MongoDB Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
311 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 69)

Balázs Kiss | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 04, 2020

MongoDB by a front-end guy

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

MongoDB serves as a local dev database and as a production database for some of our microservice solutions. We use it for front-end-heavy projects and storing document based data, where original RDBMS solution would be overkill.
Read Balázs Kiss's full review
Eric Mason | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2020

MongoDB, a flexible/reliable DB that will draw you to the NoSQL world.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use MongoDB at the heart of our application where speed and consistency are critical. It's used primarily by the engineering backend team and vicariously by other teams using parts of the product. It gives us the means to quickly iterate our data models with fewer painful migrations than we'd have with a traditional RDBMS and its JSON-like BSON object modeling maps nicely to our APIs.
Read Eric Mason's full review
Gregory Pecqueur | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

MongoDB, The ideal database for your projects in full JavaScript

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use MongoDB as a database for all web and mobile applications developed for our customers. It fully meets our needs. Reliable, handy, and robust, the support is of high quality. The installation on our servers is very easy. Its management and maintenance are easy and fast. MongoDB gives us satisfaction, and our customers are happy.
Read Gregory Pecqueur's full review
Duncan Hernandez | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

Fast, easy to use!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

MongoDB is currently being used to structure our databases and our primary querying tool. What is convenient about it is that you can change tables without writing lots of code. All data is stored in javascript, which is what all of our programmers use, so the gap between data analysis and our developers is lessened.
Read Duncan Hernandez's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 19, 2020

MongoDB: King of NoSQL

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

So this the non-relational Database that we have internally. The reason for using this is because of the amazing scalability that this database provides and the JSON file format in which it tends to store the data that is present within it. Its opensource and that is the reason we have been using it internally to store the git hashes of the manifest since there are millions of them getting generated every month and we need a method to scale to that extent.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

Excellent document-based NoSQL database

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use MongoDB as our primary backend data store solution for our products. We decided to use NoSQL for our project, and MongoDB's document-oriented approach fits our needs and data model very well. It is well supported by many cloud vendors and has been a pleasure to work with for our developers.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

MongoDB, for big unstructured data, it just works.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our Denver Development team is using MongoDB in an application they wrote, and it's collecting big data associated with the application's users. A SQL Server was formerly capturing this type of data and that's not a great platform for big data. They set it up, configured it, and got it working, all I have to do is the administration work required by SOX.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 02, 2020

Want to gain insights from unstructured data? This is the tool that everyone should use.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

This tool has been used project-wise for the projects in which real-time data is used for analysis. We use this tool for fetching the comments on the products on social media to understand the sentiments of the end-user. The data is real-time and unstructured so we use this tool to make our work easy.
Read this authenticated review
Gene Baker | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2019

MongoDB is the best NoSQL DB

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Using MongoDB as a potential solution for NoSQL data storage and quick application prototyping. It is an enterprise approved NoSQL solution. My investigation into the product and use of it is for innovation type activities.
Read Gene Baker's full review
Chi Anh La | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 26, 2019

MongoDB: Scalable NoSQL Database

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I am using MongoDB as our database back-end system. It's an efficient NoSQL for scalability. The support is good and new features were added in every release. Documentation is helpful and complete for many use cases.
Read Chi Anh La's full review
Thuvaragan Amarasingam | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 14, 2019

Review for MongoDB software

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I am using it for my software development back-end system. All of my programmers also use this for the same reason. Its's very latest and efficient platform for developing applications. We can easily learn it from its official website and understand quickly. very easy query languages are available on this system. So we can access this.
Read Thuvaragan Amarasingam's full review
Sagiv Frankel | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 14, 2019

MongoDB: easy to use, easy to shot yourself in the foot

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

MongoDB was our main data store used primarily by a web application managing classical relational entities as well as some big data and analytics collection data. Even though no one on the team had much DB experience MongoDB was easy to use and integrate. However, we faced many pitfalls along the way and the end result was far from optimal.
Read Sagiv Frankel's full review
Rounak Jangir | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2019

One of the best NoSQL family databases

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using this database to store the raw JSON data as documents. We are using this to store the user's activity as a row in JSON so that we can later process that data. This tool is not being used by everyone in the company, but only a few of us.
Read Rounak Jangir's full review
Gabriel Samaroo | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 22, 2019

MongoDB - Best NoSQL Database to Store Unstructured Data

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The Engineering team uses MongoDB as our NoSQL database technology. While we do use a relational database (MySQL) as the primary data warehouse solution, we use Mongo for specific data sources that are very unstructured. The effectiveness of Mongo on schema-less data makes it a great tool for us because accomplishing the same things we do in Mongo in MySQL would take longer and be far less performant.
Read Gabriel Samaroo's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 20, 2019

MongoDB - Best DocumentDB out there !

