TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/lB/D0/ZZO97IELT841.PNGA strong passion for NetBaseOver the course of the last 3 years we have been with NetBase, we have watched them expand the platform in ways we would have never imagined. They continue to expand their capabilities, and as a result, it has become indescribably less effortless for us to obtain insights and understand our customers, general consumer opinions and needs. Providing this data to our key stakeholders throughout our company is something that has never done before prior to using NetBase. We support the high level/ top of the organization who have control over how our field locations operate. These individuals are not in the social space from day-to-day, so part of what we set out to accomplish is make them aware of what is taking place in the social space. NetBase allows us to uncover insights we never had access to before, enabling us to provide strategic guidance on our social business approach on a multitude of levels, including crisis management, business development, campaign performance, and competitive intelligence.,Competitive analysis. Analyzing brand health on a day-to-day basis. Customer support--especially educating my manager and I on all of the new features. NetBase is constantly finding ways to make the platform work smarter for us.,Understanding how to use the various dashboard templates that are available to us.,9,We have generally found a significant increase in volume of mentions/conversations across the social web. Customers, fans, etc. know us now more than ever before. There is a significantly high amount of interest from our executives. They know and understand the value behind social listening and how it can help our business units to meet their business objectives.,,Hootsuite Enterprise, Tint,10Loving NetBase!Netbase is being used in a number of different ways at my agency. We use it to keep track of our competitors; we use it to track our success for our current clients, and one of the most useful purposes is for new business. Netbase helps us discover what works and what doesn't for potential clients, and also uncovers patterns or opportunities, especially when it comes to social media.,Demographics are HUGE. You can analyze topics by people, where they live, and who they are. That way you can delve into cultural nuances. Being able to see patterns in how people react to news, campaigns, and and brand changes. Sentiment. Always sentiment. This helps us to figure out what people really feel. Netbase even accounts for sarcasm and can analyze emojis. Very good interaction with customers.,Sometimes sentiment analysis slips up. It can count something as negative when it is really positive, because it analyzes the sentence and not the paragraph. Neutral sentiment. A lot of the time, a topic can be 80% neutral, which makes analyzation difficult. Customer service - when you run out of hours, you can no longer get help, which is frustrating.,7,We have won business! We have been able to track the effects of our competitiors' campaigns and how those affect our brands.,Sprinkler, Sprinklr and Social Studio,Social Studio, SprinklrQuickly dive into conversation insights!We utilize NetBase to better understand consumer social media conversation across various clients. We have 4 users within the same department, but the information gets shared to many departments in our organization. It helps us inform social and content strategies, as well as, reporting for social campaigns for our social clients.,We are able to quickly build queries in Boolean or assisted format and quickly dive into conversation insights. It has a very intuitive user interface compared to other software competitors, such as Crimson Hexagon and BrandWatch Great for quickly finding insights without having to spend a lot of time trying to find the themes/topics yourself.,This tool is best suited to find audience and conversation insights, but needs a little more work on the measurement piece, since we can't obtain engagements, followers, and other metrics in the Excel download for reporting other metrics to our clients, such as reach.,9,N/A,Crimson Hexagon ForSight, Infegy Atlas and Synthesio,Brandwatch Analytics,4,9Great Insights, Still ImprovingNetBase is housed in our social media office but is used for projects across departments to gain insights into industry landscapes or to track chatter around a campaign. It assists in strategy development, client research, and program reporting.,Tracking Twitter chatter - the ability to turn on Firehose to track all Tweets around a search term is particularly helpful during campaigns The word cloud widgets are helpful in looking for new areas to develop around a topic as well as a great visual tool for showing clients Brand comparisons are easy to view in the dashboards and you can customize them to compare the attributes you are most interested in. Staying up to date on the latest in tracking methodology,Sentiment analysis - this has been improving and they are adding features for manual corrections but the system still mislabels posts The exported charts and word clouds have limited ability to be resized without pixelating. The clouds also don't adjust if all terms are small, thus using the cloud in a presentation is difficult at times The system automatically defaults to analyzing the last month with no way to change the default to match the topic date range. This can be inefficient if you are using a topic that has a very specific time frame that you have to change every time you analyze the topic.,8,Great for showing prospective clients that we understand their business environment Has helped identify opportunities in and around brands we work with Useful for strategy development,Union Metrics,Sprinklr,2,2,Industry research Client Presentations Campaign reporting,In house content creation inspiration Teaching our teams how social data can benefit them,We are hoping to expand our industry expertise to gain new clients Gain insights into the new industries we enter,9,Not Sure,Product Features Product Usability Product Reputation,N/A,Implemented in-house,No,Change management was minimal,Learning curve of using the tool - was not difficult due to account team's assistance,9,9,Yes,My account manager and rep have set up a monthly meeting to cover any questions, new product releases, and gain my feedback of the product.,The widgets are integrated well to show continuous data comparison Duplication of topics easy to utilize New save analysis feature makes transferring searches easy,Nothing is cumbersome, though the tool can load slowly sometimes depending on the network being used.,No,9NetBase leads the pack.Netbase is a powerful sentiment analysis engine that helps us track, measure and anticipate conversation around our company across digital and social media.,Strong natural language processing algorithm that delivers the most accurate sentiment analysis available on the market today. Responsive and quick software allows for analysis to take seconds, instead of minutes or hours. Flexibility to connect to a variety of data sources turns netbase into a powerful analysis engine for any unstructured data source.,Influencer and author analysis needs to be updated and further developed Analysis of social media networks and information flow within networks should drive future R&D,9,Brandwatch, Synthesio and Crimson Hexagon ForSight
Unspecified
NetBase
135 Ratings
Score 8.3 out of 101
TRScore

