MySQL

MySQL

Top Rated
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.6 out of 100
Top Rated
MySQL

Overview

Recent Reviews

MYSQL review

9 out of 10
December 23, 2021
It was earlier difficult to manage a large amount of data on excel and it was time-consuming to maintain a spreadsheet. But with the use …
Continue reading

My review of MySQL

9 out of 10
May 01, 2021
Most of our internal applications use MySQL as their database. For example, our team owns a JVM tuning & testing platform will need to …
Continue reading

MySQL is useful

8 out of 10
April 12, 2021
MySQL gets used for the most part in our infrastructure. If it is a website, an API, or something else, MySQL is the most used. It's used …
Continue reading

MySQL works well

9 out of 10
April 12, 2021
MySQL is used as our relational data store for information in support of our software platform - software as a service for internal …
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2022
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2021
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2020
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2019

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of MySQL, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is MySQL?

MySQL is a popular open-source relational and embedded database, now owned by Oracle.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

5 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is Microsoft Access?

Microsoft Access is a database management system from Microsoft that combines the relational Microsoft Jet Database Engine with a graphical user interface and software-development tools.

What is SingleStore (formerly MemSQL)?

MemSQL is a NoSQL database offering from the company of the same name in San Francisco.

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is MySQL?

MySQL is a popular open-source relational and embedded database, now owned by Oracle. For more information visit https://www.mysql.com

MySQL Videos

What is MySQL?
MySQL is one of the most popular database software options for businesses of all sizes. The software is open source, and highly customizable, so users can set up an instance that meets their needs.
While MySQL is a specific product, NoSQL is a type of database that includes a number of available products. Whether a NoSQL (nonrelational database) product or using MySQL (relational database) is right for you greatly depends on the data you are storing, queries, and flexibility.

MySQL Integrations

MySQL Competitors

MySQL Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is MySQL?

MySQL is a popular open-source relational and embedded database, now owned by Oracle.

What is MySQL's best feature?

Reviewers rate Usability highest, with a score of 10.

Who uses MySQL?

The most common users of MySQL are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Computer Software industry.

Reviews and Ratings

 (900)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 117)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
December 23, 2021

MYSQL review

Tanika Chhabra | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is well suited for Organizations relying on large data sets or big spreadsheets. One can easily use a few queries and get desired output so easily. MYSQL is much easier and has better interphase than many of the other SQL applications which are present. I would highly recommend it to new learners and also people with SQL knowledge, as it is so easy to use
Rishabh Khanna | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is a great product. It can be used with many types of web applications. However, it is not suitable for data analytics. We are using it with an IoT-based ERP system. In case if you decide to move to cloud, oracle provides full support to use MySQL as a cloud database service.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MySQL is really suited for a beginner who wants to use an RDBMS-type database that doesn't need any advanced features. It's also great if you want to spin up something quickly with only a few steps of installation and security configuration.

It might not be for you if you need something that needs to be massively scalable or if you need advanced features.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MySQL is free to use under the GNU license so most of the open-source, non-profit organizations can use it for free, it is easy to adapt and implement, and most cost savings compare with other SQL providers in the market. It is most suitable for small to medium projects and not recommend for banking and enterprise projects.
Alena Burda | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
There are different plans available, so it offers you diversity to choose the one that fits your needs. Furthermore, I believe that through this tool, you will have a transparent idea about the entire processing of your daily work. For me, it’s a universal platform and provides you great security along with data management, so I will recommend you to use it, especially if you deal in e-commerce. This superb tool gives you a clear-cut idea about the processing of your work.
Jose Manuel Ortega | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • It is a suitable database for web applications where we have a large size of users. It is also easily scalable and provides good user management and access controls at the security level.
  • MySQL is a very fast database to read when using the non-transactional MyISAM engine, but it can cause integrity problems in high-concurrency environments when modifying. Thus, for applications with many parallel transactions and modifications, MySQL is probably not the best solution
Adolfo Maltez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MySQL fits use cases that require fast responses, like transactional websites when the user requires a response in no time. Another use case is when we need replications master/slave or multi-master.

The use cases I don't recommend it for are when we need a strong relational database. In that case, MySQL can be a little slow.
Yaniv Vararu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MySQL is best suited for us in managing our customers' definitions, accounts' structures, configurations, etc.--anything that is being set up once and updated only once in a while (and grown at low scales). The data of our customers' actions in the system is not saved in the MySQL DB since this changes in real time every second and this type of DB is less suited for so much data and such frequent changes.
April 12, 2021

MySQL is useful

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I recommend MySQL for everyone who needs a fast database for use cases like user management, APIs, and some data storages, but I don't recommend MySQL for large data and projects with very special use cases or if you don't have any clue about SQL language because it can be hard to get into sometimes.
April 12, 2021

MySQL works well

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MySQL is well suited for anyone who needs a relational database and is working within a budget. Since it is open source, it is free to use and has most of the features of something like Oracle or MS SQL Server. MySQL can struggle a little with larger applications and storing the data cache in RAM requires fairly robust machines.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is efficient and capable of handling large datasets in the form of tables, which comprise of rows and columns. Data can easily be retrieved. Provides a smooth workflow and reduces the workload because of its data manipulation abilities. It is easy to configure and manage. You also get few custom tools to manage the database.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MySQL will be most suited when the database size is not going to be very large. MySQL is a very fast, reliable, secure and stable database. When it comes to commercials, MySQL is open-source and free software under the GNU license. It is free to use, we can download it from MySQL official website without any cost. MySQL provides high performance when compared to other databases.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MySQL is best suited for environments where the datasets are not large and there are no critical performance constraints. It is less appropriate for extremely large relational datasets and/or where performance guarantees are needed in the applications.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The strengths of MySQL can be exploited when it is necessary to store relational data in small, medium-sized applications or those in which its architecture is service oriented. I see it less appropriate for it to be used in monolithic applications with complex database structures.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MySQL is the best and simple open source Relational Database Management System that provides ease of use. MySQL supports many interfaces and programming languages, and also it is easier to learn for a newbie.
November 04, 2019

MySQL - Old User's Review

Holman Cárdenas, M.Eng, TOGAF®, ITIL® | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MySQL is well suited when you are using web pages or web applications in an open-source ecosystem (i.e. Php, Apache) and/or CMS as Joomla, Drupal, WordPress, etc. Not recommended for core or critical-mission applications (it stills need a higher maturity level).
October 11, 2019

mysql review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As I said before we use it as a test database, with small amount of data. It has a nice performance with it, so i recommend it, however i if you should handle large amount of data you are probably find another database with better performance. So it's well suited in small apps. :)
October 08, 2019

I like MySql

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For internal usage for medium-size companies, for startups, and for demo projects, it is more than well suited. However, as it is scalable to a point, it is no match after a point to Oracle DB or IBM/2 as they were created to provide huge performance and to support big company's needs.