Namely Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
158 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 6.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE Badge

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 79)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
February 03, 2021
Stacie Balletto | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have used Paychex, OnePoint, Papaya and Paycom. I honestly believe they all run a little better (even though they may be a little clunky) than Namely. I am highly disappointed in the fact that they say they are an all encompassing payroll/HRIS tool but then fail in some of their deliveries.
Read Stacie Balletto's full review
December 23, 2020
Lori Osborne, PHR (she/her) | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Paylocity was outdated and customer support was not helpful. The platform wasn't user friendly for administration or employees. Every small improvement was a big cost impact and the platform provided little to no flexibility in customization.
Read Lori Osborne, PHR (she/her)'s full review
November 18, 2020
Sana Khan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Namely has a lot of room for improvements in comparison with industry standard services but it has some decent functionality and improving on it slowly.
Read Sana Khan's full review
November 11, 2020
Chantal Berube, PHR | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I selected Namely because it offered the most functions and integration that I was looking for at the time (two years ago). It was not the most affordable option, but worth the extra features.
Read Chantal Berube, PHR's full review
November 11, 2020
Gina Meier | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I selected Namely because it had more features than other vendors and would integrate with Blue Marble, our non-US payroll system.
Read Gina Meier's full review
February 04, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I did not select Namely. I inherited it. My predecessors chose it because they thought it "looked good" and that employees would like it. ADP and Ultipro are both better. Namely might be fine for 50-100 per some employers, but it gets painful beyond that point.
Read this authenticated review
February 04, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Paychex, ADP, Paycom, Payroll Partners- Namely makes a good sell and appears better, but all of these companies provide more value for the investment, and better customer service.
Read this authenticated review
March 28, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Namely is more user-friendly; you can navigate around better compared to SF. SF is more complicated in terms of payroll.
Read this authenticated review
November 17, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I was not involved in the selection nor implementation of Namely at my company. It was already in place when I joined. I've previously used Workday as an HRIS and it's not even a comparison. Workday has much more robust functionality in all areas of HCM. I've also demoed Paycom and having centralized data is a huge advantage over Namely.
Read this authenticated review
February 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have only demoed with Paylocity (never used) but it seems superior to Namely in my opinion as far as time, HRIS, and payroll all communicating.

I demoed a couple others that I would not move away from Namely in favor of. I would say Namely is middle of the pack. They do certain things really well, but have major issues in some areas. Namely is the type of system in which I always double-check work that is supposed to be automated for me because there are often glitches or errors.
Read this authenticated review
December 09, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Most recently Paycor. Paycor had a lot better support system with subject matter experts and consultants to be able to call or email at any time. Namely's time system is far superior and well as their PTO system.
Read this authenticated review
March 30, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I like the report exported from Namely--it is simple, clear, and user friendly.
Read this authenticated review
December 02, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Bamboo are more like a basic version of an HRIS system, whereas Namely has more room for growth if our company would ever expanded to 100+ employees or more.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Employee demographic data (89)
7.4
Employment history (96)
6.5
Job profiles and administration (2)
10.0
Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc. (93)
6.7
Organizational charting (93)
6.2
Organization and location management (90)
6.6
Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.) (56)
6.8
Pay calculation (84)
6.8
Support for external payroll vendors (39)
4.8
Off-cycle/On-Demand payment (35)
6.8
Benefit plan administration (81)
6.6
Direct deposit files (87)
7.7
Salary revision and increment management (75)
7.3
Reimbursement management (44)
6.7
Approval workflow (87)
7.1
Balance details (84)
6.2
Annual carry-forward and encashment (72)
6.4
View and generate pay and benefit information (93)
7.8
Update personal information (97)
7.9
View company policy documentation (87)
7.7
Employee recognition (81)
7.5
View job history (92)
7.2
Tracking of all physical assets (45)
7.6
Report builder (82)
6.1
Pre-built reports (79)
5.8
Ability to combine HR data with external data (54)
4.8
New hire portal (73)
7.2
Manager tracking tools (59)
6.8
Corporate goal setting (67)
6.1
Individual goal setting (69)
6.5
Line-of sight-visibility (52)
5.9
Performance tracking (68)
6.4
Performance plans (69)
6.7
Performance improvement plans (49)
6.6
Review status tracking (73)
6.6
Review reminders (73)
7.1
Multiple review frequency (64)
6.9
Candidate search (14)
5.9

What is Namely?

Namely is an HR, Payroll, and Benefits platform. It is designed around end-user usability, and can be configured to fit the company culture. Namely allows users to manage all their HR data in one place, with personalized service to help quickly improve HR management. Namely is used by companies in media, technology, and commerce, as well as other industries.

Namely Features

Human Resource Management Features

Has featureEmployee demographic data
Has featureEmployment history
Has featureWorkflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc.
Has featureBenefits information
Has featureOrganizational charting
Has featureOrganization and location management
Has featureCompliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.)

Payroll Management Features

Has featurePay calculation
Has featureSupport for external payroll vendors
Has featureOff-cycle/On-Demand payment
Has featurePayroll history for each employee
Has featureBenefit plan administration
Has featureDirect deposit files
Has featurePayroll tracking and auditing
Has featureSalary revision and increment management
Has featureReimbursement management
Has featureStatutory form management

Leave and Attendance Management Features

Has featureApproval workflow
Has featureEmail notifications
Has featureBalance details
Has featureTravel absence management
Has featureAnnual carry-forward and encashment

Employee Self Service Features

Has featureEmployee login
Has featureView and generate pay and benefit information
Has featureUpdate personal information
Has featureRequest time off
Has featureView job history
Has featureView company policy documentation
Has featureView company news and information
Has featureEmployee recognition

Asset Management Features

Has featureTracking of all physical assets
Has featureAsset issue and transfer management
Has featureAsset return
Has featureWarranty and after-sales status maintenance contract tracking

HR Reporting Features

Has featureReport builder
Has featurePre-built reports
Has featureAbility to combine HR data with external data

Integration with other HR capabilities Features

Has featureAdditional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by same vendor
Has featureAdditional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by different vendor

Performance Management Features

Has featurePerformance plans
Has featurePerformance improvement plans
Has featureReview status tracking
Has featureReview reminders
Has featureMultiple review frequency

Succession Planning Features

Has featureCandidate search

Onboarding Features

Has featureNew hire portal
Has featureManager tracking tools

Performance and Goals Features

Has featureCorporate goal setting
Has featureIndividual goal setting
Has featureLine-of sight-visibility
Has featurePerformance tracking

Namely Screenshots

Namely Video

Namely Integrations

Namely Competitors

Namely Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Namely$12.00Per Employee Per Month

Namely Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Namely Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Countries:All
Supported Languages: English

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Namely?

Namely offers a cloud-based HR platform for integrated core and specialized HR services, including time and employee performance management and onboarding processes.

What is Namely's best feature?

Reviewers rate Update personal information highest, with a score of 7.9.

Who uses Namely?

The most common users of Namely are Mid-size Companies from the Computer Software industry.