NetBase Reviews

NetBase
135 Ratings
Score 8.3 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 135 vetted NetBase reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 108)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Becky McKeown profile photo
December 23, 2016

User Review: "A strong passion for NetBase"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Over the course of the last 3 years we have been with NetBase, we have watched them expand the platform in ways we would have never imagined. They continue to expand their capabilities, and as a result, it has become indescribably less effortless for us to obtain insights and understand our customers, general consumer opinions and needs. Providing this data to our key stakeholders throughout our company is something that has never done before prior to using NetBase. We support the high level/ top of the organization who have control over how our field locations operate. These individuals are not in the social space from day-to-day, so part of what we set out to accomplish is make them aware of what is taking place in the social space. NetBase allows us to uncover insights we never had access to before, enabling us to provide strategic guidance on our social business approach on a multitude of levels, including crisis management, business development, campaign performance, and competitive intelligence.
  • Competitive analysis.
  • Analyzing brand health on a day-to-day basis.
  • Customer support--especially educating my manager and I on all of the new features.
  • NetBase is constantly finding ways to make the platform work smarter for us.
  • Understanding how to use the various dashboard templates that are available to us.
We do not use the Audience 3D as this is not an area of focus for our organization.
Read Becky McKeown's full review
Meghan Xandra Seidner profile photo
December 13, 2016

User Review: "Loving NetBase!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Netbase is being used in a number of different ways at my agency. We use it to keep track of our competitors; we use it to track our success for our current clients, and one of the most useful purposes is for new business. Netbase helps us discover what works and what doesn't for potential clients, and also uncovers patterns or opportunities, especially when it comes to social media.
  • Demographics are HUGE. You can analyze topics by people, where they live, and who they are. That way you can delve into cultural nuances.
  • Being able to see patterns in how people react to news, campaigns, and and brand changes.
  • Sentiment. Always sentiment. This helps us to figure out what people really feel. Netbase even accounts for sarcasm and can analyze emojis.
  • Very good interaction with customers.
  • Sometimes sentiment analysis slips up. It can count something as negative when it is really positive, because it analyzes the sentence and not the paragraph.
  • Neutral sentiment. A lot of the time, a topic can be 80% neutral, which makes analyzation difficult.
  • Customer service - when you run out of hours, you can no longer get help, which is frustrating.
Campaign tracking - When you launch a campaign, you can analyze it over time to [see] how things go.
Disaster control - if something bad happens for you or your client, you can see in real time the things they are saying, so you can figure out how to fix it.
Disaster tracking - if sentiment gets too low, you can set up an alert so you can immediately see what is going on in order to identify the problem.
Read Meghan Xandra Seidner's full review
Maritza Moreno profile photo
November 27, 2016

NetBase Review: "Quickly dive into conversation insights!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize NetBase to better understand consumer social media conversation across various clients. We have 4 users within the same department, but the information gets shared to many departments in our organization. It helps us inform social and content strategies, as well as, reporting for social campaigns for our social clients.
  • We are able to quickly build queries in Boolean or assisted format and quickly dive into conversation insights.
  • It has a very intuitive user interface compared to other software competitors, such as Crimson Hexagon and Brandwatch
  • Great for quickly finding insights without having to spend a lot of time trying to find the themes/topics yourself.
  • This tool is best suited to find audience and conversation insights, but needs a little more work on the measurement piece, since we can't obtain engagements, followers, and other metrics in the Excel download for reporting other metrics to our clients, such as reach.
Read Maritza Moreno's full review
No photo available
December 15, 2016

NetBase Review: "Great Insights, Still Improving"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
NetBase is housed in our social media office but is used for projects across departments to gain insights into industry landscapes or to track chatter around a campaign. It assists in strategy development, client research, and program reporting.
  • Tracking Twitter chatter - the ability to turn on Firehose to track all Tweets around a search term is particularly helpful during campaigns
  • The word cloud widgets are helpful in looking for new areas to develop around a topic as well as a great visual tool for showing clients
  • Brand comparisons are easy to view in the dashboards and you can customize them to compare the attributes you are most interested in.
  • Staying up to date on the latest in tracking methodology
  • Sentiment analysis - this has been improving and they are adding features for manual corrections but the system still mislabels posts
  • The exported charts and word clouds have limited ability to be resized without pixelating. The clouds also don't adjust if all terms are small, thus using the cloud in a presentation is difficult at times
  • The system automatically defaults to analyzing the last month with no way to change the default to match the topic date range. This can be inefficient if you are using a topic that has a very specific time frame that you have to change every time you analyze the topic.
Well suited for firms that want to be able to gain a greater understanding of the landscape and environment a brand is working in. However, largely due to privacy and Facebook's API, if you need to monitor what is happening on Facebook, NetBase has limited to access to real time data. I would say that there are better tools for firms focused mainly on engagement but on the research side, NetBase works well.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 13, 2016

