Namely Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
161 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 6.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE Badge

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 101)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
February 04, 2021
Becky Fleming Strittmatter, CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Accounting/Finance and HR departments use Namely, primarily. All employees have access to update their bank and contact information; however, three of us across Finance and HR have administrative access to process payroll, review/manage PTO, and run reports.
  • Manage employee information
  • Timely reports available after payroll is processed
  • User friendly platform for all employees
  • Speed of tech support response
  • Accuracy of reports
  • Ability to update all custom report fields on the user's end
Namely is good for small organizations like ours. They need to really focus on their reporting side to be able to manage larger businesses appropriately
This has been helpful for HR and Accounting/Finance to sync
Super user friendly
Read Becky Fleming Strittmatter, CPA's full review
February 03, 2021
Stacie Balletto | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Namely is our Payroll and HRIS system. The entire company uses some piece of the tool, from entering PTO, pulling payroll stubs, selecting benefits, etc. Payroll is processed within Namely, including hourly individual who enter their time directly into the namely portal. I will say the hourly portion is clunky and not user friendly. Namely also handles most (but not all) taxes related to payroll. This is actually a very frustrating problem. I would rather they handle all (or none). It is irritating that we have to find out which ones they pay and which ones we have to pay. Every time I had a state to my payroll I have to wonder, do they pay these on our behalf or does the company have to do the legwork. We have also run into issues related to our benefits portal as well. The voluntary life signup has been a hassle and always causes reconciliation issues.
  • Payroll
  • Time off (PTO, sick, voluntary time)
  • Support
  • Taxes
  • Benefits (specifically voluntary life insurance)
Namely is good as a starter tool. I believe as a company grows and needs to be more hands off on the payroll it is better to have a bigger more robust tool.
I will admit, having everything in one tool is something to regard highly. Namely is able to deliver everything but not well. The reports are customizable but not perfect. The PTO report is horrible and extremely hard to find. They also don't have reports that consider historical wages. The analytics side of the tool works pretty well. As for the goals and reviews it is clunky and difficult to follow and report on.
Payroll is pretty user friendly and so is running payroll reports. The benefits enrollment is pretty clear and easy to understand. The details behind the benefits and what it will cost per payroll is structured so that it is clear to each user. They used to have a great support system but they recently switched to a ticketing system and it is not as user friendly.
Read Stacie Balletto's full review
March 28, 2021
Haleigh Catalano | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Namely is used across our organization for a variety of needs: it houses important documents for our employees regarding benefits, leaves of absence, vacation policies, and our employee handbook. Employees also frequently use Namely to request time off, change their addresses and names, input and track KPIs, download paystubs, and tax documents.
  • Allows for customization across the board—for example, as an administrator with employees in multiple states, we can create PTO policies that match the labor laws for each employee depending on what state they live in.
  • Namely’s customer service is phenomenal; they have a large, dedicated team of representatives that work tirelessly to help resolve issues.
  • Cuts out the need to reach out to the HR team for things like name and address changes, and once an employee changes their address in Namely, HR is notified and can immediately pull that information.
  • Does not have the level of KPI management that we would like.
  • Have had issues with assigning tasks.
  • Want more out of their news feed social media-esque feature.
I feel Namely is well-suited for smaller companies. I cannot speak to companies with a larger headcount, but it has really been integral to upgrading our HRIS system, and the fact that it has integration capabilities with many of the other vendors we currently work with makes for an easy, consistent process across the board.
Having everything streamlined has been key for a seamless workday!
Very good!
Read Haleigh Catalano's full review
February 06, 2021
Christopher Scott | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Namely across the entire organization. It makes onboarding new employees a breeze, assists in staff communication, and includes apps for the staff to perform timekeeping as well as request PTO.
  • Employee onboarding
  • Staff Paid Time Off
  • Employee communication
  • The app could include task management functions
  • The app could include performance review ability
Namely is a great all-around platform that includes HRIS, Timekeeping, and Payroll
Most of the processes that we had prior to Namely were either in platforms that didn't talk to each other or paper processes.
I would highly recommend Namely.
Read Christopher Scott's full review
December 23, 2020
Lori Osborne, PHR (she/her) | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used by the HR dept mostly, however, the entire organization uses it for various requests, benefits, and recognition programs.
  • Benefits administration
  • Customer service
  • Compliance
  • Record keeping
  • Payroll
  • Leave of absence tracking.
I love that Namely is easy to use and very efficient. If we ever run into an issue, their customer support is fantastic. Also, when I've made recommendations for platform improvement, they end up somewhere on the roadmap.
Absolutely! Having everything in one place and already part of the system (versus add ons) is critical and Namely has done just that.
Namely is a clear winner. The platform is user friendly and intuitive. The capability it provides is unmatched.
