TrustRadius
MySQL is a popular open-source relational and embedded database, now owned by Oracle.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/L3/J9/LB7FNG80WF07.pngWant to know why MySQL?MySQL was used by the IT department at the place I worked before. We used it mainly to add, access or manage any data in our student database. I worked at a center where students would come in and take their tests online. Whenever there were any issues with a student's test, it was always easy for us to use MySQL to retrieve his data from the database and resolve the issue.,Quick processing. MySQL always ensure optimum speeds, and unique memory caches for enhanced performance. Reliability. It has features like consistent, isolated, durable transaction support. It also guarantees instant deadlock identification. Flexibility of use. It makes maintenance, debugging and updates fast and easy while also enhancing user experience.,Does not really support larger databases as efficiently as smaller ones. When the data grows, only the simple and indexed query gets good performance, however, a complex query gets comparatively slow, even sometimes unable to fulfill the request. A few stability issues. There have been some cases when MySQL works perfectly fine for 1-2 weeks and then it just suddenly crashes. Poor performance scaling. SQL does not support auto sharding, so you may need to maintain your nodes manually.,8,High scalability Lowers TCO Offers exceptional security,Not a member of any user groups,Microsoft SQL Server and PostgreSQL,PhpStorm, Microsoft 365 Business, Microsoft AccessGreat simplicityMySQL is a great database that is used to store data from the users of our applications. It is very reliable and fast, and does not have any downtime. The software engineering department recommends to use MySQL as it is simple to implement and get started.,It is open source and easily available MySQL went from 4 CPU threads to 64 CPU threads, which doubled the number of concurrent connections The simplicity in use and startup is great. MySQL 5.6, split one of the crucial locks in the MySQL Server, the LOCK_open, which improved the top performance.,Big users for example Linux are moving to MariaDB which does not look good on MySQL There are no patches being released or public roadmaps provided for it. You may spend a lot of time and effort to get MySQL to do things that other systems do automatically, like create incremental backups.,7,Being open source, ROI is a definite positive. The simplicity in use in applications is a great plus, and is a great plus to getting applications up and running fast,Not a member of any user groups,MariaDB,WordPressMySQL is MySQL, none of your SQLWe have an internal portal to store the monitoring of live systems. Data from those tools are stored in MySQL and then projected over our internal monitoring dashboard.,Ease of language Dynamic in terms of different data types Efficient for pulling large data Integration with other tools is easy,Easy to write queries Integration is easy with other systems It’s highly scalable,8,It saves time on integration with other systems Faster and multiple records processing Easy availability on support docs saved time,Not a member of any user groups,DB2,DB2, Cassandra, Oracle API ManagerMySQL is my dreamMySQL is being used as an automation tool to store health metrics data for various systems. It’s being used by a department and we use it to show the health metrics data.,This is a very good relational database and very fast database. Easy to maintain Very easy to learn and develop use cases using this. Very good for storing metrics data.,It can be improved to store time series data Joins are very heavy and not easy to troubleshoot Should have catching concepts,10,Easy to manage, and developers were able to adopt this easily Difficult to use for time series data,Not a member of any user groups,,dbForge Studio for Oracle, dotConnect for Oracle, ADP Enterprise eTIMEsoftware engineerMy group is the performance engineering group for Data Domain. In particular, we provide the infrastructure for other teams to do the performance analysis. We have thousands of machines in our infrastructure on different cloud vendors. When they run the performance, we collect the logs, and write the performance data to MySQL. Then the analysts will query and look at the performance data. SQL queries are formulated to perform a wide range of tasks, including maintaining and analyzing structured data. Though the use of MySQL could vary from one person to other, as well as business requirements, some of the common applications include: Defines database user privilegesAdd, edit or delete data recordsConnecting or joining data records that comes from multiple tablesEditing or creating the data dictionary of definitionsLocking or manipulating data tables This standard tool helps users to manage a variety of functionalities, such as record management, quality control and data analysis. With MySQL, you can easily complete all communications with or within the databases.,MySQL has the structured data that is organized into a table that is easy to manage Everyone is familiar with the syntax Performance is very good,Need to support unstructured data Need ability to scale,9,Positive: Everyone knows about SQL Easy to develop Good performance,Not a member of any user groups,MongoDB,MongoDB, Cassandra
Unspecified
MySQL
622 Ratings
Score 8.0 out of 101
TRScore

