Moodle Reviews

175 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 53)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
September 24, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Moodle is well-suited for all types of industries, including Education, Retail, Manufacturing, Insurance, Media, etc. It offers a wide range of Learning features, including Social & Micro-Learning, Web-based & Instructor-Led training. Cohorts Management, Assessment Management - accommodates more than 12 types of question types, advanced features plug-ins such as Analytics and Reporting, Social Collaboration, Community Management, responsive themes integration, mobile learning, etc. Since this is an open-source application, it takes the cost advantage, and the client has to invest only for implementation and maintenance. Hence Moodle is preferred than any other good corporate LMS application.
Read this authenticated review
May 20, 2020
Philip Mojares | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

For me, Moodle is more user-friendly because it has simpler graphical user interface and it provides the functionalities that my students and I enjoyed using. Moodle is more interactive as well and it provides efficiency in uploading, downloading, restoring and backing up files. The quizzes and tests creation can also easily be done and conducted.
Read Philip Mojares's full review
January 23, 2020
Jake Tully | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Overall, Blackboard was a clunky, unintuitive system that provided the bare minimum for offering online learning modules/educational courses. Users would complain that it was difficult to use and often couldn't find materials relevant to them in terms of finding courses, grades or progress of their work. If Blackboard had a mobile offering - I'm not sure it did - it was nothing to speak of.
Read Jake Tully's full review
January 23, 2020
Josh Musson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

It is hard to compare them with each other as they are so different. They really can't compare as they are two completely different platforms. But Moodle is great in all aspects, I like Slack for communication as well. But when it comes to tasks, Moodle handles it better than anyone else. I love that it is open for input.
Read Josh Musson's full review
February 12, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Canvas
The user dashboard in Canvas is a little more appealing to look at. Moodle is a little more straight to the point in course presentation, which for me as an educator, doesn't bother me. I think if it were being geared towards use with students in high schools or middle schools, they may not like the looks of it.
Read this authenticated review
January 24, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Really all of the low-cost LMS offerings are about the same. You are getting what you pay for. You can spend a little money and a lot of time customizing it to meet your brand and your need or you can buy a higher-end LMS that already does a lot of what you need.
Read this authenticated review
September 13, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Being completely free, Moodle comes out on top for any situation where the school is small or the budget it tight. Most of these other tools have paid services where there are professionals to assist with set-up or problem-solving. However, there is tons of information online to help one troubleshoot Moodle, so if one has the time and ability then Moodle is an easy choice. Moodle also gives teachers far more freedom in choosing what types of assignments they want to create for their students.
Read this authenticated review
January 24, 2019
Kyle Moninger | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Blackboard was the Learning Management System we moved away from. It was becoming outdated and most of the faculty were not using it. We wanted a fresh, new, uniform system to structure our classes on. Canvas and Moodle are very similar; except that Moodle is more user-friendly but the tradeoff is that it has fewer settings and options. Canvas has a higher learning curve but comes with more advanced options once the user is accustomed to it.
Read Kyle Moninger's full review
January 23, 2019
Christopher Power | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Edmodo provides a simple platform but does not provide the depth of assignments that Moodle does. Moodle provides more assignment types, grading, deadlines, and shifting of assignments from one week to the next. Moodle is significantly more advanced in terms of what it can do for high school and college level students and educators. Customizing the platform also gives teachers a greater ability to customize courses, calendars, and location of content.
Read Christopher Power's full review
January 04, 2019
Andrea Samadi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

When setting up our LMS in 2014, we started with a product called LearnDash that was not designed for the school market. When we moved to Moodle, we looked at Edmodo and went with Moodle for the cost to launch and get our courses up and running. We are a smaller company were looking for a cost effective solution that still had the functions we knew our customers wanted and needed. Moodle was the most established LMS for the school market and we are thankful to have started with this choice and stayed with them as each year it continues to improve.
Read Andrea Samadi's full review
December 08, 2018
Justin Roodman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Moodle has a lot of features and it's been around a long time. While it's not always the most intuitive or user friendly platform in terms of set up and maintenance, you can't beat the functionality for the price. Money talks and Moodle is free. The platform is robust enough to serve our needs, and we've managed to do custom integrations which created a unique SaaS product.
Read Justin Roodman's full review
September 16, 2016
Timothy Wenson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We originally selected Moodle because we thought Blackboard was going to price us out of the market. Because Moodle was open source we thought the cost savings over time would be substantial. Unfortunately we did not keep Moodle on campus so it ended up being a mistake and didn't save us any costs.
Read Timothy Wenson's full review
September 13, 2016
Kevin David Swagler II | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Moodle met almost all of our needs, except two: eCommerce and multiple portals. For this, we used a Moodle overlay called Totara. As it was built on Moodle, we got to keep all of our current classes, the administration was the same, and our server needs remained unchanged. Totara offered the features we were missing at extremely low prices ($5000/yr for 5000 users).

