Namely Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
80 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 5.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 57)

Cathleen Steininger | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 05, 2020

Namely. What's in a name? Turns out, not much.

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses Namely as our HRIS and company intranet. Employees use this platform to view pay stubs, enroll in benefits, request time off and view company forms and policies. Our goal was to integrate our benefits,401k, PTO and information as a single source sign on and streamline administration.
  • Offers compliance training and tracking as part of service.
  • Is somewhat easy to use.
  • Offers Everify for I-9's that is seamless.
  • Does not offer 360 integration with 3rd parties.
  • Namely implies that it handles FSA's and HSA's however, they just mean setting up the deductions.
  • Namely uses a general agent as a broker for your benefits instead of servicing you themselves.
I like the integrated training, the e-verify of the I-9's.
Read Cathleen Steininger's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 13, 2020

Functional, but not user friendly

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Namely is completely central HRIS platform and we use all of its functionality. Payroll (includes Timecards for employees), PTO requests + tracker. Also HR things like tracking birthdays, work anniversaries, etc. We recently switched from a different HRIS system and apparently with Namely we can perform more HR tasks in one place. But as a front-end user of a software I am not happy at all.
  • Time Off tracker can include not only generic PTO, but also other types of time off your company may provide (e.g Birthday Time Off).
  • Performance review Section directly in the app.
  • Sign important documents directly in the app!
  • Timecards sheets are just bad. If you like adding time cards for 5 days into the system and then have software dismiss the data from the page - get Namely!
  • In general user interface is not very friendly.
  • Looks like one of those websites from the 90s.
It's functional, I won't argue with that. You can do many things in one app. You can have managers approve employees' timesheets and their overtime separately. You can add different kinds of Time Off, except general PTO.

But if you want your employees not to lose their mind spending too much time managing their information in HRIS platform - get something else. Namely can be too complicated for it's own good.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 08, 2020

Better HR than Payroll Platform

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The entire organization uses Namely. From an employee perspective, they are able to maintain their personal information (address, marital status, etc), to request any updates at any time, and they are also able to submit PTO requests directly from the site or app. From an administrative perspective, HR uses Namely for annual reviews, open enrollment, onboarding, among many other features. Payroll also uses Namely for processing, garnishments, and much more.
  • Easy for employees to submit PTO requests, auto workflow to their respective managers for approval and up to date processing for Payroll while keeping HR in the loop.
  • It keeps everything in one place.
  • Benefits Open Enrollment is now automated and employees will be accountable for making changes or selecting new coverage.
  • Customer service needs major improvement. Sometimes it can take weeks to receive a response even after constant follow ups.
  • The UI can be terrible. There's too much touching in the system, and it doesn't communicate well with each other at all. HRIS & Payroll integration is being worked on, but definitely needs to be improved.
  • Namely doesn't have any experience with ESOP companies - anything outside their black & white scope is very hard for them - not too great at being flexible.
  • Notifications system on the top of the page - you can see the unread notifications which is good, however if you have a lot and you mistakenly miss one notification, there are no reminders.
Namely is a great solution for small to mid-sized organizations. This is not a traditional HR system, so the team in charge would need to be comfortable with creativity and different ways to use the product. We came from a manual approach so Namely has definitely helped us save time and made us more fluid.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

Namely for start-ups

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Namely is the HR software we use for payroll, employee handbooks, org charts/employee profiles and benefits enrollment. It is currently being used across our entire organization and allows for more HR self-service (for example, the ability to update 401k withholdings without the need for our HR coordinator to get involved). As a growing company, having access to the company org charts makes it easy to keep up with change and putting a face to the name across the business.
  • Benefits enrollment - this has always been very straightforward and easy.
  • Interface - Namely is an extremely user-friendly software that can be picked up without the need for training.
  • Automated alerts through Namely are something that would be interested to see. For example, an automated alert if a new resource is added by our admin, or when a new document is available for the employee to view (i.e new paystub, new tax document).
If you are looking for a fresh, streamlined HR platform Namely is the way to go. We have also had consultants from Namely come out to help walk through benefits open-enrollment which Is beneficial if you are a smaller company that doesn't have the resources for these types of overviews/training.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 23, 2020

Namely: Great for smaller companies; larger organizations may need a more robust solution.

