TrustRadius
Namely, headquartered in New York, offers their eponymous HR platform, for integrated HR, payroll, benefits, and employee performance management.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/cs/RG/ECR549KER2ZC.PNGNamely. The first HRIS that my boss actually likes.Namely is being used across our company for core HRIS, payroll, time & attendance, and benefits administration. Prior to using Namely, we used multiple non-connected HRIS systems. There was a lot of redundancy, and a lot of room for error. Most recently, we used Paycom, which took on core HRIS, time & attendance, and payroll. We found ourselves needing something that was far more user-friendly, for admins and employees alike. We also had lots of processing issues.,The UI is very easy to navigate. Core functions are broken out into logical categories. We've even been able to troubleshoot rather extensively just by using the admin guides. Workflows can be designed so that critical stakeholders are always in the loop in regards to critical changes, such as pay changes. Namely recently adopted a Client Success model that makes it very easy to get in touch with a subject matter expert across every HR discipline that Namely supports. If you're having a payroll issue, you'll get a payroll expert. if you have a configuration issue, you'll get a Namely config guru. Namely has incredible resources for HR professionals. Their Namely Blog and Newsletter provides relevant news and fantastic insights into pressing issues. They also have a client hub that makes it easy to connect with other Namely users to share best practices. Onboarding is amazing! Onboarding modules can be customized to cover all sorts of needs. You even get access to Adobe E-sign, giving you a lot of flexibility when it comes to creating required onboarding forms.,The Time & Attendance modules lacks the immediate "pick up and go" feel of the rest of the platform. It works as advertised, but you have to do a lot more menu digging get everything working as smoothly as possible. Particularly when working with very specific reports, you sometimes have to bust out your v-lookup skills to consolidate data across Namely core HRIS, payroll, and/or Time and Attendance.,10,Without a doubt, our payroll processing has dramatically improved. Manual correction checks are a rare occurrence. As a result, our employees spend less time auditing their pay. From an admin standpoint, we spend less time processing payroll, and more time making improvements to other processes and modules within namely. As managers get more and more used to using Namely to process personnel changes, we're using less paper. More importantly, we're seeing a big increase in the integrity of our personnel records. Our People team is able to easily provide support across various People issues, since Namely makes it very easy to quickly get the information needed to resolve issues.,Paycom,JazzHR, Adobe Sign (formerly EchoSign)Go global with NamelyWe use Namely at eSilicon for the entire company, for the following: - Time off management - Periodically employee performance reviews - Employees goals setting - Employees data: skills, experience, compensation, teams&allocations - Organization charts - Tasks: My tasks and Task lists eSilicon is a Global Company and it needs to have one central system for all functions of HR management, Goals and Performance Management, Time Off management with obeying the laws and policies of each subsidiary.,Time off management - simple and efficient way to submit/approve and keep track of the remaining days. It covers all types of legal time off. Goals setting - Namely has a mature enough framework that you can configure based on the company's requirements. Organization chart - a nice visual display of the company hierarchy structure.,Employee Performance Review - there were some troubles in configuring the exact requirements of our goals process flow. Due to this, few steps in the flow were done manually by HR. Time off management - one improvement would be to see the total amount of personal time off you are allowed to take for the current year, as an employee. You can see only the accrued time, up to date(for the year). Notifications system on the top of the page - you can see the unread notifications which is good, however you also can see all read notifications, even those that were repeated periodically. It may a little confusing until you adjust to it. Ability to integrate with NetSuite - we discovered that the existing integration doesn't cover the custom fields define in NetSuite, that is something to improve in the future versions of Namely.,8,Positive: simplified some HR processes, taking less time from employee and HR personnel to manage time off, performance reviews etc. Positive: one system (on the internet, not inside eSilicon firewall) for all these processes, which cut down on the expense of paying several separate tools to do the same. Positive: it removed all the trouble and head aches of managing HR processes in a global company.,UltiPro and Ceridian Dayforce,JIRA Software, Atlassian Confluence, ZoomGREAT HRIS but not so much for PayrollWe are currently using Namely as our HRIS, Payroll, Workforce Management, Performance Management, Time and Attendance and Benefits Administration for the whole organization in the USA. We are trying to minimize paper clutter and store information digitally which is one of the reasons why we chose Namely. On-boarding process is much more automated as you can upload all required documents into a template and have new employees complete them using e-signature. Performance Management feature makes it very easy to keep track of everyone’s progress and manage from the administrative side. Benefits Open Enrollment is now automated and employees will be accountable for making changes or selecting new coverage.,User-friendly. Easy to navigate through the website and run any reports in Namely HRIS. On-boarding process is much more automated as you can upload all required documents into a template and have new employees complete them using e-signature. Keep in mind that e-signature feature in NOT built-in. Performance Management feature makes it simple to keep track of everyone’s progress and manage from the administrative side. However, attachments can only be viewed by the individual who attached them and the administrator; this makes this feature pointless. Benefits Open Enrollment is now automated and employees will be accountable for making changes or selecting new coverage.,Namely is NOT fully integrated (HRIS to Payroll & Namely Time to Payroll). Namely Payroll report writer is limited and there are manual entries that you need to do to if you are tracking PTO using their HRIS module. Web-clock and PTO Tracking in Namely HRIS module is very limited; the web-clock is unable to round worked hours as we track employee hours worked in 15 minute increments and PTO Tracking was not accruing the correct amount of sick and vacation balance for the employees which caused us to manually track PTO for 6 months on a spreadsheet. Even with the Namely Time module, it DOES NOT fully integrate with Namely Payroll, therefore, all accrued vacation and sick balances do not feed over and we are not able to show the accrued balances on employees’ pay-stubs which is required by law in California. We have NOT been in compliance for over 16 MONTHS since beginning of 2017. Implementation team we too quick to hand us off before things were fully setup/ implemented Namely Support (tax team, configuration engineers, etc), takes a while to get back to you because your account manager will relay the issues to them and they do not follow up. You rarely get things resolved within a week; our longest outstanding issues with them has been going on for 22 months.,2,Negative Impact. We are out of compliance due to Namely not having a way for us to display sick and vacation balance on our pay stub Positive Impact. We finally introduced paperless performance management, on-boarding, benefits administration and employee information changes Negative Impact. Constant issues with benefit carrier feeds and incurred PENALTIES and INTERESTS from different states. Poor support from Namely Tax Team. Negative Impacts. More time is spent on doing payroll because there is a lack in integration. We also spend more time auditing to ensure that employees have the correct benefits that they elected so that we get billed correctly.,ADP ezLaborManager,PayScale Insight,3,YesNamely is a good tool for many HR servicesOur company uses Namely for several business processes: OnboardingPerformance reviewsBenefits managementPayroll,Namely has been great for processing payroll. They take care of all tax payment and issue W-2s. Namely helps us to perform timely annual reviews on staff via its workflow and reminders. Employees do open enrollments for benefits through Namely, and the process is pretty straightforward. The support of our account manager was great. She was very attentive.,On our first round of W-2s in January 2016, there was incorrect data on some of the W-2s, and correcting it caused us to be late in getting the W-2s to our employees. Performance review reports have weird spacing issues, and text cannot be formatted in the annual review (no bold, underline, bullets). Open enrollments require significant effort from Namely to set up and execute. It would be helpful if it could be more of a template, but perhaps the complexities of healthcare don't allow this.,9,We were doing all payroll in-house, and while we still have to maintain careful records to verify payroll data on each run, Namely has simplified the actual processing of payroll. We now enter payroll totals via Journal Entry and don't need to have employee-by-employee payroll data in our QuickBooks file. Namely even has a GL report to summarize the Journal Entries. Namely has helped to formalize our performance review process. Namely is our go-to repository for employee information and tracking.,ADP,QuickBooks Online, Concur Travel and Expense#1 Software for Company Structure and GrowthNamely is being used for our entire organization. We have 5 office locations and a few remote employees. Namely provides an inclusive platform for all employee data and information. This creates structure, improved communication, and transparency. Our team members can see who else works in our company, what teams they're on, and company goals. Employees have access to their personal paystubs, timesheets, time off, performance reviews, signed documents, and benefits. There is a news feed to post updates, employee appreciation, and welcome new employees.,Every person I've worked with in Namely is competent, friendly, quick, patient, and very helpful. I've never before worked with any company like this. Their customer service, professionalism, and forward thinking blow me away. Namely is quick to listen to client feedback and solve problems. They're constantly adding new features, so even if it doesn't have everything you want now, there is a good chance it will. Namely's platform is very user-friendly. It's easy to navigate and learn how to use. For many users, it's self-explanatory. They provide great training tools as well. Namely Payroll is easy to use and provides a large variety of reports that you can access immediately. It's easy to update employee and company tax information.,Namely time off could be more interactive with payroll, but I think Namely is working on this improvement currently.,10,Namely has had a very positive impact as it has allowed us to grow in a managed fashion. It has helped our team stay connected and keep good communication. It has also helped us with best practices and stay compliant. We've been able to form good HR habits from an early stage which will save us time and personnel as we grow and have more federal compliance mandates.,
Unspecified
Namely
59 Ratings
Score 8.3 out of 101
TRScore