Read Lori Osborne, PHR (she/her)'s full review
April 07, 2021
Aurora Woolsey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across the whole organization. We use it for payroll and company updates. We also use it in our work culture to support other employees.
  • Easy to use.
  • Regular updates.
  • Well managed.
  • Lag
  • Communication issues
  • Constant need for updates
It promotes workplace culture. It is almost like a professional facebook.
I have benefitted by easily being able to connect to other employees and receive praise from bosses as well as coworkers.
It's very easy and understandable.
Read Aurora Woolsey's full review
March 29, 2021
Sana Sardar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Namely as one window for all HR solutions company-wide.
  • Responsive support team.
  • Provide HRIS, Payroll, PTOs, compliance and Benefits solutions.
  • User friendly system.
  • Nothing that I could name as of now.
Till mid of last year, their support team was laid back, but now they have improved the whole process and response. It could also be a bit expensive for small enterprises, but overall if we compare it with other HR platforms in the market, then Namely provides a comprehensive and hassle-free system.
It was extremely beneficial.
Because it's a user friendly system with all HR functions together.
Improved immensely.
Read Sana Sardar's full review
May 26, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Namely is being used across our organization as our HRIS. It automates many manual processes like time-off tracking and performance reviews. Namely solves the internal communication issue while reducing email volume. It also provides a vehicle for employees to connect socially since we have a distributed workforce. It makes information and resources more accessible to employees when they need it. It eliminates the paper from all of our processes in HR which contributes to our sustainability goals. The reporting and analytics functions allow us to provide data easily to our management team.
  • The social feed helps employees feel connected to what's happening in the company.
  • Analytics tool is great for getting management buy-in and making decisions.
  • Onboarding is extremely easy for both admins and new hires.
  • Goal tracking tool is easy to use and helpful for employees to see their progress.
  • Time off tracking tool needs to be more customizable to accommodate varying types of PTO policies. Employees need to be able to easily see what time off they have available.
  • Performance reviews need to be more streamlined and user friendly for managers. They should be able to see employee responses while they complete reviews. A side-by-side view would be helpful or integrating the responses by question in one view would work as well. It's just very clunky right now for managers. Would also be great to have a place in Namely where managers can keep performance notes (outside of a scheduled review) on employees to reference during reviews and 1:1's.
  • Increased foldering capabilities in the Resources section to have folders within folders for better organization of resources.
  • Decrease lag time for benefits updates with providers.
  • Updates made in HR profiles should flow over to Teams page, like title and reporting line changes.
  • Ability to search the feed would be great.
  • Analytics on site usage, i.e., pages visited, resources accessed. This data would help show management the usage and engagement of employees as well as ROI.
  • More posting capabilities in the feed would be good. Allow posting of videos, audio files, gifs as well as increased text formatting capabilities.
Namely is best suited for companies with simple policies and processes that don't require a lot of customization. Namely is great for companies that have a very social culture and want to foster a sense of community.
It is much easier to have one platform for employees to use for various HR tasks. It is less of a burden for admins and employees to manage and use one platform versus multiple platforms. Our President is not a fan of having too many systems/platforms in place. Doesn't want to burden employees with having to remember multiple logins and which system does what so it was a huge plus for Namely that they covered so many HR needs in one platform.
It is very user friendly and intuitive for both employees and admins.
Read this authenticated review
May 12, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses Namely to run most of our HR functions including payroll, performance, PTO, etc. We also use it for appreciation and internal social networking. We have about 50 users. For our small business, it is an "all-in-one" HR solution. I personally use it to manage my small team, including quarterly goal setting and tracking, etc.
  • Payroll seems to work pretty flawlessly.
  • The social networking function is solid and easy to use.
  • The user experience, particularly for PTO and performance management could use a lot of improvement. It is just fundamentally awkward, easy to get lost, etc.
I think Namely is generally a solid solution for small companies. I am not sure how well it scales—some of the UI/navigation problems I have noticed are likely to be even more problematic at a larger organization. It works very well to manage payroll and basic employee details. The social networking component is also well done. The most problematic is performance/goal tracking. They have the right idea, it is just clunky, and we've started tracking this outside of Namely because it is just easier that way.
Yes, of course. It solves a number of problems very well and provides a great base for small business HR functions.
I've commented on this in some of my earlier responses. The UX overall is solid, with a few very rough or awkward areas. Overall, navigation can be a real challenge sometimes. The PTO management (for your employees) is sometimes awkward. The biggest problem is around goals tracking, quarterly/annual reviews, etc. It is often very hard to "get to" the view or screen you are looking for (not obvious from the UI). Once you get it down, it works but for things you don't do frequently (quarterly reviews), you forget and have to figure it out again each time. That part is frustrating.

