TrustRadius
NAKIVO Backup & Replication is a VM data backup solution for protecting VMware, Hyper-V, Nutanix AHV, and AWS EC2 environments. It also features replication, failover, backup to cloud, backup copy, backup size reduction, screenshot verification, and site recovery through a single web interface.https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/02/iX/CB133LC48U2R.PNGTop ProductWe started using Nakivo Backup and Replication to backup virtual machines hosted on customer premises on free ESXi hosts. Nakivo's proprietary change tracking method alternative to VMware's CBT.saved us the costs of going for a paid ESXi solution to minimize the storage and time required for the backups. Later we implemented the same product to replicate all our virtual servers in our data centre between two different SANs.,Easy to implement and flexible, Nakivo can run on Windows systems, as a virtual appliance on VMware or as an app on your Synology NAS. Very robust- in more than two years since using it we did not have any failed backups related to the product itself.,Can not think of anything, maybe they can make it a free product?,9,Cheaper than any other product out there allowing us to provide very competitive solutions as an MSP. Monthly subscription that pays for itself.,Altaro Hyper-V Backup, Vembu BDR Suite and StorageCraft Cloud BackupNAKIVO is great for small environments but struggles in larger deploymentsNAKIVO backup has been deployed in our datacenters and in our branch offices for backup. It is also used across several of our operating companies in their operations. It was a cost-efficient backup solution and alternative from VMware Data Protection with better scale. It allows us both snapshot-based backup and replication for migrations. We moved away from NAKIVO in our primary datacenters and migrated back to Veeam in the past 18 months.,Backup jobs run well to a centralized repository. Replication jobs directly between vSphere instances works well. De-duplication seems to be efficient as long as it is against the same VM ID. It is cost-effective to license.,The repository is monolithic and maintenance tasks are slow for large repositories. De-duplication is not global - it is per VM based de-duplication and change blocks only (not most efficient). Repository corruption is a major risk and caused data loss on a couple occasions.,6,5 years of purchase + support was less than 1 year's support of a competitive product. Data corruption and mitigation of the risk is costly (tape backup or secondary storage required). Monolithic repositories require large file shares in larger environments.,Veeam Backup & Replication, Veeam Availability Suite, Avamar, Networker and Data Protector (formerly HP Data Protector)NAKIVO - Surprisingly AwesomeNAKIVO is used to backup our VMware systems, and we have it installed at a number of customer sites doing the same thing. Compared to our old system, NAKIVO just works. It's easy to setup, it's easy to use, and it's ridiculously reliable.,Reliable Easy to configure Affordable,The different product versions are oddly named for what they provide. Some enterprise features are not yet supported on the virtual appliance running under VMware.,10,We have high confidence in our backups now. NAKIVO is a "set it and forget it" kind of solution. I don't have to be checking it daily to make sure it works. We still monitor it, but it's much more passive now.,Veeam Backup & Replication and Unitrends Recovery Series Backup Appliance,VMware ESXi, Avaza, FreshdeskNakivo Backup perfect for small to midsize VM Enviroments.Nakivo Backup & Replication is a great product and works well in my environment to provide backups of the virtual servers on my VMware hosts both locally to a NAS and offsite to Amazon S3. It was very easy to set up and manage and the new bandwidth management is a very nice addition.,Cost effective VMWare backups. Easy to set up and use and a reliable product. Bandwidth management is a very nice new feature.,None that I have found.,10,Very cost effective for smaller virtual environments. Scales nicely to larger setups also.,Veeam Backup & Replication,Veeam Backup & Replication, CloudBerry Backup, Zerto,1,1,We backup all of our VMWare hosted servers onto a local NAS storage device using Nakivo. We also backup all of our VMWare hosted servers AWS using Nakivo.,I love the bandwidth throttling on schedule so that we can control the load based on our working hours. The way we have chained our backups together was so easy and works great. Simple and effective way to get all of my backup jobs completed. The reports from each backup job are very informative and useful.,We will continue to backup our servers as we add more in the future.,10,No,Price Product Features Product Usability Existing Relationship with the Vendor,None. Nakivo would still be my choice.,Implemented in-house,No,Change management was minimal,The AWS storage space setup was more difficult than the Nakivo setup itself. AWS has so many choices it's confusing sometimes. Nakivo is simple.,10,No,When we initially installed and setup Nakivo with AWS we setup our own transporter and storage space at AWS. We then had issues with those backups failing. After contacting Nakivo support they connected to my workstation and worked with me to install the Nakivo appliance at AWS and properly size it for our needs. It worked and has ever since then.,9,Backup job creation is very easy and quick. Monitoring the job progress on the dashboard is simple and understandable.,I haven't found any overly difficult functions in Nakivo.,10Rock solid "tapeless" backups with an easy to use interface and stellar support staffNAKIVO Backup & Replication is being used across the entire organization, but only for backups of both Windows and Linux VMs currently. We may start using the replication features in the near future.,Creating G-F-S backups of virtual servers in a completely automated fashion. Restoring data easily when needed, either as specific individual files or entire servers (and the run-from-backup option is just neat, although we've rarely had use for that). Storing Data in a de-duplicated, compressed format has allowed us to store many many backups in a space that is many many times smaller than it would take to keep multiple full copies of each server.,Needs to support more flavors of Linux. Seeing "The operating system of the selected recovery server is not supported" is just not cool, man, not cool. Should allow more