MySQL Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
878 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 115)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 29, 2021
Jose Manuel Ortega | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

MongoDB is an application oriented solution with unstructured data. Percona Server for MySQL is a good solution when looking for performance peaks and the amount of data grows continuously over time. MySQL is the ideal solution when we have a data schema defined and we do not have great requirements at the performance level.
Read Jose Manuel Ortega's full review
May 26, 2021
Alena Burda | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

MySQL is the best platform and it has the ability to even automate time-consuming tasks
with a fully managed database service that has enhanced productivity. This
tool keeps me up to date about any new features and through instant provisioning it is providing me fast delivery of the application.
Read Alena Burda's full review
May 13, 2021
Balázs Kiss | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

A bit on the more complex side, but definitely one of the more popular solutions between our customers. As a stable alternative to the sometimes really pricy Oracle DB, it performed well for most of our not-database-heavy projects. It was a bit slower than no-SQL solutions on no-SQL tasks, but that's natural I think.
Read Balázs Kiss's full review
April 11, 2021
Yaniv Vararu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I used these RDBMS in the past in previous companies. In the company I currently work at, we used MySQL from day one. The main benefit over Microsoft's SQL server is that MySQL is free to use (GNU) which makes it easier for startups in their early days when trying to minimize costs.
Read Yaniv Vararu's full review
April 09, 2021
Rishabh Khanna | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have also used Microsoft SQL Server. It is quite similar to MySQL. However, MySQL has always been my first choice, I have been using it for a very long time. I have also worked with PostgreSQL in a DevOps project. It is good too but a bit hard to learn and understand.
Read Rishabh Khanna's full review
July 19, 2021
Leonel Gonzalez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Each one have it's own functions... MSSQL its a powerful data base, but its very expensive for big organizations, Mongo help us to get easier to store non relational data, don't need to maintain always the same table structure, PostgreSQL a strong lack of technical support, but its a very good option
Read Leonel Gonzalez's full review
April 28, 2021
Adolfo Maltez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

MySQL offers best conditions for a rapid adoption at the organization.
Also because it's free software, you can scale up in implementations without worrying about licenses fees.
Read Adolfo Maltez's full review
June 30, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

MySQL is relatively easier to use and than PostgreSQL or SQL Server; it's also cheap to use in production compared to SQL Server. For a beginner who wants to ship something quickly, MySQL is really suited for it.
Read this authenticated review
June 28, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Before MySQL, our team was exploring and evaluating different options for a good RDMS (relational database management system) service. We explored Oracle, MSSQL, and Google BigQuery. Most of these are costly and not easy to maintain in the long run in terms of price especially when data is millions of records. It also supports storing millions of records/transactions.
Read this authenticated review
April 11, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

MySQL has most of the functionality of other, very costly, alternatives without the big price tag. It is open-source with improvements coming at a relatively good rate. It is not as robust as those other offerings and can have some challenging points at scale for large applications, but in terms of cost vs. value is very difficult to beat.
Read this authenticated review
April 09, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft SQL can be considered as an enterprise level software since it is recommended for large businesses. Microsoft SQL has some unique categories like big data processing, DBMS, etc. whereas MySQL is not capable of handling such features. I guess this is how these both differ from each other since Microsoft SQL is full of functionality and features.
Read this authenticated review
April 09, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

MySQL is simpler to set up and start using than either PostgreSQL or SingleStore, but lacks some of the bells and whistles of each. It is simpler to set up, and almost any software that relies on a database will work with MySQL. PostgreSQL brings more advanced field options, and SingleStore is designed explicitly for running metrics over large datasets via SQL. For our purposes, we started with MySQL for databases until we need the complexity of either PostgreSQL or SingleStore.
Read this authenticated review
April 11, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We're using InfluxDB for statistics. MongoDB is getting used for big documents which are more accessible for us when saved as documents in MongoDB. Redis is used for caching. PostgreSQL is mainly there to get used for software that only supports this type of database.
Read this authenticated review
April 08, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I've been using MySQL for so long that it's my go-to RDBMS. I really like MySQL Workbench in conjunction with MySQL. I've experimented with Amazon DynamoDB in my personal time.
Read this authenticated review
January 05, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

MySQL has a GUI which makes it easy for developers to work upon. It has all features like replication, backup and crash recovery. Also since it is freely available it becomes commercially feasible for people to use this DB. Also MySQL can be easily used as a back end for the front end languages like Java, PHP and ASP.NET. Thus integration with front end languages is an easy option.
Read this authenticated review
April 26, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

MySQL provides the option to reduce support and maintenance cost when P0 Level 1 support is not really needed for databases used for noncritical use cases and workloads. Other versions that include Microsoft SQL, Amazon RDS, etc don't provide such options and are overkill. MySQL is also more widely used and easy to hire developers for it than the commercial versions ( Microsoft, Amazon, IBM).
Read this authenticated review

What is MySQL?

MySQL is a popular open-source relational and embedded database, now owned by Oracle. For more information visit https://www.mysql.com

MySQL Video

What is MySQL?

MySQL Integrations

MySQL Competitors

MySQL Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is MySQL?

MySQL is a popular open-source relational and embedded database, now owned by Oracle.

What is MySQL's best feature?

Reviewers rate Usability highest, with a score of 10.

Who uses MySQL?

The most common users of MySQL are from Enterprises and the Computer Software industry.