MySQL Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
789 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 102)

Balázs Kiss | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 19, 2020

MySQL as a front-end developer

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it from time-to-time, as the database solution for our smaller projects which requires a relational database. Usually used by the whole team, integrated into the production chain, and nearly everybody uses it for testing, smaller modifications in the data model, or when installing for a localized development environment.
  • Storing relational data.
  • Quick management.
  • Integration with different development tools, for instance with IntelliJ Idea.
  • I had some stability issues in the past.
  • SQL requirement.
  • Hard to find support for special cases.
When a classic, small relational database (I mean small as a small number of tables, not records necessary) needs easy to install database with easy to find tutorials, that's free, robust, and very well documented.
Read Balázs Kiss's full review
Holman Cárdenas, M.Eng, TOGAF®, ITIL® | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 04, 2019

MySQL - Old User's Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used MySQL across different companies, mainly as a DB for web pages (along with Apache and PHP) and web-based applications (internal and external). It provides a fast, reliable and efficient DB solution.
  • Very fast and reliable DB
  • Innodb tables are a huge improvement
  • Works very good with the open-source ecosystem, even though it was adquired by Oracle
  • InnoDB tables performance could be improved
  • Tuning is a little bit complex
  • InnoDB tables do not support full-text searches
MySQL is well suited when you are using web pages or web applications in an open-source ecosystem (i.e. Php, Apache) and/or CMS as Joomla, Drupal, WordPress, etc. Not recommended for core or critical-mission applications (it stills need a higher maturity level).
Read Holman Cárdenas, M.Eng, TOGAF®, ITIL®'s full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2020

MySQL for non-critical workload needs

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MySQL is used within the whole organization as one of the two primary RDMBS. It is the underlying RDBMS database for the internal and external company records, hosted on Oracle PaaS.
  • Best in breed in open-source RDBMS databases.
  • Portability with our secondary database Oracle Database without much scheme changes.
  • Scales well with IaaS.
  • Some restrictions on the table sizes and schemes (unlike IBM DB2, Oracle DB, etc).
  • Issues with some of the SQL operations ( merge join, hash join, etc) that degrades the overall performance of the queries.
  • Licensing from Oracle for MySQL use can be improved.
MySQL is best suited for environments where the datasets are not large and there are no critical performance constraints. It is less appropriate for extremely large relational datasets and/or where performance guarantees are needed in the applications.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 11, 2019

mysql review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As I know, we use it only in a department of our company. Most of the time we use this database as a development database. We store less complex data structures in it, small and few tables, as we know it's better to store small amount of data then other relation databases.
  • Data Security, MySQL is globally renowned for being the most secure and reliable database management system used in popular web applications like WordPress, Drupal, Joomla, Facebook and Twitter. The data security and support for transactional processing that accompany the recent version of MySQL, can greatly benefit any business especially if it is an eCommerce business that involves frequent money transfers.
  • High Performance, Whether it is an eCommerce website that receives a million queries every single day or a high-speed transactional processing system, MySQL is designed to meet even the most demanding applications while ensuring optimum speed, full-text indexes and unique memory caches for enhanced performance.
  • Complete Workflow Control, With the average download and installation time being less than 30 minutes, MySQL means usability from day one.
  • It’s Got A Few Stability Issues
  • It Suffers From Relatively Poor Performance Scaling
  • Its Functionality Tends To Be Heavily Dependant On Addons
As I said before we use it as a test database, with small amount of data. It has a nice performance with it, so i recommend it, however i if you should handle large amount of data you are probably find another database with better performance. So it's well suited in small apps. :)
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 08, 2019

I like MySql

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It was used across the whole organization internally. It was picked because of the easy integration, great support, and stability. For internal usage, they needed a cost-effective but trustworthy solution. Also from experience, the developers are familiar with MySql the most, they would able to use the juniors to work on the internal solutions first and learn the way.
  • Easy to get started.
  • Lightweight, but scalable.
  • Well known, well supported.
  • Owned by oracle.
  • Limitations of fine-tuning.
  • Lack of failover.
For internal usage for medium-size companies, for startups, and for demo projects, it is more than well suited. However, as it is scalable to a point, it is no match after a point to Oracle DB or IBM/2 as they were created to provide huge performance and to support big company's needs.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 13, 2020

