Moz Link Explorer Reviews

20 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 5.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-6 of 6)

Scott Walker | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

I miss Open Site Explorer

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Open Site Explorer to gain valuable SEO information for our clients. The tool was fantastic to get an overview of the sites linking to your website (or web page) and get valuable metrics like a Page or Site Authority number. It also gave SEOs a game plan on what to work on to get the site better searchable performance. Removing spam links, building authoritative links, expanding content or getting better authority scores, finding and removing broken links, etc.
  • Estimating Page Authority and Site Authority
  • Listing Linking Domains and Pages
  • It was outdated
  • It featured many disproven metrics
As much as I'd love to recommend Open Site Explorer, Moz has discontinued the program and replaced it with Link Explorer. Though Link Explorer offers some of the same information and has more updated metrics, the old Open Site Explorer also gave more site-wide information that was useful for meta analysis and competitive metrics.
Read Scott Walker's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2020

Great Backlink Management Tool within Moz

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Moz Link Explorer is a great tool for assessing a website’s top pages in terms of inbound links, the website’s overall backlink profile, the number and quality of linking domains, the types of anchor texts used to link to the website, as well as similar links between the website and competitors' websites. It’s a good SEO tool.
  • Moz Link Explorer has a straightforward and easy to use interface. It’s very simple to navigate and understand the data.
  • The anchor text tool gives you an idea of the most widely used anchor texts other websites use when linking to your site. It can raise a red flag when too many sites are linking to you using exact match keyword anchor texts.
  • It would be helpful to incorporate an in-app messaging tool for removing spammy links. After the links are added to a tracking list, this messaging tool can be used to reach out to websites to remove spammy links. And all of the progress will be tracked within Link Explorer.
If you would like a high-level overview of how healthy your backlink profile is, Link Explorer is a simple, straightforward and easy to understand tool for that. You can easily get a sense of how many backlinks, and what types of backlinks your website has and what types of anchor texts are used to link to your website. You can keep track of new and lost links over time as well as group spammy links in a folder. Furthermore, you can compare your backlink profile with that of other websites such as a competitor’s domain.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 16, 2019

Analyze your inbound links with ease

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Open Site Explorer (now renamed by Moz to Link Explorer) is used by our marketing team. We use it to improve our SEO performance and understand our inbound link profile. It shows us who links to us (and the value of that link), which keywords we rank for, and our linking progress over time (there's a handy bar chart which shows how many links you gained and lost over time).
  • It links in with Moz’s domain authority concept, which we use as our main metric of how well our SEO works.
  • It shows you which sites link to you, and ranks to them by domain authority. This helps us understand where our best inbound links come from, and to hopefully target those valuable partners for more links.
  • It shows you which keywords you rank for, your position on the search engine results pages for each keyword, and how difficult it is to rank for those keywords. We use this to spot where we rank on the second or third page for medium difficulty keywords. We’ll then write content to target those keywords.
  • You need to subscribe to Moz Pro to get all features, which is pricey if you aren’t using the tool regularly.
  • I’ve found that competitor tools give larger lists of inbound links.
  • You’ll need some understanding of how SEO works to maximize the tool. Would non-SEO specialists understand the difference between domain authority and page authority, or the difference between follow back, and non-follow backlinks? Moz offers lots of training resources, but it takes time to learn what you need.
Open Site Explorer is one tool which marketers use to improve their SEO performance. It highlights strengths and weaknesses in your inbound link profile, which helps you to improve your content strategy and public relations efforts. But, it is only one tool. It does not specialize in other SEO tasks, such as on-page technical optimization.
Read this authenticated review
Jeremy Waszak | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 02, 2018

Quickly Research Backlinks & Identify Link Building Opportunities with OSE

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I first started using Open Site Explorer 5 years ago when I began my career in SEO. I still use it to this day as an aid in backlink analysis and the development of link building strategies. Open Site Explorer gives me the ability to evaluate not only a client's inbound links but competitors as well which is helpful. Some metrics from OSE include Domain Authority, Page Authority, link root domains, and total inbound links.
  • Gives you a quick overview of your client's backlink health.
  • Easily compare your website's backlink profile vs. competitors.
  • Determine additional link opportunities to help grow inbound links to your site.
  • Lack of instant export of data. Adds to a queue rather than being instant.
  • Advanced reports are needed for larger websites and come at the cost of a subscription to Moz Pro.
A quick, user-friendly, backlink overview of your client's website vs. competitors. While Open Site Explorer goes into some detail, there are better tools for backlink analysis such as Majestic and Ahrefs.
Read Jeremy Waszak's full review
Amber Schlosser | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 14, 2015

Used A Lot & A Valuable Tool

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Open Site Explorer to get insight on what types of inbound links our competition had and what types of links our websites needed. For new websites that our company had, it helped us develop link building strategies; what types of sites to ask for links and how to attract new links.
  • Ability to just see inbound links
  • Makes comparing our links with the competitions' very easy
  • Can export results to Excel
  • Shows keyword that the link is coming from
  • I wish it had suggestions of similar sites that your competition has
I feel like it is better suited for a company who is interested in a link building strategy. If you already know the types of websites you would like to get links from, along with the keywords, then this program might not be for you.
Read Amber Schlosser's full review
Susan (MacKay) Sisler | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2015

Open Site Explorer: OSE a must for SEO

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Search Guru has used Open Site Explorer since Yahoo! Site Explorer merged with Bing Webmaster Tools in November 2011, and we could no longer get competing sites' link data. Open Site Explorer is used mostly by our technical services and analytics reporting teams. It allows us to examine the quality of clients' and competitors' link profiles, including the number of inbound links to the home page and overall site, the number of unique linking domains and the link anchor text. In my opinion the most valuable metric in Open Site Explorer is Domain Authority, or ranking potential of a site based on an algorithmic combination of link metrics. We rely heavily on this number to gauge a site's strength in the search engines compared to other sites in the same space.
  • Easy comparisons of link metrics side by side among 6 sites (target site plus 5 competing sites)
  • Allows filtering of links by link equity, followed and redirected links from both external sites and internal pages
  • Provides an export to Excel for examination of links and easy sorting
  • While Open Site Explorer shows a Domain Authority score for an entire domain and a Page Authority score for a specific URL, it would be helpful to have a Subdomain Authority score for an entire subdomain of pages
  • Excel reports can take a while to be generated depending on how many are in the queue
Moz's Open Site Explorer is a must-have in the SEO professional's toolbox, while an inexperienced user would likely need training to understand how to use this tool. Many important metrics are available within the free version of Open Site Explorer, and the comments in this review have been based solely on the free version. Upgrading to the fee-based Moz Pro unlocks additional features and a suite of tools.
Read Susan (MacKay) Sisler's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Keyword analysis (2)
7.0
Backlink management (5)
9.2
SERP ranking tracking (3)
6.4
Page grader (3)
6.0
Competitive analysis (5)
7.7
Site audit / diagnostics (4)
8.8
Site recommendations (3)
5.3
Task management (4)
5.3
Local SEO (3)
5.4
Social SEO (3)
8.6
Mobile SEO (3)
5.4
Global SEO (2)
10.0
Multi-domain support (3)
9.1
Integration with web analytics tools (2)
7.0

About Moz Link Explorer

Link Explorer from Moz is a link building utility, replacing the former Open Site Explorer. Moz describes Link Explorer as a highly accurate link tool that lets users check the backlink profile and Domain Authority of any site.

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Moz Link Explorer Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No