than one user regardless of license level. Even small companies have more than one IT person who might need to access it and sharing one ID is never a good idea. It's frustrating when we get job failures because maintenance tasks are being done (which makes things like repositories unavailable). Maintenance tasks should be paused and then resume after the higher priority job completes.,10,No tapes! Seriously, it's extremely easy to use and once set up, requires essentially zero intervention (again, unlike tapes) which results in massive operational time savings.,NAKIVO: The Answer to Your Backup PrayersWe've been using NAKIVO to back up data across our office locations, as well as the VMs themselves. It has helped us leverage our resources by enabling us to use local storage at one location and allocate it as a recovery site for an office at another location.,You can implement NAKIVO on your own relatively quickly without needing consultants to come in spending hours to get it in place. It's cost-effective. The interface is simple and straight-forward. It's not overly complicated.,You can only backup virtual machines. Although you can easily set up NAKIVO, the more specific or complex your configuration, the more reliant you become on tech support. Knowing Linux would be a big plus with these types of configurations. Updating the software could be a little more user-friendly.,9,NAKIVO only costs a fraction of many other backup solutions. After the initial setup, I've had to spend very little time on the maintenance of NAKIVO. That's freed me up to work on other projects. We were able to leverage pre-existing storage to save the cost of using a cloud service.,Veeam Backup & Replication, Unitrends Recovery Series Backup Appliance, Code42 (formerly CrashPlan) and Zerto,Code42 (formerly CrashPlan), Zerto, Unitrends Recovery Series Backup Appliance, Dameware Remote Support, SolarWinds ipMonitor, Jive Hosted VoIP, Sophos UTM, VIPRE, Splashtop Business AccessNAKIVO - Powerful, Reliable, and Cost-Effective.We first considered NAKIVO as a result of a recommendation made by one of our resellers. We needed a robust backup solution primarily for our VMware environment that didn't break the bank. NAKIVO checked almost all of the boxes during our proof of concept, so we decided to move forward with the purchase. NAKIVO is now our primary backup tool for our main campus and our DR site.,Seamless integration with VMware. Screenshot verification (alternative to traditional verify jobs). Competitive pricing. It just works (no babysitting needed). Native installs for most of the major NAS manufacturers.,Screenshot verification stops working if a newer version of VMware tools becomes available. No agents for physical servers (looks like that's changing with v9 though). No support for S3 compatible storage (if you need to send a copy of your backup to a host that's emulating AWS S3 storage).,9,Provides a robust service at an affordable cost. Intuitive web interface along with the technology itself provides a path for quick, easy restores. Not supporting S3 compatible storage for off-site storage of backups has required us to add an additional piece of software to the workflow.,Veeam Backup & Replication and Infrascale Platform,CrowdStrike Falcon Endpoint Protection, Solarwinds Samanage, VMware Horizon (formerly VMware View)NAKIVO saved our dayEvery infrastructure needs security, and one way to secure it is to find a solution for backups. After searching around and testing other solutions we have found NAKIVO. We use Nakivo to back up our ESXi server to a remote location.,Fast setting. Backup ESXi VM's. Restore ESXi VM's. Have correct transfer speed.,Add the possibility of using personal keys for encryption. Add U2F login support.,10,Having regular backups is very important for any IT infrastructure.,NAKIVO Backup and Replication does everything you need and more!We use NAKIVO to back up our virtual server infrastructure in the school. We run VMware essentials plus on 3 hosts and NAKIVO backs up about 30 machines on a nightly basis.,NAKIVO foremost is good value for money. We found the licensing of Veeam prohibitive and looked for another solution. We've been using NAKIVO for over 4 years now and it does everything we need it to and more. Administration is easy. All via a web browser. No clients need to be installed and we can access the information from any of our networked PCs and Chromebooks. It is constantly improving. When we first purchased it, it only worked with VMware to local storage but now it works with Hyper-V and can backup to the cloud. It ensures our backup software is compatible if we make any changes in the future.,When moving VMs to a new host we sometimes have to manually refresh the storage but it's not a major issue. Repository self-healing and reclaiming used space can sometimes take a while. Support is initially only by email so you may have to wait for a response. Support are very helpful and knowledgeable though.,10,Positive impact on reducing licensing costs. Especially important for schools at the moment because of limited funding.,Veeam Backup & ReplicationNAKIVO Backup & Replication Pro Essentials for VMware and Hyper-V ReviewVery good product. Easy to use and free of errors. We bought NAKIVO Backup & Replication Pro Essentials for VMware and Hyper-V, and do exactly what is necessary for us. We are backing up our VM regularly based on a schedule that is very easy to set up. We are a software company and we have many VM for developing and testing software. Nakivo lets us secure all our business, especially the development datastore (CVS/SVN).,Easy of use, very good and usable user interface. Plenty of features. No errors running backups. Some links to help broken,It would be nice if NAKIVO will provide an Italian translation.,9,Just security of our data. With the introduction of European GDPR, it's been very important to preserve sensitive data and to take all measures possible for securing information.,Windows ServerNakivo backup and replication reviewWe were searching for a backup solution for on-premise servers owned by our clients. Generally, we provide backup for 1 or 2 physical servers which host 4-10 virtual machines. Since there are only 1-2 servers, the budget is quite strict so this was an important factor for us. We tested Nakivo about 1 year ago and found it very easy to use with the web-interface. Backup speed is also good and thanks to deduplication technology storage is not