MySQL in the transition to the cloud

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MySQL is used in my company to store transactional data of modern applications that have been developed with an SOA architecture oriented to services and microservices, since these require multiple databases that are stable, light and have high availability.
  • Excellent response times when consulting data
  • Easy to learn, use and manage
  • It is necessary to invest time and effort to implement additional functionalities that are required in business environments, such as data replication.
  • When acquired by Oracle, its innovation speed has decreased, which opens the way for other competitors.
The strengths of MySQL can be exploited when it is necessary to store relational data in small, medium-sized applications or those in which its architecture is service oriented. I see it less appropriate for it to be used in monolithic applications with complex database structures.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 16, 2019

Best Open Source for Web Apps

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MySQL is used at the organization level but mainly for web applications in the organization.
  • Very good for basic to enterprise-level needs.
  • Cost-effective
  • MySQL has some limitation with complex data types.
  • Limitations with common table expressions.
MySQL is the best and simple open source Relational Database Management System that provides ease of use. MySQL supports many interfaces and programming languages, and also it is easier to learn for a newbie.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 27, 2019

Great for small to medium-sized businesses

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My IT team had to create daily reports based on patient care and the different service requested. MySQL is used for the whole company but only IT had the right to get access and make updates. Right now I am still using MySQL for personal projects developing web sites using Content Management Systems.
  • Easy to install.
  • Easy to configure.
  • Easy to manage.
  • Easy for creating backups.
  • There is not enough documentation available when you are needing to resolve a complex issue with the software.
  • It needs to be improved when the database is getting bigger. The performance gets poor when this happens.
MySQL is suitable for small and medium-sized databases - it works great. I recommend it for low budget projects. I wouldn't recommend it for a large database.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 14, 2019

MySQL Database: easy to use and implement

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MySQL is being used for many software in my company development for specific departments and software for all employees across the organization like human resources forms, Content Management Systems for website and intranet, health forms, satisfaction survey software.
  • Easy to learn.
  • Easy to use and manage.
  • Easy to backup and restore.
  • Have a community version open source.
  • More documentation.
  • Efficiently manage big amount of data.
I recommend MySQL for small and medium companies. MySQL is a strong database and you can store your company data, and connect your software easily.
Read this authenticated review
Govind Sankar | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2019

MySQL is my SQL

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used as a Relational data store across the organization.
  • Quick processing.
  • Proven reliability.
  • Ease and flexibility of use.
  • Adding web hooks.
  • Support for CHECK constraints.
  • Hot Standby/Streaming Replication.
MySQL is the first choice for those web-based projects which require a database merely for data transactions.
MySQL will start underperforming once it is stressed with heavy loads or complex queries.
Read Govind Sankar's full review
Andrei Volodin | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 05, 2019

Convenient database for web development

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am a Research Engineer in VizioChron, Inc. I have to use MySQL often. First, it is used by consumers that I work with. Second I have to do some experimental designs and implementations with the use of it. As it is open source it is easy to use it in common web projects e.g. LAMP.
  • Database works well with MyPHP
  • There is design that uses the database with Wordpress
  • It is easily integrated with web engines, e.g. Apache
  • Some migration SQL<>MySQL would be in demand
  • Maybe some features that MongoDB has could enhance MySQL
  • Maybe more GUI for simplicity of operations under a Linux environment
It is a well-suited solution for a web server and web hosting, in my opinion. Moreover, as it is easy to integrate it with web engines it is a good fit for websites that utilize registration feature and membership areas. MySQL has a robust support of command line commands execution and could be operated completely from the terminal.
Read Andrei Volodin's full review
Doug Ford | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

I like data.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MySQL is mostly for vetting out developers to make sure they had enough knowledge to accomplish specific job duties. I created a bunch of tables and relationships, and populated a couple hundred rows of data across all of the tables. Then I gave developers a test asking them to send me back SQL scripts to perform various SQL, DDL, DML tasks and I would validate everything to make sure it worked as it ought to.
  • Easy to spin up a database instance.
  • Fast.
  • Not great for dealing with large amounts of data.
  • Limited capabilities for stored procedures.
MySQL is good for simple databases for small projects.
Read Doug Ford's full review
Siddhant Shah | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

