Moodle

Moodle

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.2 out of 100
Moodle

Overview

Recent Reviews

Learning with Moodle

8 out of 10
February 12, 2020
We utilize Moodle as a way to deliver professional development for staff and faculty. We are able to participate in PD with colleagues …
Continue reading

You get what you pay for

5 out of 10
January 24, 2020
Moodle is what it is. It's cost-effective and it gets the job done. You are not getting a Cadilac when you get Moodle and can find a lot …
Continue reading

Moodle to save the day

9 out of 10
September 13, 2019
Moodle was used with our students to provide a platform where they could track their upcoming assignments as well as complete and upload …
Continue reading

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 11 features

Assignments (23)

8.6
86%

Learning administration (21)

8.3
83%

Progress tracking & certifications (22)

7.5
75%

Course catalog or library (20)

7.3
73%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Moodle, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Starter

$110

On Premise
per year

Mini

$200

On Premise
per year

Small

$370

On Premise
per year

Entry-level set up fee?

  • Setup fee optional
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://moodle.com/pricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Starting price (does not include set up fee)

  • $10 per month

Features Scorecard

Learning Management

7.7
77%

Product Details

What is Moodle?

Moodle LMS is an open source learning management system that can be customised for any teaching requirements. No matter the size or type of learning required, use the plugins and integrations to make it 100 % adapted to your needs. Improve your teaching and student outcomes with a feature-rich e-learning platform that saves time and provides more active learning experiences for your students.

Moodle is the open source learning management system with security and privacy features used by hundreds of millions of learners worldwide. Designed in collaboration with Moodle’s global community, Moodle LMS is designed to enable educators in any sector to create flexible, safe, accessible and highly engaging online spaces for their learners.

Moodle Features

Learning Management Features

  • Supported: Course authoring
  • Supported: Course catalog or library
  • Supported: Player/Portal
  • Supported: Learning content
  • Supported: Mobile friendly
  • Supported: Progress tracking & certifications
  • Supported: Assignments
  • Supported: Compliance management
  • Supported: Learning administration
  • Supported: Learning reporting & analytics
  • Supported: eLearning
  • Supported: Assessments
  • Supported: Live online learning
  • Supported: In-person learning
  • Supported: Micro-learning
  • Supported: Video learning
  • Supported: eCommerce
  • Supported: AICC-compliant
  • Supported: SCORM-compliant
  • Supported: Tin Can (xAPI) compliant
  • Supported: Social learning

Moodle Screenshots

Teacher ViewStudent DashboardInside a courseCompetenciesAdd a Quiz

Moodle Videos

What is Moodle LMS?
What's new in Moodle 3.11?

Moodle Integrations

Moodle Competitors

Moodle Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, SaaS
Operating SystemsWindows, Linux, Mac
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web
Supported Countriesworldwide
Supported LanguagesAll languages

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Moodle?

Moodle is an open source Learning Management System used by educational institutions. The product is administered by the Moodle Project which is led by Moodle HQ in Australia.

How much does Moodle cost?

Moodle starts at $10.

What is Moodle's best feature?

Reviewers rate Learning content highest, with a score of 9.5.

Who uses Moodle?

The most common users of Moodle are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees) and the Higher Education industry.

Reviews

(1-25 of 59)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Joe Foran | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Moodle was put in place to augment our existing training systems, which are two different LMS systems for two very different divisions of the company. Moodle was the software that centralized administrative and other cross-divisional trainings and allowed us to reach the entire company rather than duplicating work in two different systems. Ultimately one of the existing LMSs was chosen as the standard for the whole company, negating the need for Moodle, but while it was in operation it was a good product that serviced our needs admirably.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Moodle in an atypical fashion at our institution. While Moodle is a full scale Learning Management System, we are not using it for the entire set of features it entails. We have another Learning Management System for managing our courses (both online coursework and face to face) but we use Moodle for integrating with our other systems to manage the assessment work associated with program reviews and accreditation. A single department manages Moodle, however the entire teaching faculty at our institution makes use of the product since assessment touches every program.
April 01, 2021

Moodle for everyone

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Moodle is the sole learning management system used at our organization and has been compared with most of the other popular systems. The only near rival is Google Classroom, and it is not particularly close. Moodle is flexible enough to suit most needs except for synchronous audio or video interaction.
Philip Mojares | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Moodle is the online Learning Management System(LMS) highly utilized in our school to provide quality online learning with our students. Our school/organization is implementing this software for more than 7 years now because of its usability, functionality, usability, performance, and adaptability. These are the qualities of this software that we observe while interacting with the system. Even before the suspension of the class across the US, our school is already into blended learning, and Moodle is one of the remote learning software that provides students and teachers an avenue to collaborate and interact. Teaching and learning are more interesting and engaging because Moodle has different features that both teachers and learners enjoy using. As a teacher, it is easier for me to upload and download lecture notes, monitor the students' progress, grade students' activities, set restrictions on the online quiz and test, back up files and many other related online teaching and learning activities. Moodle has also very useful reporting tool that helps me to provide immediate feedback to my students.
February 12, 2020

