NAKIVO Backup & Replication Reviews

50 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 33)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
November 21, 2019
Adrian Takacs | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Nakivo Backup and Replication is an excellent product to backup up your virtual infrastructure, create an on premise backup appliance, replicate to your private cloud and take advantage of the free CBT alternative when implementing a free ESXi host.

You might find it hard to believe but there are still some physical servers out there for which you will need to implement different backup product.
Read Adrian Takacs's full review
January 16, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

For our use case the product is good. I am unsure if scaling to a much bigger environment would work as well as some competitor products. Reporting is sufficient in this product, although, as we use it not for our big production environment, we do not have to deal with all the big compliance rules so reporting is more of a technical purpose.
Read this authenticated review
June 28, 2019
Kevin King | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We only use it for VMware, but there are versions for Hyper-V and AWS as well. We've used Unitrends, Veeam, and NAKIVO, and NAKIVO hits the mark far better than the others in terms of reliability and ease of use.
Read Kevin King's full review
July 25, 2019
David Judice | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

  • Great backup product for virtual environments.
  • Cost-effective and efficient.
  • Easy to set up and manage.
  • Good tech support and features being added often to improve the product. Love it!
Read David Judice's full review
July 30, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is fantastic for small to medium-sized businesses. It might be a challenge to use it in a large enterprise as I'm not sure the interface has enough granular security, although I do not have experience with NAKIVO in that type of environment. On the other hand, NAKIVO can scale in the form of multiple transporter servers and backup targets to distribute the load.
Read this authenticated review
July 06, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

NAKIVO works really well if you are trying to avoid the dread and drain of implementation or overly complex interfaces, and are not trying to spend a ton on backup software costs. It provides flexibility if you are looking to back up to the cloud, local storage, or across the WAN. Be it just data or actual VMs, you can pick and choose. Since it doesn't work with physical servers, if your environment is still set up as such, NAKIVO is not a good fit.
Read this authenticated review
June 28, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We have NAKIVO installed on Synology NAS appliances at both our primary and DR sites and it works great. We didn't have to make a heavy investment in hardware or software to get this solution in production. This solution is well suited for 100% (or near 100%) virtual environments. You may want to look elsewhere if your are primarily running a physical server environment. The v9 beta is touting support for Windows servers. Even with that support, I still see this product as being designed for a virtual environment with the potential to backup a few Windows servers that you still have in production.
Read this authenticated review
June 27, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We use NAKIVO as a site to site backup solution and we haven't had any particular issues, it's just working:). Our server is located in one country and our backup server is in another country. With good internet speeds, that we have in both data centers, we run a backup every day, and for some VM's even more than once a day. We didn't have the material in our disposition or needs to test NAKIVO in other work scenarios.
Read this authenticated review
November 06, 2018
Dave Munro | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We don't use all the features that it can provide but find it an affordable backup solution which just works. To be honest we leave it alone until we need it or when we make changes to our VMware platform which means we just need to update to the latest version of NAKIVO which is fairly straightforward. In terms of value for money I'd say it can't be beaten.
Read Dave Munro's full review
July 16, 2018
Arne Van Vyve | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

For the backup for virtual machines Hyper-V or Vsphere infrastructure. Especially small-medium environments where the budget is restricted. Recovery of individual files or whole VM's is not a problem. New features as automatic failover are also available.
Read Arne Van Vyve's full review
June 19, 2018
Alexander Hubbard | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Nakivo is well suited for the SMB environment where budgets are a huge concern. Nakivo is cost effective and budget conscience. Nakivo works well with either Microsoft Hyper-V or VMWare's ESXi/vCenter offerings. I would not hesitate to recommend Nakivo to other colleagues that need a backup product that works extremely well and doesn't break the bank.
Read Alexander Hubbard's full review
April 17, 2018
Νίκος Στεργιώτης | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

