MongoDB Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
311 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 58)

Eric Mason | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2020

MongoDB, a flexible/reliable DB that will draw you to the NoSQL world.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

In our early development days we weighed NoSQL databases like MongoDB with RDBMS solutions like MySQL. We were more familiar with MySQL from past experience but also were wary of painful data migrations that slowed down development iterations and increased the risk of outages during deployments. We also evaluated raw key-value document stores like DynamicDB, but we found those to be severely limited when compared to the functionality you'd get with an RDBMS. MongoDB provided a nice middle-ground, supporting many of the nice querying and indexing features you'd get from an RDBMS, but with the flexible model convenience of a key-value store.
Read Eric Mason's full review
Duncan Hernandez | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

Fast, easy to use!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Snowflake and Redshift are much more mature and have been around longer. MongoDB is definitely much less expensive and if you are in a startup, this is an almost for-sure option. Redshift can be slow and Mongo is much faster. However, losing the relational database aspect could be unappealing to the more senior SQL developers on your team.
Read Duncan Hernandez's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 19, 2020

MongoDB: King of NoSQL

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I would say Cassandra is better than MongoDB since it has the backing of Facebook to it. Its inherent properties like versioning put it into the other category of columnar databases, but it's one of the NoSQL databases which you should definitely consider for your organization if you are sure to grow to millions and above.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

Excellent document-based NoSQL database

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

They both could potentially be feasible solutions for us, but in the end, we chose MongoDB because:
  • Relationship and transaction support are not high priorities
  • Better support from our cloud platform vendor
  • Much more scalable, both horizontally and vertically
  • Easier to work with for our developers
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 02, 2020

Want to gain insights from unstructured data? This is the tool that everyone should use.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

This tool is only capable of reading real-time data very smoothly. The transition was also pretty easy and quick. Syntax is also very easy and comfortable to learn and use.

The main reason for selecting is that it works very fast under the Intellijet module environment and we don't need high-configuration systems for processing this type of data.
Read this authenticated review
Gene Baker | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2019

MongoDB is the best NoSQL DB

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I just felt MongoDB was easier to use and more cost-effective. Aggregation pipelines are great.
Read Gene Baker's full review
Thuvaragan Amarasingam | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 14, 2019

Review for MongoDB software

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

It's very fast and easiest to use. Many companies are using this nowadays. It's helped to complete many software products very quickly so the year income has increased compared with last years. Many programmers are now leaning this tool as back end developers so that we changed to this tool for future works.
Read Thuvaragan Amarasingam's full review
Sagiv Frankel | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 14, 2019

MongoDB: easy to use, easy to shot yourself in the foot

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Your default choice should not be MongoDB in my opinion. Most user-facing systems are relational by nature so a well known and reliable SQL database would be easier to maintain and simpler to develop long term. If you highly value speed of development go with Firebase. If you have a big data type of scenario, Casandra or Elastic-search are probably a better suite. You should not use MongoDB if you don't have someone proficient at it, as you are far more likely to shoot yourself in the foot compared to other solutions.
Read Sagiv Frankel's full review
Rounak Jangir | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2019

One of the best NoSQL family databases

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

MongoDB and Cassandra are both database system from the NoSQL family. MongoDB can be used in lots of use cases while Cassandra has a specific usage. There are some features that MongoDB provides efficiently while Cassandra doesn't and vice-versa. Like, you can update the data in Cassandra at a very high rate with good performance, but performance will have a dip if you do the same on MongoDB.
Read Rounak Jangir's full review
Gabriel Samaroo | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 22, 2019

MongoDB - Best NoSQL Database to Store Unstructured Data

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

MongoDB is the best NoSQL database out there. There are others, but Mongo has the largest community, is very easy to set up, and is extremely performant. Compared to a relational DB (like MySQL or Postgres) is like comparing apples and oranges. One isn't better or worse than the other. It more depends on the particular data you are working with and what you need to do with that data. That will determine which option to go with.
Read Gabriel Samaroo's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 20, 2019

MongoDB - Best DocumentDB out there !