Other areas, like the social networking are very well done and intuitive.
Read this authenticated review
February 04, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using [Namely] for Human Resources, payroll, and timekeeping. All salary and hourly employees use it for viewing pay stubs and to complete their benefits open enrollment and viewing and updating personal or benefits information. All hourly employees use the time portal along with managers who approve hourly time.
  • Easy interface for employees
  • It looks nice from the employee perspective
  • People like the birthdays and anniversaries
  • Not being able to make a correction to deduction without voiding out a check and reissuing it. Crazy.
  • Reporting in the system is painful.
  • Time Keeping is limited and hard to make set up changes without Namely support
Namely Human Resources module works well. It looks nice and employee experience is easy. however, people who use the system every day such as payroll and HR team members, it can be painful. The payroll portal is not great. It is hard to correct errors. You can't import updates to information on this side of the system. You have to depend on Namely to make updates for you. The system is not super configurable. Custom fields and calculations are worthless. If and employee cancels medical and payroll has already run, in order to correct it and return funds, you cannot just put a negative medical amount on the next pay period. Namely has to void the check. then you have to enter a misc deduction for amount of the original check. then, you have to cut a new check. then you have to remove the misc deduction. It is a complete pain.
We are not using them. It is not robust enough
Namely would work for smaller companies, but beyond about the 100 employee mark, the workarounds and manual processes needed to get the necessary functionality get painful.
Read this authenticated review
February 04, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Namely was an HR Information System solution investment. It made onboarding employees more automated and efficient, but payroll now takes about 5 times longer, is more manual, and requires duplicating data across 3 areas in the platform to update information. Our payroll system before was a tiny fraction of the cost and much more efficient and effective. We [regret] this investment by our organization. Customer service hold time is frequently 1 -3 hours and often does not resolve issue in one call, as representatives are not familiar with nonprofit industry issues.
  • Selling a sub-par product at a premium price (payroll is terrible, but the "extras" are well developed in some other areas such as onboarding and workflows).
  • Aesthetics of web site.
  • Onboarding employees.
  • Customer Service- they have tried to improve this area, but it is still very deficient.
  • Payroll functionality- ability to report General Ledger by departments/locations using job codes.
  • Nickel and dime charges for things included with other payroll services.
Namely does a great job in onboarding and workflows, but payroll and customer service (basics) are very deficient.
We decided to use other systems - 360 reviews and 15Five - even though it was an added investment because Namely's performance management was not adequate.
Too much information has to be duplicated and entered in multiple places across the platform.
Read this authenticated review
February 02, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Namely is being used at our company to manage onboarding, payroll, time off and reviews.
  • Payroll is done very well, especially by Christin Taylor. She is the best.
  • Review tracking is easy and efficient.
  • Calendar is great.
  • Definitely in benefits. I decided not to use Namely benefits with how poor communication was.
  • Namely Time is not user friendly, also don't like how it's separate from HRIS.
  • Project Services is poor in communication. I have to ask for updates from them.
It's great in the areas I described (payroll reviews, employee relations. Not so much in benefits and Namely Time. There are many glitches.
It has helped greatly with organizing our company. Definitely better than what we were using before.
Read this authenticated review
March 28, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Namely is currently being used at World Remit across the UK organisation, there are approximately over 1000 users in our UK entity that use namely as their HR function. We use it to store employee information such as personal details, job information, salaries, holidays etc.
  • Bring employees together (socially).
  • User friendly
  • Can store large amount of data.
  • Rehire ex emp on same record
Namely is very user-friendly and brilliant for Payroll/HR functions. Gives employee freedom to book time off, change personal details and easy for managers to approve/decline.
You can go to one system to gain all information, HR and payroll can work efficiently and use the same reports.
Brilliant system to use.
Read this authenticated review
March 27, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Namely is used company-wide as our HRIS system to manage employee benefits, payroll, personal data, and professional data. The organization also uses it as an engagement tool to allow employees to interact with each other and the greater business.
  • One Stop Shop - Employees are able to access personal/professional info, benefit info, and payroll info all in one place.
  • Ease of Use - Both administrators and employees are able to easily navigate the Namely system to complete tasks. A welcome change from other HRIS systems we have used as an organization in the past.
  • Continuous Improvement - Namely is committed to continuous improving their product and regularly sources feedback directly from clients to inform these improvements.
  • Reporting - Reporting capability has room for growth in terms of being able to build truly customized reports or point-in-time reporting, but they are making this a focus during 2021.