Learning with Moodle

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Moodle as a way to deliver professional development for staff and faculty. We are able to participate in PD with colleagues from around the world. It also allows us to work with other buildings in our district without having to be outside of our classrooms losing valuable instruction time.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a student, I used Moodle while pursing an executive MBA from one of the top B-schools in India. It facilitates the course conduct by connecting students and faculty, acts as an online platform keeping everything in one place, consolidates all the communication exchanged and is accessible from anywhere across the world.
January 24, 2020

You get what you pay for

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Moodle is what it is. It's cost-effective and it gets the job done. You are not getting a Cadilac when you get Moodle and can find a lot more options when you look at other LMS's but it gets the job done. Overall, if you are looking for something that will not break the bank and will deliver training to learners, its the way to go.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company is one that deals with the transportation industry, namely helping staff and recruit drivers for trucking companies. In the process of doing so, we have set up learning and training modules for drivers in order to evaluate their safety, experience level, skill sets, and other factors that might influence their ability to be hired or placed with a company. We use Moodle in order to educate as well as to pre-screen drivers to see what company or region they might be best for.
January 24, 2020

Moodle for the win!

Josh Musson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Moodle to chat across the company from manager to employee. We use it to post newsletters and other articles that our company is mentioned in. We also try to use it to complete tasks and have constant updates as to what people are doing with the certain tasks they are assigned and working on. It is definitely a useful too that we try to use as often as we can. It is a great tool for communication from the bottom of the company all the way to the CEO for him to address his employees. It is being used across our entire organization. It really makes it easy to address fellow colleagues pretty easily, whether its HR memos or news articles. It is a great application and I definitely recommend using this platform not just at work but in other aspects as well.
October 29, 2019

Doodling with Moodle

Grant Adendorff | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used as an LMS in my organization to conduct and assess system training in particular. It was used to implement an SAP system implementation within the organization. Assessment of competence was conducted using the platform to drive training and adoption.
September 13, 2019

Moodle to save the day

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Moodle was used with our students to provide a platform where they could track their upcoming assignments as well as complete and upload them online. Using Moodle also allowed graders to easily see what needed to be graded and get those grades back to students. Also, administrators and teachers of the classes were able to use Moodle to keep track of where students were in class progress. Using Moodle provided transparency and clarity that had not existed before. People knew what they needed to do to succeed in classes, and administrators could see who was succeeding and who needed more coaching and help.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Moodle is being used both within our academic department for academic and extension activities, as well as by the organization as a whole. It addresses online instruction/distance education needs, including housing electronic materials in an organized way for specific users/individuals. It is used for academic courses, trainings, workshops, and other education needs.
Marianna Rader | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I work at a community college. Moodle is used by all instructors here. Administrators also use Moodle for gathering information from faculty. Moodle is the platform that we use to teach our online courses. We also use it for face-to-face classes to post and grade assignments, exams, and quizzes. Additionally, Moodle has an easy to use grade book that is linked to assignments and exams so it takes out the extra step. I also use Moodle to take attendance and to monitor a student's progress in my courses.
Christopher Power | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, Moodle is being used in order to improve our workflow and efficiency of education. At Francis Lewis High School we utilize Moodle in order to increase enrichment for students, and make streamline the workload for educators. The Moodle platform is being used by a department with more than 200 students, with 3 fully developed curriculum and 3 educators. The problem this platform addresses is the need for students to be able to pace themselves and control more of their learning process. Students are able to follow the curriculum laid out from their home, their phone, their laptops, and from any smart wifi connected device. Teachers can upload lessons and content very easily, as students are also able to access all content approved by the teacher. Students can submit work online to the teachers from any device, making it very simple to assign work and grade work. This improves education for all students, which is the goal of implementing new tech.
Andrea Samadi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Moodle (since 2014) at Achieveit360.org as our membership area to host our online courses for the K-12 school market in character, leadership and social and emotional learning (for students and educators). We did purchase the Lambda Theme and had some help to customize this theme to make it look better, but the basic themes that come free are still much better looking now than they were 5 years ago. We are able to host as many online courses as we would like with videos, audio, and online PDF worksheets and anyone can access these materials quickly and easily. There is also a Mobile app for those who would like to access the materials this way.
Justin Roodman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Moodle as part of a SaaS offering for clients. Specifically, our platform offers light duty work for injured employees who cannot return to their regular jobs due to temporary physical restrictions. We use Moodle to provide safety training coursework to these individuals. Moodle allows us to implement a variety of media into the courses; including audio, video, and HTML5 activities. Moodle supports scoring and reporting for each user. We have customized the reporting and also connected Moodle to our WordPress site through a custom integration.
Zee Gimon | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have been using Moodle mostly as a student at EuNC, but recently I have been helping the new teachers get the hang of the system and find out its opportunities. I love Moodle for having a web version as well as a mobile version because it helps me study wherever I am (especially during long commutes) and it's easy to use for the teachers as well because there are numerous features for various needs (for example, you can set other students' forum posts to show up only after you've created a post of your own as a student, therefore minimizing the temptation to read what others have written first and only then writing your own answer).