Namely Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
121 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 5.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 81)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Kai Briones-Lee | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2020

Namely--Centralized HR Platform

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

From my experience with Namely, it works very well with small organizations. The system support is very good. We have a very simple HRIS, time, and payroll needs, and Namely has provided us great service that suits all our needs well.
Read Kai Briones-Lee's full review
Sana Khan | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 18, 2020

Value for your money!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Namely is cost-effective for smaller companies consisting of 1-50 employees. It also has a user-friendly interface and they have been improving the functionality a lot in the past year.
Namely is still very manual when it comes to updating benefits and communicating to vendors about changes or new enrollments.
Read Sana Khan's full review
Tim Samuel, CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 10, 2020

Namely Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Namely is well suited for an organization that spends significant time on HR, Payroll and Performance reviews. If you spend more than 4 hours with these tasks, Namely can help consolidate the amount of time spent on the tasks. This tool may not be the best for you if you have an employee who is content using what they are already doing.
Read Tim Samuel, CPA's full review
Patricia McNeill | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 10, 2020

Brief Overview

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is very difficult to say where I believe Namely is well suited. I for one do not think Namely should process payroll. I think the primary function should focus on the HRIS side.
Read Patricia McNeill's full review
Caley Dawkins | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 11, 2020

Namely is the Only Way to Go!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Namely has been very well suited for us during the COVID-19 pandemic. We began working from home just prior to our full launch with Namely, which was after all pertinent employee information had been uploaded into the platform. This made the transition seamless from an HR standpoint on what information I needed on hand for our employees while at home. We've now been working from home for six months. During the course of that time, I've needed several documents signed by employees, however we have not met in person and/or did not really want to be touching the same documents due to the coronavirus. Namely's eSignature option through DocuSign has been a huge help for us in this situation.
Read Caley Dawkins's full review
Chayse Henrie | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2020

PEO to Namely

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

For the end user (employee), the system is almost flawless. Our employees really like the system. However, the teams in our admin areas find the system to be hard to use at times. One of the biggest challenges is the lack of data transfer from Namely HRIS to Namely Time. Work needs to be duplicated between the different components HRIS/Time/Payroll etc.
Read Chayse Henrie's full review
Katie Kline | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 05, 2020

HRIS that will nix paper pushing and help engage your workforce

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Namely is a very well-rounded system. It helps with the day-to-day task that can bog HR down. The ThinkHR package is also great because of the living handbook, which makes it super easy to update. When you have an issue, you usually hear back from Namely in less than 24 hours.
Read Katie Kline's full review
Maria Munoz | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 05, 2020

Caused more problems than it solved

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I would never recommend Namely to anyone. This platform has to be micromanaged, as you get conflicting information depending on the rep you are speaking to. We also have to micromanage the system to ensure that everything is being done correctly. This is extremely frustrating as it is a payroll and HRIS system. We shouldn't have to spend more time on our end ensuring things work.
Read Maria Munoz's full review
Richard Roomberg | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 05, 2020

Namely, don't do it

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I cannot think of any areas where Namely does things well. We use Namely as a payroll processor, and it is one of the worst payroll systems I have ever used.
  • Namely cannot process simple requests such as splitting a person's time between multiple states.
  • Namely sold us on being able to integrate with NetSuite, and it took Namely six months to provide a feed into NetSuite (it seems that we were the Namely's first NetSuite customer).
  • Namely sells vaporware--be very careful on anything Namely says without independently verifying it with a current user.
  • Namely cannot provide a vacation balance as of a certain date. Namely states that no other customer requests this information.
  • Obviously we are Namely's first accrual-based accounting client. We must perform as much work as before implementing Namely to obtain vacation balances as of the end of each month.
I highly advise against using Namely.
Read Richard Roomberg's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 17, 2020

Namely Review

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Namely is not well suited for companies who like good reporting and easy time keeping. Larger companies would do well to find another provider with better customer support too. Currently there is not a number I can call when I have an urgent issue. Their current process is to submit a "case" and then we wait to hear back. It is hard to get a quick resolution on anything.

Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 17, 2020

Dissatisfied beyond words

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It would be sufficient for a very small company that is not running very complex HR processes. It can handle very basic HRIS [Human Resource Information System] functionality. The social feed is a nice feature to use for company-wide communications. The timekeeping integration with Time Clocks Plus works fairly well without too much issue.

The HRIS and payroll platforms are not nearly capable of supporting HR processes covering the typical employee life cycle. The LOA [Leave of Absence] functionality is terrible, the data is not integrated/centralized across platforms - data is kept all over the place. Transfers between companies or division is horrible - data has to be re-entered multiple times which is time-consuming and creates errors. Payroll cannot be sufficiently processed - PTO does not pull in from HRIS, double-time cannot be calculated, LOAs cannot be calculated. Typical reporting is cumbersome requiring multiple disparate reports to be hobbled together.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 15, 2020

#1 Software for Company Structure and Growth

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I can see large organizations with tech users utilizing Namely very well. For those who are less competent at utilizing technology platforms, it might be challenging to use it well. There are add on features that allow Namely to handle more aspects of the platform, which would help those who are less confident with using technology. It is one of the few platforms that offers all of the features it does, which may work well for remote and larger organizations who are willing to pay and take the time to learn how to use it. Smaller companies or those who don't want to use all of the features might be better off using a simpler platform.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 18, 2020

Disappointed, doesn't live up to the hype

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I would not recommend Namely. The quality of the tool compared to the cost is extremely disappointing. Namely has name recognition and I was excited to start using the tool, and am dissatisfied by the interface, the functionality, the admin side, and I have negative feedback from our employees who are frustrated with it. I have used other HRIS tools in the past that I would be much more likely to recommend.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2020

Namely--The System You Didn't Know You Needed

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I think it's well suited if you do the full HCM, time, payroll, and benefits modules combined. It would not be appropriate if you only want to use it for one thing--for example, if you only want payroll but not HCM. Then you're dealing with multiple vendors and file feels, and you're going to run into a variety of issues that you'll have to figure out who needs to resolve.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2020

Namely is helping build our business better

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Namely is a great option for an all-in-one platform, especially since it provides a lot of options at a pretty fair price. It isn't cheap but doesn't cost what the high-end platforms do. I think it is great if you are just looking to get better than where you are. You do need to be prepared to understand what you want your processes to look like, as you will need to customize everything during implementation, when you have someone who can help you with it.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 05, 2020

Excellent, straightforward system - easy to use and implement

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Namely is extremely well-suited to you if you need a solution now but are worried about implementation, which system is right, etc. It is extremely well-suited if you have multiple complex systems, websites, multiple payroll servicing sites, or if your employees have to remember a bunch of different passwords and which websites to go on (like in open enrollment).
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 04, 2020

Namely feedback

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

There are still a lot of bugs that need to get worked out within the system, so if someone can be patient, it's a great product for employees.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2020

Avoid Namely at all costs; Justworks and Gusto are meaningfully better

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Given the strength of other HRIS, payroll, and benefits platforms out there today, I would not recommend Namely. We've had a far superior experience overall with both Justworks and Gusto, and this is true whether your company is >50 or over 150 FTEs.

We had endless problems with Namely: from prohibitively expensive medical/dental plans for our team to cumbersome onboarding (duplicating employee information in multiple places) to terrible UX—an employee's bank information NOT synching with payroll (you literally collect it manually in on-boarding and manually re-enter into payroll system). There have also been issues from pay groups not synching to payroll, inability for timecards to synch to the system, (we used Deputy for hourly time tracking), and generally unresponsive or bad service, so we ultimately made the switch to Justworks. It has been a LOT better across most dimensions and our team is much happier.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 26, 2020

Efficient tool for any start-up

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I think Namely is an exceptional tool when it comes to start-ups that look for integration and user-friendly tools. Cutting staff is no problem when it only takes about an hour or less to run payroll.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 05, 2020

