Skip to main content
TrustRadius
N-able N-sight RMM

N-able N-sight RMM

Overview

What is N-able N-sight RMM?

SolarWinds Remote Monitoring & Management (RMM) is a cloud-based system monitoring offering for Managed Service Providers. It provides a full monitoring and management suite, including automation and threat detection capabilities, and can integrate with other SolarWinds products.

Read more
Recent Reviews

TrustRadius Insights

SolarWinds RMM is a comprehensive network management solution that has proven to be invaluable for Managed Service Providers, or MSPs, and …
Continue reading

Great product overall

10 out of 10
October 12, 2022
Incentivized
The product is being used by the IT department to support both in-house staff and all our customers with an IT Support contract. This …
Continue reading

SolarWinds RMM, It Just Works

10 out of 10
January 02, 2020
We use it as an easy way to keep up with clients such as Doctors and Dentists. These clients have dynamic days where remote support at odd …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 4 features
  • Policy-based automation (15)
    10.0
    100%
  • Network device monitoring (14)
    10.0
    100%
  • Remote monitoring (15)
    10.0
    100%
  • Patch Management (15)
    10.0
    100%
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is N-able N-sight RMM?

SolarWinds Remote Monitoring & Management (RMM) is a cloud-based system monitoring offering for Managed Service Providers. It provides a full monitoring and management suite, including automation and threat detection capabilities, and can integrate with other SolarWinds products.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

145 people also want pricing

Alternatives Pricing

What is Microsoft Intune?

Microsoft Intune (formerly Microsoft Endpoint Manager), combining the capabilities of the former Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager, SCCM or ConfigMgr, is presented as a unified endpoint management option. Microsoft Intune is an endpoint management solution for mobile devices, an MDM…

What is LogMeIn Central by GoTo?

Central is a cloud-based remote monitoring and endpoint management solution enabling IT professionals to monitor, manage, and secure their endpoint infrastructure. Whether it is used for remote employees or endpoints scattered across the globe, the vendor promises that Central provides IT…

Return to navigation

Product Demos

How to integrate N-able RMM, with your PSA

YouTube
Return to navigation

Features

Monitoring Tasks

Various types of monitoring

10
Avg 7.3

Management Tasks

Various tasks required to keep systems running smoothly

10
Avg 7.2
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is N-able N-sight RMM?

N-able™ RMM (formerly Solarwinds RMM) offers tools to secure, maintain, and improve IT operations across client networks of all complexities and sizes. Boasting over 25,000 MSPs globally as users, N-able RMM offers platforms with a tailored experience built for business needs.

Key features include:

  • Integrated features within a single pane of glass, bringing everything into one console
  • Automation leads to scalability for even the largest or most complex clients
  • Integrated AV, patch management, web protection, backup, endpoint detection and response, and risk intelligence data security assessments
  • Remote control allows users to identify and fix any issue, with any endpoint, from anywhere, without disrupting the end user
  • Integrated service desk to create tickets, customize billing, and run an IT services business
  • Out-of-the- box reporting to prove value to clients
  • On-premises or hosted implementation for security and ease of use

Together, the patch management, AV, endpoint detection and response, integrated email protection, and web protection features in N-able RMM aim to provide robust security against modern malware and other cyberattacks. Auto-deployment also deploys security features across endpoints in bulk.

The tool also offers free download of Android® and iOS® mobile apps to manage issues from anywhere.

N-able N-sight RMM Features

Monitoring Tasks Features

  • Supported: Remote monitoring
  • Supported: Network device monitoring

Management Tasks Features

  • Supported: Patch Management
  • Supported: Policy-based automation

N-able N-sight RMM Screenshots

Screenshot of N-able RMM Dashboard

N-able N-sight RMM Video

SolarWinds RMM: A Lightweight Desktop Management Software

N-able N-sight RMM Competitors

N-able N-sight RMM Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android, Windows Phone
Supported LanguagesGerman, English, French, Italian, Spanish

N-able N-sight RMM Downloadables

Frequently Asked Questions

SolarWinds Remote Monitoring & Management (RMM) is a cloud-based system monitoring offering for Managed Service Providers. It provides a full monitoring and management suite, including automation and threat detection capabilities, and can integrate with other SolarWinds products.

