NAKIVO Backup & Replication Reviews

50 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 33)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Aba-Mark Mihaly | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 21, 2019

NAKIVO - The BEST!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I use NAKIVO for backing up my VMWare Lab (around 10 VM's), to a Synology NAS. Install was piece of cake, through the Synology AppManager, config also was super easy, just created the Backup Repository, selected the VM's to backup and voila! The load is minimal in the VM environment, the job is done by the Synology NAS.
Read Aba-Mark Mihaly's full review
Matthew Dovey | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2020

A straightforward but powerful backup for VMware environments

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Nakivo Backup and Replication to back up virtual machines running on ESXi hosted in a datacentre to an offsite NAS. This involves data flowing over DSL connections. One of the attractive features of Nakivo was its architecture allowing a transporter at both the ESXi and NAS ends, which allows it to both encrypt and compress/deduplicate the traffic involved in the backup, thus reducing the bandwidth requirements needed compared to other backup solutions.
Read Matthew Dovey's full review
Jason Miller | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2019

Sleep at Night with this Foolproof Data Backup App

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I was looking for a robust solution to handle data backups for my clients. NAKIVO Backup & Replication is a very good solution for those on a budget or with a small environment. Any Systems Administrator will tell you that a strong backup product is essential to be able to sleep at night. The installation of NAKIVO is very easy. I’ve used NAKIVO on both Windows and Synology platforms. The user interface is good to work with and they have good support.
Read Jason Miller's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2020

Good product for non-big-enterprise environments for doing your backups

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use NAKIVO Backup & Replication for a specific use case being that we only use it for our sandbox environment. We did want to have some backup possibilities in place for when we felt we needed it, but we didn't want to go all the way to a big huge competitor. NAKIVO serves its purpose well.
Read this authenticated review
Adrian Takacs | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 21, 2019

Top Product

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We started using Nakivo Backup and Replication to backup virtual machines hosted on customer premises on free ESXi hosts. Nakivo's proprietary change tracking method alternative to VMware's CBT.saved us the costs of going for a paid ESXi solution to minimize the storage and time required for the backups. Later we implemented the same product to replicate all our virtual servers in our data centre between two different SANs.
Read Adrian Takacs's full review
Philip Sellers | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 28, 2019

NAKIVO is great for small environments but struggles in larger deployments

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

NAKIVO backup has been deployed in our datacenters and in our branch offices for backup. It is also used across several of our operating companies in their operations. It was a cost-efficient backup solution and alternative from VMware Data Protection with better scale. It allows us both snapshot-based backup and replication for migrations. We moved away from NAKIVO in our primary datacenters and migrated back to Veeam in the past 18 months.
Read Philip Sellers's full review
Kevin King | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 28, 2019

NAKIVO - Surprisingly Awesome

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

NAKIVO is used to backup our VMware systems, and we have it installed at a number of customer sites doing the same thing. Compared to our old system, NAKIVO just works. It's easy to setup, it's easy to use, and it's ridiculously reliable.
Read Kevin King's full review
David Judice | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 25, 2019

Nakivo Backup perfect for small to midsize VM Enviroments.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Nakivo Backup & Replication is a great product and works well in my environment to provide backups of the virtual servers on my VMware hosts both locally to a NAS and offsite to Amazon S3. It was very easy to set up and manage and the new bandwidth management is a very nice addition.
Read David Judice's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 30, 2019

Rock solid "tapeless" backups with an easy to use interface and stellar support staff

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

NAKIVO Backup & Replication is being used across the entire organization, but only for backups of both Windows and Linux VMs currently. We may start using the replication features in the near future.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 06, 2019

NAKIVO: The Answer to Your Backup Prayers

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We've been using NAKIVO to back up data across our office locations, as well as the VMs themselves. It has helped us leverage our resources by enabling us to use local storage at one location and allocate it as a recovery site for an office at another location.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 28, 2019

NAKIVO - Powerful, Reliable, and Cost-Effective.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We first considered NAKIVO as a result of a recommendation made by one of our resellers. We needed a robust backup solution primarily for our VMware environment that didn't break the bank. NAKIVO checked almost all of the boxes during our proof of concept, so we decided to move forward with the purchase. NAKIVO is now our primary backup tool for our main campus and our DR site.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 27, 2019

NAKIVO saved our day

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Every infrastructure needs security, and one way to secure it is to find a solution for backups. After searching around and testing other solutions we have found NAKIVO. We use Nakivo to back up our ESXi server to a remote location.
Read this authenticated review
Arne Van Vyve | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 16, 2018

Nakivo backup and replication review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We were searching for a backup solution for on-premise servers owned by our clients. Generally, we provide backup for 1 or 2 physical servers which host 4-10 virtual machines. Since there are only 1-2 servers, the budget is quite strict so this was an important factor for us. We tested Nakivo about 1 year ago and found it very easy to use with the web-interface. Backup speed is also good and thanks to deduplication technology storage is not being wasted.
Read Arne Van Vyve's full review
Michael Keys Sr | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 21, 2018

NAKIVO Backup saved the day!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Nakivo works cleanly and efficiently when backing up Hyper-V VMs. The software does well with a mixed environment of Linux and Windows VMs, and deduplication and compression make off-site backups viable. Restoring VMs from off-site or on-site storage was painless and easy.