User Review: "NetBase leads the pack."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Netbase is a powerful sentiment analysis engine that helps us track, measure and anticipate conversation around our company across digital and social media.
  • Strong natural language processing algorithm that delivers the most accurate sentiment analysis available on the market today.
  • Responsive and quick software allows for analysis to take seconds, instead of minutes or hours.
  • Flexibility to connect to a variety of data sources turns netbase into a powerful analysis engine for any unstructured data source.
  • Influencer and author analysis needs to be updated and further developed
  • Analysis of social media networks and information flow within networks should drive future R&D
Great for social media analysis, campaign tracking and even answering specific business questions.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 18, 2016

Review: "NetBase is the best most in-depth yet easy to use social listening tool on the market!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Netbase is predominantly used by our research team within the business, however, our content team also has access and uses it on a less regular basis. Within the research team we use it for a variety of projects from audience insights, to brand tracking, campaign tracking, market reports and monitoring of new product launches for clients as well as industry-wide thought leadership pieces and new business pitches.
  • Natural language processing, top of the market!
  • Easy to navigate, user-friendly interface, I have tested a lot of platforms and Netbase is by far the most straightforward tool, combined with the fact that you only have to use BOOLEAN if you want to, it makes it really quick to set up topics and start seeing data.
  • Constantly evolving features, charts, functionality. They make it really easy to give feedback and genuinely take it on board, there are updates every month with new things that are happening within the tool and they are on top of the game with these.
  • I actually can't think of any, they are constantly changing and improving and always ask for feedback! The problems aren't with Netbase as such but with the realm of social media.
Netbase is great if you want to track usage and uptake of a particular campaign/hashtag. You can view historical data up to 27 months and view the peaks over time. Also very useful if you want to gauge opinions about a certain brand or product, you can view volume of conversation, which platform, sentiment analysis and take comments from the live stream. In this respect it's a great alternative if clients don't have big budgets to conduct bespoke surveys.
Read this authenticated review
Tara Watkins profile photo
October 26, 2016

Review: "Netbase: social listening that provides actionable data"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
NetBase is predominantly used within our company for measuring and analysing online mentions and conversations around client brands, industry categories and key events. It is primarily used by the research team, often alongside traditional research methodologies, and also by the content marketing team.
  • The dashboard is incredibly easy to navigate but also the visuals are great for demonstrating the benefit of Netbase and the data it provides.
  • Natural Language Processing is a huge benefit of Netbase because it means that we have faith in the analysis which is being completed on a large volume of text.
  • Being able to easily adapt and modify what you are analyzing or researching, especially when the output often needs to be turned around quickly.
  • The number of logins is an issue as it would be great to have Netbase used more widely across the agency but with only a couple of logins that is an issue.
  • Related to the above point is that users are logged out when there is no activity or someone else tries to login with the same details.
Netbase is best suited to processing large volumes of social media mentions, going beyond what is possible for a human to analyse. The only thing to bear in mind is that whilst Netbase is very intuitive and the output is often very clear, having some level of interpretation skill or experience with social listening is beneficial to ensure that the most is being taken out of the data.
Read Tara Watkins's full review
Ted Tagalakis profile photo
April 08, 2016

Review: "NetBase | Feature rich and deep insights"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use NetBase to assist in solving a variety of business problems. To name a few items, the solution is used for social monitoring and intelligence for clients, new business development insights, and we have used it for advising on crisis management. NetBase provides us with not just a quantitative understanding of a business problem, but a qualitative analysis. The product's NPL engine is excellent in understanding net sentiment as well as themes, competitive brands, and relevant authors. Additionally, the platform not only identifies the geography of a conversation on the macro level, it drills down into the city/DMA level. Automated alerts for client topics ensure that a lifeguard is always on duty to keep an eye (or an ear) on the conversation.
  • Ease of reporting, conversation analysis, easy to build dashboards that give quick glimpses of the conversation/topic and allow you to drill down as needed.
  • Accurate sentiment driven triggered alerts let you keep your pulse on the conversation.
  • Topic setup is easy. Topics are easy to set up and advanced Boolean search functionality enables the use of wildcards to enhance topics.
  • Data access is outstanding. With 27 months of historical data built in and access to firehose data for social media platforms, data acquisition is second to none.
  • The product is awesome and its really hard to find a weakness as the product development team is kicking out enhancements almost on a monthly basis.
When social intelligence is crucial and you want serious insights, then NetBase is the solution.
Read Ted Tagalakis's full review
Becca James profile photo
March 07, 2016