MySQL Reviews

MySQL
622 Ratings
Score 8.0 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 622 vetted MySQL reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 53)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Sudha Govindaraju profile photo
October 24, 2018

User Review: "Want to know why MySQL?"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MySQL was used by the IT department at the place I worked before. We used it mainly to add, access or manage any data in our student database. I worked at a center where students would come in and take their tests online. Whenever there were any issues with a student's test, it was always easy for us to use MySQL to retrieve his data from the database and resolve the issue.
  • Quick processing. MySQL always ensure optimum speeds, and unique memory caches for enhanced performance.
  • Reliability. It has features like consistent, isolated, durable transaction support. It also guarantees instant deadlock identification.
  • Flexibility of use. It makes maintenance, debugging and updates fast and easy while also enhancing user experience.
  • Does not really support larger databases as efficiently as smaller ones. When the data grows, only the simple and indexed query gets good performance, however, a complex query gets comparatively slow, even sometimes unable to fulfill the request.
  • A few stability issues. There have been some cases when MySQL works perfectly fine for 1-2 weeks and then it just suddenly crashes.
  • Poor performance scaling. SQL does not support auto sharding, so you may need to maintain your nodes manually.
It offers significant cost savings compared to other database management systems, as it is open sourced. MySQL is known to be the most secure database management system used in applications like Wordpress, Drupal, etc.

MySQL is not very efficient when it comes to using it for a larger database, as the request may be terribly slow or sometimes incomplete. Also its functionality seems to be dependent on add-ons a lot.
Read Sudha Govindaraju's full review
benjamin nzoka profile photo
August 08, 2018

MySQL Review: "Great simplicity"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MySQL is a great database that is used to store data from the users of our applications. It is very reliable and fast, and does not have any downtime. The software engineering department recommends to use MySQL as it is simple to implement and get started.
  • It is open source and easily available
  • MySQL went from 4 CPU threads to 64 CPU threads, which doubled the number of concurrent connections
  • The simplicity in use and startup is great.
  • MySQL 5.6, split one of the crucial locks in the MySQL Server, the LOCK_open, which improved the top performance.
  • Big users for example Linux are moving to MariaDB which does not look good on MySQL
  • There are no patches being released or public roadmaps provided for it.
  • You may spend a lot of time and effort to get MySQL to do things that other systems do automatically, like create incremental backups.
The new MySQL is great for areas where one requires concurrent database connections from users. It is fast and easy to manipulate.
MySQL cannot be used to store data inside applications that are run on android mobile. Instead they have to use TinyDB or any other alternative in order to not lag the application.
Read benjamin nzoka's full review
Priti Asai / Thakkar profile photo
October 26, 2018

User Review: "MySQL is MySQL, none of your SQL"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have an internal portal to store the monitoring of live systems. Data from those tools are stored in MySQL and then projected over our internal monitoring dashboard.
  • Ease of language
  • Dynamic in terms of different data types
  • Efficient for pulling large data
  • Integration with other tools is easy
  • Easy to write queries
  • Integration is easy with other systems
  • It’s highly scalable
Easy to integrate the data for monitoring real user interaction, pulling from other log monitoring tools and saving to MySQL is easy and efficient. Storing and rendering geographic information is not as easy as should have been.
Read Priti Asai / Thakkar's full review
Sunil Agarwal profile photo
October 26, 2018

User Review: "MySQL is my dream"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MySQL is being used as an automation tool to store health metrics data for various systems. It’s being used by a department and we use it to show the health metrics data.
  • This is a very good relational database and very fast database.
  • Easy to maintain
  • Very easy to learn and develop use cases using this.
  • Very good for storing metrics data.
  • It can be improved to store time series data
  • Joins are very heavy and not easy to troubleshoot
  • Should have catching concepts
It’s well suited for storing catalog data and less suited to store time series data.
Read Sunil Agarwal's full review
Tuan Anh Nguyen profile photo
October 24, 2018

MySQL Review: "software engineer"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My group is the performance engineering group for Data Domain. In particular, we provide the infrastructure for other teams to do the performance analysis. We have thousands of machines in our infrastructure on different cloud vendors. When they run the performance, we collect the logs, and write the performance data to MySQL. Then the analysts will query and look at the performance data.