  • Performance Management - The goals and performance management cycle is clunky.
  • EDI Feeds - The file feeds for benefit connections needs work. The timeline to set up a new feed can sometimes take upwards of 6+ months.
Namely is a great HRIS solution for small to mid-sized companies who are in growth mode. Overall the system functionality meets all of our needs in the areas of HRIS, payroll, and benefits. One of the best features of Namely is the ease of use and opportunity for employee engagement. Since implementing Namely over 4 years ago, we have seen incredible levels of engagement within the Namely "newsfeed" and it has become central to our culture.
There is a huge benefit to centralizing HR processes in the outcome of saved time and money, as well as improved accuracy. Having everything in one centralized system removes the need to create data connections between other systems (or even worse manually data enter information from one system to another).
Overall extremely user friendly from the admin and employee side.
Read this authenticated review
March 24, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Namely across the entire organization for HRIS, payroll, and performance reviews. Our relationship with Namely started in 2017 and we have encountered many challenges since we switched from our previous provider. We have gone through about 10 client success/pod managers in 3.5 years. The biggest problem I have is with the system capabilities and customer support.
  • The interface looks attractive.
  • The mobile app is very user-friendly.
  • Payroll previews are available in real-time.
  • Namely's customer service is the worst I've experienced. The representatives are not on the same page, and they frequently provide different answers, depending on who you speak with.
  • You can not run a report with data for active or terminated employees as of a certain date. You have to manually adjust a lot of their reports to get what you need.
  • The system can not accommodate our 401k matching scale, so everything is manual.
Namely could be used for a very small company or a company that does not operate in many jurisdictions. A bigger or more complex company would be better off using a more experienced company for payroll. Namely has learned from some of their earlier mistakes, but it has been a frustrating journey. We have had errors on our W-2's, taxes, payroll being processed and being pushed back without our notice, and other costly errors. The time and manpower required to correct these errors was not something we considered when switching to this system.
The centralized platform is helpful in making sure employees can enter their own data and the information flows to payroll. We have not had problems with this, however, it would be nice if employees could also change their 401k contributions in the system. There are still certain tasks that have to be completed by an administrator.
The product is easy to use for employees but harder for administrators who need to pull data from reports and process payroll.
Read this authenticated review
February 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Namely as our main HRIS, payroll, and time management system. The whole organization uses it.
  • HRIS feed (birthdays, anniversaries, personal info management)
  • Some support reps are very kind and helpful
  • Help community is pretty robust, as are articles
  • Not very robust payroll system
  • Three systems (HRIS, time, and payroll) don't always communicate well or work smoothly
  • Many glitches in performance module of HRIS
Namely is well suited as an HRIS system. I would not recommend it for payroll or timekeeping.
My main issue is that is it not super centralized (payroll, time, and HRIS are separate systems that talk to each other). This makes it confusing when pulling reports and calling/submitting cases to the correct department.
Middle of the road. Great in some areas, not great in others.
Read this authenticated review
March 30, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Namely has been used as a tool of employee management. It has been used by our HR and finance departments. HR info was saved in Namely. All the changes related to HR are addressed by Namely.
  • Sending out notifications to related parties for all the changes in Namely
  • Timely--the notifications are sent out to the related parties quickly once HR completes the changes
  • Avoids human errors when sending notifications via email notifications
  • User friendly; less training needed
  • Sometimes the system could be very slow
  • Could add some reports, like monthly changes report to facility users
I would recommend that colleagues check info from Namely. The system is user friendly. It is efficient to use.
Namely maintains all the HR info. I can check all the info needed myself, which reduces communication time. We did not use namely for performance management.
Satisfied with the experiences.
Read this authenticated review
November 06, 2020
Kai Briones-Lee | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Namely is used across our whole organization as our HRIS, time management, and payroll system. We are a small nonprofit organization, and Namely meets our need for an efficient system for all our HR needs.
  • Customer Support.
  • With the new Namely service pod models, issues are handled quickly and a timely manner. Communications with our organization's service pod team is very easy.
  • Ease of Use for End Users.
  • From experience with other HRIS systems, many employees I worked with have a hard time navigating the system. With Namely's user-friendly interface, our employees adapted to the system quickly. Our employees usually don't have questions or concerns about the use of the system.
  • Easy Payroll Processing.
  • This was my first job where I am responsible for payroll processing. I received all the support I needed when setting up our payroll system two years ago. Currently, the payroll system is so easy to use that payroll processing is a breeze for us.
