Mirantis Kubernetes Engine (Docker Enterprise)

Mirantis Kubernetes Engine (Docker Enterprise)

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.7 out of 100
Mirantis Kubernetes Engine (Docker Enterprise)

Overview

Recent Reviews

Save space and time!

9 out of 10
March 15, 2021
Docker is heavily used to containerized the projects and upload it to kubernetes. It is helpful when developing microservices. Due to …
Continue reading

Productivity Booster

10 out of 10
August 14, 2019
Docker is used by most of our teams as part of their development and deployment practice. For development, it enables engineers to build …
Continue reading

Very useful for testing purposes

9 out of 10
August 27, 2018
We use Docker mainly for testing purposes. To avoid issues with local environments while testing our site, we use Docker images. This has …
Continue reading

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Mirantis Kubernetes Engine (Docker Enterprise), and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Free

$0.00

Cloud
per year

Basic

$500.00

Cloud
per year

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://store.mirantis.com

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Starting price (does not include set up fee)

  • $500 per year per node

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is Mirantis Kubernetes Engine (Docker Enterprise)?

The Mirantis Kubernetes Engine (formerly Docker Enterprise, acquired by Mirantis in November 2019)aims to let users ship code faster. Mirantis Kubernetes Engine gives users one set of APIs and tools to deploy, manage, and observe secure-by-default, certified, batteries-included Kubernetes clusters on any infrastructure: public cloud, private cloud, or bare metal.

Mirantis Kubernetes Engine (Docker Enterprise) Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Compare with

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Mirantis Kubernetes Engine (Docker Enterprise)?

The Mirantis Kubernetes Engine (formerly Docker Enterprise, acquired by Mirantis in November 2019)aims to let users ship code faster. Mirantis Kubernetes Engine gives users one set of APIs and tools to deploy, manage, and observe secure-by-default, certified, batteries-included Kubernetes clusters on any infrastructure: public cloud, private cloud, or bare metal.

How much does Mirantis Kubernetes Engine (Docker Enterprise) cost?

Mirantis Kubernetes Engine (Docker Enterprise) starts at $500.

What is Mirantis Kubernetes Engine (Docker Enterprise)'s best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 7.8.

Who uses Mirantis Kubernetes Engine (Docker Enterprise)?

The most common users of Mirantis Kubernetes Engine (Docker Enterprise) are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Computer Software industry.

Reviews and Ratings

 (215)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 38)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Fazeel Usmani | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used in a project in our enterprise. It helps us to scale individual components independently. Only a little times we faced issues with Mirantis Cloud Native Suite (Docker Enterprise). Rest of the time I assure that it worked properly. We can also keep it on autoscale. And it works really well at peak times as well.
Anuj Rai | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Docker Enterprise is quite a handy solution when it comes to containerizing your application making it lightweight and easy to spin and access. Currently, it is being used across the whole organization and [is a] solution for every kind of complex problem.
Carol Aleman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Through [Mirantis Cloud Native Suite (Docker Enterprise)] I have got rid of the improperly-signed and even unsigned container workloads. This tool is easy to configure and easily I can tag the workloads for execution on appropriate node types. Further through this application, it is very convenient for me to use specialized hardware in bare metal which includes FPGAs and GPUs, that offer great machine learning and helps in scientific computing.
March 15, 2021

Save space and time!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Docker is heavily used to containerized the projects and upload it to kubernetes. It is helpful when developing microservices. Due to Dockers isolation and portability feature, it is easy to deploy run and get a microservice up in no time. Docker is being used across the whole organization. Docker address following business problems: building independent microservices, isolation and easy potability.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Swarm to deploy internal applications in a managed cluster. These applications are mission-critical and used across all departments in the organization. Swarm solves the problem of scaling and load balancing traffic and resources during peak business hours. It allows fast and simple automated deployment which drastically reduces the time spent on this task by developers.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Docker is everywhere, there just isn't a server on an application which is not present in Docker. It forms the integral part of the whole infra for us. The beauty of Docker comes from its amazing quality of being robust, easy to start and very easy to blow it off completely. It's the most powerful tool which just does magic for us.
August 14, 2019

Productivity Booster

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Docker is used by most of our teams as part of their development and deployment practice. For development, it enables engineers to build applications in the same environment without worrying about local configuration issues. Nearly all of our CI/CD and infrastructure runs in Docker containers as well, which makes debugging production issues (especially around deployment) as simple as pulling down the right image and poking at it locally.
Matt James | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Docker in a test environment to deploy and monitor all of our servers/firewalls/switches/etc. throughout our company. We have a single server instance that houses all the containers and images. My department, the technology services department, is the only department that uses this and as it is still only being tested only one user is using/deploying/managing it—me. But it allows me to have a glance at each location to see if there are any issues that could potentially take down a site.
July 13, 2019

Linux everywhere!