Initially I was concerned that the several TB of VM data we had would be too much for off-site backups, but deduplication coupled with heavy compression brought this down to only a few hundred GB when uploading to Azure File Storage.

The software is quite flexible in that you can either use an SMB file store, or configure a light-weight VM in Azure with Nakivo's transporter installed for better security / more efficient transport when doing off-site backups. Using Backup Copy jobs allows you to keep nice and consistent backups.

Read Michael Keys Sr's full review
Vincenzo Nati | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 02, 2018

NAKIVO Backup & Replication Pro Essentials for VMware and Hyper-V Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Very good product. Easy to use and free of errors. We bought NAKIVO Backup & Replication Pro Essentials for VMware and Hyper-V, and do exactly what is necessary for us. We are backing up our VM regularly based on a schedule that is very easy to set up. We are a software company and we have many VM for developing and testing software. Nakivo lets us secure all our business, especially the development datastore (CVS/SVN).
Read Vincenzo Nati's full review
Alexander Hubbard | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 19, 2018

Cost Effective and Reliable!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Nakivo Backup and Replication is being used to backup our in-house VMWare server. As a small IT consultant, the cost was a big concern for me. Nakivo checked off all of the checkboxes. It is cost effective and it works extremely well. Very easy to setup and configure. I currently use it on a Windows server to backup my virtual environment and you can be up and running in minutes.
Read Alexander Hubbard's full review
Christophe Rahier | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 24, 2018

How to implement a reliable and powerful solution?

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

In the past, I used Nakivo in a VMware infrastructure to back up dozens of VMs. Today, my working environment is Hyper-V and I was looking for a backup tool for VM. I also wanted the software to run on a Synology and not add a VM to the hypervisor (in case it crashes) In fact, I downloaded Nakivo to test under Hyper-V and returned the same ease and power as for VMware. So it was my inevitable choice for the backups, without hesitating! Easy to set up and use, what more could you ask for:-)
Read Christophe Rahier's full review
Νίκος Στεργιώτης | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 17, 2018

NAKIVO Back & replication

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I am implementing NAKIVO installations for my clients, using N.A.S. instead of computers. NAKIVO licensing model and pricing allowing my clients -no matter the size- to be able to use a robust backup software, without having to pay too much. Using N.A.S. instead of computer means that I (and the client) no longer have to worry about Windows Updates, .net versions, Windows versions, e.t.c. All I have to do is feed the N.A.S. with electricity and network, the rest are running smoothly automatically. The first backup can start in less than five (5) minutes, from the initial configuration. Later on, if you tweak the configuration a bit, you can have high-speed backups, CBT and data deduplication up to 66%. For Off-site backups, I can configure AWS, or if the client doesn't wish to send the backup to the cloud, I can install an external USB 3.0 hard disk on the N.A.S. and schedule a -LAN free- copy of data from the N.A.S. to the disk. I can schedule the Off-site job to attach the external disk at a specific time & date, make the backup, run a custom script (i.e. xcopy *.* to \\NAS\backup) to add some necessary files to the off-site hdd) and then automatically detach the disk and inform the client about the outcome via email. All-in-all a great product.
Read Νίκος Στεργιώτης's full review
Stanislav Kirilov | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2018

Go for it for your small business setting or Enterprise and you won't look elsewhere

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Before NAKIVO we used a number of methods or software to backup our VMs and it was very challenging, especially when it came to the time consumed for backup and backup recovery. NAKIVO backs up natively our vSpehere machines from within our Synology Data Storage and it is very user-friendly and a reliable solution! Though our servers and storage hardware is at entry level we can backup and restore 100GB VMs within a couple of minutes only! I would highly recommend NAKIVO to any institution utilizing VMware vSphere.
Read Stanislav Kirilov's full review
Kiss Mihály | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 07, 2018

NAKIVO Backup & Replication Platform Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Main competitive advantages of Nakivo platform
- The NAKIVO support is first class!
- Their price is a bargain for its performance.
- The software capabilities are great.
- Many other advantages

Our case study
The office department of Hajdúböszörmeny was looking for a backup software. They were afraid of a crypto incident and wanted to introduce an independent backup system. First of all, we searched for a usable backup system. We found a package named "Nakivo" in the Synology DSM and started examining the software. We found it excellent for the job and started using it. After we have tested the platform, we contacted the NAKIVO support and became a reseller of the software in Hungary.
Read Kiss Mihály's full review
Richard Davies | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 19, 2018

Where have all my backup worries gone?