Namely Reviews

Namely
59 Ratings
Score 8.3 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 59 vetted Namely reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 43)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Jovanny Chonillo, MHRM profile photo
September 14, 2018

Review: "Namely. The first HRIS that my boss actually likes."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Namely is being used across our company for core HRIS, payroll, time & attendance, and benefits administration. Prior to using Namely, we used multiple non-connected HRIS systems. There was a lot of redundancy, and a lot of room for error.

Most recently, we used Paycom, which took on core HRIS, time & attendance, and payroll. We found ourselves needing something that was far more user-friendly, for admins and employees alike. We also had lots of processing issues.
  • The UI is very easy to navigate. Core functions are broken out into logical categories. We've even been able to troubleshoot rather extensively just by using the admin guides. Workflows can be designed so that critical stakeholders are always in the loop in regards to critical changes, such as pay changes.
  • Namely recently adopted a Client Success model that makes it very easy to get in touch with a subject matter expert across every HR discipline that Namely supports. If you're having a payroll issue, you'll get a payroll expert. if you have a configuration issue, you'll get a Namely config guru.
  • Namely has incredible resources for HR professionals. Their Namely Blog and Newsletter provides relevant news and fantastic insights into pressing issues. They also have a client hub that makes it easy to connect with other Namely users to share best practices.
  • Onboarding is amazing! Onboarding modules can be customized to cover all sorts of needs. You even get access to Adobe E-sign, giving you a lot of flexibility when it comes to creating required onboarding forms.
  • The Time & Attendance modules lacks the immediate "pick up and go" feel of the rest of the platform. It works as advertised, but you have to do a lot more menu digging get everything working as smoothly as possible.
  • Particularly when working with very specific reports, you sometimes have to bust out your v-lookup skills to consolidate data across Namely core HRIS, payroll, and/or Time and Attendance.
Namely is especially well-suited for small to mid-sized companies that are looking to shift core HRIS functions under a single platform. Everything works as smoothly as advertised- payroll, benefits, time and attendance, workflows, onboarding. Especially if the employee population is comfortable with social media sites; Namely's landing page functions like an internal Facebook feed.