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Namely is currently being used by the whole organization as our main HR platform. Pay and salary information, tax documents, and sick/time off requests can be accessed there by our 1300+ employees.
  • It has a clean, simple interface.
  • May be great for smaller organizations.
  • Menu categories may not feel intuitive.
  • As an organization that has grown to 1300+ employees, Namely is not robust enough to handle our needs.
Namely may be perfectly sufficient for a smaller company, but for a larger organization, another platform may be more appropriate.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 04, 2020

A great tool for any manager

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Namely is used across our account our entire company, every new employee is added to it. It helps with employee updates, time off and compensation/benefits. It provides a clear place as a manager to see what is currently going on within your team. It's also great to be able to see how the entire company is structured.
  • Great search function.
  • The org chart is really helpful.
  • Easy to use PTO request.
  • The time tracking is not super intuitive.
For any fast growing company Namely is a great option.
Read this authenticated review
Ron Toth | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2019

Simple and effective. Has everything you need in a really easy to use format.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Namely is used in a variety of ways. There is a newsfeed that we see on our home page that shows everyone's birthday and anniversary. Plus, if we ever want to give a shout out we can do that there too. In addition to that, we request our time off, view benefits and paystubs.
  • Love the ease of use of the newsfeed functionality.
  • The paystub feature is great. Namely sends an email to me when I'm paid and I can easily view it from my phone.
  • Its very very easy and simple. Almost to the point that you think it lacks in something cause it does not have a lof of fluff. This is a good thing as it has everything you need, just appears clean.
  • As of now- nothing. For what it's used for, it has everything it needs.
For those in sales who want to view pay stubs easily, it's great. I really like the newsfeed where you can view what's going on at the company. Time off is also done from it. There are a few other features that are there but I don't use like the Benefits and expenses. Overall it has everything you would need in an HR system.
Read Ron Toth's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 30, 2019

Run from Namely

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Namely is used across our entire organization for Payroll, HRIS, Performance Management. We moved to Namely because we wanted to incorporate an online performance management system tied to our payroll and to increase the efficiency of our onboarding.
  • The mechanics of processing payroll is easy.
  • The social media look to the home page is nice.
  • Failure to disclose that their timekeeping system is a third-party. It requires contact to 2 different companies to resolve issues.
  • Duplicate entries needed.
Overall lack of training materials or guidance on "how to" to new users.
The timekeeping system works well if you have a standard shift, but for anything "different," or if your staff works 7 days a week, there is difficulty in programming and calculating hours correctly. There's also difficulty in knowing which company to contact with errors: the timekeeping company (3rd party), or Namely.
This would probably work well if your company is just office staff with standard hours.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2019

Namely is great for small companies!

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it as our HRIS, Benefits Broker, Performance Management tool and Payroll software. It is used across the entire org. The HR team are admins and every employee is a user. We make use of the social feed for recognition as well. It keeps all of our people initiatives in 1 place.
  • User friendly on the social feed, and PTO requests.
  • HRIS is intuitive.
  • The goal setting tool is not user friendly so we don't use it.
  • The performance management tool isn't very dynamic.
It's very well suited for really small companies. Once a company gets over 150 it doesn't scale. Payroll is very manual, customer service is abysmal. We really like our benefits consultant and have had really positive experiences with that part of Namely. Payroll is our least favorite but I think it's because we are too big for their target customer.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 07, 2019

Namely Review

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The whole organization uses namely. It is our main HR organizing tool. We use it for things such as tracking pay-stubs, requestion vacation days/logging time away from the office and tracking our available days. It is also used for writing out semi-annual performance reviews, and for setting up information related to our insurance benefits.
  • It keeps everything in one place.
  • It is easy to use and has an app.
  • It lets you keep track of vacation days.
  • I wish it had a Gmail integration.
It is well suited for medium to large-sized organizations for all things HR.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 09, 2019

Reconsider your current system or others before talking with Namely

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This is the second company I have used Namely at. The HR teams always like it and the Finance side can't stand it. There have been some UI improvements over the 3 years I have used it, but the integration is still fragmented and clunky. Information still doesn't cleanly pass from the HRIS side over to the Payroll side. As others have mentioned, the support is absolutely horrendous. At my current company, there is the same theme of being cycled through multiple account managers and being stuck with the service@namely.com black hole to try to resolve any issues.