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using NAKIVO to backup our VMWare guests to an onsite NAS and also to replicate business critical VMWare guests to an offsite VMWare environment at a local data centre for disaster recovery and business continuity purposes. This allows us to have local backups of our servers and in the event of a major problem at our business office we can quickly be up and running from our remote site.
Read Richard Davies's full review
Jan Straatman | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 12, 2018

Versatile and reliable back-up solution.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have been testing this product for about a month, so far NAKIVO Backup & Replication has proven itself reliable and versatile. The fact that the software can run on a NAS (thus creating your own backup appliance) is excellent. Back-up times are good/acceptable and deduplication is very good. Overall a good product with some unique possibilities. The problems it addresses (compared to our current back-up software) is better stability/reliability and no footprint on our virtual environment thanks to the ability to run on a NAS).
Read Jan Straatman's full review
Paw Meng Mortensen | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 08, 2018

Very easy and fast up and running

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is used for backup of VMware free ESXi solutions for customers we support. It is easy for customers to use together with the Synology products. It solves the need for an easy, straightforward VMware and Hyper V backup-solution for SMBs with no or limited internal IT support.
Read Paw Meng Mortensen's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Universal recovery (27)
8.7
Live recovery (27)
9.1
Recovery verification (30)
8.5
Business application protection (29)
8.6
Multiple backup destinations (30)
8.8
Incremental backup identification (30)
8.5
Backup to the cloud (22)
9.3
Deduplication and file compression (33)
8.8
Snapshots (29)
9.0

About NAKIVO Backup & Replication

NAKIVO Backup & Replication is a fast, reliable, and affordable backup and recovery solution to protect virtual, physical, cloud, and SaaS environments. The solution offers advanced features that improve backup performance and reliability, speed up recovery. As a result, it helps save time and money for enterprises.
  • Deploy in 2 minutes: Pre-configured VMware and Nutanix AHV Virtual Appliance, NAS devices, 1-click Windows installer, 1-command Linux installer, Amazon Machine Image
  • Protect VMs: Native, agentless, image-based, application-aware backup and replication for VMware vSphere, Microsoft Hyper-V, Nutanix AHV, and Amazon EC2 instances
  • Protect physical machines: Image-based, application-aware, incremental backups of Windows and Linux servers, and workstations
  • Protect Microsoft 365 data: Back up and recover Exchange Online, OneDrive for Business, and SharePoint Online data
  • Increase backup speed: Forever-incremental backups with CBT/RCT/CRT, LAN-free data transfer, network acceleration, up to 2x performance improvement when installed on NAS
  • Reduce backup size: Exclusion of swap files and partitions, global backup deduplication, variable backup compression
  • Ensure recoverability: Instant backup and replica verification with screenshots of test-recovered VMs, backup copy offsite/to the cloud (Amazon S3/Wasabi/Microsoft Azure)
  • Decrease recovery time: Instant recovery of VMs, files, application objects (Microsoft Exchange, Active Directory, SQL), DR with VM replicas, P2V recovery

NAKIVO Backup & Replication Features

Data Center Backup Features

Has featureUniversal recovery
Has featureLive recovery
Has featureRecovery verification
Has featureBusiness application protection
Has featureMultiple backup destinations
Has featureIncremental backup identification
Has featureBackup to the cloud
Has featureDeduplication and file compression
Has featureSnapshots
Has featureFlexible deployment
Has featureManagement dashboard
Has featurePlatform support
Has featureRetention options
Has featureEncryption

NAKIVO Backup & Replication Screenshots

NAKIVO Backup & Replication Competitors

NAKIVO Backup & Replication Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Pro Essentials$25per workload
Enterprise Essentials$35per workload
Pro$40per workload
EnterpriseContact Vendor

A workload is a VMware vSphere VM, Microsoft Hyper-V VM, Nutanix AHV VM, a physical machine (01 server and 03 workstations), an Oracle database, or an Amazon EC2 instance.

NAKIVO Backup & Replication Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
70%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
20%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
10%

NAKIVO Backup & Replication Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

NAKIVO Backup & Replication Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Virtual Appliance, direct Install on NAS, pre-configured AWS Amazon Machine Image
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:Worldwide
Supported Languages: English