SQL queries are formulated to perform a wide range of tasks, including maintaining and analyzing structured data. Though the use of MySQL could vary from one person to other, as well as business requirements, some of the common applications include:
  • Defines database user privileges
  • Add, edit or delete data records
  • Connecting or joining data records that comes from multiple tables
  • Editing or creating the data dictionary of definitions
  • Locking or manipulating data tables

This standard tool helps users to manage a variety of functionalities, such as record management, quality control and data analysis. With MySQL, you can easily complete all communications with or within the databases.
  • MySQL has the structured data that is organized into a table that is easy to manage
  • Everyone is familiar with the syntax
  • Performance is very good
  • Need to support unstructured data
  • Need ability to scale
For MySQL
Pros:
  • Gives you the ability to host several databases on one server.
  • Uses tables to store data.
  • It has primary and foreign key constraints.
  • Uses indexes to sort data and speed up performance, and supports both desktop and web applications.
Cons: If there is unstructured data, it's very hard to create a table.
Read Tuan Anh Nguyen's full review
Benard Mutua profile photo
October 22, 2018

MySQL Review: "Reliability for free"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MySQL is a great software that comes in really handy when trying to solve where the data in a project should be stored on different bespoke systems. The high availability mastered in the creation of this software database is very good and is a great addition to our company's solutions.
  • The price is just right for small to medium enterprises and startups since it is free
  • The software has a lot of functionality
  • It can be integrated to work with other products
  • It takes a while for the user to get to do incremental backups for the software
  • It lacks inbuilt support for XML
  • The relational databases need some work done work
MySQL allows a user to select from a range of storage engines that enable you to change the functionality of the tool and handle data from different table types. The system is incredibly reliable and doesn’t hog resources. MySQL has an easy to use interface, and various commands such as batch commands that enables a user to process enormous amounts of data.
Read Benard Mutua's full review
No photo available
November 05, 2018

"MySQL Review"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use MySQL in AWS as a replacement for DynamoDB. We feel MySQL is pretty simple, lightweight and is suitable for our need. It is being used by several teams in the organization. It depends on the teams themselves to decide which database is best to use. It has been great so far.
  • Simple to develop
  • Powerful enough
  • Perfromance Scaling
Pretty good but not sure about performance scaling.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 26, 2018

User Review: "Quick MySQL StandUp & Testing!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MySQL allows us to quickly stand up temporary databases for test and non-enterprise solutions. This speed and efficiency allows for quicker Pilot and Proof of Concept trials before moving into full EDW.
  • Quick SQL Database standup
  • PoC Testing outside of EDW
  • Easy to use and implement free standing of our full enterprise environment.
  • None
Great for free standing quick DB standup for Pilot Testing and PoC
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 15, 2018

MySQL Review: "The pros definitely outweigh the cons!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across the whole organisation as it supports multiple platforms. Our employees have all the information they need in front of them in a compiled, organised manner.
  • Perfect for organisation and analysing data
  • Easy to install and use - very user-friendly interface
  • Easily understood documentation and great for having everything arranged in one place.
  • Doesn't support ARRAY and other more detailed data types.
  • It can be quite slow at times if it's processing large amounts of data.
  • The user help guides could be more indepth.
Even though My SQL does have it's cons, it also is the easiest software to use for data organisation and analytics.
Read this authenticated review
Joseph R. Sweeney profile photo
February 14, 2018

User Review: "MySQL, your SQL, everybody's SQL!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MySQL proved to be an extremely useful tool for my previous company when it came to database management and training those employees unfamiliar with it. We were not a database management heavy team, and we were also not integrating all of our database sources properly before introducing MySQL. MySQL provided the means by which we could easily incorporate many of the features that other database management systems use but were also able to test it out with its low cost (aka, free) and flexibility.
  • Ease of use since this is basically a sort of "starter" tool to get database management going.
  • Low cost - Instead of going in semi-blind and spending a lot of money on a BI solution that you are not sure about, you can try the Community version of MySQL and see if it fits your needs.
  • Data tool integration is phenomenal and allows for companies to expand their databases into other programs that provide more robust capabilities as well as handling more data as the company grows.
  • Independently, MySQL can be tough to use with large datasets. It becomes increasingly slower with the more data you are working with. So unless you are using another database management tool, it can take a while.
  • Before the recent upgrades, MySQL took a while to integrate features such as JSON into it. The responsiveness needs to be much quicker to keep up with the increasing demand.
MySQL is fantastic for those who just want to dip their toes in the water, as well as those Olympic style swimmers who are much more advanced. It is extremely flexible and there is a ton of support out there due to its increased popularity as a BI tool. I would definitely recommend using another BI tool that could integrate several MySQL databases together to avoid any lag times with reporting.
Read Joseph R. Sweeney's full review
Parry Ghuman profile photo
April 23, 2018

