Mirantis Kubernetes Engine (Docker Enterprise)

Mirantis Kubernetes Engine (Docker Enterprise)

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.7 out of 100
Mirantis Kubernetes Engine (Docker Enterprise)

Overview

Recent Reviews

Save space and time!

9 out of 10
March 15, 2021
Docker is heavily used to containerized the projects and upload it to kubernetes. It is helpful when developing microservices. Due to …
Continue reading

Productivity Booster

10 out of 10
August 14, 2019
Docker is used by most of our teams as part of their development and deployment practice. For development, it enables engineers to build …
Continue reading

Very useful for testing purposes

9 out of 10
August 27, 2018
We use Docker mainly for testing purposes. To avoid issues with local environments while testing our site, we use Docker images. This has …
Continue reading

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Mirantis Kubernetes Engine (Docker Enterprise), and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Free

$0.00

Cloud
per year

Basic

$500.00

Cloud
per year

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://store.mirantis.com

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Starting price (does not include set up fee)

  • $500 per year per node

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is Mirantis Kubernetes Engine (Docker Enterprise)?

The Mirantis Kubernetes Engine (formerly Docker Enterprise, acquired by Mirantis in November 2019)aims to let users ship code faster. Mirantis Kubernetes Engine gives users one set of APIs and tools to deploy, manage, and observe secure-by-default, certified, batteries-included Kubernetes clusters on any infrastructure: public cloud, private cloud, or bare metal.

Mirantis Kubernetes Engine (Docker Enterprise) Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Compare with

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Mirantis Kubernetes Engine (Docker Enterprise)?

The Mirantis Kubernetes Engine (formerly Docker Enterprise, acquired by Mirantis in November 2019)aims to let users ship code faster. Mirantis Kubernetes Engine gives users one set of APIs and tools to deploy, manage, and observe secure-by-default, certified, batteries-included Kubernetes clusters on any infrastructure: public cloud, private cloud, or bare metal.

How much does Mirantis Kubernetes Engine (Docker Enterprise) cost?

Mirantis Kubernetes Engine (Docker Enterprise) starts at $500.

What is Mirantis Kubernetes Engine (Docker Enterprise)'s best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 7.8.

Who uses Mirantis Kubernetes Engine (Docker Enterprise)?

The most common users of Mirantis Kubernetes Engine (Docker Enterprise) are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Computer Software industry.

Reviews and Ratings

 (215)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 32)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Fazeel Usmani | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I didn’t select Mirantis Cloud Native Suite (Docker Enterprise) when I joined this organisation it was already being used here. The one thing I can say about Mirantis Cloud Native Suite (Docker Enterprise) is easy to use and creates a good impact in the businesses. So, I definitely recommend to implement in your use cases.
Anuj Rai | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
So far I haven't used any other containerized product except Docker Enterprise because in terms of community support and tutorial videos, Docker has a better reach than other tools.
Docker can be easily set up from local to the cloud without worrying about the flavor of OS (operating system).
Carol Aleman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have not used any other software as a container management solution. Its containerized apps allow the usage of less memory, thus they start and shut down very fast. This tool is helping the enterprise software to work quickly against the changing conditions thus offers great scaling by simultaneously allowing me to meet the demands, which also leads to easy implementation of the strategies.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have heard about others, but all my professional life I have been using Docker as my primary container and the thing is you just don't need anything else right now. Because Kubernetes supports Docker and Docker is open-source and just very simple to get started with. 10 minutes is all it takes to install Docker on a Linux server and start a Docker.
August 14, 2019

Productivity Booster

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used Vagrant for consistent development environments as well. It is a more "heavyweight" solution since it's a complete virtual machine that requires a host like VirtualBox in order to run. With Docker, the container is much more lightweight and just requires the docker daemon to be installed locally, and then I can run any container in the world with just the CLI.
Matt James | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FreeNAS, I don't wish to bad mouth any product but it appeared that iXsystems just did not want to help their users or attempt to resolve issues. It looks good on paper and it worked well for me for about 4 years until I needed more support and a more complex and bigger architecture. ESXi is great for VMs, but you need the hardware to support it and that hardware is expensive. Docker can run on a Raspberry Pi. Now, we don't use a Raspberry Pi but it just goes to show how versatile it can be.
July 13, 2019

Linux everywhere!