NinjaOne, Atera, and Pulseway are common alternatives for N-able N-sight RMM.

Reviewers rate Remote monitoring and Network device monitoring and Patch Management highest, with a score of 10.

The most common users of N-able N-sight RMM are from Small Businesses (1-50 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(92)

Community Insights

TrustRadius Insights are summaries of user sentiment data from TrustRadius reviews and, when necessary, 3rd-party data sources. Have feedback on this content? Let us know!

SolarWinds RMM is a comprehensive network management solution that has proven to be invaluable for Managed Service Providers, or MSPs, and other organizations. With its wide range of tools, such as patch management, asset tracking, and change management, it allows MSPs to efficiently support several thousand endpoints with a small team. Users have found the software to be particularly helpful in managing hundreds of endpoints, providing an intuitive way to remotely monitor and manage devices and workstations at scale. It has been used by various professionals, including doctors and dentists, to ensure their clients' systems are secure and up to date, even during odd intervals. The software's customizability allows companies to tailor it to their specific needs, enabling automation of maintenance tasks and easy deployment of Windows patches. Additionally, SolarWinds RMM facilitates remote management and monitoring of thousands of devices, enabling proactive monitoring and efficient problem resolution. It is extensively used for conducting webinars, remotely monitoring client workstations, and providing quick visibility and access to clients' systems. Ultimately, SolarWinds RMM provides MSPs with the ability to deliver quicker response times and a fuller range of IT solutions to their clients while improving overall productivity.

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 28)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
October 12, 2022

Great product overall

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
The product is being used by the IT department to support both in-house staff and all our customers with an IT Support contract. This allows the technicians to remotely connect to end-user machines and resolve faults in a timely manner with full visibility of the end-user. I find the product extremely efficient.
  • Remote connection is fast and robust.
  • Remote background features are excellent.
  • Lightweight product does not slow down end user machines.
  • There are some minor bugs I would like to see resolved.
  • Functionality for macOS is not as good as Windows.
  • Sometimes the installer fails for unknown reasons.
The product is perfect in a managed service provider environment. Our customers are able to call the help desk technicians and have remote support within seconds which makes a huge impact on the trust and confidence our customers have with the Support team. Being able to remote into a machine without going through a process that requires end-user input is perfect
October 12, 2022