Namely might not be well-suited for companies that have a significant employee population outside of the US . We've had some issues integrating our international employees into the core HRIS and benefits modules.
Read Jovanny Chonillo, MHRM's full review
Cristian Bodnarasec profile photo
August 14, 2018

User Review: "Go global with Namely"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Namely at eSilicon for the entire company, for the following:
- Time off management
- Periodically employee performance reviews
- Employees goals setting
- Employees data: skills, experience, compensation, teams&allocations
- Organization charts
- Tasks: My tasks and Task lists

eSilicon is a Global Company and it needs to have one central system for all functions of HR management, Goals and Performance Management, Time Off management with obeying the laws and policies of each subsidiary.
  • Time off management - simple and efficient way to submit/approve and keep track of the remaining days. It covers all types of legal time off.
  • Goals setting - Namely has a mature enough framework that you can configure based on the company's requirements.
  • Organization chart - a nice visual display of the company hierarchy structure.
  • Employee Performance Review - there were some troubles in configuring the exact requirements of our goals process flow. Due to this, few steps in the flow were done manually by HR.
  • Time off management - one improvement would be to see the total amount of personal time off you are allowed to take for the current year, as an employee. You can see only the accrued time, up to date(for the year).
  • Notifications system on the top of the page - you can see the unread notifications which is good, however you also can see all read notifications, even those that were repeated periodically. It may a little confusing until you adjust to it.
  • Ability to integrate with NetSuite - we discovered that the existing integration doesn't cover the custom fields define in NetSuite, that is something to improve in the future versions of Namely.
The strengths of Namely are: Time off management, Employee Performance Review and the ability to configure these at the site level, sites that usually are located in different countries and continents. For a global company as eSilicon, this is a must.
As for an inappropriate scenario, if your ERP is on the cloud and you have specific requirements to integrate with Namely, this integration is only basic for the moment.
Read Cristian Bodnarasec's full review
Thadya Soetaniman profile photo
October 25, 2018

Namely Review: "GREAT HRIS but not so much for Payroll"

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Namely as our HRIS, Payroll, Workforce Management, Performance Management, Time and Attendance and Benefits Administration for the whole organization in the USA. We are trying to minimize paper clutter and store information digitally which is one of the reasons why we chose Namely. On-boarding process is much more automated as you can upload all required documents into a template and have new employees complete them using e-signature. Performance Management feature makes it very easy to keep track of everyone’s progress and manage from the administrative side. Benefits Open Enrollment is now automated and employees will be accountable for making changes or selecting new coverage.
  • User-friendly. Easy to navigate through the website and run any reports in Namely HRIS.
  • On-boarding process is much more automated as you can upload all required documents into a template and have new employees complete them using e-signature. Keep in mind that e-signature feature in NOT built-in.
  • Performance Management feature makes it simple to keep track of everyone’s progress and manage from the administrative side. However, attachments can only be viewed by the individual who attached them and the administrator; this makes this feature pointless.
  • Benefits Open Enrollment is now automated and employees will be accountable for making changes or selecting new coverage.
  • Namely is NOT fully integrated (HRIS to Payroll & Namely Time to Payroll).
  • Namely Payroll report writer is limited and there are manual entries that you need to do to if you are tracking PTO using their HRIS module.
  • Web-clock and PTO Tracking in Namely HRIS module is very limited; the web-clock is unable to round worked hours as we track employee hours worked in 15 minute increments and PTO Tracking was not accruing the correct amount of sick and vacation balance for the employees which caused us to manually track PTO for 6 months on a spreadsheet.
  • Even with the Namely Time module, it DOES NOT fully integrate with Namely Payroll, therefore, all accrued vacation and sick balances do not feed over and we are not able to show the accrued balances on employees’ pay-stubs which is required by law in California. We have NOT been in compliance for over 16 MONTHS since beginning of 2017.
  • Implementation team we too quick to hand us off before things were fully setup/ implemented
  • Namely Support (tax team, configuration engineers, etc), takes a while to get back to you because your account manager will relay the issues to them and they do not follow up. You rarely get things resolved within a week; our longest outstanding issues with them has been going on for 22 months.
Namely is suited for companies who are ONLY looking for an HRIS system. Their Payroll module is not as robust and it is not fully integrated which as a result you will need to do manual entries for PTO which can be a nightmare for any employers who have over 200 employees. Namely is unable to handle different state taxes which has resulted in our company incurring PENALTIES and INTERESTS that goes back over 21 months; this was after Namely's tax team had confirmed that we are good to go in all states.
Read Thadya Soetaniman's full review
Joel George profile photo
September 14, 2018

Review: "Namely is a good tool for many HR services"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company uses Namely for several business processes:

  • Onboarding
  • Performance reviews
  • Benefits management
  • Payroll

  • Namely has been great for processing payroll. They take care of all tax payment and issue W-2s.
  • Namely helps us to perform timely annual reviews on staff via its workflow and reminders.
  • Employees do open enrollments for benefits through Namely, and the process is pretty straightforward.
  • The support of our account manager was great. She was very attentive.
  • On our first round of W-2s in January 2016, there was incorrect data on some of the W-2s, and correcting it caused us to be late in getting the W-2s to our employees.
  • Performance review reports have weird spacing issues, and text cannot be formatted in the annual review (no bold, underline, bullets).
  • Open enrollments require significant effort from Namely to set up and execute. It would be helpful if it could be more of a template, but perhaps the complexities of healthcare don't allow this.
They provide a wide range of services for companies looking to outsource a large part of their HR processes. They are responsive to requests and seek to please the client.