Good Tool for Data Manipulation

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used to store and retrieve customer data. We also use it to update information and the billing details of the customers. It's easy to use and we can manipulate the data to suite our needs.
  • Easy querying.
  • Easy, spoken English like syntax.
  • Intuitive.
  • Easier to improve how the results can be displayed.
MySQL is really well suited to store and retrieve data. It would be great for any organization looking to manage business data. We use it daily for the operations of our business.
Read Siddhant Shah's full review
Aung Phyo | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

Great for database management

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use MySQL for database management. I do school projects for web security classes with PHP. We use PHP for the backend and use MySQL for the database. This platform has good security features, and it was very easy to match with PHP and postscript databases.
  • Reliable
  • Fast
  • Can match with most of the framework
  • Hard to match with some frameworks
PHP with MySQL is absolutely perfect.
Read Aung Phyo's full review
Luka Pavlovic | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

MySQL for the masses

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it extensively and it has been great to us. It is simple and fast and a piece of the foundation to any service.
  • Simple to use.
  • Speed
  • Extendable.
  • Features for geocodes.
Anytime I start up a new project, whether personal or professional, I need to start with organizing my data. It’s always MySQL paired with an ORM. It is my go-to and will continue to be moving forward.
Read Luka Pavlovic's full review
Dharti Madeka | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

Student Review for Products

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used it for database, and I used it with the NetSuite platform team in Oracle to work on my internship project.
  • Data relation.
  • Data organization.
  • Management of data.
  • UI/UX of the platform could be improved.
  • Some better UI for new customers without technical skills.
It is well suited for student projects for data management, and working on big data-related stuff, which is really difficult to handle without a database.
Read Dharti Madeka's full review
Alper Ozdamar | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

MySQL is for all!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used MySQL at my previous job. We had a WhatsApp like application named Wirofon. We were using a MySQL database to store subscribers information and for call routing and call barring rules.
  • Easy to deploy
  • Easy to manage
  • Free
  • Scalability
  • Reverse engineering tools
MySQL is well suited if you are working with user data. I used MySQL in many applications (i.e. on a VOIP backend side).
Read Alper Ozdamar's full review
Rohin Sharma | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 02, 2019

Database Management Tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used MySQL to store website data in database tables and to run queries to show and save data in the database. It is used by the whole organization where required to improve performance.
  • Consecutive Queries run simultaneously very fast.
  • MySQL documentation is very easily searchable online and easy to understand.
  • We can use it easily on the remote system as well.
  • It could improve its large database size.
  • It could provide its role and commit functions, etc.
  • There are a few stability issues.
1. Its implementation of an SQL database is very well suited for small to medium web pages. 2. The database is free and open source, with a commercial license available. 3. It must be easily manageable with a huge database.
Read Rohin Sharma's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

Simple and Easy to Use Database!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MySQL is being used by our core team to develop and test out our prototype applications. It is lightweight, easy to use, and offers plugins for almost all of the widely used programming languages. Thanks to MySQL, spinning up a database to back prototype applications is a quick process. The rest of my organization is using Oracle Database 12c.
  • It is designed for Web, Cloud and Big Data. It provides high availability, self-healing and data integrity, provisioning, monitoring and resource management, developer agility, and security.
  • There is complete workflow control, allowing users to tweak all aspects of MySQL.
  • There is a variety of user interfaces that can be implemented, lowering the burden on programmers.
  • Incremental backups take more time and hassle to configure compared to other databases.
  • There is no built-in support for XML and OLAP which hurts business intelligence related analytics.
  • MySQL has gotten farther away from the open-source mentality. MySQL has proprietary and closed-source modules.
It is well-suited for prototyping applications and applications that are not Enterprise scale. Many big names such as Red Hat Enterprise Linux, Fedora, Slackware Linux, and openSUSE, have all switched from MySQL to MariaDB. Hence, for solutions that have longevity concerns in regards to the technologies it is using, MySQL may not be the best option out there.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 16, 2019

