Moodle Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
164 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 57)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2020

Learning with Moodle

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We are able to take continuing coursework without travel expenses.
  • It allows us to participate in learning with colleagues from around the world.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 13, 2019

Moodle to save the day

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We have the ability to know where students are. This leads to students being happy because they feel cared for.
  • We're saving the team a lot of time tracking student progress. Now this time can be used to actually engage with the students.
Read this authenticated review
Christopher Power | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2019

Teachers Using Moodle Get Better Results

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Student engagement has increased.
  • Parent involvement has increased.
  • Customizing and updating the curriculum is done on a weekly basis and more often than it would be using other platforms and strategies to compile lesson plans.
  • A positive classroom culture has been developed as a result of students being able to learn at home and in class.
Read Christopher Power's full review
Andrea Samadi | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 04, 2019

Moodle LMS, A Smart Choice for the Future of Your Online Courses

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • POSITIVE: I was given a contract to provide online learning services to schools and was able to quickly provide what educators were looking for. In the past, I used a platform that did not have the ability to group teachers with their class, or provide badges. This platform was designed for the classroom.
  • POSITIVE: Since the portal is easy to use, and there are many users around the world, I was able to watch many online training courses to get up to speed with the set up and launch my courses. There were many free trainings, as well, I was able to find some paid training through Lynda.com to give me a more thorough training on the ADMIN functions.
  • POSITIVE: The portal is professional looking with many functions beyond what I use. Some of the most well-known educational institutions use Moodle, so it helped with credibility.
Read Andrea Samadi's full review
Justin Roodman | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 08, 2018

Moodle LMS - online learning platform with a bit of a learning curve

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Moodle is deeply integrated into our product offering. It serves as the foundation of our platform.
  • It can be costly to customize Moodle beyond it's inherent capabilities when add-ons for the platform are not available or do not do what you need them to do.
  • Moodle documentation varies in quality depending on the issue you're having. This can be problematic at times.
Read Justin Roodman's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 18, 2018

Easy installation, cost effective solution for institutions with technically talented staff to implement.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Installing Open Source Moodle has saved us money in contractual obligations and consulting fees for creating the customized solution we were looking for. The time and learning curve associated with using Open Source Moodle as compared with the SaaS, still outweighs paying for a service since we wanted so much customization.
  • One negative effect of using Moodle is the difficultly in faculty and staff buy in. While our institution was accustomed to the main Learning Management System we use, it was quite taxing trying to explain why we were using another system for the outcomes alignment and assessment.
  • Installing and using Moodle Open Source has encouraged the professional development of the staff responsible for implementation. They have had to use inquiry and perseverance in developing a setup that supports the needs of our institution best.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 30, 2019

Moodle: good for traditional organized academic distance ed/online courses

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Moodle has helped with conducting courses to remote audiences.
  • It has been frustrating to work with at times, leading to lots of troubleshooting calls and messages. Overall, our organization controls many special features, and it is hard for course instructor/manager to get special features changed or added (must go through our organization's IT process to do so).
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2018

Great, Easy-to-Use Software for Education

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It has led to involved discussions outside of class.
  • It engages students better than just in-class interaction.
  • It allows us to keep instructional material on hand in one place, ready for access by students.
Read this authenticated review
Zee Gimon | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2018

Learn and teach - wherever you are!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Considering we have students from all over the world as well as teachers, Moodle has been perfect for our goals of uniting people from various countries in a seamless learning experience.
  • Moodle has convenient features for teachers and students, which simplifies the educational process (for example, test grading is taken care of by the system).
  • Moodle's mobile app makes it possible for people who don't have much dedicated free time other than commute, for example, to study anywhere and wherever they have time.
Read Zee Gimon's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 21, 2018

Choose Moodle

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • From my standpoint, I think Moodle has worked out very well on campus and has been well accepted by students, faculty & staff. Of course you have your good with the bad circumstances but that’s with any program you use.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 16, 2018

Moodle on a Small College Campus

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Our campus made the switch from another LMS to Moodle for financial reasons, and overall it has met our needs for a better price point that another LMS.
Read this authenticated review
Timothy Wenson | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 16, 2016

Former Moodle user

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We had a negative return in that we spent a large amount of money converting courses to Moodle, then shortly after we moved back to Blackboard and had another large outlay of cash to convert them back (not very successfully).
  • Operating costs are low once the courses are created and servers set up.
  • LMSs in general are a great option for moving away from paper.
Read Timothy Wenson's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Course authoring (18)
7.8
Course catalog or library (19)
7.8
Player/Portal (20)
7.5
Learning content (18)
8.3
Mobile friendly (20)
7.0
Progress tracking & certifications (21)
7.1
Assignments (22)
8.0
Compliance management (16)
7.0
Learning administration (20)
7.8
Learning reporting & analytics (18)
7.5
Social learning (19)
6.9

About Moodle

Moodle is an open source Learning Management System used by educational institutions. The product is administered by the Moodle Project which is led by Moodle HQ in Australia.
Categories:  Learning Management

Moodle Integrations

Moodle Competitors