David Tanner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Docker is used by our company to build our server deployment files and to run tests. This allows us to have confidence that our deployments will work correctly in our pull request tests. Developers can also be confident that the build will run the same every time no matter where the code is being run.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Docker for WordPress development. It has replaced Vagrant on our development systems. We like the tighter integration with Windows Hyper-V and the performance is better than VirtualBox-based solutions. We are able to jump-start many projects with the Docker Compose files people contribute and publish on GitHub. Using Docker Compose we are able to create reliable, consistent, development scaffolding.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Instead of using VMs for our testing environments in our automated pipelines, we use Docker containers to simplify and increase the efficiency of our testing. We needed a testing environment that worked both for Windows and Linux, so Docker was the best choice for our scenario. It is being used on a team-by-team basis.
Bhargav Nanekalva | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Reducing deployment friction is the chief benefit. The advent of the Cloud allowed us to break away from physical servers and rapidly develop our products and services. Docker adds a Saturn 5 rocket to that. It allows developers to easily build very complex application on their local machines much the same way VMs did, but with a fraction of the resources VMs take because of their reduced footprint. This in turn allows sharing prebuilt "containers" with a community be it within an organisation or global in a matter of seconds. Additionally, the days of configuration drift are solved because we all have a common "language" for sharing configurations regardless of the tools used to build them.
Ben Lachman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Docker as part of a rapid deployment project that allows a service to be easily deployed directly onto VMs automatically during staging and production. It makes the management of the VM a parallel task to the deploy process. Traditionally the provision of a VM would be intertwined with the deploy process and containerization allows for these things to be decoupled.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Docker mainly for testing purposes. To avoid issues with local environments while testing our site, we use Docker images. This has many benefits: you can easily add/remove configurations and extras. For example on PHP you can try different images with different versions of PHP. Trying to achieve this on your localhost (for example with XAMPP or something more friendly) is very time-consuming.

I should say I know Docker is meant for something more pro and I'm a light user; I don't push a Docker image completely to a server, but for testing purposes it has been extremely useful. You can use CLI for changing things, you can create different databases, alter them and load them again, etc.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Docker is being used across our organization for product development and deployment. We switched to docker in order to replace a custom build and deploy the solution. We have used it as part of our build and deploy system to make the process more flexible and decentralized. It has made it much easier to build out new data centers and is part of our internationalization strategy.
Nic Raboy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Docker is being used as a quick way for organizations to deploy Couchbase as a container, both independently and in an orchestrated environment. Because of how easy Docker containers are to create and destroy, it makes developer and operations work incredibly easy for prototyping in a consistent environment using the Docker runtime.
Brian Dentino | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Docker is used across our whole engineering organization. It is used to simplify packaging and deployment of the apps and services we develop. Using docker allows us to match our development environment more closely to production and run polyglot applications without worrying about cross-cutting software dependencies and server configuration.
January 30, 2018

Quick Docker Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Docker is used across our whole engineering organization in order to have a consistent dev environment for local testing. We also use Docker for our microservices on Rancher. Docker is extremely useful as we can easily spin up any sort of environment we want and create/test new features. The use of Docker also helps prevent those "it work on my computer" type of issues.
August 16, 2017

Docker FTW!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Docker to containerize our applications, we get many benefits from this such as:
  • consistent, realizable deployment environments across dev, QA, prod - the same image used in dev is the exact same image deployed to production
  • better utilization of server resources
  • cross cloud compatibility
  • the ease of scaling applications
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Docker is used for by both the dev team and the QA team on my project. For the dev team it's really useful as they had a lot of issues prior to using Docker with the different setups the devs had: Win/Linux/Mac. After switching to Docker these issues disappeared.

For me as an automation QA lead, it's mainly used for our Selenium Grid. Our grid is running on AWS, and I configured it via Docker. I use docker-compose to start it up and to scale how many browsers should be started. Using only Docker was already a huge help, as we didn't really have to worry about the configurations and it was easy to use the same setup for more instances, but combined with the scaling option of docker-compose it proved to be a really convenient.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
A large global financial services provider based in London, faced increasing regulatory pressure and market demands—led by industry disruptors offering modern, digital services. Looking to increase innovation and productivity, Barclays set out to build an Application Platform-as-a-Service as part of its cloud program. It used Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform which incorporates Docker, along with other Red Hat solutions to update its IT infrastructure and adopt an agile, DevOps approach to application development, giving its developers on-demand, self-service capabilities. As a result, the bank improved its efficiency and agility to innovate faster and stay competitive.
June 26, 2017

Testing with Docker

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Docker is being used by us to create and throw away spaces as needed for testing. Instead of managing a huge hardware lab we are able to "spin up" configurations as needed. If we need a new configuration to test against we just build a new container. It makes life more simple.
Eric Mann | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Docker as the backbone of our hosted app infrastructure. Every element of our application is broken down into a microservice; these miniature services are then built into Docker containers and deployed directly to AWS cloud. Docker lets us deterministically build, distribute, and deploy all of our services without any ambiguity as to what's being deployed and why.