Miva Reviews

21 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-15 of 15)

Chris Janus | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 23, 2015

One of the best ecommerce shopping carts available

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Clients are able to easily make changes to products/categories, and they are able to control many other aspects of the site with additional customizations (and additional features that Miva adds in with new releases...) Products/categories can be mass-uploaded via a flat file (eg excel spreadsheet, text file, etc) to add/update thousands of products at a time which definitely makes for increased efficiency.
  • Clients have excellent support available whether directly through Miva support or the strong online Miva community. If there's a problem with something, you're not stranded by yourself with no way out or completely relying on an open source community.
Read Chris Janus's full review
Timothy Schneider | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 29, 2015

MIVA Merchant. Almost Perfect.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We have lost some business due to lack of easy MIVA connectivity with popular POS systems.
  • For the most part, focussing on MIVA as the primary eCommerce platform my company offers has been very positive choice for me and my clients. The choice of MIVA has allowed me to focus on learning a singular platform where I have the ability to modify the look & feel as well as the function of the store. For my clients, MIVA presents an easy to use administrative interface (Magento, by comparison, is a nightmare) with plenty of functionality.
Read Timothy Schneider's full review
Steven Seale | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2015

Miva Merchant, a solid and affordable platform for e-commerce

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • With Miva Merchant we can go live and to market in hours Vs weeks like some more expensive and complex platforms (such as IBM WebSphere Commerce)
  • Miva Corporation combines their Merchant product with quality business class hosting and around the clock support for a one-stop solution for online retailers. We like that a lot and so do our clients.
Read Steven Seale's full review
Gordon Currie | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2014

Miva Merchant - in it for the long haul

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Running a business in general (and this applies to e-commerce of course) involves not enough time to do too many things. Any place one can automate/streamline/ simplify some of these myriad things, you gain more time to focus on high value activities. We have found that the more we have been able to leverage Miva's capabilities (often with our own tools), the more time we can spend on marketing, sales and product development.
Read Gordon Currie's full review
Eric Karkovack | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 15, 2014

A bit long in the tooth, but still a solid option.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • For the clients I've created a MIVA Merchant site, they have been pretty happy with it. They have been able to use the software to create very successful storefronts.
  • Clients generally have a very good Return on Investment with MIVA. Although the hosting costs are generally more expensive than with some other services, larger sites will make up for that rather quickly.
  • I wouldn't say that MIVA has increased the level customer service for any of my clients. From the front-end user perspective, though, it certainly hasn't caused many support issues in my experience.
Read Eric Karkovack's full review
David Limon | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2014

A Shopping Cart Solution for Online Businesses of Any Size

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Using Miva Merchant I have generated $1,000,000 in online revenue within the first year, twice (at two different companies).
  • The built in SEO Friendly links and ability to import/export Meta Tags allowed me to more easily index well for highly competitive keywords in Google's natural SERP's.
  • Miva's built in payment modules allowed my clients to easily accept all major credit cards, PayPal, and Amazon all at checkout which was a contributing factor to higher conversion rates.
Read David Limon's full review
Jeffrey Collins | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 28, 2014

Miva Merchant - A developer's point of view.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We are primarily a Miva Merchant Module Provider, so this question really does not apply to us in house.
  • Some clients make the switch to Miva Merchant because they are fed up with the limitations of their current software choice.
  • Some clients have switched to Miva Merchant to a lower cost solution. I would say over 90% came back to Miva Merchant because of scaling issues with new choice or usability issues with the new choice. Those clients that did not come back we smaller clients.
Read Jeffrey Collins's full review
Susan Petracco | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 21, 2014

Miva Merchant makes sense for our business

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The open community has helped our sales because we quickly became known as an expert in the area, and customers came to us instead of us having to cold call them.
  • The ability to extend the platform with third-party modules, or even to write custom modules specifically for a particular client, made Miva a perfect choice for almost every site.
Read Susan Petracco's full review
Bill Gilligan | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 20, 2014

Miva Merchant - Superb.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Our company is 7 years old, and we have made the INC 500 list two years in a row. 2012 and 2013. I have to give some credit to Miva Merchant - easy, fast, substantial. The ROI is there - and quickly.
Read Bill Gilligan's full review
Deirdre Daily | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 19, 2014

Gave us the e-commerce site that we so desperately needed

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The site grosses over $1 million in its first year with only 12 core skus. This was seen as a success and well worth the initial investment.
  • Easier CMS than we had been used to managing, without limiting open source code options
Read Deirdre Daily's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 20, 2015

Merchant’s Perspective – Used Miva For Many Years, But Had To Move On

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Ever increasing support costs associated with the platform, despite it lacking features common to all major eCommerce systems
  • Customer experience is significantly lacking compared to other store platforms
  • Most third-party eCommerce service providers don't support Miva or require hefty implementation costs because of Miva's dwindling usage
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 08, 2015

Miva Merchant Review

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It was nice that it kept track of orders from the back end of the site.
  • Better customer service for someone who is just starting to use Miva Merchant. The Miva Merchant code is not easy to understand. Even for a seasoned developer who specializes in html, css, java, and php.
  • Faster Lead Conversion
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 01, 2014

Why We Pick Miva Merchant

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Miva Merchant's platform offers flexibility for everything from template editing to overall configuration.
  • Miva Merchant gave me the ability to build a store for my customers that met all of theirs needs without hiring a team of programmers.
  • Miva Merchant allows me to enter products, upload images (with auto thumbnail), change navigation tab with little or no programming skills.
Read this authenticated review

About Miva

Miva Merchant is a point-and-click online store development and management system that allows merchants to build their online store through a web browser, and lets developers provide aftermarket enhancements for the online store.

Miva offers a CSS template-based system to customize the look and theme of a site and manage the WCMS elements of the site. This solution includes merchandising tools and tools that are designed to optimize the shopping and checkout experience. Additionally, the system comes with rule-based taxes, shipping calculations and live tax estimating tools.
Categories:  eCommerce

Miva Features

Has featureContent Management System
Has featureCatalog Management System
Has featureInventory Management System
Has featureDiscounting and Coupons
Has featureOrder Processing
Has featureOnline Store Reporting
Has featureBusiness to Business Ecommerce
Has featureBusiness to Consumer Ecommerce
Has featureComplex Ecommerce Data Management

Miva Screenshots

Miva Integrations

Mailchimp, Avalara, QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise, QuickBooks Desktop Premier, QuickBooks Desktop Pro, PowerReviews, Authorize.Net, CyberSource, Chase Paymentech, PayPal Express Checkout, PayPal Payments Pro, PayFlow, UPS, FedEx, USPS, Endicia, Canada Post, Shipworks, StoneEdge, 4psite, King Webmaster, FirstData Global Gateway, Intuit Merchant Services, AccurateTax, eBridge Connections

Miva Competitors

Shopify, Volusion, Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento)

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Miva Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
90%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
8%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
2%

Miva Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone

Miva Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:All
Supported Languages: English