NetBase: "A review from the Creator of the Insights & Strategy Department"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Internet Marketing Inc. has developed an entire department around NetBase called Insights & Strategy, which is now the center of our Discipline Ecosystem. With the support of a few other tools, we have managed to break down silos and connect disciplines across a corporate marketing agency. We have put the guessing game to rest by appropriately gathering and analyzing relevant information about brands, industries and competitors. The social listening tool has allowed our entire organization to be more data-driven by using audience insights to create personalized, actionable, targeted digital campaigns.
  • We are able to provide an all-inclusive brand analysis. The objective of this report is to understand how the brand is performing overall. Some of the questions that are answered within the report are: what are consumers discussing, how are they talking about the product/service, are conversations primarily positive, where are conversations occurring and what type of content is being shared?
  • We love starting a new business pitch by offering a competitor analysis. Our goal is to provide a nice overview of their top competitors. It seeks to answer how does the brand stack up to its competitors, the key attributes, what brand is winning/losing and identify where the gaps are and the potential opportunities.
  • We enjoy the education it provides both internal teams as well as the client, especially the landscape analyses. We like to understand how the industry is performing overall and where our clients stand. Aspects that we deem important are: when, where, who and what conversation is occurring in the industry over the course of 1 year, what helps drive people to convert, what main components of the product/service encourage or deter continued conversion as well as provide insights around what people enjoy (or hate) about the product/service.
  • I'd like to see a better creation of audiences; a greater taxonomy of classifiers to better create personas for our campaigns. Example of segmenting the audience: moms, millennials, sports enthusiasts, home buyers.
  • I'd like to understand instantly what causes a spike in engagement - it is tedious to sift through posts to understand what caused the spike and be able to accurately explain that to the client.
  • I'd like the system to tell me what the audience cares about i.e. which apps, music, so that we understand how to create content that will resonate with them.
  • More pre-made categories/themes and dashboards to help accurately cover topics.
  • Sentiment is often off and filtering doesn't work well when the term or client has a mainstream name such as Internet Marketing Inc. without losing data.
It is best used when you need audience insights such as content marketing, social - more creative campaigns. When it comes to paid media or SEO campaigns, I don't think you get the most out of the tool. NetBase is best used to understand what the audience likes/dislikes and what they are talking about.
Read Becca James's full review
Cassidy Wilson profile photo
April 27, 2016

NetBase Review: "Great tool for Social Listening"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Netbase has been a very valuable tool for our clients and potential clients. We use Netbase to see how our clients are performing on social in weekly, monthly, and yearly reports as well as for specific campaigns. We use Netbase for brand analysis, competitor analysis and for looking into current trends for the brand. It allows us to see how people change over time with how they speak socially about the brand. Netbase also provides a dashboard feature which allows for quick and easy client ready reports once the dashboard is created.
  • Crosstab Analysis: Allows for easily seeing how your brand compares to your competitors
  • Dashboard: You can create client ready reports that can be sent out automatically
  • Word Clouds: Netbase offers many different word cloud options like keyword, hashtag, and emoji specific word clouds
  • Time Analysis: Being able to drill posts down to only see posts from specific days or times
  • Customization: Word clouds have set color themes, wish there was more variety
  • Historical Data: You are limited to how far back you can go
Netbase is perfect for getting an idea of what is going on on social for your brand. Using the decahose data for Twitter allows you to get an idea into what the conversation is like for your brand. It is not as affective for when you need to get exact numbers. You can only turn on the firehose feed for the past 30 days so that needs to be kept in mind when a new campaign starts.
Read Cassidy Wilson's full review
Marisol Pelaez profile photo
April 22, 2016

NetBase Review: "A strong, easy tool to keep your finger on the pulse of your brand's social media efforts!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
NetBase is a very useful tool that we use for a great range of our clients and to many different ends. We commonly use NetBase in business pitches, as it allows us to understand the demographic the brand may be targeting, as well as helps determine whether there is a market for our product. We've used it to assist in the creative ideation process, so as to arrive at a creative solution by means of actionable data. Aside from that, we also use NetBase to provide day to day analysis of our clients' social performance and to detect any issues in real-time. Features like cross-tab analysis, demographic breakdowns and sentiment analysis all allow for quick-turnaround analysis ideal for last-minute client asks.
  • User-friendly query writing
  • Firehose can be turned on and off
  • Overlapping of topics and themes makes for in-depth analysis
  • Sentiment analysis cannot detect sarcasm or bots sometimes
  • Limited historical data, especially for Instagram
  • No Image Recognition
NetBase is great for people trying to guage social conversation around a certain topic and comparing that performance to their competitors. On the other hand, NetBase is not appropriate for owned content performance as many times there are inconsistencies between the platform and the native social media platforms. However, it is a powerful tool to accompany any brand report.
Read Marisol Pelaez's full review
Kyle Randolph profile photo
April 14, 2016

