Moodle

Moodle

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.2 out of 100
Moodle

Overview

Recent Reviews

Learning with Moodle

8 out of 10
February 12, 2020
We utilize Moodle as a way to deliver professional development for staff and faculty. We are able to participate in PD with colleagues …
Continue reading

You get what you pay for

5 out of 10
January 24, 2020
Moodle is what it is. It's cost-effective and it gets the job done. You are not getting a Cadilac when you get Moodle and can find a lot …
Continue reading

Moodle to save the day

9 out of 10
September 13, 2019
Moodle was used with our students to provide a platform where they could track their upcoming assignments as well as complete and upload …
Continue reading

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 11 features

Assignments (23)

8.6
86%

Learning administration (21)

8.3
83%

Progress tracking & certifications (22)

7.5
75%

Course catalog or library (20)

7.3
73%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Moodle, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Starter

$110

On Premise
per year

Mini

$200

On Premise
per year

Small

$370

On Premise
per year

Entry-level set up fee?

  • Setup fee optional
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://moodle.com/pricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Starting price (does not include set up fee)

  • $10 per month

Features Scorecard

Learning Management

7.7
77%

Product Details

What is Moodle?

Moodle LMS is an open source learning management system that can be customised for any teaching requirements. No matter the size or type of learning required, use the plugins and integrations to make it 100 % adapted to your needs. Improve your teaching and student outcomes with a feature-rich e-learning platform that saves time and provides more active learning experiences for your students.

Moodle is the open source learning management system with security and privacy features used by hundreds of millions of learners worldwide. Designed in collaboration with Moodle’s global community, Moodle LMS is designed to enable educators in any sector to create flexible, safe, accessible and highly engaging online spaces for their learners.

Moodle Features

Learning Management Features

  • Supported: Course authoring
  • Supported: Course catalog or library
  • Supported: Player/Portal
  • Supported: Learning content
  • Supported: Mobile friendly
  • Supported: Progress tracking & certifications
  • Supported: Assignments
  • Supported: Compliance management
  • Supported: Learning administration
  • Supported: Learning reporting & analytics
  • Supported: eLearning
  • Supported: Assessments
  • Supported: Live online learning
  • Supported: In-person learning
  • Supported: Micro-learning
  • Supported: Video learning
  • Supported: eCommerce
  • Supported: AICC-compliant
  • Supported: SCORM-compliant
  • Supported: Tin Can (xAPI) compliant
  • Supported: Social learning

Moodle Screenshots

Teacher ViewStudent DashboardInside a courseCompetenciesAdd a Quiz

Moodle Videos

What is Moodle LMS?
What's new in Moodle 3.11?

Moodle Integrations

Moodle Competitors

Moodle Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, SaaS
Operating SystemsWindows, Linux, Mac
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web
Supported Countriesworldwide
Supported LanguagesAll languages

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Moodle?

Moodle is an open source Learning Management System used by educational institutions. The product is administered by the Moodle Project which is led by Moodle HQ in Australia.

How much does Moodle cost?

Moodle starts at $10.

What is Moodle's best feature?

Reviewers rate Learning content highest, with a score of 9.5.

Who uses Moodle?

The most common users of Moodle are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees) and the Higher Education industry.

Reviews

(1-25 of 59)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Joe Foran | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Moodle is great for any environment where a class or other learning activity needs to be completed in an asynchronous manner. It can be used to post information, create interactive threads for discussion, issue quiz and exam work with grading, track and grade progress, and keep track of attendance. It is an overall wonderful solution for managing asynchronous learning.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Moodle is a Learning Management System and is best suited for just that. We didn't like the assessment piece of our full scale Learning Management System (nor did we want to purchase the entire assessment module) so we chose to use Moodle for this, and it works well. Installing this application with the intention of only using a portion of its capabilities can be successful in environments where you have technical skills and a broad understanding of integration between your systems. For institutions that lack these, you're better suited to using a full scale of an LMS with assessment inside that same application.
April 01, 2021

Moodle for everyone

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a complete system for learning management, it works well. But it can be overkill for many traditional instructors, such as those hundreds who have suddenly had to use some kind of remote learning software over the last year. Moodle also has a relatively long history and an active user base, so it is unlikely to go under soon.
Philip Mojares | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have been using Moodle for a long time already (which shows that I really like using this learning management system). If you want a software that accurately provides reports on the activities and interactions of the students then Moodle is great software to use. Generating quizzes and tests with timer set is another feature that you can maximize on using Moodle as a learning platform. Back up and restore features are also very helpful for me as a teacher because I can make sure that all the information stored on the created class are properly duplicated. On the other hand, if you are looking for a Learning Management System that provides video conferencing ability, then Moodle doesn't have it.
February 12, 2020