MySQL Review: "Great tool to store and retrieve unlimited amount of data"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using MySQL to store customers' invoices and settlement data. We also store different products' GUI data into the MySQL database. It also keeps track of customers issues.
  • Easy to create dynamic queries and complex procedures.
  • Creating indexes on a large amount of data is very easy as it provides suggestions in the SQL server tool.
  • It always provides best query performance with joins.
  • It takes time to create indexes on the table if we have a large amount of data.
  • Crashing problem when we forcefully cancel the running query.
  • It does not handle the undefined exception even if we have specified try-catch blocks.
Easy to implement and join dynamic queries. It provides a feature to create and retrieve data through different tables with the help of subqueries. Easy to handle a large amount of data with the help of multiple indexes.
Read Parry Ghuman's full review
Nikita kumari profile photo
March 19, 2018

MySQL Review: "Easy to store relational data."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We store customer query data into a MySQL database, as we keep the record of every user into our database so it is easy to check the status of their queries.
  • Easy to add joins on tables.
  • Easy to keep records of every user.
  • Protection from an unauthorised user as we have to provide a valid username and password while logging into SQL DB.
  • It should create indexes automatically if a table has a large amount of data.
  • It should add a feature so that we can restrict access to a particular table from a database.
  • Need improvement in query performance.
If we have complex or dependency data we always prefer to use MySQL as it provides an RDBMS feature. If we have a larger amount of data it does not give a better performance.
Read Nikita kumari's full review
No photo available
December 11, 2017

User Review: "MySQL as a teaching foundation"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MySQL is being used by my organization as a teaching resource for database classes. Since it is a free download for the students, it makes MySQL an easy choice to use. It is used to teach the basics of database design and implementation, to formulate SQL statements for creation and data manipulation. I use the command line client to show hands-on the SQL statements from the lectures and from the students to them the results of various combinations of functions and functionality.
  • Good foundation of SQL language
  • Good foundation of relational database
  • Good foundation of database design
  • Free and easy to use
  • Plenty of external help documentation [is] not available
  • Easier to understand the downloading procedures and where to find certain things, especially for a Mac.
MySQL is a great teaching tool for database foundations of relational databases and SQL. MySQL is also suited for small to small/medium companies. Once a company gets to the medium to large range the needs for some functionality may not be met by MySQL and a bundled database suite may be more appropriate. I use it as a teaching and learning tool for database classes.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 07, 2017

Review: "MySQL is worthy of being a top contender for your next relational database"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MySQL is currently used in a specific department which was an acquisition several years ago. It addresses large data storage issues and exports which have historically plagued the business after acquisition. It has helped us to effectively organize large amounts of data at a higher than average speed in comparison to other SQL platforms. Additionally, its mass data manipulations are a feature we’ve never had before but are relishing for data upgrades.
  • Speedy System
  • Independent Platform
  • Mass Data Manipulation
  • Above Average Support
  • As the platform is adopted more strongly, we fear it may lose speed capabilities
  • Search function is great for full text, however not much else
It works great for a small to large size business. Implementation has some lofty up front costs, but if you require a better system, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. It’s nice because it also supports emerging technologies and has nice bolt ons to help tailor your digital infrastructure.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 01, 2017