N-Able RMM its good

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
N-able RMM has been a core part of our MSP business since day one. It allows us quick visibility and access to our clients systems. The wall display gives us visibility of alerts for issues both those baked in and custom scripts we have to monitor client specific systems.
  • Remote Access
  • Monitoring
  • Backup monitoring
  • Backup
  • improved performance when switching screens when remoted to a device with multiple screens
  • Linux and mac support could be better, but are already better than most
We'e used N-able RMM and it predecessors at a couple of MSP's businesses over the years and found it a good fit for small and medium sized teams. For larger companies the lack of direct tie into a ticketing/billing such as offered by, for example, ConnectWise may be a limiting factor.
Les Klassen Hamm | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Mine is a small IT support business for non-profits and small businesses. We use it to inform, simplify, and standardize support for any of our clients who are ready to move past the break/fix model.
  • Hardware/inventory information.
  • Remote access to client systems.
  • Basic system health monitoring.
  • Centralized, managed anti-virus.
  • Some of SolarWinds best or newest products get released outside the RMM console, so they are not integrated for easy monitoring or single billing. In particular, the choice between managed backup that integrated inside the RMM, and managed backup that exists separately, is unclear and unhelpful and billed separately. It's still smarter to go with the standalone version from the beginning, but that's not made very clear.
  • The patching engine could be more robust, and simpler (if those two can co-exist).
The pricing and scaling are well suited to a smaller IT shop, without huge upfront commitments or contracts, and still provides a great resource that will both save and make you money.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Current RMM tool for managing several hundred endpoints (patching, security, monitoring). Remote background as needed.
  • Patching
  • Alert logging
  • Easy of deployment
  • AV solutions are frequently buggy I've found.
  • Agent individual services occasionally bug on removal.
  • Support has been going downhill since the N-Able acquisition, in my opinion.
  • Dated portal.
The RMM has a lot of issues with its security deployment. Often slows client PCs. Removals are buggy. N-able RMM has been slow to address in my opinion. Generally, patching operates smoothly and easily.
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Remote connection and monitoring
  • Dashboard
  • control panel
  • Custromer Service
  • Automated systems
  • Ease of use and management
Their product is okay for smaller organizations although the remote connection can be finicky and clunky. Maybe if you had dedicated people for it, it would be easier, but I did not find it helpful as we grew. Their customer service is atrocious. Even basic things like getting a receipt can be a challenge for them. I left them and would recommend others to stay away.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
[N-able RMM (formerly Solarwinds RMM)] software package offers us a wide assortment of tools at our disposal while not being tied down to one PC. We are free to log in to the interface anywhere their is an internet connection. Installation of the package can be pushed out to all machines connected to the domain via group policies. The MSP Institute offers work at your own pace training for more than just the product. Need marketing help, how about sales help? The MSP Institute has it. It has proven to be a valuable training tool for management and our technicians. The support we receive from our account rep is top notch. I highly recommend the SolarWinds products and I am impressed by the expertise of their staff.
  • Support
  • Functionality
  • Reliability
  • Reporting
  • Integration
  • Learning curve
SolarWinds patch management has had issues over the years. Sometimes requiring manual intervention to get resolved. The UI [with N-able RMM (formerly Solarwinds RMM)] makes it easy to see status of systems and identify any alerts easily. Remotely monitoring the status of servers/computers. Managing the systems, patching, systems maintenance and remote support.
Michael Hannagan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
SolarWinds RMM is used across the whole organisation from the help desk to accounts. The application allows our organisation to provide quick remote support to our clients, and the fleet management allows us to accurately bill our clients.
  • Remote Access
  • Asset Tracking
  • Performance of Dashboard
  • Ease of Onboarding new Clients
SolarWinds Remote Monitoring & Management is suited for businesses to manage their fleets. It is suited for support desks to allow ease of access to client machines and networking.

SolarWinds is not suited for individuals.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
We use it as an easy way to keep up with clients such as Doctors and Dentists. These clients have dynamic days where remote support at odd intervals is the only way to find the solutions for these people. It's a very intuitive way to remotely manage many devices and workstations at once.
  • Easy to Use
  • Online Remote Access
  • Sales isn't straightforward. It took 3 calls to get RMM, being a customer for another set of companies that already use RMM.
  • Two different links to the dashboard, but only one has a working payments link.
It's a wonderful tool if you need to have eyes on multiple endpoints. It also makes it easy to have clients who have multiple locations. It does a wonderful job of alerting when something needs to be assessed. It also does a wonderful job at keeping everything organized, such as clients, their locations, and sublocations.
December 24, 2019

