Moodle Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
157 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 50)

Grant Adendorff profile photo
October 29, 2019

Doodling with Moodle

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It's being used as an LMS in my organization to conduct and assess system training in particular. It was used to implement an SAP system implementation within the organization. Assessment of competence was conducted using the platform to drive training and adoption.
Read Grant Adendorff's full review
No photo available
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The entire organization uses Moodle. Moodle is one of the best open-source education-based LMS applications. Moodle supports meeting both education and corporate clients' learning requirements. The best features of Moodle are open-source, Cohort, extensive customization, and the course administration features. It addresses the business problems of the organization like no-licensing cost, can accommodate a large number of concurrent users, create all types of training, ready-to-use plugins, more than 12 types of question types, social collaboration features, etc.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 13, 2019

Moodle to save the day

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Moodle was used with our students to provide a platform where they could track their upcoming assignments as well as complete and upload them online. Using Moodle also allowed graders to easily see what needed to be graded and get those grades back to students. Also, administrators and teachers of the classes were able to use Moodle to keep track of where students were in class progress. Using Moodle provided transparency and clarity that had not existed before. People knew what they needed to do to succeed in classes, and administrators could see who was succeeding and who needed more coaching and help.
Read this authenticated review
Marianna Rader profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I work at a community college. Moodle is used by all instructors here. Administrators also use Moodle for gathering information from faculty. Moodle is the platform that we use to teach our online courses. We also use it for face-to-face classes to post and grade assignments, exams, and quizzes. Additionally, Moodle has an easy to use grade book that is linked to assignments and exams so it takes out the extra step. I also use Moodle to take attendance and to monitor a student's progress in my courses.
Read Marianna Rader's full review
Kyle Moninger profile photo
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I was a part of a committee that reviewed Moodle as a potential adoption for the university's new learning management system. We found that our current system was being under-utilized and lacked a lot of functionality we needed. For the sake of consistency, the university wanted to adopt one platform to be used across every college and department. During our trial period of Moodle, we thought the system was very user-friendly and provided the uniformity we needed.
Read Kyle Moninger's full review
Christopher Power profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Currently, Moodle is being used in order to improve our workflow and efficiency of education. At Francis Lewis High School we utilize Moodle in order to increase enrichment for students, and make streamline the workload for educators. The Moodle platform is being used by a department with more than 200 students, with 3 fully developed curriculum and 3 educators. The problem this platform addresses is the need for students to be able to pace themselves and control more of their learning process. Students are able to follow the curriculum laid out from their home, their phone, their laptops, and from any smart wifi connected device. Teachers can upload lessons and content very easily, as students are also able to access all content approved by the teacher. Students can submit work online to the teachers from any device, making it very simple to assign work and grade work. This improves education for all students, which is the goal of implementing new tech.
Read Christopher Power's full review
Suleman Ahmad profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We provide support for senior citizens to perform their routine tasks smoothly. There is a feature to take assessments for senior residents so we have molded the Quiz feature to fulfill the requirements.
Read Suleman Ahmad's full review
No photo available
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Moodle is being used both within our academic department for academic and extension activities, as well as by the organization as a whole. It addresses online instruction/distance education needs, including housing electronic materials in an organized way for specific users/individuals. It is used for academic courses, trainings, workshops, and other education needs.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