Review: "Netbase - A Swiss-Army-Knife Solution for Social Monitoring"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Netbase is a tremendously useful social listening/monitoring tool that we use for all aspects of modern digital marketing. In new business pitches, Netbase allows us to quickly understand the demographic space a brand might operate, allowing us to being ideating around possible creative ideas that will resonate with that particular audience. When business is won, Netbase is used to monitor social communications allowing for creative decisions to be informed as well as allowing us to monitor the resonant impact of content that we create. Features like cross-tab analysis, demographic breakdowns and sentiment analysis all allow for quick-turnaround analysis ideal for last-minute client asks or other fire drills.
  • Easy and flexible query writing.
  • Flexility in data sources. Firehouse can be turned on for extra granularity in analysis.
  • Dashboards with scheduled email summaries allow for automated monitoring, simplifying repetitive asks.
  • Limited historial data.
  • Lacks visualization flexibility of other listening tools (ability to change colors, limited chart types, etc).
  • UI can be somewhat unintuitive and inconsistent. Some options that are up front in some scenarios are hidden behind menus in others.
NetBase is a great general purpose listening tool.
Read Kyle Randolph's full review
Simon Quinton profile photo
December 16, 2015

NetBase Review: "Third generation Social Listening tool that really works and gets you instant insights!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used NetBase for approximately 2 years and mainly for social listening purposes. The problems I solve are usually around 'what is being said about our brand/product/campaign on-line'. NetBase has very specific ways in which I have been able to answer this, with detailed reporting and multiple data visualisations available to me to help back up any findings.

The tool allows me to pinpoint specific triggers of conversation and to feed this back to the brand to help in wider strategic research and activation. Having the ability to say for certain what people are saying about you online really does help to mould business strategy and best practice.

The tool also offers owned channel analysis for Facebook and Twitter, something I have found very useful as it is detailed enough to get the right results but does not require in-depth analysis, saving time! Also this is at no extra cost, saving on having to pay for an additional third party platform tool.
  • The great thing about NetBase is the ease of use, once you have learnt the tool, to gain instant, viable insights for a range of social listening and channel/content performance activities.
  • The ability to fully customise and alter the 'widgets' used in dashboards puts NetBase at the front of the social listening tools pack to me. The team at NetBase is also super eager to help and is constantly tweaking and improving the tool, unlike many others in this space
  • The dashboards serve as a one-stop shop for the user to gleam real insight into social conversation and what is driving (or not in some cases!) the conversation, be it via a timeline, hashtag cloud, influencer list etc.
  • I would say that really the only drawbacks I have found over time are sometimes the slowness of a dashboard to update, however I must stress this is usually due to the number of widgets open and data being processed than the tool being 'slow'.
  • Anytime I have had an issue with a topic not updating or making sense the support team is there to help and often come up with a solution very quickly.
NetBase is excellent for almost all social listening, influencer identification and owned content/campaign performance analysis. It has few limitations due to the constant evolving of the platform by the dev team at NetBase.
Read Simon Quinton's full review
Scott Thompson profile photo
December 16, 2015

Review: "Netbase's language processing technology makes it a winner for social media intelligence"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Netbase for measuring and analysing online mentions & conversations around client brands, industry categories and key events, and also to investigate the impact of marketing activities. It is primarily used by the Research team, often alongside traditional research methodologies, and also by the Content marketing team.
  • Natural Language Processing: If the point of social media analysis is to understand large volumes of text that you can't read yourself, then the automated analysis is key to this. Netbase is the best that we have seen in the market, and this is the cornerstone of the product for us.
  • Dashboard design: Past tools we have used have involved pulling data from the tool, analysing and charting in (typically) Excel, then putting together into a Powerpoint presentation to share with clients & colleagues. Netbase's dashboard tools enable reports to be templated and generated as PDFs. Cutting out large chunks of manual administrative work means that more reports can be delivered more frequently with no added time/cost at our and.
  • Customer support - although we are UK-based and the Netbase support staff are primarily US-based, we have found their support staff to be fast, responsive and very helpful.
  • Dashboards can only currently be exported as PDFs. It would be helpful to have a more read/writable format (eg. PPT) that enables us to combine Netbase's outputs with other sources, or to make them more consistent with our own branding (colours, fonts etc.)
  • The business model revolves around a limited number of login seats. I would like to be able to roll out the tool to make it available/accessible to more people in the business, but the pricing model makes this impractical/uneconomical.
  • Logging out users after a period of inactivity can be frustrating when multitasking/task switching and unsaved work is lost.
  • While Netbase's focus on language processing is its key strength, additional functionality around social analysis (eg. people who follow a brand account, users who talk about X are also likely to talk about Y) is somewhat limited.
Best suited to processing large volumes of social media mentions. As with any social analysis tool, a degree of expertise and understanding of social media platforms, audience trends etc. is important to get the most out of the tool, so an "expert user" approach should be prioritised over making it accessible to lots of people with minimal training. The pricing model is particularly suitable for a small number of users who are likely to be looking at a large number of brands/topics.
Read Scott Thompson's full review
Cameron Sprenger profile photo
February 19, 2016