SolarWinds MSP ON FIRE!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
We use N-Central for our environment, managing workstations and servers, printers, switches, and network appliances. We use SolarWinds RMM for the whole organization and for conducting webinars for our customers (RMM).
  • Daily checks and automatic activities.
  • Remote control using the Take Control Engine.
  • Remote control for Mobiles.
  • Accurate exclusions for some specific programs in patch management.
SolarWinds is suited to:
Patch Management -- Yes.
Take Control and Remote background -- Yes.
Maintenance mode -- Yes.
Eric King | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
RMM is being deployed on client sites. It allows us to consistently monitor client computers, both workstations and servers, and diffuse any looming problems before they occur. The ease with which we can customise the checks for each site and each unit on the site makes SolarWinds RMM a pleasure to use.
  • Threat detection.
  • Web protection - limiting the types of websites client computers can access which helps protect from malware.
  • Appearance of remote computer screen when using the 'Take Control' function. It is getting better but Teamviewer does it much better.
Found it extremely useful monitoring sites with domain servers and a number of workstations. It is equally suited to simple situation where a client simply has a couple of standalone computer units.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Solarwinds RMM for a wide range of applications, from deploying scripts to multiple machines, to managing updates and doing client inventory for future upgrades. Additionally, we provide remote access to the machines both internally, and for client use.
  • Patch management.
  • Script deployment.
  • Structured application of custom settings and rules for automation.
  • UI speed and threading across multiple windows (1 window refreshing, causes all refreshes to hang).
  • Load times in certain menus, regardless of server specs.
  • Integration with 3rd party applications.
  • Speed of dev team response in regards to existing features malfunctioning, or major bugs that Solarwinds does not consider major.
Solarwinds RMM is well suited for a single large company with multiple sites. However, through my experience, I have noticed that they do cater as well to one company managing a lot of other companies. This causes specific issues that are brought up in managerial meetings to not be understood due to the nature of one company managing another, vs. one company managing many others.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
SolarWinds Remote Monitoring & Management is being used by out network teams which include monitoring audio video equipment. We use it to monitor network devices to determine if the device is up or down and to monitor processes within the device. We also use SolarWinds to manage devices into locations and to group them into like devices. This solves the problem of know what devices you have where they are located and if there are issues with them.
  • Able to design the system to fit your needs. There are lots of features that help you tweak the system to have it work best for you.
  • SNMP Mibs are already available no need to import your own, they also keep them up to date.
  • Love the customizable dashboards. You have the info that is most relevant to you at you finger tips.
  • You are able to open devices directly from the dashboard through links, so no need to copy and paste. Just click.
  • There are so many features and options that it can be overwhelming in the beginning.
  • Wish there was a way to add custom fields to reports.
  • The GUI is crowded or links aren't clearly described on certain pages. I find myself forgetting how to get to certain views.
  • The software can start to lag after a while even if the hardware is specced out correctly. I would definitely recommend over-speccing the device.
  • API is just OK, wish they would put more effort into this.
If you are a large corporation and have lots of devices that may or may not be in the same location, SolarWinds can help you manage where they are located physically and also logically. You can group them and give them parent/child relationships so if a main device goes down you don't get an alert for every device that is behind the main device. With those same devices, SolarWinds can monitor them so you know the online status of them. SolarWinds can pull SNMP data from your device and create monitoring objects like CPU, memory, disk space and even create SNMP traps you so can get alerted if anything happens on that device.

If you need to have a variety of ways you want to be alerted to SolarWinds alerts, this is a great product. You can be alerted by standard email or by SMS and more. If you are wanting export data or to pull data via the API to other systems I have found this to be difficult and not as easy as other systems I have used. If you are dealing with smaller amounts of devices, SolarWinds can handle them but I feel that SolarWinds is quite pricey and requires more hardware resources than most would want to pay for smaller deployments.
October 21, 2019