Review: "MySQL, best zero dollars you'll ever spend"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MySQL is being used for smaller projects across our organization. Some of these projects are use to enhance or facilitate functionality of our main products, while others are stand alone products that are just gaining ground. All of our new products are being built using MySQL.
  • MySQL is very easy to setup and use. You can create a new MySQL instance in a matter of minutes.
  • MySQL comes with a great set of tools out of the box that make database administration as easy as possible. Everything from creating or restoring backups to setting up remote server replication is doable with the built in tools.
  • MySQL is highly configurable and can be easily tuned to suit the individual needs of the user.
  • Because MySQL is so highly configurable, there is a bit of a learning curve when getting started. Getting setup is easy but research into the different storage engines and tuning parameters is required to make MySQL really efficient for your business needs.
  • MySQL uses some non standard SQL syntax by default that can take some getting used to.
  • Some SQL standards are implemented in very non standard ways so that tasks are able to be accomplished but the statements created for the task don't translate well to other RDBMS.
MySQL is great for research projects, startups, non profits etc... Basically MySQL is great for any one or any company that is budget minded. MySQL is also very good for products that are high read / low write scenarios especially when using the InnoDB engine.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 18, 2017

MySQL Review: "Nice UX/ Nice UI - In General Good Software"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used by our analyst relations department and helps us to organize / look up our contacts. It's made our lives easier to keep our lists under control and quickly accessed. There isn't any other reason to move to a different platform as this does everything we want it to do.
  • Easy UX
  • Smart UI
  • Has a habit of freezing up requiring a restart.
  • Glitches sometimes and doesn't save the work that you've put into the system.
I really like using this program. When I want to look up a vendor or an analyst it makes my job a breeze. By running directly into the platform, entering in a little bit of information and BOOM a list is able to be pulled up. I really like how user friendly everything is and how responsive customer services is when you have a question.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 23, 2017

Review: "MySQL - Great resource for educational institutions of less than 250 students."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using MySQL across our entire organization. We use it store student attendance and billing. We use it to charge other school districts for students who are served here. It has reliably stored our student attendance and performed billing duties since 2008. It is cost effective and very flexible. It also produced mailing address labels for postal mail sent to the homes of the student population.
  • Easy automated backups.
  • Size of backups are very manageable.
  • Performs well on servers that have not had a lot of money invested in them.
  • Reliable performance.
  • Upgrading to newer versions of MySQL was sometimes challenging.
  • Communication with online backup server stopped working and is pretty complicated to set up.
  • Lots of the UI is very basic and limited.
It is well suited to education environments where access to the attendance and billing is required over the Internet. Our student population was around 256 so if you are managing data for tens of thousands of individuals MySQL may not scale up to the much larger information store required for that student population data set.
Read this authenticated review
Willian Molinari profile photo
March 30, 2017

MySQL Review: "Works well for small projects"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MySQL is still the most used database towards my company projects. We use it as the main database for our applications and it's doing well since 2010.
  • It is simple to install and manage
  • It's battle tested, many applications are using it.
  • The problem with its split to MariaDB broke part of its community
  • Some types of data are not consistent, the database does not enforce some kinds of data
  • It lacks some formats, like json for exeple
When you're building a small website or a blog (with Wordpress, for example) it will suit just fine. As a developer, it's pretty easy to keep a version of MySQL running and manage it for many sorts of applications.
Read Willian Molinari's full review
Bhargav Nanekalva profile photo
March 27, 2017

MySQL Review: "Best relational database"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use MySQL for all our web applications in our company. We needed a relational database to store persistent user and business data. I have used PostgreSQL in the past and it's great too. Since PHP and MySQL are a more common stack, we have chosen MySQL over other databases. This is particularly useful if one chooses to migrate their infrastructure to a different vendor since a lot of them support MySQL out of the box. MySQL provides much-needed security, scalability and updates that are backed by Oracle.
  • Large number of driver implementations for different languages. Programmer just needs to plug and play.
  • Just like most of other relational databases, it is extremely advanced in terms of performance over complex queries.
  • It's open source and is a cross platform application.
  • It's relational.
  • Inconvenient agile development and deploy because of very slow DDL for large tables.
  • There is some uncertainty in licensing for Oracle's Community Edition. It's free but not free, more like freemium. Oracle needs to treat MySQL like the real open source product it was always intended to be.
  • Query optimization can get a bit tricky if you are running a lot of complex queries, implying a bit of maintenance expenditure.
  • MySQL has grown and has come a long way with its community and developers. Scaling was once an issue but now it's very much possible to scale as big as one wants.
  • MySQL suits for applications of any size, especially data-driven applications.
  • MySQL is known for web applications but it can be used for any kind of application.
  • It is less appropriate if you don't have a need for a large database and complex tables and queries. In this case SQLite is a more suitable option.
Read Bhargav Nanekalva's full review
Andrew Shell profile photo
February 14, 2017