Namely is just what we needed

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Namely is very well suited for a company of 100-200 (mostly remote) employees, such as ours. Namely handles multiple states and countries very well.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Employee demographic data (72)
7.1
Employment history (78)
6.6
Job profiles and administration (2)
10.0
Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc. (75)
6.5
Organizational charting (76)
5.9
Organization and location management (74)
6.5
Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.) (42)
6.2
Pay calculation (67)
6.0
Support for external payroll vendors (27)
3.8
Off-cycle/On-Demand payment (19)
6.1
Benefit plan administration (63)
6.5
Direct deposit files (70)
7.1
Salary revision and increment management (61)
6.7
Reimbursement management (32)
6.2
Approval workflow (71)
7.2
Balance details (67)
6.1
Annual carry-forward and encashment (56)
6.5
View and generate pay and benefit information (75)
7.6
Update personal information (79)
7.4
View company policy documentation (71)
7.3
Employee recognition (63)
7.1
View job history (75)
7.1
Tracking of all physical assets (34)
7.2
Report builder (65)
5.6
Pre-built reports (64)
5.6
Ability to combine HR data with external data (38)
3.7
New hire portal (60)
6.4
Manager tracking tools (48)
6.0
Corporate goal setting (52)
5.2
Individual goal setting (54)
5.5
Line-of sight-visibility (40)
4.9
Performance tracking (54)
5.5
Performance plans (56)
6.4
Performance improvement plans (37)
5.9
Review status tracking (59)
5.8
Review reminders (59)
6.3
Multiple review frequency (50)
6.2
Candidate search (10)
5.8

About Namely

Namely is an HR, Payroll, and Benefits platform. It is designed around end-user usability, and can be configured to fit the company culture. Namely allows users to manage all their HR data in one place, with personalized service to help quickly improve HR management. Namely is used by companies in media, technology, and commerce, as well as other industries.

Namely Features

Human Resource Management Features

Has featureEmployee demographic data
Has featureEmployment history
Has featureWorkflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc.
Has featureBenefits information
Has featureOrganizational charting
Has featureOrganization and location management
Has featureCompliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.)

Payroll Management Features

Has featurePay calculation
Has featureSupport for external payroll vendors
Has featureOff-cycle/On-Demand payment
Has featurePayroll history for each employee
Has featureBenefit plan administration
Has featureDirect deposit files
Has featurePayroll tracking and auditing
Has featureSalary revision and increment management
Has featureReimbursement management
Has featureStatutory form management

Leave and Attendance Management Features

Has featureApproval workflow
Has featureEmail notifications
Has featureBalance details
Has featureTravel absence management
Has featureAnnual carry-forward and encashment

Employee Self Service Features

Has featureEmployee login
Has featureView and generate pay and benefit information
Has featureUpdate personal information
Has featureRequest time off
Has featureView job history
Has featureView company policy documentation
Has featureView company news and information
Has featureEmployee recognition

Asset Management Features

Has featureTracking of all physical assets
Has featureAsset issue and transfer management
Has featureAsset return
Has featureWarranty and after-sales status maintenance contract tracking

HR Reporting Features

Has featureReport builder
Has featurePre-built reports
Has featureAbility to combine HR data with external data

Integration with other HR capabilities Features

Has featureAdditional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by same vendor
Has featureAdditional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by different vendor

Performance Management Features

Has featurePerformance plans
Has featurePerformance improvement plans
Has featureReview status tracking
Has featureReview reminders
Has featureMultiple review frequency

Succession Planning Features

Has featureCandidate search

Onboarding Features

Has featureNew hire portal
Has featureManager tracking tools

Performance and Goals Features

Has featureCorporate goal setting
Has featureIndividual goal setting
Has featureLine-of sight-visibility
Has featurePerformance tracking

Namely Screenshots

Namely Video

Namely Integrations

Namely Competitors

ADP Workforce Now, Zenefits, UKG Pro (formerly Ultimate Software UltiPro)

Namely Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Namely Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Countries:All
Supported Languages: English