being wasted.,Easy to use web interface Can be installed on several platforms including NAS devices Easy recovery of files,Nothing,8,Great pricing Efficient use of storage Easy upgradableNAKIVO Backup saved the day!Nakivo works cleanly and efficiently when backing up Hyper-V VMs. The software does well with a mixed environment of Linux and Windows VMs, and deduplication and compression make off-site backups viable. Restoring VMs from off-site or on-site storage was painless and easy.Initially I was concerned that the several TB of VM data we had would be too much for off-site backups, but deduplication coupled with heavy compression brought this down to only a few hundred GB when uploading to Azure File Storage.The software is quite flexible in that you can either use an SMB file store, or configure a light-weight VM in Azure with Nakivo's transporter installed for better security / more efficient transport when doing off-site backups. Using Backup Copy jobs allows you to keep nice and consistent backups.,On-site and off-site backups. The data compression, deduplication and low resource usage is very nice and fast Nakivo Backup works flawlessly with our Synlogy NAS backup system,I had a small learning curve to get used to the UI. I think the backup wizard could be streamlined a little bit,10,ROI has been excellent,,Advanced Time Management Attendance on DemandCost Effective and Reliable!Nakivo Backup and Replication is being used to backup our in-house VMWare server. As a small IT consultant, the cost was a big concern for me. Nakivo checked off all of the checkboxes. It is cost effective and it works extremely well. Very easy to setup and configure. I currently use it on a Windows server to backup my virtual environment and you can be up and running in minutes.,Installation is a breeze, Nakivo pretty much works right out of the box. Jobs run fast and there is no agent to install. Easy to add your inventory.,Would love to see the ability to backup a physical machine for those of us that still have a few that cannot be virtualized. GUI interface is fairly decent but could use a little bit of a spruce up.,9,Nakivo is very inexpensive and has had a positive impact thus far,Unitrends Recovery Series Backup Appliance and Veeam Backup & ReplicationHow to implement a reliable and powerful solution?In the past, I used Nakivo in a VMware infrastructure to back up dozens of VMs. Today, my working environment is Hyper-V and I was looking for a backup tool for VM. I also wanted the software to run on a Synology and not add a VM to the hypervisor (in case it crashes) In fact, I downloaded Nakivo to test under Hyper-V and returned the same ease and power as for VMware. So it was my inevitable choice for the backups, without hesitating! Easy to set up and use, what more could you ask for:-),easy to use fast backup resilient very clear interface,It misses the possibility to be able to store the encrypted backup on a Synoloy.,10,We wanted to use a reliable and easy to set up software without the need to create a VM for it. Thanks to Nakivo, the agent runs directly on Synology,Veeam Backup & Replication,Veeam Backup & ReplicationNAKIVO Back & replicationI am implementing NAKIVO installations for my clients, using N.A.S. instead of computers. NAKIVO licensing model and pricing allowing my clients -no matter the size- to be able to use a robust backup software, without having to pay too much. Using N.A.S. instead of computer means that I (and the client) no longer have to worry about Windows Updates, .net versions, Windows versions, e.t.c. All I have to do is feed the N.A.S. with electricity and network, the rest are running smoothly automatically. The first backup can start in less than five (5) minutes, from the initial configuration. Later on, if you tweak the configuration a bit, you can have high-speed backups, CBT and data deduplication up to 66%. For Off-site backups, I can configure AWS, or if the client doesn't wish to send the backup to the cloud, I can install an external USB 3.0 hard disk on the N.A.S. and schedule a -LAN free- copy of data from the N.A.S. to the disk. I can schedule the Off-site job to attach the external disk at a specific time & date, make the backup, run a custom script (i.e. xcopy *.* to \\NAS\backup) to add some necessary files to the off-site hdd) and then automatically detach the disk and inform the client about the outcome via email. All-in-all a great product.,Easy to install, the first backup comes within 5 minutes. Excellent support and followup. Nice price.,I cant think of something missing right now. Minor tweaks that it will be nice to have in 7.2 are already Incorporated in 7.3.,10,NAKIVO has great pricing and licensing model. Annual subscription fee is also nicely priced.,Go for it for your small business setting or Enterprise and you won't look elsewhereBefore NAKIVO we used a number of methods or software to backup our VMs and it was very challenging, especially when it came to the time consumed for backup and backup recovery. NAKIVO backs up natively our vSpehere machines from within our Synology Data Storage and it is very user-friendly and a reliable solution! Though our servers and storage hardware is at entry level we can backup and restore 100GB VMs within a couple of minutes only! I would highly recommend NAKIVO to any institution utilizing VMware vSphere.,High performance! (speedy backup/restore and replication) Easy integration with Synology Easy to manage: user-friendly and intuitive interface,No complaints. Works well for us.,10,NAKIVO helped us to easily archive and protect our data reliably The return on investment is our data being safe.,Fantastic solution for backing up your virtual serversWe decided to buy and implement NAKIVO to back up all VMWare virtual servers. We were looking for a simple solution to implement and maintain. Currently, my client has all their backups automated using NAKIVO Backup.,NAKIVO Backup is very simple to install. Without previous knowledge we have been able to implement a complete backup solution very quickly. It provides a very simple method both to completely restore a virtual machine, as well as to restore individual files. Very intuitive application to configure all the possible options: frequency of backups, restore points to maintain, alerts to errors in the copy, location of the files, etc. NAKIVO provides excellent technical support. They have responded quickly and kindly to the doubts we had prior to the acquisition of