MySQL Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
785 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 102)

Balázs Kiss | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

When a classic, small relational database (I mean small as a small number of tables, not records necessary) needs easy to install database with easy to find tutorials, that's free, robust, and very well documented.
Read Balázs Kiss's full review
Govind Sankar | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2019

MySQL is my SQL

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

MySQL is the first choice for those web-based projects which require a database merely for data transactions.
MySQL will start underperforming once it is stressed with heavy loads or complex queries.
Read Govind Sankar's full review
Holman Cárdenas, M.Eng, TOGAF®, ITIL® | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 04, 2019

MySQL - Old User's Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

MySQL is well suited when you are using web pages or web applications in an open-source ecosystem (i.e. Php, Apache) and/or CMS as Joomla, Drupal, WordPress, etc. Not recommended for core or critical-mission applications (it stills need a higher maturity level).
Read Holman Cárdenas, M.Eng, TOGAF®, ITIL®'s full review
Luka Pavlovic | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

MySQL for the masses

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Anytime I start up a new project, whether personal or professional, I need to start with organizing my data. It’s always MySQL paired with an ORM. It is my go-to and will continue to be moving forward.
Read Luka Pavlovic's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 11, 2019

mysql review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

As I said before we use it as a test database, with small amount of data. It has a nice performance with it, so i recommend it, however i if you should handle large amount of data you are probably find another database with better performance. So it's well suited in small apps. :)
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 08, 2019

I like MySql

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

For internal usage for medium-size companies, for startups, and for demo projects, it is more than well suited. However, as it is scalable to a point, it is no match after a point to Oracle DB or IBM/2 as they were created to provide huge performance and to support big company's needs.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

MySQL is best suited for environments where the datasets are not large and there are no critical performance constraints. It is less appropriate for extremely large relational datasets and/or where performance guarantees are needed in the applications.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

The strengths of MySQL can be exploited when it is necessary to store relational data in small, medium-sized applications or those in which its architecture is service oriented. I see it less appropriate for it to be used in monolithic applications with complex database structures.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is well-suited for prototyping applications and applications that are not Enterprise scale. Many big names such as Red Hat Enterprise Linux, Fedora, Slackware Linux, and openSUSE, have all switched from MySQL to MariaDB. Hence, for solutions that have longevity concerns in regards to the technologies it is using, MySQL may not be the best option out there.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 16, 2019

MySQL: The Simpler Choice

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I would not recommend MySQL for financially intensive organizations or those which require a TON of logic to reside in the database. For this, I would recommend an Oracle 11g or above, simply for the ease of compiling procedures and readability of the code. But for simpler applications that are looking for cost-effective solutions to data-storage, MySQL is your obvious choice.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

MySQL is the best and simple open source Relational Database Management System that provides ease of use. MySQL supports many interfaces and programming languages, and also it is easier to learn for a newbie.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

As per my experience, MySQL is best to use as an inventory management system, where based on different conditions, users need to retrieve data for analysis. Also, it is easy to learn so, a user can quickly become comfortable with it.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

  • Conventional relational data model
  • Small and medium data sets work well
  • For large data sets consider enhancements like Vitesse
  • The new JSON document support is an excellent addition. This enables us to eliminate some NoSQL document stores (for example, MongoDB or CouchDB, Couchbase) and instead use only one database for various uses.
  • The development and support team are familiar with RDBMS.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

I love MySQL

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

MySQL is very powerful web application because it is very easy to use. Also, we can use the mobile app. I always use MySQL on both the mobile and the web application. It is very easy to host an application using MySQL because it is the most used database system in the world.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

MySQL Rocks!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is well suited for capturing, storing, and retrieving data. It is less appropriate for applications heavy on OLTP and OLAP transactions.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

Good data storage solution!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Good for web shops, CRUD applications. In case of cloud based solutions it is better and definitely easier to stick with cloud provider database solution. Good support from Oracle allows to use it for multiple type of receivers.
Read this authenticated review
Andrei Volodin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is a well-suited solution for a web server and web hosting, in my opinion. Moreover, as it is easy to integrate it with web engines it is a good fit for websites that utilize registration feature and membership areas. MySQL has a robust support of command line commands execution and could be operated completely from the terminal.
Read Andrei Volodin's full review

About MySQL

MySQL is a popular open-source relational and embedded database, now owned by Oracle.

MySQL Integrations

MySQL Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No