Their proposed cost to handle ACA reporting (1095-B) was exhorbitant for a small company like ours.
Read Joel George's full review
Hannah Flood profile photo
April 05, 2018

Namely Review: "#1 Software for Company Structure and Growth"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Namely is being used for our entire organization. We have 5 office locations and a few remote employees. Namely provides an inclusive platform for all employee data and information. This creates structure, improved communication, and transparency. Our team members can see who else works in our company, what teams they're on, and company goals. Employees have access to their personal paystubs, timesheets, time off, performance reviews, signed documents, and benefits. There is a news feed to post updates, employee appreciation, and welcome new employees.
  • Every person I've worked with in Namely is competent, friendly, quick, patient, and very helpful. I've never before worked with any company like this. Their customer service, professionalism, and forward thinking blow me away.
  • Namely is quick to listen to client feedback and solve problems. They're constantly adding new features, so even if it doesn't have everything you want now, there is a good chance it will.
  • Namely's platform is very user-friendly. It's easy to navigate and learn how to use. For many users, it's self-explanatory. They provide great training tools as well.
  • Namely Payroll is easy to use and provides a large variety of reports that you can access immediately. It's easy to update employee and company tax information.
  • Namely time off could be more interactive with payroll, but I think Namely is working on this improvement currently.
Namely might be too expensive and unnecessary for new or very small companies. Companies that are looking to grow quickly, however, will get great use from Namely. It helps keep everything organized and in one place. The Namely team really helps users to keep up with ever-changing federal and state compliance laws. They will handle a lot of payroll challenges and assist with taxes as well.
Read Hannah Flood's full review
Yvonne Reinke profile photo
May 08, 2018

User Review: "Namely is the WORD!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Namely for almost two full years and it is a great tool for all the users at our company. They have a great support team and make updates often to increase the functionality and effectiveness. Have really enjoyed moving to this platform from our prior. We are full payroll, HR, and benefits with them and I couldn't be happier.
  • Easy to use
  • Great support
  • Continuous improvement
  • More interactive
  • Surveys and/or Poll - both anonymous and not - or partner with a provider that can
  • Engagement features to encourage folks to log in daily for updates - not just my hourly folks to clock in
I think Namely works well for our size 50-100 employees, I see that it could be beneficial for a larger group also. They have been working hard to create a great platform and believe they are doing things right. With the continuous improvements and the ability to configure it for your needs, the system is great.
Read Yvonne Reinke's full review
Caleb Wood, SHRM-CP profile photo
April 04, 2018

Namely Review: "New Company - Great Potential"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Namely is being used by the entire organization. This includes all of the Company and our branches/firms. Namely provides an all-in-one shop that employees, managers, and administrators can use and love to use everyday.
  • Benefits- The benefit portal is easy to use by the employees and administration of the benefits on the back side is just as easy. It looks good, and flows very well. Very customization for our benefit structure.
  • Payroll - easy to use system that allows for a lot of flexibility when running your payroll. Integrations with the HRIS and Time side of things makes payroll run much faster and takes away some of the manual work from before.
  • HRIS- The homage is great for announcements and getting employee involvement on day to day activities of the organization. One stop place for employees to find what they are looking for.
  • Newer company some some features can be less user friendly or non-existent when compared to older HRIS systems.
Namely is always listening to feedback from customers, always rolling out new features, and improving the ones they currently have. Their support team is very committed and cares that your system is working the way you need it to.
Read Caleb Wood, SHRM-CP's full review
Titus Yao profile photo
April 04, 2018

Namely Review: "Best all-in-one system for small/mid-size companies"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
They took on our benefits brokerage services in the middle of a renewal season when we were struggling with an unreliable broker we've had for years. They came in and negotiated down rates for us, set up new plans, working with our insurance carriers and got us everything ready in time for open enrollment. Unbelievable effort - Namely hires outstanding talent and their benefits team works wonders!
  • Aside from having every tool an HR/Payroll department needs integrated and working together, the best part about Namely is their customer service. Each client has an individual client partner instead of an 800 number and a case ID. That's made all the difference - instead of going through prompts and re-describing the problem to a different CSR each time you call in, your partner knows you and your company and always responds quickly. Outstanding customer focus!
  • Nothing, they're exactly what we were looking for and more. If I were looking for a new system, I would implement Namely again.
Namely is best for small and mid sized companies.
Read Titus Yao's full review
Lisa Shapiro profile photo
December 07, 2017