SolarWinds RMM Review

T.J. Young | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We have deployed SolarWinds RMM to 4000+ endpoints that we support. Our ability to manage that many users remotely, has become invaluable to our team and support offering. We use it primarily for asset tracking and management, patch management and change management.
  • Asset tracking.
  • Patch management.
  • Remote access.
  • We are very happy with no complaints.
This is well-suited for anyone in charge of managing multiple assets/users, either remotely or on-site. It includes a centrally located dashboard to handle just about all workstation/server management tasks.
Kyle Forward | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are an MSP with a client base of over 4000 total endpoints. We use SolarWinds N-Central RMM to monitor and manage these endpoints. We use the custom alerting and notifications to generate actionable tickets for everything from basic connectivity to in-depth Exchange, SQL, and server monitoring. Without this tool, we would be left at a tremendous disadvantage.
  • Out of the box agent monitoring
  • Custom alert profiles
  • Modular automation builder
  • Extensive automation capabilities
  • SNMP monitoring requires more involvement and can take time to configure
  • Nested alert profiles are not yet available
  • Some automation can display an error even though the policy ran to completion
SolarWinds N-Central Remote Monitoring & Management is the perfect tool for MSPs that manage their own NOC with complete customization capabilities.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
SolarWinds is used for most aspects of our MSP support requirements. We use it for everything from simple automation tasks for small client sites to complex server monitoring and scripting. It's a vital part of our day to day remote support tasks, site audits and monitoring. It monitors websites, integrates into our help desk software and supports most well know device brands on the market.
  • The remote desktop control feature is extremely good and doesn't interfere with the existing installation of mainstream products. This means that we create a remote screen session at the same time as a 3rd party support tech who's using another product.
  • Scripting and automation tasks are essential to our business. The ability for this solution to handle these well and also allow complex customization is very handy. There's constantly updated scripts and self-healing services added as well as community-created ones.
  • The mobile app is well developed and allows our techs to perform a wide range of troubleshooting processes while on the road. We can remote control a server, reboot, start/stop services and a heap more.
  • 2 Factor/Multifactor support is vital. SolarWinds RMM fully supports MFA on both the browser login and mobile apps. With the access it provides to sensitive client data, it's surprising how many competitors don't offer MFA support for their RMM product.
  • There's a few issues when new versions are released. We try to keep to the main releases and service packs.
  • Alerting via email or ticket creation can be excessive when using the defaults. This can require a lot of customisation for new sites that have older equipment. Alerts regarding irrelevant events are pretty excessive sometimes.
  • We find the web interface slow at times. There may be other factors causing this though.
  • Remote desktop access can sometimes appear to stay active on the customer's end, even after we've disconnected.
  • However, the tech support from SolarWinds is very quick to address this sort of issue.
SolarWinds Remote Monitoring & Management is particularly good for supporting small SMB's with very old equipment. It's also quite scalable where required. Self-healing and in-depth scripted automated tasks are very well supported and integrated. It's probably not the best solution for very small businesses or clients due to the overhead in maintenance and management for such a small site.
March 15, 2019

Best solution for RMM

Mike Cisneros | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use SolarWinds to provide IT support to our clients in a more efficient manner. We are able to provide quicker response times to take care of IT issues and offer our clients a fuller range of IT solutions at a better cost. This improved service has helped grow our client base.
  • One dashboard to monitor security, backup, systems monitoring makes it very efficient.
  • Allows us to be proactive with IT issues.
  • Reduces response times to handle IT issues.
  • Better pricing on the cost of online backup.
A cost-effective solution to efficiently provide various IT services.
March 13, 2019

A Good RMM

Stephen Widjaja | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Although SolarWinds RMM provides many integrated features and add-ons, we strictly use SolarWinds RMM for managing, monitoring, and Windows patch management for our customers' servers and workstations. Custom filtering for monitoring is standard. They offer it on a month-to-month basis with a minimum number of endpoints. It is a cloud-based RMM and you will have to deploy the agents to all the endpoints you want to manage.
  • Remote Access -- you'll have a choice between Teamviewer or MSP Anywhere. Either choice is very fast to access remote devices. The remote background command line is much better than the competitors'.
  • Dashboard -- simple to view for all the managed endpoints.
  • Alerts -- it offers to customize alerts so that you can select which important criteria you'd want to receive or not.
  • Out of the box configuration -- users will have to spend a lot of effort to configure the RMM to fit their business model, as well as customization of alerting and services.
  • Reports -- The executive Summary Report and monthly report are very plain.
  • Patch management -- It's hit or miss.
The product is a very solid RMM. It's a single platform for remote support, patch management, and monitoring. One feature we love is the remote command line and remote scripting to run task without having to interact with the users. The dashboard is easy to navigate and easily find informative details for the endpoint that you managed. It's very easy to view all the inventory of the endpoints.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
This question, I believe, shows a fundamental misunderstanding of what exactly SolarWinds RMM (SWRMM) is and it's target market. SWRMM is primarily targeted at Managed Service Providers (MSPs) who are companies that outsource IT for other organizations. As such, it solves one of the core business needs for our industry.