My organization (in the field of education) has used Moodle for the past 13 years. We are using it for our course delivery. The academics use it to create learning activities and our distance learners use it to engage with their teachers and peers.
Read this authenticated review
Andrea Samadi profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have been using Moodle (since 2014) at Achieveit360.org as our membership area to host our online courses for the K-12 school market in character, leadership and social and emotional learning (for students and educators). We did purchase the Lambda Theme and had some help to customize this theme to make it look better, but the basic themes that come free are still much better looking now than they were 5 years ago. We are able to host as many online courses as we would like with videos, audio, and online PDF worksheets and anyone can access these materials quickly and easily. There is also a Mobile app for those who would like to access the materials this way.
Read Andrea Samadi's full review
Justin Roodman profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Moodle as part of a SaaS offering for clients. Specifically, our platform offers light duty work for injured employees who cannot return to their regular jobs due to temporary physical restrictions. We use Moodle to provide safety training coursework to these individuals. Moodle allows us to implement a variety of media into the courses; including audio, video, and HTML5 activities. Moodle supports scoring and reporting for each user. We have customized the reporting and also connected Moodle to our WordPress site through a custom integration.
Read Justin Roodman's full review
No photo available
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are currently using Moodle in an atypical fashion at our institution. While Moodle is a full scale Learning Management System, we are not using it for the entire set of features it entails. We have another Learning Management System for managing our courses (both online coursework and face to face) but we use Moodle for integrating with our other systems to manage the assessment work associated with program reviews and accreditation. A single department manages Moodle, however the entire teaching faculty at our institution makes use of the product since assessment touches every program.
Read this authenticated review
Zee Gimon profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I have been using Moodle mostly as a student at EuNC, but recently I have been helping the new teachers get the hang of the system and find out its opportunities. I love Moodle for having a web version as well as a mobile version because it helps me study wherever I am (especially during long commutes) and it's easy to use for the teachers as well because there are numerous features for various needs (for example, you can set other students' forum posts to show up only after you've created a post of your own as a student, therefore minimizing the temptation to read what others have written first and only then writing your own answer).
Read Zee Gimon's full review
No photo available
May 21, 2018

Choose Moodle

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Moodle is the main LMS on campus. It is used as a landing board for instructional courses, storing online trainings, accessing job aid material, viewing panopto videos, etc.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Moodle is the learning management system for our entire campus of around 1300 students and 100 faculties. All courses taught are created within Moodle, and Moodle provides an online space for faculty to share content and expectations, communicate with students, engage students in online discussions, and provide grades and feedback to students.
Read this authenticated review
Timothy Wenson profile photo
September 16, 2016

Former Moodle user

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

At our medium-size public university, we used it first as a secondary LMS in a pilot phase and then for 2 full years as our primary LMS. We have since migrated back to Blackboard. We used it to provide course shells for all courses on campus during the years it was our primary LMS.
Read Timothy Wenson's full review
Kevin David Swagler II profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Moodle is being used across the agency to develop and deliver education to all staff. In the coming months, with an ecommerce integration, we will be using Moodle to deliver education to volunteer staff and external partners.
Read Kevin David Swagler II's full review
Helen Ware profile photo
September 30, 2015

Moodle at McNeese

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Moodle is being used across our university by all of our instructors. They are geared toward putting their syllabus up in each of their courses. We have approximately 2500 courses that run in the summer and in the fall. We also use it exclusively for our web courses for our adult learning programs. We do have the business problem of the budget that it addressed. It is an open-source management system which is basically free for our university to use. We were paying nearly $60,000 for the prior learning management system.
Read Helen Ware's full review
Robin Sargent profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

At AmericanCybersystems we use Moodle as our training portal. We load all of our online training courses, our quick reference guides, our knowledge base articles, and our instructor led courses into the Moodle platform. Our training department is very small with only three members: the VP of HR, the Director of Training (me), and an Instructional Designer/Trainer. However, we are creating training at a fast clip and need a learning management system (LMS) that can keep up with the amount of content we want to put out, track the learners, and display the information in a clear and useful way.

American Cybersystems is an international staffing and solutions company. This means we have an accounting department, a billing department, vendor managers, recruiters, salespeople, customer service associates, and a solutions group. Our training department is responsible for the learning and development of the entire organization. There are many different skill sets that have to be taught and therefore there are several different mediums our training department likes to use in order to maximize the training effectiveness. Moodle has several different supports for all the different learning objects we like to use.
Read Robin Sargent's full review
Ted Burke profile photo
September 15, 2015

Moodle 2.8 Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Every course at the college receives a Moodle shell. Moodle is used extensively by 85%-90% of our faculty, and minimally by the rest. 100% of our student body uses Moodle for their courses. All new hires attend a workshop on using Moodle and the expectations of the college that everyone be at least a minimal user.
Read Ted Burke's full review
Stephen Lackey profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