the program.,We haven't found anything we don't like about NAKIVO Backup!,10,Our client has been able to stop doing manual backup processes, with the consequent saving of time and problems that this entails.,Visual Studio IDE, vSphere, Microsoft SQL ServerNakivo Backup & Replication - Great product for backing up my VMsWe use Nakivo Backup and Replication to backup our Hyper-V machines. We have a pair of Dell servers running Windows 2012. It was important to us to have an offsite backup of our most important servers.,Easy to install and setup. Simple interface Fast Backups,The layout is a bit confusing.,10,It solved one major headache, offsite backup.,,Windows Server, Microsoft Office 2016, Adobe Acrobat DCNAKIVO is awesomeWe use NAKIVO for VMWare replication and backup to AWS. Super fast and easy to use. Rock solid. Very happy.,Replication Backup to AWS Restoration,Not easy to set up additional local drives Used EBS vs. S3 only for AWS,10,Cheaper than everyone else and works better,NAKIVO Backup & Replication Platform ReviewMain competitive advantages of Nakivo platform- The NAKIVO support is first class!- Their price is a bargain for its performance.- The software capabilities are great.- Many other advantages Our case studyThe office department of Hajdúböszörmeny was looking for a backup software. They were afraid of a crypto incident and wanted to introduce an independent backup system. First of all, we searched for a usable backup system. We found a package named "Nakivo" in the Synology DSM and started examining the software. We found it excellent for the job and started using it. After we have tested the platform, we contacted the NAKIVO support and became a reseller of the software in Hungary.,Full backup Fully independent from the backed up system Dedicated Synology package File-level restore,Nothing!,10,+: Bargain platform +: Fast backup +: Fast restore,Veeam Backup & Replication,Microsoft Exchange, Windows ServerA strong backup contender for VMWare Essentials and small businessesWe use Nakivo to backup our VM Ware servers. We have a pair of EXSI 6.5 hosts with Dell Datastore and backup our mission-critical systems.,It was simple to setup Simple to administer Price is quite good compared to competition,Data recovery is not always easy. I had to contact support to help recover some deleted files. (we did recover everything) When a VM is down it would be nice to have phone support.,9,We had a bug that accidentally overwrote a huge section of our DB the live restore failed however, we spun it up and were able to download the DB, extract the needed section and restore it to the db. Having a different data backup store from my snapshots store allows some piece of mind knowing that it would take 2 sets of disk failures to cause a data loss.,,VMware ESXiWhere have all my backup worries gone?We are using NAKIVO to backup our VMWare guests to an onsite NAS and also to replicate business critical VMWare guests to an offsite VMWare environment at a local data centre for disaster recovery and business continuity purposes. This allows us to have local backups of our servers and in the event of a major problem at our business office we can quickly be up and running from our remote site.,Very easy to install and set up. Simple, intuitive web interface. Very fast backups and replication even across a WAN to a remote site.,No problems or complaints,10,Well priced Efficient use of storage Cost effective,Oracle Linux, Oracle DatabaseNAKIVO - The BEST!I use NAKIVO for backing up my VMWare Lab (around 10 VM's), to a Synology NAS. Install was piece of cake, through the Synology AppManager, config also was super easy, just created the Backup Repository, selected the VM's to backup and voila! The load is minimal in the VM environment, the job is done by the Synology NAS.,The biggest help for me was the possibility to use Synology NAS to do the job. The calendar is helping a lot programming the backup job without overlapping another running job. Migration to another Synology NAS is also easy, just export/import the configuration, reconfigure the repository and done.,I can't remember anything.,10,The positive impact is absolute, Install/configure/run in minutes, fair pricing.,Veeam Backup & Replication,VMware ESXi, VMware Site Recovery Manager,To get it up and running was easy, and done in minutes. Planning the job schedule with the help of the calendar. The replication job has an intuitive VM name.,None that I found.,No,10Versatile and reliable back-up solution.We have been testing this product for about a month, so far NAKIVO Backup & Replication has proven itself reliable and versatile. The fact that the software can run on a NAS (thus creating your own backup appliance) is excellent. Back-up times are good/acceptable and deduplication is very good. Overall a good product with some unique possibilities. The problems it addresses (compared to our current back-up software) is better stability/reliability and no footprint on our virtual environment thanks to the ability to run on a NAS).,Deduplication --> saves data on backup storage No footprint on virtual environment --> no additional virtual appliances and no additional management software therefore there a minimal use of resources Fast backup times --> smaller backup windows,Layout of the web-portal could use a upgrade --> screen/layout is static, no auto sizing with bigger monitors,8,Positive --> Zero impact on our current virtual environment, resources that can now been used elsewhere,Acronis Backup, Altaro Hyper-V Backup and Veeam Backup & Replication,VMware ESXi, Windows Server, Microsoft Office 2016Very easy and fast up and runningIt is used for backup of VMware free ESXi solutions for customers we support. It is easy for customers to use together with the Synology products. It solves the need for an easy, straightforward VMware and Hyper V backup-solution for SMBs with no or limited internal IT support.,Working well with free esxi vm-ware as backup solution. Very fast backup together with Synology NAS Very easy to administer and use in setup and when restoring,Work with Backblaze as cloud backup as well. Documentation based on new VMware 6.5,10,Better price performance makes it easier to sell an updated backup system Support is very fast and experienced
Windows, Linux, Virtual Appliance, direct Install on NAS, pre-configured AWS Amazon Machine Image
NAKIVO Backup & Replication
38 Ratings
Score 9.1 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

