MongoDB Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
310 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 68)

Balázs Kiss | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 04, 2020

MongoDB by a front-end guy

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
As a front-end-focused full-stack developer, MongoDB enables me to shift my work to the front end, instead of focusing on complex mapping for relational databases. I will always prefer this solution for development, and in those cases where it's sufficient, in production as well.
Read Balázs Kiss's full review
Eric Mason | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2020

MongoDB, a flexible/reliable DB that will draw you to the NoSQL world.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
We're likely to continue using MongoDB for several reasons. On one hand, we've invested heavily in this database and it would be a painful costly process to translate our complex set of models to an alternative. On the other hand, we continue to be happy with MongoDB for its reliability and the pace at which this tool has evolved. We have confidence in MongoDB's ability to evolve and improve going forward.
Read Eric Mason's full review
Russell Gomez | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

MongoDB, powerful flexible and arduous all in one

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
Once you go the no-SQL route it is very difficult to undo that route. There are other options in the industry that we may consider also including Amazon Dynamo DB. We have considered converting our no-SQL schema to a traditional RDBMS-based email but have found the halfway from here to there very arduous and perhaps not having an ROI that we expected.
Read Russell Gomez's full review
Duncan Hernandez | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

Fast, easy to use!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
This is still a new product, but I believe there is so much potential here. The interface is good and the technical support isn't all quite there yet, but in a few years, this will be a mature product and will be a real contender in the database market. It uses Nosql language, which is easy to learn, and that's a huge plus when using a new product.
Read Duncan Hernandez's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

Excellent document-based NoSQL database

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
As long as MongoDB meets the requirements of our projects, we would continue to use it. MongoDB has also been making staggering improvements, e.g., it now has some transaction support starting version 4.0, so there will be more reasons for us to consider using it in the future.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 02, 2020

Want to gain insights from unstructured data? This is the tool that everyone should use.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
This is pretty cost-effective and with a single license multiple users can log in to it.

If any latest version is launched then the upgrade happens automatically without hampering the API's connections with the other tools.

Their tech support is also very good and they resolve any technical issues very smoothly.
Read this authenticated review
Gene Baker | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2019

MongoDB is the best NoSQL DB

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
Right now we are using the community edition of MongoDB but if we deploy to production we will certainly go with the enterprise edition.
Read Gene Baker's full review
Thuvaragan Amarasingam | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 14, 2019

Review for MongoDB software

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
It is one of my favorite database tool compared with others. So that I will give nine stars. We can use it in many places. for example, mobile apps, IoT devices, big data. In rapid application development, It's a very good back end tool. And also a very secure and safe tool for software development.
Read Thuvaragan Amarasingam's full review
Rounak Jangir | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2019

One of the best NoSQL family databases

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
I think it is the best NoSQL family database with lots of amazing features available. Shifting to the new database will need consideration of a few things like learning, scalability, availability of the data etc. As I don't see any other database that will serve my purpose better than MongoDB, I should keep using this only.
Read Rounak Jangir's full review
Gabriel Samaroo | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 22, 2019

MongoDB - Best NoSQL Database to Store Unstructured Data

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
Mongo doesn't cost us much to use, so we have no reason to assess the cost. In terms of functionality, it gives us exactly what we want in terms of easily storing and accessing large amounts of unstructured data. We plan to increase our usage of Mongo because it has proven to be very effective and performant.
Read Gabriel Samaroo's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 20, 2019

MongoDB - Best DocumentDB out there !

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

8
  • Been quite happy with the product overall and has helped us run our apps efficiently.
  • Our expenses have been predictable.
  • Their support is good as well
  • Higher security for the price we pay
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 09, 2019

Moved to Mongo and never looked back!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
We grow to love MongoDB more and more every day. We've been able to scale effectively, we've learned it well enough to avoid any pitfalls, and ultimately it just works! We will continue to use MongoDB for our current projects as well as new projects going forward. While we, of course, have use cases where SQL or other database types are necessary, MongoDB is the backbone of all of our projects.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 06, 2019

One of the best NoSQL databases you can get

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
From a DevOps engineer's view, MongoDB is easy to set up. That is one thing I like about MongoDB. The cluster is also easy to configure. I did not encounter many troubles in the process. MongoDB also has a wonderful management tool called Ops Manager. It is a standby server that monitors the whole MongoDB cluster. You can get all the information you need about your cluster from Ops Manager. It is a very useful tool.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 23, 2019

MongoDB Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

6
We are less likely to continue using MongoDB under the hood of our applications with Amazon's announcement of DocumentDB, though MongoDB's Atlas platform is another good choice for deploying existing MongoDB applications. For situations that it is well suited for, we'll continue to use Mongo, especially for the availability of its third-party ecosystem applications like Mongoose.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 23, 2019

MongoDB is a safe choice for genomics research project

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

8
There is no "very strong" reason why we will renew it. Our project is a big data project, for which we used MongoDB to load and store genomics sequencing data in it. Once it sets up, it is hard to move to another place, unless there is a serious problem in the system or strong motivation to move. MongoDB is a well developed and already qualified product in the market and quite a safe choice. We will move forward in using it as our project scales up.
Read this authenticated review
Ronald Melendez | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 19, 2018

MongoDB, noSQL, noRelational, noProblem

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
MongoDB is one of the most famous non-relational databases in the world, there are famous active projects that use this database. I think that the same company that develops the database gives you the online induction totally free is something that really is very positive. Accounts with a first-class support to be able to relate the correct implementation of the database, in addition to teaching you the best practices to optimize your projects, I believe that with this decision it is more than obvious which is the best decision at the time of seeing with which database to work.
Read Ronald Melendez's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Performance (29)
9.1
Availability (29)
8.9
Concurrency (29)
8.5
Security (29)
8.2
Scalability (29)
9.1
Data model flexibility (29)
9.2
Deployment model flexibility (29)
9.0

About MongoDB

MongoDB (from "humongous") is an open source document-oriented database system developed and supported by 10gen. It is part of the NoSQL family of database systems. Instead of storing data in tables as is done in a "classical" relational database, MongoDB stores structured data as JSON-like documents with dynamic schemas (MongoDB calls the format BSON), making the integration of data in certain types of applications easier and faster.

According to the vendor, organizations from cutting-edge startups to the largest companies use MongoDB to create applications never before possible at a fraction of the cost of legacy databases. The vendor says MongoDB is the fastest-growing database ecosystem, with over 10 million downloads, thousands of customers, and over 1,000 technology and service partners.

MongoDB Features

Has featureComprehensive monitoring for full-performance visibility
Has featureAutomated database management for 10-20x more efficient ops
Has featureFully-managed backup for your peace of mind

MongoDB Screenshots

MongoDB Integrations

MongoDB Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

MongoDB Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No