Review: "Easy to set up, maintain, and use. Can't beat MySQL."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use MySQL as the database for all of our products and websites. We have two software as a service (SaaS) products that are set up using master/slave replication and several WordPress sites that also use MySQL as a backend. We're very happy with how easy it is to set up, configure and operate MySQL databases. We use the MySQL Community Edition.
  • It's very dependable. I know how to get it running and keep it running. I don't have to worry about it going down in the middle of the night.
  • For our needs it's fast. Every new version seems to run faster.
  • Easy. MySQL has been around for a long time. There is a ton of documentation and tools to make using it effortless.
  • Setting up replication takes some effort. It's not bad once you've done it, but I still need to reference the documentation every time I need to set up a new slave.
  • Oracle owning MySQL means that they don't put everything into the community edition because they want to sell licenses to their commercial editions.
  • Might not be the best performance at very large scales.
MySQL is my go-to database for all of my PHP applications. I'm not sure how well it's supported in other environments. It would seem a lot of Python apps use PostgreSQL but I found it difficult to configure. If you're deploying a small to medium size app I doubt you could go wrong with MySQL. It's available in most shared hosting environments and all the big open source CMSs support it (WordPress, Drupal, Joomla).
Read Andrew Shell's full review
Christopher Weiss profile photo
September 28, 2016

User Review: "MySQL is tried and true"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use MySQL in a variety of ways both internal to Dewpoint and among our customers:

1. It is the backend utility database for a variety of tools such as Jira, Bugzilla, NoSQL tools, etc.
2. It is an application database for some web based applications.
3. It is a caching database used at local customer sites for larger applications.
4. It is a prototyping database during initial phases of development before deploying on a more expensive RDBMS such as Oracle or SQL Server.

MySQL represents a reliable and simple database that supports standard SQL with good tools and good integration points.
  • It is incredibly simple to implement even across operating systems such as Windows and Linux.
  • It is very easy to configure and manage. Setting parameters and memory profiles is very straightforward, backups are simple, and stopping, starting, and deploying are very easy.
  • The different storage engines represent distinctive features sets and allow for flexible feature rich deployments within the same database.
  • It follows the more extended name space used by products such as SQL Server and Sybase. This namespace is more flexible.
  • MySQL simply doesn't scale as well as commercial databases. It seems to reach a performance plateau where you are then required to shard the data into different instances to get the performance you need.
  • The stored procedure and programming language is too limited compared to TSQL or PL/SQL.
  • Configuring the different storage engines is cumbersome to enable features like spatial queries. It would be helpful if all features could run out of the InnoDB storage engine.
  • It lacks some of the higher end features of commercial databases such as flashback recovery, updateable views, etc.
MySQL works extremely well for small to mid sized web applications using open source stacks like LAMP or Java. The integrations are strong and the administration works out extremely well. MySQL is indispensable as a tools database. You can see this in its consistent usage in this capacity for over 15 years. I would not use MySQL for a large complex enterprise systems with terabyte databases and complex deployments.
Read Christopher Weiss's full review
Patrick Parkhill profile photo
August 01, 2016