Review: "Want an amazing Payroll, HRIS and Benefits platform? I name Namely!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our employees and 1099 contractors use Namely's HRIS platform. They can update their personal information such as address, see their compensation history and enroll in benefits. Managers and the Finance / Hr team members use Namely to run reports on the information we store in HRIS. I use the Payroll platform to run pay for US employees and 1099 contractors. Our HR Manager utilizes the HRIS, payroll and Benefits platforms. We are able to give our mangers the ability to run reports on on their direct reports which reduces the need for the finance/HR team to produce reports on request. The HRIS platform is user friendly and easy for our employees to navigate.
  • The HRIS platform is set up very well. It is easy to understand and our employees can figure out how to get the information they need, which cuts down on questions to the finance/HR team and reduces employee stress related to their pay and benefits.
  • The onboarding and benefits enrollment features are amazing! They are so easy to navigate and we can customize them with the forms we need for our specific employee groups. We are able to get new employee onboarded very quickly. No more paper forms!
  • Many items can be customized in payroll, including deduction codes, to what is needed without the need for a consultant to step in.
  • Custom fields can be added to the HRIS platform so that all types of info can be stored and reported on. Things like T-shirt size, license plate number and food allergies are helpful things to keep record on and the employee can edit the info as needed.
  • Workflows can be created in Namely so that Managers can request things like one-off bonuses for employees without using email. The request goes straight to the needed approver. This cuts down on back and forth and lost communication.
  • I would love to see Namely roll out e-signature for things like tax forms that employees can use on a recurring basis. Currently it is available for onboarding, so I know it's coming!
  • I would love to be able to tell the employees that they can view their payslips on the mobile app, this would be an awesome feature.
  • Increase the workflow usability so that is has more functions.
Namely is an amazing platform. My main recommendation for new and future users would be to utilize all that it has to offer! Put in the time to customize it and make it your own and you will not be sorry. Even if you only want to use if for basic functionality, it is still worth it. The ease and cleanliness of the platform saves me a lot of time when I make updates, run payroll and explain things to employees.
Read Lisa Shapiro's full review
Kimberly Cavanaugh, PHR profile photo
February 15, 2018

Namely Review: "Great Software for our Small Business"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Namely is being used by HR only at this time. I am hoping to have it used company-wide by the end of 2018. For HR its main use is workflows which have helped us stay on track for department changes and raises. Being a government contractor, employee's skills are interchangeable on projects and transactions move quickly and often. This helps us stay sane!
  • Personalization of the software
  • Excellent customer care
  • Mobility
  • HR startup that might be having some growing pains
  • However, I think they are doing an excellent job
It is less suited for payroll in my current company but I believe it would be well suited in the right circumstance. The workflows have been a life saving tool. Employee transactions move quickly here and Namely has made it easy to keep track. It is user-friendly and not much training was needed for me to pass it off to my direct report when needing to delegate.
Read Kimberly Cavanaugh, PHR's full review
Christine Noonan profile photo
January 09, 2018

User Review: "Namely - Customize-able and Awesome!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Namely is currently used as our HR system for all employees. Employees use Namely to view their historical pay data (including bonuses). Managers and executives use the personnel data in Namely to run reports. Before Namely, we weren't able to keep all of our employees (since the beginning of The Motley Fool) under one system. Now we can run reports and gather data since our company was founded. We also use Namely Payroll for two of our entities. The pay stubs are much easier to read than our old system and payroll itself is much easier to process.
  • Namely can be customized very easily. We are able to track any data point that we would like and report on it.
  • I love how as an admin, I'm able to log in as other employees and make sure they have access to the right data. I can also create reports for employees that they will always have access to and can run whenever they need to.
  • Namely also looks pretty. The site looks clean. It's easy to navigate. Employees enjoy logging in and utilizing Namely.
  • Currently, we are only able to enter three earnings codes in Namely payroll. We've discussed this with Namely and it is on their list of items to fix in the future.
  • We would like to be able to change a few of the hard coded items on the main page of Namely. For example, we would want to change "Anniversaries" to "Fooliversaries."
  • I'd love to see access to paystubs be part of the mobile app.
Namely is always a great option because Namely is so customizable. We've been able to customize the HR portal to capture the exact data we need (besides the standard fields) such as allergies, license plate information, and past employee information. We've customized pay stubs to better explain deductions. We've customized the benefits portal to have the exact language we need, for each benefit. We've customized the onboarding tool so that it just takes one click and a few pieces of information to start the onboarding process for employees in other states and other countries. Namely is perfect for the HR team that wants to play a more active role in their data management.
Read Christine Noonan's full review
Santiago Carrillo profile photo
April 13, 2018

User Review: "Namely is doing things right!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Namely as an HRIS, Payroll Company and Benefits Administrator. It is used across the company as all employees access it for their onboarding, HR information, performance reviews, PTO requests and so forth. Namely helps small to medium sized companies provide a great experience and journey to employees.
  • Ease-of-use thanks to well developed software
  • Digital onboarding that works
  • Performance reviews that work
  • Payroll and HRIS integration is a work in progress
I can't think of a scenario where Namely would not provide a useful set of tools to handle employee related processes.
Read Santiago Carrillo's full review
Jennifer Adams, SPHR, SHRM-SCP, CCP profile photo
April 04, 2018