Multiple issues have come up and deadlines have been missed even though we have followed up and been assured several times that things were "all set" or "already taken care of". Then when you question them after they have missed something, they offer to fix it as long as you pay them to do it! Biggest scam on earth.
  • Adding additional pay into the batches is relatively easy.
  • If you don't have any payroll changes to reflect, the process is really fast to run a batch.
  • If you have a batch that was created and was never processed, it will be there for eternity. I have submitted several support tickets and these old batches are still just hanging around as pending.
  • The customer service is about as useful as the flu, and it's also just as effective as the flu at preventing any actual productivity.
  • The reports section on the payroll reports tab is unorganized. The list of reports doesn't follow any logical pattern on the page from what I can tell.
  • They will charge you to clean up their mistakes.
I would say it would be good for really small companies without an actual payroll team, but the need to identify all the ways Namely can go wrong doesn't allow me to even recommend it for that. You constantly have to be on the lookout for something they didn't submit, didn't calculate right, or didn't communicate to you.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 08, 2019

President

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Namely is not what it seems; they will sell you on how well everything works and it does not work well at all. We have been through 5 account reps in 1.5 years and they are useless. Everything has to go through service@namely.com and it can take weeks to get answers. Namely has actually made the job harder, not easier, and the system is not user-friendly at all. If you ask for someone to help and do it for you they will only send you a screenshot and tell you to do it yourself. Trust me, the system is terrible and the service is not there. Benefits can never get the deductions right. It's a constant battle with them.
  • They do nothing well.
  • Customer service needs improvement.
  • The UI is terrible. There's too much touching in the system, and it doesn't communicate well with each other at all.
  • Did I mention service is terrible and leadership doesn't really care how you feel or even try to help you?
I would not recommend Namely to anyone. Stay away, trust me, they are terrible. They do not help with the issues your company may have. Instead they send screenshots on how to resolve issues, and who has time for that when you're running your own company?
If you have multiple EIN and have employees working across multiple EINs its a lot of touching the system and spending a lot of time uploading people into the EINs
If you have hourly employees their upload process in Namely is very very time consuming; it has to be in their format and they will not help you create the format, only tell you what to do. Again, a terrible experience.
Read this authenticated review
Jamie Powers, PHR | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 21, 2019

Stay Away from Namely!

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Unfortunately, we use Namely for our HRIS and payroll processing.
  • The best thing Namely has is its social media aspect on its home screen for EEs. It has a "Facebook" type feed that EEs can use to interact with each other. This is good for us since a majority of our company is remote workers.
  • There are MANY product flaws. First, the system is NOT fully integrated as advertised. Namely is totally false advertising. MANY fields from the HR & payroll do not "talk" to each other. You have to do double work to enter the same info into both places. To top it off, Namely if VERY pricey.
  • I won't even go into detail on their customer service or reporting tool. The customer service went from good to bad (You no longer have a dedicated rep. You have to email the service team now). The report writer tool is worthless.
  • The system can't calculate a basic 401k ER match correctly. 100% on the first 3% & 50% on the next 2%. Many ERs have this match. Namely's system can't correctly calculate the match for the EEs that elect anything between 3-5%. & it's not on their road map to fix any time soon.
  • Deductions with caps do not end date themselves. They will stop once they’ve reached the cap AS LONG AS it’s still within the same year. Once a new year starts, the amount toward the cap is zeroed out & the deduction starts anew – even if it had already stopped. When you enter a deduction, you have to calc the end date yourself & enter it. Otherwise, the deduction will restart with the turn of the new year.
  • They say they integrate with Netsuite & Comeet, but the integration is so minimal that's it's not really helpful. It's like they setup a few fields just to claim they have the integration without lying.
  • Esignature - we can send multiple docs to 1 person, but we can't send 1 doc to multiple people. So getting a handbook acknowledged by everyone - have fun with that! They say that fixing Esignature is on their 2019 road map but no definite date is set for it.
  • I could go on with more. The point is Namely is DEFINITELY NOT worth the headache or the cost!
If I could give a 0, I would. I would NEVER recommend Namely to anyone.
Read Jamie Powers, PHR's full review
Laurelin Wyntre | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 09, 2019

