Moodle Reviews

175 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 59)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
January 30, 2021
H. P. Molloy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

As a complete system for learning management, it works well. But it can be overkill for many traditional instructors, such as those hundreds who have suddenly had to use some kind of remote learning software over the last year. Moodle also has a relatively long history and an active user base, so it is unlikely to go under soon.
Read H. P. Molloy's full review
September 24, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Moodle is well-suited for Educational Institutions and also for corporate where there are no compliance requirements. If there are compliance requirements (GxP, etc.), the client has to submit the application for code review with the respective teams and get it approved. Since the corporate has other options, such as opting for LMS with compliance, many times, Moodle may not be their preferred LMS. It has excellent features like Course Administration, Cohorts Management, ready-made plugins, Question Administration, etc. This is an open-source application; hence, there is no licensing cost or recurring cost.
Read this authenticated review
May 20, 2020
Philip Mojares | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I have been using Moodle for a long time already (which shows that I really like using this learning management system). If you want a software that accurately provides reports on the activities and interactions of the students then Moodle is great software to use. Generating quizzes and tests with timer set is another feature that you can maximize on using Moodle as a learning platform. Back up and restore features are also very helpful for me as a teacher because I can make sure that all the information stored on the created class are properly duplicated. On the other hand, if you are looking for a Learning Management System that provides video conferencing ability, then Moodle doesn't have it.
Read Philip Mojares's full review
February 11, 2020
Stacey Broughton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I love how beautiful you can make Moodle look with the right theme, branding and colors. With a little know-how you can be very creative with it.
Although the quiz function is very adaptable, if you are doing high stakes testing or require an authoring, review and validation tool for test content Moodle is not adequate.
Read Stacey Broughton's full review
January 23, 2020
Jake Tully | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

In my experience, Moodle was effective when it was used by a younger generation perhaps more familiar with using online courses or simply those more experienced with using technology. These users took to Moodle very quickly and reported having an excellent time using it. Other users, those skewed towards the other end of the age spectrum, often reported interface problems or had some issues with less-than-intuitive features and functionality on the site.
Read Jake Tully's full review
January 23, 2020
Josh Musson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is great for communication and keeping up with colleagues and what tasks they are handling. We use it to communicate from the bottom of the company all the way to the top. It is one of the tools we try to use the most besides for our CRM. It is a great open-source product that I recommend most companies use. I can't think of a scenario where it is not appropriate to use Moodle.
Read Josh Musson's full review
October 29, 2019
Grant Adendorff | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is a cheap resource to effectively manage an LMS of some scale. It delivers questions in a user-friendly manner and can be used for systems training at b-scale.
Read Grant Adendorff's full review
February 04, 2020
Ramindu Deshapriya | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Moodle is very good to set up and manage teaching courses, as well as for distributing course material. It also allows effective management of learning assessments. It could do better in the area of teaching staff management.
Read Ramindu Deshapriya's full review
February 12, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Moodle is a great collaborative tool to be used by students and teachers. It can be used with a wide range of age levels to be able to collaborate outside our classroom walls. Moodle is a good tool for both facilitated course work and as a collaborative space for working on projects.
Read this authenticated review
January 30, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

During assignment submission especially at the time of deadlines (when we are notified a day prior), a majority of the users submitted their assignments at the same time and Moodle managed the traffic efficiently and maintained a quick turnaround. I never faced difficulties while submitting any of my assignments during the period of my course.
Read this authenticated review
January 24, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Moodle is well suited for times when you need something that is affordable and all you want to do is deliver courses to learners. It is ideal for small organizations with a small budget. It is less appropriate for an organization that wants all of the bells and whistles that come with the high-end LMS's on the market.
Read this authenticated review
September 13, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Moodle will fit any education system. Beginning free with it is specifically good for those settings where money is an issue for the school or group. However, even large universities use Moodle successfully. Honestly, Moodle can work well for any education setting. It is an education tool though, so it would not work well for other needs though.
Read this authenticated review
January 25, 2019
Marianna Rader | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Moodle is an excellent platform for instruction. It has many tools that can be used to enhance the learner experience. I would not recommend it for data analysis.
Read Marianna Rader's full review
January 24, 2019
Kyle Moninger | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I think Moodle provides a solid Learning Management system that's easy to use, both on the student side and instructor side. The implementation team was right there if we needed help with setup too. However, we found that Canvas offered more advanced settings. Although it may have had a higher learning curve, we thought the larger scale of options would suit us in the long-run.
Read Kyle Moninger's full review
January 23, 2019
Christopher Power | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Moodle is perfect for education. In education, we are sincerely lacking a mainstream online platform for all educators to use. Some platforms, like SKEDULA, allow for grading, but they do not allow you to upload assignments that are easy to see, edit and get submissions, then grade. Platforms like Edmodo are too socially oriented and do not actually have the month and weekly breakdown that I look for and find very useful with Moodle. If you need a blended platform that allows students to learn in the classroom and also be coached and monitored at home, then Moodle is the best option. Being able to tell parents to log in to the account to see what is due, what is coming up, look at reference files, and check grades, makes engagement with parents simple, direct and supportive.
Read Christopher Power's full review
January 04, 2019
Andrea Samadi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I highly recommend Moodle for an online portal to use in the classroom for blended learning. I use it by plugging into a projector so that the lesson can be seen by the whole class for the video and discussion. I do like the Moodle app for mobile for a quick overview of the course I am working on. The platform allows me to host course content quickly and easily in an organized manner. The only situation the portal does not work the best is when the internet is spotty. This has happened to me in some locations, but was quickly resolved by using the hotspot on my iPhone. I have not had connectivity issues with it in my area.
Read Andrea Samadi's full review
December 08, 2018
Justin Roodman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Moodle is free, so it's ideal for anyone looking to implement a LMS on a budget. That being said, Moodle does require some technical expertise to get it up and running; and that's before you start building any courses in it. The platform would be very useful in a modern classroom setting, where teachers could give quizzes and tests and students could receive automatic feedback regarding their scores. It would also be useful for assigning homework. Moodle also serves us well in a business capacity - it allows us to deliver online training to users regardless of their location.
Read Justin Roodman's full review
July 14, 2018
Zee Gimon | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Moodle is great for universities and all educational opportunities other institutions might offer. It's convenient for both students as well as the teachers, which makes it a great tool to make learning easier. I really enjoy the fact that there are little things that make the experience more user-friendly, for example, when you post a forum reply, it shows you the number of words you've written. In cases when you need to write a specific number of words, this is a helpful thing for students as well as for teachers, who don't have to count the words using Microsoft Word or something.
Read Zee Gimon's full review
September 16, 2016
Timothy Wenson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Ideally, you'd have a group of people supporting Moodle that have knowledge of coding and can create custom modules. The code is 'free' so you can do whatever you want with it, but we had to hire a support team in order to help with the server management and creation of custom modules. I think it's great for an organization that has not implemented an LMS previously, it was very difficult for us to convert faculty to use it after they had spent many years getting comfortable with Blackboard.
Read Timothy Wenson's full review
September 13, 2016
Kevin David Swagler II | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Moodle is great for college and corporate settings alike. I have yet to see an instance where Moodle could not be customized to fit a particular need, all while not having the overhead of other LMS systems and still having the ability to be managed centrally by the agency deploying it (meaning you are not reliant on another company to manage). Moodle can be installed locally for testing, on a server farm, or in the cloud, depending on the need and scalability.