NAKIVO Backup & Replication Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
NAKIVO Backup & Replication
38 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 101

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 38 vetted NAKIVO Backup & Replication reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 30)

Do you use this product? Write a Review
Adrian Takacs profile photo
July 01, 2019

Top Product

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started using Nakivo Backup and Replication to backup virtual machines hosted on customer premises on free ESXi hosts. Nakivo's proprietary change tracking method alternative to VMware's CBT.saved us the costs of going for a paid ESXi solution to minimize the storage and time required for the backups. Later we implemented the same product to replicate all our virtual servers in our data centre between two different SANs.
  • Easy to implement and flexible, Nakivo can run on Windows systems, as a virtual appliance on VMware or as an app on your Synology NAS.
  • Very robust- in more than two years since using it we did not have any failed backups related to the product itself.
  • Can not think of anything, maybe they can make it a free product?
Nakivo Backup and Replication is an excellent product to backup up your virtual infrastructure, create an on premise backup appliance, replicate to your private cloud and take advantage of the free CBT alternative when implementing a free ESXi host.

You might find it hard to believe but there are still some physical servers out there for which you will need to implement different backup product.
Read Adrian Takacs's full review
Philip Sellers profile photo
June 28, 2019

NAKIVO is great for small environments but struggles in larger deployments

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
NAKIVO backup has been deployed in our datacenters and in our branch offices for backup. It is also used across several of our operating companies in their operations. It was a cost-efficient backup solution and alternative from VMware Data Protection with better scale. It allows us both snapshot-based backup and replication for migrations. We moved away from NAKIVO in our primary datacenters and migrated back to Veeam in the past 18 months.
  • Backup jobs run well to a centralized repository.
  • Replication jobs directly between vSphere instances works well.
  • De-duplication seems to be efficient as long as it is against the same VM ID.
  • It is cost-effective to license.
  • The repository is monolithic and maintenance tasks are slow for large repositories.
  • De-duplication is not global - it is per VM based de-duplication and change blocks only (not most efficient).
  • Repository corruption is a major risk and caused data loss on a couple occasions.
NAKIVO's primary benefit is cost reduction. It works well in our smaller environments, however, it struggles with larger multi-TB jobs and repositories.
Read Philip Sellers's full review
Kevin King profile photo
June 28, 2019

NAKIVO - Surprisingly Awesome

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
NAKIVO is used to backup our VMware systems, and we have it installed at a number of customer sites doing the same thing. Compared to our old system, NAKIVO just works. It's easy to setup, it's easy to use, and it's ridiculously reliable.
  • Reliable
  • Easy to configure
  • Affordable
  • The different product versions are oddly named for what they provide.
  • Some enterprise features are not yet supported on the virtual appliance running under VMware.
We only use it for VMware, but there are versions for Hyper-V and AWS as well. We've used Unitrends, Veeam, and NAKIVO, and NAKIVO hits the mark far better than the others in terms of reliability and ease of use.
Read Kevin King's full review
David Judice profile photo
July 25, 2019

Nakivo Backup perfect for small to midsize VM Enviroments.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nakivo Backup & Replication is a great product and works well in my environment to provide backups of the virtual servers on my VMware hosts both locally to a NAS and offsite to Amazon S3. It was very easy to set up and manage and the new bandwidth management is a very nice addition.
  • Cost effective VMWare backups. Easy to set up and use and a reliable product.
  • Bandwidth management is a very nice new feature.
  • None that I have found.
  • Great backup product for virtual environments.
  • Cost-effective and efficient.
  • Easy to set up and manage.
  • Good tech support and features being added often to improve the product. Love it!
Read David Judice's full review
No photo available
July 30, 2019

Rock solid "tapeless" backups with an easy to use interface and stellar support staff

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
NAKIVO Backup & Replication is being used across the entire organization, but only for backups of both Windows and Linux VMs currently. We may start using the replication features in the near future.
  • Creating G-F-S backups of virtual servers in a completely automated fashion.
  • Restoring data easily when needed, either as specific individual files or entire servers (and the run-from-backup option is just neat, although we've rarely had use for that).
  • Storing Data in a de-duplicated, compressed format has allowed us to store many many backups in a space that is many many times smaller than it would take to keep multiple full copies of each server.
  • Needs to support more flavors of Linux. Seeing "The operating system of the selected recovery server is not supported" is just not cool, man, not cool.
  • Should allow more than one user regardless of license level. Even small companies have more than one IT person who might need to access it and sharing one ID is never a good idea.
  • It's frustrating when we get job failures because maintenance tasks are being done (which makes things like repositories unavailable). Maintenance tasks should be paused and then resume after the higher priority job completes.
It is fantastic for small to medium-sized businesses. It might be a challenge to use it in a large enterprise as I'm not sure the interface has enough granular security, although I do not have experience with NAKIVO in that type of environment. On the other hand, NAKIVO can scale in the form of multiple transporter servers and backup targets to distribute the load.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 06, 2019

NAKIVO: The Answer to Your Backup Prayers

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've been using NAKIVO to back up data across our office locations, as well as the VMs themselves. It has helped us leverage our resources by enabling us to use local storage at one location and allocate it as a recovery site for an office at another location.
  • You can implement NAKIVO on your own relatively quickly without needing consultants to come in spending hours to get it in place.
  • It's cost-effective.
  • The interface is simple and straight-forward. It's not overly complicated.
  • You can only backup virtual machines.
  • Although you can easily set up NAKIVO, the more specific or complex your configuration, the more reliant you become on tech support. Knowing Linux would be a big plus with these types of configurations.
  • Updating the software could be a little more user-friendly.
NAKIVO works really well if you are trying to avoid the dread and drain of implementation or overly complex interfaces, and are not trying to spend a ton on backup software costs. It provides flexibility if you are looking to back up to the cloud, local storage, or across the WAN. Be it just data or actual VMs, you can pick and choose. Since it doesn't work with physical servers, if your environment is still set up as such, NAKIVO is not a good fit.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 28, 2019

NAKIVO - Powerful, Reliable, and Cost-Effective.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We first considered NAKIVO as a result of a recommendation made by one of our resellers. We needed a robust backup solution primarily for our VMware environment that didn't break the bank. NAKIVO checked almost all of the boxes during our proof of concept, so we decided to move forward with the purchase. NAKIVO is now our primary backup tool for our main campus and our DR site.
  • Seamless integration with VMware.
  • Screenshot verification (alternative to traditional verify jobs).
  • Competitive pricing.
  • It just works (no babysitting needed).
  • Native installs for most of the major NAS manufacturers.
  • Screenshot verification stops working if a newer version of VMware tools becomes available.
  • No agents for physical servers (looks like that's changing with v9 though).
  • No support for S3 compatible storage (if you need to send a copy of your backup to a host that's emulating AWS S3 storage).
We have NAKIVO installed on Synology NAS appliances at both our primary and DR sites and it works great. We didn't have to make a heavy investment in hardware or software to get this solution in production. This solution is well suited for 100% (or near 100%) virtual environments. You may want to look elsewhere if your are primarily running a physical server environment. The v9 beta is touting support for Windows servers. Even with that support, I still see this product as being designed for a virtual environment with the potential to backup a few Windows servers that you still have in production.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 27, 2019

NAKIVO saved our day

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Every infrastructure needs security, and one way to secure it is to find a solution for backups. After searching around and testing other solutions we have found NAKIVO. We use Nakivo to back up our ESXi server to a remote location.
  • Fast setting.
  • Backup ESXi VM's.
  • Restore ESXi VM's.
  • Have correct transfer speed.
  • Add the possibility of using personal keys for encryption.
  • Add U2F login support.
We use NAKIVO as a site to site backup solution and we haven't had any particular issues, it's just working:). Our server is located in one country and our backup server is in another country. With good internet speeds, that we have in both data centers, we run a backup every day, and for some VM's even more than once a day. We didn't have the material in our disposition or needs to test NAKIVO in other work scenarios.
Read this authenticated review
Dave Munro profile photo
November 06, 2018