Namely? Nopenopenope

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Namely is used across my entire organization to process payroll, store employee records, manage benefits, and track performance. It is intended to assist with HR management, but its functionality is questionable at best.
  • Namely stores basic employee information.
  • Customer Service
  • Performance Management
  • Benefits Management
I would never recommend Namely to a colleague. It is not user-friendly at all and the customer service is atrocious. It takes weeks to resolve issues, the online help center is useless, and if you want a person to address an issue in any sort of detail or timely fashion, they charge you for it.
Read Laurelin Wyntre's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 21, 2019

Namely is doing well what it's born to do

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Namely is being used to manage Human Resources at the company I'm working for. So it is used by the whole organization all around the world. It works very well by only focusing on HR to make everything is easier and more convenient. It is better than the previous solution the company used, Oracle ERP.
  • Very good UI.
  • It's in the cloud. I can access it from everywhere without VPN.
  • The mobile app for iOS and Android. It also has good UX and UI. I love the push notification.
  • As a user with an employee role, I'm not unhappy with Namely.
Namely will be a good replacement for older HR management systems, especially for large companies or global corporations. I believe it will make their employees happy with the ease of tasks like requesting a day off, following company news, etc. Namely is good at HR management and some other functions, however, if the company is small with fewer employees, you should reconsider using Namely. If you don't think all of Namely's functions will be used by your organization then you should balance the cost and the benefits. If your company would like to make the HR system private, so it can only be accessed from a local network and employees are forced to be at the office or inside the VPN to access the system—Namely is not for you.
Read this authenticated review
Jovanny Chonillo, MHRM | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 14, 2018

Namely. The first HRIS that my boss actually likes.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Namely is being used across our company for core HRIS, payroll, time & attendance, and benefits administration. Prior to using Namely, we used multiple non-connected HRIS systems. There was a lot of redundancy, and a lot of room for error.

Most recently, we used Paycom, which took on core HRIS, time & attendance, and payroll. We found ourselves needing something that was far more user-friendly, for admins and employees alike. We also had lots of processing issues.
  • The UI is very easy to navigate. Core functions are broken out into logical categories. We've even been able to troubleshoot rather extensively just by using the admin guides. Workflows can be designed so that critical stakeholders are always in the loop in regards to critical changes, such as pay changes.
  • Namely recently adopted a Client Success model that makes it very easy to get in touch with a subject matter expert across every HR discipline that Namely supports. If you're having a payroll issue, you'll get a payroll expert. if you have a configuration issue, you'll get a Namely config guru.
  • Namely has incredible resources for HR professionals. Their Namely Blog and Newsletter provides relevant news and fantastic insights into pressing issues. They also have a client hub that makes it easy to connect with other Namely users to share best practices.
  • Onboarding is amazing! Onboarding modules can be customized to cover all sorts of needs. You even get access to Adobe E-sign, giving you a lot of flexibility when it comes to creating required onboarding forms.
  • The Time & Attendance modules lacks the immediate "pick up and go" feel of the rest of the platform. It works as advertised, but you have to do a lot more menu digging get everything working as smoothly as possible.
  • Particularly when working with very specific reports, you sometimes have to bust out your v-lookup skills to consolidate data across Namely core HRIS, payroll, and/or Time and Attendance.
Namely is especially well-suited for small to mid-sized companies that are looking to shift core HRIS functions under a single platform. Everything works as smoothly as advertised- payroll, benefits, time and attendance, workflows, onboarding. Especially if the employee population is comfortable with social media sites; Namely's landing page functions like an internal Facebook feed.