Namely Review: "Great All-in-One HR Software"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Namely to complete all payroll, benefits administration, and workforce management analysis. It is primarily managed by the HR Team, but we have fully implemented it across the organization for employee and manager self-service. We have been able to increase our transparency via the communication tools and employees now have access to their own data.
  • Easy to use payroll process. You don't have to be a payroll expert to run a successful payroll.
  • One of the best benefits administration systems I've come across. Provides transparency of cost for the employee and the employer.
  • The news feed is great for sharing across the organization what is going on.
  • They need to enhance their time off system. It is very simplistic in nature. If you don't have a tier based time off rewards system you should be fine, otherwise you will run into challenges.
  • There is some dual keying between the HCM and Payroll products. There is a plan to integrate this, but for now it does open you up for errors.
Namely is a great solution for flexible organizations that are small to mid-sized. This is not a traditional HR system, so the team in charge would need to be comfortable with creativity and different ways to use the product.
Read Jennifer Adams, SPHR, SHRM-SCP, CCP's full review
Tiffany Bennett, Ph.D. profile photo
April 04, 2018

Namely Review: "All-in-one HRIS"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Namely is used across our entire organization - it helps consolidate all of our HR/payroll/benefits for employees.
  • Their interface is top notch - no disjointed modules.
  • They're constantly improving - we get a quarterly update on new features and they listen to feedback (and they're pretty good to start!)
  • Customer service is top notch - if we run into an issue - my problem is always solved in a timely manner.
  • The performance management module is great (and has lots of options for customization) - but the interface for setting it up could improve (still - very usable).
I think Namely is perfect for smaller businesses (under 100). I can't speak to larger organizations - but we've had so many fewer issues with payroll and benefits since switching to them (and we were with a large provider previously).
Read Tiffany Bennett, Ph.D.'s full review
No photo available
May 16, 2018

User Review: "Namely, not a bad HRIS"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Namely is being used as our HRIS. It is replacing paycheck records and keeping all our employee information in one place.
  • Easy to request PTO
  • Allows you to see your benefits and deductions in one place
  • Platform attempts to be a Facebook for work but fails. No one uses Namely, only if they need to request PTO.
  • It's not a must have, simply an HRIS system that does the basic things ADP does. But I was not really impressed, it seems like ADP, but they just changed the colors and added a homepage.
  • Does not have anything special or like "Wow." Does not have any extra capabilities or features then any other HRIS platform.
I like the overview of all your benefits in one place. Simple to see your deductions.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 12, 2018

Review: "Namely provides true partnership and our one true source of data"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Namely was implemented across our organization as a platform for our one true source of employee data, for payroll and benefits, and for performance management. Their open API capability has allowed us to integrate/pull data into other applications and systems within our organization's information technology ecosystem.
  • Performs as a true business partner, providing solutions rather than trying to upsell you
  • Open API capability has allowed us to integrate our other system solutions
  • User experience for both admin and employees is excellent
  • Regarding their Time Off functionality, we would like to keep/see time requested from the previous year while still tracking current year. Totally minor and really doesn't affect anything; just a nice-to-have. Really, we have no complaints about Namely.
  • Another nice-to-have is a printable function for org charts for the whole organization and by each department.
Namely has been a great partner for us overall. In our industry, we need our partners to be flexible and quick to respond; and Namely has been able to meet our needs.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 11, 2018

User Review: "Namely is great!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Namely is currently being used mainly within the human resources department and for onboarding employees, data integrity and maintaining all data in one place. The business problems that this tool addresses are having benefits, payroll, and data all in one application versus among different teams and software. We are able to make it easier on the payroll and benefits team to store all information for new employees for their use.
  • There are training resources available which makes it very easy to train employees and new hires on everything they need to know in order to use the tool.
  • The interface is very easy to use and smooth to work which makes it nice when needing to get something done quick.
  • Customer service is top notch, always have a dedicated resource for our organization which makes it easy to get questions answered in a timely manner.
  • E-signature feature on the onboarding side of things would make life a lot easier!
  • Not really anything else to complain about, really love the software and what they are doing with it!
Namely is a centralized software which proves very important in large organizations such as mine with offices around the globe. We have offices across the US as well as globally and so this tool is well suited for the organization in that it allows for a consistent workflow for every location whether within the country or international. We have also used this for performance reviews and it was excellent and very easy for managers to navigate through! Less appropriate might be within smaller organizations that might not need a centralized system or have separate teams who navigate each already.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 06, 2018

User Review: "Namely Please :)"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Namely for tracking time off requests, payroll and HR management. So far, Namely has been much more robust than the previous software we were using to manage similar things. Namely has actually allowed for us to combine two systems we were using into one central location. We were using ADP for payroll and Zenefits for time off recording. Now we have Namely for both!
  • Time off/Sick time recording.
  • Payroll seems to be smooth and solid.
  • Easy to use!
  • The data dump we did from Zenefits/ADP to Namely was mediocre.
  • Some of the data is hard to find, such as your tax information.
  • So far Namely has been a great addition to our stack of software and we don't have many complaints.
Namely does a great job for teams who need to have a visual budget of time off accrual. You can set accrual rates and budgets for individuals on your team. They can check how much time off they have available to use for sick time or vacation time. It's all in one place.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 01, 2018

Namely: "Review all features before purchasing"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Namely for both the HRIS feature and their Payroll feature. This is being implemented by our HR department and used across our entire organization. We use this as a one-stop shop resource for all employees. We also use this as our primary payroll system as well.
  • This is a great system. Straight forward and easy for the user to use. Also, as an administrator, its easy to implement onboarding session and send esignature documents before someone starts
  • PTO portal. This is super convenient. User can easily submit PTO request that then goes to their manager for review. Very easy to implement.
  • App. The Namely app is great. Whenever I'm on the go and need to get to something, I have it right at my finger tips. Very helpful as an HR professional or administrator.
  • Payroll. Possibly one of the most difficult payroll system I have used. The functionality of it is not intuitive and is hard to navigate. The system times out of fails a lot so there is a lot of time spent dealing with support when your trying to get payroll done in a timely manner.
  • Workflows. This is something we were excited about when we were sold the product, but in actuality, the feature does not function how its displayed. Its more of a burden to use workflows than just having an employee/manager email you with any requested changes.
It still has some work to do in regards to payroll.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 26, 2018

