MongoDB

MongoDB

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.5 out of 100
MongoDB

Overview

Recent Reviews

No data relations, go MongoDB!

9 out of 10
May 24, 2021
MongoDB is one of the main databases we use for our SaaS product. Its flexibility and ease to develop with allows our development team to …
Continue reading

Stable & Easy to Use

8 out of 10
May 21, 2021
MongoDB was our first NoSQL database usage. For this reason, we assigned it to an application that serves inside our IT infrastructure. As …
Continue reading

No relation, no worry

10 out of 10
May 08, 2021
Used as a database solution for a web application for storing all data needed. That means all user details, application configuration and …
Continue reading

MongoDB is the way to go!

9 out of 10
May 07, 2021
MongoDB is our primary database our application runs on. We use it intensively for our application development and data warehousing. I …
Continue reading

MongoDB: King of NoSQL

10 out of 10
April 19, 2020
So this the non-relational Database that we have internally. The reason for using this is because of the amazing scalability that this …
Continue reading

Fast, easy to use!

8 out of 10
February 26, 2020
MongoDB is currently being used to structure our databases and our primary querying tool. What is convenient about it is that you can …
Continue reading

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 7 features

Availability (35)

9.2
92%

Performance (35)

9.1
91%

Security (35)

8.6
86%

Concurrency (35)

8.1
81%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of MongoDB, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is MongoDB?

MongoDB (from "humongous") is an open source document-oriented database system developed and supported by 10gen. It is part of the NoSQL family of database systems. Instead of storing data in tables as is done in a "classical" relational database, MongoDB stores structured data as JSON-like…

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

4 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is Neo4j?

Neo4j is an open source embeddable graph database developed by Neo Technologies based in San Mateo, California with an office in Sweden.

What is IBM Cloudant?

Cloudant is an open source non-relational, distributed database service that requires zero-configuration. It's based on the Apache-backed CouchDB project and the creator of the open source BigCouch project. Cloudant's service provides integrated data management, search, and analytics engine designed…

Features Scorecard

NoSQL Databases

8.9
89%

Product Details

What is MongoDB?

MongoDB (from "humongous") is an open source document-oriented database system developed and supported by 10gen. It is part of the NoSQL family of database systems. Instead of storing data in tables as is done in a "classical" relational database, MongoDB stores structured data as JSON-like documents with dynamic schemas (MongoDB calls the format BSON), making the integration of data in certain types of applications easier and faster.

According to the vendor, organizations from cutting-edge startups to the largest companies use MongoDB to create applications never before possible at a fraction of the cost of legacy databases. The vendor says MongoDB is the fastest-growing database ecosystem, with over 10 million downloads, thousands of customers, and over 1,000 technology and service partners.

MongoDB Features

  • Supported: Comprehensive monitoring for full-performance visibility
  • Supported: Automated database management for 10-20x more efficient ops
  • Supported: Fully-managed backup for your peace of mind

MongoDB Screenshots

MongoDB Video

MongoDB Integrations

MongoDB Competitors

MongoDB Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is MongoDB's best feature?

Reviewers rate Scalability highest, with a score of 9.6.

Who uses MongoDB?

The most common users of MongoDB are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Computer Software industry.

Reviews

(1-25 of 64)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
January 17, 2022

Oleg's MongoDB review

Oleg Chumin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have [measured] the speed in reading/write operations in high load and finally select the winner = MongoDBWe have [not] too much data but in case there will be 10 [times] more we need Cassandra. Cassandra's storage engine provides constant-time writes no matter how big your data set grows. For analytics, MongoDB provides a custom map/reduce implementation; Cassandra provides native Hadoop support.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This tool is only capable of reading real-time data very smoothly. The transition was also pretty easy and quick. Syntax is also very easy and comfortable to learn and use.

The main reason for selecting is that it works very fast under the Intellijet module environment and we don't need high-configuration systems for processing this type of data. This time for streaming tool I am using it only without looking for any competitors.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Both Couchbase and MongoDB are document-oriented NoSQL databases, so they have very similar features. While they do have some fundamental differences in terms of how they scale, shard, etc. the one key reason why we went with MongoDB is its availability and support from the cloud platform vendor we build and run our applications on.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The flexible structure underlying MongoDB's construction is not found in other competitors; the ability to easily change the structure without affecting other stored documents. It is very ideal for projects that you cannot predict that the structure will change this way. Of course, having a free version is a huge factor.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Implementing new features for application becomes simpler with MongoDB since you don't need to run database migration scripts just to for example add new fields to database only to store some extra data. This is especially good for the deployment phase. Only new version of application package is needed to be deployed.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MongoDB is a robust and scalable db which offers a lot of cool features out of the box. Being open sourced and backed by a great community with developer tools like mongo compass , it was a no-brainer to go for it. It has connectors in almost all programming languages and is a great choice for nosql db
Jose Manuel Ortega | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MongoDB is more of a general purpose nosql database, while Elasticsearch is a search engine oriented nosql solution.
Percona Server for MongoDB is a more suitable solution for the enterprise field.