NAKIVO Backup and Replication does everything you need and more!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use NAKIVO to back up our virtual server infrastructure in the school. We run VMware essentials plus on 3 hosts and NAKIVO backs up about 30 machines on a nightly basis.
  • NAKIVO foremost is good value for money. We found the licensing of Veeam prohibitive and looked for another solution. We've been using NAKIVO for over 4 years now and it does everything we need it to and more.
  • Administration is easy. All via a web browser. No clients need to be installed and we can access the information from any of our networked PCs and Chromebooks.
  • It is constantly improving. When we first purchased it, it only worked with VMware to local storage but now it works with Hyper-V and can backup to the cloud. It ensures our backup software is compatible if we make any changes in the future.
  • When moving VMs to a new host we sometimes have to manually refresh the storage but it's not a major issue.
  • Repository self-healing and reclaiming used space can sometimes take a while.
  • Support is initially only by email so you may have to wait for a response. Support are very helpful and knowledgeable though.
We don't use all the features that it can provide but find it an affordable backup solution which just works. To be honest we leave it alone until we need it or when we make changes to our VMware platform which means we just need to update to the latest version of NAKIVO which is fairly straightforward. In terms of value for money I'd say it can't be beaten.
Read Dave Munro's full review
Vincenzo Nati profile photo
November 02, 2018

NAKIVO Backup & Replication Pro Essentials for VMware and Hyper-V Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Very good product. Easy to use and free of errors. We bought NAKIVO Backup & Replication Pro Essentials for VMware and Hyper-V, and do exactly what is necessary for us. We are backing up our VM regularly based on a schedule that is very easy to set up. We are a software company and we have many VM for developing and testing software. Nakivo lets us secure all our business, especially the development datastore (CVS/SVN).
  • Easy of use, very good and usable user interface. Plenty of features.
  • No errors running backups. Some links to help broken
  • It would be nice if NAKIVO will provide an Italian translation.
Suited for small businesses like ours.
Read Vincenzo Nati's full review
Arne Van Vyve profile photo
July 16, 2018

Nakivo backup and replication review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We were searching for a backup solution for on-premise servers owned by our clients. Generally, we provide backup for 1 or 2 physical servers which host 4-10 virtual machines. Since there are only 1-2 servers, the budget is quite strict so this was an important factor for us. We tested Nakivo about 1 year ago and found it very easy to use with the web-interface. Backup speed is also good and thanks to deduplication technology storage is not being wasted.
  • Easy to use web interface
  • Can be installed on several platforms including NAS devices
  • Easy recovery of files
  • Nothing
For the backup for virtual machines Hyper-V or Vsphere infrastructure. Especially small-medium environments where the budget is restricted. Recovery of individual files or whole VM's is not a problem. New features as automatic failover are also available.
Read Arne Van Vyve's full review
Michael Keys Sr profile photo
March 21, 2018

NAKIVO Backup saved the day!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Nakivo works cleanly and efficiently when backing up Hyper-V VMs. The software does well with a mixed environment of Linux and Windows VMs, and deduplication and compression make off-site backups viable. Restoring VMs from off-site or on-site storage was painless and easy.

Initially I was concerned that the several TB of VM data we had would be too much for off-site backups, but deduplication coupled with heavy compression brought this down to only a few hundred GB when uploading to Azure File Storage.

The software is quite flexible in that you can either use an SMB file store, or configure a light-weight VM in Azure with Nakivo's transporter installed for better security / more efficient transport when doing off-site backups. Using Backup Copy jobs allows you to keep nice and consistent backups.

  • On-site and off-site backups. The data compression, deduplication and low resource usage is very nice and fast
  • Nakivo Backup works flawlessly with our Synlogy NAS backup system
  • I had a small learning curve to get used to the UI. I think the backup wizard could be streamlined a little bit
I would recommend this in a heartbeat.
Read Michael Keys Sr's full review
Alexander Hubbard profile photo
June 19, 2018

Cost Effective and Reliable!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nakivo Backup and Replication is being used to backup our in-house VMWare server. As a small IT consultant, the cost was a big concern for me. Nakivo checked off all of the checkboxes. It is cost effective and it works extremely well. Very easy to setup and configure. I currently use it on a Windows server to backup my virtual environment and you can be up and running in minutes.
  • Installation is a breeze, Nakivo pretty much works right out of the box.
  • Jobs run fast and there is no agent to install.
  • Easy to add your inventory.
  • Would love to see the ability to backup a physical machine for those of us that still have a few that cannot be virtualized.
  • GUI interface is fairly decent but could use a little bit of a spruce up.
Nakivo is well suited for the SMB environment where budgets are a huge concern. Nakivo is cost effective and budget conscience. Nakivo works well with either Microsoft Hyper-V or VMWare's ESXi/vCenter offerings. I would not hesitate to recommend Nakivo to other colleagues that need a backup product that works extremely well and doesn't break the bank.
Read Alexander Hubbard's full review
Christophe Rahier profile photo
May 24, 2018

How to implement a reliable and powerful solution?

