Moodle

Moodle

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.2 out of 100
Moodle

Overview

Recent Reviews

Learning with Moodle

8 out of 10
February 12, 2020
We utilize Moodle as a way to deliver professional development for staff and faculty. We are able to participate in PD with colleagues …
Continue reading

You get what you pay for

5 out of 10
January 24, 2020
Moodle is what it is. It's cost-effective and it gets the job done. You are not getting a Cadilac when you get Moodle and can find a lot …
Continue reading

Moodle to save the day

9 out of 10
September 13, 2019
Moodle was used with our students to provide a platform where they could track their upcoming assignments as well as complete and upload …
Continue reading

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 11 features

Assignments (23)

8.6
86%

Learning administration (21)

8.3
83%

Progress tracking & certifications (22)

7.5
75%

Course catalog or library (20)

7.3
73%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Moodle, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Starter

$110

On Premise
per year

Mini

$200

On Premise
per year

Small

$370

On Premise
per year

Entry-level set up fee?

  • Setup fee optional
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://moodle.com/pricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Starting price (does not include set up fee)

  • $10 per month

Features Scorecard

Learning Management

7.7
77%

Product Details

What is Moodle?

Moodle LMS is an open source learning management system that can be customised for any teaching requirements. No matter the size or type of learning required, use the plugins and integrations to make it 100 % adapted to your needs. Improve your teaching and student outcomes with a feature-rich e-learning platform that saves time and provides more active learning experiences for your students.

Moodle is the open source learning management system with security and privacy features used by hundreds of millions of learners worldwide. Designed in collaboration with Moodle’s global community, Moodle LMS is designed to enable educators in any sector to create flexible, safe, accessible and highly engaging online spaces for their learners.

Moodle Features

Learning Management Features

  • Supported: Course authoring
  • Supported: Course catalog or library
  • Supported: Player/Portal
  • Supported: Learning content
  • Supported: Mobile friendly
  • Supported: Progress tracking & certifications
  • Supported: Assignments
  • Supported: Compliance management
  • Supported: Learning administration
  • Supported: Learning reporting & analytics
  • Supported: eLearning
  • Supported: Assessments
  • Supported: Live online learning
  • Supported: In-person learning
  • Supported: Micro-learning
  • Supported: Video learning
  • Supported: eCommerce
  • Supported: AICC-compliant
  • Supported: SCORM-compliant
  • Supported: Tin Can (xAPI) compliant
  • Supported: Social learning

Moodle Screenshots

Teacher ViewStudent DashboardInside a courseCompetenciesAdd a Quiz

Moodle Videos

What is Moodle LMS?
What's new in Moodle 3.11?

Moodle Integrations

Moodle Competitors

Moodle Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, SaaS
Operating SystemsWindows, Linux, Mac
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web
Supported Countriesworldwide
Supported LanguagesAll languages

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Moodle?

Moodle is an open source Learning Management System used by educational institutions. The product is administered by the Moodle Project which is led by Moodle HQ in Australia.

How much does Moodle cost?

Moodle starts at $10.

What is Moodle's best feature?

Reviewers rate Learning content highest, with a score of 9.5.

Who uses Moodle?

The most common users of Moodle are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees) and the Higher Education industry.

Reviews

(1-25 of 52)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Joe Foran | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Moodle, being open source, is the foundation a lot of other tools like it are based on. It provides almost all of the same functionality and feature set as Google Classtoom, Canvas, etc., although those products are a bit more polished. All can do content delivery, progress tracking, attendance, reporting, etc. with ease, but Moodle also does this as a completely open source product that can be code-reviewed, audited, modified, extended, etc. at will, provided the expertise is present.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We didn't really entertain the idea of Canvas for long since the Open Source version didn't have nearly the reference and support material that Moodle did for guiding a successful setup. We did consider adding the assessment and outcomes module from our existing Learning Management System (Blackboard) to our package but the steep cost and inability to customize ended up steering right to Moodle.
Philip Mojares | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For me, Moodle is more user-friendly because it has simpler graphical user interface and it provides the functionalities that my students and I enjoyed using. Moodle is more interactive as well and it provides efficiency in uploading, downloading, restoring and backing up files. The quizzes and tests creation can also easily be done and conducted.
February 12, 2020

