NativeScript Reviews

17 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 4.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-11 of 11)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Eric Bewley | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 29, 2020

NativeScript -- Not Yet Ready for Large Development Efforts

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

In an effort to move from having separate projects for Angular web development and Android Studio for Andriod app development, I have been trying to replace the multiple projects with a single NativeScript project and add support for iOS devices. I have worked as a consultant for other organizations who also tried to use NativeScript for the exact same reason. One of the prior organizations was a large US government department, and another was a private organization who facilitates the trading of goods internationally.
Read Eric Bewley's full review
Tiago Alves | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2018

Climb to NativeScript, enjoy the Vue...

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are testing NativeScript to see if it will be a good fit for the next version of our app. We have an e-learning education platform focused on mobile. Our current version is built on ionic v1, and we are looking for a better alternative. Our app needs to be offline first, but the courses and content are downloaded from the internet. The app has lots of gamification features. It needs to be much slicker than it is now in the current stack.
Read Tiago Alves's full review
Evan Payne | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 30, 2018

Mobile apps delivered by leveraging our existing skillset with NativeScript

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using NativeScript on a single mobile project at the moment. It is the framework which supports development of this entire project for our client. In particular, we are using NativeScript with Angular 5, to leverage the current skills of our front-end development team. We also have an internal app to track our knowledge sharing events that we are developing with NativeScript.
Read Evan Payne's full review
Shiva Prasad K | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 10, 2018

NativeScript - Mobile App Development on Steroids

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I work at a fitness based startup. Our app, "AnyGo" is built entirely using NativeScript. I was the one who proposed to the team, to use NativeScript. And today when I look back, I'm glad that I found NativeScript. We were able to launch our app in 6 months, all thanks to NativeScript. I worked on the app, while 3 other developers built the backend on NodeJS.
Read Shiva Prasad K's full review
victor pease solano | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 16, 2018

NativeScript: Good for mobile performance.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

NativeScript is the main tool to develop mobile apps for internal and external projects. The main feature is the capacity to develop one source code to address ios and android using the actual experience the dev team has with javascript and angular. Because of their active community, we can reuse our experience and others' in order to speed up every project. Using the extensive library of components already available and the one we have built with the time, we reuse a lot of code saving time.
Read victor pease solano's full review
Mike Branstein | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 10, 2018

NativeScript makes cross-platform mobile app development easy, fast, and efficient.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are a consulting company and use NativeScript for apps internally and externally for customers. We chose to use NativeScript as a mobile app development platform because of its native performance, native UI generation, and ease of cross-platform mobile development. Furthermore, we can leverage existing skills on our development teams (Angular, TypeScript, and CSS) to create native mobile apps. This was the first platform we tried that was easy to get started with, and provided the least amount of friction for developing mobile apps.
Read Mike Branstein's full review
Nic Raboy | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 10, 2018

Mobile Performance with NativeScript

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

As a very small development shop, NativeScript allows us to create cross platform "native" mobile applications for Android and iOS while using a single web skillset rather than needing to learn Java, Objective-C, or Swift. NativeScript with Angular is being used and the single skillset for development helps to reduce the cost and barrier to entry for mobile application development.
Read Nic Raboy's full review
Brad Martin | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 10, 2018

The Brad Martin Perspective

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

At nStudio, LLC. we use it as our suggested application framework to clients for developing iOS and Android applications that integrate with a web app so we can utilize the code-sharing strategy of a web framework like Angular or VueJS and significantly reduce the amount of code to write for a web app and mobile app.
Read Brad Martin's full review
Dave Coffin | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2018

NativeScript - Cross platform app development for n00bs

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I use NativeScript as the primary platform for developing native mobile applications. We have a native mobile app called Daily Nanny (dailynannyapp.com) used by thousands of parents and nannies, and the Android and iOS applications were built using NativeScript. I had no experience building native mobile applications, but I was able to apply my expertise in JavaScript, HTML, and CSS to build and release a cross-platform application in a fraction of the time it would have taken to build two different apps on two different platforms.
Read Dave Coffin's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 10, 2018

The best possible way to develop your next Android and iOS application.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I currently use NativeScript for multiple applications that are in various stages of development. In my opinion, NativeScript is one of the best if not the best frameworks to write Android and iOS Applications. With NativeScript I'm able to reuse concepts and knowledge of existing frameworks such as Angular or Vue.js to build Applications that actually use native elements and have native performance.

A common problem with multi-platform development is eventually you will encounter a situation where the framework doesn't have a feature you need to complete a task. This is true for all multi-platform frameworks, including NativeScript. However, with NativeScript you have access to the native API for iOS and Android. This allows us as developers to solve our own problems and not lose momentum whereas other frameworks we would be at the mercy of plugin developers or have to write Java and/or Objective C code ourselves to sometimes solve very small but frustrating tasks.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 10, 2018

NativeScript, the fast way to build robust mobile applications

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our organization uses NativeScript to build different mobile applications for clients with different needs. NativeScript has been a great fit for us for the last couple of years, as it allows us to move forward quickly delivering high-quality applications in a lot less time than it would take if we had to develop two separate codebases for the two main platforms.
Read this authenticated review

About NativeScript

NativeScript is an open source framework that allows you to create native iOS and Android apps, with one codebase, using ​the web skills you already have (JavaScript and CSS) and ​the libraries you already love​.
Categories:  App Development

NativeScript Features

Has featureReuse web skills (JavaScript, CSS) to create truly native mobile apps for iOS and Android
Has featureDeep integration with popular JavaScript frameworks like Angular or Vue to minimize learning curve
Has featureExtensive code sharing between mobile platforms (including UI) and web apps (when used with Angular)
Has featureDeliver high-quality mobile apps to multiple platforms faster, using web developers you already have

NativeScript Screenshots

NativeScript Integrations

Angular, Vue, Visual Studio Code, Visual Studio 2015/2017 Coming Soon

NativeScript Competitors

Xamarin, ReactNative, Ionic/Hybrid

NativeScript Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

The NativeScript framework and CLI are completely free and open source. NativeScript Sidekick is a free download to improve developer productivity with optional paid tiers for power users.

NativeScript Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email

NativeScript Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android