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In the past, I used Nakivo in a VMware infrastructure to back up dozens of VMs. Today, my working environment is Hyper-V and I was looking for a backup tool for VM. I also wanted the software to run on a Synology and not add a VM to the hypervisor (in case it crashes) In fact, I downloaded Nakivo to test under Hyper-V and returned the same ease and power as for VMware. So it was my inevitable choice for the backups, without hesitating! Easy to set up and use, what more could you ask for:-)
  • easy to use
  • fast backup
  • resilient
  • very clear interface
  • It misses the possibility to be able to store the encrypted backup on a Synoloy.
Thanks to backups and granularity, I was able to restore a single file on a server on a specific date
Read Christophe Rahier's full review
Νίκος Στεργιώτης profile photo
April 17, 2018

NAKIVO Back & replication

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
I am implementing NAKIVO installations for my clients, using N.A.S. instead of computers. NAKIVO licensing model and pricing allowing my clients -no matter the size- to be able to use a robust backup software, without having to pay too much. Using N.A.S. instead of computer means that I (and the client) no longer have to worry about Windows Updates, .net versions, Windows versions, e.t.c. All I have to do is feed the N.A.S. with electricity and network, the rest are running smoothly automatically. The first backup can start in less than five (5) minutes, from the initial configuration. Later on, if you tweak the configuration a bit, you can have high-speed backups, CBT and data deduplication up to 66%. For Off-site backups, I can configure AWS, or if the client doesn't wish to send the backup to the cloud, I can install an external USB 3.0 hard disk on the N.A.S. and schedule a -LAN free- copy of data from the N.A.S. to the disk. I can schedule the Off-site job to attach the external disk at a specific time & date, make the backup, run a custom script (i.e. xcopy *.* to \\NAS\backup) to add some necessary files to the off-site hdd) and then automatically detach the disk and inform the client about the outcome via email. All-in-all a great product.
  • Easy to install, the first backup comes within 5 minutes.
  • Excellent support and followup.
  • Nice price.
  • I cant think of something missing right now. Minor tweaks that it will be nice to have in 7.2 are already Incorporated in 7.3.
NAKIVO can be installed and used in all scenarios, with or without in-house I.T. staff. Most of my clients, don't have in-house I.T. and they don't want to get tangled with the backup procedure, thus there is only one way: set it and forget it. The backups are running smoothly, the email after each job is briefing me with the results, all I have to do is to upgrade the version, each time that new "goodies" are added to the product.
Read Νίκος Στεργιώτης's full review
Stanislav Kirilov profile photo
July 14, 2018

Go for it for your small business setting or Enterprise and you won't look elsewhere

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Before NAKIVO we used a number of methods or software to backup our VMs and it was very challenging, especially when it came to the time consumed for backup and backup recovery. NAKIVO backs up natively our vSpehere machines from within our Synology Data Storage and it is very user-friendly and a reliable solution! Though our servers and storage hardware is at entry level we can backup and restore 100GB VMs within a couple of minutes only! I would highly recommend NAKIVO to any institution utilizing VMware vSphere.
  • High performance! (speedy backup/restore and replication)
  • Easy integration with Synology
  • Easy to manage: user-friendly and intuitive interface
  • No complaints.
  • Works well for us.
We were impressed with the performance and reliability of the product. Would always recommend such a solution to IT colleagues, even to less savvy ones.
Read Stanislav Kirilov's full review
Eligio Morgado Habas profile photo
April 09, 2018

Fantastic solution for backing up your virtual servers

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We decided to buy and implement NAKIVO to back up all VMWare virtual servers.
We were looking for a simple solution to implement and maintain. Currently, my client has all their backups automated using NAKIVO Backup.
  • NAKIVO Backup is very simple to install. Without previous knowledge we have been able to implement a complete backup solution very quickly.
  • It provides a very simple method both to completely restore a virtual machine, as well as to restore individual files.
  • Very intuitive application to configure all the possible options: frequency of backups, restore points to maintain, alerts to errors in the copy, location of the files, etc.
  • NAKIVO provides excellent technical support. They have responded quickly and kindly to the doubts we had prior to the acquisition of the program.
  • We haven't found anything we don't like about NAKIVO Backup!
NAKIVO is perfect for VMWare backups (I have not tried to make Hyper-V copies). If you have a compatible NAS you can use it to run NAKIVO Backup from it.
Read Eligio Morgado Habas's full review
Michael Gazdzik profile photo
March 07, 2018

Nakivo Backup & Replication - Great product for backing up my VMs

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nakivo Backup and Replication to backup our Hyper-V machines. We have a pair of Dell servers running Windows 2012. It was important to us to have an offsite backup of our most important servers.
  • Easy to install and setup.
  • Simple interface
  • Fast Backups
  • The layout is a bit confusing.
A small business environment is well suited for Nakivo, especially for those mission-critical servers.
Read Michael Gazdzik's full review
Kiss Mihály profile photo
February 07, 2018

NAKIVO Backup & Replication Platform Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Main competitive advantages of Nakivo platform
- The NAKIVO support is first class!
- Their price is a bargain for its performance.
- The software capabilities are great.
- Many other advantages

Our case study
The office department of Hajdúböszörmeny was looking for a backup software. They were afraid of a crypto incident and wanted to introduce an independent backup system. First of all, we searched for a usable backup system. We found a package named "Nakivo" in the Synology DSM and started examining the software. We found it excellent for the job and started using it. After we have tested the platform, we contacted the NAKIVO support and became a reseller of the software in Hungary.
  • Full backup
  • Fully independent from the backed up system
  • Dedicated Synology package
  • File-level restore
  • Nothing!
We started to use it in the department of Hajdúböszörmény 1 month ago. There are full weekend backups and daily synthetic backup of their VMs. The platform in the department is based on Hyper-V and is a failover cluster. NAKIVO's solution has no problems, even though it is complicated.
Read Kiss Mihály's full review
Sage Major profile photo
February 01, 2018

A strong backup contender for VMWare Essentials and small businesses

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nakivo to backup our VM Ware servers. We have a pair of EXSI 6.5 hosts with Dell Datastore and backup our mission-critical systems.
  • It was simple to setup
  • Simple to administer
  • Price is quite good compared to competition
  • Data recovery is not always easy. I had to contact support to help recover some deleted files. (we did recover everything)
  • When a VM is down it would be nice to have phone support.
I would say this is perfect for a small enterprise with VMWare Essentials. Using the Live view on data let me get in and recover a single file. I don't know how pricing would hold up against a large install but like VMWare Essentials this is targeted at a small company. I also used it for part of my migration from one set of servers to a new one.
Read Sage Major's full review
Richard Davies profile photo
January 19, 2018

Where have all my backup worries gone?