Namely might not be well-suited for companies that have a significant employee population outside of the US . We've had some issues integrating our international employees into the core HRIS and benefits modules.
Read Jovanny Chonillo, MHRM's full review
Cristian Bodnarasec | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 14, 2018

Go global with Namely

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Namely at eSilicon for the entire company, for the following:
- Time off management
- Periodically employee performance reviews
- Employees goals setting
- Employees data: skills, experience, compensation, teams&allocations
- Organization charts
- Tasks: My tasks and Task lists

eSilicon is a global company and it needs to have one central system for all functions of HR management, Goals and Performance Management, Time Off management with obeying the laws and policies of each subsidiary.
  • Time off management - simple and efficient way to submit/approve and keep track of the remaining days. It covers all types of legal time off.
  • Goals setting - Namely has a mature enough framework that you can configure based on the company's requirements.
  • Organization chart - a nice visual display of the company hierarchy structure.
  • Employee Performance Review - there were some troubles in configuring the exact requirements of our goals process flow. Due to this, few steps in the flow were done manually by HR.
  • Time off management - one improvement would be to see the total amount of personal time off you are allowed to take for the current year, as an employee. You can see only the accrued time, up to date(for the year).
  • Notifications system on the top of the page - you can see the unread notifications which is good, however you also can see all read notifications, even those that were repeated periodically. It may a little confusing until you adjust to it.
  • Ability to integrate with NetSuite - we discovered that the existing integration doesn't cover the custom fields define in NetSuite, that is something to improve in the future versions of Namely.
The strengths of Namely are: Time off management, Employee Performance Review and the ability to configure these at the site level, sites that usually are located in different countries and continents. For a global company such as eSilicon, this is a must.
As for an inappropriate scenario, if your ERP is on the cloud and you have specific requirements to integrate with Namely, this integration is only basic for the moment.
Read Cristian Bodnarasec's full review
Thadya Soetaniman | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 25, 2018

GREAT HRIS but not so much for Payroll

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Namely as our HRIS, Payroll, Workforce Management, Performance Management, Time and Attendance and Benefits Administration for the whole organization in the USA. We are trying to minimize paper clutter and store information digitally which is one of the reasons why we chose Namely. On-boarding process is much more automated as you can upload all required documents into a template and have new employees complete them using e-signature. Performance Management feature makes it very easy to keep track of everyone’s progress and manage from the administrative side. Benefits Open Enrollment is now automated and employees will be accountable for making changes or selecting new coverage.
  • User-friendly. Easy to navigate through the website and run any reports in Namely HRIS.
  • On-boarding process is much more automated as you can upload all required documents into a template and have new employees complete them using e-signature. Keep in mind that e-signature feature in NOT built-in.
  • Performance Management feature makes it simple to keep track of everyone’s progress and manage from the administrative side. However, attachments can only be viewed by the individual who attached them and the administrator; this makes this feature pointless.
  • Benefits Open Enrollment is now automated and employees will be accountable for making changes or selecting new coverage.
  • Namely is NOT fully integrated (HRIS to Payroll & Namely Time to Payroll).
  • Namely Payroll report writer is limited and there are manual entries that you need to do to if you are tracking PTO using their HRIS module.
  • Web-clock and PTO Tracking in Namely HRIS module is very limited; the web-clock is unable to round worked hours as we track employee hours worked in 15 minute increments and PTO Tracking was not accruing the correct amount of sick and vacation balance for the employees which caused us to manually track PTO for 6 months on a spreadsheet.
  • Even with the Namely Time module, it DOES NOT fully integrate with Namely Payroll, therefore, all accrued vacation and sick balances do not feed over and we are not able to show the accrued balances on employees’ pay-stubs which is required by law in California. We have NOT been in compliance for over 16 MONTHS since beginning of 2017.
  • Implementation team we too quick to hand us off before things were fully setup/ implemented
  • Namely Support (tax team, configuration engineers, etc), takes a while to get back to you because your account manager will relay the issues to them and they do not follow up. You rarely get things resolved within a week; our longest outstanding issues with them has been going on for 22 months.
Namely is suited for companies who are ONLY looking for an HRIS system. Their Payroll module is not as robust and it is not fully integrated which as a result you will need to do manual entries for PTO which can be a nightmare for any employers who have over 200 employees. Namely is unable to handle different state taxes which has resulted in our company incurring PENALTIES and INTERESTS that goes back over 21 months; this was after Namely's tax team had confirmed that we are good to go in all states.
Read Thadya Soetaniman's full review
Joel George | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 14, 2018

