Moodle Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
174 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-20 of 20)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
September 30, 2015
Helen Ware | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
We definitely are renewing Moodle. We love it! I am the system administrator and most of our faculty have become accustomed to it. Our server administrator also loves it and I asked him a couple questions about the items that he found "wrong" with the system. We definitely would not change over from this system as long as we are able to self-host this system. I do not think that anything could be better. We have had very few problems and with any new modules that come out that are open source, we will eventually add them into the system to replace some of the ones that are not open source. Even though we have a small staff, we have accomplished a great deal with a relatively small staff and our instructors and our students appreciate it.
Read Helen Ware's full review
September 15, 2015
Ted Burke | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
Our faculty and students are both happy and comfortable with Moodle
Read Ted Burke's full review
October 02, 2015
Pamela Akins | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
Let's face it, it is much easier to go with what you know and having so many resources to help you troubleshoot as well as such a large user base on an open source, web-based application, what more can you ask for?
Read Pamela Akins's full review
July 08, 2015
Mitchell Baker | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
We have no complaints with the Moodle product or MoodleRooms. Though there are yearly reviews, one should not change LMS more often than three to five years. If that decision is made, will your content easily transfer from your current vendor to the new one? No one really wants the labor and mental cost of having to do everything all over again. If a change is made, there definitely needs to be a transition period for the early adopters who are not afraid of change and for the newest employees to help things move smoothly through the process.
Read Mitchell Baker's full review
December 12, 2014
Steve Covello | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

4
We use it because it is what have committed to back in 2011. Perhaps Moodle will evolve and advance in a positive way that will alleviate most of our user-based gripes? Perhaps it will not appear to be as cost effective given the need for a certain level of engineering and support staff to maintain it at a future level of sustainability? It's hard to say. As an enterprise scale critical application, we like it, but don't love it. Our instructors don't particularly like it at all.
Read Steve Covello's full review
February 25, 2015
David Noffs | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
Moodle continues to provide the tools, features and flexibility we need as an institution to expand our enhanced face to face, flipped, hybrid and online learning opportunities.
Read David Noffs's full review
December 18, 2014
Laura Farvour | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
We are extremely likely to renew our use of Moodle because we have made significant contributions to the development of Moodle, and have even been able to work directly with Martin and his team to implement changes in Moodle core. In addition, our end-users really like the software overall. We have had extremely positive responses to recent surveys which sought ideas from the community on how to make Moodle better. It has been gratifying to see that even though there is a need change and improvement, our end users are still fully supportive of using Moodle as our course managment system.
Read Laura Farvour's full review
December 16, 2014
Charles Thomasset, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

8
Moddle does what I want so far, and I feel it has additional functions I could (should!) use to enhance my course.
The unknown in this review is about implementation, upgrade and maintenance resources and effort.
Read Charles Thomasset, MBA's full review
June 04, 2014
Elizabeth Dalton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
Even though Moodle is open and we could extract our course content through IMS Common Cartridge or SQL exports for import to another system, changing LMS software is difficult for faculty and not a disruption we would willingly impose at this time. We would need to see a truly compelling advantage in another system to consider switching. Moodle meets our needs fairly well at present, and we are not convinced that any other system would offer significant advantages. Total cost of ownership is still lower with Moodle than with most other systems we have reviewed.

We continue to look for LMS tools that provide even better support for learner peer review and more flexible online assignments. We use many external tools to enhance Moodle, including Blackboard Collaborate, Kaltura, Chalk & Wire, Articulate Storyline, and Turnitin. On the one hand, this gives us a "best of breed" solution that doesn't limit us to a single vendor. On the other hand, managing all these licenses can be cumbersome and expensive.
Read Elizabeth Dalton's full review
June 30, 2014
Darin Nolan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
I'm excited to see the continual changes that have been happening with Moodle. The company is continually working to make the learning management system more 'user friendly.' My goal is to get more teachers in the Bellingham School District to create a stand alone course in Moodle or use Moodle as a supplement to their course in a blended model.
Read Darin Nolan's full review
June 17, 2014
Derek Lieser | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
At Gustavus Technology Services, we have been very happy with our decision to utilize Moodle as our LMS. The jump from Moodle 1.9 to Moodle 2.X was significant in both amount of time and energy for us, and for the user's experience. Beyond cost (free) and the user-friendly aspects of Moodle, we support Moodle with little full-time staff (2 full time employee and myself). Ultimately, the management of Moodle has been minimal as 2-3 people have overseen the management of 2,000+ courses every semester.
Read Derek Lieser's full review
June 17, 2014
Sarah Fornero | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
We are likely to continue using Moodle because it is available at the right price point. Also we have spent a significant amount of time developing an infrastructure for course design and a large amount of content within the system which would be time consuming to migrate to a new platform.
Read Sarah Fornero's full review
June 06, 2014
Mike Holzer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