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using NAKIVO to backup our VMWare guests to an onsite NAS and also to replicate business critical VMWare guests to an offsite VMWare environment at a local data centre for disaster recovery and business continuity purposes. This allows us to have local backups of our servers and in the event of a major problem at our business office we can quickly be up and running from our remote site.
  • Very easy to install and set up.
  • Simple, intuitive web interface.
  • Very fast backups and replication even across a WAN to a remote site.
  • No problems or complaints
Well suited to a VMWare environment. Allows both the backup and replication of VMWare quests. Works well even across slow WAN connections to remote sites. Can recover complete VMs or individual files without the needs to restore the VM. Also able to keep multiple historical backup copies and creates multiple VM snapshots when using replication.
Read Richard Davies's full review
Aba-Mark Mihaly profile photo
January 18, 2018

NAKIVO - The BEST!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use NAKIVO for backing up my VMWare Lab (around 10 VM's), to a Synology NAS. Install was piece of cake, through the Synology AppManager, config also was super easy, just created the Backup Repository, selected the VM's to backup and voila! The load is minimal in the VM environment, the job is done by the Synology NAS.
  • The biggest help for me was the possibility to use Synology NAS to do the job.
  • The calendar is helping a lot programming the backup job without overlapping another running job.
  • Migration to another Synology NAS is also easy, just export/import the configuration, reconfigure the repository and done.
  • I can't remember anything.
I can highly recommend for small business for the ease of configure/use.
Read Aba-Mark Mihaly's full review
Jan Straatman profile photo
January 12, 2018

Versatile and reliable back-up solution.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been testing this product for about a month, so far NAKIVO Backup & Replication has proven itself reliable and versatile. The fact that the software can run on a NAS (thus creating your own backup appliance) is excellent. Back-up times are good/acceptable and deduplication is very good. Overall a good product with some unique possibilities. The problems it addresses (compared to our current back-up software) is better stability/reliability and no footprint on our virtual environment thanks to the ability to run on a NAS).
  • Deduplication --> saves data on backup storage
  • No footprint on virtual environment --> no additional virtual appliances and no additional management software therefore there a minimal use of resources
  • Fast backup times --> smaller backup windows
  • Layout of the web-portal could use a upgrade --> screen/layout is static, no auto sizing with bigger monitors
NAKIVO Backup and Replication is a versatile and reliable backup solution, which can be used in either a small, medium or large environment. It seems to work in any scenario. It is straight-to-the-point and has some unique possibilities.
Read Jan Straatman's full review
Paw Meng Mortensen profile photo
January 08, 2018

Very easy and fast up and running

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
It is used for backup of VMware free ESXi solutions for customers we support. It is easy for customers to use together with the Synology products. It solves the need for an easy, straightforward VMware and Hyper V backup-solution for SMBs with no or limited internal IT support.
  • Working well with free esxi vm-ware as backup solution.
  • Very fast backup together with Synology NAS
  • Very easy to administer and use in setup and when restoring
  • Work with Backblaze as cloud backup as well.
  • Documentation based on new VMware 6.5
We have not found areas where we could not use Nakivo and customers like the simple and easy setup.
Read Paw Meng Mortensen's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Universal recovery (24)
9.4
Live recovery (24)
9.3
Recovery verification (27)
8.9
Business application protection (26)
8.9
Multiple backup destinations (27)
9.2
Incremental backup identification (27)
8.6
Backup to the cloud (19)
9.1
Deduplication and file compression (30)
9.2
Snapshots (27)
9.3

About NAKIVO Backup & Replication

NAKIVO Backup & Replication is a fast, reliable, and affordable VM backup solution for protecting VMware, Hyper-V, and AWS EC2 environments. According to the vendor, NAKIVO Backup & Replication offers advanced features that increase backup performance, improve reliability, speed up recovery, and, as a result, help save time and money.

According to the vendor, key benefits and features include:

  • Deploy in under 5 minutes: Pre-configured VMware Virtual Appliance, Synology NAS package, 1-click Windows installer, 1-command Linux installer, pre-configured AWS Amazon Machine Image
  • Protect VMs: Native, agentless, image-based, application-aware VMware/Hyper-V/AWS VM backup and replication
  • Increase backup speed: Forever-incremental backups with CBT/RCT, LAN-free data transfer, network acceleration, up to 1.7X performance when installed on NAS
  • Reduce backup size: Exclusion of SWAP files and partitions, global backup deduplication, variable backup compression
  • Ensure recoverability: Instant backup verification with screenshots of test-recovered VMs, backup copy offsite/to the cloud
  • Decrease recovery time: Instant recovery of VMs, files, Exchange objects, Active Directory objects, DR with VM replicas

NAKIVO Backup & Replication Features

Data Center Backup Features
Has featureUniversal recovery
Has featureLive recovery
Has featureRecovery verification
Has featureBusiness application protection
Has featureMultiple backup destinations
Has featureIncremental backup identification
Has featureBackup to the cloud
Has featureDeduplication and file compression
Has featureSnapshots
Does not have featureFlexible deployment
Does not have featureManagement dashboard
Does not have featurePlatform support
Does not have featureRetention options
Does not have featureEncryption

NAKIVO Backup & Replication Screenshots

NAKIVO Backup & Replication Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Pro Essentials$199per socket
Enterprise Essentials$299per socket
Pro$399per socket
Enterprise$599per socket

The product is licensed per physical CPU socket for each ESXi server on which you back up or replicate VMs.

NAKIVO Backup & Replication Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
70%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
20%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
10%

NAKIVO Backup & Replication Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

NAKIVO Backup & Replication Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Virtual Appliance, direct Install on NAS, pre-configured AWS Amazon Machine Image
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:Worldwide
Supported Languages: English