Namely is a good tool for many HR services

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company uses Namely for several business processes:

  • Onboarding
  • Performance reviews
  • Benefits management
  • Payroll

  • Namely has been great for processing payroll. They take care of all tax payment and issue W-2s.
  • Namely helps us to perform timely annual reviews on staff via its workflow and reminders.
  • Employees do open enrollments for benefits through Namely, and the process is pretty straightforward.
  • The support of our account manager was great. She was very attentive.
  • On our first round of W-2s in January 2016, there was incorrect data on some of the W-2s, and correcting it caused us to be late in getting the W-2s to our employees.
  • Performance review reports have weird spacing issues, and text cannot be formatted in the annual review (no bold, underline, bullets).
  • Open enrollments require significant effort from Namely to set up and execute. It would be helpful if it could be more of a template, but perhaps the complexities of healthcare don't allow this.
They provide a wide range of services for companies looking to outsource a large part of their HR processes. They are responsive to requests and seek to please the client.

Their proposed cost to handle ACA reporting (1095-B) was exhorbitant for a small company like ours.
Read Joel George's full review
Hannah Flood | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 05, 2018

#1 Software for Company Structure and Growth

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Namely is being used for our entire organization. We have 5 office locations and a few remote employees. Namely provides an inclusive platform for all employee data and information. This creates structure, improved communication, and transparency. Our team members can see who else works in our company, what teams they're on, and company goals. Employees have access to their personal paystubs, timesheets, time off, performance reviews, signed documents, and benefits. There is a news feed to post updates, employee appreciation, and welcome new employees.
  • Every person I've worked with in Namely is competent, friendly, quick, patient, and very helpful. I've never before worked with any company like this. Their customer service, professionalism, and forward thinking blow me away.
  • Namely is quick to listen to client feedback and solve problems. They're constantly adding new features, so even if it doesn't have everything you want now, there is a good chance it will.
  • Namely's platform is very user-friendly. It's easy to navigate and learn how to use. For many users, it's self-explanatory. They provide great training tools as well.
  • Namely Payroll is easy to use and provides a large variety of reports that you can access immediately. It's easy to update employee and company tax information.
  • Namely time off could be more interactive with payroll, but I think Namely is working on this improvement currently.
Namely might be too expensive and unnecessary for new or very small companies. Companies that are looking to grow quickly, however, will get great use from Namely. It helps keep everything organized and in one place. The Namely team really helps users to keep up with ever-changing federal and state compliance laws. They will handle a lot of payroll challenges and assist with taxes as well.
Read Hannah Flood's full review
Yvonne Reinke | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 08, 2018

Namely is the WORD!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Namely for almost two full years and it is a great tool for all the users at our company. They have a great support team and make updates often to increase the functionality and effectiveness. Have really enjoyed moving to this platform from our prior. We are full payroll, HR, and benefits with them and I couldn't be happier.
  • Easy to use
  • Great support
  • Continuous improvement
  • More interactive
  • Surveys and/or Poll - both anonymous and not - or partner with a provider that can
  • Engagement features to encourage folks to log in daily for updates - not just my hourly folks to clock in
I think Namely works well for our size 50-100 employees, I see that it could be beneficial for a larger group also. They have been working hard to create a great platform and believe they are doing things right. With the continuous improvements and the ability to configure it for your needs, the system is great.
Read Yvonne Reinke's full review
Caleb Wood, SHRM-CP | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 04, 2018

New Company - Great Potential

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Namely is being used by the entire organization. This includes all of the Company and our branches/firms. Namely provides an all-in-one shop that employees, managers, and administrators can use and love to use everyday.
  • Benefits- The benefit portal is easy to use by the employees and administration of the benefits on the back side is just as easy. It looks good, and flows very well. Very customization for our benefit structure.
  • Payroll - easy to use system that allows for a lot of flexibility when running your payroll. Integrations with the HRIS and Time side of things makes payroll run much faster and takes away some of the manual work from before.
  • HRIS- The homage is great for announcements and getting employee involvement on day to day activities of the organization. One stop place for employees to find what they are looking for.
  • Newer company some some features can be less user friendly or non-existent when compared to older HRIS systems.
Namely is always listening to feedback from customers, always rolling out new features, and improving the ones they currently have. Their support team is very committed and cares that your system is working the way you need it to.
Read Caleb Wood, SHRM-CP's full review
Titus Yao | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 04, 2018

