Namely Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
80 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 5.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 43)

Ron Toth | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2019

Simple and effective. Has everything you need in a really easy to use format.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Namely is great cause it has everything we need but just looks and feels so basic. The same way as a Google search page looks. It seems like its almost too plain and probably missing something but it has everything you need.
Read Ron Toth's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2019

Namely is great for small companies!

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We selected Namely because it is both a payroll provider, performance management and HRIS. We were trying to go into 1 system. Before we had 3. It's nice being in 1 system but Namely isn't an expert in anything outside of HRIS when it compares to their competition. There are upsides to having different systems because focused companies usually have better products.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 08, 2019

President

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have used other payroll companies that are much better in customer service and really taking the time to help out the client. That is not what Namely does-- it doesn't feel like they value their clients. They are just trying to sell you the next level up, and you don't hear from the sales team after that until you want to upgrade.
Read this authenticated review
Jamie Powers, PHR | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 21, 2019

Stay Away from Namely!

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

In my career, I have used ADP, Paycor, & Paylocity. I have also evaluated Paycom & Paychex. I used to think that Paylocity was bad. They were a walk in the park compared to Namely. Namely is BY FAR the WORST system I have every had to use.
Read Jamie Powers, PHR's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 21, 2019

Namely is doing well what it's born to do

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I was using the self-service function of Oracle ERP (very old version) before. But Namely, as I mentioned, it has better UI and UX. Its performance is faster than Oracle UI. Namely is a cloud app vs Oracle ERP is a local app. It is very inconvenient to use a VPN each time I wanted to access Oracle ERP as it's only compatible with IE but not Firefox or Chrome. Now, it's awesome to use a cloud app to access Namely from everywhere with any browser or mobile app.
Read this authenticated review
Jovanny Chonillo, MHRM | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 14, 2018

Namely. The first HRIS that my boss actually likes.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We switched from Paycom to Namely after using Paycom for just one year. We had some many issues and let-downs in our first year with Paycom that we decided it would be less painful to switch platforms than to give Paycom a second season. Namely was at the top of our list of viable replacements due to positive word of mouth from other companies in Chicago.

Namely blows Paycom out of the water. The user interface is much more sleek and intuitive. Paycom required two separate logins for employees that were also "users" (ie. supervisors, managers, etc.). Our teams hated having two different logins for the same site. Namely is role-driven. If an employee is also a manager, they can access their additional functions from one account.

We also had a myriad of support issues with Paycom. PTO balances in particular were a disaster. Follow-up was terrible, and we ended up manually reconciling a lot of data sets as we transitioned to Namely.
Read Jovanny Chonillo, MHRM's full review
Cristian Bodnarasec | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 14, 2018

Go global with Namely

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Both UltiPro and Dayforce are more expensive, harder to use and more difficult to set up/admin than Namely. For API and integration with other clouds/apps (likeNetSuite), both UtilPro and Dayforce are better than Namely out of the box.

We could see a better time off management and a better customer support in pre-sales stages from Namely.
Read Cristian Bodnarasec's full review
Thadya Soetaniman | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 25, 2018

GREAT HRIS but not so much for Payroll

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Our goal was to streamline our HR processes and procedures by switching to Namely but it seems like we are spending more time trying to resolve issues than focusing other HR issues such as employee development and performance management. Onboarding, open enrollment and other personnel information changes were all paper-based when we were with ADP and Namely has helped us become paperless but their payroll as well as time keeping modules are weak compared to ADP.
Read Thadya Soetaniman's full review
Hannah Flood | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 05, 2018

#1 Software for Company Structure and Growth

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We looked at many ATS platforms and payroll platforms. Namely had a complete package and the most support to offer. The other systems were good but only handled 1-3 HR issues. We could not afford multiple software, so picking Namely was the right choice for us.
Read Hannah Flood's full review
Caleb Wood, SHRM-CP | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 04, 2018

New Company - Great Potential

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Namely may not have all the features you may get with another platform but, if it's needed, Namely is already working on getting it. They care a lot about their customers and want to do right. They will go above and beyond for you. The system is very nice to use and super user friendly.
Read Caleb Wood, SHRM-CP's full review
Lisa Shapiro | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 07, 2017

Want an amazing Payroll, HRIS and Benefits platform? I name Namely!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We wanted a cutting edge product that our employees would love. We saw that in Namely. They are fully in the cloud so it can be accessed anywhere. They also have a beautiful interface that makes life so much easier. They also have a feature that an admin users can "view as" which helps me trouble shoot for employees if they have questions so that I do not have to ask them to send screen shots or run to their desk. The customer support from Namely is also awesome. I have a great relationship with my account manager and she is always there to help me. Namely is always creating new things for their platform. I have no doubt that they will continue evolving which makes me excited for the future with this platform.
Read Lisa Shapiro's full review
Christine Noonan | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2018

Namely - Customize-able and Awesome!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Paychex, Zenefits, Paylocity and Red Carpet
Namely was so far and above the other payroll/HR vendors. The ability to customize Namely so extensively was what really sold us on Namely. And now, the special features Namely has, such as the ability to 'view as' other employees and work in Namely as them has made that a must-have with any other system we would ever look at. (We're not even thinking of looking right now.)
Read Christine Noonan's full review
Asha Mungara, JD, PHR | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 28, 2017