SWRMM is used by the majority of our company (all the techs), so it manages several thousand endpoints on behalf of our customers. It gives us most of the solutions we need to manage, monitor and maintain these endpoints. In essence, the business problem it solves is our need to be able to quickly support several thousand endpoints with a small team.
  • It provides fantastic remote access capabilities. The Take Control tool gives us a robust platform that is capable of remote controlling almost any endpoint we need to and the chat, file transfer, and screen recording tools are all exceptionally useful.
  • SolarWinds RMM is particularly useful as a single pane of glass solution that allows us to monitor and manage thousands of endpoints across dozens of different clients. It does a solid job of allowing us to sort, organize, and filter based off of who and what we want to see at any given time.
  • Due to its client based nature, the platform excels at in-depth monitoring of services, event logs, and the functionality of systems with custom script checks.
  • Manageability of Customer logins to the dashboard is poor.
  • AV whitelists don't apply to behavioral scans which makes them nearly worthless.
  • The "Networks" tab doesn't let you monitor a network that isn't on the same subnet as a network adapter even if a monitored machine can access a different subnet.
  • Vulnerability scans/patch management break ALL THE TIME. We have to uninstall/reinstall it on 5-10 systems per week.
  • "Network Devices" is extremely limited in value. If each device also supported a list of SNMP check that could be customized, they might actually be useful.
  • They need a new UX team. The settings menus are atrocious. I should be able to access ALL settings for any given product from its single settings menu, not have to try figuring out which of the three settings menus for that product actually contain the settings I need.
It works extremely well when trying to perform basic monitoring on a large number of endpoints and you also wish to perform some management tasks all from a single location. It isn't great at anything network related. A lot more data needs to be exportable, especially in the form of CSVs.
February 08, 2019

Made my life easier

Adrian Takacs | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Our company and business has been built around SolarWinds Remote Monitoring & Management. RMM makes it easier for us to proactively monitor our customer's servers and workstations. The take control feature helps us assist all the users with their IT problems. The automated tasks are helping us automate most of our daily\weekly tasks.
  • All other SolarWinds products are built into RMM (e.g. Take Control, Managed Antivirus, Backup) and can all be accessed from a single central dashboard.
  • The platform so far has never been down which allowed us to do our day to day job.
  • Solarwinds is always trying to improve its platform and the range of products it offers which helps companies like us.
  • The vulnerability\patch manager scans fail quite often, but lately, I have noticed an improvement.
  • The managed antivirus is quite heavy on the disk while performing a deep scan and this impacts the user.
Is well suited for managed service providers like us and it is ideal to implement for customers that pay for pro active monitoring. Due to the cost, it is not suitable to be deployed on devices for customers that pay as they go and contact support only when they have an issue.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
It's used by the whole team. It gives us insight into the health of a client network and status of all nodes. Daily and typical maintenance tasks can be automated and can be reviewed with automatic reports. Windows patches can be deployed, hardware status of PCs and servers can be monitored to the most accurate details.
  • Gives insight into the health of PCs and servers.
  • Gives you on-the-second notifications when a device goes down or there's a connectivity problem.
  • Microsoft and third party patches can be deployed, and if there is a problem, they can be removed also.
  • They offer a backup solution, but it needs maturing.
  • The rules application can be simpler. It has a high learning curve.
  • It would be nice if self-healing options or behavior learning was available.
It's well suited if your company has grown to the point where automation is a must. This will also allow you to scale up whether you're a one-man shop or have many technicians. If your company is a break-fix model, than this software may not be suitable for your business needs.
December 10, 2018