Best all-in-one system for small/mid-size companies

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
They took on our benefits brokerage services in the middle of a renewal season when we were struggling with an unreliable broker we've had for years. They came in and negotiated down rates for us, set up new plans, working with our insurance carriers and got us everything ready in time for open enrollment. Unbelievable effort - Namely hires outstanding talent and their benefits team works wonders!
  • Aside from having every tool an HR/Payroll department needs integrated and working together, the best part about Namely is their customer service. Each client has an individual client partner instead of an 800 number and a case ID. That's made all the difference - instead of going through prompts and re-describing the problem to a different CSR each time you call in, your partner knows you and your company and always responds quickly. Outstanding customer focus!
  • Nothing, they're exactly what we were looking for and more. If I were looking for a new system, I would implement Namely again.
Namely is best for small and mid sized companies.
Read Titus Yao's full review
Lisa Shapiro | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 07, 2017

Want an amazing Payroll, HRIS and Benefits platform? I name Namely!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our employees and 1099 contractors use Namely's HRIS platform. They can update their personal information such as address, see their compensation history and enroll in benefits. Managers and the Finance / Hr team members use Namely to run reports on the information we store in HRIS. I use the Payroll platform to run pay for US employees and 1099 contractors. Our HR Manager utilizes the HRIS, payroll and Benefits platforms. We are able to give our mangers the ability to run reports on on their direct reports which reduces the need for the finance/HR team to produce reports on request. The HRIS platform is user friendly and easy for our employees to navigate.
  • The HRIS platform is set up very well. It is easy to understand and our employees can figure out how to get the information they need, which cuts down on questions to the finance/HR team and reduces employee stress related to their pay and benefits.
  • The onboarding and benefits enrollment features are amazing! They are so easy to navigate and we can customize them with the forms we need for our specific employee groups. We are able to get new employee onboarded very quickly. No more paper forms!
  • Many items can be customized in payroll, including deduction codes, to what is needed without the need for a consultant to step in.
  • Custom fields can be added to the HRIS platform so that all types of info can be stored and reported on. Things like T-shirt size, license plate number and food allergies are helpful things to keep record on and the employee can edit the info as needed.
  • Workflows can be created in Namely so that Managers can request things like one-off bonuses for employees without using email. The request goes straight to the needed approver. This cuts down on back and forth and lost communication.
  • I would love to see Namely roll out e-signature for things like tax forms that employees can use on a recurring basis. Currently it is available for onboarding, so I know it's coming!
  • I would love to be able to tell the employees that they can view their payslips on the mobile app, this would be an awesome feature.
  • Increase the workflow usability so that is has more functions.
Namely is an amazing platform. My main recommendation for new and future users would be to utilize all that it has to offer! Put in the time to customize it and make it your own and you will not be sorry. Even if you only want to use if for basic functionality, it is still worth it. The ease and cleanliness of the platform saves me a lot of time when I make updates, run payroll and explain things to employees.
Read Lisa Shapiro's full review
Kimberly Cavanaugh, PHR | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2018

