Moodle Reviews

178 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-16 of 16)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 20, 2020
Philip Mojares | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
I can consider Moodle as one of the pioneer in providing online learning. Before the introduction of other Learning Management Software, Moodle has been in place already in the field of education and so I believe that Moodle is definitely one of a kind software that all teachers should try and utilize in making sure that the online learning is a good experience.
Read Philip Mojares's full review
September 24, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

8
The rating given is for the excellent features of Moodle.

- Course and User Management.
- Cohorts Management.
- Collaborative tools such as Chat, Forum, and Discussions.
- Open-source.
- Easy integration with 3rd party applications, and with custom plugins.
- Assessment Management - Moodle can accommodate more than 12 types of assessment types.
- Easy hosting options - on-premise / on cloud.
Read this authenticated review
February 11, 2020
Stacey Broughton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

6
Because Moodle is used by so many people and organisations globally there are great forums that can answer almost any question you might have about its functions. My organisation has used Moodle suppliers in the past but the support for any enquiry is very expensive. If you are a good self learner you can get around any support needs with free online sources.
Read Stacey Broughton's full review
January 23, 2020
Jake Tully | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

9
Any times that issues arose with Moodle, which was not frequent, customer support was incredibly helpful and punctual. I always felt as though my concerns were being addressed with the utmost care and that any service representatives I spoke to truly understood what I was having issues with and in turn they worked quickly to help me resolve them.
Read Jake Tully's full review
January 23, 2020
Josh Musson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

8
I give it this rating because it is good but I think it could be easier to use and have more tutorials. I really like the functionality of the platform and all of the different things you can do across the board. But there are a couple of things that I think could make it a little easier for new users to master and make it easier for them. There is a learning curve for using Moodle and it does take some time to get used to it. Once you do there are plenty of different aspects that you can use this platform for.
Read Josh Musson's full review
February 12, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

9
The support for Moodle is good. You are given the information needed to help you resolve any issues and problems. They are also good at reaching out to user communities to build those connections. They are willing to listen to suggestions and haven't just shot them down or said no.
Read this authenticated review
January 30, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

5
As a student, I don't have write access on Moodle, for any technical support we need to notify to our student SPOC in the Institute.
Read this authenticated review
January 24, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

1
This depends on who you buy it through and who is hosting it. Alternatively, you can also spend a lot of time online learning how to do the stuff on your own. There is a wealth of information online from people who have done it in the past. You just have to be determined to find it.
Read this authenticated review
September 13, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

5
Being open-source, there is not really much support from Moodle itself. There is no number to call to get immediate help. However, there is a huge community with wiki pages, discussion boards, etc. where one can find the answers needed. Personally, I have been able to solve any issue I've had through online searches.
Read this authenticated review
September 15, 2015
Ted Burke | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
We have never had an issue go unresolved and we have never had to escalate any problem. The Tech Service team does all of that on their end.
Read Ted Burke's full review
July 08, 2015
Mitchell Baker | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

8
We use Moodlerooms. I know they work with a triage method but sometimes the things you feel important is not to them. I also feel larger institutions (more $) can get a higher priority.
Read Mitchell Baker's full review
June 04, 2014
Elizabeth Dalton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

6
Moodle is open source, and must be evaluated in that context, but one also has to provide a fair comparison to competing products with commercial backing. Support varies depending on the component of Moodle. Bug reports in Moodle Core that affect security or stability are dealt with promptly. Functionality requests or features not working smoothly may or may not be addressed, depending on whether the functionality desired matches the "vision" of Moodle HQ. The user community provides excellent support for initial installation and configuration, but more complex questions may go unanswered, unless they are noticed by someone who happens to know the answer. The support forum feature at the Moodle site (the same feature used within Moodle itself) does not provide granular subscription to topic discussions, apparently by design, and Moodle HQ seems resistant to changing this feature.
Read Elizabeth Dalton's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Course authoring (20)
7.9
Course catalog or library (21)
7.7
Player/Portal (21)
7.5
Learning content (20)
8.5
Mobile friendly (21)
6.7
Progress tracking & certifications (23)
6.7
Assignments (24)
8.1
Compliance management (18)
7.0
Learning administration (22)
7.8
Learning reporting & analytics (20)
7.3
Social learning (21)
6.7

What is Moodle?

Since 2001, Moodle is an open source platform that enables educators to develop and manage courses online. Moodle is a modular system based on plugins, which are like lego blocks that users put together to build whatever they want.

There are plugins for different kinds of content, and plugins for collaborative activities. As an example Moodle's Workshop plugin manages a full peer assessment process, so users can get hundreds of students accurately grading each other’s assignments, and save time. Users can add some tracking and reports and the ability to add more plugins from the community, or even write one's own, as well as build whole education environments.

The Moodle project is run by Moodle HQ from Perth, Australia, but would not be what it is without a huge community of users. Its community works together and help each other on moodle.org (itself a Moodle site), where the vendor states it has taken Moodle’s founding principles of feedback and collaboration online and practise it in the Moodle forums, wiki-based Moodle Documentation, Moodle Tracker for bugs and new features, our course-sharing site Moodle.net, and Moodle Translation portal (which means Moodle is available in over 100 languages!).
Categories:  Learning Management

Moodle Features

Learning Management Features

Has featureCourse authoring
Has featureCourse catalog or library
Has featurePlayer/Portal
Has featureLearning content
Has featureMobile friendly
Has featureProgress tracking & certifications
Has featureAssignments
Has featureCompliance management
Has featureLearning administration
Has featureLearning reporting & analytics
Has featureeLearning
Has featureAssessments
Has featureLive online learning
Has featureIn-person learning
Has featureMicro-learning
Has featureVideo learning
Has featureeCommerce
Has featureAICC-compliant
Has featureSCORM-compliant
Has featureTin Can (xAPI) compliant
Has featureSocial learning

Moodle Video

Moodle Competitors

Moodle Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Starter$114per year
Mini$210per year
Small$381per year
Medium$858per year
Large1,525per year

Moodle Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Countries:worldwide
Supported Languages: All languages