP Fund Accounting easy to use, but I also minored in ERP systems in college. If you are a tech savvy type of person, you wouldn't have much trouble. However, those that are not tech savvy, may have difficulty. The good thing is, MIP Fund Accounting has a help page on every single screen; so if you have questions, the help button will address issues on that specific page.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MIP Fund Accounting is user friendly once basic navigation and functionality is learned. Repetitive processes are reasonable and easy to manage. Report writing and manipulation requires a higher level of database relationship understanding to yield useful reports but the canned reports are helpful as a starting point. We do find ourselves trying things by trial and error to yield certain usable reports.
Bob Simpson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
While it does require training, and I would suggest it be on site if possible or at their corporate training offices, most users adapt to it quickly. Most parts of the program have very similar layout and functionalities and ability to have tasks/reports pre-configured.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MIP Fund Accounting is very straight-forward and simple. Literally, I needed no training to be able to figure out the features. I could see some thinking that it was too simple or might benefit from more complex reporting, etc., but for our purposes, it's wonderful! We also have an IT-remedial employee base, so complex software is not a good fit for our users.
July 04, 2021

Great value

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I've been using MIP for over 5+ years and it has all the functionality we need. I think the basic account flow is easy to understand with a minor amount of training.
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We had difficulty pulling up to date balance sheets and our current financial position. The software was not always user friendly and it was frustrating for new employees to learn if not familiar.
June 05, 2021

Highly recommend

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It works well for what we do. We have developed internal checklists for most functions, to ensure we don't miss creating an essential unposted transaction report.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Logical design and ease of putting account based rules makes input easier. Balance sheet accounts are set up requiring only a GL number, while income statement accounts require an entire string for our organization to determine department, program, source reporting, and restriction codes. This permits the departments to drill down and analyze their profitability as part of the larger organization.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
If it had payroll for us and calculated HST, I would give it a solid 8. The reporting part is challenging, so we still do a lot manually which is frustrating. The trainer and implementation person, Bianca Dubay, she was really excellent. All your staff should be like her.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently I'm only using the cash receipts, journal vouchers and managing sessions of MIP so I can't comment on other portions of the system, but I feel like MIP has been a solid work horse and we've had very few issues with anything. As I said in earlier answers, it is very user-friendly and I never worry that it's going to "look" different after an upgrade is implemented!
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MIP Fund Accounting is easy to use and it is scalable. MIP can accommodate many concurrent users across on the modules. It's a very mature product and is very reliable and if we do encounter a problem, which is rare the support is very good.
March 24, 2021

Meh

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's hard for me to use, but it's a complete lack of training on my company's part.
March 23, 2021

Trusty System

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's not an easy system. The organization of menus and options makes very little sense, It's "clunky," but it is reliable and stable. It's like a good Ford that lasts beyond everybody's fancier cars with fancier features.