  • Unique Sick Time Calculations.
  • For our company, we calculate sick time by providing one hour of sick time for every 30 hours worked. Namely was not able to automate this sick time calculation, so every payroll processing, I have to manually calculate and update sick time in the system. We're lucky that we are a very small organization, but I can see this being very cumbersome for a bigger organization.
  • Sick Time Tracking between Namely and Namely Time.
  • When our employees request sick time, the request doesn't automatically connect with Namely Time. Every payroll processing I have to make sure that all sick time requests are manually transferred to Namely Time.
  • Namely eSignature.
  • We have problems with connecting our Adobe Sign account with Namely eSignature. Because Adobe Sign is not working, we are unable to update and add new documents for our employees to sign.
From my experience with Namely, it works very well with small organizations. The system support is very good. We have a very simple HRIS, time, and payroll needs, and Namely has provided us great service that suits all our needs well.
We use three Namely functions. They are the HRIS, time and payroll. Since our organization is very small, these three functions satisfy all our needs. Because the HR process is centralized, we can easily access data we need and process inquiries fast.
Read Kai Briones-Lee's full review
November 18, 2020
Sana Khan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Namely is being used as the main portal for our employees which includes payroll, benefits administration, record keeping of personal time off.
  • Customer support
  • Reporting
  • User Friendliness
  • New enrollments
  • Notifying brokers about changes in benefits/401K
  • Notification emails for employees changing their benefits or profiles
Namely is cost-effective for smaller companies consisting of 1-50 employees. It also has a user-friendly interface and they have been improving the functionality a lot in the past year.
Namely is still very manual when it comes to updating benefits and communicating to vendors about changes or new enrollments.
Our company has not been able to benefit from Namely's performance management or planning functions yet but we look forward to doing it in the future.
We have a small operations team with only 1 super user that manages Namely day to day.
Read Sana Khan's full review
November 11, 2020
Chantal Berube, PHR | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Namely as our all-in-one HR platform across the entire organization since August 2018. This includes HRIS, payroll, timekeeping, and benefits brokerage. At the time of selection, this platform was not the cheapest (compared with PayChex and Gusto) option, but offered the most features that we were looking for. Though there was a period of a few months were I was completely dissatisfied with the service received from Namely (during most of 2019), they appear to have restructured and made this a focus point starting in 2020 and continuing. Access to articles in the help community is quite useful and submitting a case for additional assistance is simple. A major enhancement I've seen over the past year with Namely is the timeliness and quality of response to cases. I wish that the payroll and reporting features were a bit more robust (I was accustomed to using ADP prior to working for my current company). I plan to continue using Namely and look forward to the continued added features.
  • Response time to service cases
  • Friendly service
  • Broad range of features offered
  • Level of knowledge and expertise from service reps
  • Payroll integration with GL mapping
  • Custom and preset data reporting
Namely is best suited for smaller companies that may be migrating to an all-in-one system for the first time. I don't see Namely being the best option for large companies
Centralizing my HR platform with Namely has been extremely beneficial. Not having to enter information several times in multiple systems has been key for my position as a one-person department.
Read Chantal Berube, PHR's full review
November 11, 2020
Gina Meier | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use across the organization. We use Namely for payroll and HRIS. For us, Namely addresses the problem of having one source to house all employee information, whether they are US-based or not.
  • Ease of use for team members.
  • Payroll process is fairly simple.
  • Vacation balances: Currently Namely does not breakdown employee salaries to an hourly rate that can be used to calculate the dollar value of vacation balances. I am unable to run a report in Namely that shows me, by person, how much vacation they have earned YTD, how much used YTD, and the current remaining balance in hours and dollars.
  • More gender choices.
  • More diversity tracking choices.
  • Uploading forms can be difficult sometimes.
Namely is a great tool for any organization.
Having one place for almost all HR needs is invaluable.
Read Gina Meier's full review
November 10, 2020
Tim Samuel, CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Namely is being used for HRIS, payroll and performance evaluation needs. It has consolidated the use of many different applications into one helpful powerful staff tool.
  • Single Sign On. Users don't need to remember a new password. They use their google login.
  • Simple tools for performance reviews.
  • User Interface is top notch.
  • Payroll and HRIS don't always talk to each other.
  • Customer Support is a 1800 and ticketing system.
  • Timesheets on mobile phones required an upgrade to plan.
Namely is well suited for an organization that spends significant time on HR, Payroll and Performance reviews. If you spend more than 4 hours with these tasks, Namely can help consolidate the amount of time spent on the tasks. This tool may not be the best for you if you have an employee who is content using what they are already doing.
Read Tim Samuel, CPA's full review
November 10, 2020
