N-able Take Control (formerly Solarwinds Take Control) Reviews

26 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-9 of 9)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
November 14, 2019
Kevin Hull | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Solarwinds to take control as part of our RMM platform to access and control remote machines. Additionally, we use Take Control as a tool for our clients to remote into their own machines.
  • Huge feature set.
  • Relatively reliable connection when connected via P2P.
  • Clear, high quality image.
  • Performance on low-end machines.
  • Verbosity when changing stream quality.
  • File manager needs improving, dragging files causes graphical issues.
  • Connection time needs to be reduced.
  • Ability to adjust re-connection time.
  • Integration with more password-storage applications.
  • Screen blanking is buggy in some instances and makes the session unusable.
In situations in which you have high-end, up-to-date hardware systems, Take Control will thrive. Using the software on older system, or clients that do not wish to update to current OS/hardware, Take Control will suffer.
Read Kevin Hull's full review
November 04, 2019
Austin Metz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Solarwinds is being used by the whole company for remote management. We are able to remotely manage updates, push out software, and so much more.
  • I love the automation features, the scripting side of it has a very easy user interface that makes writing a policy a breeze.
  • The software is constantly updated making sure we have the best tools available.
  • Very good at making task scheduling easy.
  • Integration with Office365 could be a little better.
  • It could be better about updating the agent.
This software is well suited for any size MSP looking to take their business to the next level.
Read Austin Metz's full review
October 08, 2019
Timothy Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
Solarwinds Take Control is used to monitor and fix issues with clients' machines remotely. It's an awesome system that gives full access remotely. Security is a main concern of our clients and this helps us to fix issues before they become major problems. Solarwinds as a whole is an awesome suite that takes monitoring and problem solving to a full new level.
  • Accessing registry system to fix issues.
  • Fixing startup issues before they can become serious.
  • Simple tool to use, allows me full access to load and install updates.
  • I haven't found any shortfalls with the system.
Our client had a printer issue late at night and using Solarwinds Take Control helped since I didn't need to go to the office to sort it out. I could reload and reinstall the printer drivers so that the system was up and running within 30 minutes. It would have taken longer just to make it into the office, so it is a good package that saves time, especially if clients need to be running 24/7.
Read Timothy Smith's full review
November 29, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Take Control to support our MSP as well as ISP clients both internally and externally. Virtually everyone in the office uses it including our graphic designer if they need to work from home. Being able to use take control in its various capacities allows us to quickly and easily diagnose a multitude of varying issues from misconfigured residential routers to major service outages on our customers systems from anywhere in the world.
  • Easy to use remote support.
  • Easily and securely access sensitive systems.
  • Easily set-up our end users with the ability to remote access to their own desktops as needed.
  • The end-user interface could be made to be easier to use and more instructions could be provided.
  • Cannot send password reset requests for end-users.
  • More branding options would be nice for a more seamless customer experience.
It is phenomenal as a remote service tool, as well as a Teamviewer alternative for end users. But its per device interface is lacking, as well as how technicians are set-up. Once you learn the ins and outs its quite easy to use from both sides. However, it can be a little quirky when initially set-up.
Read this authenticated review
September 27, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Take Control is used across our organization. As an MSP, we support client desktops and troubleshoot client servers with Take Control. We also use it for internal support of our employee laptops/workstations.
  • Being able to log in as what a server sees as a "local session" is very convenient for remote troubleshooting of Remote access issues.
  • Easily accessing laptops and workstations with a shared desktop to work through issues with clients.
  • Copy and paste functions from the host to a remote desktop is cumbersome.
  • Screen sizing is an issue for lower resolution devices (servers).
Take Control does not replace RDP, but is great for end-user devices and troubleshooting RDP issues.
Read this authenticated review
August 19, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses Solarwinds Take Control to remote into our client PC and solve problems. If a client device receives an error or needs software installation, Take Control is a user-friendly tool to save us travel time by creating a remote connection into the devices versus driving onsite to the device location.
  • Take Control is really good at accessing a device with no end-user involvement. The user doesn't have to click on permissions or visit a particular site. We simply can take control of their device from the RMM dashboard.
  • If Microsoft issues a patch/update, I can schedule a release of a mass install to all client sites at the click of a mouse from within my office.
  • Based on past experiences, I have not yet got Take Control to work on Mac. Rather than submit a ticket to Solarwinds support, we came up with a different strategy in the interim.
  • There are two different Take Control interfaces that may sometimes be confusing. There is Take Control from RMM and then a stand-alone.
When a news alert came out about removing Quicktime software, Take Control, allowed easy access to remote into client devices and remove Quicktime.
Read this authenticated review
November 26, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We use it internally to support our internal machines, as well as our customers' machines. It is so quick and easy to log onto a machine and it really helps us as a business.
  • How quick it is to access machines.
  • The remote background feature is amazing, such a handy feature.
  • File transferring is also very easy and efficient.
  • I would like it if we could do a bit more on remote background, such as uninstalling software etc.
  • Swapping monitors can be quite glitchy and slow sometimes.
  • A screen recording facility would be AMAZING.
If you regularly remote access machines, this product is the one to go for in my eyes. It is so quick and easy
not to mention the various other features Solarwinds offers such as machine checks, tasks etc.
Read this authenticated review
April 13, 2018
Les Klassen Hamm | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use SolarWinds MSP Anywhere for my MSP clients, as it's beautifully integrated in the Remote Monitoring and Management console. This is the preferred remote access method for all clients who use our Managed Services.
  • It's convenient! One click to select the computer with an issue from the RMM console, and one more click to make the remote connection.
  • The file transfer screen is laid out in a classic side-by-side explorer view, which it clear and easy to use.
  • Chat options, little surprises like "laser pointer" for live training or explaining with a user, local or remote printing, and video recording the session are great extra features over the basic remote control feature set.
  • I wish text rendering was done better when there is a large mismatch between remote and local screen resolutions. For instance, accessing a remote laptop with super high resolution / pixel density on a normal desktop monitor gives somewhat choppy fonts, so filenames can be a bit hard to read, regardless of local display size settings and optimization for high bandwidth. Yes there is an option to adjust the remote resolution, but that is often not desirable.
  • I don't choose MSP anywhere for on-demand remote support to for new clients or occasional remote help sessions. It's great for those integrated into the RMM, but I prefer other options for occasional or new users calling in for a quick remote support / fix.
I love it when integrated with my MSP and client console.
I don't like it so much for occasional on-demand connections or user-initiated scenarios.
Read Les Klassen Hamm's full review
March 15, 2017
Brian W. Caldwell BIT | MIS | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
Our organization recently switched from a competing on demand "helpdesk" tool to SolarWinds MSP Anywhere. [It's being used] for internal use as well as for use in support of our non-managed customers (project / break-fix customers). We use it as a way to connect remotely, administer, and maintain those customers on demand, and with their consent. Since we have used other SolarWinds tools, this was one factor we used to make the decision. It also helped immensely that the cost was significantly less as compared to competing solutions.
  • Makes it easy to manage multiple technician accounts.
  • Easy to review previous session history.
  • Has a post-help survey tool that can be used to send to staff or customers.
  • It doesn't always exit/close down cleanly.
  • I would like to see improved integration with PSA tools, such as AutoTask.
  • The interface (GUI) is a bit boring, but I'll take that over functionality any day.
More appropriate for unmanaged customers, e.g. if you already are using SolarWinds N-Able/N-central with another RMM tool, MSP Anywhere would be useful to support your customers that are not part of the managed base.
Read Brian W. Caldwell BIT | MIS's full review