Robust Integrated Platform!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Namely was simply the best value considering how robust the features are. Nothing is perfect but Namely continually strives to be and we appreciate that! They've taken a dozen or more feature requests from me and I'm optimistic that they'll come through :)
Read Asha Mungara, JD, PHR's full review
Matthew P Rausch | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 14, 2017

Great price, great support team.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Simply put, Namely met the most needs from our list for the right price. The team was great (we miss Regina) during presentation and implementation. TribeHR didn't have the review process according to anniversary dates, which we need. Proliant didn't have the right API availability, Namely has a far better UI than Paychex. Bamboo was the closest, but at the time didn't have all the product integrations we need for our ATS, benefits portal, and internal reporting software.
Read Matthew P Rausch's full review
Asher Primrose | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 18, 2017

Excellent HRIS and Performance Management Tools for small to mid-sized companies

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Had more user-friendly functionality than the others, and goals and performance reviews had all the features I was looking for whereas others were lacking in those areas.
Read Asher Primrose's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Employee demographic data (49)
6.4
Employment history (56)
6.7
Job profiles and administration (2)
10.0
Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc. (53)
6.1
Organizational charting (54)
6.1
Organization and location management (51)
6.6
Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.) (26)
3.3
Pay calculation (44)
5.7
Support for external payroll vendors (19)
4.2
Benefit plan administration (43)
6.9
Direct deposit files (47)
7.2
Salary revision and increment management (40)
6.9
Reimbursement management (21)
5.2
Approval workflow (50)
7.4
Balance details (46)
6.9
Annual carry-forward and encashment (38)
7.0
View and generate pay and benefit information (53)
7.3
Update personal information (56)
7.2
View company policy documentation (50)
7.3
Employee recognition (43)
7.3
View job history (53)
7.4
Tracking of all physical assets (26)
5.5
Report builder (42)
4.5
Pre-built reports (42)
4.9
Ability to combine HR data with external data (26)
2.5
New hire portal (39)
5.9
Manager tracking tools (32)
5.9
Corporate goal setting (36)
4.3
Individual goal setting (37)
4.3
Line-of sight-visibility (26)
2.7
Performance tracking (36)
3.7
Performance plans (40)
5.6
Performance improvement plans (27)
4.5
Review status tracking (41)
4.6
Review reminders (41)
5.3
Multiple review frequency (34)
4.4
Candidate search (7)
5.4

About Namely

Namely is an HR, Payroll, and Benefits platform. It is designed around end-user usability, and can be configured to fit the company culture. Namely allows users to manage all their HR data in one place, with personalized service to help quickly improve HR management. Namely is used by companies in media, technology, and commerce, as well as other industries.

Namely Features

Human Resource Management Features
Has featureEmployee demographic data
Has featureEmployment history
Does not have featureJob profiles and administration
Has featureWorkflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc.
Has featureBenefits information
Has featureOrganizational charting
Has featureOrganization and location management
Has featureCompliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.)
Payroll Management Features
Has featurePay calculation
Has featureSupport for external payroll vendors
Has featureOff-cycle/On-Demand payment
Has featurePayroll history for each employee
Has featureBenefit plan administration
Has featureDirect deposit files
Has featurePayroll tracking and auditing
Has featureSalary revision and increment management
Has featureReimbursement management
Has featureStatutory form management
Leave and Attendance Management Features
Has featureApproval workflow
Has featureEmail notifications
Has featureBalance details
Has featureTravel absence management
Has featureAnnual carry-forward and encashment
Employee Self Service Features
Has featureEmployee login
Has featureView and generate pay and benefit information
Has featureUpdate personal information
Has featureRequest time off
Has featureView job history
Has featureView company policy documentation
Has featureView company news and information
Has featureEmployee recognition
Asset Management Features
Has featureTracking of all physical assets
Has featureAsset issue and transfer management
Has featureAsset return
Has featureWarranty and after-sales status maintenance contract tracking
HR Reporting Features
Has featureReport builder
Has featurePre-built reports
Has featureAbility to combine HR data with external data
Integration with other HR capabilities Features
Has featureAdditional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by same vendor
Has featureAdditional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by different vendor
Performance Management Features
Has featurePerformance plans
Has featurePerformance improvement plans
Has featureReview status tracking
Has featureReview reminders
Has featureMultiple review frequency
Succession Planning Features
Does not have featureCreate succession plans/pools
Does not have featureCandidate ranking
Has featureCandidate search
Does not have featureCandidate development
Onboarding Features
Has featureNew hire portal
Has featureManager tracking tools
Performance and Goals Features
Has featureCorporate goal setting
Has featureIndividual goal setting
Has featureLine-of sight-visibility
Has featurePerformance tracking
Recruiting / ATS Features
Does not have featureJob Requisition Management
Does not have featureCompany Website Posting
Does not have featurePublish to Social Media
Does not have featureJob Search Site Posting
Does not have featureDuplicate Candidate Prevention
Does not have featureApplicant Tracking
Does not have featureNotifications and Alerts

Namely Screenshots

Namely Integrations

Namely Competitors

Namely Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Namely Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Countries:All
Supported Languages: English