Solarwinds RMM

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
The tool used for monthly managed services - securing and updated remote workstations.
  • Windows updates - reduce the hassle of end users doing the updates.
  • 3rd party updates (java,adobe, etc) - work very well and help keep things secure.
  • Remote management - excellent remote control of workstations and no UAC issues.
  • Would like the option for a remote access only option (similar to the AV only option).
  • 3rd party logo integration is not working.
Any IT service company wanting to manage and monitor remote PCs would love this software.
Michael Gombosi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
SolarWinds RMM, and Orion as a whole, is the quintessential go-to network management solution for our company. We use it to monitor and maintain our entire network, which covers all of the US and parts of Mexico and Canada. We could not be happier with this product. The cost is relatively high, but you are getting exactly what you are paying for: a singular solution that does everything from monitoring and alerting all the while giving you a total birds-eye view of what's going on in your network -- all in real-time. The best part - everything within SolarWinds is completely customizable to your company's needs and the product support and community simply does not get better. Do yourself a favor - get this product so that you can be confident that there won't ever be an issue in your network without you knowing about it.
  • Thanks to RMM I never feel like I'm unaware as to what's going on in my network. I can be in the office or half a country away and feel completely aware of what's going on.
  • We've had numerous situations over the years where a part of our network is having issues (latency or errors) that the RMM alerts have saved us from a major outage. You can't ask for better proactive alerting.
  • The advanced alerting allows us to stay ahead of issues instead of reacting to them. This gives us confidence in our network and our end users better support.
  • Cost can be a little taxing, especially on smaller companies.
  • Maintaining each module of SolarWinds can be a bit tedious.
  • Server requirements can be on the high-end side, which means more licensing and money.
This is a great solution for mid-sized businesses and a MUST HAVE for enterprise-sized companies. For small-size businesses, this might be too costly of a solution. I would suggest checking out SolarWind's free trials to see if the cost-benefit is worth it.
Tyler Despain | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We used SolarWinds Remote Monitoring & Management to remotely monitor client workstations. We could apply antivirus, check event logs, and push out windows updates.
  • Reliable
  • Robust
  • Adaptable
  • Hard to use.
  • User management can be confusing and buggy.
  • Remote connection tools didn't always work.
  • Billing can be hard to figure out.
It is well suited for IT departments that need to remotely manage and monitor 50+ machines. It is not suited for small operations or small companies.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We currently use Solarwinds RMM to monitor all of our clients servers and workstations. It lets us be more proactive in the IT industry by knowing about potential problems before they happen. Solarwinds RMM lets us create customer task and help our clients in a more efficient manner. Solarwinds was also a big part of us changing our business model to a more managed services model.
  • Great monitoring options for all hardware types
  • Incredible remote support tools to solve problems
  • Cloud based system means you don't need to invest in hardware
  • Easy to customize and create reports for clients
  • Patch management needs some improvement as well as the vulnerability scans
  • Would like more reporting options
  • Would like to see best practice guides published
Solarwinds RMM provides any small IT support business with the tools necessary to fully manage all clients. From monitoring, backups, patch management, remote support, reporting to antivirus, all you will need is Solarwinds RMM. This entry level management suite will allow you to be more proactive in the IT industry and create a better relationship with your clients.
Steve Putnam | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Solarwinds RMM to monitor and manage 40 client servers and 190 workstations. Prior to implementing it, we had no mechanism to detect hardware/OS problems or internet outages for our client base.
  • The server monitoring at five minute intervals works very well and provides flexibility as to which events trigger SMS and or email notifications to our technicians and which are minor issues that can be addressed during business hours
  • The SNMP scripting capability is very powerful, allowing us to perform checks on routers, UPS devices, storage arrays, etc. The ability to create custom power shell script and execute them as tasks at scheduled intervals is also very powerful.
  • The wall chart feature is very powerful. However recent upgrades have caused it to be subject to a forced timeout such that we have to login again. Very annoying.
  • The tech-support is sometimes lacking. Simple problems that they should be able to address we end up figuring out for ourselves
  • The Web protection module does not have granular permissions so we cannot let customers maintain their own whitelists.
All right man is an extremely powerful tool with many many features and capabilities. Well we do not use all of the capabilities, a company that is looking to build the entire MSP management suite with one pane of glass would do well to consider Solarwinds RMM. Antivirus, monitoring, patch management, network monitoring, backup, remote control, and others too numerous to mention, all at a price that allows MSP’s to sell the services ata a competitive price and still make a profit.
Return to navigation