N-able Take Control (formerly Solarwinds Take Control) Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Screen sharing (8)
8.8
File transfer (9)
7.0
Instant message (8)
8.4
Secure remote access with Smart Card authentication (1)
8.2
Access to sleeping/powered-off computers (3)
6.3
Over-the-Internet remote session (9)
8.0
Initiate remote control from mobile (6)
5.5
Remote management of servers & workstations (8)
8.5
Remote Active Directory® management (4)
8.5
Centralized management dashboard (7)
9.1
Session record (5)
8.6
Annotations (4)
8.5
Monitoring and Alerts (7)
8.4
Multi-platform remote control (8)
6.6

What is N-able Take Control (formerly Solarwinds Take Control)?

N-able™ Take Control (formerly Solarwinds Take Control) and Take Control Plus are cloud-based remote control solutions built for MSPs and IT service businesses that need to securely access and troubleshoot end devices. With support for Windows®, Mac®, and Linux® machines, MSPs can work from those platforms or their iOS® or Android® devices with the N-able native app.

With N-able Take Control, users can assign techs or whole departments to specific customers or individuals so that support tickets get handled efficiently and on time. Technicians can access the system via the bash shell, transfer files silently, and call the system manager to view CPU usage or kill processes. The open system control console for end client devices enables users to diagnose computer and network issues, check event logs, and review or kill processes. Use the remote command line to perform operations in the background, including silently uploading files and activating scripts to seamlessly fix issues. Pass sessions to other technicians to escalate tasks, transfer tickets or employ multiple technicians on a single remote access session without affecting performance.

Take Control Plus offers 500 install agents, 10 end-user accounts for you and your clients for simple remote access, video chat, customizable surveys, session calling cards, registry editing, and password management. Take Control is available free for 14 days, no credit card required.
Categories:  Remote Desktop

N-able Take Control (formerly Solarwinds Take Control) Screenshots

N-able Take Control (formerly Solarwinds Take Control) Competitors

TeamViewer, LogMeIn Rescue, ConnectWise Control (formerly ScreenConnect), BeyondTrust Remote Support (formerly Bomgar)

N-able Take Control (formerly Solarwinds Take Control) Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

N-able Take Control (formerly Solarwinds Take Control) Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

N-able Take Control (formerly Solarwinds Take Control) Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android

Frequently Asked Questions

What is N-able Take Control (formerly Solarwinds Take Control)'s best feature?

Reviewers rate Centralized management dashboard highest, with a score of 9.1.

Who uses N-able Take Control (formerly Solarwinds Take Control)?

The most common users of N-able Take Control (formerly Solarwinds Take Control) are from Small Businesses and the Information Technology & Services industry.