User Review: "Namely"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to manage everything HR-related (payroll, insurance, etc..) I never really use it unless I have a specific question or need regarding HR.
  • Allows you to access pay stubs
  • View benefits
  • See an org chart
  • There is no reason to log in often
  • Isn't interactive
  • Not sure of all capabilities
It is great for seeing information about my personal employment or my company.
Read this authenticated review
Colleen Clark profile photo
June 29, 2017

Review: "Line up your People Tech problems and Namely will mow them down."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Namely for both our for-profit and non-profit organizations. From the beginning, Namely erased most of our organizational "pain points". After just two years, we use Namely as our go-to people forum. We share news, goals, events. We pay our people. We have a window into our company strategy and operating plan because Namely makes it easy for us to share our vision, mission, values and strategies with our employees. Namely has become our single version of truth for employees.
  • Company, team and individual goals with measurable details can be shared, tracked, measured and celebrated - with ease.
  • Performance reviews, recognition, celebrating wins, remembering key employee events - Namely makes it so easy.
  • The news feed, photo org charts, customizable fields for things like allergies, commuting preferences, food preferences, etc., makes it easy for us to personalize events, treats and gifts.
  • CUSTOMER. SERVICE. Well-kept secret.
  • CEO is deeply committed to the small to mid-sized company experience. And he's an innovator.
  • Constantly improving and evolving the product features based on what we users suggest. Serious commitment to fixing what's wrong with tired providers like ADP.
  • Weird as it seems, their invoices are confusing. Head scratcher.
  • Wish we could get all of the product features we know are coming today.
Namely quickly becomes your go-to place for all communication. It's easy to use, easy to find, and easy to make a contribution. If you've been struggling with a dinosaur for payroll, benefits, and HRIS, you will LOVE Namely! It's simple, fresh, well-supported, progressive and communicative. If your employees would rather be moving your business forward than figuring out how to do the most mundane management tasks, Namely is for you.
Read Colleen Clark's full review
Cayleigh Doyle profile photo
September 28, 2017

Review: "Namely is an awesome HRIS and employee engagement platform"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Namely as our HRIS, Payroll, Performance Management, Time and Attendance and Benefits Administration across our entire USA company. We had no HRIS system and were unhappy with our benefits administration system at the time. Now with Namely, all of our people operations are in one system. It makes it easy as employers and it is easy for the employees to have access to the information they need. We chose Namely because we liked the easy to use look and feel, our onboarding process is much more automated and our benefits enrollment is now automated with our payroll and employees will be accountable for making changes or selecting new coverage.
  • Customer Service
  • Continuous improvement and development into the software
  • Easy to use on both employer and employee side
  • Customization - with profile fields, workflows, etc.
  • Onboarding - kick of tasks lists to different employees when a new hire is added
  • Integration with background check vendors
  • Integration with applicant tracking system
Namely is a great tool. We like that it fits our culture as a company!
Read Cayleigh Doyle's full review
Asher Primrose profile photo
July 18, 2017

Namely Review: "Excellent HRIS and Performance Management Tools for small to mid-sized companies"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It's] Used as our HRIS and performance management system across the organization.
  • Easy to set up
  • Intuitive navigation
  • User-friendly
  • Highly configurable
  • I'd like to see reported issues addressed more quickly.
I think Namely is well suited for companies that [have] 10-500 [employees].
Read Asher Primrose's full review
Asha Mungara, JD, PHR profile photo
April 28, 2017

Namely: "Robust Integrated Platform!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
All employees use Namely to access their paystubs and tax information, benefits enrollment and information, find company news and announcements, update their personal information, request PTO, etc. Managers use Namely to request raises, change departments, titles, etc., as well as find HR forms and track, approve and deny PTO requests for their team, etc.
  • PTO Tracking - the app and website make it simple for employees to request PTO and for managers to approve and track their team's vacation time.
  • Reporting - every field in Namely is reportable - which is great. We're able to track which techs have certification, for example.
  • Newsfeed - when you're close to 400 people across ten locations - it's great to have a "virtual" headquarters for all your employees to share and view information.
  • Onboarding - I wish that they would incorporate offer letters and that task lists were kicked off automatically after an employee was onboarded. I also wish background checks were fully integrated within Namely.
  • Benefits view - currently employees can view their benefits in a separate section within Namely - but it would be nice if it was in their profile. I also wish the app would autopopulate their member ID numbers and group numbers so they would always have the information on the phone.
Quite bluntly, there isn't a more robust solution out there for the price for mid-size businesses. There are some good solutions for companies that don't need a custom HRIS but Namely is really built for companies that will scale up.
Read Asha Mungara, JD, PHR's full review
Matthew P Rausch profile photo
March 14, 2017