The choice of MongoDB as the main database is mainly due to the ease of installation and integration with other development languages ​​and frameworks.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I would say Cassandra is better than MongoDB since it has the backing of Facebook to it. Its inherent properties like versioning put it into the other category of columnar databases, but it's one of the NoSQL databases which you should definitely consider for your organization if you are sure to grow to millions and above.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our early development days we weighed NoSQL databases like MongoDB with RDBMS solutions like MySQL. We were more familiar with MySQL from past experience but also were wary of painful data migrations that slowed down development iterations and increased the risk of outages during deployments. We also evaluated raw key-value document stores like DynamicDB, but we found those to be severely limited when compared to the functionality you'd get with an RDBMS. MongoDB provided a nice middle-ground, supporting many of the nice querying and indexing features you'd get from an RDBMS, but with the flexible model convenience of a key-value store.
February 26, 2020

Fast, easy to use!

Duncan Hernandez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Snowflake and Redshift are much more mature and have been around longer. MongoDB is definitely much less expensive and if you are in a startup, this is an almost for-sure option. Redshift can be slow and Mongo is much faster. However, losing the relational database aspect could be unappealing to the more senior SQL developers on your team.
Thuvaragan Amarasingam | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's very fast and easiest to use. Many companies are using this nowadays. It's helped to complete many software products very quickly so the year income has increased compared with last years. Many programmers are now leaning this tool as back end developers so that we changed to this tool for future works.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We selected MongoDB because of the following
  • Ease of deployment
  • Use and provisioning on their cloud
  • Simple learning path for creating and building an app without much fuss about syntaxes
  • Beautiful graphical interface for quick setup
  • Cost to use and implement is very beneficial for small and midsize projects
  • On-demand scalability and performance improvement
  • Good support model and functionalities
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MongoDB is our go-to database solution for any project, and the more we work with it the more we love it. Some say that NoSQL is pointless... Our developers wholeheartedly disagree, because they love working with it. Though both NoSQL and SQL have their purposes, in most projects the choice comes down to what the developers prefer, and in our case that's NoSQL. Just be aware of when SQL is the right choice for your use case.
Sagiv Frankel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Your default choice should not be MongoDB in my opinion. Most user-facing systems are relational by nature so a well known and reliable SQL database would be easier to maintain and simpler to develop long term. If you highly value speed of development go with Firebase. If you have a big data type of scenario, Casandra or Elastic-search are probably a better suite. You should not use MongoDB if you don't have someone proficient at it, as you are far more likely to shoot yourself in the foot compared to other solutions.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It does not belong to certain cloud platforms. MongoDB is an independent program that works with any cloud platform including Amazon Web Services and the Google Cloud Platform. For companies who want to maintain a cloud agnostic structure, MongoDB is a great choice for NoSQL databases. You can simply combine MongoDB with either of the cloud platforms to make your own clusters.
Rounak Jangir | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MongoDB and Cassandra are both database system from the NoSQL family. MongoDB can be used in lots of use cases while Cassandra has a specific usage. There are some features that MongoDB provides efficiently while Cassandra doesn't and vice-versa. Like, you can update the data in Cassandra at a very high rate with good performance, but performance will have a dip if you do the same on MongoDB.
February 23, 2019

MongoDB Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We tend to choose MongoDB when we're faced with a particular situation: we know that we need a NoSQL database in general, and want an open-source implementation that allows us to prevent against platform lock-in. Amazon's new DocumentDB product even allows us to choose to use MongoDB's tooling and community, even in cases where we are not explicitly implementing MongoDB!
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In the beginning, we considered several products in the market. Since our project was a science and research project, our budget wasn't as big as a commercial project, but still, we wanted the product to be scalable so that we could deal with "smooth transition" from research to commercialization. At the end of the discussion, we choose MongoDB rather than other products like Cassandra, simply because we could hire good developers who had expertise in MongoDB. Our management left that decision to developers and let them choose since they knew what's good for them.
Gabriel Samaroo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MongoDB is the best NoSQL database out there. There are others, but Mongo has the largest community, is very easy to set up, and is extremely performant. Compared to a relational DB (like MySQL or Postgres) is like comparing apples and oranges. One isn't better or worse than the other. It more depends on the particular data you are working with and what you need to do with that data. That will determine which option to go with.