NAKIVO can be installed and used in all scenarios, with or without in-house I.T. staff. Most of my clients, don't have in-house I.T. and they don't want to get tangled with the backup procedure, thus there is only one way: set it and forget it. The backups are running smoothly, the email after each job is briefing me with the results, all I have to do is to upgrade the version, each time that new "goodies" are added to the product.
Read Νίκος Στεργιώτης's full review
July 14, 2018
Stanislav Kirilov | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We were impressed with the performance and reliability of the product. Would always recommend such a solution to IT colleagues, even to less savvy ones.
Read Stanislav Kirilov's full review
February 07, 2018
Kiss Mihály | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We started to use it in the department of Hajdúböszörmény 1 month ago. There are full weekend backups and daily synthetic backup of their VMs. The platform in the department is based on Hyper-V and is a failover cluster. NAKIVO's solution has no problems, even though it is complicated.
Read Kiss Mihály's full review
February 01, 2018
Sage Major | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I would say this is perfect for a small enterprise with VMWare Essentials. Using the Live view on data let me get in and recover a single file. I don't know how pricing would hold up against a large install but like VMWare Essentials this is targeted at a small company. I also used it for part of my migration from one set of servers to a new one.
Read Sage Major's full review
January 19, 2018
Richard Davies | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Well suited to a VMWare environment. Allows both the backup and replication of VMWare quests. Works well even across slow WAN connections to remote sites. Can recover complete VMs or individual files without the needs to restore the VM. Also able to keep multiple historical backup copies and creates multiple VM snapshots when using replication.
Read Richard Davies's full review
January 12, 2018
Jan Straatman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

NAKIVO Backup and Replication is a versatile and reliable backup solution, which can be used in either a small, medium or large environment. It seems to work in any scenario. It is straight-to-the-point and has some unique possibilities.
Read Jan Straatman's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Universal recovery (27)
8.5
Live recovery (27)
9.0
Recovery verification (30)
8.5
Business application protection (29)
8.5
Multiple backup destinations (30)
8.7
Incremental backup identification (30)
8.6
Backup to the cloud (22)
9.3
Deduplication and file compression (33)
8.7
Snapshots (29)
9.0

What is NAKIVO Backup & Replication?

NAKIVO Backup & Replication is a fast, reliable, and affordable backup and recovery solution to protect virtual, physical, cloud, and SaaS environments. The solution offers advanced features that improve backup performance and reliability, speed up recovery. As a result, it helps save time and money for enterprises.
  • Deploy in 2 minutes: Pre-configured VMware and Nutanix AHV Virtual Appliance, NAS devices, 1-click Windows installer, 1-command Linux installer, Amazon Machine Image
  • Protect VMs: Native, agentless, image-based, application-aware backup and replication for VMware vSphere, Microsoft Hyper-V, Nutanix AHV, and Amazon EC2 instances
  • Protect physical machines: Image-based, application-aware, incremental backups of Windows and Linux servers, and workstations
  • Protect Microsoft 365 data: Back up and recover Exchange Online, OneDrive for Business, and SharePoint Online data
  • Increase backup speed: Forever-incremental backups with CBT/RCT/CRT, LAN-free data transfer, network acceleration, up to 2x performance improvement when installed on NAS
  • Reduce backup size: Exclusion of swap files and partitions, global backup deduplication, variable backup compression
  • Ensure recoverability: Instant backup and replica verification with screenshots of test-recovered VMs, backup copy offsite/to the cloud (Amazon S3/Wasabi/Microsoft Azure)
  • Decrease recovery time: Instant recovery of VMs, files, application objects (Microsoft Exchange, Active Directory, SQL), DR with VM replicas, P2V recovery

NAKIVO Backup & Replication Features

Data Center Backup Features

Has featureUniversal recovery
Has featureLive recovery
Has featureRecovery verification
Has featureBusiness application protection
Has featureMultiple backup destinations
Has featureIncremental backup identification
Has featureBackup to the cloud
Has featureDeduplication and file compression
Has featureSnapshots
Has featureFlexible deployment
Has featureManagement dashboard
Has featurePlatform support
Has featureRetention options
Has featureEncryption

NAKIVO Backup & Replication Screenshots

NAKIVO Backup & Replication Videos (6)

Watch Product Videos

NAKIVO Backup & Replication Downloadables

NAKIVO Backup & Replication Competitors

NAKIVO Backup & Replication Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Pro Essentials$25per workload
Enterprise Essentials$35per workload
Pro$40per workload
EnterpriseContact Vendor

A workload is a VMware vSphere VM, Microsoft Hyper-V VM, Nutanix AHV VM, a physical machine (01 server and 03 workstations), an Oracle database, or an Amazon EC2 instance.

NAKIVO Backup & Replication Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
70%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
20%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
10%

NAKIVO Backup & Replication Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

NAKIVO Backup & Replication Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Virtual Appliance, direct Install on NAS, pre-configured AWS Amazon Machine Image
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:Worldwide
Supported Languages: English