Moodle does require nesting of activities, which can be time consuming, however, this is by design to offer the most custom and specific learning and setup outcomes.

Read Kevin David Swagler II's full review
December 18, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Moodle is a Learning Management System and is best suited for just that. We didn't like the assessment piece of our full scale Learning Management System (nor did we want to purchase the entire assessment module) so we chose to use Moodle for this, and it works well. Installing this application with the intention of only using a portion of its capabilities can be successful in environments where you have technical skills and a broad understanding of integration between your systems. For institutions that lack these, you're better suited to using a full scale of an LMS with assessment inside that same application.
Read this authenticated review
September 30, 2015
Helen Ware | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If they are able to self-host the Moodle product, I do recommend it. If they do not self-host it, I would not recommend having it hosted by someone else, because then it is no longer an open source.
Read Helen Ware's full review
September 15, 2015
Robin Sargent | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Moodle is great for both corporate and education (I have used it in both environments). Moodle is suited well for those who are willing to get their hands a little dirty. Not everything in Moodle is intuitive and you'll need to be curious and a problem solver in order to figure out which settings to use and how to perform certain functions. However, it is rewarding to learn Moodle because there is an entire community that is also using it and willing to help you out.

If you want an easy interface that is intuitive then Moodle might not be for you. When you are looking to use Moodle you should ask yourself a few questions about your needs.

Who is going to host your LMS? Is it going to be in-house or through a vendor? The answer to these two questions will answer several other capability questions for Moodle. For instance, if you will need to add a bunch of plugins in order to make Moodle customized to meet your needs, you will probably want to go in-house because several of the cost efficient Moodle hosts like mdlspot.net do not add plugins for you. Also, if the majority of your training is face-to-face, then you might want to consider the LMSs that cater to that type of instruction.
Read Robin Sargent's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Course authoring (20)
7.9
Course catalog or library (21)
7.7
Player/Portal (21)
7.5
Learning content (20)
8.5
Mobile friendly (21)
6.7
Progress tracking & certifications (23)
6.7
Assignments (24)
8.1
Compliance management (18)
7.0
Learning administration (22)
7.8
Learning reporting & analytics (20)
7.3
Social learning (21)
6.7

What is Moodle?

Since 2001, Moodle is an open source platform that enables educators to develop and manage courses online. Moodle is a modular system based on plugins, which are like lego blocks that users put together to build whatever they want.

There are plugins for different kinds of content, and plugins for collaborative activities. As an example Moodle's Workshop plugin manages a full peer assessment process, so users can get hundreds of students accurately grading each other’s assignments, and save time. Users can add some tracking and reports and the ability to add more plugins from the community, or even write one's own, as well as build whole education environments.

The Moodle project is run by Moodle HQ from Perth, Australia, but would not be what it is without a huge community of users. Its community works together and help each other on moodle.org (itself a Moodle site), where the vendor states it has taken Moodle’s founding principles of feedback and collaboration online and practise it in the Moodle forums, wiki-based Moodle Documentation, Moodle Tracker for bugs and new features, our course-sharing site Moodle.net, and Moodle Translation portal (which means Moodle is available in over 100 languages!).
Categories:  Learning Management

Moodle Features

Learning Management Features

Has featureCourse authoring
Has featureCourse catalog or library
Has featurePlayer/Portal
Has featureLearning content
Has featureMobile friendly
Has featureProgress tracking & certifications
Has featureAssignments
Has featureCompliance management
Has featureLearning administration
Has featureLearning reporting & analytics
Has featureeLearning
Has featureAssessments
Has featureLive online learning
Has featureIn-person learning
Has featureMicro-learning
Has featureVideo learning
Has featureeCommerce
Has featureAICC-compliant
Has featureSCORM-compliant
Has featureTin Can (xAPI) compliant
Has featureSocial learning

Moodle Video

Moodle Competitors

Moodle Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Starter$114per year
Mini$210per year
Small$381per year
Medium$858per year
Large1,525per year

Moodle Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Countries:worldwide
Supported Languages: All languages