At my prior college, Moodle was used as the Course Management System, somewhat in conjunction with Campus Technology's CampusCruiser email/courseware offering. The two systems were not integrated, requiring a duplication of content. Both Moodle and Campus Technology offered online file storage and online calendar. CampusCruiser served also as email, in conjunction with the usual PIM stuff somewhat integrated (a calendar, tasks, email, contacts). Moodle had online file storage but only in connection with a specific class. Content shared between multiple sections of the same course required duplication, manually importing each file. This overlap typically caused confusion among students and instructors alike, creating even less consistency between courses and instructors than a typical LMS alone.

Many Moodle features were useful, including the ability to stage content with MultiMarkdown or plain text formatting. Other products often present either a MSWord-type interface or a raw HTML editor. AFAIK, Markdown content wasn't directly uploadable and converted, but had to be composed in (or cut/paste into) a text edit window.

Moodle has a number of open source modules that looked interesting, but I have not directly used them. These include integration with the content management system Drupal. Moodle's weakest point would seem to be the management of content, something which is readily solved with a CMS. In my opinion, a learning management system without adequate Content Management support somewhat defeats the purpose of a true LMS, since content can easily go stale without adequate management tools to update and leverage content across multiple courses.

Rubrics are present, but the management tools for rubrics are inadequate. Most grading criteria should be reusable across courses and instructors, for consistency. Using rubrics in Moodle seems to result in their being duplicated for each assignment, which became unmanageable across 4 classes with a couple dozen graded tasks per course. Rubric management for assessing instruction quality does not appear to be present in the default installation, but would be strongly encouraged. You do use consistent criteria for grading each assignment, right?

More advanced LMS features such as adaptive release for learning content, SCORM integration are present, but awkward to use. Moodle isn't a content creation or content management tool, and default integration is cut and paste. Adaptive release and SCORM content are very prohibitive without effective tools for creating content.

Like most open source projects, Moodle is free, as in the same sense as "free puppies". For a budget-strapped organization, free is very appealing. Keep in mind that the product doesn't run itself, so adequate staff skill is required to keep it running. The real value of Moodle would seem to be in customization to integrate with the organization's existing IT assets. If you don't mind learning an API and writing PHP code, there is an extensive amount of customization possible, that commercial products like Blackboard do not allow. If adopted, Moodle support and maintenance must still be budgeted.

For a non-education sector use, I believe Moodle is still a valuable asset, if used in conjunction with a content management system and adequate staff support. Alternative tools I've previewed seem to be excessive and less economical in terms of delivering instructional content. Internal training is necessary in all organizations, and an inch thick employee manual isn't always the best way to accomplish this. But, building useful learning content is a skill in itself, but a valuable one to develop.
Read Stephen Lackey's full review
Samantha Blevins profile photo
November 19, 2015

A review of Moodle

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Moodle is currently being used by our department to manage faculty development opportunities across campus. While we have not adopted it across the whole university it is a helpful, free tool to ensure our faculty have access to the opportunities they need in order to continue their own teaching and learning endeavors.
Read Samantha Blevins's full review
Pamela Akins profile photo
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use it to manage the courses that we deploy through our website for professional development of our members, mostly librarians. It is used by a dozen divisions of our organization. It enables librarians to participate in professional development remotely.
Read Pamela Akins's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Course authoring (13)
8.1
Course catalog or library (14)
8.0
Player/Portal (13)
8.1
Learning content (12)
8.7
Mobile friendly (14)
7.3
Progress tracking & certifications (15)
7.7
Assignments (15)
7.9
Compliance management (12)
7.3
Learning administration (14)
8.2
Learning reporting & analytics (13)
7.7
Social learning (13)
7.2

About Moodle

Moodle is an open source Learning Management System used by educational institutions. The product is administered by the Moodle Project which is led by Moodle HQ in Australia.
Categories:  Learning Management

Moodle Integrations

Moodle Competitors