User Review: "NetBase And Social Listening"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, NetBase is used to provide analytics for individual clients across the social-space. While NetBase is accessible to various users within our organization, usage is determined by individual client needs. We are able to gain valuable insights into how our clients do in the social space against various topics, and we can gauge this against our competitors.
  • Great for in-depth analysis of the Twitter-space, especially as it comes to text analysis.
  • The Firehose scale provides mountains of valuable data that can be manipulated and/or exported for further analysis.
  • Comparing the share-of-voice various brands have compared to each other, especially as it relates to online social presence.
  • The Decahose sampling is far from pointless, but it isn't as effective if the user's objective is to gather specific data. The obvious workaround is to use the Firehose feed.
  • I would like to see a more intricate listing of sources when analyzing topics.
  • This may not be possible due to restraints with Twitter Data, but when analyzing specific hashtags, it would be absolutely invaluable if we could segment mentions based on Twitter clicks (where users click the hashtag) versus Twitter search (when a hashtag/topic is searched, NOT clicked on).
NetBase is particularly well-suited for scenarios in which users need to analyze specific social topics, hashtags, or compare conversations around specific brands. This is especially great for accurately seeing what people are saying about your brand and for laying the foundation towards developing social strategy. I'd say it is less appropriate for measuring any offline sales impact, unless the value of social equity is well-understood for a user's brand.
Read Cameron Sprenger's full review
Allan Dunlap profile photo
January 20, 2016

Review: "NetBase Goes Above and Beyond to Get the Job Done"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
NetBase is being used for social listening to discover what a particular market segment is saying about the subject we are researching. It is used by our digital strategy department. It helps us discover what consumer sentiment is to give us a baseline for a project.
  • Depth of research - NetBase digs deep into every aspect of chatter around the web. From social sites to online forums, NetBase comes back with a plethora of chatter.
  • Organization - NetBase makes it easy to organize the topics you are researching. I can always find the report I am looking for without any trouble.
  • Customer Service - NetBase has great employees that are always checking in to keep me up to date on the product!
  • Sifting through initial results - Researching a topic returns an overload of information. While it's great to have all this info, it can be tricky to find the most meaningful. It would be great if NetBase could find a way to streamline results.
NetBase is extremely well suited for social listening, which is what I use it most for.
Read Allan Dunlap's full review
Laura Murray DePeters profile photo
January 20, 2016

User Review: "NetBase for listening and reporting"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
NetBase is used by a department of the agency to support various clients. It addresses listening and conversation.
  • Listening
  • Finding trending conversations relevant to my brand
  • Tracking competitors
  • Integration with Facebook conversations
  • Integration with Instagram conversations
  • Ability to more easily drill down on conversations
I think NetBase is better for larger organizations and agencies with visible brands - I would not recommend for small brands.
Read Laura Murray DePeters's full review
Alyssa Miron profile photo
January 20, 2016

NetBase Review: "Great Tool!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My PR firm uses NetBase to help monitor and track our client's social media presence, sentiment around our clients and trending topics that relate to their industry. It breaks down who is saying what and lets us provide solid metrics to support our key social initiatives moving forward.
  • Monitor social conversations
  • Provide sentiment around conversations
  • Monitor social conversations around events and campaigns
  • Get better at determining what's good/bad/neutral sentiment
  • Easier/Friendlier UX
  • Have a person available to chat via IM directly from the site when using it
Can it track competitors directly in the same dashboard? Can it monitor a given hashtag or campaign event? Can it pick up emojis and determine sentiment? (All are yes!)
Read Alyssa Miron's full review
Monica Rivera profile photo
December 16, 2015

NetBase Review: "Useful tool with room for improvement"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're an advertising agency, and we use NetBase in the strategic planning department as a consumer insight mining tool that helps us understand what the consumers think of a specific topic. That in turn informs the strategic approach we craft as inspiration to our creative department so they can develop meaningful work for our advertising clients.
  • The new interface is very easy to navigate
  • The new interface allows for quick, beautiful reports we can provide our clients
  • Great at getting content from Twitter
  • Great customer assistance
  • Sentiment when analyzing data in Spanish could improve precision.
  • During the analysis, excluding words should be a feature added, to get better results without having to go back to the topic area.
  • An option of the dashboard templates should be a click-all-and-add, to make it easier to add several topics into one dashboard.
  • More platforms need to be included in analysis, as Twitter is not the main platform for all consumers.
  • Include analysis feature of the consumer comments on Facebook and YouTube.
NetBase is well suited as a starter social listening tool, where you can get an overall idea of how a topic does in social. Businesses considering NetBase should ask if NetBase works for their specific target, and how can they refine the results better to encompass as many platforms as possible.
Read Monica Rivera's full review
Melissa Schwartz profile photo
August 14, 2015