Namely Review: "Great price, great support team."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Namely is being used across the entire organization for PTO management, performance reviews, "shout outs", light organizational development, viewing paystubs and W-2s (we use Namely payroll as well), headcount and salary reporting, the onboarding add-on, benefits portal, and API integrations to internal reporting categorized by billable/non-billable and salaried/nonexempt folks on our teams.
  • The onboarding piece is probably the strongest. Our new hires are able to enter their HRIS framework profile data, as well as read and sign electronically for our handbook, COBRA statement, NDA, and security/privacy policies.
  • Easy to look at...we've used some products in the past that didn't have a good user experience, which leads to non-usage for my technically proficient team.
  • The shout-outs on the main page are great, as folks can clearly see anniversaries and birthdays and comment accordingly.
  • The integration from Namely HR to Namely Payroll is lacking. There is no PTO nor salary update feeds between the products.
  • The reviews aren't intuitive for usage for peers and managers. It would be easier if there were clear links for these employees to click as opposed to looking for the appropriate screen to provide feedback.
  • The API isn't the easiest to use, and there are some components lacking that require development.
Namely is an affordable HRIS and payroll system (we use both). The integrations may be lacking, but to have two different brands for these products would add only more difficulties into the mix. Folks can clearly see their paystub links on the main page, which then takes them to a different screen for paystub and W-2 viewing. The 1095 and 1094 programs are very helpful to use (not cheap, though), and the support team guides you through them at all hours of the day or night to make sure they are timely. I really appreciate that. The onboarding feature is our favorite right now, as it eliminates 30-40 pages of paper for each person we bring on board meltmedia.
Read Matthew P Rausch's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Employee demographic data (40)
9.1
Employment history (43)
9.0
Job profiles and administration (2)
10.0
Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc. (42)
8.5
Organizational charting (42)
8.0
Organization and location management (43)
8.6
Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.) (22)
8.3
Pay calculation (34)
9.2
Support for external payroll vendors (15)
8.4
Benefit plan administration (31)
8.6
Direct deposit files (34)
8.8
Salary revision and increment management (32)
8.4
Reimbursement management (15)
8.3
Approval workflow (38)
8.9
Balance details (34)
8.6
Annual carry-forward and encashment (29)
7.9
View and generate pay and benefit information (39)
9.0
Update personal information (42)
8.9
View company policy documentation (37)
9.0
Employee recognition (34)
8.6
View job history (40)
9.1
Tracking of all physical assets (19)
8.7
Report builder (35)
8.3
Pre-built reports (34)
7.5
Ability to combine HR data with external data (21)
8.3
New hire portal (32)
8.7
Manager tracking tools (27)
7.8
Corporate goal setting (30)
7.6
Individual goal setting (31)
6.8
Line-of sight-visibility (21)
7.2
Performance tracking (30)
6.9
Performance plans (32)
7.3
Performance improvement plans (22)
7.4
Review status tracking (34)
7.4
Review reminders (34)
7.1
Multiple review frequency (29)
7.5
Candidate search (5)
6.9

About Namely

Namely is an HR, Payroll, and Benefits platform. It is designed around end-user usability, and can be configured to fit the company culture. Namely allows users to manage all their HR data in one place, with personalized service to help quickly improve HR management. Namely is used by companies in media, technology, and commerce, as well as other industries.

Namely Features

Human Resource Management Features
Has featureEmployee demographic data
Has featureEmployment history
Does not have featureJob profiles and administration
Has featureWorkflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc.
Has featureBenefits information
Has featureOrganizational charting
Has featureOrganization and location management
Has featureCompliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.)
Payroll Management Features
Has featurePay calculation
Has featureSupport for external payroll vendors
Has featureOff-cycle checks
Has featurePayroll history for each employee
Has featureBenefit plan administration
Has featureDirect deposit files
Has featurePayroll tracking and auditing
Has featureSalary revision and increment management
Has featureReimbursement management
Has featureStatutory form management
Leave and Attendance Management Features
Has featureApproval workflow
Has featureEmail notifications
Has featureBalance details
Has featureTravel absence management
Has featureAnnual carry-forward and encashment
Employee Self Service Features
Has featureEmployee login
Has featureView and generate pay and benefit information
Has featureUpdate personal information
Has featureRequest time off
Has featureView job history
Has featureView company policy documentation
Has featureView company news and information
Has featureEmployee recognition
Asset Management Features
Has featureTracking of all physical assets
Has featureAsset issue and transfer management
Has featureAsset return
Has featureWarranty and after-sales status maintenance contract tracking
HR Reporting Features
Has featureReport builder
Has featurePre-built reports
Has featureAbility to combine HR data with external data
Integration with other HR capabilities Features
Has featureAdditional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by same vendor
Has featureAdditional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by different vendor
Performance Management Features
Has featurePerformance plans
Has featurePerformance improvement plans
Has featureReview status tracking
Has featureReview reminders
Has featureMultiple review frequency
Succession Planning Features
Does not have featureCreate succession plans/pools
Does not have featureCandidate ranking
Has featureCandidate search
Does not have featureCandidate development
Onboarding Features
Has featureNew hire portal
Has featureManager tracking tools
Performance and Goals Features
Has featureCorporate goal setting
Has featureIndividual goal setting
Has featureLine-of sight-visibility
Has featurePerformance tracking
Recruiting / ATS Features
Does not have featureJob Requisition Management
Does not have featureCompany Website Posting
Does not have featurePublish to Social Media
Does not have featureJob Search Site Posting
Does not have featureDuplicate Candidate Prevention
Does not have featureApplicant Tracking
Does not have featureNotifications and Alerts

Namely Screenshots

Namely Integrations

Namely Competitors

Namely Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Namely Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Countries:All
Supported Languages: English