David Tanner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Docker has become the defacto service, as far as I have seen, to run Linux or other tools on any OS and architecture and get the same output. I have used Vagrant in the past, but it was much more complicated to use. Docker is very common among developers, so documentation and comments in things like StackOverflow are very common.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dockers isn't a replacement for VMWare or VirtualBox in all cases. It's fundamentally a different way to solve the development problem. We use Docker when we need a lightweight, fast development scaffold. We use other virtualization solutions if we need GUI access or need a particular version of Linux that works better under VMWare or Hyper-V.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I would also compare to BSD Jails, LXC, and Solaris Zones, but they weren't listed. One of the first reasons we decided to use Docker over other container applications is because Docker is the default everyone recommends and is easily the most popular. We found Docker to be easier to use than alternatives like CoreOS rkt, and the community support for Docker is huge compared to them as well.
Bhargav Nanekalva | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Docker is absolutely amazing when it comes to QA environments and setting up developers with the environment they need. For those that are getting started, Kitematic is an amazing interface to use with Docker. We have multiple instances of databases alongside Docker and it's amazing to be able to sandbox these environments.
Ben Lachman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Docker provides less lock in and more portability than Heroku. You can also easily self host or choose a Docker hosting service. Additionally, there is a wide availability of Docker containers where Heroku build packs are somewhat more limited. Heroku offers a more turnkey approach at times and has a quicker initial time to deploy.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've used XAMPP, PHPmyAdmin and similar local environments (our app is on PHP).

Because of how easy you can change the configuration of libraries on PHP and versions (which is SO painful on XAMPP or other friendly LAMP local servers) we are using Docker right now. Also, being sure that the environment is exactly the same makes things easier for developing.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Prior to docker, we had a custom build and deployment system. For local development, we use VirtualBox to host our VMs, while our custom VMs resided directly on the servers. We chose Docker primarily to allow us to get rid of our custom deployment system, both simplifying build and deploy processes and reducing the support needs of our own custom solution.
Nic Raboy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Docker is great because of how the Docker Runtime works and how it eliminates the need to have the full operating system overhead that you'd find in a virtual machine (VM), keeping things lightweight and compatible regardless of where you go. Having an isolated, full Linux operating system within a VM is great, but a lot of the time it isn't necessary and often overkills.
Brian Dentino | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
While Ansible and Docker focus on solving two different problems, we were previously using Ansible to ensure that all dependencies were automatically setup on new servers and that proper configuration was applied when new nodes were brought up. With docker, most of these dependencies and configuration items are isolated to and packaged with individual docker images, so we have been able to shift much of this configuration burden away from Ansible and into individual projects. Heroku is a PaaS that simplifies deployment and application dependency management. For large-scale applications, it can get very expensive and docker provides the means to setup similar deployment and application linking/service-discovery on our own cluster. It also gives us greater control over application scheduling and resource usage.
August 16, 2017

Docker FTW!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • virtual mach
While we still use virtual machines [for our Docker servers], we prefer Docker containers for our deployments. It really allows for a simpler infrastructure footprint to manage. For example, instead of managing 30 virtual machines with one or two apps on each VM, we could replace that with 6 Docker servers each running apps in 5-10 containers.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I had to use virtual machines before, the last one was VirtualBox. I was only a user there, I wasn't responsible for the configuration, it was a black box for me. When I had to use Docker for the first time I was a skeptic, but it proved to be easy. I can't really compare the configuration part, but as a user I find it more straightforward.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Doocker lacks a lot of the scaling, automation, integration of 3rd party tools/solutions, and integration of shared high-performance self-healing storage, solutions like Heketi provide those missing pieces.
Eric Mann | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Docker runs both locally and on the server, whereas VirtualBox is only used locally to create a development environment. Docker gives us the ability to have the exact same environment both in the cloud and on individual developers' laptops. There are no surprises for the team, as our code runs in the exact same environment both during development and in production for actual customers.
Anudeep Palanki | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Vagrant is another software that offers similar [features that] stack to Docker. It offers an isolated container similar to Docker but Docker is lighter weight because it does not have the additional overhead of a VM Container. Docker has a much larger community of developers supporting it and hence there is a larger suite of docker files that offers many out-of-box solutions.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Docker is a different beast in that it is not trying to solve all of your infrastructure problems or most of them, it is simply trying to provide a reliable container serviced based on linux containers in which you can easily and quickly deploy microservices. LXD does provide similar functionality to Docker and does it very well, the difference being LXD focuses more on containers while Docker is focused more on application delivery.
March 24, 2017

Docker rocks!

Jesse Bye | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Docker doesn't directly compare to very many other services. It is unique in its field. However, I love how fast Docker services spin up in comparison to VM-based or server-based applications. Docker is being adopted at a fast rate in the industry, so it's great to see Docker support almost everywhere we look. For example, SaltStack has decent Docker integration, and most CI providers support Docker out-of-the-box now.
Adam Eivy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Chef
Before Docker, we were using Chef to manage our deployments. Chef didn't provide the environmental consistency and release confidence we needed. We had a split process between how the build servers, the developers and the deployed environments were managing the software dependencies (core OS, language runtime, security patches, etc.). Now all of those things are built into our application as part of the deployable artifact (the whole application rather than just the business logic). Additionally, developers can build Dockerfiles without having to learn Ruby--and operations can treat the applications more as a black box--only worrying about keeping the infrastructure running (rather than babysitting the application).