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use MongoDB in one of our major user facing applications designed to showcase the results and analysis of students' assessments. This portal is very complex and contains various views of similar data across different dimensions. MongoDB is used as the underlying DB to help us store and retrieve the myriad data ingested via different sources for our B2B reporting. It addresses one of the major issues of non-relational, async, hierarchical data structure of our streaming data source.

We also use it for few of our other business facing apps as well. They are all independent custom built apps using different front-end technologies.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 09, 2019

Moved to Mongo and never looked back!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

At my previous company, we had a mix of SQL and NoSQL databases powering our web platform. When building my new company, we made the decision early to go with a primarily NoSQL database solution. MongoDB powers our web platform, internal tools, and anything else we create. Working with MongoDB is painless and our developers love it - particularly Javascript developers, of which we have many, as we use a lot of Node.js. MongoDB makes development easy and production reliable.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 06, 2019

One of the best NoSQL databases you can get

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

MongoDB is a solution for our company's NoSQL database. It is currently used by a few departments in our company. Our company needs to store millions of records and needs them to be written and read fairly quickly and MongoDB came into our sight as we looked for solutions. So far we have deployed one cluster and it processes millions of records every day.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2019

MongoDB is best tool for NoSQL type based database

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Mongo DB is an incredible storage software with a huge database designed for Powerful, easy and intuitive documents. We are using Mongo DB in our team for the Messaging system. Being the Messaging system, it has to find subscribers and send them messages fast. The best thing is to have software that allows you a better development in your area of work. Mongo DB offers the best tool to carry out all our goals.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 23, 2019

MongoDB Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

MongoDB is a NoSQL backend storage database that we use extensively for modeling non-relational data. NoSQL databases tend to shine when defined schemas do not well suit a data set — perhaps the dataset is highly variable in the data that it holds from one entity to another, or perhaps the data's structure is simply not well understood. NoSQL and MongoDB are great for this situation.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 23, 2019

MongoDB is a safe choice for genomics research project

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

My company is a non-profit healthcare delivery institute, and has been conducting a number of data science/advanced analytics projects collaboratively with other healthcare and research organizations. We had an experience with using MongoDB for a recent big data project with a university that stores genomic sequencing data in a non-SQL database, and developed a web-based visualization tool presenting phenotype patterns based on the data.
Read this authenticated review
Ronald Melendez | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 19, 2018

MongoDB, noSQL, noRelational, noProblem

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have been able to take advantage of this tool since being a non-relational database, it is much easier to build the model of the architecture of the database model. This makes the development time much easier. When working with javascript language, or working with JSON objects and collections, MongoDB makes the connection of services for queries much lighter and optimizes the performance of the applications. Also, you can work, in case you do not know the console commands, with a Desktop database administrator in a graphical way. The learning times really are much faster, which allows a great scalability of the project. In the development department, this optimizes the delivery time with the clients, which makes the projects much more feasible in terms of delivery times.
Read Ronald Melendez's full review
Bill Hefty | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 22, 2018

MongoDB: Easy and powerful

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I have used MongoDB as the database of choice for a NoSQL implementation for various apps. Implantation with Node.JS and Express is very seamless and easy, particularly when using Mongoose. Dealing with a document based solution for a database makes it pretty easy to use in a full stack Javascript app without needing to flip mindsets.
Read Bill Hefty's full review
Miguelangel Nuñez | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 14, 2018

An excellent option to save your data.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use MongoDB in the company's software development department to storage a large set of data for a meteorological forecast application. The data were provided by a third party service and refreshed every 5 minutes. Mongo was chosen to manage all the data. It's also used for a service of dynamic forms developed in the company.
Read Miguelangel Nuñez's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Performance (29)
9.1
Availability (29)
8.9
Concurrency (29)
8.5
Security (29)
8.2
Scalability (29)
9.1
Data model flexibility (29)
9.2
Deployment model flexibility (29)
9.0

About MongoDB

MongoDB (from "humongous") is an open source document-oriented database system developed and supported by 10gen. It is part of the NoSQL family of database systems. Instead of storing data in tables as is done in a "classical" relational database, MongoDB stores structured data as JSON-like documents with dynamic schemas (MongoDB calls the format BSON), making the integration of data in certain types of applications easier and faster.

According to the vendor, organizations from cutting-edge startups to the largest companies use MongoDB to create applications never before possible at a fraction of the cost of legacy databases. The vendor says MongoDB is the fastest-growing database ecosystem, with over 10 million downloads, thousands of customers, and over 1,000 technology and service partners.

MongoDB Features

Has featureComprehensive monitoring for full-performance visibility
Has featureAutomated database management for 10-20x more efficient ops
Has featureFully-managed backup for your peace of mind

MongoDB Screenshots

MongoDB Integrations

MongoDB Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

MongoDB Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No