7
I do not currently work with Moodle since I have since left that position, but if I ever have a case to establish some sort of elearning tool, I would probably recommend it to my managers.
Read Mike Holzer's full review
June 06, 2014
Jared Rutledge | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
I used to have my own Moodle server. I have since shut it down. There are a variety of services online that will host your Moodle for free if you do not have your own ability to do so. These services are going by the way side. I encourage you to look out for the organizations that give you limited use of a free Moodle service. Take it on a trial run.
Read Jared Rutledge's full review
June 04, 2014
Daniel Kaelin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
Moodle continually updates their product. Major releases come every 6 months with continual minor revisions in between. It is a product developed by the community for the community so anyone can contribute through github and their issue tracker on JIRA. The wide availability of plugins and ease of use are major factors. You can't argue with the price of free with open source products.
Read Daniel Kaelin's full review
February 25, 2015
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
Our business is ingrained with Moodle. We have invested in the hardware, software, and network to support Moodle over the long term. We also rely on the ability to customize and extend Moodle.
Read this authenticated review
June 14, 2014
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

7
Renewal questions are above my pay grade. If it were up to me, I would likely renew, but newer options are looking more attractive.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Course authoring (19)
7.9
Course catalog or library (20)
7.9
Player/Portal (21)
7.5
Learning content (19)
8.3
Mobile friendly (20)
6.8
Progress tracking & certifications (22)
6.7
Assignments (23)
8.1
Compliance management (17)
7.0
Learning administration (21)
7.6
Learning reporting & analytics (19)
7.6
Social learning (20)
6.7

What is Moodle?

Since 2001, Moodle is an open source platform that enables educators to develop and manage courses online. Moodle is a modular system based on plugins, which are like lego blocks that users put together to build whatever they want.

There are plugins for different kinds of content, and plugins for collaborative activities. As an example Moodle's Workshop plugin manages a full peer assessment process, so users can get hundreds of students accurately grading each other’s assignments, and save time. Users can add some tracking and reports and the ability to add more plugins from the community, or even write one's own, as well as build whole education environments.

The Moodle project is run by Moodle HQ from Perth, Australia, but would not be what it is without a huge community of users. Its community works together and help each other on moodle.org (itself a Moodle site), where the vendor states it has taken Moodle’s founding principles of feedback and collaboration online and practise it in the Moodle forums, wiki-based Moodle Documentation, Moodle Tracker for bugs and new features, our course-sharing site Moodle.net, and Moodle Translation portal (which means Moodle is available in over 100 languages!).
Categories:  Learning Management

Moodle Features

Learning Management Features

Has featureCourse authoring
Has featureCourse catalog or library
Has featurePlayer/Portal
Has featureLearning content
Has featureMobile friendly
Has featureProgress tracking & certifications
Has featureAssignments
Has featureCompliance management
Has featureLearning administration
Has featureLearning reporting & analytics
Has featureeLearning
Has featureAssessments
Has featureLive online learning
Has featureIn-person learning
Has featureMicro-learning
Has featureVideo learning
Has featureeCommerce
Has featureAICC-compliant
Has featureSCORM-compliant
Has featureTin Can (xAPI) compliant
Has featureSocial learning

Moodle Video

Moodle Competitors

Moodle Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Starter$114per year
Mini$210per year
Small$381per year
Medium$858per year
Large1,525per year

Moodle Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Countries:worldwide
Supported Languages: All languages