Learning with Moodle

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Moodle is a great collaborative tool to be used by students and teachers. It can be used with a wide range of age levels to be able to collaborate outside our classroom walls. Moodle is a good tool for both facilitated course work and as a collaborative space for working on projects.
Stacey Broughton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I love how beautiful you can make Moodle look with the right theme, branding and colors. With a little know-how you can be very creative with it.
Although the quiz function is very adaptable, if you are doing high stakes testing or require an authoring, review and validation tool for test content Moodle is not adequate.
Ramindu Deshapriya | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Moodle is very good to set up and manage teaching courses, as well as for distributing course material. It also allows effective management of learning assessments. It could do better in the area of teaching staff management.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
During assignment submission especially at the time of deadlines (when we are notified a day prior), a majority of the users submitted their assignments at the same time and Moodle managed the traffic efficiently and maintained a quick turnaround. I never faced difficulties while submitting any of my assignments during the period of my course.
January 24, 2020

You get what you pay for

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Moodle is well suited for times when you need something that is affordable and all you want to do is deliver courses to learners. It is ideal for small organizations with a small budget. It is less appropriate for an organization that wants all of the bells and whistles that come with the high-end LMS's on the market.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my experience, Moodle was effective when it was used by a younger generation perhaps more familiar with using online courses or simply those more experienced with using technology. These users took to Moodle very quickly and reported having an excellent time using it. Other users, those skewed towards the other end of the age spectrum, often reported interface problems or had some issues with less-than-intuitive features and functionality on the site.
January 24, 2020

Moodle for the win!

Josh Musson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is great for communication and keeping up with colleagues and what tasks they are handling. We use it to communicate from the bottom of the company all the way to the top. It is one of the tools we try to use the most besides for our CRM. It is a great open-source product that I recommend most companies use. I can't think of a scenario where it is not appropriate to use Moodle.
September 13, 2019

Moodle to save the day

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Moodle will fit any education system. Beginning free with it is specifically good for those settings where money is an issue for the school or group. However, even large universities use Moodle successfully. Honestly, Moodle can work well for any education setting. It is an education tool though, so it would not work well for other needs though.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Good for traditional academic courses that are highly structured and consistent from module to module. Not as good for holding content that does not lend itself to being well-organized, or that requires customization.
Christopher Power | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Moodle is perfect for education. In education, we are sincerely lacking a mainstream online platform for all educators to use. Some platforms, like SKEDULA, allow for grading, but they do not allow you to upload assignments that are easy to see, edit and get submissions, then grade. Platforms like Edmodo are too socially oriented and do not actually have the month and weekly breakdown that I look for and find very useful with Moodle. If you need a blended platform that allows students to learn in the classroom and also be coached and monitored at home, then Moodle is the best option. Being able to tell parents to log in to the account to see what is due, what is coming up, look at reference files, and check grades, makes engagement with parents simple, direct and supportive.
Andrea Samadi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I highly recommend Moodle for an online portal to use in the classroom for blended learning. I use it by plugging into a projector so that the lesson can be seen by the whole class for the video and discussion. I do like the Moodle app for mobile for a quick overview of the course I am working on. The platform allows me to host course content quickly and easily in an organized manner. The only situation the portal does not work the best is when the internet is spotty. This has happened to me in some locations, but was quickly resolved by using the hotspot on my iPhone. I have not had connectivity issues with it in my area.
Justin Roodman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Moodle is free, so it's ideal for anyone looking to implement a LMS on a budget. That being said, Moodle does require some technical expertise to get it up and running; and that's before you start building any courses in it. The platform would be very useful in a modern classroom setting, where teachers could give quizzes and tests and students could receive automatic feedback regarding their scores. It would also be useful for assigning homework. Moodle also serves us well in a business capacity - it allows us to deliver online training to users regardless of their location.
Zee Gimon | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Moodle is great for universities and all educational opportunities other institutions might offer. It's convenient for both students as well as the teachers, which makes it a great tool to make learning easier. I really enjoy the fact that there are little things that make the experience more user-friendly, for example, when you post a forum reply, it shows you the number of words you've written. In cases when you need to write a specific number of words, this is a helpful thing for students as well as for teachers, who don't have to count the words using Microsoft Word or something.