Patricia McNeill | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently are using Namely as our HRIS and Payroll platform. It is being used across the whole business. Namely is not a platform I would recommend to my network of HR professionals.
  • Pushing the Help Community to clients regularly.
  • Better client servicing.
  • Meeting the needs of the business by way of addressing concerns.
  • We would like to see tickets answered within a 24 to 48 hour time frame.
  • Service reps who have the answer and know how to address issues and concerns.
It is very difficult to say where I believe Namely is well suited. I for one do not think Namely should process payroll. I think the primary function should focus on the HRIS side.
As the client we are asked to do MUCH of the heavy lifting with very little guidance from the support team assigned.
Read Patricia McNeill's full review
September 11, 2020
Caley Dawkins | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Namely across our entire organization - for payroll, for performance, for paid time off, and more. We especially love how helpful it has been during this new normal that we are going through with COVID-19; Namely allows us to have access to pertinent employee information while in "Work from Home" status, and also allows us to get documents eSigned by employees through the eSignature portion of the platform. Additionally, Namely has cut down on a lot of time in processing payroll. The additional time has allowed us to put a new focus on onboarding with social distancing in mind.
  • payroll - super easy and so fast!
  • on-boarding - paperless, files instantly, goes through benefits, cuts down on completion time on the first day
  • time off tracking - easy time off requests, flexible, editable, easy to see what is remaining, used, requested, etc.
  • Partners (CEO's) with guaranteed pay don't receive a pay stub and that is really a hassle.
  • Implementation needed a better roadmap and timeline, but we made it through with little to no trouble.
Namely has been very well suited for us during the COVID-19 pandemic. We began working from home just prior to our full launch with Namely, which was after all pertinent employee information had been uploaded into the platform. This made the transition seamless from an HR standpoint on what information I needed on hand for our employees while at home. We've now been working from home for six months. During the course of that time, I've needed several documents signed by employees, however we have not met in person and/or did not really want to be touching the same documents due to the coronavirus. Namely's eSignature option through DocuSign has been a huge help for us in this situation.
The support given is good, however I would prefer to actually speak to someone on the phone rather than to submit a case.
This platform is SUPER user friendly! I cannot stress that enough! It's easy to navigate and doesn't easily confuse employees which has been great when getting them transitioned into this new platform.
Read Caley Dawkins's full review
July 28, 2020
Angie Turner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Namely HRIS, Payroll, Benefits & Time across our whole organization. Namely has helped us tremendously keeping track of our COVID sick pay and have helped put our mind at ease with their knowledge of the CARES Act and their implementation to the program.
  • Signed documents are stored directly in the app.
  • Employees love how easy it is to submit PTO.
  • We have just finished setting up all our EDI benefits files and I love that it takes a lot of extra work off me.
  • Processing payroll is a breeze.
  • The biggest con I hear from employees is that their payroll check does not show pending the day before.
  • When a Workflow has been declined by any chain, the target's manager (the person who created the workflow) is not notified. This is a big problem for us.
  • Their ACA support is not the best. You call in and talk to someone about your issue and then they talk to Namely's ACA specialist and then they relay the answer to you. You do not get to talk directly to the ACA specialist so if you go back and forth with questions (like I did), it takes forever to get a problem solved.
Overall Namely does a great job and we feel that we definitely made the right choice.
Bryan at Namely Time is awesome to work with. I knew when I called him, most of the time, he knew the answer but if he didn't, he would figure it out and call me right back.
ACA support people just lack the knowledge.
Star at Namely Benefits is also great to work with.
Read Angie Turner's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Employee demographic data (91)
7.5
Employment history (98)
6.6
Job profiles and administration (2)
10.0
Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc. (95)
6.8
Organizational charting (95)
6.1
Organization and location management (92)
6.6
Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.) (57)
6.9
Pay calculation (84)
6.8
Support for external payroll vendors (39)
4.8
Off-cycle/On-Demand payment (35)
6.8
Benefit plan administration (82)
6.6
Direct deposit files (87)
7.7
Salary revision and increment management (76)
7.4
Reimbursement management (44)
6.7
Approval workflow (89)
7.0
Balance details (86)
6.3
Annual carry-forward and encashment (74)
6.5
View and generate pay and benefit information (95)
7.9
Update personal information (99)
7.9
View company policy documentation (89)
7.7
Employee recognition (83)
7.4
View job history (94)
7.2
Tracking of all physical assets (46)
7.6
Report builder (83)
6.2
Pre-built reports (80)
5.8
Ability to combine HR data with external data (54)
4.9
New hire portal (74)
7.2
Manager tracking tools (60)
6.8
Corporate goal setting (67)
6.2
Individual goal setting (71)
6.5
Line-of sight-visibility (53)
6.0
Performance tracking (70)
6.4
Performance plans (71)
6.7
Performance improvement plans (50)
6.5
Review status tracking (75)
6.6
Review reminders (75)
7.2
Multiple review frequency (66)
7.0
Candidate search (14)
5.8