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We selected MongoDB because of the following
  • Ease of deployment
  • Use and provisioning on their cloud
  • Simple learning path for creating and building an app without much fuss about syntaxes
  • Beautiful graphical interface for quick setup
  • Cost to use and implement is very beneficial for small and midsize projects
  • On-demand scalability and performance improvement
  • Good support model and functionalities
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 09, 2019

Moved to Mongo and never looked back!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

MongoDB is our go-to database solution for any project, and the more we work with it the more we love it. Some say that NoSQL is pointless... Our developers wholeheartedly disagree, because they love working with it. Though both NoSQL and SQL have their purposes, in most projects the choice comes down to what the developers prefer, and in our case that's NoSQL. Just be aware of when SQL is the right choice for your use case.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 06, 2019

One of the best NoSQL databases you can get

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

It does not belong to certain cloud platforms. MongoDB is an independent program that works with any cloud platform including Amazon Web Services and the Google Cloud Platform. For companies who want to maintain a cloud agnostic structure, MongoDB is a great choice for NoSQL databases. You can simply combine MongoDB with either of the cloud platforms to make your own clusters.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 23, 2019

MongoDB Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We tend to choose MongoDB when we're faced with a particular situation: we know that we need a NoSQL database in general, and want an open-source implementation that allows us to prevent against platform lock-in. Amazon's new DocumentDB product even allows us to choose to use MongoDB's tooling and community, even in cases where we are not explicitly implementing MongoDB!
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 23, 2019

MongoDB is a safe choice for genomics research project

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

In the beginning, we considered several products in the market. Since our project was a science and research project, our budget wasn't as big as a commercial project, but still, we wanted the product to be scalable so that we could deal with "smooth transition" from research to commercialization. At the end of the discussion, we choose MongoDB rather than other products like Cassandra, simply because we could hire good developers who had expertise in MongoDB. Our management left that decision to developers and let them choose since they knew what's good for them.
Read this authenticated review
Ronald Melendez | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 19, 2018

MongoDB, noSQL, noRelational, noProblem

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

MongoDB is probably the most famous NoSQL database of the moment. it has become one of the most promising startups. Some companies that currently use MongoDB are Foursquare or eBay. This type of database is designed to perform queries and aggregations on large amounts of data. They work in a similar way to relational databases, but storing columns of data instead of records.
Read Ronald Melendez's full review
Bill Hefty | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 22, 2018

MongoDB: Easy and powerful

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

MongoDB seemed to be a bit more robust in schema models at the time of choosing it over Firebase. Firebase was also still in beta at the time. Since then I have used both MongoDB and Firebase Real-time Database, and feel that firebase is easier to get running and started, but I still prefer some of the data structures and querying of MongoDB.
Read Bill Hefty's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2018

If you want to build a data lake, consider this!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I love MySQL, but again, it's a totally different use-case. For something with so much varied data in no particular form or structure that needs to be pooled together in a "data lake," a NoSQL solution like MongoDB is an easy choice. It makes it so much easier not having to deal with constraints you would be responsible for defining otherwise.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Performance (29)
9.1
Availability (29)
8.9
Concurrency (29)
8.5
Security (29)
8.2
Scalability (29)
9.1
Data model flexibility (29)
9.2
Deployment model flexibility (29)
9.0

About MongoDB

MongoDB (from "humongous") is an open source document-oriented database system developed and supported by 10gen. It is part of the NoSQL family of database systems. Instead of storing data in tables as is done in a "classical" relational database, MongoDB stores structured data as JSON-like documents with dynamic schemas (MongoDB calls the format BSON), making the integration of data in certain types of applications easier and faster.

According to the vendor, organizations from cutting-edge startups to the largest companies use MongoDB to create applications never before possible at a fraction of the cost of legacy databases. The vendor says MongoDB is the fastest-growing database ecosystem, with over 10 million downloads, thousands of customers, and over 1,000 technology and service partners.

MongoDB Features

Has featureComprehensive monitoring for full-performance visibility
Has featureAutomated database management for 10-20x more efficient ops
Has featureFully-managed backup for your peace of mind

MongoDB Screenshots

MongoDB Integrations

MongoDB Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

MongoDB Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No