MySQL: The Simpler Choice

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I write custom web-based applications and MySQL is my go-to database solution. Typically, an organization has a need for an application which their core services do not provide or they need an application to integrate with services they already use. In either case, MySQL is a great product to use for storing data easily and efficiently, for free with the benefit of adding logic in the database layer so that it manages itself.
  • Window functions. MySQL 8, is owned by Oracle, has brought in all your classic hits for Window functions, I.E aggregate functions like sum and count over some partitions, dense_rank, lag, first_row, row_number. Now, much like Oracle 11g and above, MySQL can answer all your analytical needs for understanding your data quickly.
  • 8 allows for JSON processing, both in and out of the database, which is extremely convenient for web applications which quite often need to call web-based REST services to retrieve such information. Gone are the days of constructing an additional Java layer for things like retrieving basic data in a GET request—MySQL provides.
  • Event Scheduler: Write a stored procedure to monitor and modify your data. Then create an event so that it happens automatically. MySQL makes this very easy.
  • The language tends to be a bit verbose at times, especially when writing stored procedures. I shouldn't need keywords like delimiters to be able to compile a procedure.
  • Error handling, it could be a bit simpler. You need to declare "handlers" at the moment, and in order to get the error message, it requires you to select it and know the index.
  • MySQL is getting rid of inline variables while querying. Boo.
I would not recommend MySQL for financially intensive organizations or those which require a TON of logic to reside in the database. For this, I would recommend an Oracle 11g or above, simply for the ease of compiling procedures and readability of the code. But for simpler applications that are looking for cost-effective solutions to data-storage, MySQL is your obvious choice.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2019

Great for beginners entering the database world

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Yes, it is being used by a department to retrieve information as per customer needs.
  • Excellent market penetration.
  • Easy to get started.
  • Open-source license for most users.
  • I have only two years experience so I have not found any improvement but everything so far I used was good to me.
As per my experience, MySQL is best to use as an inventory management system, where based on different conditions, users need to retrieve data for analysis. Also, it is easy to learn so, a user can quickly become comfortable with it.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 20, 2019

Great choice for common data needs

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MySQL is used in the whole organization, for variety of engineering and business purposes. Examples of uses:
  • DevOps pipelines data
  • Software artifact data and metadata
  • Test results
  • Validation results
  • Users and their associated data
  • Extracts from Big Data systems
MySQL is a data store many users are familiar with, and that makes for easy adoption. The infrastructure teams have experience in running it reliably.
  • Popular
  • Improving capabilities over time
  • Widespread knowledge
  • Reactive APIs
  • NoSQL support
  • Graph data models
  • Conventional relational data model
  • Small and medium data sets work well
  • For large data sets consider enhancements like Vitesse
  • The new JSON document support is an excellent addition. This enables us to eliminate some NoSQL document stores (for example, MongoDB or CouchDB, Couchbase) and instead use only one database for various uses.
  • The development and support team are familiar with RDBMS.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

I love MySQL

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MySQL is one of the powerful database management in the world. that very easy to use and because it's an opensource project. That's make it very special, because lot of developer work on it and make it powerful each day. MSQL is really the best alternative for startup, because they do not have to much budget. That a great technology for free.
  • Opensource.
  • Flexibility.
  • Accessibility.
  • I have never used another database system in the past, so I cannot compare it with others.
  • I have no improvements that I can give because MySQL is only the one I have ever used.
MySQL is very powerful web application because it is very easy to use. Also, we can use the mobile app. I always use MySQL on both the mobile and the web application. It is very easy to host an application using MySQL because it is the most used database system in the world.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

MySQL Rocks!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MySQL is used as a data repository for all our online, batch, and reporting needs.
  • Easy to use.
  • Lots of resources online.
  • Technical support is very accessible and they respond quickly.
  • More SQL analytic functions.
  • Fully support ANSI standard features.
It is well suited for capturing, storing, and retrieving data. It is less appropriate for applications heavy on OLTP and OLAP transactions.
Read this authenticated review

About MySQL

MySQL is a popular open-source relational and embedded database, now owned by Oracle.

MySQL Integrations

MySQL Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No