User Review: "NetBase: the customizeable experience"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My team uses Netbase to conduct social listening research for various healthcare clients. Netbase provides qualitative and quantitative data that was use to gather insights on brands, patients, advocacy groups, influencers, and more. Each report includes actionable recommendations based on these insights, that we use for tactical planning, content strategy, and other aspects of marketing.
  • We love NetBase because it is completely customizeable. In the healthcare space, we need to present data differently than other consumer goods. NetBase allows us to present data how we want to, change the "sentiment" of words, customize the word clouds to our needs, etc.
  • We have very different needs in the healthcare space than other consumer products. Sometimes we are looking for patient insights on a very rare disease, sometime it may be brand perceptions, sometimes it may be activity surrounding an "awareness day," etc. This requires us reading many of the actual posts. Unlike other services, NetBase allows us to read many of the posts, and also helps us organize the posts so we can read them easily and efficiently.
  • NetBase customer service has always been very responsive and helpful. I can count on them to answer my questions in a thorough and timely manner.
  • NetBase has implemented many changes recently, but did not keep us informed. A newsletter or something like that would help.
  • I noticed a couple of problems with the data, but I was told they were due to "glitches" which was not very helpful.
  • We find a lot of repeats of the same exact posts, which seems odd and skews the data.
How customizeable do you need your software to be? If you have very specific needs, NetBase is great. If you prefer a "plug and play" approach, it may not be for you. Because it's so customizeable, it's not as easy to use - you need to tinker with each page.
Read Melissa Schwartz's full review
Alisa Abrams profile photo
August 14, 2015

NetBase Review: "A good, solid option for the price - especially for agencies"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
NetBase is used primarily by the Insights & Strategy department for general social listening insights research (both for new and existing business) as well as for the identification of real-time engagement opportunities for a handful of the agency's clients. Netbase solves the problem of access to on-demand consumer insights from millions of users and data sources.
  • Engagement management. We could not have learned the ins and outs of the tool without the ongoing help and guidance of our account rep. Compared to other social tools where users are essentially on their own, NetBase allows us to get to the data we need without being hung up in figuring out HOW to get to the data.
  • Innovation. It seems the product team is constantly working to evolve and enhance the tool - often in ways our team hasn't yet thought of.
  • Sentiment. While this is probably the biggest challenge of any social listening tool, I'm often wishing that more of the social conversation I'm analyzing could be assigned a sentiment.
  • Training the tool. I believe some tools in the competitive landscape tout that their algorithms are able to "get smarter" over time as manual sentiment assignments are made. In other words, the tool learns the commonly used phrases and their corresponding sentiment over time so that it becomes more accurate and less manual classification is needed.
It is well suited for industries and brands that are frequently talked about and discussed on social media. The more specific or esoteric the topic, the harder it can be to get enough data to generate strong insights.
Read Alisa Abrams's full review
Scott Reitzel profile photo
August 14, 2015

Review: "No tool does it all, but NetBase does a lot very well."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use NetBase as part of our social listening process. For us, it helps to address the problem of reasserting and identifying the proper influencers to engage with as well as getting a solid understanding of the conversation around a given product, brand, or issue.
  • Keyword identification. The NLP is very good at pulling out keywords that are relevant to the ones already applied. This is important as it allows the user to easily tune the topic.
  • Usability. Once the user is familiar with the product, the dashboard is easily navigable and the analyst can quickly move from section to section.
  • Although this is a touchy subject among social analysts, I believe that the NetBase NLP is one of the best sentiment analysis systems available at the moment. While no tool will be completely accurate, against our hand coded tests, the NetBase NLP has shown a very low margin of error.
  • Although the dashboard is easy to navigate, sometimes it feels like its too segmented. There is no one view where the user can get a completely customizable view of the reports, unless you build a dashboard. It would be nice to be able to do this for individual topics.
  • The news gathering section of the dashboard is probably the greatest place for improvement in my opinion. This section is not very user friendly at all and it's very difficult to pull metrics on quality news stories.
  • It would be nice if the charts were more customizable. Sometimes having to completely redo the charts outside of NetBase slows us down. It would be nice if you could edit and formate the charts with say, a company theme and be able to export them directly for use.
I think that overall NetBase is one of the best tools on the market. There are certainly tools that look a bit better, but the core algorithms behind NetBase are some of the best on the market. Now its time to focus a bit on user experience.
Read Scott Reitzel's full review
Andrew Dolby profile photo
August 14, 2015

User Review: "Netting out on Netbase"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Netbase for:

  • Researching sentiment of potential clients
  • Researching sentiment for current clients
  • Researching usage and awareness that may fuel future campaigns
  • Social listening for potential positive/negative brand effects
  • Active hashtag or social campaign tracking

  • Netbase allows you to tune queries very well, allowing you to make real-time tweaks to get the most out of your search.
  • Netbase has decent visualization.
  • Netbase compiles comprehensive social data that feels complete.
  • I would love to see more visualization options to make client reporting easier and more robust.
  • I would like to see adoption of some basic social analytic tools that would allow me to make Netbase my go to for all social analytics.
  • More visual platform support.
I think if a client wants to measure effect of owned social, then it doesn't really make sense, but social listening, well that is where it excels.
Read Andrew Dolby's full review
Sarah Flagg profile photo
August 14, 2015

Review: "Netbase: Not Just Another Pretty Social Media Tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Netbase is currently being utilized mainly in the PR and social media teams, but also for strategy, new business and branding. In the PR and SoMe team, we use it to do monthly reporting on the conversation surrounding our clients, and also provide realtime updates if an important post occurs. We also use it to track domains for ad buys and use the non-brand topics to find out what publications we should be pitching that has the most social conversation.