Great Software for our Small Business

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Namely is being used by HR only at this time. I am hoping to have it used company-wide by the end of 2018. For HR its main use is workflows which have helped us stay on track for department changes and raises. Being a government contractor, employee's skills are interchangeable on projects and transactions move quickly and often. This helps us stay sane!
  • Personalization of the software
  • Excellent customer care
  • Mobility
  • HR startup that might be having some growing pains
  • However, I think they are doing an excellent job
It is less suited for payroll in my current company but I believe it would be well suited in the right circumstance. The workflows have been a life saving tool. Employee transactions move quickly here and Namely has made it easy to keep track. It is user-friendly and not much training was needed for me to pass it off to my direct report when needing to delegate.
Read Kimberly Cavanaugh, PHR's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Employee demographic data (49)
6.4
Employment history (56)
6.7
Job profiles and administration (2)
10.0
Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc. (53)
6.1
Organizational charting (54)
6.1
Organization and location management (51)
6.5
Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.) (26)
3.2
Pay calculation (44)
5.6
Support for external payroll vendors (19)
4.3
Benefit plan administration (43)
7.0
Direct deposit files (47)
7.2
Salary revision and increment management (40)
6.9
Reimbursement management (21)
5.3
Approval workflow (50)
7.3
Balance details (46)
6.9
Annual carry-forward and encashment (38)
6.9
View and generate pay and benefit information (53)
7.3
Update personal information (56)
7.1
View company policy documentation (50)
7.3
Employee recognition (43)
7.3
View job history (53)
7.4
Tracking of all physical assets (26)
5.6
Report builder (42)
4.4
Pre-built reports (42)
4.9
Ability to combine HR data with external data (26)
2.5
New hire portal (39)
5.8
Manager tracking tools (32)
5.9
Corporate goal setting (36)
4.2
Individual goal setting (37)
4.2
Line-of sight-visibility (26)
2.5
Performance tracking (36)
3.6
Performance plans (40)
5.6
Performance improvement plans (27)
4.4
Review status tracking (41)
4.5
Review reminders (41)
5.2
Multiple review frequency (34)
4.3
Candidate search (7)
5.3

About Namely

Namely is an HR, Payroll, and Benefits platform. It is designed around end-user usability, and can be configured to fit the company culture. Namely allows users to manage all their HR data in one place, with personalized service to help quickly improve HR management. Namely is used by companies in media, technology, and commerce, as well as other industries.

Namely Features

Human Resource Management Features
Has featureEmployee demographic data
Has featureEmployment history
Does not have featureJob profiles and administration
Has featureWorkflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc.
Has featureBenefits information
Has featureOrganizational charting
Has featureOrganization and location management
Has featureCompliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.)
Payroll Management Features
Has featurePay calculation
Has featureSupport for external payroll vendors
Has featureOff-cycle/On-Demand payment
Has featurePayroll history for each employee
Has featureBenefit plan administration
Has featureDirect deposit files
Has featurePayroll tracking and auditing
Has featureSalary revision and increment management
Has featureReimbursement management
Has featureStatutory form management
Leave and Attendance Management Features
Has featureApproval workflow
Has featureEmail notifications
Has featureBalance details
Has featureTravel absence management
Has featureAnnual carry-forward and encashment
Employee Self Service Features
Has featureEmployee login
Has featureView and generate pay and benefit information
Has featureUpdate personal information
Has featureRequest time off
Has featureView job history
Has featureView company policy documentation
Has featureView company news and information
Has featureEmployee recognition
Asset Management Features
Has featureTracking of all physical assets
Has featureAsset issue and transfer management
Has featureAsset return
Has featureWarranty and after-sales status maintenance contract tracking
HR Reporting Features
Has featureReport builder
Has featurePre-built reports
Has featureAbility to combine HR data with external data
Integration with other HR capabilities Features
Has featureAdditional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by same vendor
Has featureAdditional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by different vendor
Performance Management Features
Has featurePerformance plans
Has featurePerformance improvement plans
Has featureReview status tracking
Has featureReview reminders
Has featureMultiple review frequency
Succession Planning Features
Does not have featureCreate succession plans/pools
Does not have featureCandidate ranking
Has featureCandidate search
Does not have featureCandidate development
Onboarding Features
Has featureNew hire portal
Has featureManager tracking tools
Performance and Goals Features
Has featureCorporate goal setting
Has featureIndividual goal setting
Has featureLine-of sight-visibility
Has featurePerformance tracking
Recruiting / ATS Features
Does not have featureJob Requisition Management
Does not have featureCompany Website Posting
Does not have featurePublish to Social Media
Does not have featureJob Search Site Posting
Does not have featureDuplicate Candidate Prevention
Does not have featureApplicant Tracking
Does not have featureNotifications and Alerts

Namely Screenshots

Namely Integrations

Namely Competitors

Namely Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Namely Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Countries:All
Supported Languages: English