What is Namely?

Namely is an HR, Payroll, and Benefits platform. It is designed around end-user usability, and can be configured to fit the company culture. Namely allows users to manage all their HR data in one place, with personalized service to help quickly improve HR management. Namely is used by companies in media, technology, and commerce, as well as other industries.

Namely Features

Human Resource Management Features

Has featureEmployee demographic data
Has featureEmployment history
Has featureWorkflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc.
Has featureBenefits information
Has featureOrganizational charting
Has featureOrganization and location management
Has featureCompliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.)

Payroll Management Features

Has featurePay calculation
Has featureSupport for external payroll vendors
Has featureOff-cycle/On-Demand payment
Has featurePayroll history for each employee
Has featureBenefit plan administration
Has featureDirect deposit files
Has featurePayroll tracking and auditing
Has featureSalary revision and increment management
Has featureReimbursement management
Has featureStatutory form management

Leave and Attendance Management Features

Has featureApproval workflow
Has featureEmail notifications
Has featureBalance details
Has featureTravel absence management
Has featureAnnual carry-forward and encashment

Employee Self Service Features

Has featureEmployee login
Has featureView and generate pay and benefit information
Has featureUpdate personal information
Has featureRequest time off
Has featureView job history
Has featureView company policy documentation
Has featureView company news and information
Has featureEmployee recognition

Asset Management Features

Has featureTracking of all physical assets
Has featureAsset issue and transfer management
Has featureAsset return
Has featureWarranty and after-sales status maintenance contract tracking

HR Reporting Features

Has featureReport builder
Has featurePre-built reports
Has featureAbility to combine HR data with external data

Integration with other HR capabilities Features

Has featureAdditional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by same vendor
Has featureAdditional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by different vendor

Performance Management Features

Has featurePerformance plans
Has featurePerformance improvement plans
Has featureReview status tracking
Has featureReview reminders
Has featureMultiple review frequency

Succession Planning Features

Has featureCandidate search

Onboarding Features

Has featureNew hire portal
Has featureManager tracking tools

Performance and Goals Features

Has featureCorporate goal setting
Has featureIndividual goal setting
Has featureLine-of sight-visibility
Has featurePerformance tracking

Namely Screenshots

Namely Video

Namely - HR for Humans

Namely Integrations

Namely Competitors

Namely Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Namely$12.00Per Employee Per Month

Namely Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Namely Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Countries:All
Supported Languages: English

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Namely?

Namely offers a cloud-based HR platform for integrated core and specialized HR services, including time and employee performance management and onboarding processes.

What is Namely's best feature?

Reviewers rate View and generate pay and benefit information and Update personal information highest, with a score of 7.9.

Who uses Namely?

The most common users of Namely are from Mid-size Companies and the Computer Software industry.