For strategy, we can tell our clients the conversation around to a certain industry, allowing us to easily create personas. We're also using Netbase in new business pitches by creating a customized dashboard and doing a live demo.

  • Ease of use: it was easy for everyone in the team to analyze a topic with the tools on the left.
  • Customer service: Kelsee is always available if we have a question and has set things up for us when we're on a time crunch
  • The interface is pretty fast: unlike our previous program (Radian 6), we don't have to wait hours until our content loads.
  • I wish someone would have sat next to us to set up topics. I really struggled learning how they work, and a side-by-side session would have helped
  • I'd love to be able to delete irrelevant posts on the post themselves or in the stream. Instead we have to filter out Exclude terms
  • I'd also love to be able to customize the colors to a client's brand standards.
I think it's very well suited for agencies with multiple clients or large brands. It's extremely expensive, so wouldn't be good for small businesses or smaller agencies. We work mainly in the B2B sector, and it's really nice that Netbase captures very in-depth data since not all of our clients have a large social media presence, even though they're major brands in the industry. I love the ability to create themes, and cross-reference those themes with brands. For example, we can analyze Firestone Building Products metal wall panels in terms of price, quality and installation.
Read Sarah Flagg's full review
Caitlin Bishop profile photo
August 10, 2015

"NetBase Review from an avid user"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
NetBase is being used across our organization by several departments, mostly strategy and analytics. We use it to gather information about how people are talking about a product, brand, or category. We use it in new business pitches to see how our brand is stacking up against their competitors and identify creative opportunities. We also use it with our clients to monitor conversation around a campaign, or conversation around our brand on a regular basis.
  • The analyze dashboard is very easy and intuitive, you can click into things that interest you and immediately see what's driving them.
  • You can see the most popular sounds bites that generated more conversation and the most influential authors in the conversation, helps inform the content we make.
  • You can't filter the conversation based on audience which has been the biggest request we haven't been able to address with the tool.
  • Filtering for spam can take up a lot of time depending on your topic, for example, if you're looking to get information on NY & Co. (the brand) you will likely spend several hours filtering. There are some tools I've seen that make sorting easier, but will still leave you sorting for a while.
We have a need for rapid topic creation and NetBase is good for this. We tested Crimson Hexagon and it took too long to set up topics for us to be able to use it. We work on a lot of one off projects and new business and NetBase is able to keep up.

For our regular clients it's especially useful for those that are interested in analytics and consistent monitoring. You can see from week to week how conversation changes around your brand, or how a campaign is being received.
Read Caitlin Bishop's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Boolean keyword searches (69)
8.1
Filtering out noise/spam (78)
7.9
Sentiment analysis (80)
8.8
Broad channel coverage (80)
7.3
Content planning and scheduling (20)
8.5
Audience targeting (28)
7.7
Content optimization (24)
8.2
Workflow management (22)
7.4
Automated routing and prioritization (17)
9.0
Customer interaction histories (23)
8.7
Bulk actions (23)
8.3
Lead generation (23)
8.1
Content marketing (33)
9.0
Paid media management (19)
7.5
Campaigns and promotions (25)
8.3
Twitter (72)
9.4
Facebook (63)
7.5
LinkedIn (41)
7.7
Google+ (41)
6.1
Instagram (55)
8.6
Pinterest (37)
7.1
YouTube (55)
7.9
Campaign success analytics (61)
7.9
Real-time tracking (74)
9.0
Competitor analysis (75)
9.1
Role-based user permissions & privileges (57)
8.1
Mobile access (24)
5.5

About NetBase

NetBase is a social media analytics platform that analyzes real-time and historical information on the internet. It uses proprietary Natural Language Processing along with machine learning to extract true meaning and sentiment from online conversations. Use cases include brand management, campaign tracking, crisis management, customer care, competitive intelligence, category analysis, and product innovation.

NetBase Features

Has featureReal-time Data Updates
Has featureCustomizable Dashboards
Has featureTriggered Alerts
Has feature27 Months of Historical Data
Has featureReports Automatically Emailed to You
Has featureEasy Non-boolean Topic Builder

NetBase Screenshots

NetBase Competitors

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Required

NetBase Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
100%

NetBase Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase

NetBase Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:Global
Supported Languages: 42 languages