Cornerstone and Blackboard offer very little customization as they are marketed as a ready-made, vendor managed solution.

Sharepoint LMS and LMS 365 did not offer near the amount of customization and freedom of Moodle and were extremely expensive considering the lack of features out of the box. In order to get the same experience in either system as we had with Moodle, we were looking at over $25000 worth of customizations and an incredible amount of downtime.

Read Kevin David Swagler II's full review
December 18, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We didn't really entertain the idea of Canvas for long since the Open Source version didn't have nearly the reference and support material that Moodle did for guiding a successful setup. We did consider adding the assessment and outcomes module from our existing Learning Management System (Blackboard) to our package but the steep cost and inability to customize ended up steering right to Moodle.
Read this authenticated review
September 30, 2015
Helen Ware | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We had used Blackboard since 1999, and had officially signed up for it in 2001. We started having less than great service with Blackboard because they had grown so large. However, more than that, they were just too expensive for our individual budget. With all of the budget cuts that were occurring in Louisiana in higher education, several other schools had already moved over to Moodle. We had already tried out Moodle and found that because they were open source and several of the features we could "fix" on our own with just writing in a code whenever we needed. It was really a great idea! All of the schools in our ULS system moved over to Moodle and we found that this worked well. It was especially great when our Moodle server administrator figured out that we could use MNet to configure all four of the schools together that were in our Nursing Consortium. The users would no longer have to be given new user ids for each of the schools! They could use their individual school ids and still be able to login to each of the individual schools. It was truly a miracle that we were all using Moodle.
Read Helen Ware's full review
September 15, 2015
Robin Sargent | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Moodle is free, it is supported, and it's modular. All three of these qualities make it a better choice than the other LMSs I have used. sumtotal breaks all the time and I was on the phone with the support team at least once a week. There is also a lack of online support for the system from a community of sumtotal users. The only redeeming feature about sumtotal was its ability to track online webinar registrations and participation. Blackboard is good for higher education, but even using it as a student, I found the organization of the pages difficult to navigate. There are too many layers. Moodle may have 'the scroll of death' but that long page can be remedied with anchor links and other workarounds.
Read Robin Sargent's full review
September 15, 2015
Ted Burke | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We find Moodle easier to use than Blackboard, less expensive, more versatile and we like the ability to select among numerous service providers for support and price.
Read Ted Burke's full review
September 15, 2015
Stephen Lackey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Blackboard has clear advantages in rubric management, and offers a content management system of its own. The largest barrier is cost for smaller or financially-disadvantaged organizations. However, as in any IT project, adequate resources must be made for even "free" software.
Read Stephen Lackey's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Course authoring (20)
7.9
Course catalog or library (21)
7.7
Player/Portal (21)
7.5
Learning content (20)
8.5
Mobile friendly (21)
6.7
Progress tracking & certifications (23)
6.7
Assignments (24)
8.1
Compliance management (18)
7.0
Learning administration (22)
7.8
Learning reporting & analytics (20)
7.3
Social learning (21)
6.7

What is Moodle?

Since 2001, Moodle is an open source platform that enables educators to develop and manage courses online. Moodle is a modular system based on plugins, which are like lego blocks that users put together to build whatever they want.

There are plugins for different kinds of content, and plugins for collaborative activities. As an example Moodle's Workshop plugin manages a full peer assessment process, so users can get hundreds of students accurately grading each other’s assignments, and save time. Users can add some tracking and reports and the ability to add more plugins from the community, or even write one's own, as well as build whole education environments.

The Moodle project is run by Moodle HQ from Perth, Australia, but would not be what it is without a huge community of users. Its community works together and help each other on moodle.org (itself a Moodle site), where the vendor states it has taken Moodle’s founding principles of feedback and collaboration online and practise it in the Moodle forums, wiki-based Moodle Documentation, Moodle Tracker for bugs and new features, our course-sharing site Moodle.net, and Moodle Translation portal (which means Moodle is available in over 100 languages!).
Categories:  Learning Management

Moodle Features

Learning Management Features

Has featureCourse authoring
Has featureCourse catalog or library
Has featurePlayer/Portal
Has featureLearning content
Has featureMobile friendly
Has featureProgress tracking & certifications
Has featureAssignments
Has featureCompliance management
Has featureLearning administration
Has featureLearning reporting & analytics
Has featureeLearning
Has featureAssessments
Has featureLive online learning
Has featureIn-person learning
Has featureMicro-learning
Has featureVideo learning
Has featureeCommerce
Has featureAICC-compliant
Has featureSCORM-compliant
Has featureTin Can (xAPI) compliant
Has featureSocial learning

Moodle Video

Moodle Competitors

Moodle Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Starter$114per year
Mini$210per year
Small$381per year
Medium$858per year
Large1,525per year

Moodle Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Countries:worldwide
Supported Languages: All languages