Learning with Moodle

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Canvas
The user dashboard in Canvas is a little more appealing to look at. Moodle is a little more straight to the point in course presentation, which for me as an educator, doesn't bother me. I think if it were being geared towards use with students in high schools or middle schools, they may not like the looks of it.
January 24, 2020

You get what you pay for

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Really all of the low-cost LMS offerings are about the same. You are getting what you pay for. You can spend a little money and a lot of time customizing it to meet your brand and your need or you can buy a higher-end LMS that already does a lot of what you need.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Overall, Blackboard was a clunky, unintuitive system that provided the bare minimum for offering online learning modules/educational courses. Users would complain that it was difficult to use and often couldn't find materials relevant to them in terms of finding courses, grades or progress of their work. If Blackboard had a mobile offering - I'm not sure it did - it was nothing to speak of.
January 24, 2020

Moodle for the win!

Josh Musson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is hard to compare them with each other as they are so different. They really can't compare as they are two completely different platforms. But Moodle is great in all aspects, I like Slack for communication as well. But when it comes to tasks, Moodle handles it better than anyone else. I love that it is open for input.
September 13, 2019

Moodle to save the day

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Being completely free, Moodle comes out on top for any situation where the school is small or the budget it tight. Most of these other tools have paid services where there are professionals to assist with set-up or problem-solving. However, there is tons of information online to help one troubleshoot Moodle, so if one has the time and ability then Moodle is an easy choice. Moodle also gives teachers far more freedom in choosing what types of assignments they want to create for their students.
Christopher Power | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Edmodo provides a simple platform but does not provide the depth of assignments that Moodle does. Moodle provides more assignment types, grading, deadlines, and shifting of assignments from one week to the next. Moodle is significantly more advanced in terms of what it can do for high school and college level students and educators. Customizing the platform also gives teachers a greater ability to customize courses, calendars, and location of content.
Andrea Samadi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
When setting up our LMS in 2014, we started with a product called LearnDash that was not designed for the school market. When we moved to Moodle, we looked at Edmodo and went with Moodle for the cost to launch and get our courses up and running. We are a smaller company were looking for a cost effective solution that still had the functions we knew our customers wanted and needed. Moodle was the most established LMS for the school market and we are thankful to have started with this choice and stayed with them as each year it continues to improve.
Justin Roodman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Moodle has a lot of features and it's been around a long time. While it's not always the most intuitive or user friendly platform in terms of set up and maintenance, you can't beat the functionality for the price. Money talks and Moodle is free. The platform is robust enough to serve our needs, and we've managed to do custom integrations which created a unique SaaS product.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Canvas
Moodle doesn't compare well with Canvas. We chose Moodle because it was a cheaper option that met our basic needs; however, it isn't as clean, intuitive, or developed as other notable Learning Management Systems, especially Canvas. If your institution offers fully online courses, I would go with a more advanced LMS that offers more up-to-date integrations for outside content.
September 16, 2016

Former Moodle user

Timothy Wenson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We originally selected Moodle because we thought Blackboard was going to price us out of the market. Because Moodle was open source we thought the cost savings over time would be substantial. Unfortunately we did not keep Moodle on campus so it ended up being a mistake and didn't save us any costs.
Kevin David Swagler II | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Moodle met almost all of our needs, except two: eCommerce and multiple portals. For this, we used a Moodle overlay called Totara. As it was built on Moodle, we got to keep all of our current classes, the administration was the same, and our server needs remained unchanged. Totara offered the features we were missing at extremely low prices ($5000/yr for 5000 users).

Cornerstone and Blackboard offer very little customization as they are marketed as a ready-made, vendor managed solution.

Sharepoint LMS and LMS 365 did not offer near the amount of customization and freedom of Moodle and were extremely expensive considering the lack of features out of the box. In order to get the same experience in either system as we had with Moodle, we were looking at over $25000 worth of customizations and an incredible amount of downtime.