User Review: "My database - MySQL!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Through an acquisition a company that used MySQL to store their data was added to our line of products. These new products continue to run on MySQL supporting very large data stores with high availability. We also have several third party and in house tools which utilize MySQL. These tools range from our production change tracking application to an Oracle supported 3rd party application with terabytes of data.
  • Cost: MySQL is still available for free. If you have a server, you can set up a MySQL server quickly at no cost.
  • Ease of use: Oracle, SQL Server, Vertica and other large players have a steep learning curve to administer. MySQL is less complex. For a quick and easy database, very little knowledge is needed. MySQL is mature and has a vast knowledge base. With the right people, MySQL can become a very scalable solution for many enterprise applications.
  • Maturity: MySQL is a mature software package. It has been used on countless applications. It is a very popular pick for web applications as well as installed and SaaS applications. MySQL is clearly not a fad. It is a mature database offering.
  • Clustering: MySQL does have some clustering options. None of these compare to RAC from Oracle. Each instance of MySQL requires its own data store, this can become costly. Further, in extremely heavy write environments, the replication between the servers can become backed up, this is a difficult problem to correct, and often severely impacts performance.
  • Features: With money comes features. Big name databases such as Oracle and SQL Server have plan caching, robust partitioning, RAC(Oracle), robust optimization and support. Adding Oracle or even third party support to MySQL can be very expensive. This would put an enterprise in the position to consider Oracle or another solution.
  • Misunderstanding: This is not necessarily a flaw in MySQL, however in my career I have seen a lot of it. MySQL is a complex database solution. It is not to be taken more lightly than other database products. A bad design from an inexperienced engineer can take a low cost start up application to a high cost emergency as it scales. Architecture, proper query writing, thoughtful indexing and design are paramount to the success of any application. MySQL is no different. I have seen many companies make the mistake of starting with inexperienced engineers and rush a product to market. This may be low cost, or in some cases no cost. When the product matures and volumes increase, problems, sometimes big present themselves.
MySQL is a great database for web applications, cloud applications, and really any application. It has a great feature set and is easy to launch and get off the ground. It gives individuals a chance to explore a database at little or no cost. It gives companies that would otherwise not be able to afford Oracle a chance to start. MySQL is a great relational database solution. It is the M in LAMP, which essentially creates an instant web based application.

MySQL can start to struggle with extreme writes. Vertica, Oracle and other platforms seem to handle these somewhat better.
Read Patrick Parkhill's full review
Ajay Akunuri profile photo
October 05, 2016

MySQL Review: "Cheap and best db that people can use"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This is used by my team for a dashboard that we created. Our whole organization was using Oracle and db2, but we started using this to create our own dashboard which will be shared with all the teams for monitoring purposes. This is very cheap and we didn't have to spend much on this and it's very easy to install and easy for us to troubleshoot issues.
  • It's very easy to install and use. Once installed, we didn't have any issues and never had to reach out to our IT teams for support. The UI was very easy to use even for the first timer.
  • We have some complex queries for the data in our dashboard and it used to take a lot of time. The dashboard had a lag in showing the data. After migrating to MySQL, data was loading much faster on the UI because of MySQL.
  • There was an issue when using the MySQL UI and as most of the team is used to SQL developer, they pressed control and enter and it executed all the update statements that are there on that page instead of executing just that query, which is very annoying.
This is very useful when we need it for a small project and it's easy to use and manage. This is cheap as well. There are not many options in data manipulations as compared to Oracle. If it is for a big organization, I feel Oracle is better.
Read Ajay Akunuri's full review
Kevin Dimond profile photo
October 04, 2016

User Review: "MySQL for the People"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The choice to use MySQL was obvious because it was open source, easily accessible and free. I needed to deliver a web app that would target a small initial audience and scale to a wider audience in a short period of time. I could have chosen other offerings but I needed to deliver this app in a short delivery window. With the help of MySQL, I was able to meet that deadline and scale the app to thousands of users. While it was eventually replaced by another application, it always ran smoothly, and never went down. MySQL will always be my first database love.
  • Quick deployment
  • Ease of use
  • Scalability
  • Performance
  • Full joins are not supported but you can emulate them
  • No check constraints
If you need to provide a working prototype quickly, MySQL is the first database I grab. If you need to build a small and efficient web appilcation, MySQL is the first choice. Further considerations must be made if you have large or epic installations that you are attempting to build. However, with that said, MySQL can handle just about anything you throw at it, if it's configured properly and your deployment is well thought out.
Read Kevin Dimond's full review
Yucheng Liu profile photo
October 04, 2016

"MySQL review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use MySQL for our music recommendation engines, zabbix monitoring backend database, batch job management for the QA team and automatic configuration management for OrderPath. MySQL is used by our operations and engineering departments. It is a great relational database choice and is free of license cost.
  • Easy to set up.
  • No heavy tuning needed.
  • Master-slave gives high availability.
  • Auto partitioning would be nice to have!
  • Unified storage engine (so user doesn't need to study different options.).
  • Stats report (similar to AWR in Oracle).
I would say MySQL is good for small companies who can not afford an Oracle license cost. For high transaction and high availability usage, you'll need very sharp mysql dbas and developers - the eventual cost may not be cheap. You get what you paid for. That's all!
Read Yucheng Liu's full review

About MySQL

MySQL is a popular open-source relational and embedded database, now owned by Oracle.

MySQL Integrations

MySQL Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No